The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1261 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and facilities Have stayed at the Westin St. Francis on two occasions, both while in SFO for a conference and have been totally impressed by the overall experience right from the check in process to the rooms as well as the facilities available. Would surely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for either business or leisure. August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by some good things some bad in general, the serving staff in the lobby area were attentive and helpful, although on once accasion it took so long to get someone's attention (the two servers were having a conversation between themselves) we had to call the hotel on a cell phone to ask they come to our table. Servers in the Oak Room were more concerned about telling us about their vacation or days off than in focusing on our needs or making our visit special. Spa staff not friendly. Front desk staff staff not helpful with SPG problem. Just said I should call SPG. February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful classic San Francisco Hotel I'm a fan of classic San Francisco locations, architecture and ambiance. The Westin St. Francis has it all plus the best location in town. Close to all, large and beautiful. The rooms in the Tower are modern and clean with everything we needed. A+ rating. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great features but very loud The hotel is beautiful and the staff courteous. The only serious problem we encountered was the noise. We had a room that had a door to be used as a conjoining room. The guest next to us might as well been in our room. He had a business call a from 3am-5am he may as well been sitting next to our bed. In the morning we got to listen to him cough, blow his nose etc. There was no sound proofing in the door. If we decide to stay at this hotel again we will make sure to be in a room that has soundproofing in the doors not just the walls. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is a great place for traditions We've been staying at this hotel for over 30 years as a tradition. We celebrate the oncoming holiday with the initial Christmas tree lighting in Union Square. We battle the crowds during Black Friday in order to people watch. The spirit is in the air and the store windows are decorated with holiday flair. The hotel has always accommodated us nicely even though there is a dance competition the same weekend, which makes it a little more insane, but it's cute to see the little dancers. A treat every year and to many more years to come. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good Overall good but missed in a few areas. House keepers were to clean the room after 3 days and didn't. We had to call them at 4pm to get our room cleaned. They did fix the over site once notified but didn't say where the ball had been dropped. Not a big deal but you don't expect it out of this high end of a hotel. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Landmark it is and always will be The St. Francis continues to be the icon that it always has been throughout the ages. It has the bustle and energy of a large hotel with a mix of both business and tourist trade. The hotel is split into the older Landmark building and the newer Tower building. If you don't mind hearing and being close to the action, you can chose the Landmark building. It has that old world feel of the Plaza in NY. But is more worn and dated in some areas although the furnishings and everything else are completely up to Westin standards. The Tower building is more modern and typical of a city hotel. The room service is great. The Staff are really tremendous and accommodating and the location cannot be beat. There are so many popular places to shop and eat near there. August 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experience One day housekeeping failed to make up our room and then claimed we left the do not disturb sign on our door. That was factually inaccurate. We left the room at 10am and removed the sign. When we informed the front desk of our problem and it took almost an hour to rectify the problem. Trash was left in the hall for over 24 hours. We have stayed at the St. Francis on a number of occasions and have not had this kind of experience. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aging Property in a Great Location This is an aging grand dame perfectly situated for those that want to shop and want to be in striking distance of the financial district, SOMA, China Town etc. This said, the rooms are old, tired and poorly appointed. I stayed in the tower thinking that the accommodations would be better, and they were not. The carpet looked spotted and dirty, and the overall decor was just this side of seedy. Last, their green program is presented in a very confusing. As directed I left a card on my bed so that housekeeping would skip changing the bed linens every day. Instead, the room was never cleaned, food trays were left in the room all day, and I had to make several calls to get someone to come up and clean. Overall the stay was disappointing but for the location. December 17, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than what I was expecting For me, the location is too touristy, but if that's what you're looking for - then it's great. Be aware that just a few blocks over is the tenderloin neighborhood, not a place to go late at night, at least on foot. The room was only ok. No free water bottles here as I've had elsewhere and I'm a Starwood Preferred guest. The tub did not drain so we took our showers standing in water. Ick. Other than that, the room was nice and the beds great. The food prices are very high and there really isn't much special about this property. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't let them put you on the Geary street side Wonderful classic hotel, and the Landmark building has very large and comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, this is the second trip in a row where I was placed on on the Geary street side. The corner is well known to the staff for it's loud obnoxious noise from the outdoor music that runs until 10PM. Definitely a problem when your body is on GMT and you want to get to sleep early. Took quite a while to get moved to a room way from the noise. Very frustrating, I expect better - particularly as I spend over 1/3 of the year on the road. December 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Experience As always, my experience at the Westin was wonderful. However, this particular visit was exceptional due to Christie Patrick. Ms. Patrick went out of her way to assist my family and me during our stay at the St. Francis. It was the first trip to San Fran for family from Nebraska, and Ms. Christie was courteous, professional, and provided remarkable service. I cannot thank Ms. Christie and the staff enough for a memorable visit for all of us!! July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. Francis (SF) We are longstanding fans of the St. Francis, but this time the front desk clerk was not helpful. We had asked for a corner room with an adjoining room on an upper floor. We were offered an obstructed view corner on a lower floor, and ended up on the 21st floor with a non-adjoining room for our son (his B-day). August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by terrible internet connection I was placed in the old part of the hotel. Talked with three different technicians each for 20 minutes...finally the third one said...let's try moving your computer next to the door and see if it can pick up the signal...that did it. The wake up call was 30 minutes earlier than I had requested...and the bed sagged! Eventually, they moved me to the newly renovated section of the hotel and all was well...consequently, the average scores I gave the hotel. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment I have stayed at several different Westin's over the years and am normally extremely satisfied with my stay. This time was different. I was offered an early check in, but was not given a room until after 5 pm. The staff was courteous. The room and property were clean, but definitely did not live up to the expectations I had for a Westin property, and no one even tried to improve my stay when I was upset with having to wait two hours after regular check in time. The room was standard at best. The dreamy pillows and ridiculously comfortable bed weren't there. The bathroom was modern, but no tub. I would not stay at this property again. I feel very disappointed and let down. I will stay at the other properties in Seattle and L.A. Areas as long as they are still able to offer the amazing rooms they had before. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks for helping us celebrate our 10 year anniversary! My husband and I met 10 years ago in San Francisco - a chance meeting of strangers in a restaurant called Buena Vista. When the hotel found out, they sent a care package to our room - all the fixings for Irish coffee including Irish Whiskey and napkins from Buena Vista! What a nice surprise. August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay in the newer part of the Hotel I have stayed at the Westin St Francis a few times, this was the only stay that I was disappointed. It was the first time I stayed in the older part of the hotel. It looked like no one has stayed in this particular room in a while. There was an empty water bottle on the floor. When I told my experience at check out, he said, yes because it was the old part of the hotel. I didn’t think that was a good excuse, all your rooms should be at top quality, this is not what I expected for a Westin Hotel. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The amenties were nice Started off with my requesting someone call me back re: spending 2 nights. No call back ever, very disappointing. Also I'm glad I asked the front desk clerk on where the elevators were which finally prompted her to tell us of the NEW elevator process. Other coworkers were really confused or lost. Our room was SUPER tiny with thin walls I was woken up at 5am by other guests. The hall ways were freezing. We had our company party here and others that checked in 4-5 hours later than I received much better rooms/views/more space. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Property is not at Westing standards! Facilities are old and not maintained. I learned there are two sections (new and old) and unfortunately my room was in the old section. Air conditioning did not work properly. My room had a small window with no real exterior light as it overlooked other internal rooms. Had breakfast at hotel restaurant one morning with a colleague and bill was in excess of $65 dollars for eggs, coffee and one fruit plate. Not a Westing standard July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but... My wife's favorite in SF. One of my favorites. But...needing an access code to use the lavoratory on the main floor is unacceptable! Room card: okay. Having to go to the concierge and wait and wait and wait for people to make their restaurant reservations before I could get the code was absurd. It really cooled my feelings about the Westin St Francis. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Dissapointed I stay here every month for a week and the last two times have been bad. This time my room was not made up on Thursday 6/27. Also the first night I began to iron my shirt and there was a gummy substance on the iron that ruined my shirt. When I called they brought me a new iron but no apology or offer to get me a new shirt. Also, when I called about the room, Services said they are still cleaning rooms. This was 5:55pm. Who says that at that time. Ridiculous. I will ask my travel department to try another Union Square hotel. June 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned in 4 months Our room was not ready when we arrived. Not a problem we know it was a busy time of year. Our room was in the old part. Room 470. Recently redecorated. good caulking in the bathroom. small room but well finished and a great queen bed. nicely painted and clean. Husband got the call we were being upgrade to a better room the next day. 15 floor great view on the newer side. Didn't notice the condition of the bathroom 1588. Rotten caulking and "Pink Slim" Serratia marcescens. rotten caulking. growth work that had not been cleaned in months. Paint missing. Broken closet door. Didn't not have time to complain. only had one night left. Whent to walgreens and got some disinfectant wipes for the toilet, door handles and sink. I took photos if you would like to see them. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enormous, well-appointed hotel in central location Just a few blocks from BART and right on Union Square. The rooms were much bigger than I'd expect at a downtown SF hotel. The staff super approachable and helpful (and plentiful); they even have an IT dept if you have trouble with wifi or VPNing to your work network, etc. The amenities are seemingly endless. My colleague stayed a night at the Sir Francis Drake across the street and marveled at how much nicer the Westin St Francis was. The only downside to my stay was that the place is so big, it's easy to get disoriented :) January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The reservation process was awful I worked without a room block for the first and last time. The reservation process throughout was a nightmare. More than one guest was assigned to the same confirmation number, even though I asked for separate. Making a simple date change to a reservation took up to 20 minutes or more on the phone - one time having to cancel a room and start from scratch while the other forced two reservations for a single guest room. The final bills showed different room rates for different guests, with a difference of almost $200 per night. The credit card authorization form was useless since more than one guest was assigned a confirmation number and it charged both guests to my card instead of the one submitted through the form. Then, I was unable to get a proper receipt for the incorrect charge. The entire process was horrible and I don't plan to use your hotel again if i can help it. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tower 1797 It's nearly 3am and I haven't been able to sleep because there is a loud knocking noise coming from the vent every 15 minutes. It is not caused by a human, it is not a shutting door. I would complain now and get a new room but my fiancée is somehow sleeping through it and I don't want the hassle of moving at this moment. The director of engineering should put a recording device in the room to measure the decibels and to figure out the root cause. This is the only way I can 'vent' at the moment. It requires your attention. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Problem Solved Our grand daughter was traveling with us and an item that was very important to her was lost in transit from our car to our room. We notified Kelly, one of the front desk managers, and between her and Angelina the issue was worked on all night including security cameras, personnel questions, etc. When we checked out the item was presented to our grand daughter. The tears of joy from our grand daughter brought tears to all around us at that point. Thank you to Kelly and Angelina for recognizing the importance of the item. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel Stayed here for two nights for work. A nice old hotel. I loved the hallways. They didn't have my Starwood number, so I gave it to them, they recognized my Gold status and gave me a King instead of a Queen. Not much, but something. The gym was great. The bars in the lobby were great. My only complaint that that my room had a foul odor on my second day and I called about it. They sent someone from engineering who walked in, sniffed and said he didn't smell anything and walked out. Not really what you expect from a Westin. February 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by HOTEL RENOVATION I really liked the renovation of the tower, the rooms are brighter and l really like the counter space in the bathroom. Most hotels forget that there are a lot of business travelers that are women and we need counter space for our make up. I also liked that there was fridge that is not a mini bar that I could use in the room. My overall experience was great and I used the 25% discount offered during breakfast in the oak room. Next time will try to use the spa. July 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by stayed for Avon Breast cancer walk event eve Very dissatisfied. At check in was told we'd have to pay for our 3rd person, but I'd called twice before and told there would be no extra charge. After discussion was not charged extra, Dinner in Oak Room - awful. 2 guests had salads for dinner; serving was not even a cup! One guest had to send entree back (cold) and when it was brought back it was overcooked. Other dishes equally unsatisfactory. One positive - as Avon walkers got a discount on parking. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a bad property at all... This property is all about location. You are right at the hear of Union Square and everything is at your fingertips. I used to live in that city and visited a few properties during that time so I know enough to know that this property belongs to the better ones. Safe, exciting, centrally located and it is not bad at all. I highly recommend for visiting tourist and/or people who wish to be in the center. Yes, there are homeless people all over, but guys you gotta face the fact that this is not a location problem, they are everywhere in San Francisco and I must say there are other high end resorts that are located in the middle of the "ghetto". This Westin is not. I recommend it! BTW, Shopping is excellent, a HUGE Macy's, Saks fifth avenue are all right next door.... September 11, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 43 next>>