The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1256 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Property is not at Westing standards! Facilities are old and not maintained. I learned there are two sections (new and old) and unfortunately my room was in the old section. Air conditioning did not work properly. My room had a small window with no real exterior light as it overlooked other internal rooms. Had breakfast at hotel restaurant one morning with a colleague and bill was in excess of $65 dollars for eggs, coffee and one fruit plate. Not a Westing standard July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by disappointed The bed in room 1217 was terrible, matress sagging in the middle, we did not sleep well. We decided to try a different SF hotel next visit. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs to be refurbished Traveling for work and have stayed in San Francisco on many occasions but this was the first time at this hotel, which was a big disappointment. The first room they assigned had torn wallpaper, chairs with fabric that was completely worn through and a bathroom that looked like it hadn't been updated in 10 years (very old and stained tub, sink with broken stopper, etc). After moving to a second and third room, I gave up, as they were all pretty much the same. I would not stay here again though I have to give credit to the staff for trying to resolve my concerns. September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by St. Francis Review For those who enjoy staying at historic intercity hotel which still provides the comforts of modern technology, the Westin St. Francis is a perfect choice. October 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by terrible internet connection I was placed in the old part of the hotel. Talked with three different technicians each for 20 minutes...finally the third one said...let's try moving your computer next to the door and see if it can pick up the signal...that did it. The wake up call was 30 minutes earlier than I had requested...and the bed sagged! Eventually, they moved me to the newly renovated section of the hotel and all was well...consequently, the average scores I gave the hotel. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the History This is one of my favorite hotels in the country because of the tradition and one of my favorite watering holes is across the street. I get it that the rooms are old and know this so it does not bother me. What does bother me is that the staff is a bit off par. Front desk made me feel like I was a bother to then checking in. Was given the type of room I asked for, however, it overlooked an air conditioning unit. Asked to be moved and was told that they could not accommodate even with a different type of room. Not sure this is how a Platinum should be treated. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Historic Hotel We stayed in the Landmark building with a perfect view of Union Square. The suite was clean, well appointed and comfortable but it's definitely due for a facelift to get a 5 star rating. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant. We only had breakfast which was fine but we can't comment on the restaurants other than that. August 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed guest I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. Construction noise was terribly loud at 2 am (font related to hotel). When I complained, staff said, "there's nothing we can do." I was in rooms 1220/1221 (suite). Cleaning service was mediocre. They left unfolded robe on the chair, did not put away ironing board, floor unclean. Food and room service average. I am a long time Starwood member and was exited about staying at the historic St Francis, but was extremely disappointed with my experience. Would not recommend this hotel. June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Happy Holiday The hotel was comfortable and well situated. The steak restaurant is very very good! One of the best steaks I have had in a long time and the old world ambience superb! The only draw back is it is quite noisey but the quality of food more than compensates! As a platinum member of SPG I saw no real advantage associated with this status. Not even complimentry coffee in the morning. Platinum coffee at starbucks each morning! Not sure I will cherish that memory! Choose to rent an apartment for the stay in NYC and leave the SPG experience for Asia. Better value! December 17, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not available by 3 This was a family reunion, I booked 3 rooms together months ago. Upon check in, we were told 2 of the rooms were available, but mine was not, also 2 rooms would be together, 1 would be 2 floors higher. My room, 1 of the connecting rooms was not ready until 6pm. This was unfortunate as we had dinner and a show at 5:30 which left me changing in another room with 4 others. I was not able to pick up my key until after 11pm. All 5 front desk members that I spoke with throughout the day just kept telling me how busy the hotel was, and all the other people they needed to accomodate. My room needed a manger inspection before I could get a key, that was all! Very dissapointing start for our family trip! We departed by noon the next day. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Love this hotel. Great location & beautiful hotel. Bourbon Steak is a must while staying there. Friendly staff. January 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unwired The Union Square location is great for shopping and an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center. The room was a spacious corner - beware of the tiny inner rooms. The dresser top had a sticky substance and the desk top had drink rings. I contacted housekeeping but they failed to clean the areas. I had to wash the granite tops myself. What was most annoying was the internet connection. The signal was slow, it would drop, or just fail to connect. All this after paying 14.95 for a useless connection and a tech service that kept me on the phone for 15 minutes but failed to help or tell me what the second tech told me within 2 minutes: "ask for a refund this is a common problem throughout the hotel." Lobby internet is free and reliable. April 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and beautiful hotel Everyone very helpful, Union Square a perfect location to stay in San Francisco. October 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another outstanding Westin Excellent, professional staff - all met / exceeded expectations for my specific requests. A charming, historic hotel right in the center of beautiful San Francisco. August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointment I have stayed at several different Westin's over the years and am normally extremely satisfied with my stay. This time was different. I was offered an early check in, but was not given a room until after 5 pm. The staff was courteous. The room and property were clean, but definitely did not live up to the expectations I had for a Westin property, and no one even tried to improve my stay when I was upset with having to wait two hours after regular check in time. The room was standard at best. The dreamy pillows and ridiculously comfortable bed weren't there. The bathroom was modern, but no tub. I would not stay at this property again. I feel very disappointed and let down. I will stay at the other properties in Seattle and L.A. Areas as long as they are still able to offer the amazing rooms they had before. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointing SPG treatment I reserved two rooms using Starwood points for both rooms. We were with family members but were given two rooms on different floors. We randomly took the two double bed room, although we reserved two king rooms. We gave our guests the king room on floor 26. We were on floor 14. We had a view of a brick wall; our guests had a fabulous view looking west to the ocean. Since we were celebrating our 42nd anniversary, a room with a view would have been nice for us. When assigned the rooms we had no idea that the lower floors have a view of another building. March 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by stayed for Avon Breast cancer walk event eve Very dissatisfied. At check in was told we'd have to pay for our 3rd person, but I'd called twice before and told there would be no extra charge. After discussion was not charged extra, Dinner in Oak Room - awful. 2 guests had salads for dinner; serving was not even a cup! One guest had to send entree back (cold) and when it was brought back it was overcooked. Other dishes equally unsatisfactory. One positive - as Avon walkers got a discount on parking. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Stayed here for three nights for a girls weekend trip. The beds were very comfortable, although it would have been better to have queen size beds instead of doubles as there were four of us in the room. Other than that, it was great. The front desk person went above and beyond to make our stay a great one. The rooms were great although the bathroom could use a little update. July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, less than great room The St. Francis is a beautiful landmark on Union Square. It is convenient to wonderful shopping, the cable cars, and at Christmastime, ice skating and a huge tree. However, the condition of the tower SPG room we had was shabby. Cracked lamp shades, furnishings that need updating, and poor curtains did not take away from the excellent view, but certainly didn't enhance our experience. We had brunch in the Oak Room-excellent, and ate in Caruso's -- good and efficient. Our children enjoyed the outdoor elevator as well as the sugar castle in the lobby. January 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by HOTEL RENOVATION I really liked the renovation of the tower, the rooms are brighter and l really like the counter space in the bathroom. Most hotels forget that there are a lot of business travelers that are women and we need counter space for our make up. I also liked that there was fridge that is not a mini bar that I could use in the room. My overall experience was great and I used the 25% discount offered during breakfast in the oak room. Next time will try to use the spa. July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by some problems here Had to change rooms as first one was DUST laden--so much so that service person wrote the word DUST in the dust that was on the coat closet doors and elsewhere. Second room had a faulty window that could not be completely closed. Neither room came with an extra pillow, usually found in closet. Also, coffee shop/bar open area in lobby closed at 10pm as did Gift shop making no obvious hotel access for fresh coffee/sundry-type items after those hours.... That said, staff very competent, pleasant and accommodating w Kudos to Muhammad, night manager. March 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little disappointed The room appeared to be clean, but we had no washcloths. When we went to our room housekeeping was in adjacent room on phone, an hour later when we left for shopping she was still there sitting at desk, talking on phone. In the morning of our stay the man in charge of stocking the refrigerator knocked and said he just needs to check the fridge. There was open water from people before us, and he preceded to restock while we where trying to get ready. We never even opened the refrigerator, and it was apparent they did not check this before our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by For consideration There is all night construction going on currently in Union Square. I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have been very happy. However, when making my reservation I should have been told of the construction. I would have requested a different room location. I paid a chunk of change for sleepless nights. The reservation person should have discussed this with me. All night beeps and pile driving is not my thing. July 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a beautiful lobby. I was some what disappointed in the room. 1025. It had a very loud fan, I could easily her my neighbor's conversation. I finally just opened my window for outside air vs. fan noise. (Jack hammer or fan) . When booking I called and asked for a robe. The front desk couldn't guarantee a robe and on the last day before check out I saw a entire rack of robes being brought to other rooms on my floor. I don't complain, but it was disappointing to see that. The house keepers were really loud in the morning, I understand I was right across from their storage closet, but they should be aware of their loudness, and when cleaning my room they did not replace clean glasses each day, I wiped them out myself. However, on a good note the restaurant and lounge was fantastic. I have stayed in Westins in San Diego and,Hawaii I expected The same quality in San Francisco. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second time at hotel and not impressed Our first experience was much better than the most recent one. Dirty duvet cover (someone's makeup?), haphazard housekeeping (kleenex and toilet paper not replenished one day), dirty hallway (someone's pizza box and other trash remained by the elevators overnight and past noon the next day) and a disappointing bathroom (heavenly "bath" had no bathtub, and a tiny horrible shower that didn't drain properly. Toilet reminiscent of a public restroom with manual flush valve on stainless pipes). Great location, big rooms, but overall a disappointment. December 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy My major issue with the hotel the noise level from the street. The street drummer outside my room was like torture. I was offered ear plugs by the hotel staff. In the addition the street noise was way too much as well. The other concern is how old the facility is. Perhaps if it was updated and sound proofed a bit better I would give a better review. I simply did not sleep well at all there because of the noise. Everything else was quite nice. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay in the newer part of the Hotel I have stayed at the Westin St Francis a few times, this was the only stay that I was disappointed. It was the first time I stayed in the older part of the hotel. It looked like no one has stayed in this particular room in a while. There was an empty water bottle on the floor. When I told my experience at check out, he said, yes because it was the old part of the hotel. I didn’t think that was a good excuse, all your rooms should be at top quality, this is not what I expected for a Westin Hotel. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming, but one letdown. We were pretty satisfied overall with the hotel. The only complaint I have is that I called to confirm a room in the Tower Building and was promised so. However, when we arrived on our check-in date, we were put in the Landmark Building, as there were no rooms in the Tower. We liked our room, but this detail was a letdown. Also, we REALLY wanted to ride in the glass elevator, but we were told we could not because we were staying on the 7th floor. The water pressure in our room was pretty terrible. Other than these three issues, we really enjoyed the hotel. Service was prompt with valet, we were adequately supplied with fresh coffee cups whenever we needed them and the staff even brought us our own refrigerator in an extremely timely manner. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel Everything was perfect. Our room was clean, beds felt like clouds, and the service was impeccable. Our flight landed around 9 in the morning and check in was not until 3 pm but the staff was able to get us into rooms right away. The concierge recommended a couple of lovely restaurants and included a map of the area. We will be staying here again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat location and ambiance! Fantastic hotel with great location for shopping at Union Square & theater Staff friendly and helpful. Both rooms were ready for check in when we arrived early, even though the hotel was very full. Note: I love the traditional rooms, not the tower. High ceilings, chandilear, etc. I don't mind the unusual shapes, sizes of the rooms but WHY would you place a modern rolling desk chair at the desk in these charming rooms. This is a recent "remodel" and not a good one! Please change it to traditional furnishings. Keep the modern look for the towers! December 13, 2011
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 43 next>>