The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1283 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Home Away from Home My mother, son, and I spent the night at the Westin St. Francis and played tourist in San Francisco for a few days. Born and raised in California, it was always a dream to stay at this beautiful landmark hotel one day and I am so glad we did. From the minute we arrived at the parking garage to our departure the next day, our stay was exceptional. The staff is friendly, helpful and gracious. We stayed on the 12th floor of the landmark building. The room was substantial. Plenty of space for the three of us, comfortable, nicely decorated and we even had a small view of Macy's even though our room was on the inside. We enjoyed our time playing in the city and the hotel felt like home after returning from a long day of sight-seeing. What a wonderful visit! Great job to all at the Westin St. Francis! March 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is overpriced Small rooms, hotel is "tired". Needs an upgrade. Room service slow and inedible. Bathroom - dirty, toilet did not work. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good old fashion hotel This hotel is an older style hotel with a grand and active lobby. The rooms are spacious. However, the rooms in the main building could do with a re-fresh. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay The accomodations,the staff and the restaurant were great. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING STAY From the moment we walked in until the moment we left SF, we were treated so well! Everyone was kind and helpful, and I can't wait to stay again! March 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location It was our 25th wedding anniversary and Jessica (front desk) upgraded us to a larger corner room which was greatly appreciated and made a huge positive difference in enjoyment of our length of stay. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recently refurbed room, great room! Very spacious, very comfortable but of course, very expensive. Room phone quit working after one day and could not be fixed until after we left (four nights later). March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing on multiple fronts I am a long time SPG member and this was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. Three major issues: 1. Our room was adjoined to an elevator shaft. The noise was ridiculous. 2. The shower handle broke thus I could not shower before going to dinner. 3. Order a pizza for room service - it took 40 minutes and it was cold. March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement This review is based on a stay in a room in the old section of the Westin. Colleagues who stayed in the tower were happier with their experience. But as noted below, there were problems apart from room quality. Room: My double was surprisingly small and dark, with a view into the windows of other rooms in the old section of the hotel. Furnishings were dated (with the exception of the brand new flat screen TV). The bathroom was small and dark with outmoded tub fixtures. Carpet was worn in high traffic areas. No stationary of any sort in room. Good news -- room was equipped with a safe, ironing board, coffee maker, bathrobe and free internet that worked. To be clear, the rooms were not unlivable, but were also not up to par. Advice: Ask for a room in the tower wing. Or find another hotel. Location and Conference Facilities: The hotel was in an ideal location on Union Square. Three blocks from BART. My conference sessions were held on floor 32 of the Westin tower with spectacular views. As a speaker, I really had to work hard to keep the attention of the audience. Eyes kept gazing out the windows. Not the fault of the hotel! Bad news: The “smart” elevators malfunctioned. I was in an elevator that stopped at floor 11 and then refused to go up or down. Others went to floor 32 but the doors did not open. Participants rode back to the lobby and tried again. We had to delay the start of two sessions because of elevator problems. Advice: Bring a book to read in case your elevator refuses to open or leaves you on the wrong floor. Perhaps something on optimization and control theory. Or on quality control. Kafka might be best. Advice: Or enjoy the view from the glassed in elevators if you are stuck. Restaurants and bars: Overpriced and mediocre. Not highway robbery – just usual convention hotel prices. Not terrible quality. Edible but very ordinary. The service was surprisingly bad. For example, in the bar off the lobby, the server took my order but did not bring the drink for about 30 minutes. After being flagged, the server brought the drink 10 minutes later. Not acceptable. Advice: Get out of the hotel and enjoy San Francisco. There are plenty of good dining options near the hotel. Consider the trendy Blue Stem Brasserie on Yorba Linda just off Market between 3rd and 4th – inventive appetizers and entrees at a moderately high price point. Or Katana-Ya – an inexpensive hole in the wall Japanese restaurant with pretty good ramen, udon and soba one block west of the hotel on Geary. Front desk, housekeeping and AV staff: Front desk was efficient and courteous. Housekeeping was doing the best that they could with rooms in need of refurbishing. AV staff balanced sound from platform microphones, floor microphones, and remote participants. No complaints. Bottom Line: This hotel was many levels below the other Westin properties that I know. From room quality to elevator roulette to food quality and bar service. Pretty bad across the board. March 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by St Francis Old Wing The Original wing of the ST Francis needs to be updated, I was disappointed with the rooms but really like the Hotel. March 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not stay at this hotel The room was so outdated. It's so tiny that a king sized bed takes up most of the space. The carpet is worn out, the arm chair is so old and dirty, the bathroom is just a little bigger than a walk-in closet. I would not pay such a high price for a motel quality room again ever. March 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, almost great Good hotel, has a nice feel to it. Staff courteous and *everywhere*. Bed was amazing. Shower had low water pressure but was clean. Wifi was horrible - inconsistent and slow. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by location I do recommend the new building with nice room and good view over looking the union SQ.high level of security March 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by SgS The carpet was coming losse from the floor near the bathroom door the paint was peeling from the ceiling. The room and hallway smelled like an old hotel, not a fresh smell by any means. The lobby bar service was poor at best, and the prices did not reflect the service at all. March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service Experience Having a hospitality degree and back ground I know how staff are suppose to treat guests, and I am also sympathetic when things go wrong. However the staff at this hotel was nothing but rude, unhelpful, condescending and down right horrible when we had a bad experience with room service never showing up. At the very least the front desk staff should have offered to take the meals off the room or credit something back after 2 plus hours of dealing with this issue. I was pretty speechless at how rude and mean the front desk staff was. No matter what happened, or what the situation is you NEVER treat guests with disrespect or impoliteness and it was as though they had been trained to do so. The person I was traveling with had a very similar situation occur completely separately of this incident. We were both appalled. February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and Elegance at Union Square My husband and I stayed here last weekend and loved it. The rooms were newly renovated and spacious. The mattress was very firm and comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and even the blow dryer was top notch. It is the little things that make your stay! It would have been nice if they had a sound dock, but everything else was wonderful. Very friendly staff and the location is walking distance to some of the best shopping, restaurants and China Town. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by lack of response booked the hotel for us and 1 other couple and stayed for 1 night at the hotel on a layover and found a sink that would not drain. Asked the front desk to please fix it so that we can use the bathroom that night. Nobody responded nor any action taken. Ended up using the bathtub to brush our teeth and wash up the night before and in the morning. Disappointing. February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Air Con humming sound Generally was okay except the old air conditioning unit that was humming non stop - sleep was affected. Similar observations on other rooms as well after i switched rooms. The only way was to switch off the air con unit - leaving the windows slightly open for natural ventilations. February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suite night awards Very Disappointed with the way SPG handling the process of my suite awards ! February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Extra night stay trouble I stayed 3 nights from 2/17 to 2/20. My flight was at 10:30 pm on Thursday so I asked there was a room available so I could use my room until 8 pm before leaving. I was told there was a room available but that the rate would be increased. I was staying with a group of 30 and they all were staying through Saturday. I was wiling to pay for a full night even though I was leaving at 8 pm but didn't understand the rate increase especially with a group of 30 that comes every 3 months. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was very disappointed with the serving staff in each of the two lobby bars. As a SPG I travel regularly and after having to go to the counter in order to place an order I was effectively ignored when I presented my drink coupon. My wife and I were not even approached to see if we wanted another round of drinks. The bar was not busy but the service was horrible. Similar poor service in the other lounge February 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great historic hotel - horrible service I traveled with a group of 7 women and was very excited to stay at such a famous hotel. The room was nice and it was beautiful. But the service was horrible. By far the WORST I have ever received at a hotel, let alone a Westin, in my life. Not only did they appear short staffed but they were rude and simple questions like "where should we eat" were answered with snide remarks. The worst came to room service. Not only did they forget to deliver food once but they were over an hour late another time. Also when we needed another room key, we had to wait 30 minutes because they had just one person working the front desk. We realized the Chinese New Year Parade was the same weekend but they should have been prepared with enough staff. All in all, for the price per night and for the expectations of a Westin hotel, we were very very disappointed with how we were treated. February 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing I was very much looking forward to my stay at this hotel. Situated on Union square and an iconic looking property, it gives the impression of a grand palace from the early 1900's. Unfortunately on the inside it looks as though it has received little attention since that times the decor is tired and grubby. The hotel rooms are depressing, in our room on the 3rd floor, the decor was stark, uninviting and completely inappropriate for such a room. I did not feel clean or comfortable in the room. Extremely disappointing. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by mini vacation!! We love heading over to SF from the east bay and being pampered for the weekend. Two nights at the St. Francis felt like we were on a relaxing vacation. The employees all make us feel like old friends. We would never stay anywhere else when we get away to the city. We stay at the Westin St. Francis many times each year and we always receive fabulous service. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in the heart of San Francisco Best hotel ever with easy access from Geary and Powell Streets entrance. In the heart of San Francisco with spectacular views and in the mix of people, places, and transportation. The Cable Car is right in front of this hotel. Enjoy! February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old and tired The rooms in the historic part of the hotel are old and tired. Musty smell. Dirty carpets. Darkish hallways. Not at all what you would expect from a Westin. Plus a whopping $53 a day for valet parking. There are too many other excellent hotels in San Francisco to ever stay here again. February 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great traditional hotel The most important item in a hotel room is a comfortable bed. The beds here are extremely comfortable. The second-most important item is a working shower with good water pressure and nozzles. Here again, the hotel succeeds. Next is overall comfort and the hotel meets expectations, with a good table for the laptop. Finally, staff attentiveness and courtesy are important, and here they are outstanding. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay near the center of everyting The room was clean and spacious with a nice view. Both the checkin/checkout staff were very nice and welcoming. The cleanliness of both public and private spaces was impeccable. The management of this hotel is clearly doing a great job. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OLD SCHOOL CHARM, COMFORT This is a great hotel, very much in the "old school" category. Nice, big comfortable room, attentive staff, excellent room service and centrally located for an easy walk to and from all of my business appointments. February 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ashtray Room The hotel is in a great location and for the most part staff is friendly. Our room was a non smoking room. However, our room had a strong tobacco smoke odor. We called the front desk and they stated they would report this up the chain. We weren't offered a new room. In retrospect we should have contacted the GM. Overall, the hotel has a great ambiance but fell short on the room odor. Our hope is that if we stay here again that we will not encounter this major flaw again. February 11, 2014
  • 2015-03-31T17:56:06.000-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1283, tr_1283
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 44 next>>