Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1405 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Below expectations Perhaps we expected too much from the St. Francis. The Tower section (hallways and rooms) were what one would expect at an average hotel - bland décor with no charm or character. Toiletries were no-name in unattractive plastic bottles. No assist bar in the bath tub. The view from our room was fabulous and the elevator system was perfect. May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Checkout Our stay was fantastic, with such a great location you couldn't be more in the heart of the city. Checkout was the only time I felt the staff was very rude. I waited at the front of the line with 8 empty positions and the one person on duty in front of me stayed on the phone for over 25 minutes (Joy was her name) When I finally approached the desk she looked up and said I'm busy now. I was so frustrated I left. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifull, comfortable, and convenient! This gem in the middle of San Francisco is a gorgeous property, and it is convenient to many of San Francisco's highlights. Sitting right on the cable car line, and within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Lombard Street, bus tours are also available across the street at Union Square. If you love to shop, there's no better place to stay, and if you love to eat...well, take it from me, you will never go hungry! The lobby is full of historical artifacts and stories of those who have visited before us, and each trip through it was more fascinating than the last. This is the only city hotel that I would go back to again and again. FIVE STARS! May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a beautiful hotel! The staff is friendly and attentive. It is very centrally located for business as well as pleasure. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible & disappointing Had confirmed reservation for a "Grand Deluxe Tower King Bed" room. At check in received a "standard" room and was told by front desk that it was a Grand Deluxe Room !!! Moved room and was told there is no King Bed available! Disappointing customer service! No follow up from Management. May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location. Central to all attractions I was upgraded from a regular king to superior king room May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible First of all, Raymond who is the bellman (I think) around the back was amazing. He even stepped out into traffic to let us know where to park temporarily while checking in before returning our rental car. James, who helped people at the front door in and out of taxis, was wonderful. These two should get a raise and/or be promoted. Two lovely ladies at the information desk (not the front desk or concierge) who we chatted to the following morning were fabulous in making suggestions of where to shop and eat. The older gentleman who was in charge of the valet parking was grumpy. How about a "hello"? The man who was in the booth or stand for people to get their keys was downright rude. Who tosses car keys at a guest. A very blatant toss. Learn some manners. The front desk guy was friendly but didn't even look to see if I could be upgraded like I am supposed to as an SPG member. He just said "We're full," and left it at that. Didn't give me the complimentary WiFi or bonus points I was supposed to get, either. Or maybe because I'm no longer a Platinum member? The tall brunette at the concierge desk had no idea what she was talking about and made a huge deal out of making a simple phone call to see if a business was open. We are tourists in her city and we don't know everything yet she was asking us for information and seemed perturbed she should actually have to do what it is that concierge are supposed to do. Such as give us a map. It was extremely painful for her to pull one out and circle where the hotel was so we had an idea of where we were. We also asked her for a suggestion of where to have dinner and she said that there were many places if we just walked around. What made the stay terrible and extremely disappointing? Being in the supposedly classy Clock Bar and seeing an older gentleman and his younger female companion engaging in public s-e-x-u-a-l (apparently that is an inappropriate word that was flagged by Westin) acts. At first we thought they were just being affectionate, then it started to get uncomfortably s-e-x-u-a-l. My friend moved so she would not have to see, and was able to block my view. The server asked why my friend moved and we told her we didn't really want to see people making out like that, to which she replied, "Oh, I know!" From where I was sitting I could see heads turned staring in the direction of the amorous couple and these grins on the faces of the guys (mostly men in there), caught a few comments and rude gestures so I peek around my friend and see the gentleman had removed his blazer and had draped it strategically over his companion and himself. We carried on, trying to ignore, and enjoy our drinks. A few minutes later I hear some laughter and decided to see if it was safe. The woman's hair was drenched in sweat, her face was flushed and her chest was bright red (it was exposed as she was dressed rather like she should have been elsewhere) and she had a huge smile on her face. Well, good for you for feeling so good for whatever it is that you two were doing under there! One of the staff came over to us to chat about some bottles of wine we were selecting and we made a comment about what we just saw and he says, "Oh yeah, that happens all the time." Really? In a hotel like the Westin? In a seemingly nice bar/lounge? We don't want to see that as paying guests of the hotel and the bar. Sure, we could have left, but at least we were buying something other than a s-e-x-u-a-l encounter. What we found interesting is the staff just standing there staring and laughing, including as we found out later, the hotel's front desk manager and the manager of the restaurant, a curly headed woman. We decided to leave and speak to the front desk so they knew what was going on. The nice girl said, "We have security for that very reason, because it's common for this to happen." So it is common for people to have s-e-x in public in a bar inside a hotel? Okay. She said she would call security and her front desk manager. She starts chatting and then says, "My manager is in there." He was in the Clock Bar! When he came out we realized he was one of the guys standing there watching and laughing. We told him what we saw and how we were a little surprised that nobody i.e. the staff did anything. His response was "They are not a Westin company and those two people were paying guests at the bar so they can do what they want." WE are paying guests, too! So we can strip and jump around the bar and it's okay??? Yah, apparently because there is nothing he can do. The next day after tweeting a few words I am asked to contact the hotel as they take things very seriously. No, they don't. They're dismissive. A $50 credit isn't going to solve the customer service issues the hotel has. Oh wait, they'll waive the parking fee (we didn't park). Panned responses to appease guests. Hoping that it gets addressed before I go and write a review. Well, here I am writing my honest review. I want my 25 000+ SPG points and cash back. So disappointed that I didn't choose to stay at another SPG like I always do. My first and last time staying at a Westin. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great room, great service, and great location Stayed for a weekend in early May, 2014 - the hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. We got upgraded to a very nice room with a great view of the city. Location was very convenient. May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location. Great location, but room temp hard to adjust. Lots of street noise. Coffee cost $5. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy I've stayed several times over the years at the St Francis, but this was my first stay in the Tower. My room was lovely; large and newly renovated. However, the noise level from water banging around pipes (I believe from room below) was incredible. Made me miss the old wing. May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location Good vibe Lacked wifi in room considering rooms were super expensive Lacked meal options in the already expy package May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Front Desk Staff When they found out I was a Starwood Club member I was offered an upgraded room at a better price than I was quoted through all websites like, Travelocity, etc..... May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average stay, disappointed with room. Overall pretty hotel in a great part of the city. I used Platinum Suite Nights to upgrade my room. I was extremely disappointed with the room. Out dated and nothing great about it. Basically a normal room withy another regular room attached to it. I definitely would not have used my upgrade had I know this. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Nice location and close to the action. The staff was very friendly and help with directions whenever needed. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location to enjoy San Francisco The St.Francis is located in the heart of San Francisco at Union Square. Perfect for shopping and close to fantastic restaurants. The hotel has wonderful rooms the beds are to die for! The service is excellent. Everyone is very helpful for every need you require. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by restaurants very good to excellent for hotel food May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful place to stay in SF! My husband and I celebrated my Bday in SF for 5 nights. We really loved the location, the ambiance, the historical aspect of this hotel. It is an older hotel, but very charming. We had a single queen room, got upgraded to a bigger room with two double beds. Due to dogs barking for hours, upon my calling the front desk, they took care of us right away, upgraded us to a larger queen double room. The beds are comfy, the room was very clean, the hotel staff were wonderful. From the bell hop the second we stepped out of our car, to the front desk clerks, the maids said hello every time we passed them, to the bell hop ensuring we had a taxi when we exited the premises. Everyone was very attentive, that I was very impressed with. The management at this hotel have really trained their personnel well. We've stayed at tons of hotels and resorts, this hotel has the best staff. I requested a Micro and refrigerator, within 5 minutes of going to our room, they brought it up to us. April 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful historic building The building is beautiful and in the heart of Union Square. Easily walkable to many interesting restaurants or shops. That said, it's also a very busy lobby. I dined in room to get some privacy. I'm not sure it's a great place for business, as the internet can be spotty and the business center is basically a copy room. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Stuff at St. Francis Although a very brief (one night) stay, it was quite enjoyable. Room was great, bed was extremely comfortable. Oak Room bar was lovely! April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Wonderful experience, thanks for making our special celebration so fantastic. April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location. This hotel is in the heart of Union Square. It is the perfect location to get around the city. We also greatly appreciated the fact that the hotel gave us a late check out time of 4:00 PM. That was extremely helpful as we had a late flight. April 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible Service and bad rooms This is the worst service and room I have ever had staying at a Starwood hotel and the least responsive staff April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Patience - Upgrades coming slowly As a long time weekly guest of the hotel, I can see the progress that is being made at the St Francis. The newly renovated rooms in the tower are a great upgrade. I am appreciating the fresh clean look. The historic building is beautiful but has a persistent odour of mustiness that no open window breeze can refresh anymore. The rugs simply need to go ! The plumbing needs to be upgraded to repair the back-flush fumes issue. The cleaning service seems to be perpetually behind, however. I have been asked several times to wait hours after attempting to check-in . Recently I came back to the hotel after 7pm and the room was still not "put together" with the bed sheets left lying on the floor. That's not good service. The buffet breakfast at the Oak Room is pleasant but has not changed in any way in 2 years. The consistency is impressive and the service excellent but I stopped breakfasting there out of sheer boredom. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing location - Fabulous Hotel! We had a wonderful stay here and perhaps the most incredible surprise was the restaurant! Actually BOTH restaurants! Amazing food and wonderful staff in both. Hotel offers great location to everyplace you want to be and a great value! April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stately quality Walking into the lobby of this hotel and I immediately felt the classic qualities of the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and there are plenty of staff members each willing and able to help or direct you to the any help that you may need. The hotel has recent renovated many if not all of their rooms. The renovation solves the problem of having outlets near the bed, though the reduction in dresser space makes unpacking. Negatives: The in-room wi-fi is not reliable. The hotel's casual dining option is lacking, but there are sufficient alternatives nearby. There is no pool. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location. Great service. I have been in many Westin hotels in North America, Canadia and APAC and this is by far the best I've stayed in. Check-in and check-out are hassle-free. The hotel has many entrances and exits. It is located strategically in the heart of SF where great shopping and must-see sights abound. The staff is very very good. Concierge is top-notch. Consider their advice when you need to go around SF and California in general. Bell service is very efficient. Only compliant is free water was not given automatically throughout the trip. I hope housekeeping can provide the free bottles without having to ask them all the time. April 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked a "grand deluxe tower" room with a city view for a 3 night weekend stay. I advised the hotel I would be arriving late at night. Upon arriving, I was given a grand deluxe room in the "landmark" (old) building, which was large, but on the sixth floor, with little city view, and also noisy due to street noise and voices in an adjacent room, with too much flashing light from Union Square intruding through the curtains, which are difficult to close adequately. The bathroom was small. The registration clerk did not explain the reason for the room change. SPG guests, and guests generally, should not be treated this way. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Comfort Westin St. Francis is located directly across the street from Union Square. It's great for shopping and really close to all the public trans on Market. The comfort of the hotel is also fantastic. I will definitely be staying here again. April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Okay Stay LOCAT ION, LOCATION, LOCATION. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Repeated Disappointment Terribly long line for check in. Told they were doing their best. After very long wait room category was incorrect but we were told the hotel was overbooked. We were also told that the room was renovated and better windows were put in to lower the outside noise level. This was clearly not true as the noise level was quite high and the windows were quite old. We were sent an inexpensive bottle of wine to soothe us but it arrived very late after about an hour. The maid service was poor and the bed linen was not changed daily. We have a grandchild in SF and will be going there often. There are so many hotels that thebservice is making it very difficult to remain loyal to this hotel. April 22, 2014
  • 2016-10-24 T10:19:58.453-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1405, tr_1405
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 48 next>>