The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1137 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is a great place for traditions We've been staying at this hotel for over 30 years as a tradition. We celebrate the oncoming holiday with the initial Christmas tree lighting in Union Square. We battle the crowds during Black Friday in order to people watch. The spirit is in the air and the store windows are decorated with holiday flair. The hotel has always accommodated us nicely even though there is a dance competition the same weekend, which makes it a little more insane, but it's cute to see the little dancers. A treat every year and to many more years to come. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Landmark it is and always will be The St. Francis continues to be the icon that it always has been throughout the ages. It has the bustle and energy of a large hotel with a mix of both business and tourist trade. The hotel is split into the older Landmark building and the newer Tower building. If you don't mind hearing and being close to the action, you can chose the Landmark building. It has that old world feel of the Plaza in NY. But is more worn and dated in some areas although the furnishings and everything else are completely up to Westin standards. The Tower building is more modern and typical of a city hotel. The room service is great. The Staff are really tremendous and accommodating and the location cannot be beat. There are so many popular places to shop and eat near there. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Problem Solved Our grand daughter was traveling with us and an item that was very important to her was lost in transit from our car to our room. We notified Kelly, one of the front desk managers, and between her and Angelina the issue was worked on all night including security cameras, personnel questions, etc. When we checked out the item was presented to our grand daughter. The tears of joy from our grand daughter brought tears to all around us at that point. Thank you to Kelly and Angelina for recognizing the importance of the item. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aging Property in a Great Location This is an aging grand dame perfectly situated for those that want to shop and want to be in striking distance of the financial district, SOMA, China Town etc. This said, the rooms are old, tired and poorly appointed. I stayed in the tower thinking that the accommodations would be better, and they were not. The carpet looked spotted and dirty, and the overall decor was just this side of seedy. Last, their green program is presented in a very confusing. As directed I left a card on my bed so that housekeeping would skip changing the bed linens every day. Instead, the room was never cleaned, food trays were left in the room all day, and I had to make several calls to get someone to come up and clean. Overall the stay was disappointing but for the location. December 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel I spent two nights at this hotel. It is very large and well maintained. I booked a grand deluxe tower room and stayed in room 2691 which had amazing views. Unfortunately, it was a bit noisy as I could clearly hear the conversations in the next room. Further, there was some loud noises coming room the floor above which I was told by the front desk was due to construction. Additionally, there was no mini-bar available in this room which was slightly inconvenient. I requested late checkout when I arrived and the clerk wrote 4pm as checkout on my keycard. However, on the day of checkout a gentleman at the express desk told me the latest he would offer was 2pm, even though I am Gold level with SPG. I ordered room service 3 times during this stay and the 2nd time took three trips before my order was completed. I ordered hot tea with the continental breakfast and received the cups but no hot water or tea. The gentleman who delivered my meal was very apologetic and friendly. Overall I think this hotel is decent and I may or may not stay here again the next time I visit SF. April 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what we're accustomed to... It appears that the Westin has cut back a little on the 'little extras'..beginning at check in. I was rushed right through, never offered the usual ' welcome' options. From our room I called to inquire re. the lack of bottled water in the room and was told that is now only provided upon request...could not find a soda machine on our floor, the front desk said there wasn't one, our room had a mini bar... Turned out ours was completely empty...not the pampering we are used to. We will stay at the W for our next getaway. December 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable but pricey stay downtown The Westin St Francis is located centrally in downtown and is well connected to many touristy destinations. It is a large hotel so don't expect personal attention but on the whole it is very comfortable and efficient although a bit pricey. April 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than what I was expecting For me, the location is too touristy, but if that's what you're looking for - then it's great. Be aware that just a few blocks over is the tenderloin neighborhood, not a place to go late at night, at least on foot. The room was only ok. No free water bottles here as I've had elsewhere and I'm a Starwood Preferred guest. The tub did not drain so we took our showers standing in water. Ick. Other than that, the room was nice and the beds great. The food prices are very high and there really isn't much special about this property. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't let them put you on the Geary street side Wonderful classic hotel, and the Landmark building has very large and comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, this is the second trip in a row where I was placed on on the Geary street side. The corner is well known to the staff for it's loud obnoxious noise from the outdoor music that runs until 10PM. Definitely a problem when your body is on GMT and you want to get to sleep early. Took quite a while to get moved to a room way from the noise. Very frustrating, I expect better - particularly as I spend over 1/3 of the year on the road. December 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is great, but... We loved the landmark building and the view overlooking Union Square. There are two things that did bother me and this seems to be a constant in all hotels... First, the overnight staff (those who work during normal sleeping hours 10:00 pm to 7:00 am) don't seem to care that the people behind all the doors are sleeping and they act like it is okay to talk as loud as they want, even shouting down the halls to each other. They don't care that their carts are also very loud when they race them down the halls and in/out of their storage rooms. And when they go in and out of their storage rooms, they don't worry about the doors slamming. That is the second constant in hotels today. The doors are way too loud. I wish someone would come up with a door that is silent when closing... January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Happy Stay I enjoyed greatly this hotel superb location staff kind and attentive gave me a spacious room at the thirtieth floor with magnificent city view - skyline and Union Square. April 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned in 4 months Our room was not ready when we arrived. Not a problem we know it was a busy time of year. Our room was in the old part. Room 470. Recently redecorated. good caulking in the bathroom. small room but well finished and a great queen bed. nicely painted and clean. Husband got the call we were being upgrade to a better room the next day. 15 floor great view on the newer side. Didn't notice the condition of the bathroom 1588. Rotten caulking and "Pink Slim" Serratia marcescens. rotten caulking. growth work that had not been cleaned in months. Paint missing. Broken closet door. Didn't not have time to complain. only had one night left. Whent to walgreens and got some disinfectant wipes for the toilet, door handles and sink. I took photos if you would like to see them. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Dissapointed I stay here every month for a week and the last two times have been bad. This time my room was not made up on Thursday 6/27. Also the first night I began to iron my shirt and there was a gummy substance on the iron that ruined my shirt. When I called they brought me a new iron but no apology or offer to get me a new shirt. Also, when I called about the room, Services said they are still cleaning rooms. This was 5:55pm. Who says that at that time. Ridiculous. I will ask my travel department to try another Union Square hotel. June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enormous, well-appointed hotel in central location Just a few blocks from BART and right on Union Square. The rooms were much bigger than I'd expect at a downtown SF hotel. The staff super approachable and helpful (and plentiful); they even have an IT dept if you have trouble with wifi or VPNing to your work network, etc. The amenities are seemingly endless. My colleague stayed a night at the Sir Francis Drake across the street and marveled at how much nicer the Westin St Francis was. The only downside to my stay was that the place is so big, it's easy to get disoriented :) January 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a bad property at all... This property is all about location. You are right at the hear of Union Square and everything is at your fingertips. I used to live in that city and visited a few properties during that time so I know enough to know that this property belongs to the better ones. Safe, exciting, centrally located and it is not bad at all. I highly recommend for visiting tourist and/or people who wish to be in the center. Yes, there are homeless people all over, but guys you gotta face the fact that this is not a location problem, they are everywhere in San Francisco and I must say there are other high end resorts that are located in the middle of the "ghetto". This Westin is not. I recommend it! BTW, Shopping is excellent, a HUGE Macy's, Saks fifth avenue are all right next door.... September 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel Stayed here for two nights for work. A nice old hotel. I loved the hallways. They didn't have my Starwood number, so I gave it to them, they recognized my Gold status and gave me a King instead of a Queen. Not much, but something. The gym was great. The bars in the lobby were great. My only complaint that that my room had a foul odor on my second day and I called about it. They sent someone from engineering who walked in, sniffed and said he didn't smell anything and walked out. Not really what you expect from a Westin. February 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel was my choice before above all This time my experinece at this hotel was really bad. the room was horrible. the service was really bad over crowded no security at all. they were random people walking around on each floor no sense of security at all. the front desk person was very rude. This is the first time of all the times I stayed there I experience this and it was not a good thing for new year and i don't think I would want to ever stay there and I always told everybody to come there well not anymore. It ruined my whole family vacation and we cut our trip short and checked out early. paid alot for a room that was discusting. and they couldn't change. It's a shame for starwood to have this kind of service and I am a big fan of starwood hotel in excellence but not this hotel > very unsatisfied January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Experience I book a double, but was given a queen in the older part of the hotel. I’ve stayed at this hotel countess times … The room was one of the worst I’ve ever experienced. Filthy, musty and cramped -- tucked away in an odd part of the hotel. Not like the typical room I’m used to. To add insult to injury, the occupants in the room we shared a wall with were making outrageous and inappropriate noses all night long and into the early morning hours. I hardly slept… it was completely unacceptable. Do not ever book room # 1072-1075. You will be greatly disappointed! On a positive note, the food in the restaurant and lounge was excellent as always. The staff was courteous as well as accommodating and the tree lighting ceremony and shopping was wonderful, as it is every year. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old school at its best We stayed in the historic part of the hotel and for us it was perfect. Really high ceilings .. Classy decor and updated artwork .. Looked like a fashion shoot. Only catch is a tiny pre-war bathroom that some folks will find cramped. Staff was helpful and polite. Comment.. I usually hate the hotel's bar or restaurant .. Overpriced and careless. Not so at Bourbon.. Bar staff was uber professional .. Food was inspired.. They even pulled off a medium rare short rib which is supposed to be impossible if you want it tender. May 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by November stay My wife and I checked in on Wed Nov 12. When we booked our reservation we booked one room for one night in the south tower. We received our confirmation. Upon arrival the person who checked us in couldn't find our reservation, then she said we booked two rooms not one, then she charged us a $20 upgrade charge to be in the south tower. We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 6 years, never before were we charged to be in the south tower. We love the property and the location. But an upgrade charge...really! December 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unforgettably bad experience Checked in as part of a entourage. Messed up breakfast coupons: told us that coupon valid for 2 even though it says otherwise on coupon. Reconfirmed with front desk. Next morning, staff at restaurant turned us down. Even though our package entitles breakfast for 2, no staff gave us the coupons for the second person. We were told that there was a mistake, and a token gift will be sent to room. Nothing arrived. Some of my fellow entourage mates were charged for deliveries to concierge, some not, lack of consistency Some were given complimentary water in room daily, some were charged. Breakfast coupon lacks options. Same small buffer spread over 8 days is not 5-star quality. list goes on. Not recommended, despite having a great iconic building and very good location. September 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Special Offer Not What Was Promised If the hotel had honored the birth rate special that I was given over the phone and confirmed when our three parties checked in this would have been a higher rating. The hotel is clean, elegant, and comfortable, centrally located. I booked three rooms on line, and was supposed to pay only the last two digits of each parties birthdate for the second room. Even though I confirmed this rate at check-in, we were not given this rate, but an arbitrary rate that was higher than every birthday. I spoke to the front desk and the check-in agent was supposed to contact me to resolve and never has. Also, my mom picked up something at the mini-bar and was charged over $10 for looking at it - not eating it. This practice should be illegal and I am sure many people don't notice this. March 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location & Hotel Great place to have a very nice and relaxing time. Right across from Union Square and great views. Quick access to all of the shopping, restaurants and bars in the area. Elevators are quick too which are computerized. Only drawback would be the parking which might take a while for you to get out during high volume times where there is only one exit lane, but they use the side as another exit lane. Sometimes the cars are in both lanes so you will have a little bit of wait. So you need to be sure you're not in a rush. December 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in the Heart of the City My recent stay was good but not great. The property is convenient to everything including the hotel. There was some construction in front of the property that made it difficult to maneuver a vehicle that was parked in their lot. I chose to have a Green Option which I thought the staff would simply not wash my towels and bedding. However, at this property they don't even come into your room. That makes no sense. It doesn't improve the world if a housekeeper doesn't make your bed or replenish your water and coffee??? August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! This hotel is located directly across union square and very convenient for shopping, theatre and public transportation. The historic rooms seem larger and a lot more character than the tower rooms. The bed, however, did not seem as heavenly as other Westin hotels (no thick down mattress pad). We skipped the $58 parking and parked a few blocks away for $20/ night. Staff very accommodating, they brought us a step stool for our 4 year old to reach the sink and late check out was granted during the busy holiday season. January 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what it used to be! Where to begin?! The hotel was understaffed for a busy holiday weekend. Had to wait excessively for drinks or snacks in lobby and bar. Drinks not put in and then treated us rudely like it was our fault! Lobby bartender pulling out the recipe book to make drinks! We changed rooms upon check in because of cigarette smoke smell. Couldn't use the air or heat bc the vent was clogged with dust. Our mini bar was never refilled and when we ordered room service, they brought us sour, spoiled milk! Happy holidays!!! December 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy, noisy, noisy. Bang, bang go the doors; or is it gun fire?? Never stay at this hotel if you want quiet and sleep. Poor dollar value for a Westin! Please buy some new door closures as the noise is unacceptable from the doors banging each time a guest comes or goes from their room. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so special We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We specifically wanted a living room so we could watch a movie on the couch. Except the TV wasn't across from the couch it was next to the door. So the extra room was a waste. Also, there was loud drumming on the street until after 1:30am. So I had to turn on the room fan to create some white noise- except the ran blew right on your head in the bed. All they needed to do was put the bed on the other wall. As is, I woke with a sore throat. Not great. Won't likely go back. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view from towers, bad check-in, incorrect invoice Check-in: upon arrival at 11 pm our room was not ready which is no fun with a family travelling. Instead, they tried to give us a room without view in the older part of the hotel, not in the tower ("sweeping bay and city views"). Check-out: the room charge for the last night was 50% higher than the confirmed booking. Better read the invoice very carefully! Hotel room in the tower had indeed a great view, was nice; the lobby has no charm at all, a pity for a historical hotel like this one in this central location. August 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible stay The hotel rooms are old and dirty. The front desk staff is slow and unresponsive. This was the worst experience I have ever had at an SPG hotel and possibly the worst hotel experience I have had in the past 5 years. March 31, 2014
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 39 next>>