The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1126 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by check in time delay I can't tell you how dissapointed we were in the check in time delays we occured on july 20th. We checked about 3:00 p.m., told that our room was waiting for final inspection.This went on until 5:00,kept hearing another excuse after another.When we were finally checked in the lady on the computer she blurted by mistake that our room had been ready for quite awhile.Then when we were coming down from the 7th floor only one elevator was in service.Plus we missed our dinner date that evening.very dissapointed. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst hotel experience we've ever had My husband and I are both Starwood gold members. We always try to stay at Starwood hotels and have been satisfied guests...until now. The West St. Francis Union Square was atrocious. The staff was totally unprepared for the rush of the holiday weekend. We called on our way into the city to see that our room was ready and were told that it was ready and the roll away bed was confirmed. When we arrived, the room was not ready and the gentleman at the desk was completely unapologetic -- "We must have given your room to someone else." Two hours later (way past our child's bed time), they had a room for us and no roll away bed. Again, no apologies. The service was beyond unacceptable. Throughout the night, the roar of the old pipes in the hotel awakened us. We will NEVER EVER return. December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet and Relaxing Stay in the City! I've stayed in the newer portion of the hotel in the past and I remembered it being exquisite. Due to the cost I stayed in the older portion of the hotel. The room was huge! It was much bigger then expected. It didn't have much of a view except for brick of the other side of the building, however, it was a quiet night. In the past I've stayed in the city in a tiny room at the same rate with a view, but lots of city noise. I love the Westin and wish it was a tad less expensive so I could spend a week here! February 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by its not what it used to be The St Francis used to be a five star hotel, the top of the line in every way., Now it is just a frantic convention hotel, with alleged above average creature comforts. It is not at all terrible but not having an exectuive lounge, nor having late day turndown service demonstrate what it is not. Great location,. geting a cab can be awful , and frankly getting a snack in the lobby coffee bar is not an easy option if the hotel is busy. I shop price and brand, I love my points--- this is not a luxury place February 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by access to the hotel on weekends in really frustrating Traffic around the hotel and getting into the hotel parking is really frustrating on weekends. It took us a long time to get to the hotel and then over 30 minutes circling around the block to get into the parking garage. We first arrived at the hotel with plenty of time, but after circling the hotel and waiting to get in the garage, we had to rush to get into the hotel for the party we were attending. Plan to arrive much earlier than you think you will need to or you may be frustrated, too. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expctations We stayed at the Westin St. Francis 11/21-11/24 and the experience exceeded the high expectations I had prior to arriving. On check-in it was noted that we were celebrating an anniversary and we were upgraded to a nicer room and also received a nice card and treat in the room. Your staff was top notch and helpful and professional. The room and hotel amenities were great. We certainly will recommend this hotel to others and definitely consider a return as soon as possible. Keep up the great work! November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit disappointed As a frequent guest at Starwood properties I was a bit disappointed in our most recent stay. My family (husband and two kids) did not have enough towels and shampoo so each morning I had to ask for more. Also, my husband asked your valet staff if they could retrieve something from our car, they did but in the process apparently left a light on and killed my battery in my brand new 2012 Honda Oddysey. Upon leaving we waited for about 25 minutes in valet before anyone gave us a reason for the delay. The gentlemen in charge of Valet finally came to us to tell us that they had to charge our battery. This really made our departure problematic in that we had planned serveral stops on our way out of town and could not do that because I was concerned that my batterey as not charged enough. December 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by good view but bad smell Booked a room here with my points for New Year's eve. I was disappointed in the room which smelled of cigarette smoke. Also I thought that the bathtub could use some renovating as it was stained. The room also was small but the bed was comfortable and, after an initial concern about noise from the next room.....all was quiet. We did have a nice view of Union Square though...I just thought that since we had an upgraded room that it would be of higher quality and a bit more luxurious January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Team Meeting We had a team meeting organized at this hotel. The staff took care of my team from the time of check-in to helping us with our transportation. The facilities support staff were readily available to handle last minute requests, and were very courteous. The combination of location and service made this hotel stay and meeting great. While the hotel is a little dated, the room that was provided was well appointed and very comfortable. One drawback of the location is that Union Square can get quite noisy. November 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great historic hotel - horrible service I traveled with a group of 7 women and was very excited to stay at such a famous hotel. The room was nice and it was beautiful. But the service was horrible. By far the WORST I have ever received at a hotel, let alone a Westin, in my life. Not only did they appear short staffed but they were rude and simple questions like "where should we eat" were answered with snide remarks. The worst came to room service. Not only did they forget to deliver food once but they were over an hour late another time. Also when we needed another room key, we had to wait 30 minutes because they had just one person working the front desk. We realized the Chinese New Year Parade was the same weekend but they should have been prepared with enough staff. All in all, for the price per night and for the expectations of a Westin hotel, we were very very disappointed with how we were treated. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treat Yourself. We come to the city every year for one night to enjoy the Christmas atmosphere of Union Square. We upgraded to a Deluxe room in the Landmark building, overlooking Union Square & the Christmas tree. This was the largest Deluxe room we've ever stayed in. The charm of this building is unmatchable! That ,combined with the heavenly beds, room service for breakfast, sitting by the window enjoying the view...it was perfect! After a long night of shopping, we ended the stay on a very high note. Thank You! December 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I appreciate the hotel's location and history, but I was disappointed in one thing: I showed by Starwood Amex card and requested a room upgrade (which is guaranteed by the card), but was told the hotel was full so no upgrade was available. Someone in management approached me later because she recognized me from my work in TV News (CBS 5 in S.F.). I asked her if the hotel was full and she said No. I've never received anything more than the minimum from this hotel in terms of upgrades or amenities. November 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with Wi-Fi Service My stay went without difficulties except for Wi-Fi service in my room. Connection seemed to be full strength, but the connection would be on for a few seconds and then drop completely, restore (but need log-in), drop completely etc. This kept occurring on both iPhone and iPad, so it wasn't my equipment. I just gave up and stayed on 3G and 4LTE. Other than the Wi-Fi connection problem, the room was fine. Hotel staff was very accommodating on having room ready for early arrival and late check-out. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service! The St Francis has always been a favorite of ours but, this 2 nite stay was absolutely fabulous! The staff, in particular Willis the bellman and Virginia in houskeeping, went out of their way to make our stay very memorable. We had a beautiful room in the historic section of the hotel which overlooked Union Square. The bed linens were first class, very crisp and luxurious. Complimentary Starbucks coffee was provided in the room which was great to wake up to. We would highly recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by over rated Our stay was very disappointing. We ended up changing rooms twice because they had not been cleaned at all and were frankly disgusting. After changing rooms the first time for this reason, one would have thought that the staff would have ensured that the second room had been cleaned. It was even worse than the first room. Very disappointing. We visited the restaurant to join friends for drinks and appetizers, and our waitress was extremely rude from the start. Just not worth it. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service at Midtown An excellent, established hotel with a grand history in the heart of the city. I enjoyed every moment of our stay. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by concierge staff is terrible I stayed at this hotel in November and overall, it was ok, Nothing special, historical property, good location since its pretty central. I was extremely unsatisfied with conceirege staff. I asked one of the workers to recommend a restaurant, i had heard of a couple (suggestions from friends), so I asked her about those and she said "you won't get in there, you will have to wait". She didn't even bother to call the restaurant and ask. Overall, they were not very helpful and I found them rude. January 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The St Francis needs to improve food services. The Oak Room is a beautiful room. The food and services there are the worst. The management needs to do something about the food and services at the hotel. Has the manager tasted the cold , lumpy oatmeal? Has the manager been spoken to rudely by the hostess? We come every year and bring three families, your food services are very bad!!!ps I notice that you ask people to rate the local food . One should be able to have a good breakfast in the Oak Room. It should be a goal. December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was very disappointed with the serving staff in each of the two lobby bars. As a SPG I travel regularly and after having to go to the counter in order to place an order I was effectively ignored when I presented my drink coupon. My wife and I were not even approached to see if we wanted another round of drinks. The bar was not busy but the service was horrible. Similar poor service in the other lounge February 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, sub-par amenities I stayed in the older wing of the hotel. My room featured a great view of Union Square. However, I expected better from a Westin. The amenities in the room were lacking - no bathrobe, marginal supplies in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, and soap bars ONLY). The water in the shower never got hot. The A/C would not stay on (there was not FAN option), so in order not to suffocate I had to open the window a crack. This let in all the street noise, including cable cars, garbage trucks, etc. November 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by A birthday getaway ruined! The drunks in the next room were yelling and screaming as they watched a college football game. My wife called the front desk but nothing came of it. We could not stay under such circumstances so we checked out a day early. The front desk staff were full of excuses regarding why they could not help us and offered nothing to resolve the situation. We have been with Starwood for nearly two decades and never been treated so poorly. This NEVER happens at the St. Regis or Le Meridian. Very sad. November 23, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED in my stay I love this hotel and is the only place I stay in SF. I was so very disappointed in my recent stay. I am an SPG Platium member, I upgraded to the tower which was FREEZING. So uncomfortable. Also, I have a 4pm check out due to being Platium. Housekeeping walked in on me twice. Once at 7:50am!! And then again at 1:00pm AND I had the "do not disturb" sign on. Unexceptable. AND, the hotel ran out of hot water on my last night and I could not take a shower. I will have to rethink staying here. December 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mediocrity at its finest I've stayed at many Starwood hotels over the last couple years and am now a platinum member. Of the hotels I've stayed at, the majority have been Westin hotels in China, Canada and the US (mostly in California). My complaints: 1. I wasn't upgraded to any special room as a platinum member even though upgraded rooms were available as seen on the hotel website 2. The front desk was slow and didn't seem to understand the concept of queueing since there were several lines and the people being served were not based who was in line first 3. I was charged $20 for an umbrella (even though I was told I could leave it in the room when I was done with it) 4. Rooms are really beat down and shabby. On the upside, breakfast was decent and location is good. Overall, I was pretty disappointed with this Westin. December 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Maintenance is a problem My wife and I have stayed many times at the Westin St. Francis; my wife even refers to the hotel as "her hotel". We were both extremely disapointed with the overall upkeep of the hotel. The room that we stayed in the carpeting was soiled and stained. The hallways were dirty and dingy. Not a good time at all. It appears that while there have been some upgrades to the hotel over the past several month; the day to day maintenance is lacking. We will probably look elsewhere in San Francisco. December 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The Westin St Francis looks like a great Hotel (from the outside), however staying in a room won't be all that comfortable. The first night, I had to hide the faulty phone in a drawer to get some sleep to stop the flashing light - no hot water during my entire stay even though I reported the issue after the first night, and worse still the reception staff didn't seem to care! Please, get some customer service training into your reception staff! Needless to say, I won't be staying again! June 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good old fashion hotel This hotel is an older style hotel with a grand and active lobby. The rooms are spacious. However, the rooms in the main building could do with a re-fresh. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breakfasr at the Oak Room Terrible. The room was not busy, but we waited at least 30 minutes for our food. I ordered poached eggs with fresh fruit for a starter and they were all delivered together. When I said something to the waitress, she said "well, we need another waitress" Additionally, I was not asked how I like my eggs cooked and they were, in my opinion, overcooked. The charge was over $40.00, which is OK, however, one should get what they ordered, and not wait so long for their food. Very disappointed. January 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect visit Excellent service from checking in until departure. Rooms were spotless. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but Aging Hotel We received the service we expected from a Westin Hotel. however the hotel is showing it's age. The room was nice and clean, bed was heavenly, however the room was nothing special. We were greeted with the last guests room service plates at our door step, was not cleaned up until day two of our stay. The ice machine did not work on our floor, that was disappointing. Overall, it was above average, however, I expect Westin to be way above average. January 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a typical Westin experience I was really disappointed in the stay I had at the Westin this weekend. I am a platinum member and was given a room by the elevator and ice machine. The hotel had a party that went late into the night and all hotel guests were getting off the elevator screaming. I would not recommend this property to others. I normally have great experiences at Westin properties and was looking forward to this stay. It would be nice to acknowledge your loyal customers but maybe in SF you don't need to. January 3, 2013
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 39 next>>