The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1210 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enormous, well-appointed hotel in central location Just a few blocks from BART and right on Union Square. The rooms were much bigger than I'd expect at a downtown SF hotel. The staff super approachable and helpful (and plentiful); they even have an IT dept if you have trouble with wifi or VPNing to your work network, etc. The amenities are seemingly endless. My colleague stayed a night at the Sir Francis Drake across the street and marveled at how much nicer the Westin St Francis was. The only downside to my stay was that the place is so big, it's easy to get disoriented :) January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location. Great location, but room temp hard to adjust. Lots of street noise. Coffee cost $5. May 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy hotel This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel . Both times in the Westin tower which is the newer part of the hotel. The first time we were put in a room next to the lift shaft and heard lifts going up and down all night. This time we had work men who were renovating the floors above us. The drilling and hammering starting early in the morning. We complained twice and both times were told their was nothing they could do. When I went down to concierge at first he didn't know they were renovating but after I pushed him he said nothing they could do . He took my details and said he would get the manager to call me ...... I am home now and still waiting !!! Suggestion Westin , if u are going to renovate close the bloody hotel down don't let guests stay in a noisy place !!!! January 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel Stayed here for two nights for work. A nice old hotel. I loved the hallways. They didn't have my Starwood number, so I gave it to them, they recognized my Gold status and gave me a King instead of a Queen. Not much, but something. The gym was great. The bars in the lobby were great. My only complaint that that my room had a foul odor on my second day and I called about it. They sent someone from engineering who walked in, sniffed and said he didn't smell anything and walked out. Not really what you expect from a Westin. February 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location to enjoy San Francisco The St.Francis is located in the heart of San Francisco at Union Square. Perfect for shopping and close to fantastic restaurants. The hotel has wonderful rooms the beds are to die for! The service is excellent. Everyone is very helpful for every need you require. May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a bad property at all... This property is all about location. You are right at the hear of Union Square and everything is at your fingertips. I used to live in that city and visited a few properties during that time so I know enough to know that this property belongs to the better ones. Safe, exciting, centrally located and it is not bad at all. I highly recommend for visiting tourist and/or people who wish to be in the center. Yes, there are homeless people all over, but guys you gotta face the fact that this is not a location problem, they are everywhere in San Francisco and I must say there are other high end resorts that are located in the middle of the "ghetto". This Westin is not. I recommend it! BTW, Shopping is excellent, a HUGE Macy's, Saks fifth avenue are all right next door.... September 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel was my choice before above all This time my experinece at this hotel was really bad. the room was horrible. the service was really bad over crowded no security at all. they were random people walking around on each floor no sense of security at all. the front desk person was very rude. This is the first time of all the times I stayed there I experience this and it was not a good thing for new year and i don't think I would want to ever stay there and I always told everybody to come there well not anymore. It ruined my whole family vacation and we cut our trip short and checked out early. paid alot for a room that was discusting. and they couldn't change. It's a shame for starwood to have this kind of service and I am a big fan of starwood hotel in excellence but not this hotel > very unsatisfied January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Experience I book a double, but was given a queen in the older part of the hotel. I’ve stayed at this hotel countess times … The room was one of the worst I’ve ever experienced. Filthy, musty and cramped -- tucked away in an odd part of the hotel. Not like the typical room I’m used to. To add insult to injury, the occupants in the room we shared a wall with were making outrageous and inappropriate noses all night long and into the early morning hours. I hardly slept… it was completely unacceptable. Do not ever book room # 1072-1075. You will be greatly disappointed! On a positive note, the food in the restaurant and lounge was excellent as always. The staff was courteous as well as accommodating and the tree lighting ceremony and shopping was wonderful, as it is every year. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old school at its best We stayed in the historic part of the hotel and for us it was perfect. Really high ceilings .. Classy decor and updated artwork .. Looked like a fashion shoot. Only catch is a tiny pre-war bathroom that some folks will find cramped. Staff was helpful and polite. Comment.. I usually hate the hotel's bar or restaurant .. Overpriced and careless. Not so at Bourbon.. Bar staff was uber professional .. Food was inspired.. They even pulled off a medium rare short rib which is supposed to be impossible if you want it tender. May 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by November stay My wife and I checked in on Wed Nov 12. When we booked our reservation we booked one room for one night in the south tower. We received our confirmation. Upon arrival the person who checked us in couldn't find our reservation, then she said we booked two rooms not one, then she charged us a $20 upgrade charge to be in the south tower. We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 6 years, never before were we charged to be in the south tower. We love the property and the location. But an upgrade charge...really! December 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is great, but... We loved the landmark building and the view overlooking Union Square. There are two things that did bother me and this seems to be a constant in all hotels... First, the overnight staff (those who work during normal sleeping hours 10:00 pm to 7:00 am) don't seem to care that the people behind all the doors are sleeping and they act like it is okay to talk as loud as they want, even shouting down the halls to each other. They don't care that their carts are also very loud when they race them down the halls and in/out of their storage rooms. And when they go in and out of their storage rooms, they don't worry about the doors slamming. That is the second constant in hotels today. The doors are way too loud. I wish someone would come up with a door that is silent when closing... January 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mr. Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are very small even for SFO. The beds were comfortable but, again, small. The rooms are not very spacious and we had no view. We had a queen size bed but it seem like a twin bed. But everything else was fantastic. From the time we arrived, the valet parking attendants were very welcoming and polite. The front desk staff and concierge staff - outstanding - friendly and courteous. Every staff person we encounter was friendly and greeted us with a smile. Really great from a service perspective. We had breakfast on Sunday morning the buffet was really nice but expensive at $28.50 pp...the only other option was the lobby bar for coffee and continental breakfast. Overall a good experience which would have been outstanding if the rooms would have been more spacious and the beds would have been larger. Queen size should be offered as single rooms only. Thank you. April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Special Offer Not What Was Promised If the hotel had honored the birth rate special that I was given over the phone and confirmed when our three parties checked in this would have been a higher rating. The hotel is clean, elegant, and comfortable, centrally located. I booked three rooms on line, and was supposed to pay only the last two digits of each parties birthdate for the second room. Even though I confirmed this rate at check-in, we were not given this rate, but an arbitrary rate that was higher than every birthday. I spoke to the front desk and the check-in agent was supposed to contact me to resolve and never has. Also, my mom picked up something at the mini-bar and was charged over $10 for looking at it - not eating it. This practice should be illegal and I am sure many people don't notice this. March 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location & Hotel Great place to have a very nice and relaxing time. Right across from Union Square and great views. Quick access to all of the shopping, restaurants and bars in the area. Elevators are quick too which are computerized. Only drawback would be the parking which might take a while for you to get out during high volume times where there is only one exit lane, but they use the side as another exit lane. Sometimes the cars are in both lanes so you will have a little bit of wait. So you need to be sure you're not in a rush. December 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unforgettably bad experience Checked in as part of a entourage. Messed up breakfast coupons: told us that coupon valid for 2 even though it says otherwise on coupon. Reconfirmed with front desk. Next morning, staff at restaurant turned us down. Even though our package entitles breakfast for 2, no staff gave us the coupons for the second person. We were told that there was a mistake, and a token gift will be sent to room. Nothing arrived. Some of my fellow entourage mates were charged for deliveries to concierge, some not, lack of consistency Some were given complimentary water in room daily, some were charged. Breakfast coupon lacks options. Same small buffer spread over 8 days is not 5-star quality. list goes on. Not recommended, despite having a great iconic building and very good location. September 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in the Heart of the City My recent stay was good but not great. The property is convenient to everything including the hotel. There was some construction in front of the property that made it difficult to maneuver a vehicle that was parked in their lot. I chose to have a Green Option which I thought the staff would simply not wash my towels and bedding. However, at this property they don't even come into your room. That makes no sense. It doesn't improve the world if a housekeeper doesn't make your bed or replenish your water and coffee??? August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! This hotel is located directly across union square and very convenient for shopping, theatre and public transportation. The historic rooms seem larger and a lot more character than the tower rooms. The bed, however, did not seem as heavenly as other Westin hotels (no thick down mattress pad). We skipped the $58 parking and parked a few blocks away for $20/ night. Staff very accommodating, they brought us a step stool for our 4 year old to reach the sink and late check out was granted during the busy holiday season. January 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so special We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We specifically wanted a living room so we could watch a movie on the couch. Except the TV wasn't across from the couch it was next to the door. So the extra room was a waste. Also, there was loud drumming on the street until after 1:30am. So I had to turn on the room fan to create some white noise- except the ran blew right on your head in the bed. All they needed to do was put the bed on the other wall. As is, I woke with a sore throat. Not great. Won't likely go back. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view from towers, bad check-in, incorrect invoice Check-in: upon arrival at 11 pm our room was not ready which is no fun with a family travelling. Instead, they tried to give us a room without view in the older part of the hotel, not in the tower ("sweeping bay and city views"). Check-out: the room charge for the last night was 50% higher than the confirmed booking. Better read the invoice very carefully! Hotel room in the tower had indeed a great view, was nice; the lobby has no charm at all, a pity for a historical hotel like this one in this central location. August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location Good vibe Lacked wifi in room considering rooms were super expensive Lacked meal options in the already expy package May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay The Westin St. Francis has always been nice, it has now become awesome. I booked two rooms and had a request for a certain floor, they were happy to oblige me. The front desk clerk was so kind and accommodating. The room service was incredibly quick with no compromise of the food. Both mornings it arrived within 15 minutes. The spa services were fantastic. The change made to the elevator banks is really nice, now only guests may use them. They also are coordinated so that one arrives at their floor without stops. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Front Desk Staff When they found out I was a Starwood Club member I was offered an upgraded room at a better price than I was quoted through all websites like Booking.com, Travelocity, hotels.com etc..... May 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations It was my 14 yr. old grandson's first visit to SF and remembering past stays at the St. Francis, I wanted it to be special. Not a single amenity was offered although I was on the SPG floor and had requested/paid for a "Grand Deluxe" room. Towels were rough, bathroom ceiling had holes around fan, no bathrobe, no turn down, not even a chocolate, nor bottle of water. It did have a nice TV but only one chair, where you would expect two. Totally not up to Westin standards. Plus, a daily wifi charge. Staff was polite. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Getaway I chose Westin St. Francis for its excellent location. The hotel is unique because it offers two different types of experience: an old section and a new addition. I chose the convenience of the modern world, because I heard the rooms are bigger and quieter. The room itself was outdated, but it was well maintained by housekeeping. My biggest disappointment was the lack of bathtub. Concierge offers first rate advice. They took care of my Thanksgiving dinner reservation and suggested a few excellent dining options. November 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what it used to be! Where to begin?! The hotel was understaffed for a busy holiday weekend. Had to wait excessively for drinks or snacks in lobby and bar. Drinks not put in and then treated us rudely like it was our fault! Lobby bartender pulling out the recipe book to make drinks! We changed rooms upon check in because of cigarette smoke smell. Couldn't use the air or heat bc the vent was clogged with dust. Our mini bar was never refilled and when we ordered room service, they brought us sour, spoiled milk! Happy holidays!!! December 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oak Room -- so so I was very disappointed in the Oak Room this visit. We were there for dinner and the service was poor as was the 'signature' entree'. We were not well attended and I had to serve my wife her birthday champagne. The roasted chicken was almost inedible and the french onion soup was too salty to eat. The Oak Room is richly appointed and the staff well dressed. The clientele were wearing blue jeans and baseball caps. I would hope that they had some kind of standards. I was the only patron wearing a tie and jacket. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular hotel with great location This is a truly spectacular hotel. This historic property boasts unique rooms that have been updated. The suites are special and have historical character. The staff is outstanding-- even the cleaning staff stops and greets you as you walk by. The food and beverages are expensive, but you can step outside and find restaurants all around with reasonable prices. The banquet service is great (again pricey). Greet venue for a meeting, a family trip, or a romantic getaway. I'd definitely visit this property again. November 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Extra night stay trouble I stayed 3 nights from 2/17 to 2/20. My flight was at 10:30 pm on Thursday so I asked there was a room available so I could use my room until 8 pm before leaving. I was told there was a room available but that the rate would be increased. I was staying with a group of 30 and they all were staying through Saturday. I was wiling to pay for a full night even though I was leaving at 8 pm but didn't understand the rate increase especially with a group of 30 that comes every 3 months. February 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A grand dame on Union Square Overall, I think this was and is a great hotel. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a tower room and it was fairly roomy and nicely appointed. Bathroom had the usual marble found in higher class places. My only negatives were the tower addition seemed to be looking a little tired - old peeling wallpaper that looked drab. The elevator has a unique system - select floor, insert room key then get into elevator. The first selector wasn't working and no one could put a sign on it so people would not get confused. Another room next to mine had ordered room service fairly early. The cart with dirty dishes sat there all night until 7:30 AM. Couldn't someone do something before 7:30 AM? I know these may seem minor but for a great hotel such as this, a little out of place. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping I have been staying at the St. Francis since the early 70's and it seems that it has become just another hotel. We still love coming here as a tradition but the level of service has declined. For such a grand hotel with a wonderful history you would expect that staff would go out of their way to make sure you had a wonderful experience. It seems that many are just there for a paycheck and do the minimum. Westin should spend more time "shopping" their properties so they can experience some of their staff. January 24, 2012
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 42 next>>