The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1360 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the Best! Asked for a corner room, non available except fifth floor, had asked 10 or above. Had room 1089, no robes, had to ask for them. Toilet seat cover falling off, sink faucet falling off, Heavenly Bed was a Simmons very hard. Hotel lobby elevators and hallways freezing! After Chateau Montelena dinner took guests to Bourbon and they refused to seat us said we had to eat something. Sat at a long bar table and the waitress was rude! Next time came back from Farallon and couldn't have a drink in the other bar closed for a private party. Coffee bar closed and did not want to go back to Bourbon so went to bed! Thought we were Starwood Gold! Toilet paper and kleenex subpar, as were some of the towels. December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by lobby staff very helpful besides the conceirge, several hotel staff were positioned by the doors and made themselves available to answer questions...was very nice touch for people not familiar with the hotel and in my case, I just needed quick directions to get to a restaurant. December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas Shopping Trip You cannot beat the location of the Westin St. Francis on Union Square in San Francisco for holiday shopping. The hotel is lovely and decorated for Christmas and every staff member we came in contact with could not have been more gracious. This is an annual shopping trip and the St. Francis made it that much more special. December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good position and service Face to Union Square, with a lot of place for shopping and eating, near to China town, very good location. The staffs there are very friendly and helpful, December 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Union Square Too noisy, bad smelling small rooms. Way overpriced. Good location. December 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Holiday Location Hotel is nice and clean. The new tower is much more comfortable than the original bldg. however the temperature in the halls and elevators is really frigid in the winter. Since you have to walk to the fitness center in the old bldg there should be a more comfortable temperature to keep you from catching a cold in the transition. December 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A true icon! I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. When I checked in, Luis at the front desk was extremely perceptive in identifying my needs. The room was breathtaking, the views were spectacular and the property itself was immaculate and truly special. It really reminded me why I stay with Starwood. My only request would be that the steam room in the spa area be open much later. I'll definitely try to be back! December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip to San Francisco We stayed at your hotel in San Francisco from Dec 1 thru Dec 3rd and the room was fantastic. Patrick provided excellent customer service. Thumbs UP!!! December 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what it used to be! Where to begin?! The hotel was understaffed for a busy holiday weekend. Had to wait excessively for drinks or snacks in lobby and bar. Drinks not put in and then treated us rudely like it was our fault! Lobby bartender pulling out the recipe book to make drinks! We changed rooms upon check in because of cigarette smoke smell. Couldn't use the air or heat bc the vent was clogged with dust. Our mini bar was never refilled and when we ordered room service, they brought us sour, spoiled milk! Happy holidays!!! December 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second time at hotel and not impressed Our first experience was much better than the most recent one. Dirty duvet cover (someone's makeup?), haphazard housekeeping (kleenex and toilet paper not replenished one day), dirty hallway (someone's pizza box and other trash remained by the elevators overnight and past noon the next day) and a disappointing bathroom (heavenly "bath" had no bathtub, and a tiny horrible shower that didn't drain properly. Toilet reminiscent of a public restroom with manual flush valve on stainless pipes). Great location, big rooms, but overall a disappointment. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for Thanksgiving at St. Francis Hotel Spent four nights at the landmark namesake Westin St. Francis Hotel, San Francisco. It's got old school charm, dark paneled luxury that you do not find anywhere else in modern S.F. Highlighted with the "Black Friday" events across Macy's and the Union Square tree lighting festivities, an ice skating rink across the street, it was a thrill to stay there after years of visiting S.F. since the '60s. Dinner at the Bourbon Steak was the highlight of our dining in S.F., food capitol of the West. Best steaks we ever had in a restaurant! December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! The desk clerk dealt with some minor problems courteously and efficiently. The room was spacious and clean. At every corner of the hotel there is historic art and architecture. The location is amazing! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Union Square Nothing beats the location of this hotel. Front desk staff, concierge and Guest experience manager were terrific. Use them to make the stay even better. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service and Location The location of the hotel can't be beat! It's right in the center of San Francisco, close to great shopping and local attractions like Chinatown. The cable car goes right by the Powell St. entrance and Union Square is just beyond that. Views of the city from the Tower rooms are superb. The staff was positive and helpful. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the coming holidays. The guest room was very comfortable and well laid out. I liked that there was a message waiting for me, telling me there would be a walk in the morning! I wasn't able to go, but it sounded like a great idea and I would have gone if I could have! The meeting room was very nice. We hadn't requested extension cords ahead of time. I called the desk and they brought some within a very reasonable amount of time. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overnight stay! My wife and I stayed for a night to take in the San Francisco Christmas experience. From the valet to the front desk, the customer service was great. We were given an awesome room with a view of Union Square in all its holiday glory. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and classic looking with all the modern amenities. The only issue that arose was a billing issue that was resolved even before I had to bring it to anyone's attention. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel was so lovely, and close to the best shopping! Our room overlooked Union Square and had spectacular views of the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a centralized location and a fantastic opportunity to feel pampered. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location on Union Square When we checked in, we were told that our reservation had been cancelled - which we found mysterious - how did that happen? So they put is in a room with no view. Our reservation had stated we we were staying in towers 17-21 with sweeping views of the city. Extremely disappointing. We felt that our room had been given away to someone willing to pay substantially more than we did. December 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of Service Due to events near and at the hotel at the same time as my stay, the valet was understaffed and there was a lack of courtesy. I arrived in SF on the same day and time as a tree lighting in Union Square in front of the hotel. All of the streets in around Union Square were blocked off for pedestrian traffic only. It took almost 2 hours to get from the Bay Bridge to the hotel due to traffic. A courtesy call could have warned us or re-routed us to arrive at the hotel from another direction. There was a dance competition that finished at the same time I was checking out. The lobby and valet was overcrowded. It took over 30 minutes for the valet to retrieve our car. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel with fantastic location Everything was perfect except for their spa. Spa was not clean and all the amenities was not stocked. I would not get a massage here next time. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of space/Perfect location We LOVED our Jr. Suite. The hotel was PERFECTLY located across from the tree lighting. We loved, loved, loved our stay. Highly recommended. Loved the extra offer of SPG points for going green by not having room cleaned daily. We skipped 3 days of cleaning. Not sure if the points will just show up or if we need to do something but we will be back asap:) Happy Holidays start here! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beware At approx. midnight someone called our room with our name demanding a credit card,saying ours was no longer working.the lady had our name was was very demanding,as I was asleep when I answered I was upset,and afraid of her threat so we ,hung up instead of giving her info over phone,went down to front desk .It was a bogus call and said not from hotel ? December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from Home ! Every convenience is readily available.The staff is helpful and pleasant and the rooms are lovely. December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Giving Thanks for your hotel and Natty at the front desk We had a wonderful stay and spent Thanksgiving night at your hotel as well. Looking out on the city and the holiday decorations, walking through the elegantly festive lobby, and being so close to so many wonderful things was amazing. One of the other highlights was the kind and caring treatment that Natty at the front desk gave us. Not only was she efficient, but her warmth and friendliness were exceptional. She made my daughter feel so special when she gave her a special book about Casey the Earthquake dog. Thank you,Natty! Also, room service was delicious---every dish we ordered was top notch. We are thankful for the St Francis. November 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unhappy with spa treatment Room was excellent, room service was excellent. My daughter and I were not pleased with how our massages were timed. We were to get a 50 minute facial and 75 minute massage. Our massages stopped after 50 minutes, got the facial, in the same room. We were then supposed to receive the remaining 25 minutes with another set of massage therapist's. Not well planned on manager's part and they didn't seem to understand why we weren't happy! Who does massages like that? Not relaxing at all. We ended up fore going the last 25 minutes, the total feeling was lost at that point. Who wants to be in the same room with another person getting a facial, then have services stopped and restarted again with another massage therapist?. Relaxing? NOT! Then the desk clerk wanted to blame the person that originally set up the appointments, very unprofessional, it wasn't her fault as she had repeated, over the phone, exactly what I had asked for. Someone should have caught this mess before it happened. I would say the manager needs some customer service lessons. I would only recommend their services if you get it in writing, exactly what you want in the order you want it. We were also told there was an error in booking and that is why our services were interupted, however, the manager denied there was an error. What a mess! Disappointing for my daughter and myself. We had planned this 2 months in advance, I traveled from another state to be with my daughter, it was a special weekend for both of us! November 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great features. hotel has great ambience . rooms are nice and modern. very friendly staff and helpful. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expctations We stayed at the Westin St. Francis 11/21-11/24 and the experience exceeded the high expectations I had prior to arriving. On check-in it was noted that we were celebrating an anniversary and we were upgraded to a nicer room and also received a nice card and treat in the room. Your staff was top notch and helpful and professional. The room and hotel amenities were great. We certainly will recommend this hotel to others and definitely consider a return as soon as possible. Keep up the great work! November 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old Hotel, needs an update Overall I would say my stay at the Westin St Francis was average. Nothing stood out as exceptional, but one thing stuck out as a negative. It was apparent that no one regularly uses or checks the items placed in the mini-bar. Our mini-bar had an old packaged pretzel bread sandwich that was molded and disgusting. Not that we were looking to enjoy any of the mini-bar items because they were outrageously priced, but we certainly would have had no intentions of doing so being that there was a moldy sandwich sitting next to everything. Other than this, the hotel felt old, dimly lit and drab. I love the old feel of the building and the architecture, but I think new carpeting and lighting might liven things up a bit or bring back the elegance that once was. The staff was certainly accommodating and pleasant, but again, nothing extraordinary. I likely would not stay here again. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice situated in downtown San Francisco Stay was very good. Personal was very friendly and helpfull. Very nice building and easy to get to from airport (Bart to Pwell station) Nice to have: Newspaper. I assume this was not included. In most other hotels where I stay this is a standard complementory feature. Cleaning of room not top notch. Was ok but have seen better. November 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bday celebration I emailed ahead to let the hotel know that we were celebrating my aunt's 60th birthday and the Westin upgraded our room at no charge and had champagne, and a personalized cake in the room for us with 2 orchids on the plate. She was so pleased and felt so special. Thank you Westin! November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin St. Francis An OK hotel, a bit dated an in need of a makeover. November 17, 2013
  • 2016-02-10 T07:13:41.745-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-20, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1360, tr_1360
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 47 next>>