The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1224 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a typical Westin experience I was really disappointed in the stay I had at the Westin this weekend. I am a platinum member and was given a room by the elevator and ice machine. The hotel had a party that went late into the night and all hotel guests were getting off the elevator screaming. I would not recommend this property to others. I normally have great experiences at Westin properties and was looking forward to this stay. It would be nice to acknowledge your loyal customers but maybe in SF you don't need to. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems at Westin St Francis The floor that my room was on was freezing. It was actually colder than outside! I needed to put on my parka to wait at the elevator to go downstairs. I told the concierge before I went to dinner with coworkers that it was actually frigid on the floor, but he did nothing. When i came back and saw that nothing was done, i told someone else at the concierge desk, and they did nothing. I had to turn my heat up to 75 that night to counteract the cold air coming in under my door. in addition to this major discomfort, the woman who checked me in was incredibly rude. No "hello", no "welcome", and after she check me in, she just pushed my key card and paperwork aside on the counter,and called the next customer over without a thank you or even telling me where the elevators were! I will not stay here again. January 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware of conference rated rooms The conference rate room left us feeling claustrophobic. Other friends for the same conference rate got a room with couch and view on Union square. Our room smelled of skunk. We determined that it came from the cable car cables. We could hear lots of street noise even though we were on the third floor and in an inner alcove, room 364. The movie-on-demand didn't work the first night. The hotel was unable to clear a previously rented movie. Food is outrageously expensive as is parking. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional personal care The entire staff went beyond excellent to provide an exceptional experience from arrival to departure. The check inn staff spent considerable time with my wife and I finding a room which met all of our personal requirements without any resentment or frustration. During our entire stay we were greeted with a smile and offer of assistance every time we encountered a member of the hotel staff. It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end! I highly recommend the Westin St Francis. April 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by over rated Our stay was very disappointing. We ended up changing rooms twice because they had not been cleaned at all and were frankly disgusting. After changing rooms the first time for this reason, one would have thought that the staff would have ensured that the second room had been cleaned. It was even worse than the first room. Very disappointing. We visited the restaurant to join friends for drinks and appetizers, and our waitress was extremely rude from the start. Just not worth it. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing for a catagory 5 Other than a great location I was very disappointed in my stay. Some items that stood out in my 1 night included: -poor acknowledgement from the check in desk -lack of amenities in the room/room was incredibly sparse (no slippers, no complimentary water for SPG preferred, no magazines, etc) -bad equipment (faulty tv remote which was resolved) Generally speaking, the location is wonderful but for a Cat 5 SPG I expected much more. I would have been better off at a different property. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful historic building The building is beautiful and in the heart of Union Square. Easily walkable to many interesting restaurants or shops. That said, it's also a very busy lobby. I dined in room to get some privacy. I'm not sure it's a great place for business, as the internet can be spotty and the business center is basically a copy room. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service at Westin St. Francis Excellent vintage corner room overlooking Union Square. Large, comfortable, very clean. Great service from front desk, housekeeping, and especially the concierge. We will be back, and have already recommended this property to family & friends. November 6, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed Great location but that is about all that this hotel has going for it. Staying in the "Historic section" of the hotel right outside the ever so slow historic elevators proved to be a challange for a restful sleep. With paper thin walls, faulty hardware (bathroom door handles falling off), uncomfortable seating the very load bar, to the overpriced steak house & lack of any type of security for evening hours will certainly make me look for another hotel on my next visit to San Fran. November 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not all rooms are gems Great location, ambiance, and esthetic, with some fantastic rooms. Unfortunately, there are also rooms that don't meet the standard you would expect of a Westin property and the accompanying room rates. Small, loud, inadequately maintained, and poor configuration is how I describe my latest stay. Even more disappointing was how the immediate staff addressed issues when they were brought up. Wish I could give a higher rating, but, after my last experience, they don't deserve it. September 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but everything else falls short Where to begin? No SPG recognition. When I called for SPG water, they told me to open the minibar for it, which of course I avoided. Still, I received a charge for water that I didn't drink from the minibar, that I had to spend 20 minutes on the phone resolving. When I asked for 3pm late checkout, I was met with huge resistance. Only when my call was transferred to the manager was my late checkout request granted. The ironing board was old and filthy; totally unfit for clothes. December 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff, Hotel Rooms could be renovated Great location and Excellent Staff. From the moment I arrived the Westin staff consistently exceeded all expectations. Wow, really great people helped make this an excellent stay - from the porter, to the business center, front desk, workout room, etc... All very professional. The rooms however seemed older and in need of renovation. Most of my Westin experience is overseas in brand new hotels so this one felt "OLD", suppose that can mean "charming & centrally located" as well. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice stay-cation We actually live in the city and were in desperate need of some rest and relaxation so we booked in for two nights at the Westin. It's the perfect location in the heart of everything but also great if you're whole agenda is to never leave the hotel. We got room service both nights - there's not a huge selection and it's very expensive, but it's always a nice treat and was much better this time than when we stayed last month. Anything we called down for was brought up immediately (robes, extra toiletries, etc). The staff are very friendly and we had an upgraded room so we had a wonderful view of the city. My only complaint was that we were next to a room that only had three or four kids in it so we were kept up late and woken up early to sounds of screams, jumping on beds, running up and down the halls, etc. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The St Francis needs to improve food services. The Oak Room is a beautiful room. The food and services there are the worst. The management needs to do something about the food and services at the hotel. Has the manager tasted the cold , lumpy oatmeal? Has the manager been spoken to rudely by the hostess? We come every year and bring three families, your food services are very bad!!!ps I notice that you ask people to rate the local food . One should be able to have a good breakfast in the Oak Room. It should be a goal. December 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Service I stayed at the hotel for three night. First day my room was cleaned as expected. On the second day it was not. I phoned house keeping to request service, returned to the room hours later and still it was not done. Housekeeping advised that my room was removed from the to be cleaned list but couldn't explain why. Also no one gave me an explanation as to why it was not made after I called. I was told I would receive a follow up email from house keeping but nothing either. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location to enjoy San Francisco The St.Francis is located in the heart of San Francisco at Union Square. Perfect for shopping and close to fantastic restaurants. The hotel has wonderful rooms the beds are to die for! The service is excellent. Everyone is very helpful for every need you require. May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by In the Heart of San Francisco This "Grande Dame" has the best location in all of San Francisco, right on Union Square, with the cable cars stopping at its front door. You can feel the history, with myriad important events (including many taught in history books) having taken place here. Service is surprisingly top-notch given the size of the hotel. An improvement could be updating some of the rooms. which can feel dated - I stayed in the historic building (which had a terrific view of Union Square). June 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by aba convention Upon checking in, we did not have the room type we requested. we were put into a queen room in the old wing. the room smelled. they moved us to a room with two double beds, then the next day we had to move again. It appears if you fly in very late in the day or the early morning that you lose your room. they only had our reservation listed as one day but it was for five days. another guest checking in at the same time had the same issue, they had given away his room. Also, the front desk staff did not seem to care about resolving it. It was not until the next day that the day time staff managed to rectify the situation. I am a spg corporate preferred guest and always stay at Westins however this was the worst one yet. Also they tried to change the room rate and up the rate by 20.00 when the group rate was locked in. August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by love SPG hotels but the St Francis was a big disppointment-- Upon check-in there were a few problems: first our family of four (age 6-41) had to make a room switch due to being placed in front of a rather noisy elevator, second we were charged for wifi when we were told it was free for gold spg members . However, what was most concerning was the Oak room waitstaff and manager on Fri am April13th: I had purchased the breakfast package and upon trying to redeem the vouchers both the manager and male server actually "debated/argued" whether they were valid. (these were presented upon our seating and before any order was placed) Both were quite rude and made the entire meal quite unpleasant. I would be extremely hesitant to ever recommend this hotel. Staff could certainly use some etiquette training from the front desk to the Oak room. Location was very good on a positive note... April 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff is great but facility needs updating I stayed in the old tower and my first impression when I walked into my room was that the bathroom had not been cleaned. But (and it didn't necessarily make me feel better) I realized the smell was from the musty room (the carpeting? the paint?) and would not go away. The bed, as expected, was excellent and comfortable, but the room definitely showed its age. I was here for a meeting, so not sure what my room rate was, but I hope the meeting organizers got a good deal. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location. Central to all attractions I was upgraded from a regular king to superior king room May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin St. Francis They charge $53 for overnight parking which is ridiculously excessive. I had a package sent to me overnight to this hotel. They charged a $10 package handling fee. They told me that they would deliver the package to my room. 8 hours later I finally got the package. When checking into this hotel I specifically asked NOT to be near the elevator or ice machine. I was given the room adjacent to the ice machine near the elevator. The bar only opens at 4pm. Such a waste. September 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Premium Price, Average Hotel Everyone we interacted with at the hotel was great. The room was very clean. The first room we were put in was the smallest hotel room I have seen in the US. About 3 seconds after we entered the room our phone rang. It was the bell-hop and he said our room was too small for them to put the baby crib in so we should call the front desk and ask for a bigger room. We did and we were moved to a larger room without issue. The room was literally twice the size of the previous room. The walls in the hotel are paper thin especially in the center rooms (the very small rooms). The normal rooms are not worth more than 200 a night. And apparently the Westin still charges for internet. I do not expect a "classy" hotel chain like the Westin to nickel and dime their guests. If you stay here pray you are not put in the center rooms. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed at this point I wanted to contact someone while I was on-site, however the staff was so slow to get people moving I wasnt able to. It took me 45 min to check-in and there was only one person ahead of me. The other thing was it took over an hour to get my bags to my room. When I called the person told me they didnt have my ticket for my bags and I provided the ticket to the person who checked me into the hotel. This was totally not what I would have thought from a hotel like this. December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Initial Room 1075 Upon arrival this room was about the size of a large closet, the refrigerator was turned off, it contained an unopened container of ice cream and Bree cheese from the previous guest, there were no wine glasses, and the window shades didn't work. Lucky for us all we could see was two walls anyway. When the Bellhop asked how we liked the room, we told him the above, and we didn't even get a response. I went down and insisted on a room change, which was accommodated. June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing When I checked in, the clerk asked me how early I could check out. She offered me 200 hotel points to forego maid service, arguing that this benefitted the environment (as opposed to keeping the hotel's employment costs lower). The room was a small square box with limited lights and outlets, for which I had to pay almost $600 a night. I called the number on the phone for assistance and the response was to send an e mail to my home as opposed to returning my call. October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor Check-in But Overall Good Stay Overall, my experience at the Westin St. Francis was fine. However, the check-in experience was less than ideal. The front desk clerk was rude and questioned my status when I stood in the Starwood preferred line at check-in. She took a non Starwood guest before me and then didn't believe I had status. In fact, I have stayed over 400 nights at Starwood properties in the past 5 years. The check-in process was also extremely slow, a complaint I heard by fellow travelers. However, the staff at Carusso made up for it the next morning with their welcoming attitudes. It is amazing how check-in can make a very bad first impression. Further, as a Starwood Platinum member, I would expect free bottles of water in my room, which were not there. It would also be nice to have a lounge, which fewer and fewer Westin hotels seem to have. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Beautiful hotel especially at Christmas time. Surrounded by numerous shopping opportunities. It's in the heart of Union Square so close to everything you would need. Dining inside the hotel was excellent especially the Oak Room. We were here to celebrate our 30th anniversay and so the staff delivered champagne and strawberries to our room! What a wonderful surprise. Because it is an old hotel you can hear people in the hallways however. That was the only negative. January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An Oldie But Goodie The St. Francis keeps trucking along. It's a great old hotel set right at Union Square in San Francisco. Had a room in the new tower. Upgraded from a queen to a king room. Only negative to the room was it was a connecting room and my neighbors had a screaming baby, but can't really fault the hotel on that. Service is by no means personalized, but efficient. Great drinks in the Clock Bar in the lobby across from Bourbon Steak. Have a new elevator security system that might help with security, certainly confuses many guests and has problems reading the guests key cards on a regular basis. It's one of these systems where you have to enter your floor number and swipe your card and then are directed to a specific elevator that will take you to your floor. Maybe it's more secure and efficient, but I certainly didn't think so. June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The St. Francis is San Francisco This property remains a timeless classic. My wife and I had a brief weekday stay and were able to travel quickly and easily to Fisherman's Wharf, Japantown, The Walt Disney Family Museum, Chinatown and shopping using the Muni. Our room was nice and as usual the staff was friendly and efficient. Concierge Emily was helpful and directed us to a fantastic sushi place nearby, she is wonderful. As a SPG member this place lived up to my expectations. We will be back. July 25, 2013
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 42 next>>