The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1180 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed at this point I wanted to contact someone while I was on-site, however the staff was so slow to get people moving I wasnt able to. It took me 45 min to check-in and there was only one person ahead of me. The other thing was it took over an hour to get my bags to my room. When I called the person told me they didnt have my ticket for my bags and I provided the ticket to the person who checked me into the hotel. This was totally not what I would have thought from a hotel like this. December 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable but pricey stay downtown The Westin St Francis is located centrally in downtown and is well connected to many touristy destinations. It is a large hotel so don't expect personal attention but on the whole it is very comfortable and efficient although a bit pricey. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel My stay at the Westin St. Francis was far above what I expected. While I did ask to move up to a larger room to accommodate 2 beds I was granted a free upgrade to the State Suite. WOW. An amazing experience and room. We had a piano, huge living room, formal dining room, foyer, study, separate kitchen, two bathrooms and all with a view of Union Square. I don't know quite who to thank. Thank you both Starwood Preferred Guests and the Westin St. Francis. December 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing When I checked in, the clerk asked me how early I could check out. She offered me 200 hotel points to forego maid service, arguing that this benefitted the environment (as opposed to keeping the hotel's employment costs lower). The room was a small square box with limited lights and outlets, for which I had to pay almost $600 a night. I called the number on the phone for assistance and the response was to send an e mail to my home as opposed to returning my call. October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Initial Room 1075 Upon arrival this room was about the size of a large closet, the refrigerator was turned off, it contained an unopened container of ice cream and Bree cheese from the previous guest, there were no wine glasses, and the window shades didn't work. Lucky for us all we could see was two walls anyway. When the Bellhop asked how we liked the room, we told him the above, and we didn't even get a response. I went down and insisted on a room change, which was accommodated. June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel I spent two nights at this hotel. It is very large and well maintained. I booked a grand deluxe tower room and stayed in room 2691 which had amazing views. Unfortunately, it was a bit noisy as I could clearly hear the conversations in the next room. Further, there was some loud noises coming room the floor above which I was told by the front desk was due to construction. Additionally, there was no mini-bar available in this room which was slightly inconvenient. I requested late checkout when I arrived and the clerk wrote 4pm as checkout on my keycard. However, on the day of checkout a gentleman at the express desk told me the latest he would offer was 2pm, even though I am Gold level with SPG. I ordered room service 3 times during this stay and the 2nd time took three trips before my order was completed. I ordered hot tea with the continental breakfast and received the cups but no hot water or tea. The gentleman who delivered my meal was very apologetic and friendly. Overall I think this hotel is decent and I may or may not stay here again the next time I visit SF. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience Beautiful hotel especially at Christmas time. Surrounded by numerous shopping opportunities. It's in the heart of Union Square so close to everything you would need. Dining inside the hotel was excellent especially the Oak Room. We were here to celebrate our 30th anniversay and so the staff delivered champagne and strawberries to our room! What a wonderful surprise. Because it is an old hotel you can hear people in the hallways however. That was the only negative. January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor Check-in But Overall Good Stay Overall, my experience at the Westin St. Francis was fine. However, the check-in experience was less than ideal. The front desk clerk was rude and questioned my status when I stood in the Starwood preferred line at check-in. She took a non Starwood guest before me and then didn't believe I had status. In fact, I have stayed over 400 nights at Starwood properties in the past 5 years. The check-in process was also extremely slow, a complaint I heard by fellow travelers. However, the staff at Carusso made up for it the next morning with their welcoming attitudes. It is amazing how check-in can make a very bad first impression. Further, as a Starwood Platinum member, I would expect free bottles of water in my room, which were not there. It would also be nice to have a lounge, which fewer and fewer Westin hotels seem to have. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An Oldie But Goodie The St. Francis keeps trucking along. It's a great old hotel set right at Union Square in San Francisco. Had a room in the new tower. Upgraded from a queen to a king room. Only negative to the room was it was a connecting room and my neighbors had a screaming baby, but can't really fault the hotel on that. Service is by no means personalized, but efficient. Great drinks in the Clock Bar in the lobby across from Bourbon Steak. Have a new elevator security system that might help with security, certainly confuses many guests and has problems reading the guests key cards on a regular basis. It's one of these systems where you have to enter your floor number and swipe your card and then are directed to a specific elevator that will take you to your floor. Maybe it's more secure and efficient, but I certainly didn't think so. June 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some sprucing up.... When we first checked into the hotel I immediately noticed that all 3 mirrors in the room were dirty. I also noticed a thick layer of dust on the baseboards in the bathroom. We called to complain and the reception desk moved us to another room with a beautiful view of Union Square. That being said the St. Francis has definitely lost its luster. The rooms(at least in the landmark side of the hotel) are really starting to look worn. Pretty disappointing. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The St. Francis is San Francisco This property remains a timeless classic. My wife and I had a brief weekday stay and were able to travel quickly and easily to Fisherman's Wharf, Japantown, The Walt Disney Family Museum, Chinatown and shopping using the Muni. Our room was nice and as usual the staff was friendly and efficient. Concierge Emily was helpful and directed us to a fantastic sushi place nearby, she is wonderful. As a SPG member this place lived up to my expectations. We will be back. July 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by House keeping problems I recently stayed at this Hotel as was very disappointed. As a SPG Platinum member, I have stayed at Starwood properties around the World. The cleanliness of my room was unsatisfactory. Dust on the side tables, TV and bathroom doors was present. This Hotel does not meet the Westin standard. The only satisfactory side is the response from Corprate and Hotel management to my concerns. I am still hesitant to stay here in the future but may give it another chance. November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK place in good location Am a big Westin fan, but this one didn't wow me at all...our room was like a dark dungeon on the 7th floor in a corner next to a utility room. We were jolted from our sleep the first night from loud banging noise from pipes. Room was dark, toilet and shower were funky. Did not have coffee cups for the maker either. We changed rooms next day, same type--dark but better bathroom and no noise. Beds are very comfy! Also, we were charged for snack center in error. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shoebox This hotel is old and dank, it needs an upgrade. The older side of the hotel has rooms that are the size of a shoebox, which I was unlucky enough to reside in- not worth the cost. If you thought rooms were small in Europe, think again. The St. Frances room I stayed in was smaller...4 steps heal to toe from door to bed, 4 steps heal to toe on the others side to window...nice view of roof though. Must be my lifetime gold membership that got me the room- thanks! March 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was very disappointed with the serving staff in each of the two lobby bars. As a SPG I travel regularly and after having to go to the counter in order to place an order I was effectively ignored when I presented my drink coupon. My wife and I were not even approached to see if we wanted another round of drinks. The bar was not busy but the service was horrible. Similar poor service in the other lounge February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and Rich I described this hotel as rich because its full of history and very early 20th century architecture. Not many hotels within any brand anymore have the beauty this one does. My one suggestion would be if you are more than a couple look at the sq footage of the room and not the name. We stayed in a grand deluxe facing union square. It would have been wonderful if it was just my wife and I. But with a pack in play and bigger size stroller it was a little tight. December 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dr. contact provided by Concierge We enjoyed our stay at the St. Francis in San Francisco for four nights over the Christmas holiday. The Westin St Francis met our expectations. However we were refered by the Concierge to Traveler Medical Group in Post Street , San Francisco for some coughing problems of our daughter. The general practitioner charged us US$ 220.— for the consultation in his clinic . We believed we have been unfairly overcharged for this simple consultation. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quintessential San Francisco Experience Great hotel in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Stayed the week before Xmas and had a great time, staff was very festive and happy. Bourbon Steak is the best, Adam at the bar and Marc, the GM, are top notch! I stayed in the historic building, next to the ice machine. The room was small, but charming. However, it was very loud. The workout facilities are really nice. Definitely stay here again and again, just ask for a room in the new tower. December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Travel Review This was my first experience at this Westin Hotel, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Although the bathroom in my room could have been much cleaner, overall the room was very nice and comfortable. For not having my room cleaned one day, I received a $5 off coupon which I used for my coffee the next morning. I truly liked that little perk. The lobby was welcoming, as was the staff. The location of the coffee cafe was great and they had a variety. May 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by "Green Program" I participated in your Green Initiative- waived room service. In hindsight I wish that I hadn't. While I always reuse towels, making the bed & touching up the bathroom each day is really necessary. My bad. Last, I had a smoker in the hallway at night. Never saw him/her, but the smoke really bothered me... in my room! I once called the front desk to please notify hotel security. Oh well, a towel rolled up at the bottom of the door seemed to help. December 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience I reserved a room with 2 beds and for unknown reasons it was changed to a room with a King bed. Upon check in I corrected the desk staff and requested a room with 2 beds for me and my friend. I was asked if I am sure I want 2 beds. I am definitely sure that I am not sleeping with my friend and the original reservation was for 2 beds. I was told a room needed cleaning and it would be expedited. We went for lunch in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were fair. We returned to the front desk 2 1/2 hours later a room still wasn't ready and I was again asked if we would take a room with one King bed. Finally at almost 3 hrs a room was ready. I don't think the staff is of the caliber i expect at Westin and I am insulted at the continual attempts to have my friend and I share a bed. I don't plan on staying at this hotel again. November 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing on multiple fronts I am a long time SPG member and this was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. Three major issues: 1. Our room was adjoined to an elevator shaft. The noise was ridiculous. 2. The shower handle broke thus I could not shower before going to dinner. 3. Order a pizza for room service - it took 40 minutes and it was cold. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Generally a nice stay The front desk clerk immediately offered me late checkout on my departure date when he heard I had a late flight, which was a very nice welcome. The concierge was helpful and pleasant. My only complaint is that the shower knob wouldn't pull all the way up to divert the water from the tub to the shower so the tub filled up with water as you showered and the rainshower head was running at half-power. I called and asked for a repair, but it was not fixed. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Happy Stay I enjoyed greatly this hotel superb location staff kind and attentive gave me a spacious room at the thirtieth floor with magnificent city view - skyline and Union Square. April 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great traditional hotel The most important item in a hotel room is a comfortable bed. The beds here are extremely comfortable. The second-most important item is a working shower with good water pressure and nozzles. Here again, the hotel succeeds. Next is overall comfort and the hotel meets expectations, with a good table for the laptop. Finally, staff attentiveness and courtesy are important, and here they are outstanding. February 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by We love this hotel BUT When we are in town for getaways our go to place is Westin St Franics. And we prefer the older side of the hotel BUT. We accidentally booked the wrong Westin (Westin market street). When we checked into the St Francis and they didn't pull our reservation we looked it up and realized we booked the wrong one. The desk agent called Westin Market and asked if the reservation could be transferred and then asked us if we wanted to switch. I said "as long as its the same rate" and he nodded in agreement. Hung up and said "okay let's see what we can do". He then Said I can put you in a room for X amount which was $40 MORE than the other hotel. By this time we had checked the car and my husband just quickly agreed. The agent said he would try to get us a nice room. We got a room in the older part of the hotel which we prefer but the robes were really worn and stained and the comforter had large scratch mark on it. Not a tear but a large scuffed up worn scratch. Larger room than the newer part but definitely worn "parts". March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overnight stay! My wife and I stayed for a night to take in the San Francisco Christmas experience. From the valet to the front desk, the customer service was great. We were given an awesome room with a view of Union Square in all its holiday glory. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and classic looking with all the modern amenities. The only issue that arose was a billing issue that was resolved even before I had to bring it to anyone's attention. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location If you're looking for a large international hotel that is within walking distance to excellent shopping, restaurants and theater, this is a great hotel for you. Some rooms overlook Union Square, which is a city park and central to shopping. A top restaurant, cafe for breakfast and a nice bar are within the hotel. Rooms are nice sized, with a good closet and bathroom that may not be large, but is adequate and clean. Plenty of towels and products, too. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice location, nice rooms, nice view I really enjoyed my stay at the Westin St. Francis on Union Square in San Francisco. The view from my room was spectacular, looking to the East over Union Square and out across the city to the bay. I also appreciated the complementary fitness room, and I liked the fact that someone affiliated with the hotel was organizing early morning runs through San Francisco. It was just one way in which the Westin made my stay in San Francisco a little special. February 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed I have stayed at many starwood hotels and have to say i was extremely disappointed. The housekeeping did a very poor job. I found old molded cheese wrapped in a napkin in my mini fridge. My bathroom was not cleaned properly as all they did was pick up my dirty towels and put new ones in. I had to pay a large amount for parking and internet per night on top of their nightly fee. only good thing about this hotel is location, but wouldn't recommend it January 5, 2013
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 41 next>>