The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1333 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old Hotel, needs an update Overall I would say my stay at the Westin St Francis was average. Nothing stood out as exceptional, but one thing stuck out as a negative. It was apparent that no one regularly uses or checks the items placed in the mini-bar. Our mini-bar had an old packaged pretzel bread sandwich that was molded and disgusting. Not that we were looking to enjoy any of the mini-bar items because they were outrageously priced, but we certainly would have had no intentions of doing so being that there was a moldy sandwich sitting next to everything. Other than this, the hotel felt old, dimly lit and drab. I love the old feel of the building and the architecture, but I think new carpeting and lighting might liven things up a bit or bring back the elegance that once was. The staff was certainly accommodating and pleasant, but again, nothing extraordinary. I likely would not stay here again. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice situated in downtown San Francisco Stay was very good. Personal was very friendly and helpfull. Very nice building and easy to get to from airport (Bart to Pwell station) Nice to have: Newspaper. I assume this was not included. In most other hotels where I stay this is a standard complementory feature. Cleaning of room not top notch. Was ok but have seen better. November 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bday celebration I emailed ahead to let the hotel know that we were celebrating my aunt's 60th birthday and the Westin upgraded our room at no charge and had champagne, and a personalized cake in the room for us with 2 orchids on the plate. She was so pleased and felt so special. Thank you Westin! November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin St. Francis An OK hotel, a bit dated an in need of a makeover. November 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Love the hotel when I get a tower room. The staff was lovely and the stay was wonderful. November 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Rooms were small, outdated, yet priced the same as nicer hotels in the area. The gentleman that checked me in was great but service after that point was poor. November 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I left my wallet in SF the older section of the hotel is pretty. The new towers where I stayed looked worn, tired and out dated. The exterior elevators were cold and drafty. The use of a room key to access the elevators should be explained at check-in. November 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service major attitude from staff November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall value Very convenient location to Union Square, cable car lines, and Mosconi center. Slight house keeping gap. Very helpful staff, nice bars, quality room service. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Location of hotel is what you're paying for here (Union Square). Lobby is exquisite but rooms are par at best. Lobby bar and restaurant looked nice but were overflowing with people, so we couldn't get in. As a Gold SPGer I appreciated the 4PM checkout...what I did not appreciate was the cleaning lady calling at noon and again at two and asking if she could come in to clean. To even out the staff experience, the Concierge was very helpful and scored some good tickets for us. Hotel is nice, but the Westin on Market is only a couple blocks down the road, nicer amenities and is typically less expensive. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN SAN FRANCISCO In the heart of Union Square, the St. Francis is a great place to be close to all the best shopping & restaurants. Very clean, classy and no doubt we will visit again! November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice for SPG Platnum in downtown San Francisco Stayed for a work week. The facility has two buildings: the original, old, beautiful hotel and an adjacent, modern high-rise. After online research I selected the tower. A pre-arrival email requesting a room with a view was handled by the hotel's SPG concierge, and she got me into a great room on the 27th floor with a spectacular view (picture here: http://bit.ly/1ccbXab ). The Westin is busy but well-staffed, and every interaction was great. If you typically use mini-bar fridges to stock groceries, theirs have optical sensors, so plan on renting a fridge as an out-of-place item is billed within seconds. WIFI was the best I've ever had in a hotel, and I'm a heavy user. I would gladly bring my wife back here for a vacation with full confidence that we would receive the consistently high level of customer service which I expect from Westin and SPG. November 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor guest service Oak dining room had terrible service. We left because no one would wait on us. Dining room only about 1/3 full at the time. Called down twice for clean wine glasses and never received them. Called for valet and they never came. Valet parking a nightmare. They never gave us the ticket and had a terrible time finding the car. November 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by mudd everything was great with one exception. we booked one room cash and one room with points. housekeeping only had us down for one night so they would not clean our room. my husband worked in the room and asked for cleaning while in the gyn and his request was not accommodated. therefore he had to leave when housekeeping finally arrived. a minor inconvenience but easy to fix. i hope. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An elegant historic hotel in the center of all of the action in San Francisco The St. Francis is an historic hotel with all of the 21st century amenities, strong wireless connections, complete fitness center, dining options. The staff is professional and caring, eager to meet the needs of the business traveler. November 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Westin in the City Westin Union Square is historical and reminds us of how well old buildings and hotels were built. It adds a little romance to the SF weekend November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Palace hotel with the ++ and the -- Big fan of Westin beds, SPG is the best loyalty program, most of the SPG hotels are quite comfortable. In addition I received an upgrade to a suite again this stay. However, many of these old style Palace hotels are not recommended for business, just stay there for their style. They always have some outdated facilities, often doors don't close well and noise from hallways/neighboring rooms comes in etc etc. November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fading lady This is a grand old hotel, and it has some of the most beautiful marble, etc., as you would expect for a first-class city and hotel chain. You pay a pretty penny for this privilege, which surprisingly to me did not prevent a large fraction of the guests to seemingly have rolled in from the skateboard park. How can people who afford the St. Francis dress and look like that? I was also simply offended by the horrendous breakfast buffet in the Oak Room. They charge $28.50 for that, which I can appreciate is the cost of a breakfast in a first class, big city hotel. However, they have to actually put something in to their buffet that justifies this exorbitant price. I was pleased to see fresh berries, the only strong aspect of today's buffet. When I returned for a hot plate, there were just the dregs of scrambled eggs, so I decided to wait until they were refreshed. After 45 minutes, I gave up and complained to the hostess. Rather than actually addressing the problem that the buffet had only old and cold eggs, she just ordered two plates of scrambled eggs for me and my wife. I went back to the buffet for sides, and was very disappointed in all of them. The sausage and bacon seemed to have some kind of sweet glaze on them, and the potatoes weren't hash-browns, but just big quartered potatoes. There was nothing else desirable on the buffet, like waffles, pancakes, french toast, or an omellete station. I stayed at the hotel 3 nights, two in a room at a government rate, and one at a premium rate on my own tab. What a contrast, not too suprising. The govt room had a queen bed that was not too comfortable, and it took forever to get hot water in the bathroom. The premium room, in the towers, was big and luxurious, with a very comfortable king bed and great views. It also had instant hot water. The St. Francis is big-city expensive, but convenient to all things downtown. Stay there only if you can take the contrast of the skateboarders and society matrons, and stay out of the Oak Room. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel location is wonderful. The new elevator system is great but causes lots of confusion November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by kc Fabulous hotel with an excellent location. Definitely a great value for the quality of the hotel and the amenities. November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by up to my expectations great location. room is well noise insulated. the personnel is very helpful November 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location Location Location If you are staying at this hotel for the location then you can't go wrong. I took my wife here with the baby so she could do some shopping and let me tell you, it's a great place to drop off the bags. The room is clean and nice and the beds are typical great Westin beds. Our room was incredibly spacious for the area of town it's in. I listed a couple issues we had below, but even with those, if I take the wife back to the city to shop again, I will stay at this hotel. Couple issues we had : - The maid tried to clean our room at 10:30 at night. She kept trying the locked door until I shoed her off, naturally, this woke up the 10 month old we were traveling with and no one slept that night. In the morning I spoke with the front desk to let them know, but I was just too exhausted to really make a big deal out of it. Our room had not been cleaned that day. - The elevator system they put in is horrible. Everyone on every elevator ride we took agreed. I understand that there are a lot of transients in that area and that they have to do something, but it probably would be cheaper and more effective to have a guy at the elevators in the lobby. -The WiFi is spotty and slow. There was a big conference when we were there and most likely it was overtaxed. November 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by lovely hotel in a great location The staff and the hotel are very good. Lovely hotel in a great location. Amazing how the coffee and breakfast facility off of the lobby becomes a salad/dessert/wine/beer venue at noon. Always seems to be a popular spot regardless of the time of day. October 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel. Very nice staff, well informed on the area and locations to recommend October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Convenient Hotel is steps away from Union Square. You can walk everywhere. Lots of places to shop and eat. Minutes away from the financial district, Bart station, Market St, Cable Cars and Muni Bus Local Transportation. I will definitely stay here again. Employees are very friendly. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our stay at the Westin St. Francis The location of the Hotel was perfect! When we arrived to our room a Housekeeping Supervisor knocked on our door & asked if we called about our telephone being out of service. I explained we had just walked in the door & did not call. She checked the telephone & it was unplugged. I pointed out to her the alarm clock was not working. She checked & it was unplugged and tried to set the time but did not know how to do it. She asked if she could send someone to fix it & we said yes. No one came, I did it myself. One night I purchased a glass of wine in the lobby and brought it to my room. The next day when Housekeeping came, she put the glass outside our door and it stayed there and was still there when we checked out two days later. One evening I stopped by Front Desk to ask for wine glasses to be sent to our room, I was told to dial "0" for the operator when I got back to my room and they would send them up. I work in the Hotel industry and small things like these should easily be taken care of by the staff. The Concierge were very helpful, especially Emily. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel did not meet the expectations one would expect from an iconic hotel. It was chosen for our honeymoon specifically due to its reputation. The room was beautiful, the food, while expensive, was very good. The housekeeping staff was very helpful and professional. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of champagne and strawberries. My complaint is with the check out procedure. First, we were expecting our bill to be given to us the morning of our departure by it being placed under our door. This was the expected procedure according to the hotel guide we found in our room. More upsetting was the hassle over the final bill, however. We had been offered a discount on the second night ( a rate based on our year of birth--this case 1953 or $53.00) unfortunately the communication between the reservation agency and the hotel front desk was flawed and we spent between 20-30 minutes waiting for some type of reconciliation. In the end, I asked to speak with the manager ( Maya) and she could only tell us to wait for her phone call to us later that day after she spoke with the reservation agency and had them review the recorded conversation made during the reservation. While in the end, the telephone recording verified the special rate we had been offered and we did receive a phone call later in the day notifying us that we were given a refund on the amount we had been over charged, at the time I felt like my word was being doubted; it was a very negative experience and an unfortunate and stressful end to our honeymoon. It also made us late and we were unable to meet with friends we had planned to have lunch with on the way to our next destination. I am very disappointed in our final experience with the hotel. We had planned our entire wedding in San Francisco around staying at the St Francis the evening of our wedding and, as stated earlier, we had at the time no doubt that it would be worth it. We had planned on coming back to celebrate anniversaries in the future but that is in doubt now. I wish I could say that our experience with the hotel was perfect and that it would be a lovely part of our honeymoon memories. However I guess that is not to be the case. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The older part of the hotel is noisy Let me start by saying that the room I stayed in was in the older hotel. It was INCREDIBLY loud. The noise was not street noise, it was noise from inside. I had a horrible night's sleep. The room was also rather small. Aside from that, I love this hotel. It is very cool. Both Clock Bar and Bourbon Steak are solid drinking locations and are pretty sexy for hotel watering holes. October 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed This was probably the worst experience I've had at a Starwood property. Initially had some problems booking the room on the website, and don't think I would have booked if I realized how small the room was. For the rate, the size was unacceptable. I would never stay at this particular property because of the size. Couldn't even stay and work in the room it was so cramped. Upon arrival, I tried to verify that my corporate rate had been applied, but no one at the front desk was able to help. I had to call a reservation number, which said that nothing could be done because I had a prepaid rate. Was very disappointed that no one would even investigate. Upon arrival, I also checked the mini-bar to have a cocktail, only to find most of it empty, even two of the bottles that did exist had been emptied. When I called to notify, I was having to explain that I did not have any of the beverages. Then on my bill, there was over $100 worth of mini-bar charges, even though I did not have anything. I generally like Starwood, and have it set to my preferences with my travel company, but this stay was very disappointing. From the reservation, to room and finally mini-bar and charges. Just expect better service. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by deluxe? The room we booked was so called deluxe, but for deluxe just standard. Nice room, nice location. October 27, 2013
  • 2015-08-29T09:34:27.993-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-20, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1333, tr_1333
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 46 next>>