The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1288 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel has a great view of Union Square, and is close to shopping, theaters and restaurants. Staff was very courteous and helpful. September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just so so Really expected an exceptional experience and found it to be mediocre. There was not enough staff on hand to handle the volume of people in the hotel during my stay. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Cleanliness- very poor, disappointing Dear sirs, it is a shame that such a nice hotel has a very poor cleanliness. I could leave trash and disposable cups of coffee for days on a desk.- maid only limited to tend the bed and clean the tub. No brooming, nor picking up wastes nor washing the glasses used the previous days. I was out of shampoo, conditioner and cream. I had to go to the desk to request to refurnish them to my room twice. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Last minute adjustment It was necessary to make a last minute adjustment to my room and the staff at the St Francis accommodated my needs to perfection. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel! We have stayed at the Westin St. Francis many times. It is in a perfect location for shops, food, sight-seeing and people watching. We came up to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and they gave us a beautiful corner room with sweeping water views as well as a delectable tray of desserts. I can't wait to come back for my 50th in February! September 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Centrally located near Union Square Great hotel to stay at - close to LOTS of shopping and sightseeing stuff. September 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unforgettably bad experience Checked in as part of a entourage. Messed up breakfast coupons: told us that coupon valid for 2 even though it says otherwise on coupon. Reconfirmed with front desk. Next morning, staff at restaurant turned us down. Even though our package entitles breakfast for 2, no staff gave us the coupons for the second person. We were told that there was a mistake, and a token gift will be sent to room. Nothing arrived. Some of my fellow entourage mates were charged for deliveries to concierge, some not, lack of consistency Some were given complimentary water in room daily, some were charged. Breakfast coupon lacks options. Same small buffer spread over 8 days is not 5-star quality. list goes on. Not recommended, despite having a great iconic building and very good location. September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Downtown SF Hotel in Union Square Awesome historic property near Union square, with great restaurants, shopping and downtown access. Got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - thanks to my Ambassador, good SPG recognition and excellent staff, highly recommended. September 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel rooms need renovation The rooms are very tired, are indesperate need of updating and renovation. I will never stay at this property again September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel I think this hotel is very relax for me because is near by downtown San francisco and I have a wonderfui stay in the hotel. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay, expected more Our stay at the Westin St. Francis was pleasant. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel to others and I would stay there again however it may not be my first choice next time. There were a few reasons that I did not give this hotel an Excellent review. 1. Check in: Front desk check in was expeditious however not over the top friendly. The Rep did not acknowledge the SPG membership other than simply stating "I see your SPG number on file". Not a thank you or even so much as an acknowledgment of what an SPG member at this hotel might receive. She also stated that the "deposit was requested but not received" and that my card would be charged for the full amount. When I booked the room through the SPG site, I provided my CC information to be charged for the room in full to receive a 10% discount. When I questioned her, she did not provide a clear answer. 2. Room: The mattress was comfortable but the bedding left something to be desired. The sheets were very stiff, almost starched, and the comforter seemed to be just that, a thick blanket style comforter. The phone in the room did not work which made for a delay in calling valet to prepare the car for our departure or receiving assistance with luggage. 3. Parking: I understand that real estate is a hot commodity in SF but $53 to Valet park is steep. Especially when there are very few other options available, hotel room rates are already high and public garages are closer to $30. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic experience Overall courteous staff, clean rooms, and great experience. Love this hotel September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great service This hotel was absolutely fantastic. Will be repeating my visit soon. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Class Hotel From the moment the bellhop greeted us, we were blown away by this hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the hotel bars and restaurants were great and the staff was excellent. Emily from the Concierge was particularly helpful in giving us suggested sights and restaurants. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible night sleep Soundproofing is awful, can hear everything from the rooms next door including the toilet and tv. Housekeeping kept knocking even through we put the privacy please sign up. Beds are meant to be heavenly but it was small and lumpy, had so many layers and they were old so couldn't smooth them. The café in the lobby doesn't display any prices and when we asked two small sandwiches and a tea cost $33. When we checked out I complained to a lady called Yvonne and the only response I got was 'oh dear' which as you can imagine made me really angry, obviously couldn't care less September 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Nice hotel but no free internet I have stayed in this hotel since i was 12 yrs old. and i still think it's a great hotel. i do think since this is 2013 the internet should be free. It's like putting quarters into the tv to watch it. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by still a favorite,but lots of serious mishaps Has been a long-time favorite, but this stay was fraught with serious mishaps. Valet lost car keys (car still there). Did not recognize my Lifetime Gold status when requested late checkout. Let another guest check into adjoining room too soon while the adjoining door open with purse and all personal belongings sitting out in open. Cigarette smell in adjoining room. Allowed key to expire while still within my late checkout time window. September 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not stay at this hotel One of my worst business travel hotel experiences ever. Arrived in my room which was dirty with change from a previous guest on the floor. It was a very very dark room with a light bulb out. It took 45 minutes to get someone to put in a new light bulb I had a do not disturb sign on my door as needed to work and housekeeping still knocked and asked to come in. I asked for two newspapers to be at my door every morning: the second day they forgot and the fourth day with a Do not disturb sign on the door they knocked and woke me up at 8am. I was to receive a fedex package from a client and they never called from the desk to say it had arrived. I had to go and ask for it at 11pm the day it arrived (only knew because the client called to ask about it). Again all I got was we are very sorry. the last day I was there I left newspapers on my bed (i also threw away some in the wastebaskets) When I returned that evening the cleaning people had thrown away all the newspapers on my bed. all in all unacceptable and all the staff and managers would say is they were sorry (one manager gave me $200 off the price but he was the one who told the person to knock on my door at 8am!) I needed those newspapers for my work and saying you are sorry did not bring them back. Also none of the managers seemed to be overly dismayed about the way their hotel was begin operated. this only means to me a very very poorly run hotel. September 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by small, loud and broken was given a tiny room right next to the elevator shaft. the elevators were audible all night. the cable tv didn't work on one of the three nights during the stay September 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy - not what I expected Street noise was so loud we thought the windows were opened. Only one night table. Shower tiny, toilet was as if I was in a public restroom September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolute disaster Room type I booked one hour before checking in was not available. Nor were any other rooms. The one I was given had leaves and I think bugs on the floor. The bed was awful--and I love Heavenly beds. This one had rough sheets and was hard a rock. I left at six am because I could not stand it any longer. September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL HOTEL TO STAY AT HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL, GREAT PLACE TO STAY AT. STAFF IS VERY KIND AND GAVE US EXTRAORDINARY TIPS. THANK YOUR FLOOR ATTENTION PERSONNEL AND CONCIERGE. EVERYTHING WENT VERY WELL. WILL RETURN SHORTLY. September 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location and History The carpets in the hallways are stained and worn and are badly in need of replacement. Our room was large, comfortable and the closet and bathroom were spacious. The furnishings, however, were dull and without style or character giving the room a rather depressing feeling. The staff was excellent and very helpful. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful Everything was great except. Somebody next door to my wife and I was smoking and for the 2 nights we were extremely uncomfortable. I called both nights and nothing changed. Please fix this problem. September 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing special I stayed at the Westin St. Fransis to attend a conference which was being held in the same hotel. I booked the room at a "discounted" rate. Not much of a discount since the room is basically just for sleeping. There was no free Wi-fi in the room but could be added for an additional fee per day. Most if not all hotels I stay in offer free Wi-fi. There was not outlet at the bedstand. This is a must with today's handheld devices. There was no paper (USA Today) provided to the room. I did not find that the hotel offered anything above and beyond that would make me rate it highly. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in Downtown Dan Fran Helped to make a visit to San Fran better. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly met my standards 11th floor smelled bad. My room was 1175. Comfortable but tiny. I called to get a plate and a knife. The woman at room service told me the charge would be 2.00. I was shocked. She then said " I won.'t charge you this time". Otherwise I enjoyed my stay although a bit creepy in the corner in 1175. My sister and brother in law escorted me to my room. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Hotel room was fine. Great restaurant - Bourbon steak. Very nice hotel bar. My only complaint was the poor breakfast service at the Oak Room. September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Excellent location. Room comfort very good. Bathroom can use some updating, but overall a good experience. September 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs to be refurbished Traveling for work and have stayed in San Francisco on many occasions but this was the first time at this hotel, which was a big disappointment. The first room they assigned had torn wallpaper, chairs with fabric that was completely worn through and a bathroom that looked like it hadn't been updated in 10 years (very old and stained tub, sink with broken stopper, etc). After moving to a second and third room, I gave up, as they were all pretty much the same. I would not stay here again though I have to give credit to the staff for trying to resolve my concerns. September 14, 2013
  • 2015-04-27T19:14:12.929-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-21, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1288, tr_1288
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 ... 44 next>>