The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1118 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay in this hotel when you visit SF The front desk staff convinced me to take a room with sofa bed (without telling me explicitly) in advance and he claimed that this is an upgraded room. It is ashamed to make such an arrangement to their Platinum guest. We cannot sleep well with such a bed. Air conditioning system is old and noisy too. The car arrangement was also very poor and it was ended up in a big argument with the driver from a car company RML. May 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel gave another guest keys to our room We expected a higher level of customer service at the St. Francis - one of SPG's finer hotels. As a platinum member, our room was not ready until late afternoon and then another guest entered our room as we were leaving for dinner. No apology from bell man, front desk argued that WE were in the wrong room. My wife and son were anxious that another guest would enter the room. Poor follow through by manager and staff. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location, but very noisy this trip due to construction on streets, starting at 2:30 AM. Service by staff varied, with some staff very helpful, while others were all but rude. For example, we stood waiting to speak with concierge for over 5 min while he was on a personal phone call. House keeping staff very friendly and did a great job. Despite some of the problems listed above, still recommend the St Francis. March 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired? Magnificent location for a short stay in San Francisco. Rather tired hotel though. Disturbingly noisy hvac fan, room did not get made up one day until we complained. Conflicting advice on my SPG status, particularly re wifi access was disappointing. Didn't risk possibly being charged an unbelieveable $15/day - all stores nearby, and Westin lobby (?) offered wifi for free. Will probably try somewhere else next time. January 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with great location The hotel is adjacent to Union Square, making it easy to access all the happening places in downtown San Francisco. My Room in the new wing was spacious and comfortable. The staffs could be more friendly though. A concierge person had pretty cold manner when I asked him about the Wi-Fi access in the lobby on my first day at the hotel. Not a very good first impression. However, overall, it's a recommendable hotel. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for a getaway The Westin in SF is a perfect place to spend a couple days for a get away. Shopping is right out the front door, as well as the cable cars which can take you to the wharf. Many wonderful restaurants are within walking distance. The views from the upper floors are amazing. The staff here are all very helpful and cater to your needs. I highly recommend the Westin St. Francis if you are traveling to San Francisco. August 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs work The room was extremely dark poor lighting. The heater did not work. We noticed the night checked in but heater was turned off so we put on and went to a play. Upon return still chilly but thought temp was too low increased temp went to bed. Next morning 6:30 am called said they would send someone right up. Called again at 7:20 because no one had showed up. Showed up within 10 minutes on this call. Told us motor was burn out and would send up space heater. Heater received but not hardly big enough to heat room. Called to express concern with Manager who was not available said he would call back. Never did. Upon check out asked for adjustment to bill. front desk clerk took info to mgr. Never spoke to mgr. She came back and said they would credit me $89. which they did. I can't believe I would be charged anything for a room with no heat. I am a gold member, I would hate to see how a non member is treated December 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Substandard Service Unfortunately, the service level of the hotel was well below the Westin standard. My check-in was delayed over two hours, the front desk erased my cell phone number to notify me when a room was available, and a person casting himself as a television maintenance worker (not in uniform) arrived at my door to "change my television cables" without order or request. The front desk was apprised, but nothing was done. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old world hotel in lovely location The St Francis is an old world hotel modernized with a great location to walk out the front door on Black Friday and shop all day. We felt very safe being there. I do wish there were not so many added taxes. I would prefer just to know the final rate of the room when all the taxes are added. Our breakfast was the $25 American that ended up being $38 after all additions. Parking is convenient but very pricey. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Symposium Stay I stayed here due to a conference/symposium I was attending. Conf rate was acceptable... parking rates are really bad... Paid the $51 when I arrived and then attended the conference all day... claimed my car at 6:30pm and had an addition $30 charge for parking... the $51 is only good until noon. Ridiculous!! Had some trouble finding the meeting rooms. No signed directing people to different areas of the hotel. December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay near the center of everyting The room was clean and spacious with a nice view. Both the checkin/checkout staff were very nice and welcoming. The cleanliness of both public and private spaces was impeccable. The management of this hotel is clearly doing a great job. February 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location! Have always loved staying here between the ideal location and beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, this visit our room was not ready and after waiting around for over an hour they still could not figure out why it wasn't ready (2 hours after check-in at 5:00PM.) Had a lovely checkin in agent who made it right by upgrading us to adjoining smaller rooms (for our family of 4) rather than the larger room we requested. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by THIN WALLS I love this hotel but was dissapointed with our stay this time. We had a room with extremely thin walls so much so that you could hear the entire conversation of the person next door. At checkout staff did not seem to care much about complaint. Room was large but felt empty with what seemed to be tooo little furniture therefore lacking in the ambiamce that we expected... December 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by charming hotel i had a wonderful time except for the rudeness to me by concierge Raymond, i reported this to the front desk mgr., and got a message from angelina in guest relations, i called and left her a message, but never heard back, other than that it was a delightful stay, and your housekeeping staff is great January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This is hotel is so beautiful but my review here is for the people that works at this hotel. This is my second time at this hotel and different person helped and they are just the NOT happiest camper. I understand this hotel is very busy but these people forgets they are working in a hospitality environment or is that doesn't exist anymore? I am actually still at the hotel. Sad! Smile it's not that hard!!!! June 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Landmark building is an experience The Landmark building is the historical front half of this property. It is old and has been refurbished many times over it's long history. If you are lucky enough to have assigned a room in this part of the hotel, don't be expecting typical Westin facilities. While the building is very nice and full of old world charm, the fixtures and doors are old and may not work properly. Our room's chandelier had a burnt out light bulb, which I alerted Maintenance to replace. They did not attend to this during our one night stay. Our bathroom door will not stay closed and lacks a working lock. The room was spacious and had a walk-in closet. The bed was the typical Westin Heavenly Bed. We had a quiet restful night sleep, even though Union Square (at Holidays time) was just outside our window. I highly recommend this hotel to fully experience the heart of San Francisco that is Union Square. December 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would NOT recommend While this hotel is very pretty and quaint, we were not happy with our decision to stay there. Very pretty inside but the rooms were extremely small for the price you pay. We were very unhappy with the $60.42 charge for parking our car for approx. 11 hours. There are less expensive hotels in the area to check out. We will not be staying at this one again. January 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location on Union Square When we checked in, we were told that our reservation had been cancelled - which we found mysterious - how did that happen? So they put is in a room with no view. Our reservation had stated we we were staying in towers 17-21 with sweeping views of the city. Extremely disappointing. We felt that our room had been given away to someone willing to pay substantially more than we did. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of space/Perfect location We LOVED our Jr. Suite. The hotel was PERFECTLY located across from the tree lighting. We loved, loved, loved our stay. Highly recommended. Loved the extra offer of SPG points for going green by not having room cleaned daily. We skipped 3 days of cleaning. Not sure if the points will just show up or if we need to do something but we will be back asap:) Happy Holidays start here! December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Cleanliness- very poor, disappointing Dear sirs, it is a shame that such a nice hotel has a very poor cleanliness. I could leave trash and disposable cups of coffee for days on a desk.- maid only limited to tend the bed and clean the tub. No brooming, nor picking up wastes nor washing the glasses used the previous days. I was out of shampoo, conditioner and cream. I had to go to the desk to request to refurnish them to my room twice. September 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunately, not what we expected! Location was awesome! That is the only thing this place has going for it. We had to be moved because the room was so disgusting!! The furniture is old and beat up! The couch had nasty stains and the windows were so dirty you could not see out of them very well. I have pictures if someone would like to see them. We asked to manager to come see it, he or she never showed up. Poor customer service!!! August 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Engineering Manager Room 386, room temperature at 4 PM check in was 54 degrees F. Heater did not work. Maintenance opened vent, said it would take 30 minutes to heat room. Left room for dinner, returned at 10 PM, temp in room 57 degrees F. Gave up and obtained 2 wool blankets from housekeeping. Light bulb burnt out in center of room chandelier. Wall paper peeling off wall in numerous locations particularly in bathroom. January 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Wesitn This Westin is the worst I have stayed in. I was in the ancient side, elevator was broke, hot water took 10 minutes to reach the room. They were moving furniture down the hallway at 11pm and best yet. JP Morgan conference was there, so the 500 security people keep torturing me for a room key to come in and out. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel Stay! "The look" is amazing, the history is astounding and the service is impeccable! (Think of lots & lots of shimmering chandeliers, pics of Shirley Temple by the clock as well as Queen of Eng., etc.) Liked the extra secure elevators (women travelors). Thanks to Lauren for making our birthday party a true celebration! We smiled each & every time we came back "home"! Will def rebook if we return to SF! June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 1st stay The room was unusually warm, depsite the fact that I set the thermostat as low as 60! (For reference I set my home thermostat at 75, so I'm not the type to need an icebox.) My room key was giving me problems and I was told it was likely the battery of the card reader. Instead of replacing the battery, they just continued to give me a new key, and I still needed security to let me in the room. September 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful room, but--- Room service told me they would bring me some ear plugs @ 10:30pm. I called back at 11:10pm, wS told they would be there soon. Never came. I slept from 12:00-1:30am, then stayed awake until 5:00am. Then the staff came about 8:00am and spoke so loudly, no one would have been able to sleep. So inconsiderate!!! Why offer such a late check out???? Beautiful room, but not a good housekeeping staff! August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by mudd everything was great with one exception. we booked one room cash and one room with points. housekeeping only had us down for one night so they would not clean our room. my husband worked in the room and asked for cleaning while in the gyn and his request was not accommodated. therefore he had to leave when housekeeping finally arrived. a minor inconvenience but easy to fix. i hope. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by OLD SCHOOL CHARM, COMFORT This is a great hotel, very much in the "old school" category. Nice, big comfortable room, attentive staff, excellent room service and centrally located for an easy walk to and from all of my business appointments. February 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smelly room with insects I was checked into a queen bed room that is only slightly bigger than a walk in closet. The room had a stale smell and had a few tiny mosquitoes going around. Was told there was no other room to go to that night, but was given another bigger room the next day.Definitely not worth the price you pay. Pros Location. Cons Smelly rooms old carpet not the smoothest elevators around needs an upgrade November 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jeremy, our waiter in The Oak Room was fabulous! After a very long day, we dined in The Oak Room. It was very late in the evening, yet the wait staff was welcoming and friendly. One would have almost thought that they were there just to serve only us. It was that attention to excellent service and a delicious meal that found us going back several times to dine in The Oak Room. The Valet service was quite efficient and accommodating as well. August 12, 2013
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 ... 38 next>>