The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1233 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by a few little bumps in the road We stay here every time we are in the city. Love the hotel. Our room this time was in need of some attention to the shower.. It didn't drain well and the water was just warm. great bed!! Fantastic breakfast in the Oak Room. We will be back in July. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location If you're looking for a large international hotel that is within walking distance to excellent shopping, restaurants and theater, this is a great hotel for you. Some rooms overlook Union Square, which is a city park and central to shopping. A top restaurant, cafe for breakfast and a nice bar are within the hotel. Rooms are nice sized, with a good closet and bathroom that may not be large, but is adequate and clean. Plenty of towels and products, too. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small Rooms Rooms felt tight with every door somehow oddly banging into another piece of furniture. Our bathroom didn't have door locks and the toilet wasn't cleaned very well when we first arrived. Nice gym, great location and charm. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice location, nice rooms, nice view I really enjoyed my stay at the Westin St. Francis on Union Square in San Francisco. The view from my room was spectacular, looking to the East over Union Square and out across the city to the bay. I also appreciated the complementary fitness room, and I liked the fact that someone affiliated with the hotel was organizing early morning runs through San Francisco. It was just one way in which the Westin made my stay in San Francisco a little special. February 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Patience - Upgrades coming slowly As a long time weekly guest of the hotel, I can see the progress that is being made at the St Francis. The newly renovated rooms in the tower are a great upgrade. I am appreciating the fresh clean look. The historic building is beautiful but has a persistent odour of mustiness that no open window breeze can refresh anymore. The rugs simply need to go ! The plumbing needs to be upgraded to repair the back-flush fumes issue. The cleaning service seems to be perpetually behind, however. I have been asked several times to wait hours after attempting to check-in . Recently I came back to the hotel after 7pm and the room was still not "put together" with the bed sheets left lying on the floor. That's not good service. The buffet breakfast at the Oak Room is pleasant but has not changed in any way in 2 years. The consistency is impressive and the service excellent but I stopped breakfasting there out of sheer boredom. April 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed I have stayed at many starwood hotels and have to say i was extremely disappointed. The housekeeping did a very poor job. I found old molded cheese wrapped in a napkin in my mini fridge. My bathroom was not cleaned properly as all they did was pick up my dirty towels and put new ones in. I had to pay a large amount for parking and internet per night on top of their nightly fee. only good thing about this hotel is location, but wouldn't recommend it January 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by "Green Program" I participated in your Green Initiative- waived room service. In hindsight I wish that I hadn't. While I always reuse towels, making the bed & touching up the bathroom each day is really necessary. My bad. Last, I had a smoker in the hallway at night. Never saw him/her, but the smoke really bothered me... in my room! I once called the front desk to please notify hotel security. Oh well, a towel rolled up at the bottom of the door seemed to help. December 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel but noisy This hotel is nice, however, the noise from Union Square was very noticeable in the rooms. The windows are not sound-proof at all. If you want a quieter room, request an interior room not on the square. Also, noise from the hallways was an issue - doors, walls etc. are very thin. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quintessential San Francisco Experience Great hotel in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Stayed the week before Xmas and had a great time, staff was very festive and happy. Bourbon Steak is the best, Adam at the bar and Marc, the GM, are top notch! I stayed in the historic building, next to the ice machine. The room was small, but charming. However, it was very loud. The workout facilities are really nice. Definitely stay here again and again, just ask for a room in the new tower. December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Experience This place exceeded our expectations. We had a room with 2 queens and a cot for my family of 4. Great location and the staff was really impressive. Close to SUB Station and Cabs waiting outside. Hallway at night gets a little noisy with an echo but after the first night it was not a problem. A fan / white noise machine would fix that! Stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed San Francisco. April 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite up to par for a Westin I was at the Westin for a conference in May. The woman at check-in was lovely. From there the experience was only average. My room was large, with a king bed, high ceilings and view of Union Square. I usually sleep wonderfully with their 'heavenly beds". This bed had an older mattress that seemed to sag in the middle. The front desk said they could get me a new mattress, rather than move me to a different room. This did not happen. After another request, they determined that the bed was not attached correctly. This may have helped at the margin; I'm being generous. The room was dusty and carpet spotty. I don't believe I have ever encountered that at a Westin. The reception for cell phone was spotty and the TV pixelated frequently. It just wasn't what I've come to expect from Westin. Will probably try a different hotel during my next trip. May 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed Worst Western ever stayed. 1. toilet is packed in between the wall and the bath tub, very little room to move. 2. AC/Heater loud. Have to turn it off to sleep. 3. When use shower, you have to pull the thing below at the right timing. Otherwise little water coming from the overhead shower head. 4. In room Wi-Fi signal too weak, speed too slow. 5. Sound insulation very poor. Can hear the sound outside the door, the noise from the street down below. February 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mr. Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are very small even for SFO. The beds were comfortable but, again, small. The rooms are not very spacious and we had no view. We had a queen size bed but it seem like a twin bed. But everything else was fantastic. From the time we arrived, the valet parking attendants were very welcoming and polite. The front desk staff and concierge staff - outstanding - friendly and courteous. Every staff person we encounter was friendly and greeted us with a smile. Really great from a service perspective. We had breakfast on Sunday morning the buffet was really nice but expensive at $28.50 pp...the only other option was the lobby bar for coffee and continental breakfast. Overall a good experience which would have been outstanding if the rooms would have been more spacious and the beds would have been larger. Queen size should be offered as single rooms only. Thank you. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dr. contact provided by Concierge We enjoyed our stay at the St. Francis in San Francisco for four nights over the Christmas holiday. The Westin St Francis met our expectations. However we were refered by the Concierge to Traveler Medical Group in Post Street , San Francisco for some coughing problems of our daughter. The general practitioner charged us US$ 220.— for the consultation in his clinic . We believed we have been unfairly overcharged for this simple consultation. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overnight stay! My wife and I stayed for a night to take in the San Francisco Christmas experience. From the valet to the front desk, the customer service was great. We were given an awesome room with a view of Union Square in all its holiday glory. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and classic looking with all the modern amenities. The only issue that arose was a billing issue that was resolved even before I had to bring it to anyone's attention. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Fashioned Charm While I appreciated the historic features and feel of the hotel, my room felt old and worn. Crack in the sink, faded chairs, the bed was "rumpled" when I arrived and a light bulb was out in the bathroom. I just tried to keep it all in check reminding myself that this hotel is over 100 years old. Staff was accommodating. They gave me a room with an exquisite view of Union Square which made my stay. Fitness Center was convenient and up to date. December 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location! We love Starwood! We enjoyed the very spacious room and the convenience of the location to Union Square. Some areas of interest: One of the glass had ink (?) inside it. Only 3 bath towels were available in our room. It was very noisy in the room - loud clanking from behind the bathroom walls. Although we had these issues, we would come back again. We would like to add that the front desk folks were very accommodating and we are very grateful. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Luxurious There are two types of rooms - those in the St. Francis and those in the tower. The rooms in the St. Francis portion have plaster, crown molding and chandelier light fixtures. Lots of character. The bed was heavenly with thick sheets and white bedding that is changed with each guest so it is very clean. The closet was a walk-in and there is free coffee and an iron/board in every room. Food/drinks are expensive - even at the cafe in the lobby. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location Loved being on Union Square. Choose the old building to overlook the Union Square. Wish there were robes and a few more amenities provided(none)other than shampoo lotion and creame rinse. Room seem old in decor and very sparse. Lobbies is awful! I mean nothing. It is so un-inviting. No flowers, chairs, greeters? What is up with that? Other than location would not come back. I will say the staff was over the top in being helpful and friendly. January 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dsiappointed in Westin St. Francis As a frequent traveler, I was very disappointed in the Westin St. Francis hotel in San Francisco. The room was very small, carpets were worn, as was the fabric on the side chair. The hotel was VERY noisy - wooden doors were being slammed at 5:30 AM, and I could actually hear the man upstairs urinate each morning. I felt like I was staying in an old warehouse. My shower was only 2 x 2 - so I normally used the shower in the mens locker room. The shower head was just an inch from my face. The room safe was on the floor inside a closet - so I needed to lie on the floor in order to open/close it. For the price and reputation of the Westin - I was extremely disappointed and will never stay at this hotel again. Apparently the manager of this hotel has never stayed in room 382- because she would quickly have realized the need to update the facilities. September 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is in need of an upgrade What a disappointment this hotel was. Regretted staying here when there are so many better options for less money in SF. The carpet in the hallways leading to the rooms are so worn out and dirty and that is just a preview of the room itself. The room itself felt so dirty and dusty all over. A bad odor hits you as you open the door to the room. I could go on and on but there is not point in that. Would not stay here again, that is for sure. December 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary trip The St. Francis was a perfect choice for our 46th anniversary. The hotel was crowded but that just added to the holiday fun. The staff was friendly and the lobby hostess at the SPG check-in was terrific. She arranged for complementary champagne to celebrate the anniversary. We stayed in the historic rooms with a view of Union Square. Bathroom small, but no complaints. Awesome Christmas displays in lobby, etc. Would love to go there again. December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Staff & Full-service Facility This hotel has clearly taken great measure to train it's staff in the art of hospitality. From Suna at the front desk to Sara in concierge and all contact in between, the level of professionalism is second to none. Keep up the great work. I have never had a less-than-pleasant stay at this property and will return every time I come to San Francisco. Also will go out of my way to recommend this hotel to anyone with plans that include SF December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice for SPG Platnum in downtown San Francisco Stayed for a work week. The facility has two buildings: the original, old, beautiful hotel and an adjacent, modern high-rise. After online research I selected the tower. A pre-arrival email requesting a room with a view was handled by the hotel's SPG concierge, and she got me into a great room on the 27th floor with a spectacular view (picture here: http://bit.ly/1ccbXab ). The Westin is busy but well-staffed, and every interaction was great. If you typically use mini-bar fridges to stock groceries, theirs have optical sensors, so plan on renting a fridge as an out-of-place item is billed within seconds. WIFI was the best I've ever had in a hotel, and I'm a heavy user. I would gladly bring my wife back here for a vacation with full confidence that we would receive the consistently high level of customer service which I expect from Westin and SPG. November 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed BIG time on this stay I've stayed here many times in the past and have enjoyed it and have had no complaints. This time: really bad. Room was exceptionally tiny. View was the roof with rooms facing mine, so couldn't open the curtains. Green stuff running down the shower curtain, every time I used the iron it dumped water all over my clothing. There were brown rings on the coasters underneath the clean glasses in the bathroom. Toiletries were not replenished, used wine glasses not picked up. Coffee supplies were also not replenished. And what was with the wonderful pillows they have? They must have been reserved for the nicer rooms, because mine was not the 'heavenly' pillow, more like run-down foam. I reserved my room months in advance and as an SPG member, expected a bit more. I'll be staying elsewhere next year, sorry Saint Francis, but you failed miserably this year. December 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Mature Hotel It's a beautiful hotel, in a fabulous location central to San Fran. Rooms are updated, but it is a older hotel, but they do a nice job making it modern. The line for check in are ridulous everytime i have been. Two people working behind desk, and ten people in line. I also had an issue with room service, a 4oz 50 cent yogurt just doesn't meet my Westin expectation. Give me a nice bowl of delicous yogurt. But all in all it's a nice stay. November 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great historic hotel - horrible service I traveled with a group of 7 women and was very excited to stay at such a famous hotel. The room was nice and it was beautiful. But the service was horrible. By far the WORST I have ever received at a hotel, let alone a Westin, in my life. Not only did they appear short staffed but they were rude and simple questions like "where should we eat" were answered with snide remarks. The worst came to room service. Not only did they forget to deliver food once but they were over an hour late another time. Also when we needed another room key, we had to wait 30 minutes because they had just one person working the front desk. We realized the Chinese New Year Parade was the same weekend but they should have been prepared with enough staff. All in all, for the price per night and for the expectations of a Westin hotel, we were very very disappointed with how we were treated. February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by still a favorite,but lots of serious mishaps Has been a long-time favorite, but this stay was fraught with serious mishaps. Valet lost car keys (car still there). Did not recognize my Lifetime Gold status when requested late checkout. Let another guest check into adjoining room too soon while the adjoining door open with purse and all personal belongings sitting out in open. Cigarette smell in adjoining room. Allowed key to expire while still within my late checkout time window. September 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible & disappointing Had confirmed reservation for a "Grand Deluxe Tower King Bed" room. At check in received a "standard" room and was told by front desk that it was a Grand Deluxe Room !!! Moved room and was told there is no King Bed available! Disappointing customer service! No follow up from Management. May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel - But Very Loud This is a beautiful hotel; the room and facilities exceeded my expectations. However, we were not able to get much sleep due to the parties going on in the hallway and rooms on our floor. Staff at the hotel were not helpful. When I spoke to the lady at the front desk during the check out process about the noise and lack of sleep, she said this situation is to be expected when staying at a hotel in the downtown area on a Friday night. July 21, 2013
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 ... 42 next>>