The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1326 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location! Have always loved staying here between the ideal location and beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, this visit our room was not ready and after waiting around for over an hour they still could not figure out why it wasn't ready (2 hours after check-in at 5:00PM.) Had a lovely checkin in agent who made it right by upgrading us to adjoining smaller rooms (for our family of 4) rather than the larger room we requested. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect San Francisco Weekend Our weekend stay at Westin St. Francis was perfect. The staff and property was better than I remembered during a stay ten years ago. The proximity to all of our stops could not have been better. Our entire part was impressed. The Westin St. Francis will be our hotel in the city from now on. May 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay in this hotel when you visit SF The front desk staff convinced me to take a room with sofa bed (without telling me explicitly) in advance and he claimed that this is an upgraded room. It is ashamed to make such an arrangement to their Platinum guest. We cannot sleep well with such a bed. Air conditioning system is old and noisy too. The car arrangement was also very poor and it was ended up in a big argument with the driver from a car company RML. May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Never been disappointed by SPG Hotels worldwide May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel I have stayed at this hotel countless times, including three occasions in the last 10 weeks. The location is fabulous, the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are beyond comfortable. They do have a separate check in line for Starwood guests which is very nice. My only negative comment is that this hotel is so busy that they do not always care much if one is a Starwood member. Other Starwood properties have been receptive to us calling ahead, requesting a certain type of room, this hotel does not honor such requests. Some front desk staff are very gracious and accommodating, some are definitely not. Again, it is a very busy hotel so this is understandable. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old school at its best We stayed in the historic part of the hotel and for us it was perfect. Really high ceilings .. Classy decor and updated artwork .. Looked like a fashion shoot. Only catch is a tiny pre-war bathroom that some folks will find cramped. Staff was helpful and polite. Comment.. I usually hate the hotel's bar or restaurant .. Overpriced and careless. Not so at Bourbon.. Bar staff was uber professional .. Food was inspired.. They even pulled off a medium rare short rib which is supposed to be impossible if you want it tender. May 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Living on past glories By reputation this is one of the great hotels of America. In fact it is tired, run-down, faded, has inadequate food/restaurant facilities, and the phones don't work. May 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by My worst experience in SPG hotel ever San Francisco is the last stop of our family vocation. So I choose the westin hotel. I always choose SPG hotel to stay, but this time. I made a big mistake. When I made the reservation, I did request have two room were connected. One is Kind bed and One is double bed. When I arrived hotel, the reception told me both room were King bed room. So I required to change one room to double bed. So me and my parent were stay in the different floor. This is not the end. When I entered the room, I saw two big suitcases on the bed already which were not mine. I had to go down to the reception again. On that moment, I was been told, that room was already occupied. I needed to change to another room again. I can't believe such a good hotel can make this stupid mistake. Instead of that, I need to move from 7 floor to 5 floor. The hotel did not upgrade me to a higher floor, even worse. I moved to a lower floor. What is more, I requested to have a Union Square view room. But when I open the window. I can't see any view. It is totally a joke. I swear I never be cheated like this. I will never stay here again May 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite up to par for a Westin I was at the Westin for a conference in May. The woman at check-in was lovely. From there the experience was only average. My room was large, with a king bed, high ceilings and view of Union Square. I usually sleep wonderfully with their 'heavenly beds". This bed had an older mattress that seemed to sag in the middle. The front desk said they could get me a new mattress, rather than move me to a different room. This did not happen. After another request, they determined that the bed was not attached correctly. This may have helped at the margin; I'm being generous. The room was dusty and carpet spotty. I don't believe I have ever encountered that at a Westin. The reception for cell phone was spotty and the TV pixelated frequently. It just wasn't what I've come to expect from Westin. Will probably try a different hotel during my next trip. May 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by HOtel had no hot water I was speaking at a conference and could not take a shower in the morning and was very upset May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY 60th B DAY MY husband N Myself had fun staying in yur hotel , staff r all friendly from the reception esp. marichu N Joy they r the best ,cheers too ... to yur hardworking housekeeping they are marvelous .next tym i will bring my 2 daughters.N make our stay longer . May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and excellent service We are a family of five and we love our stay at the hotel. The rooms were large and clean, with comfortable beds. We used the concierge a lot and they were extremely helpful. We would recommend it any time! May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location If you're looking for a large international hotel that is within walking distance to excellent shopping, restaurants and theater, this is a great hotel for you. Some rooms overlook Union Square, which is a city park and central to shopping. A top restaurant, cafe for breakfast and a nice bar are within the hotel. Rooms are nice sized, with a good closet and bathroom that may not be large, but is adequate and clean. Plenty of towels and products, too. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, rather poor service I booked a room for one night on spg.com using a pre-paid rate. Upon arrival at the hotel I was told that my reservation did not exist. I provided my confirmation number and was told that the reservation could not be found. I then showed the email confirmation on my phone. The front desk staff indicated that she would contact her manager. Surprisingly, the manager came in to tell me that I did not have a reservation, and that "all we can do is offer you a room at the rate of the day". When I showed the email with the reservation that I had made that morning she questioned the validity of it. Eventually, someone was able to find the reservation after approximately 40 minutes of standing at the check in. Perhaps the most problematic part was that there was no apology. I was not expecting anything other than to hear that they were sorry about the inconvenience. Not only did they not, but when I asked for a number to discuss this issue with customer service or the hotel manager I was told that they could only provide me with the general number of the hotel. After requesting to speak to the manager again, she told me that it was "not fair" that I would complain about the service received because she had "checked in different places and it was not her fault that the reservation could not be found". Still, there was no apology, and I was left to wonder whether it is the norm to question a customer's intentions. There are many great hotels in San Francisco, and the St Francis has the history, location and grandeur to be one of them. Unfortunately, the front desk manager on duty at the time is not up to par. May 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed while the staff were superb, the room carpet in the hallways and especially the bedroom were stained and dirty and the bedroom couch was stained which was surprising and very unsatisfactory. May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ready to wait at reception Despite the hotel is great location nice large rooms, be ready for waiting hours at reception either checkin or check out. So please ensure you do not miss your flight. Other than the lower level rooms are quiet cold where as top level rooms are more acceptable level. May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by ok stay, but wind tunnel in room My room had 1196 had a huge wind draft that was noisy as the window could not fully close. This was annoying, May 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the money Was charged $405 for a Thursday nite stay. The room was on the 3rd floor way back in the back of the hotel. The entire floor had a strong odor of musty carpet and stale air. I would describe the hotel overall as tired. The carpet on my floor revealed dark foot traffic lines at the entrance of each room door. A cart of used food items remained outside a room across the hall during my entire stay. I was left feeling that I had been shoved in the back closet and forgotten by the management. Likely the 3rd floor is the where they designate folks like me that only pay $405 bucks for a lousy nite stay. The room was very modest and the shower was approximately 20 inches wide. It was like showering in a small cupboard. I am a small buisness owner and rarely travel. Thus, when I do, I expect the experience to be good. I was in town for a seminar in my occupational field. I have stayed many places around the world for pleasure for much less and recieved much more. Overall, it was a disappointing visit and left feeling taken advantage of. My experience staying at the Westin St. Francis left me feeling the hotel is greedy and over rated. I won't be back and suggest to future visitors to stay across the street. May 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Property I have stayed in many cool hotels in SFO, but this property does SFO proud !....OUTSTANDING location. The condition & professionalism for a high volume property are VERY well attended to - I am AGAIN a believer in larger properties - Thank You ! May 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summary Great for location. Staff very helpful. It is nicely renovated and has a antique aura. Bathroom layout possibly below average. May 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible service Front desk service was terrible. At midnight had to wait in line for over 20 minutes. Everyone in line was complaining. Returned to the room at 5:30 PM and it had not been cleaned so had to call for cleaning. Booked a second room prepaid and the reservations and front desk screwed it up. The new smart elevators are dumb elevators and add zero for security. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location Excellent location! The service and physical hotel are wonderful as well! May 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old versus New Tower If you are sensitive to noise and smoke, choose the new building. I stayed in both and while in the older building, someone next door started smoking in their room and the smoke filtered into my room. There was little the staff could do other than bring in a fan and hope to blow the smoke out of my room but they didn't make the man next door stop smoking -- and he clearly was (I could hear him packing his cigarette package -- an unmistakable sound). May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Green Program Hello, I took the $5 to participate in your program. However, I can live with the same bedding and reusing a towel, but I expected to have my bed made and garage cans emptied. I believe that should have happened for the rate I paid. Thank you! May 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrendous Upon arrival, our room was not clean and disheveled. We requested another room but could not be acomodated until the next day. The following evening we called security because someone was knocking on our door and running away. Instead of someone helping us, we got screamed at over the phone and two large security men came to our door. I believe we were flagged as trouble makers since the night before we complained of our untidy room. We were lied to repeatedly and not treated like guests but like second hand citizens. I am an SPG member and I think the way I was treated was a disgrace. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone, ever, and overall will question staying at any Westin. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location The hotel is located in an excellent location and is easily accessible from BART. No need to jump on cabs. Cable cars are located right across the street. The hotel was very elegant and clean. The bar in the lobby had a great atmosphere. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location The St. Francis is a classic San Francisco hotel in a great location. But the street noise comes right into your room. VERY loud. I had to call housekeeping on Saturday afternoon at 3:30 to see if someone was going to clean my room that day. On my departure day, a Monday, I called to ask if I could have a late checkout (2:00), since apparently they don't clean rooms until late in the day and it was Monday, I thought it would be fine. But they told me in a very unfriendly manner that it would cost me $75.00. I'm fine with that policy, but be nice about it. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing weekend at the Westin St Francis We were greeted immediately while waiting to check in. The person at the front desk was very friendly and accomadating. The housekeeping staff was very attentive to our amentity needs. Concierge staff was very helpful and knowledgable of the city. They had great recommendations. The doormen were very knowledgable of the city and always greeted me with a smile. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Travel Review This was my first experience at this Westin Hotel, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Although the bathroom in my room could have been much cleaner, overall the room was very nice and comfortable. For not having my room cleaned one day, I received a $5 off coupon which I used for my coffee the next morning. I truly liked that little perk. The lobby was welcoming, as was the staff. The location of the coffee cafe was great and they had a variety. May 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suprised at condtions I normally love staying at this hotel. Although this time the walls were dirty and the bed sheets on a bed had holes and rips. This is not a normal thing for this hotel. I did report the dirt on the bathroom wall and the sheets. They had the housekeeping staff notified. They did clean the wall although I had to report again the bed sheet. It also appears the maintenance staff is not notified about paint peeling in bathroom. The bathroom door at the bottom was looking very bad. May 6, 2013
  • 2015-08-04T19:12:13.963Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-28, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1326, tr_1326
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 26 27 28 29 30 ... 45 next>>