The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 942 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location It was our 25th wedding anniversary and Jessica (front desk) upgraded us to a larger corner room which was greatly appreciated and made a huge positive difference in enjoyment of our length of stay. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recently refurbed room, great room! Very spacious, very comfortable but of course, very expensive. Room phone quit working after one day and could not be fixed until after we left (four nights later). March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by mini vacation!! We love heading over to SF from the east bay and being pampered for the weekend. Two nights at the St. Francis felt like we were on a relaxing vacation. The employees all make us feel like old friends. We would never stay anywhere else when we get away to the city. We stay at the Westin St. Francis many times each year and we always receive fabulous service. February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic Hotel in Heart of San Fran I stayed in the Tower Building in an executive suite. I used 2 Starwood Suite Night Awards to ensure I would have a suite with a view of the bay for the 4th of July fireworks. The room was on the 23rd floor and did indeed have an amazing view of the city and bay. The rooms had huge bay windows that offered spectacular views from all sides. The room had a bedroom and living room connected by a door. The rooms were dated looking and in need of refurbishment. There was faded wall paper, scuffed base-boards and tired looking furnishings. The bathrooms were large and had a combine bathtub/shower surrounded by marble tile. It was nice that the suite had two bathrooms. In the living room, there was a desk, chaise lounge chair, and a pull down murphy bed. Both rooms had large screen TVs. The rooms were good sized, but really needed to be updated and modernized with furnishings and decor. My check-in experience as not smooth. I arrived after a long day of flight delays and at 8:30pm PST was ready for a quick dinner and some sleep. Upon checking in, I learned that the bedroom portion of my room was not ready I decided to store my bags and grab some dinner at Chef Michael Mina’s Bourbon Steakhouse - which was delish! After I ate, I made my way back to check-in and found that my room was ready. Upon arriving in my room, I had a message from the front desk manager apologizing for the delay and indicating that there was some mix-up and the room had actually been ready all along. In any case, I was just happy to be in the room. Setting aside the unpleasant check-in experience- because those things happen, I am undecided as to if I would stay at the hotel again. While the location is great – I spent the day walking around Union Square and shopping – the hotel rooms are old and dated and in the end, I prefer a more modern and contemporary hotel. And there are so many SPG choices in San Fran. One thing that would draw me back would be Bourbon Steakhouse! July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yikes... This is not a nice property. I am amazed by the good reviews. The room I have been put in this evening is shabby, worn, and unkempt. This is a deluxe room in the tower on an upper floor. There is scuffed up wallpaper, substandard patching and painting in the bathroom, and not one piece of furniture is in good shape. Everything is scuffed up and does not feel quality. As a Platinum member I do expect more. I am disappointed. If this was the best room available at check in, and am afraid for what those without any status at all are getting. I ordered a steak from room service- it was overcooked and the room service attendant was surly and seemed put off that he had to deliver my order. If I did not just fly in on a very long flight I would leave this room (or this property completely.) Starwood: this is not a good representation of your brand. March 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not stay at this hotel The room was so outdated. It's so tiny that a king sized bed takes up most of the space. The carpet is worn out, the arm chair is so old and dirty, the bathroom is just a little bigger than a walk-in closet. I would not pay such a high price for a motel quality room again ever. March 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed! * Upon check-in, we had to wait in line for 20 ~ minutes to be serviced. * The room was small, especially the bathroom * The walls are paper thin so I heard a lot of noise in my room (moving furniture, vacuum, etc) even that was several doors from my room. * The shower had no water pressure and took forever to get warm water * the elevator close to my room was not working for two days. * The smell of old carpet and drapes. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden extras spoiled my experience Whilst I accept a "bond" is authorised against the credit card: * I think $100 per night is extreme, * I was very annoyed that I received no prior warning that $100 per night would be authorised. For 6 nights, this was over $600 (for which I received no prior warning) and which maxed out my credit card for the remainder of the trip. On my first night, I made 3 brief phone calls to Australia to let family know I had arrived. These phone calls totalled only several minutes, yet I was billed over $100! I realise hotel phone calls are charged at a premium, but these charges were obscene. May 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel needs many Upgrades Low lights of my recent stay in the Traditional Section of the hotel at a special rate of $299 per night include: - 5 minutes (timed) for hot water in the shower and close to 10 minutes in the hand basin - carpeting stained and in need to replacement - In room Wi-Fi Premium download ($16.95 per day) so slow that it was unusable - no restaurants that have breakfast service Highlights: - Porters were highly effective and friendly that's it. February 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by St Francis Old Wing The Original wing of the ST Francis needs to be updated, I was disappointed with the rooms but really like the Hotel. March 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was little disappointed I have stayed at this hotel in the past and was very pleased. However, the last stay was little disappointing. The room did not have good sound insulation and I could hear other doors closing with big bang till very late in the night. I could also hear bathroom usage noise from other guests too. February 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement This review is based on a stay in a room in the old section of the Westin. Colleagues who stayed in the tower were happier with their experience. But as noted below, there were problems apart from room quality. Room: My double was surprisingly small and dark, with a view into the windows of other rooms in the old section of the hotel. Furnishings were dated (with the exception of the brand new flat screen TV). The bathroom was small and dark with outmoded tub fixtures. Carpet was worn in high traffic areas. No stationary of any sort in room. Good news -- room was equipped with a safe, ironing board, coffee maker, bathrobe and free internet that worked. To be clear, the rooms were not unlivable, but were also not up to par. Advice: Ask for a room in the tower wing. Or find another hotel. Location and Conference Facilities: The hotel was in an ideal location on Union Square. Three blocks from BART. My conference sessions were held on floor 32 of the Westin tower with spectacular views. As a speaker, I really had to work hard to keep the attention of the audience. Eyes kept gazing out the windows. Not the fault of the hotel! Bad news: The “smart” elevators malfunctioned. I was in an elevator that stopped at floor 11 and then refused to go up or down. Others went to floor 32 but the doors did not open. Participants rode back to the lobby and tried again. We had to delay the start of two sessions because of elevator problems. Advice: Bring a book to read in case your elevator refuses to open or leaves you on the wrong floor. Perhaps something on optimization and control theory. Or on quality control. Kafka might be best. Advice: Or enjoy the view from the glassed in elevators if you are stuck. Restaurants and bars: Overpriced and mediocre. Not highway robbery – just usual convention hotel prices. Not terrible quality. Edible but very ordinary. The service was surprisingly bad. For example, in the bar off the lobby, the server took my order but did not bring the drink for about 30 minutes. After being flagged, the server brought the drink 10 minutes later. Not acceptable. Advice: Get out of the hotel and enjoy San Francisco. There are plenty of good dining options near the hotel. Consider the trendy Blue Stem Brasserie on Yorba Linda just off Market between 3rd and 4th – inventive appetizers and entrees at a moderately high price point. Or Katana-Ya – an inexpensive hole in the wall Japanese restaurant with pretty good ramen, udon and soba one block west of the hotel on Geary. Front desk, housekeeping and AV staff: Front desk was efficient and courteous. Housekeeping was doing the best that they could with rooms in need of refurbishing. AV staff balanced sound from platform microphones, floor microphones, and remote participants. No complaints. Bottom Line: This hotel was many levels below the other Westin properties that I know. From room quality to elevator roulette to food quality and bar service. Pretty bad across the board. March 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever. Horrible. Got to the hotel at 6.30pm, with the check in opened for my suite from 4pm. I was simply told that the room was not ready, but that they were cleaning it. "Why don't you hang around in the lobby and we're going to give you a... soda or something... " I told them to send it to my room once it was ready. Never happened. Got into the room to find a badly stained couch with a knife puncture in one of the pillows. My kid started to crawl on the floor, only to find pistachios, wine corks and beer caps under the furniture. Told them to send me a manager, he never made it up. They send 2 cleaning folks that asked what should they do about the couch... then they said they can't do anything about the stains... The last one showed up at 12.30 am with a vacuum cleaner! I simply sent him away as my kid and my wife were sleeping. 520 USD a night and I get this shoved down my throat. The attitude at front desk was horrible! The lady threw her hands on the sides when I mentioned I wanted to see a manager. She simply said "OF COURSE! DROP BY ANYTIME!". I got nothing but contempt and general lack of any trace of common sense. The cleaning manager shows in my room on the second day. He looks at me point blank and tells me "what can I do to make you happy". I said "please clean the room" and he replies "oh, that's obvious". No buddy, it's not given the condition I found the room in. I asked him to take away the couch, because he couldn't do anything about the stains and general poor condition of the furniture, which they did while we were out in town. Please stay away. January 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, almost great Good hotel, has a nice feel to it. Staff courteous and *everywhere*. Bed was amazing. Shower had low water pressure but was clean. Wifi was horrible - inconsistent and slow. March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice location but worst hotel experience I was there for the new year's eve attending also the big party that happens in the hotel. 1) When I walked in to the room, there were party favors in the floor - the room had not been properly cleaned 2) At 7 o'clock in the morning there were extreme noise from the room next to mine were some drunk people were fighting. I called the frontend to complain but nothing ever happened. Nobody came upstairs from the hotel staff... 3) Early at the new year eve night, the hotel staff were very rude. I asked them to show me directions and they would tell me that the right ways to go to the reception is to leave outside the door and walk in the street. January 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good view and locations generally it is a hotel with nice view and good location. The staff are helpful and good. But the cleaning lady is always making mistake. When we ask for cleaning, she forget to refill in the bathroom. the days we ask not to clean, she come in again and again. this is annoying. The telephone call is extremely expensive. I called three times short to LA, California and one times to NY. It totally charged me 130 dollers. But in the room phone, I did not see a clean explanation about the rate for calling (only said 110%, that it is..). I found the fee is ridiculously high. And I did not get a good explanation from the check out staff member. April 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, on the outside, but the rooms are sorely lacking Coffee pot was not cleaned from previous guest. Remote control stopped working right after ordering pay per view movie. Couldnt stop or pause flick when food was delivered. In room meal was terrible. Can accept hot foods being lukewarm when ordering in but inedible food is unacceptable. Biggest complaint for my stay - the drapes would not stay closed. Kept popping open sbout 6 inches. Doesnt sound like much of a gap but try sleeping with the lights of the night streaming in and the SUN first thing in the AM. Do yourself a favor if you stay in this hotel. Bring clothespins for the drapes and don't order room service unless its a salad. May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, tiny rooms This hotel is in a great location in the middle of the downtown shopping area of San Francisco. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and out. There is a nice gym and good restaurants/bars. Unfortunately, the rooms are very disappointing. The room was barely bigger than the queen bed it held. The bathroom was large but a little old looking. The acoustics are also terrible. Not to get gross, but from the bed you can hear everything that's going on in the bathroom, I mean everything. I understand it's a hotel in an expensive city, but for what a night costs, I expect a little more comfort. I will stay somewhere else next time I'm in SF. November 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by location I do recommend the new building with nice room and good view over looking the union SQ.high level of security March 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average experience; would stay again if necessary I try to stay at Starwood properties every week, and this was my second stay at the Westin St. Francis this year. My last visit was not the most favorable experience, and this was an improvement. At the end of the day, though, I’d recommend looking into other hotels in the area. There are many to choose from that fall in the same category and similiar price point. From the time I dropped my luggage off in the morning to check-in time late in the evening, the staff was very friendly. I also ordered room service one night, and that was very good. My one big complaint/concern about this hotel is the overall cleanliness. Similar to the last time I stayed here, the ceiling vent was covered with large dust bunnies. For those with dust allergies, that can be a problem. The last time I stayed, they did a deep clean of the vent. I asked the receptionist at the front desk if she could have someone take a look at that, and I returned to the room that evening with the vent still covered. The next day, I asked again, but nothing was done. When you leave your hotel at 6am and return around 10pm, you don’t really have time to follow-up on your requests or to pack up and relocate to a different room, so I just stopped asking and stayed in the room. I did have allergy problems, and it was a little frustrating that nothing was done. Overall, my stay was decent and the staff was generally very friendly; it was just a little disappointing that there was no follow-up to any of the requests, and also a little disconcerting that the room cleanliness isn’t the greatest. December 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SgS The carpet was coming losse from the floor near the bathroom door the paint was peeling from the ceiling. The room and hallway smelled like an old hotel, not a fresh smell by any means. The lobby bar service was poor at best, and the prices did not reflect the service at all. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St. Francis is the best place to stay when in SF! Location was great - right in front of the Union Square; very accessible to all types of transportation: Cable cars, MUNI busses, and BART; safe to walk around even at night. Service was excellent. Housekeeping made sure bed sheets were clean and crisp, towels were fresh and nicely stacked, and room was organized. Staff members from Check-in, Concierge, and Valet were very courteous and friendly, and provided invaluable Tips about SF. The Fitness Center, available 24 hours was very convenient, it allowed me and my family to unwind even late at night. One thing missing though is a swimming pool; it would have been perfect. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply a Great Hotel The St. Francis is fantastic. Having stayed there dozens of times over the years, and a half dozen or more times in 2011, this is one of my favorite properties. The staff is always extremely helpful and accommodating. Tremendous location with easy access to everything. The lobby bars and steakhouse are top shelf. I look forward to many returns to this SF landmark. December 6, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be better maintained The hallways looked like they were not cleaned everyday. Litter and debris remained in same spot in hallway for greater than 24-48 hours. January 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Small, Outdated, & Dirty I would NOT recommend!! From the $58.00 per NIGHT parking, small, & dirty room, this hotel doesn't ive up to expectations. The tile grout in the bathroom is gross and housekeeping had clearly not cleaned the wet bar area or vacuumed as there were bobby pins and dirt on the floor. GROSS. Not worth the money at all. I feel ripped off! April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memories Had spent time over 20 years ago in the St. Francis with my wife and four very young daughters. We decided to see if our fun back then could be replicated. This time daughters, boyfriends, and us old folk were accommodated with a cluster of rooms for 4 days thru Christmas. It was a blast, and much of the wonderful experience was created by the St. Francis staff taking the time to make it that way. No small task with the frenetic pressures from scads of people like us looking for this same memorable occasion. A+ experience! JPC December 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at this hotel about 10 times and usually love it. This time however was horrible. My room was tiny and dirty, the chair had holes in the fabric, the TV had a big white scratch on the screen. I ordered a snack using my points and they said they would credit my bill and deduct it from my points. I got my final bill yesterday where they charged me $20 for the chocolate chip cookie so I thought I was using rewards points but they never credited me for it. I was there 2 nights and room service never came to our room. When I called to tell them they said sorry we will just bring you towels. I would expect stuff like this at a lower end hotel but not at a Westin. April 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst SPG hotel in the city. I have stayed in all the first rate SPG hotels in San Francisco. This is the worst. The elevators often are shut down. The parking is expensive. The rooms are small and worn out. There are hookers within 10 feet of the front door at all hours of the day. The level of service is generally poor. I did not feel safe. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Downtown SF Hotel in Union Square Awesome historic property near Union square, with great restaurants, shopping and downtown access. Got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - thanks to my Ambassador, good SPG recognition and excellent staff, highly recommended. September 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Unlocked and Propped Door Open The historic room was fantastic, bigger than most beach houses we have rented. We had a great view, beds were comfortable, room was clean. There was a giant hose and traffic cones running down the hall. When we arrived back to the room at 11pm, there was a note under the door that said maintenance would be coming at 8:00 am to do something to the bathtub. We had a 2pm check out and called down to the front desk to request that they not repair the bathroom during our stay. No problem said the front desk, put the do not disturb sign on your door and no one will enter your room. We left the room to continue our Christmas shopping and get some lunch. Our belongings and our Christmas presents were in our room. We came back and the door was unlocked and propped open as were several others on the floor. Someone could have walked in and taken everything. Not cool. The staff that we interacted with were wonderful, the one that unlocked our room and left it open, not so much. We were in room 532 on the 23rd. November 27, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>