The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1288 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic elegance with high tech touches Excellent service form the front desk and the concierge. The renovated rooms in the tower are large and beautiful. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel is located at Union Square, We were able to walk to shopping and dining, and all the main tourist sites are only blocks away. The Cable Car runs directly in front of the hotel. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff was first class. We stayed in the tower on the 22nd floor and had a great view. The room was luxurious, spacious, and very comfortable. We will definitely stay there again. November 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not great I checked in on a Monday, second stay this year, another pending next month. I was slated for a substandard room on 8th floor, eventually got a very average room on 28 w/ no king bed. Front desk was not helpful, had to ask for Platinum amenity and got push back when I requested late checkout. Was told hotel full which doesn't make sense given low rate I paid; just didn't hVe it in me to fight it out. Not great for Platinum service. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room in the Old Building Love the Old Building. Large room overlooking Union Square. Everything good in the room (could use a sofa), at an excellent price. St. Francis = San Francisco! November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Facility, Staff & Location My wife was to celebrate an important birthday and her first choice was the Westin St. Francis. She could have selected any hotel in the country, but she and I love the entire vibe of this facility. We were returning guests so we knew what to expect, and we're stayed in many other upscale hotels in San Francisco over the years. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Location Located right in Union Square - accessible to everything. A beautiful hotel and a comfortable place to stay. November 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked through American College of Surgeons recommended Travel Planners of NYC paying the highest (top tier) price for a deluxe room. On my arrival, I was given a basic double bed room with regular sqarefootage so to speak , although I clearly requested a king bed. After quite a bit of 'discussion' with evening manager, we were moved to a king bed room the next day to a lower floor to a room with several problems in the bathroom. This was not definitely a deluxe room or a higher floor as I requested & paid for. Very disappointing. I will be writing to the College & the Travel Planners as well November 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience I just recently stayed at the Westin St. Francis. Upon arrival we were quite impressed with the lobby and the attentiveness of Ms. Alvarez. Unfortunately it was all downhill from that point on. The desk attendant was very pleasant but was not informative at all, nor did anyone ask us if we would like any help with our luggage. We were sent basically on our own to find our room. The room was awful. It was very small and smelled extremely MUSTY !! We were offered another room that wasn’t much better and the guest on the floor were extremely noisy. The air conditioning unit was very loud, and the water pressure was lousy. At one point Security had to be called because of all the yelling and door slamming that was going on at 3:00 am. We were charged 76.00 for the snack bar, which wasn’t used. No one told us that it was based on a sensor so that if you even opened the door and looked at something you were automatically charged. I called and spoke to Fly and he was willing to adjust the charges but was extremely rude. I did not expect this kind of treatment at those prices. They need to update their rooms and clean them up.!! November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Hotel with great service I truly enjoyed my stay. We took a few minutes to check in but after that my whole stay was smooth and definitely will be going back. Adam at the front desk checked us in and he gave us an exceptional service and great attitude and 1pm check out with out having to ask which was lovely.He showed us were all the restaurants were in the property and gave me my 50% discount card for coming from another property. My room was spotless. I loved our view from the 30th floor that Adam gave us as an upgrade in the tower building. Definitely will be going back for another mini getaway. I will definitely recommend The Westin St.Francis to family and friends. November 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by THE BATH I was at this hotel from october 24-30. The location is exceptional, and of course the building is a piece of history in San Francisco. But the room is average with any other hotel at the same or even lowest category. But especially the bath is really bad. The toilet is old and with marks that show that. If you want to take a shower you must be prepared to feel cold and hot water in seconds, the water temperature change every few seconds, and when you think that is right change again. Other think that i feel that you can do is give to your guest free wifi in the rooms 15 USD per day is so much. Thanks October 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The old hotel leaves something to be desired We upgraded the day after arriving, but the old hotel, as opposed to the Tower, had a very small bathroom, very low sink, and very little counter space. The bed was a bit too large for the room. The front desk had told us that it was a lovely room and we would be pleased. This did not ring true when we saw the room. The following day we changed to the Tower, which is absolutely lovely. We were delighted with that room, and the management changed us without any problems whatsoever. October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always the best Whenever in the city.. this is our place! We go to the theatre matinees and they always have an early check-in for us with a great view. The associates are always so friendly and accommodating. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is very accommodating Hotel is in a great location , staff is extremely accommodating , Rooms are clean and comfortable October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 The Westin St. Francis Offers Guests a Mixed Bag of "Treats" I reccomend this hotel with EXTREME CAVEATS. I've been a guest of this hotel a handful of times of the years and it's always been a mixed bag. I've hosted a couple of large corporate events and those have always gone off without a hitch. This review refers to a specific stay I had in July of 2014 and is demonstrative of the mixed bag of treats I referred to in the review title. I arrived at the Westin St. Francis in the mid afternoon after requesting an early check-in. I stood in the line for Starwood Preferred Guests and was greeted by an unbelievably haughty agent who took a full 15 minutes to get me checked in. At no point did my SPG status get mentioned. Once I received my keys one of the bellman, Chris (a darling and gem of a man), assisted me with my bags. He guided me up to my room through a maze of dirty and dingy hallways (actual LARGE dust bunnies on the floors) to a room that looked like it was straight out of a horror film. Besides the stench of staleness the bathroom looked like it hadn't been touched in over a decade, the window overlooked a maze of pipes and the lighting in the room was abysmal. Upon seeing my disappointed face and enduring my marathon sneezing the bellman called down to the desk and requested (without me asking mind you, the way it SHOULD BE) that I be moved to a cleaner and larger room. We went back down to the lobby and were greeted by the surly desk agent who gave us keys to an 'upgraded room' and mentioned that I was 'lucky' he was in a good mood because the hotel was 'overbooked'. Once again the bellman, my cart of luggage and I made our way up the maze of dusty hallways (I photographed them the second time) to yet another dusty and stale scented room. Upon arrival I once again started sneezing because of the smells and dust and Chris the bellman took matters into his own hands calling the Guest Experience Manager. By the time we came downstairs for the second time my nerves were fraught (I was exhausted from my overnight and delayed travel and my allergies being flared up because of the dust and smells) and my watery eyes made me look as if I had been crying. The Guest Experience Manager began by offering me a giant bottle of water, some chocolate and a sincere apology. She looked up my reservation (booked on points) and noticed my SPG Status and was immediately profuse in her apologies. Within seconds she had me moved to another room in the newer tower of the hotel. What a difference, the third room was! It was what I have come to expect from Westin -- CLEAN. The hallways in the newer tower had clearly been cleaned and vacuumed in the last decade. This room did have its quirks, the shower didn't work (maintenance had to come up and make a quick fix) and two of the bathroom light fixtures were without bulbs and one was suspended from the ceiling like it had been yanked out. The Guest Experience Manager sent up a fruit and cheese plate along with some bottled water and did follow up with me twice during my stay. To date (three months later) I still haven't received the follow up from the general manager that was promised to me regarding the stay. For me the bottom line was: 1. The Front Desk agents proved over and over again that them doing their jobs were a 'favour' to the guest. Do not expect to have your SPG status recognised of have your benefits extended to you without asking. (This has happened all three times in recent memory I've stayed at this property on my own or with my boyfriend.) 2. Do not stay in the 'historic' part of the hotel unless you come with a gas mask and low expectations of the overpriced rooms (I was on points and downright pissed that they were being wasted on such dismal rooms) 3. The bellmen (all of them that I encountered) were top notch. They were warm, efficient and went above and beyond the call of duty to be of service to me. The bellman I mentioned earlier even came by my room personally the next day to check on me and bring me bottled water. 4. The Guest Experience manager was wonderful and were it not for her warmth, efficiency and follow up I would have rated the hotel with a single star and probably done more than write this candid review. 5. Don't expect apologies, decent service or follow up from desk agents or front desk management unless you are distressed to tears. And even then the 'follow up from the general manager' isn't going to happen. 6. If you're coming here and having someone else pay (corporate travel) for your room, fine. If you're having to pay for the room yourself or use points they are better used elsewhere where you feel valued as a guest and your guest experience will be guaranteed without tears (of frustration or as a result of dust) or an intrepid bellman with a sense of service, honour and integrity (and frankly a hint of embarrassment on behalf of the surly front desk staff). Three months later I want my points back for this stay and wish the general manager would have followed up in a timely manner for the experience I had. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Lovely hotel, great service all round. Staff were very helpful at all times. Great location to everything. October 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location, but Overall Stay Could Have Been Better To be completely upfront, my stay was not the best. However, I would stay at this hotel again if in the area. The issues I dealt with were unfortunate, but I do not think they were representative of the hotel's standards. I was in town for the Nike Women's Half Marathon to support a family member that was running in the race. The location couldn't have been better as the race began right across the street and the room said online that it was recently renovated. I was a little disappointed with my accommodations upon check in as I was given a room on the 4th floor that had a patio with a couple of chairs surrounded by a concrete wall. The rest of my family, that paid the same amount as I did and checked in right after me, was given a room on the 21st floor with beautiful views of the San Francisco skyline. I went downstairs to the front desk to ask if I could be moved to a different room, but was told that they didn't have any other rooms available to change me too, so I was stuck in the room with a concrete wall. What really disappointed me though was that around 9:00 at night I came back to my room, and when I got off of the elevator on my floor the hallway reeked of puke. Later that night as I was trying to fall asleep the guests staying in the room over checked in and you could hear their entire conversation through the adjoining room door (they weren't yelling), which was a little weird and made me feel like they could hear my every move or word. I woke up the next morning and the hallway still reeked of puke. I was gone the until after lunch watching the race and when I checked out the smell was still so strong that I was gagging as I waited for the elevator. I told the front desk about the problem upon checkout and that it hadn't been dealt with for almost an entire day, but you would think that some of the staff/housekeeping would have reported or dealt with the issue during that time-span. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Excellent Loved my stay here for a business convention- perfect location- loved hearing the trolley go by! The staff was amazing and super helpful... while I did enjoy the rock concert put on by the street performers every night- if you are wanting a peaceful EARLY night's sleep may want to have an interior room! October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over hyped hotel I booked this hotel just because it is the only hotel which is right on the union square. All other hotels are one or two blocks/streets inside. I read reviews and based on the feedback, booked tower room which was 25% more expensive. Moreover confirmed from the hotel that my room will have a view of the union square. It was a bad decision, as first of all only rooms which are categorized as grand-view rooms, have view. All others don't. And then pretty much it becomes same as any other hotel in the area! Moreover front desk guy at the check-in (at SPG platinum/gold desk) was too intimidating and arrogant. I reached an hour before check-in time (I specified early check-in in the reservation), and he made me feel as if I have done a big crime. I had to wait past check-in time, remind the front desk again that it has crossed check-in time, and then I was given a room on a lower floor (even though I paid a higher rate for higher floor rooms)! And the reason given was the hotel was sold out. I enter the room, and there was smoking smell. I called up operator and asked to speak to manager explaining the situation, and she promptly moved me to a room on higher floor with slightly better view. So front desk staff at check-in intentionally didn't want to give me a room for which I paid! I was appalled by this experience, probably worst of all my starwood hotel experience so far. Anyways, after this I didn't face any problem, and since my check-out was on Sunday, they didn't charge me for late check-out (Westin weekend) which was good. I would advise that right being on the union square doesn't add too much value. There are other SPG properties in this area, which are cheaper, and have better rating. October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic The St. Francis is a classic and I always stay there when in SF. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Highly overrated. This hotel, while elegant, and well located, was the most unsatisfactory stay I have had in all my travels. The un-renovated rooms were loud, musty, and outdated. However the newly renovated rooms were at best par for the area; area, not price...the 379 per night is an outrageous price for the lack of class, and luxury that is to be expected from a Westin property. I will not be staying at this SPG property again. October 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement I stayed previously at this property and had no problems. My most recent stay was a disaster. The hotel appeared dingy. The room was dirty. There were used coffee stirrers buried in furniture. There was a used left in syringe in the room. The hotel seemed understaffed. On the bright side, the food was excellent. However, it took a very long time for staff to remove dirty dishes and dishes were all over the hallway on Saturday morning. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Hotel The Westin St Francis is a timeless gem, in a fantastic location. Close to fabulous restaurants, theaters, and shopping. The hotel staff is first rate and the rooms are wonderful. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this was a beautiful hotel in a great location We enjoyed our stay here very much. The view from our room was very pretty. The hotel was also located in a great spot to walk to many area's . September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Fabulous The hotel is fabulous. Starting with the doorman to the Hotel staff and hotel management. Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I would recommend it to everyone. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bourbon Steak Wonderful dinner and excellent service.Would highly recommend! September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location! Great Hotel Everything about this jhotel was outstanding. Best location. Great service. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Dear Mr. Kimball, Our stay at St. Francis was perfect. The location suited our needs well. Our rooms were very comfortable especially the king size bed. The bed linens were much better quality than our stay in another local hotel. The large rooms and bath were very much appreciated after our cruise where staterooms and bathrooms are so small. We really loved all the space. We were especially surprised at our welcome since the lobby and check-in area was so busy. A personal welcome by Marichu Alvarez was appreciated. She answered our questions and was very attentive, letting us know she would be available to us if we needed anything. Her smile and manner made us feel very much at home. Ms. Alvarez also offered us water and chocolates as we were waiting in the lobby for our shuttle, and she even remembered our names. She is a tremendous asset to St. Francis. We also noticed that she exhibited a very professional look - absolutely impeccable. GIVE HER A RAISE! Please let Ms. Alvarez know that we appreciated the welcome we received and all her help to make our stay perfect. She is one reason that we will stay at St. Francis in the future. I don’t know the name of the young woman who checked us in, but she was also very professional. She obliged us by changing our room so that we could have a walk –in shower. She also is an excellent representative of St. Francis. Sincerely, Suzanne Senuta Hudson, Ohio September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory ambient and wifi in room The conference I attended was hosted in this hotel. Preferential rates of 298 USD were given to attendees. I was assigned a room with handicap access and I did not need that. I had to stay by the room door since wifi was not good enough and I couldn't connect from my bed. There is no enough light in the rooms and in the hallways. This hotel needs RENOVATION badly. The housekeeping people is ANNOYING, they only want a tip so very DISTURBING! September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by They made me feel really special This is my favorite spot to stay in the city. It is right on Union Square, and it he rooms are remarkably quiet. The staff is attentive and this year, on my birthday, I asked for help getting a cab. They set me up with the hotel driver instead and I arrived to my dinner in style. September 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. Francis Sept. 14 St. Francis ia a gorgeous hotel in the middle of San Francisco and I have stayed there many times over the last 20 years. However, things have changed. The only problem with this stay was the staff. The staff just doesn't live up to a caring responsive typical Westin. When I checked in, the front desk staff was less than helpful. The big problem is that the hotel is highly in demand and always fully booked and therefore not as motivated to please! I am not sure if this is good value! September 13, 2014
  • 2015-04-17T19:17:00.674-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1288, tr_1288
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 44 next>>