The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1340 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs major improvement The hotel needs major improvement. The room upon check in wasn't cleaned properly. Staff is not helpful. March 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tiny room, at best I have stayed in hundreds and hundreds of hotel rooms, and this one was probably the worst one I have ever stayed in. The room was so small and dark that it was claustrophobic. I am not a large person (5'8', 175 pounds), but I had to shower sideways, and eht bathroom was too small to dry off in. I know that the hotel was crowded, but, as a loyal, and long-time SPG client, this room was horrible. And, when I complained about the room, the response was basically "too bad," and no one called me to apologize or anything else. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience The facilities were great. Had lunch in the Oak Room, the food was delicious and the staff was courteous and met all my needs. Also visited the bar. Great service and drinks were mixed to perfection. Had gala dinner on the 35th floor. The view was great and the food and service was excellent. March 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay somewhere else I am a loyal SPG customer and this Westin fails to live up to the expectations set by other Starwood hotels. I have stayed here dozens of times and there are ALWAYS issues. I've listed them out: 1. Areas of the hotel (even if you're on the 30th floor) face union square so it tends to be loud. That's ok, but literally every night on one corner a band plays with an amp until 10 PM. You can't talk on the phone, or sleep or do anything because it is so loud. This goes way beyond the hustle and bustle of a busy city, it is like bein at a concert of awful music. 2. The maid service is POOR. They do not clean the rooms well, they often ignore your wishes of "Green Choice" and worst of all they will remove towels, robes , glasses that were used from your room and not replace them. They also fail to refill the toiletries. It happens every. single. time I come. I have complained about this before and it does not get fixed. 3. There are no plugs near the bed except for one behind the bed. How are you supposed to charge your phone or your computer? It is 2013, it's time to put some plugs in your rooms! 4. The staff isn't helpful. I had a colleague of mine check in to a dirty room and they wanted her to just wait while the maid cleaned it! Give her a new room and some points for her troubles! Additonally, the concierge once told me, when asked about things to do in the city, "just walk around". Like, that is a no brainer. At the end of the day, there are like 5 other SPG properties in the immediate vicinity, all of which have better service than this hotel. The ONLY plus is the location is near a lot of shopping and restaurants, but the rest of the hotels are a 5 minute extra walk, so it's not really worth it. March 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent! Excellent location, Westin is a piece of history, very helpful staff with a big smile. Be back soon! March 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Review The room was larger than most rooms with high ceilings. The bathroom was very small and awkward. I could not stand at the sink without bumping into the shower. Definitely not worth the amount of money I paid for the room. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible wedding venue! We had our wedding at the Westin St. Francis and had an incredibly successful event. The rooms were great, especially the view and elevator experience from the 32nd floor. The food exceeded our expectations and was delicious. Our guests had an amazing time and were constantly complimenting us on our choice of venue. Most importantly, the Westin's wedding manager Lauren Schardt is incredible. She helped us with hundreds of details and our wedding was so much more successful because of her help with vendors, planning, design, timing, etc. The rest of the Westin team including Bill, Jennifer and Julie were also great to work with. We were totally thrilled with our choice of the Westin as our wedding venue. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay The Westin St. Francis has always been nice, it has now become awesome. I booked two rooms and had a request for a certain floor, they were happy to oblige me. The front desk clerk was so kind and accommodating. The room service was incredibly quick with no compromise of the food. Both mornings it arrived within 15 minutes. The spa services were fantastic. The change made to the elevator banks is really nice, now only guests may use them. They also are coordinated so that one arrives at their floor without stops. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value Great Location. The staff did everything to make my stay comfortable. Good service and food. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, tough to get sleep. Beautiful, convenient location. Nice rooms. Very tough to get any sleep. Too noises. Next door guest was up at 4 on the phone. There was a fire alarm at 1:30 am pulled evidently by a guest. The next night there was a crying infant. Tough hotel to stay in for business. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than what I was expecting For me, the location is too touristy, but if that's what you're looking for - then it's great. Be aware that just a few blocks over is the tenderloin neighborhood, not a place to go late at night, at least on foot. The room was only ok. No free water bottles here as I've had elsewhere and I'm a Starwood Preferred guest. The tub did not drain so we took our showers standing in water. Ick. Other than that, the room was nice and the beds great. The food prices are very high and there really isn't much special about this property. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK place in good location Am a big Westin fan, but this one didn't wow me at all...our room was like a dark dungeon on the 7th floor in a corner next to a utility room. We were jolted from our sleep the first night from loud banging noise from pipes. Room was dark, toilet and shower were funky. Did not have coffee cups for the maker either. We changed rooms next day, same type--dark but better bathroom and no noise. Beds are very comfy! Also, we were charged for snack center in error. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel gave another guest keys to our room We expected a higher level of customer service at the St. Francis - one of SPG's finer hotels. As a platinum member, our room was not ready until late afternoon and then another guest entered our room as we were leaving for dinner. No apology from bell man, front desk argued that WE were in the wrong room. My wife and son were anxious that another guest would enter the room. Poor follow through by manager and staff. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Challenges The television in the room lost it's signal on most all cable channels and would go out and back in (but mostly out). The latch on the door was broken. Housekeeping didn't clean our room until after 5 p.m. then got irritated with us that we wanted to stay in our room for 45 minutes to get ready for our evening. The fire alarm went off at 1:00 a.m. disturbing our sleep. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always pleasant I am choosing to stay in this hotel for 9 years, when in SF. I love the new idea with room key access to the elevators: this keeps away most of loud walk-ins, who used to be boarding the elevators previously to take the pictures during the ride. Rooms are spacious and airy, they have everything you need (plus the relaxed feeling I choose this hotel for). Minibar and breakfast are overpriced, but just a step outside of the hotel you have many alternatives for the better price. On the negative side, "SPG Gold & Platinum" line at front desk is not taken care of in the right way. Tip: take a normal line, it goes much faster. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here. Horrible stay. Booked for 5 nights, left after 1. March 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing SPG Property I've stayed here twice, once in the new tower, and once in the old tower. This is based on my latest stay--unfortunately in the old tower-- and the disappointing experience that came with it. Although I had booked months in advance for a December Holiday / Romantic stay--and I have SPG loyalty--I was disappointed to check-in to a room that was in desperate need of love. Yes, it was small and had a brick wall for a view, but that's not their fault and worthy of criticism. Instead, it's the lack of attention of this room that made it so unenjoyable: smokey, scuffed up walls, pooling bathtub, old/frayed sheets, and the hallway corridor still had roomservice items that weren't picked up. What's worse is that on our way out to dinner, I let the front desk know that although I totally appreciated that they were near capacity and full (it is December and close to the holidays), that I was a little disappointed with the room. That comment was left ignored by the property, and, when I provided the same candid feedback via online survey (after they asked me to do so!) the property still continued to ignore the feedback. Yes, the location is convenient, and the lobby does a nice job with holiday decorations, but if you have no guarantee that as an SPG valued member you'll be put in the new tower, or that the property management even cares about your experience, it's not worth staying here. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Check-in Experience; Old, Tired Rooms! This hotel needs its old and dated rooms refurbished!! The room carpets are old & stained. The rooms need painting, and the interior updated. Great SF location, but terrible rooms!! March 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor Check-in But Overall Good Stay Overall, my experience at the Westin St. Francis was fine. However, the check-in experience was less than ideal. The front desk clerk was rude and questioned my status when I stood in the Starwood preferred line at check-in. She took a non Starwood guest before me and then didn't believe I had status. In fact, I have stayed over 400 nights at Starwood properties in the past 5 years. The check-in process was also extremely slow, a complaint I heard by fellow travelers. However, the staff at Carusso made up for it the next morning with their welcoming attitudes. It is amazing how check-in can make a very bad first impression. Further, as a Starwood Platinum member, I would expect free bottles of water in my room, which were not there. It would also be nice to have a lounge, which fewer and fewer Westin hotels seem to have. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by accounting is a problem I love the St. Francis, and our stay was no exception. However, we have been billed for "entertainment center" charges we did not incur, and the St. Francis does not make it easy to discuss that. I've left a voice mail, but not had a response. In general, St. Francis management does not make it easy for a guest to communicate with them. I realize that all hotels are not alike on this. But I appreciate a general manager who wants to know what ISN'T working in his/her hotel. As it stands, there is no way for a guest to communicate with St. Francis management at ANY level, except through voice mail. March 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Your Typical Westin Converted old hotel. Not up to typical Westin standards. Rooms are old, with desk facing away from TV. What's more disturbing is that staff is not responsive. Front desk was severely understaffed, and getting sevice on phone required long wait. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location Stayed here with my mom, sister and 2 kids. Location was perfect! So convenient to trolley, shopping, dining, bus tours. Our room was clean, spacious and quiet. Staff was courteous and very helpful even mailing a forgotten stuffed animal home! Would stay here again and again! March 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location of the Hotel I would only recommend this hotel for it location. House cleaning was bad..... Guests dirty dishes stayed in the hall way for LONG amount of time...... March 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location, but very noisy this trip due to construction on streets, starting at 2:30 AM. Service by staff varied, with some staff very helpful, while others were all but rude. For example, we stood waiting to speak with concierge for over 5 min while he was on a personal phone call. House keeping staff very friendly and did a great job. Despite some of the problems listed above, still recommend the St Francis. March 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Outside noise Hotel was very nice inside and out with a very helpful staff. Two downsides however, half of the tv channels did not work and I was on the third floor and the noise coming from the street was extremely loud the entire night and morning. March 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Substandard Service Unfortunately, the service level of the hotel was well below the Westin standard. My check-in was delayed over two hours, the front desk erased my cell phone number to notify me when a room was available, and a person casting himself as a television maintenance worker (not in uniform) arrived at my door to "change my television cables" without order or request. The front desk was apprised, but nothing was done. March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Conference stay Great location, well trained staff, wonderful housekeeping. Rooms in old/historic wing are well kept but views are mostly of brick walls next door. Elevators are a major struggle, though signs indicate upgrades are coming. March 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience The hotel is old and is not in a good condition. A remark on the review form, you should allow people just to mark the hotel without adding a textual review. March 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The room was not clean Started of with some p-u-b-i-c hairs on the bed. Room has no slippers or robes. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay We love this hotel for many reasons, location to Union Square, history , ambiance and rooms. We keep saying we should experiment with other SPG hotels in the city but always happily end up at the St. Francis! This time we were upgraded to a front room on the 11th floor with a spectacular view. Can't wait to go back. March 17, 2013
  • 2015-10-10T06:21:33.502-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-32, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1340, tr_1340
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 30 31 32 33 34 ... 46 next>>