The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1227 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Fran excellent Great hotel, great location, excellent service as always. I highly recommend staying here in SF, but I do prefer the new bldg to the historic tower July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Just there for one night, but the experience was great. The location couldn't be better, right on Union Square. I had a little one with me who was tired and had a hurt arm and the check-in agent couldn't have been nicer - speaking with her kindly, assuring her that there was plenty of ice in the hotel for her hurt arm and surprising her with a stuffed animal. That put a huge smile on her face and she's been carrying it ever since (it's been 2 days now, non-stop). The gentleman who greeted me at the valet was great too (Alan?) - not rushing me as I got my bags and child together and being sure to let me know his name and to let him know if I needed anything. A nice touch. Bed is comfy and the elevators on the outside of the building are fun. June 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another outstanding Westin Excellent, professional staff - all met / exceeded expectations for my specific requests. A charming, historic hotel right in the center of beautiful San Francisco. August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service Experience Having a hospitality degree and back ground I know how staff are suppose to treat guests, and I am also sympathetic when things go wrong. However the staff at this hotel was nothing but rude, unhelpful, condescending and down right horrible when we had a bad experience with room service never showing up. At the very least the front desk staff should have offered to take the meals off the room or credit something back after 2 plus hours of dealing with this issue. I was pretty speechless at how rude and mean the front desk staff was. No matter what happened, or what the situation is you NEVER treat guests with disrespect or impoliteness and it was as though they had been trained to do so. The person I was traveling with had a very similar situation occur completely separately of this incident. We were both appalled. February 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ashtray Room The hotel is in a great location and for the most part staff is friendly. Our room was a non smoking room. However, our room had a strong tobacco smoke odor. We called the front desk and they stated they would report this up the chain. We weren't offered a new room. In retrospect we should have contacted the GM. Overall, the hotel has a great ambiance but fell short on the room odor. Our hope is that if we stay here again that we will not encounter this major flaw again. February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, on the outside, but the rooms are sorely lacking Coffee pot was not cleaned from previous guest. Remote control stopped working right after ordering pay per view movie. Couldnt stop or pause flick when food was delivered. In room meal was terrible. Can accept hot foods being lukewarm when ordering in but inedible food is unacceptable. Biggest complaint for my stay - the drapes would not stay closed. Kept popping open sbout 6 inches. Doesnt sound like much of a gap but try sleeping with the lights of the night streaming in and the SUN first thing in the AM. Do yourself a favor if you stay in this hotel. Bring clothespins for the drapes and don't order room service unless its a salad. May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, tiny rooms This hotel is in a great location in the middle of the downtown shopping area of San Francisco. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and out. There is a nice gym and good restaurants/bars. Unfortunately, the rooms are very disappointing. The room was barely bigger than the queen bed it held. The bathroom was large but a little old looking. The acoustics are also terrible. Not to get gross, but from the bed you can hear everything that's going on in the bathroom, I mean everything. I understand it's a hotel in an expensive city, but for what a night costs, I expect a little more comfort. I will stay somewhere else next time I'm in SF. November 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is Majestic. Thank you so much. I would recommend this hotel to anyone including "royalty". August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is the worst Westin in the country I am platinum level. Got to hotel. Waited in line 20 minutes. Had paid extra for a suite. When I went to my room, there was a wet paint sign on the door and all the bathroom fixtures were on the bed. Went downstairs to desk. Waited in line again. Associate named Lauren asked me if I was sure the fixtures were on the bed (really?). Then disappeared in back for 15 minutes. Came back and again asked if I was sure. Finally assigned new very small room. This hotel sux. February 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by House keeping was bad I checked in Westin St. Francis SFon 2/18 for 2 nights. I left room at 8:30am on 2/19, and didn't get back to my room until 6:30pm. The room was not cleaned nor touched at all. I called the housekeeping. First asked me if I hang the "no disturb" plaque which I didn't. I requested for immediately clean up. 10 minutes later, a staff called and told me the record showed my room was cleaned. I told her to come over and clean up immediately. A cleanning staff came about 15 minutes later and I went down to the lobby reported this incident to front desk "manager" and request for an explanation. The room was cleaned, but I've never heard anything back from anyone. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has the total package! Would highly recommend for future travel. Exceptional experience. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay Attended for business but the atmosphere made me feel like I was right at home. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by once is understandable, but 4 times? I love this hotel, great location. But my stay was marred by having to work around the staff. I have platinum status, but was charged twice for internet access and was told I would be charged for late checkout. These charges were dismissed after I pointed it out, but I had to catch them and have them removed. At the front desk I inquired about staying another night and the best rate they quoted was $150 higher than what I could book via the Internet, so I had to reserve and book the next night through an Internet site instead of the front desk. Very annoying and inattentive service diminished an otherwise good experience. August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St. Francis is the best place to stay when in SF! Location was great - right in front of the Union Square; very accessible to all types of transportation: Cable cars, MUNI busses, and BART; safe to walk around even at night. Service was excellent. Housekeeping made sure bed sheets were clean and crisp, towels were fresh and nicely stacked, and room was organized. Staff members from Check-in, Concierge, and Valet were very courteous and friendly, and provided invaluable Tips about SF. The Fitness Center, available 24 hours was very convenient, it allowed me and my family to unwind even late at night. One thing missing though is a swimming pool; it would have been perfect. June 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel - Need a SPG Club I liked the hotel and the location. I was disappointed that there was no SPG club. They did a good job taking care of us for breakfast however. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Usually a great hotel, disappointed this stay I usually love this hotel, but I had a few let downs this stay. First, at check in, I had remind the woman that I wanted to take points as my gold "gift". She didn't acknowledge my status, as they usually do. The room was fine - but when I got out of the shower and the bathroom was steamy, I noticed writing on the mirror - a message clearly from the previous guests (or maybe older) "I love you, hope your shower is great! Have a great day!" That to me means that no one washed the mirrors in between visits... which always leaves me to wonder what else went without washing. Before I left for the day, I requested extra towels be left in the room, as I had more people joining us - and that never happened. And finally, we had a room service dish that we left in our room overnight - it was empty. Instead of housekeeping removing it the next day, they just left it. So when we returned to our room that afternoon, it was still there - and gross. None of this would stop me from staying there again, because I usually have a great experience, but this time it was not the best. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply a Great Hotel The St. Francis is fantastic. Having stayed there dozens of times over the years, and a half dozen or more times in 2011, this is one of my favorite properties. The staff is always extremely helpful and accommodating. Tremendous location with easy access to everything. The lobby bars and steakhouse are top shelf. I look forward to many returns to this SF landmark. December 6, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by regrettable experience Expected better from a hotel of this history and reputation. On check-in, I regretted finding wet towels hanging in the bathroom, used soap in the soap dish, unemptied wastebasket, etc. April 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by locaton yes! but cleanliness and service no! After booking months in advance with email confirmation there was no record of our reservation when we arrived to check in! after waiting half an hour we were issued a room next to the elevator which was noisy! the room was dusty old and tired but well sized! we asked about breakfast and were told it was $30 per head only not the $10 we had read about! we accepted the green stay but were never left clean towel as we were told. Yes a grand old building in an amazing location but that alone is not enough to make a holiday! August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Small, Outdated, & Dirty I would NOT recommend!! From the $58.00 per NIGHT parking, small, & dirty room, this hotel doesn't ive up to expectations. The tile grout in the bathroom is gross and housekeeping had clearly not cleaned the wet bar area or vacuumed as there were bobby pins and dirt on the floor. GROSS. Not worth the money at all. I feel ripped off! April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at this hotel about 10 times and usually love it. This time however was horrible. My room was tiny and dirty, the chair had holes in the fabric, the TV had a big white scratch on the screen. I ordered a snack using my points and they said they would credit my bill and deduct it from my points. I got my final bill yesterday where they charged me $20 for the chocolate chip cookie so I thought I was using rewards points but they never credited me for it. I was there 2 nights and room service never came to our room. When I called to tell them they said sorry we will just bring you towels. I would expect stuff like this at a lower end hotel but not at a Westin. April 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst SPG hotel in the city. I have stayed in all the first rate SPG hotels in San Francisco. This is the worst. The elevators often are shut down. The parking is expensive. The rooms are small and worn out. There are hookers within 10 feet of the front door at all hours of the day. The level of service is generally poor. I did not feel safe. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by stellar room We arrived early for a special day (35th wedding anniversary) at same hotel as first night of marriage. The hotel provided a special room, sent complimentary champagne and was very accommodating. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic and comfortable A classic, friendly and very comfortable hotel. Very nice localization. August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great central city, especially for business, hotel The Westin St Francis is part of the old guard. Perfectly placed, it is central to the city, close to the Moscone Center and a standby for me for business. With the expansive tower, it is always filled with tourists who are buzzing and excited to be in the city. The jewel of the hotel is Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak restaurant located in the lobby. Super cuts, excellent and varied wine list with very helpful sommeliers, it is also excellent for one of the finest burgers served up at the bar after a busy day. August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Unlocked and Propped Door Open The historic room was fantastic, bigger than most beach houses we have rented. We had a great view, beds were comfortable, room was clean. There was a giant hose and traffic cones running down the hall. When we arrived back to the room at 11pm, there was a note under the door that said maintenance would be coming at 8:00 am to do something to the bathtub. We had a 2pm check out and called down to the front desk to request that they not repair the bathroom during our stay. No problem said the front desk, put the do not disturb sign on your door and no one will enter your room. We left the room to continue our Christmas shopping and get some lunch. Our belongings and our Christmas presents were in our room. We came back and the door was unlocked and propped open as were several others on the floor. Someone could have walked in and taken everything. Not cool. The staff that we interacted with were wonderful, the one that unlocked our room and left it open, not so much. We were in room 532 on the 23rd. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had to pay for wifi Hotel was very nice but I was surprised that they would charge for wifi. The last several hotels I stayed at offered it free and they were much less expensive (but still nice)! Why would you nickel and dime customers who are spending PLENTY on the room already?? Also, the safe was broken when we got there; the initial response was very fast, but we had to wait over an hour for someone to come replace the battery. Why?? Why was this broken when we got there in the first place? We could have been touring San Francisco all that time. Geez! July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay @ St. Francis We were told they would text us when our room was ready and this never happened. The next morning a maid came in at 8:10 am and awoke us and then we put the tag on the door and at 10:00 another employee, a male this time. asked "are you checking out now?" We had requested an early in, which we never got and then we felt really rushed well before the 12 pm check out. When Zack the assitant manager called he said he will tell housekeeping not to do this anymore. It's really sad as I grew up in the Bay Area and the St. Francis always had such a great reputation- they now appear to be like any other chain hotel. December 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Historic Hotel We stayed in the Landmark building with a perfect view of Union Square. The suite was clean, well appointed and comfortable but it's definitely due for a facelift to get a 5 star rating. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant. We only had breakfast which was fine but we can't comment on the restaurants other than that. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Downtown SF Hotel in Union Square Awesome historic property near Union square, with great restaurants, shopping and downtown access. Got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - thanks to my Ambassador, good SPG recognition and excellent staff, highly recommended. September 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 42 next>>