The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1323 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Excellent Loved my stay here for a business convention- perfect location- loved hearing the trolley go by! The staff was amazing and super helpful... while I did enjoy the rock concert put on by the street performers every night- if you are wanting a peaceful EARLY night's sleep may want to have an interior room! October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over hyped hotel I booked this hotel just because it is the only hotel which is right on the union square. All other hotels are one or two blocks/streets inside. I read reviews and based on the feedback, booked tower room which was 25% more expensive. Moreover confirmed from the hotel that my room will have a view of the union square. It was a bad decision, as first of all only rooms which are categorized as grand-view rooms, have view. All others don't. And then pretty much it becomes same as any other hotel in the area! Moreover front desk guy at the check-in (at SPG platinum/gold desk) was too intimidating and arrogant. I reached an hour before check-in time (I specified early check-in in the reservation), and he made me feel as if I have done a big crime. I had to wait past check-in time, remind the front desk again that it has crossed check-in time, and then I was given a room on a lower floor (even though I paid a higher rate for higher floor rooms)! And the reason given was the hotel was sold out. I enter the room, and there was smoking smell. I called up operator and asked to speak to manager explaining the situation, and she promptly moved me to a room on higher floor with slightly better view. So front desk staff at check-in intentionally didn't want to give me a room for which I paid! I was appalled by this experience, probably worst of all my starwood hotel experience so far. Anyways, after this I didn't face any problem, and since my check-out was on Sunday, they didn't charge me for late check-out (Westin weekend) which was good. I would advise that right being on the union square doesn't add too much value. There are other SPG properties in this area, which are cheaper, and have better rating. October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic The St. Francis is a classic and I always stay there when in SF. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Highly overrated. This hotel, while elegant, and well located, was the most unsatisfactory stay I have had in all my travels. The un-renovated rooms were loud, musty, and outdated. However the newly renovated rooms were at best par for the area; area, not price...the 379 per night is an outrageous price for the lack of class, and luxury that is to be expected from a Westin property. I will not be staying at this SPG property again. October 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement I stayed previously at this property and had no problems. My most recent stay was a disaster. The hotel appeared dingy. The room was dirty. There were used coffee stirrers buried in furniture. There was a used left in syringe in the room. The hotel seemed understaffed. On the bright side, the food was excellent. However, it took a very long time for staff to remove dirty dishes and dishes were all over the hallway on Saturday morning. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Hotel The Westin St Francis is a timeless gem, in a fantastic location. Close to fabulous restaurants, theaters, and shopping. The hotel staff is first rate and the rooms are wonderful. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this was a beautiful hotel in a great location We enjoyed our stay here very much. The view from our room was very pretty. The hotel was also located in a great spot to walk to many area's . September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Fabulous The hotel is fabulous. Starting with the doorman to the Hotel staff and hotel management. Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I would recommend it to everyone. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bourbon Steak Wonderful dinner and excellent service.Would highly recommend! September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location! Great Hotel Everything about this jhotel was outstanding. Best location. Great service. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Dear Mr. Kimball, Our stay at St. Francis was perfect. The location suited our needs well. Our rooms were very comfortable especially the king size bed. The bed linens were much better quality than our stay in another local hotel. The large rooms and bath were very much appreciated after our cruise where staterooms and bathrooms are so small. We really loved all the space. We were especially surprised at our welcome since the lobby and check-in area was so busy. A personal welcome by Marichu Alvarez was appreciated. She answered our questions and was very attentive, letting us know she would be available to us if we needed anything. Her smile and manner made us feel very much at home. Ms. Alvarez also offered us water and chocolates as we were waiting in the lobby for our shuttle, and she even remembered our names. She is a tremendous asset to St. Francis. We also noticed that she exhibited a very professional look - absolutely impeccable. GIVE HER A RAISE! Please let Ms. Alvarez know that we appreciated the welcome we received and all her help to make our stay perfect. She is one reason that we will stay at St. Francis in the future. I don’t know the name of the young woman who checked us in, but she was also very professional. She obliged us by changing our room so that we could have a walk –in shower. She also is an excellent representative of St. Francis. Sincerely, Suzanne Senuta Hudson, Ohio September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory ambient and wifi in room The conference I attended was hosted in this hotel. Preferential rates of 298 USD were given to attendees. I was assigned a room with handicap access and I did not need that. I had to stay by the room door since wifi was not good enough and I couldn't connect from my bed. There is no enough light in the rooms and in the hallways. This hotel needs RENOVATION badly. The housekeeping people is ANNOYING, they only want a tip so very DISTURBING! September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by They made me feel really special This is my favorite spot to stay in the city. It is right on Union Square, and it he rooms are remarkably quiet. The staff is attentive and this year, on my birthday, I asked for help getting a cab. They set me up with the hotel driver instead and I arrived to my dinner in style. September 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. Francis Sept. 14 St. Francis ia a gorgeous hotel in the middle of San Francisco and I have stayed there many times over the last 20 years. However, things have changed. The only problem with this stay was the staff. The staff just doesn't live up to a caring responsive typical Westin. When I checked in, the front desk staff was less than helpful. The big problem is that the hotel is highly in demand and always fully booked and therefore not as motivated to please! I am not sure if this is good value! September 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reserve system and manager not prepared to deal with high occupation Our experience was really bad. On the first night we were not allocated the reserved rooms. On the second night we were told the problem subsisted and, to our complete surprise and disgust, the manager threatened to call hotel security although we were not disrespectful. September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel The hotel was well beyond our expectations and made the visit to San Francisco the best yet. Location for a SF visit was perfect, shopping parks, cable car connection, bus tours, it has it all. Will go back and that is were we will stay for sure.A bit of hotel history combined with a new room tower gives you the feel you prefer. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Amazing My (20 year old) daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel. You can't beat the location and the prestige of the hotel. We had a lovely room on the 26th floor with awesome views. I come to San Francisco often and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location for business travellers This hotel is good for business travelers and family as well especially if you want to explore downtown San Francisco. Great towers and lovely views of downtown sfo. For SPG guests this hotel however is pretty low on benefits like club lounge facilities. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Limited Drawer Space We like to unpack and not live out of a suitcase during our stay but there were only three very small drawers in this room. There was a long shelf in the closet but that is not an acceptable substitute. Making the situation worse, the nightstand had a false drawer-front. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the historic value Only real disappointment was there was no bathroom amenities. We had to call housekeeping for shampoo. Room was quite small and I had forgotten how small a queen bed was... Someone needs to clean outside the window We were in room 375 and there was debris and cigarette butts outside our window September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by perfect hotel to explore San Francisco Perfect location to explore the city. Located on Union Square with the cable car stop in front of the hotel and many shopping and dining spots in walking distance. Restaurants and shops even in the hotel. Friendly and competent staff. September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dustin Corisey Front Desk Agent I arrived at the hotel on August 16, 2014 at 5 pm and remained at the hotel until August 24, 2014. If it had not been for Dustin Corisey, I would have checked out on August 16, 2014 and not returned to this hotel again. Dustin was excellent using his professional qualities to help, so this made the staff responsiveness excellent. Due to Dustin Corisey's professionalism the facility met my expectations. Also, if Dustin had not been there to assists me, I would have checked out of the hotel the same night I arrived. I will not go into great detail as to what occurred it was not good and hopefully the hotel has made some type of plan of correction. I heard and talked to other people who were staying at the hotel make dissatisfying comments about the hotel. Thank you Dustin Corisey August 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service mars an otherwise solid hotel I just returned from a stay here, and although the accommodations were pretty nice (I think we got a better room as SPG Gold members), the staff seemed disorganized, understaffed and not up to the task (despite coming across as well-meaning). We called ahead for a crib, but it wasn't there. Arriving at midnight, there was no bellhop around. We asked for the crib immediately and had to call back an hour later to ask again. Traveling with a 2 year old, this 2 am need was a serious problem. The next morning, the safe was broken and I wasted a morning trying to get someone to fix it, when it was already broken upon my arrival so I don't understand why they didn't fix it previously. Minor complaints, but when you spend this kind of money, you expect good service. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heavenly bed is heavenly We lucked out with a spacious, well-appointed corner room overlooking Union Square. The famous Heavenly Bed is indeed heavenly, with several down pillows and 2 layers of comforters. The AC worked well and was quiet, and the room was almost soundproof (for exterior noises), but not between rooms, through which we could hear 2 dogs barking. The bar seemed too crowded and noisy for a cocktail. The Internet worked well most of the time, but is pricey ($20/day) August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel, but they did not have my reservation I booked online through the App. I have never had a problem with this before. This was the stay that made me Platinum for the year. When I got to the hotel they did not have a reservation with me. The lady at the counter was very argumentative and told me that I was wrong, so I pulled up the app and showed her the reservation. She went behind the office and was gone for a very long time. Then the manager came out. The manager was awesome. She bought me breakfast and was very apologetic. I was really angry because I was tired and just wanted to go work in the room, but she was nice and she fixed it. I guess there is a glitch in the SPG software, which makes me leery now to use it to book rooms. Everything else was great, but I was in a non SPG preferred room. No waters, etc. Not really what I expected for finally reaching Platinum status. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff, Service and History... Thanks, we had a great time...Classy as usual! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful classic San Francisco Hotel I'm a fan of classic San Francisco locations, architecture and ambiance. The Westin St. Francis has it all plus the best location in town. Close to all, large and beautiful. The rooms in the Tower are modern and clean with everything we needed. A+ rating. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel rocks!! Love this historic hotel, in the heart of Union Square!! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy, Happy, Happy From the moment we arrived we were completely taken care of. We were greeted with big smiles and checked in quickly because we were able to check in online before arriving and were able to go straight to our room. It was clean and welcoming and our luggage arrived within 10 minutes of us being in our room. Nice job Westin, we will definitely be back! August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always comfortable We stay here whenever we come to SF (4-5 times a year), rooms are always comfortable and the theater is within walking distance. Staff ways friendly and helpful. August 25, 2014
  • 2015-07-03T13:48:44.151-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1323, tr_1323
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 45 next>>