The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1180 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Very relaxing weekend. Attentive check-in staff June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sorry I travel quite a bit on business and as a result accumulated points. Decided to use points for college visit trip. Tried to check in but was told rooms not ready. Came back many hours later (5:30pm) and told that now our adjoining rooms not available! Offered hotel credit as apology. Got to room and found that there was no soap, shampoo for shower! As waiting for housekeeping tried to watch TV but half channels would not work. Had to have workman come in to replace cable. Finally got into shower at 9pm and it would not drain. Workman came back and said he needed help to clear it. Went and got support and tools for repair. Both of them finally got it corrected. Doesn't housekeeping check that?! I should not have to be your quality check person! March 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Party hotel Stayed for 3 nights and only had one nights sleep. Security overlooked a group of 15 at 2am who proceeded through the hotel set to party and keep all guests awake. After repeated complaints and over an hour of inaction they were finally removed. On complaining to the manager next morning we were informed it was a professional basketball player - so........ TV left up loud - had to call security to turn down at midnight. Security were very diligent on mezzanine floor where the business facilities were..... Need more for room/guest services. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fabulous hotel! I just loved everything about the Westin St. Francis: from customer service, food, location... It was above and beyond our expectation. Special Thanks to Danka at the Concierge desk who gave us great tips what to see in San Francisco and booked a dinner for us in a great restaurant. Thanks to the whole team Westin St. Francis!!! You made my stay amazing! April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memories Had spent time over 20 years ago in the St. Francis with my wife and four very young daughters. We decided to see if our fun back then could be replicated. This time daughters, boyfriends, and us old folk were accommodated with a cluster of rooms for 4 days thru Christmas. It was a blast, and much of the wonderful experience was created by the St. Francis staff taking the time to make it that way. No small task with the frenetic pressures from scads of people like us looking for this same memorable occasion. A+ experience! JPC December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for Thanksgiving at St. Francis Hotel Spent four nights at the landmark namesake Westin St. Francis Hotel, San Francisco. It's got old school charm, dark paneled luxury that you do not find anywhere else in modern S.F. Highlighted with the "Black Friday" events across Macy's and the Union Square tree lighting festivities, an ice skating rink across the street, it was a thrill to stay there after years of visiting S.F. since the '60s. Dinner at the Bourbon Steak was the highlight of our dining in S.F., food capitol of the West. Best steaks we ever had in a restaurant! December 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We are Starwood Preferred property owners and expect the best from Westin. We have stayed at the St. Francis before and we surprisingly disappointed on this trip. We arrived early and were told that we would be called when our room was ready. We never received a call. The room was not maintained in the Westin fashion...no telephone note pads or pens, broken reading lamp bedside, flickering coffee bar lights and scratched/damaged side table. Room maintenance was NOT Westin quality. Front Doorman was pushy to the point of rudeness. December 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room feels old, and items broken Friendly staff, but this place feels run down. The lamp by the bed is broken and the sink stopper is also broken. Called maintenance 3 hours ago, but no response yet. TV is oddly placed. Check In - how about more conspicuously placing the Starwood Preferred Guest sign? Waited 10 minutes in general line (really slow) only to later see the inconspicuous SPG sign. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, good service I stayed one night using points and cash option. I am a Platinum member and I was upgraded to a Junior Suite using one of my certificates. It was a classic room in the old part of the hotel - high ceilings. It was very quiet and I had a good night's sleep. Friendly and quick checking. Nothing to complain about here. April 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected so much more Arrived after midnight after long day of meetings and travel. Was subjected to "inquisition" by check-in staff regarding SPG reservation. I was hungry and asked if any of the restaurants were still serving, and was told only in-room dining was available; in-room had apparently closed for the day. Rooms are nice and clean and bathrooms are great, but with the age of the hotel and deficient sound-proofing, one is subjected to a symphony of plumbing from adjacent rooms. Access to functional electrical outlets is very challenging. April 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unfriendly staff and very small room I have to say, sometime you get what you pay for. Sometimes you don't. We had early check in. That meant that we checked in a 2:59pm instead of 3:00pm. The desk staff was not friendly to us. He acted like it was an inconvenience to check on the readiness of our room. Ironically, my aunt who did not have early check and arrived after us, was admitted to her room 2 hours before us. The room that received was very small also, there were many of us staying there and only one other person we knew had such a small room like ours. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is in a great location We had a very tiny room with an extremely tiny bath that made it hard for two of us to get ready at the same time. I don't know anyone in our group that had a tiny room like ours. Our room was a big disappointment. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Hotel in Great Location Room was old and small. Had zero view, unless you consider a ten foot look at a brick wall a view. Thought with all my travel and stays they'd have done better. Very pricey for what you get... June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The locaton of the hotel is perfect. Room size was small for the upgraded Grande Deluxe Tower. I had 3 rooms and 2 out of 3 where clean. I had 1 room that at check in had an empty coke bottle on the floor and gum on the night stand. Called the Front desk and let them know. Returned to room later that night and nothing had been done. Called front desk and they offered to move us. We agreed and they sent a bellman up to assist. We went to a new room only to be greeted by another guest as we opened the door. We then were sent down to the front desk. We were told the hotel was completely booked and they would try to find us a diffferent room. They found us another room that was clean and unoccupied. I know these things will happen, but they should be fixed on the spot. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifull, comfortable, and convenient! This gem in the middle of San Francisco is a gorgeous property, and it is convenient to many of San Francisco's highlights. Sitting right on the cable car line, and within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Lombard Street, bus tours are also available across the street at Union Square. If you love to shop, there's no better place to stay, and if you love to eat...well, take it from me, you will never go hungry! The lobby is full of historical artifacts and stories of those who have visited before us, and each trip through it was more fascinating than the last. This is the only city hotel that I would go back to again and again. FIVE STARS! May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great older hotel with new upgrades in center of town What a fantastic hotel - old world charm with great updates, a wine bar downstairs, 1st class concierge help, free parking for Starwood members. We stayed in the new tower (as I'd read old tower not as renovated). Hotel exceeded my expectations. Car was valeted daily by staff and parked for free since we were members. Would definitely stay here again - centrally located. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy neighbors. Mediocre room location Had to speak w front desk & security THREE times regarding a very noisy group in teh adjacent room. They had music & loud conversation extending beyond 11PM. Very frustrating. Gold status and specific room location request at check in resulted in a "Union Square facing room" being in the back reaches of the hotel and immediately next to elevator bank. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lost Reservation I was traveling here for business and was impressed by the location and amenities that this location had to offer. However, I had booked online (with a confirmation number and all) and they had just lost my reservation/ didn't have it at all. I was patient and understanding, but frustrated at the fact that they didn't seem bothered and didn't offer me a discount/upgrade of any sort. I was also double-charged for internet on my final bill. I have stayed at much better Westin locations for service. Disappointing. April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is clean and comfortable. Excellent staff and architecture June 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience I had a horrible experience. I will never stay in this hotel again. They had the wrong arrival date for me. I requested a king but was given a double and was told they didn't have any kings left, but didn't ask me if it was okay. The cooling system was very noisy and woke me up several times. The light in the bathroom was out and took me 3 calls to get someone to come and fix it so I could get ready and make my meeting. The staff didn't care. Service was poor. I almost moved to another hotel. I wish I had. April 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Building/New Building -- Both are Good The St. Francis is a really great property for so many reasons. 1) excellent location for tourists (although i was on business) -- sitting at union square makes life easier for getting around and the Walgreen's and Starbucks next door are great adds 2) Staff are great. Friendly, very accommodating -- great platinum status recognition 3) rooms are really nice. Both the classic building and the new towers. The classic side definitely has it's charms, high ceilings, molding, etc. be prepared for being in an older building though, thinner walls, slower drains etc. Haven't eaten at the restaurants yet, but the Clock bar is great. My only gripe is that the Hotel Wireless does not reach the bar. (Meeting Room Wifi does reach and you dont get access to those networks as a hotel guest) July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and Elegance at Union Square My husband and I stayed here last weekend and loved it. The rooms were newly renovated and spacious. The mattress was very firm and comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and even the blow dryer was top notch. It is the little things that make your stay! It would have been nice if they had a sound dock, but everything else was wonderful. Very friendly staff and the location is walking distance to some of the best shopping, restaurants and China Town. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was prefectly located.. Great location. Great service. Clean rooms. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not really worth the price! The hotel is gorgeous and the staff very friendly and helpful. That said, if you want a quiet nights sleep - you should look elsewhere. I stayed in the main building, only to find the walls are paper-thin so you can hear the conversations of those in rooms next to you. The doors do not fully fit the door frame, leaving a gap and a distracting ray of light from the hallway shining through all night. And you guessed it, the slightest chuckle from guests in the hallway can be heard loud and clear. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Returning customer, not same experience I must say I love this hotel and have enjoyed every stay here eccept for the 25-28th of December. I stay here on average 2-3 times per year (my last stay in November was with my friend visiting from Paris) and was so disappointed with the last stay. We did not get our corner room because it was ladden with cigarette smoke and had to leave. Then on the afternoon of the 27th, I find my 4 year old and Husband sitting by the elevator waiting for me because the lady at check in failed to link my 2 reservations and my family was locked out for several hours because my husband "didn't have proof" of the 2nd reservation. I was told that I was given a $100 credit for the inconvenience, but it never showed up on my check out receipt and I was still charged the full amount of charges without the credit. January 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so The St. Francis is located at the heart of SF which is a good reason to chose to stay there. The hotel itself is somewhat run down, hall ways are dirty, my room was spacious but dark and the A/C was not working that well. I think the bathroom was renovated fairnly recently but the rest of the room needed a makeover. All in all the hotel seems a bit outdated and somewhat sub-par for a Westin hotel. June 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never staying there again first the pictures on the webiste are not the rooms at the hotel, or at least not what we got. our group had a total of 3 rooms; 1 out of 3 was nice. On Monday complimentary cookies and water were received, we went downstairs for coffee cam back to the room and the water and cookies were gone, housekeeping didnt do our beds or pick up our room but took the water & cookies. when i called the front desk they told me theyd look into it & call me back but no one ver did 30 th floor room #3091. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected Our family of four stayed in two tower rooms over Easter break. The reviews here and elsewhere were mixed, so I was a little worried. I will have to say that our stay was great with no complaints. The staff were helpful and friendly, I got my SPG Gold upgrade, the rooms were nice, clean, and quiet. The location is excellent for shopping, dining, and sightseeing. The rooms suffered a bit from street noise, even on the 28th floor, but that's to be expected in downtown San Francisco. May 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suprised at condtions I normally love staying at this hotel. Although this time the walls were dirty and the bed sheets on a bed had holes and rips. This is not a normal thing for this hotel. I did report the dirt on the bathroom wall and the sheets. They had the housekeeping staff notified. They did clean the wall although I had to report again the bed sheet. It also appears the maintenance staff is not notified about paint peeling in bathroom. The bathroom door at the bottom was looking very bad. May 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poorly trained and rude staff I am frequent traveller and i have stayed in many of the Westin Hotels around the world. Generall the service is exceptional. Unfortunately this can not be said for Westin St Francis. Generally most of the staff (in particular the conceirge) we encountered during ourstay were rude and not professional (with the exception of the front desk staff). I'll also like to mention the toilet near the lift lobby of the Tower Block is extremely dirty. It's worst then a public toilet!! December 26, 2012
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 41 next>>