The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 793 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is awesome! Along with great features the staff was amazing March 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room needs updating and serious cleaning Recently spent 2 nights at the Westin. The lobby was beautiful and the pool area had a slide that my daughter thoroughly enjoyed. However, the room was small, dated, and dirty. Upon entering, there was hair in the bathtub, a thick layer of dirt on the bathroom vent, dead bugs in the bathroom light fixture, and rust around the bathtub fixtures. When I proceeded to put some drinks in the refrigerator, there was a bunch of bathroom hair right next to the frig. Gross! Additionally, there was rust and peeling on the 30-year old frig. The counter also looked like it had not been dusted for a long time. Although housekeeping came to remove the nasty hair, minimal housekeeping was done on a daily basis. Towels were replenished, but creamers, shampoo, and conditioner were not. The air conditioner worked inconsistently, even when the sliding glass door was closed. At times, I had to open and close the door several times in order to get the barely working air conditioning unit to turn on. Without the AC, the room would get hot and musty smelling. Given the status of the room, I would most likely not stay here again despite the impressive pool area. I was glad to leave after 2 nights and am currently staying at a spacious and clean condo instead. July 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of missed opportunities The property did not utilize its space well. March 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unhappy with the resort Very dissatisfied with this hotel, we came here for our honeymoon and this hotel was highly recommended by many people. When we checked in, we were promised a beach front room, we received a view of the lower roof. The room was dirty when we checked in. We went to the desk and they changed our room to a beach front view. This room was much better, but the towels were stained and the water was not filled daily as promised through our resort charges. The hotel was under massive construction which we were aware of upon booking, but the construction was not supposed to start until 0900 and it would start daily around 0700. It would wake us up around 0700 on the dot daily, not a pleasant way to wake up on vacation. The staff was not helpful at the front desk. The adult bar would close at 6pm when it was supposed to stay open until 10 pm. The spa was never warm in the morning and if we wanted to use the stem room it was an extra charge on top of the 30 dollar resort fee. There is much more I could say, but I will finish with saying I was very unhappy with the resort especially since so many people recommended this resort. I will say though that the concierge, Mino in particular, and the tour people were very helpful. Also that the beach was beautiful right off of the resort. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was good This hotel was good in some part July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Stay Great experience all around July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location in Paradise! Perfect location in Paradise! May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic. loved every minute of it. April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Layer of dust in mountain view room I returned home from my family vacation in Maui and I had stayed in your hotel for 4 days and 3 nights from Feb 14 to 17. Overall, the stay was not pleasant and unsatisfactory because the room (mountain + parking lot + construction site view) where I stayed was so old and rusty and lots of parts need to be improved. Most of all, there were a layer of dust in the room everywhere, when I entered the room after checking in. There was dust on the tables, ice bucket, bed heads, coffee machine, mirrors, phones, even a TV remote control, and so on. I am pretty sure the room had not been cleaned for a few days, at least. This is not acceptable at all! I immediately ran down to the front desk, but a staff at the front desk insisted that they clean rooms everyday. I then asked to speak with a manager and I was available to speak about my concern to a Housekeeping Manager. It seemed that she responded well. She visited my room next day and resolved my issue by making a cleaning lady clean my room when we went out for dinner. I was happy about the prompt response and I truly appreciated her follow-up. Overall, your hotel is below my high expectations in the Westin. I hope your hotel will maintain high quality of the Westin through the cleanness of rooms and the kindness of staffs for the future guests. March 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs massive upgrades I was in the property for 5 nights. The staff was definately exceptional, but the accomidations need much improvement. My room was riddled with issues. I had to have maintenance come 3 times during my stay. The first issue was with the sink in the bathroom....one night the stopper stayed down and wouldn't come back up. I was finally able to free it to get the sink to drain, but in doing so the whole drain plug came out with about 12" of hair and other smelly mess attached to it. I ended up cleaning it and flushing the mess down the drain. The sink worked great after that at least. The second issues actually required 2 visits from the maintenance staff. I had got up one morning and noticed water dripping down the wall. I wiped it with a towel and the noteiced the ceiling was wet as well. I wiped that and in doing so the sheetrock was so saturated that the towel went through it and water dumped all over the place from the AC unit. I then also noticed that the floor and wall was completely saturated in the bedroom and the base trim was practically coming off the wall. My pags were wet as well from the carpet. No one offered assistance or room cost reduction for the issues. This property is very outdated and needs massive upgrades. Consider staying somewhere else first....not worth the cost until they do some renovations. September 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Experience for a Once in a Lifetime Vacation We booked two ocean view deluxe rooms for a three night stay for my mother in law's 60th birthday. I had contacted the staff well before our trip to let them know that we would like two rooms on one floor and that we would prefer a room in the beach tower since we are traveling with my son who still naps. I was assured that they had our request in the system, but upon arrival, they had NO IDEA that we had made these requests and we were given two rooms in the ocean tower. One of the rooms was abysmal - stained bath tub, musty smell, just really really awful. The hotel was basically sold out that night due to the Maui Marathon taking place, so they were only able to give us a second room in the beach tower. We ended up spending the three days shuffling between the rooms and being disappointed by the overall level of service from the hotel. The only good thing I have to say about the Westin Maui is that the beach and facilities were nice and the staff did their best to be accommodating. The hotel, having waited at least two years too long to begin renovations, however, basically put their staff in a terrible position of having frustrated customers. Who wants to spend $300+ / night on an outdated, disgusting room? This is a terrible disservice not only to the Westin's customers, but also their employees. I will not be staying at Westin resorts anymore. October 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Travel concerns I have already reviewed my recent stay but I have a few specific concerns that I would like to address. 1. Our server at the pool named Joseph was incredible. His level of service and incredible personality put our trip over the top. Overall our service was excellent but Joe was head and shoulders above the rest. 2. I have three kids so i was forced to book 2 rooms (I actually had 3 because we brought our parents as well) and I feel that the $100 charge to "guarantee" that my room and the room for our kids would be connected is absolutely ridiculous. Spending money is not really a concern for me it is more that the way it is handled it comes off as though the resort is holding parents ransom saying that the only way to make sure the rooms are connected is with an extra $100 per night. We are offered the choice to pay or not but " we can't guarantee you will be connected without the fee". We had booked 30 total nights for this stay and the idea of us having a room down the hall with us being forced to have one parent in each room means that the "choice" to pay the extra fee really isn't a choice at all. 3. I am a gold level member and was told that the Internet fee that we agreed to on the website in order to get connected would not appear on our bill but it did. There were a few other billing concerns but I am not that concerned about them. February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, well-maintained hotel ---just don't expect any SPG perks The hotel is in a wonderful location. Rooms are very clean. Grounds are groomed and gorgeous. Whales are visible from the hotel. We were here on a last hurrah---we are expecting twins in the summer---and it was a beautiful getaway. This is a great hotel if you don't want any Starwood Gold perks. If you so much as think of asking for a 4:00 p.m late check out (Gold Status) the front desk will become snarky and rude. They will then tell you they have no information available and to call back the morning of check out. They will then deny your request for a late check out. I have always been treated very well by Starwood especially when I was gold status so this really surprised me. (The attitude of staff.) The resort is protected by the SPG rules which state late 4:00 pm check out is based on availability. Theoretically, Starwood could offer anything based on availability to its members and then tell members it isn't available. This is not a perk. Of course I said I'd switch to any room in the hotel to secure 4:00 pm check out. Not an option here. Of course there were tons of staff trying to sell Westin time shares and vacation rentals. Of course Starwood is a business but it felt like a business while I was on vacation. Plenty of staff to sell vacation rentals but no staff for individualized attention. All in all we had a wonderful time but not because of staff. And not because of our SPG loyalty program. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Westin This was our third year staying at the Westin Maui. We love this resort, great facility, great spa and great location!!! We were a little let down this year as it seems like the hotel may be struggling financially. Little details that we had grown to love have gone by the wayside: the little smoothies at the breakfast buffet, the free buffet breakfast included in most packages is now buy one get one free and seemed more sparsely stocked (Definitely not worth the $40 even for 2 people) , the menu at ONO (once our favorite spot) has changed significantly and now is exactly the same as the pool menu, which was a huge let down. There is no longer anyone greeting you in the lobby upon arrival with the shell lei's or flowers in the evenings. Additionally, we noticed that the maintenance and cleanliness of the rooms seems to have slipped the past two years, dirty stained floors, obvious grime... articles left behind from prior guests etc. This year the pool was remarkably uncrowded, which was a nice change and the beach cabana we rented was incredible. Our cabana hostess was very sweet and exceptionally attentive. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and welcoming as usual! It is great to see the same familiar faces year after year! We will return again, but hopefully by next summer the Westin will have received a little TLC, and some of the touches that once took the resort from good to great will be restored! July 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4th time stay I have been an SPG gold member for several years now. I asked the booking agent, concierge and rooms manager before our arrival for an upgrade to the beach tower. I was told upon check in that the tower was booked. Being the shoulder season I hardly believe that. We are on the 6th floor Ocean tower. We were there from 9/13-9/21. I thought they would at least put us on the 11th floor newly remodeled rooms. No such luck. Guess Gold status does not have perks it used to. WiFI is terribly slow. Took hours to download iPhone new operating system. They charge $15 per day for faster speed. I can go to Starbucks and get fast free WiFi for buying a cup of coffee. Total rip off. Even charge for internet to print boarding passes in business center. With the thousands we spent on food and beverages should have been free upgrade and free business center. The restaurant Tropica used to be great. Under new owners and is terrible. Cannot even eat buffet there for breakfast by ocean anymore. Food is terrible now. Need to buy the restaurant back. After room remodel hotel rooms should be much nicer. Relish menu is good but seem limited compared to old menu. Noise all day long from construction. Replaced our favorite beach chair person Robert. He was laid off. Guess they contracted with outside service. We decided next trip it is time for a new hotel. Would not stay here again. Stayed here 4 times and this was our worst. Seems to have gone downhill over time. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Had expected more.. We had stayed at other resorts along Ka'anapali before, thought we'd give the Westin a try this time. Well, for $400+ dollars a night, we had expected more. Compared to past experiences, we found the room very SMALL, less than half the size of other places at lower prices. Cleanliness could also have been better; notably, the glass-top table had a greasy film on it that we had to clean off, and the remnants of previous guests' lunch smeared between the glass and wood - sort of disgusting. Daily housekeeping service was also a bit frustrating. To conserve resources we checked the "no linen change" and left the tag on the door, but it appeared housekeeping was "all or nothing": we routinely had to chase down our bottled water (included in our room rate), soap, and paper cups. Oh yes, PAPER CUPS: the absurdity of the price hit home when we had to drink our tea in paper cups. You have proper drinking glasses in the room - can you at least include some ceramic cups for coffee/tea! On a positive note, we were pleased to see a recycling program in place for plastic bottles. Hopefully in the futurre you can expand this to include paper. In addition to the plastic bottles we put quite a bit of clean paper/cardboard products in the bin, but housekeeping picked out the plastic and dumped the rest in the trash. The complimentary photography sessions was a nice touch. The gal is good at what she does, and we left with some really nice pics! February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but not great I had been looking forward to this trip for a while, and staying at this property. Unfortunately, it was not everything I had hoped for. The valet are not very helpful. Was told I had to either valet or self park, vs. leaving my car for a few minutes to check in. No hello, welcome, etc. Heck the valet didn't even bother to direct me to self park, had to figure out how to get there. No signs, nothing. While walking from self park to the entrance, you could hear the construction going on. When I checked in, I inquired about the construction and was told it was on the higher floors. I was on floor 6. Guess what, it was on my floor, just the other side of the building. And it was also either below or above me. Not sure, but the hammering started promptly at 7am on Monday. As for the pool area, it was nice, but not great. Shade was minimal at best, and unless you got out there by 8am to reserve a spot, you ended up sitting in the sun. While the towel cards say they remove unoccupied towels after 60 minutes, this was not the case. I ate 2 meals at the hotel, but were adequate but not great. The buffet is overpriced and the burger was so-so. The bun was cold. In both cases, service was so so. Considering the property was not at high capacity, it's hard to believe the poor service at the dining area. Housekeeping was very friendly and did a good job. The hotel did provide two free bottles of water a day. Granted that was part of your $25 resort fee. Would I go back here again? Probably not. I would definitely try another property. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by suboptimal experience As a SPG gold member, I expected more. We booked a "garden/mountain view" room but received a parking lot view room. No garden or mountain was seen because of the trees, thus leaving only a parking lot as our view. We inquired about our upgrade as gold members but told that there was no availability. However, the guest checking in next to us was receiving a room upgrade as we were told this! Furthermore, we met some friends at the hotel who had also booked a garden/mountain view room, paid the same price as us, and were NOT SPG members at all, and they were given an ocean view room at no extra cost and without asking. In addition, we had booked a king bed but received 2 double beds (not even queen size). To add insult to injury, on entering the bathroom on our first morning there, we were greeted by multiple cockroaches! Suffice it to say, the experience was sadly lacking. As for the rooms themselves, they seemed outdated and poorly maintained. Shower/bath and tiling was cracking. Many of the walls in the bathroom and in around the sink were splattered with what appeared to be dirt and the carpet had apparently not been vacuumed as there were crumbs and coffee beans throughout. Although the bedsheets seemed clean, the quilt covers were obviously stained and yellowing and either needed cleaning or to be replaced. On the positive side, the common areas were fairly well maintained and comfortable. The restaurant was good and the pool and surrounding area was above average. Overall, a poor and very disappointing experience from a, usually, very reliable hotel chain. April 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lots of Issues This stay at the Westin Maui was fine, but there were constant issues that kept coming up. The issues were addressed by the staff, but continued to occur which made the trip annoying at times. The few things that we encountered: the room key continually would not open the gate to the parking lot, do not get a 2nd floor room at the beach tower people threw items off of the higher floor balconies and it lands on the roof on the mezzanine level which is right at your balcony (bud light can, mini-wine bottle, dead bird, and people throwing crumbs to birds), waiting in line for an associate was way too long (20 minutes plus) and it seemed like they were constantly understaffed in this area, the smell of marijuana in my friends bathroom (he was there with his 3 month old daughter and was given no explanation of why it smelled nor was he accomodated in any way). All of these issues were taken care of, aside from the weed smell, but it gets frustrating having to constantly go by and ask for a fix. The staff changed my room at my request, but promised the change between 1-3 pm and the room still wasn't ready at 4:30 so they moved us somewhere else. Not a big deal, except I was there with a 7 month old that needs to nap so an accurate time is a big issue and getting the room changed meant waiting in line for over 20 minutes multiple times. The location is great and breakfast at Tropico on beach in the morning was very enjoyable (food at the breakfast buffett is very average) but things just didn't go as smoothly at this property when comparing it to other Westin properties I have stayed at. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Beach Fantastic location - we arrived early evening upgraded suite was ready. Needed two roll away beds which were delivered promptly, which is great after a full day of travel from Toronto. There were some noises in the early morning coming from the shopping complex next door so we requested a room change and were upgraded to the Imperial Suite which was magnificent so I have no complaints in that regard. The overall service was good however there were some quirky things. For example the concierges were hit and miss. I think they are there more for booking activities and less so for making reservations at restaurants. The front desk was sorely understaffed and when I had to correct a charge to my room from the restaurant on check-out the front desk person left for 20 mins leaving a long line up of people to check in as there was only one other person at the front desk. I felt badly but I was leaving and there were two meal charges which were not correct. I chose the Breakfast option for my Platinum amenity which either gave me a free continental breakfast not from the buffet but a served item or a $15 credit towards the full buffet. The served continental was a bowl of granola and a bowl of yogurt, a doughnut and a danish. No fruit - please this is Hawaii! Not sure who thought this one up? Needless to say I took advantage of the $15 upgrade to the buffet where I could get an egg white omelette and fruit. The food was just OK. The complimentary lounge breakfast at the most Westins is better. At the end of the day it is Hawaii and the beach and sun and activities were amazing and that is what we really came for., September 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beware of construction NOISE - we moved elsewhere We did book 4 nights for what we hoped to be a stay in paradise. Decided to check out after the first night as we could not stand the constant non-stop very loud noise of workers drilling and building on our floor and on the rooms above. Be aware that there are heavy construction going on in one of the tower. We have asked to be moved to the second tower but that option could not be accommodated (there was already a long list of dissatisfied people who asked for the same request). It was ridiculous of Westin of booking customers in the tower being under renovations (the whole tower should be closed to business during such heavy work on-going). This was very unfortunate as the hotel grounds are immaculate, pool is fantastic and the location is direct on a beautiful beach. But It was not fun at all not being able to have a pleasant stay in the room for an afternoon nap, to check emails or for whatever reasons without getting a huge headache. It was not out idea of paradise of being waked up early morning (noise starts at 7:00AM as trucks arrive and then goes completely crazy from 9:00AM to the end of the day). There was construction on our floor and on the whole floor directly above our room. Email sent to the general manager has received no response which led us to believe they did not care much about the inconvenience to their customers. Anyway, we decided moving to another resort and had a fantastic time there, but we would have known prior to this trip then we would have made very different arrangements as more options would have been possible, it is never fun having to change reservations at the last minute, e.g. in our situation when we realised that staying at the westin could have ruined what we hope being our dream vacations. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable room -- but didn't feel Hawaiian We had a good experience at this hotel, but after staying at a hotel in Wailea and another in Hana, this felt overly corporate and not very Hawaiian. Who wants to stay in their room anyway, I suppose. We found the bed to be very comfortable, although the air conditioning didn't seem to be that cool. I woke up multiple times in the night feeling hot, but wasn't willing to open the window knowing that we would wake up too early the next morning (sure enough, there was jackhammering happening in the road below our room). The only major flaw we experienced was some of the staff. Check in was alright, but the bell man helping us was rude. Eager to check into our room (after a very long day of driving) I rushed past him, not realizing I needed the bell ticket. He hollered at me with a "Hello. HELLO. HELLO!!!" It would have been more pleasant to simply walk in behind me, but he let himself get overwhelmed and passed that stress on to me. Again, we had had a long drive. We would have been FINE getting everything packed up in a leisurely way (my husband was outside while I checked in). But the bellman insisted on shoving our stuff into bags quickly, not taking and care for our purchases or belongings. We encountered the same guy twice again, once while trying to find the shuttle bus ("just walk out and take a left" was the answer we got. When asked for a bit more information, we practically got an eye roll). Other staff underwhelmed us, this guy just seemed out of sorts on a few different occasions. No lei, either. It was the only one of the three that didn't give that tradition. Sort of disappointing. The location is great though, and we didn't have a BAD time. How can you have a bad time in Maui?? August 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by So disappointed We planned this trip for our honeymoon and I wish we could get a do-over!!! After a long flight we were ready for some time to relax at the hotel. NOT SO MUCH!! We went to check in and the lady at the front desk tells us that there are no more rooms with king size beds! WE ARE ON OUR HONEYMOON!!!! When booking we reserved a king size bed but she told us that this is not guaranteed!?! So then she continues to tell us that our room is right in the middle of the construction!!! (Which we knew nothing about until we got there) I was furious…. So I asked to speak with the manager. When the manger came to speak with us, she informed us that there was no king size beds but she could give us a room with an ocean view and that we wouldn’t even notice the construction from our room. Then she told us we would have to check back with the front desk daily to see if a king bed becomes available. Why wouldn’t they just call us when one was available rather than making the guest do all the work??? We got to the room and it did have an awesome view but the room smelled newly painted. We went out onto the balcony and all the floors below us were under construction. We could hear non-stop drilling and hammering the entire day. The long hallway to our tower was under construction as well and we walked by several construction workers in their hard hats and I wondered to myself if we should be wearing one as well?! The 2nd day we went down to the beach and had a great time with no problems but then went back to the room around 3:45 and the water had been turned off. We check with the staff and they nonchalantly said it was off until 5:00! Good thing we didn’t have dinner reservations!!! What the heck!!! There is no mention of the mass construction going on at this hotel when booking. There is no discount for having to deal with all the inconvenience of the construction. Worst hotel experience ever! The only good thing about this place was the pool, the beach and the fact that we were in Maui! November 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin Property below expectations and Price Point The Westin Maui was not only below our expectations but it was below comparable hotels in Maui that we have stayed at before. The hotel and restaurant staff was unpleasant and unhelpful. When booking the room i specified that the trip would be for our Honeymoon. We were looking for an ocean view room and what any hotel guest would expect, quite enjoyment. We were given an "ocean view" room on the second floor that had 90% of the view obstructed by the roof below. If i could attach pictures to this review i would. Then our room was adjacent to the elevators, which we had to hear the motors and beeping day and night as the bed in the room backed up to the elevator shaft. We reported the issue to the staff and they did offer to move us, but the only available room with a "view" was on the fifth floor in the main floor DIRECTLY BELOW CURRENT CONSTRUCTION AND RENNOVATIONS. my wife and i failed to see how this move would remedy the situation of noise plus because we were going to be there for 10 days we had already unpacked our belongings and didn’t wish to spend more time repacking and unpacking on our honeymoon. Then there is the internet, the hotel already charges a daily resort fee, which is to include internet services. We were never able to get the internet to work consistently in our roof. When we called the front desk for help they suggested we call their internet/tech support and ask them to address it. Which we thought was completely ludicrous. Parking was a nightmare, we had a rental car and the stalls are so small that everyone over parks their vehicle. We felt that for what we paid for our room we not only didn’t get the value we expected from the property but wish we would have stayed in a different hotel that we knew has a higher standard of service and quality that was not much difference in price. Never again would we stay at a Westin Hotel. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms need updating. Pros: The staff at this resort is superb! The resort's Tropica restaurant was excellent. The poolside restaurant and bar were the best we have experienced at this type of beach resort. We used the resorts nicest Cabanas for three days and each had an ice chest with plenty of bottled water and fresh pineapple to munch on. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept. As will sometimes happen, a keke had a rather large accident in the pool. As soon as it was reported, maintenance personnel immediately closed the pool, shocked the pool water with chlorine and kept the pool closed for six hours. This attention to protecting the health of the hotel's guests was impressive and greatly appreciated. The mattresses in the room were excellent. Cons: We were upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room in the newest tower, which we appreciated. However, periodically throughout the day, the tub drain would erupt with raw sewage. I reported this and a maintenance man promptly showed up to snake the tub drain. However, this did not fix the problem, so we had to repeatedly sanitize the tub before we could use the shower. Also, it would take at least three flushes each time the toilet was used. I'm guessing the two issues with the plumbing were related. The bathroom door stop was missing the rubber bumper and presented a safety hazard. The room's carpet was separating from its backing in several areas. The air conditioning did not work. Thankfully it was in the sixties at night and we could leave the slider open. The Ethernet connector in the room was broken. In summary, the rooms in this tower need some serious updating. Although the Cabanas were well designed and outfitted, the padding in the lounge cushions is very worn out and there is no suspension system in the wooden lounges. We had to borrow the chair cushions from our room lanai chairs to supplement the lounge cushions. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for families...not for honeymoon. We stayed at the resort for the last half of our honeymoon. The entrance and hotel facilities were great but the room we had definitely did not meet our expectations. We had a good view and enjoyed the Lanai outside of our room but the rooms was a little smaller than average, the shower was built for those on the shorter side (my head was easily above the shower head), the bathroom counter top was definitely built for kids, the carpet in our room was coming up or was poorly installed and there was a large leak next to the bed coming from the bathroom wall (we didn't call the front desk only because it didn't seem to be leaking further), and the overall placement of the closet caused the TV to be blocked from 1/3 of the room. We also experienced a challenge with our air conditioning which wasn't working after the staff came and fixed the Lanai door which had come off its hinges. The AC sensor came off when they fixed it apparently and wasn't replaced which left us without AC for a couple hours that day when we were getting ready. With the heat outside we continued sweating like crazy and after an hour of waiting for someone to fix it and us calling a couple times and stopping staff in the hallway to try and get quick help they finally override the system to eliminate the need for the sensor. That being said, the rest of the facilities were great (including the gym...the best one I've seen at Starwood hotels) though it may not have been the best place for a honeymoon. It's absolutely great for kids and families though they did have a good size adult pool and area which we enjoyed. The view is amazing and the beach and water was great as well. We just wish the room would have been a bit more up-to-date and on par with the other Westins we've stayed at and that it hadn't taken so long to fix the AC which literally took 1 minute to override the system when someone finally came. August 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to the Westin standard Bottom line: This place is nice, just less than what I expected. I have been impressed with Westins and Westin Resorts in the past, and the Westin Maui Resort not live up to the brand. Service: The concierge is terrible. I was harassed by concierge (three phone calls) so they could convince us to book and attend a Villa tour. Side note: we did book a tour and it was the high point of our Westin experience. If you are looking for excursions typically provided by concierge, you will have to find the Activities desk, which isn't run by the Westin. They won't book what you want, only what they want you to book. This is confusing and frustrating. Example: our only option for a Haleakala bike tour was to be picked up at the hotel. We wanted to drive for flexibility, so we booked our own and saved over 25% in the process. Food/drink service is hit-or-miss. We grabbed drinks at the pool bar and had excellent service there. At the breakfast buffet, we were seated promptly, but generally ignored thereafter. Location: Excellent for the resort experience. Be sure to walk up the beach to the black rocks and get out and explore all that Maui has to offer! SPG Recognition: I have spent hundreds of nights with Starwood and I'm on my honeymoon, so I was hoping for - and received - a couple perks. We were given a voucher that I redeemed for a complementary bottle of white wine, but it took an hour and came with champagne glasses. We were given an upgrade to an ocean-view room, but noise kept us up or woke us up every day. I did ask about other room options, but the front desk felt we should be thrilled with what we had since I did book with points and I did get an upgrade. Honestly, I am struggling to complain because the perks were very nice -- they were just terribly executed. The rough edges of my experience may not bother you, so you may love this place. If you are expecting the comfortable and complete Westin experience, you might find yourself disappointed. September 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by By 'Westin' standards, this was a disappointment I must say that I was looking forward to spending some time on spring break with my kids in a 'Westin'-class faciility. However, I was disappointed in several areas: 1. The facility overall is just tired. There's no other way of putting it. My room had a balcony that was rusting, what looked like a DIY wooden cupboard nailed to the wall in the bathroom that housed the ironing board. By the elevator, pieces of the wall were exposed and falling apart. The bathroom felt dated. The outdoor facilities were decent but you could tell that the Westin, in Hermit-crab-like style, had inherited the property from someone else and just 'moved in'...a long time ago. 2. No control over guests - For two nights out of four, we were awakened at 2am by an utterly unruly bunch of young men next door. Loud screaming of profanity, lound and thumping music etc. Definitely not 'Westin'-class guests. Each time, I had to call down to the front desk for security. Once I had to call twice. 3. The internet service which you pay $30 a day for (in your resort fees) is painfully slow. In fact, just slow enough to irritate you into deciding whether you should pay even more for 'upgraded' service. It's these kind of niggles that one does not expect from the Westin. The coffee is so bad that you just have to go downstairs and buy $6 starbucks. "We proudly brew Starbucks" .... just not the free stuff in your room. On the positive side: 1. The location is terrific. The beach is pristine and close to the hotel. The beach activities are very good as well. 2. The restaurant, Tropica, serves the best food available in that particular stretch of beach. It's a pity it doesn't have the vibe of the other establishments. But then again, it's not a cheap watering hole. I'm happy that I didn't pay for this hotel but could my points have been better spent? I'm not sure. I definitely liked the location. If the property were updated, I'd visit again. March 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Brutal end to a nice vacation We spent 18 days in Maui, at 3 different resorts leaving what we thought was the best for last. All of our experiences with Starwood had previously been so good we even went to the Vacation club and purchased ownership prior to check in. The sales rep at the vacation ownership complex was the first person to inform us that there was renovations taking place at the hotel we were going to check in to. When we checked in our room was located on the 4th floor facing the dumpster from the renovations and the shute that all the garbage came down to the dumpster, (how romantic) After going to the desk in person to complain we were moved to a second room floor facing the garden. This room was okay besides being very dated, a musty smell from the air conditioning and dirty to the point of large cob webs in the center of the feature wall in the room. We dealt with this for 3 nights until retuning one afternoon to find 1/3 of the carpet in the room was wet, apparently from the renovations above. We were on our way out to a dinner engagement so they said they would look after it and leave information on what to do. On our return that evening there was a commercial floor blower in our room and no information on what to do. This blow was like a wind tunnel and when we turned it off we got a musty wet carpet smell. They then moved us a room in the newer area of the hotel at 11pm for our last 2 nights. this room was much better, although things were still not as clean as other Starwood properties and furnishings were let go and not repaired. It is interesting that this room was suddenly available when there was a big screw up and when we had the first misshap I even asked to pay for an upgrade to a newer room and got a response that there was nothing available for the duration of our stay. After all of this we were frustrated to the point that we cancelled the purchase of our vacation ownership. On a positive note we were treated very well by the sale folks at the Vacation ownership experience ( Duke) and extremely well by Kathy at the concierge desk prior to and throughout our stay. February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Resort. Some Staff Needs to learn Friendliness. My check-in experience was awful. Since we did not valet park, no one helped us with our bags. We had to unload them ourselves and I dragged it all into the lobby myself while my husband self-parked. The woman who checked me in was very underwhelmed with my questions and wasn't very forthcoming with information. Also, she didn't acknowledge my Gold status. I had to inquire about any available upgrades, to which she sighed like I was inconveniencing her and told me "There is just nothing I can do for you." Okaaaaay. We went up to our room and found it to be clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff were great all week. The restaurant staff were all great too. Bartenders, servers, etc were all really professional and efficient. The food was good too! They were really great at pointing out food/drink specials just in case we wanted to save a little cash on dining. The concierge staff were AMAZING. Moni sent me a letter before our vacation introducing himself and giving he his contact info. He also called me before our arrival to see if there was anything I needed before our vacation. After our arrival, he called our room to see when we were available to get our welcome package and discuss vacation plans and see if he could help us with anything. He really went above and beyond. He has great knowledge of the island and full of information! Thank you Moni! The staff at the Bell desk were always awesome, too. We did quite a few early morning excursions, so we picked up towels from them before heading out. They never did disappoint. The pool is really awesome. I especially love that there is an adults only pool. It was a nice place to have some quiet and read a book on a lounge chair. The water slide is fun too! Beach access is wonderful. Whalers Village next door is convenient. The shuttles are also really awesome. Overall, I would stay here again. It is a beautiful property with plenty of amenities. The only thing is that some of the staff need to learn a little courtesy. I understand that it is a huge property with lots of visitors, but that is no excuse, especially at a Westin with Westin prices. November 2, 2012
<<prev 24 25 26 27 28 next>>