The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 832 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms need update We thought the hotel had renovated rooms, but our two rooms definitely had not been. Also felt dinner the night of hurricane should have been handled in the banquet room as hotel letter stated it would be. It was a fiasco and we felt the bill for dinner should have been modified due to the inconvenience and ridiculous time spent waiting - 2 hours for a table and another 2 hours for, the only item offered, pizza! August 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Buyer beware...Not a very child friendly hotel We loved our room and it was up to Westin standards but the rest not so much...We chose this hotel because Westin advertised the great pools and location. The problem is there are no child pools. Every pool they have is over 4.2' so if you have a four year old good luck. Also there is not much self parking at the hotel so you will have to valet. There is also only one restaurant onsite that last night had an 1 1/2 hour wait and once we were seated it took 1 1/2 to get our food( and they brought our meal to us packaged to go which we had not requested). The food that the Westin offers is less than average. I would not recommend or stay at this hotel based on our trip experience so far... we still have three more nights so we are hopeful things get better. August 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The service could use some help We were not impressed by the consistant sales pitch from the concierge staff about purchasing a Westin timeshare. We were also told by the pool staff that none of the pools in Ka'anapali were heated only to find out later that the heaters were broken. The pool temperature was frigid all week. We enjoyed the location but the third restaurant is being rehabilitated so it was closed. We typically have better service when staying at a Westin. January 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by All good except.... When the storm hit, the hotel seemed to be at a loss in managing the dining volume. They had asked us to come back 2 hrs after we made the reservation, only to wait 1 hr more. Clearly the storm was not as strong in Kaanapali as it was expected to be but it is impossible to believe that all the hotel had to offer its guests were sub-par pizza. C'mon Westin, you guys are better prepared than that. All other aspects of our stay were good, though August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience at the hotel My stay at the hotel was quite disappointing. One day there was no maid service by 4pm, and when we did call and they came they did not leave enough towels or any amenities in the bathroom. They had to come back with both and the towels were shredded - something that I would be embarrassed to use at my own home, yet alone at a nice hotel. The next day we left our room at 7am and returned and 10pm and our room was not made up. When we called the front desk no one could explain why - and when they finally sent someone over to clean the towels we received were also shredded. I was later told that the towels were "off brand." The next day at noon I received a call from housekeeping that there was a human error and they did not send anyone to clean the room . Not sure how they did not have anyone down for my room, as it was paid in full two months before we arrived. The hotel was not staffed properly for a holiday weekend -it seemed as if the kids were running the place and no one wanted to take the blame for the horrible experience that we encountered. The trip was supposed to be a special stay for a family celebration. Additionally, our room is set to be renovated next week - and I do not believe that a Starwoods' guest should have been put in that room. The shower head was coming off of the wall, and there were dust bunnies from here until tomorrow between the wall and the shower head. I brought both the morning manager and the housekeeping manager to look at it - and they both smiled and did not acknowledge that it was disgusting. The manager(s) did not want to deal with the housekeeping issues- they wanted to pass it along to housekeeping - when really they should have taken responsibility and worked to remedy the situation. I don't want to know that there was a human error - as no one would have allowed me to make a human error and not pay. How you can be considered a nice hotel is beyond me - I would have imagined that someone with a higher rank than the manager on duty while I was there would have gotten in touch with me to apologize for what went on. Also, I want to understand why when paying (in addition to points) a resort fee one is charged for chairs and umbrellas on the beach at a beach front hotel? I think that is also despicable. It seems that where ever you can nickel and dime the guests you did. September 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not honor platinum benefits The morning of our arrival I checked the SPG website and saw all categories of rooms available. As a platinum, Starwood promotes an 'upgrade to the best room at check-in' and '4 pm checkout (if available for resorts)'. At checkin I was upgraded but not the 'best room in the house'. I requested a 4 pm checkout but was told that this was not available to those who had been upgraded (this I had never heard of and is not a Starwood policy from what I can tell). I was also told that a late checkout was not possible as the hotel was full but I could inquire the next morning.When I got to my room I checked the SPG website and it showed all categories available for the next night so why was a late checkout not available? The morning of checkout I once again checked the SPG website and saw all categories of rooms available for that night. As such I went to the front desk and asked for a 4 pm checkout. It took some arguing but I finally got itt. Because of not knowing if I could get a late checkout or not, I was not able to plan any offsite actrivities and as checkin left a very negative impression of the hotel, I did not enjoy my stay. February 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience all around... spent 7 days 6 nights at the hotel for our Xmas holiday... a mistake. When arrived, wasn't given any shell necklace... others were.... we had to ask for them. Room wasn't clean. Asked for more towels and some were yellowish. Called concierge to put our kids into Kids club, but concierge said I should have called a day earlier to reserve and it's all FULL. I thought I still go to the Kids club myself to see if any chance for standby... Kids Club wasn't full! in fact, only had 4 kids signed up.... so the concierge was too lazy to find out if it's full or not! SPG Gold should have received 10% off on the Kids Club, but didn't make the adjustment until I pointed out the mistake during checkout. The wireless Internet connectivity was very poor... keep on disconnecting and need to reconnect continuously. The breakfast buffet charges kids under 5, while all other hotel buffets we visited nearby didn't charge kids under 5.... lame December 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel; poor customer service This hotel is gorgeous (great pools and nice rooms). The beach is amazing, especially if you walk down to Blackrock where there is great snorkeling. It's also in a great location (next door to Whaler's Village for a quick bite and just a short drive to Lahaina, Maui's funnest town). The down side was the customer service. The hotel seemed overcrowded - hotel staff just couldn't keep up. Our room was dirty when we checked in and the staff was unhelpful and rude at times. Although we are die hard SPG'ers, this hotel tested our loyalty. November 12, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shocking There is little to redeem this hotel. 1. For what is offered, the rooms are terribly over-priced 2. The room was not ready on arrival 3. The room was dirty 4. The bed and pillows were awful 5. The staff are inattentive and lazy 6. Staff walked into my room at 8.30am when I was asleep. 7. Breakfast buffet was a trough July 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so great In defense of this hotel, it was operating at full capacity when we were there. It was explained to me that a room upgrade for SPG members can only be for one level up- so we were "upgraded" to a garden view room. This room was small and smelled moldy. When I complained, I was offered another room with a view of the roof a few doors down, with the same smell. I kept ours. They had run out of welcoming leis, check in was quick but the attendant did not review the map of the hotel or programs that were offered. All coupons and help in planning outside activities is done through your personal concierge who is interested in getting you to tour their timeshare villas down the street. Rollaway beds are gratis and comfortable but make the room seem smaller (340 square feet for a basic double room). Tips- get the daily schedule of hotel activities at the sometimes manned concierge desk across from the front desk, take the free ukulele lesson (very good). When self park lot is full, they will valet you for free (lot is quite small). Ask about the SPG kids program for food however, it is better to eat off site. Did not feel too special here- they did send us a bottle of champagne for our 15 year anniversary but this place lacked the personal touch and effort from staff. The lobby is breathtaking with waterfalls, flamingos and a black swan. But overall, I wished I had stayed elsewhere. Late check out was not available either and they d not let you know until after 8am the day you check out. November 16, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Inconsistent with Westin or SPG quality standards This is one of the few exceptions that I ran into, where I can see obvious departure from Westin Brand or SPG chain quality standards: 1) Our room was not cleaned after 8:50pm one day, and we did not have any signage on the door to stop them coming in to clean 2) Our valet parking ticket was lost by the hotel people, we waited 20 minutes under the hot sun for the car, until I noticed that 4-5 people came after us got their cars from the valet. 3) I notify the hotel management on this short comings, and there seems no apologies or make-up gestures for these very much hassles that we endured. 4) The breakfast buffet was abundant but not of high quality - even the taste of pineable was blend, and this is on Maui island. Not recommend! April 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a Disappointment!! From check in to check out staying at the Westin Maui Resort was a great disappointment. When we arrived at the valet we entered a war zone of a construction site. At check in we were met by Joven, customer service I guess is not his area of expertise, a surprise for a front desk representative. We were not given the requested room assignments, were told our pre-paid itinerary was not valid and there was nothing he could do. Reluctantly we proceeded with check in only to be informed the rooms were not ready. We waited most of the day for a call from the front desk, and promised when the room was ready they would call our mobile phone. After waiting hours for a call we decided to check with the desk only to find out the room had been ready for hours. We checked in and discovered we were on the second floor near the elevator and in rooms with a common outdoor walkway adjoining all the rooms, not feeling very safe, traveling with children who were sharing the adjacent room. In fact we were disturbed by a security person to retrieve a fallen bathing suit from a floor above. I contacted the manager Blake, and the theme continued, rude and unaccommodating customer service. After contacting SPG corporate and days later we were finally moved to an ocean view higher floor. As an SPG member and someone engaged in the film and tv business as a producer that books hundreds of nights at W's and Sheratons for my staff and partners I was shocked by how me and my family were treated. This was my 20th anniversary, and I had amazing experiences in Oahu and Kauai. No Lei greeting, gesture for our troubles. My stay at your property was very disappointing for my family and I, time and memories that we'll never get back. Live and learn, what a shame. sincerely, John S August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confortable Hotel Very good time in this vacations August 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Staff & Management The hotel was a little dated but still a nice property although $511/night seemed a little steep. Had major issues with housekeeping and having our room cleaned and getting turn down service; spoke with 2 separate housekeeping "manager" on 2 separate days and still nothing resolved. Then they shut off my internet access the day we were leaving and I had to go to front desk to get it turned on. I've never had that happen. Now I have been trying to have our billing statement emailed to us and after 2 weeks I still can't get it despite calls and emails again requesting it. Not good and very surprising for a Westin. April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Living in the middle of construction zone I have been coming here for over 10 years After this visit , it will be the last ! Booked 3 ocean front rooms but when I showed up I was informed I was downgraded due to overbooking ! Unreal a platinum member and years of loyal service . Nice way to be recognized . Great they are updating the hotel , but not a good idea at the cost if loyal spg members that book your most expensive room ( 3 to boot). The place was a full blown construction zone . When I booked I was told the work would be complete and not to worry . What a waste of time very disappointed . January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best We booked a week long stay to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and brought out two kids. The pool and slide were fantastic. Great beach. Ease of getting as many towels as you need, as often as you need. Self parking was a little packed, but they will valet park your car for free, if you can't find a place. Snorkeling right in front of the hotel was beautiful. We will likely return for our 25th, if not sooner. :-) July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Place to Stay We loved the Westin in Maui. It was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and courteous. We would love to return there some day. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pool This hotel has the greatest pool in Ka'anapali August 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sr Vice President The Wifi had one bar the entire stay. Also kicked me off so many times I lost count. Then on the last day I was woken up by construction work on my floor. The staff I dealt with were all very nice. Parking also was a nightmare. Those tinny spaces how do you expect anyone to park in them unless you have a very tinny rental car. I had a small USV and it was impossible to park December 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complaint was not addresed On my second day of stay, I complained to the customer relations manager regarding the subpar service in the hotel specially the beach services. She promised to refer me to the Beach Services Dept but did not received any call or email from the said Dept. The beach equipment (umbrellas & chairs) were sp expensive to use for only 2-3 hours!! June 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect vacation! The hotel was above and beyond all my expectations, especially after reading some reviews that were less than favorable. The staff was amazing, friendly, and very attentive. The hotel rooms were nice, and the showers, bed linens, TV, and furniture appeared updated within the last few years. The pool areas were fun and had a "spot" for every mood of the day from relaxing to playful (especially loved the water volleyball and basketball). The location was PERFECT! It's right next to tons of different restaurants and a quaint shopping area, which had an ABC store, making it easier to get all your regular items - sunscreen, water, snacks, snorkel gear - at a normal price. It was easy to walk over to Black Rock and enjoy a great snorkeling location too. The breakfast buffet was tasty, and I really enjoyed their restaurant Tropica. It was about the same price as other nicer restaurants, and the food was far superior in quality. There's an ahi and pork apetitzer that I highly recommend trying. Hands down, I loved this hotel and everything about it. I will definitely be staying here again and again. June 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointing My wife and I booked our honeymoon here. Due to our hectic schedule, we booked the trip the last minute and did not have to time to do any research. Instead we relied purely on our past westin experience. A Huge mistake! This is by far the worst Westin we've ever stayed at. How they received a 4 star rating is beyond my comprehension. The rooms are dark, old, devoid of any cleanliness that we came to expect of Westin. The bathroom tile is moldy and the tub /shower is caked with grim and soap scum. The set up is very strange as the closet blocks the view of the tv. The so called heavenly bed feels like it’s 30 years old and the chair cushions are literally falling apart. The rooms by the beach tower are better but you’d have to pay almost $200 more/night. Not worth it as the rooms there are merely the same level as Westin elsewhere. The staffs’ smiles are forced and their attitude befits of your typical cookie cutter soul-less resorts/hotel. If you want a characterless, overpriced dark dingy room resort, come here. Otherwise, save your money and go someplace else! April 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacation Ever The resort exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly . We loved being greeted by Mike daily and our pool service by Dwayne was wonderful everyday. My kids enjoyed Alex (the slide guy) as he became known as they swam everyday in the amazing pools. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Our luggage was accidently misplaced for a brief time and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us and make up for the small mishap. Everyone was helpful with tips of things to do ...especially Dwayne. Larissa was very helpful booking our excursions. So happy that she told us about the Luau on site because it was wonderful and my son loved the fire show . The trip was wonderful and we cant wait to come again!!!! July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel has great features the hotel has very good location which is at the beach, the room is big, comfortable and with nice view facing the sea. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ongoing major renovation Entire hotel being completely renovated. Workers started at or before 7am every morning, even on weekends. On some mornings it was noisy and would wake us up. Due to the renovation, much of the parking lot was taken up by the construction crew so was tough to park in the evening after dinner. Once renovation is completed I would recommend. Great location and close to Lahaina for good dining. December 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here - Sleep on a cot My family requested two beds for my family (father, mother, 15 year old daughter). We stayed for 6 nights and every night, my daughter slept on a cot. The Westin would not provide us a room that we paid for with two beds. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Management lacking First room-paint hanging off bathroom door; stained bathtowel, bed wrinkled. Got moved-next room running toilet, light out, water froze in refrigerator, mold in vents in bathroom. I reported the four issues in second room and was told an engineer would come right up. 6 hours later - nothing fixed. asked to see manager, he was busy (and never called me to follow up). repairs supposedly done and toilet continued to run, vents never cleaned. I have a picture of the vents BEFORE i cleaned them (they were causing me to sneeze and cough, i had to clean them). January 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by poor room assignment We were given a room (#403) that was extremely close to the renovations and it often sounded like we were in a dental office with the sound of power tools. Also our room was directly over the roof of the lobby and there was so much garbage on the roof we could not enjoy sitting on our balcony. When we commented to the front desk staff that said that it was hard to keep the roof clean and construction is noisy but no offer to change our room or give us a discount. We were so frustrated with our room location and the noise that after coming here for 4 years we are seriously considering not returning next year. Very disappointing stay. December 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by They understand loyalty I have stayed here twice for my annual mother daughter vacation. My six year old and I love it here! We stayed at all three spg properties last year and this one stood out. They upgraded us twice to the giant luxury suite. Took care of us and were very friendly. The watersides are huge. One hottub but it's Hawaii not the snow...food is good but pricey but it's a resort. The bartenders are generous...the property is just beautiful and right on the beach. The spa pedicure was amazing and my daughter could even hang out with me. I felt at home and catered to. So much that I brought my sister and her daughter with us. I will be back. March 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big disappointment Being a 75 plus night platinum member. No upgrades, front desk rude, first night, dirty bathtub, found out why in morning, plugged up drain. Moved next morning, vent in bathroom has 1/4" dirt on it, moldy! Sure has gone downhill the past year. Tried to get late check out, no response from front desk. Never will stay here again. I guess for family and kids is okay. Pool bar doesn't open until 11am, not many shade umbrellas by pool. July 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>