The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 830 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stay at the Westin We stayed at the Westin Maui in August 2012. Our first room was a mountain view on the 11th floor. The view was excellent but too small so we upgraded to the beach tower in an ocean front room on the 8th floor which was bigger & had an amazing view. After the switch we were very happy. It really made our vacation perfect. The staff was excellent! The grounds are beautiful with an amazing pool.( My 10 year old son loved the water slide) The location of the hotel is perfect. It is next door to Whaler's Village. Great shopping & very good restaurants. It is in the middle of Kaanapali beach so you can easily walk in either direction. Some of the hotels don't have a good beach in front of them so be careful when deciding which hotel you are staying at. (Not good for swimming.) We were very happy with the beach at the Westin. You don't need to go to another location to swim like some of the other hotels on the strip. We went to the Luau at the Westin . It was very good & convenient. Pay the extra money to get preferred seating. We did & were very happy. We also ate at the two restaurants. Both were very good. I went to the Westin Spa. Had a manicure & pedicure one day & then went back for a massage. It was one of the best massages I've ever had. Go to your appointment a little bit earlier so you can sit in the relaxation room looking out at the beautiful ocean view! The only reason I didn't give this resort 5 stars was because the rooms are outdated. I was told they were going to start remodeling this fall. Thank you Westin staff for a wonderful vacation! September 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by hotel room, staff, facility Upon check in on our Hawaiian vacation we were informed of hotel construction. Sure was. Our, very old, run down room was located on the 3rd floor directly above a large, smelly dumpster. Such a disappointment. The staff at the hotel told us we should have looked on the website where it mentioned the hotel construction. Like it was our fault. The elevators were shut down periodically and there was water leaking into the elevators from the top down. There was also water leaking through the ceiling in the main entrance. The hall ways on our floor were not air conditioned so you worked up a sweat just getting to the elevators. We had to go back to the front desk four times to exchange room keys that didn't work. Each time there was about a 30 minute wait because they were under staffed. The parking was a joke with parking spaces so tight you had to let your passenger out before you pulled in. Major door dings. For the most part the staff was very unfriendly. Not what you would expect when you are going to a place to have fun. The Westin Maui staff needs new blood or some serious customer service training. The counter people were noticeably unfriendly along with the restaurant employees at Relish. I can not believe this is a Starwood 5 star property. The best employees were at the pool and beach booth where sell the Maui Jim sunglasses. Joshua and rest of them could teach all of the other employees about customer service. Our concierge Kathy was very good as well. This is the first time I have ever sent a negative review to any place I have traveled and I did so for a living for 32 years. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff/Excellent Concierge Services This was our first time visiting Maui and staying at the Westin. We absolutely loved our stay and plan to return for another visit! We found the staff to be friendly. Most notable was the concierge services. Our first contact was with Patti by phone. She was energetic and bubbly and made us really look forward to our trip before we even left our home. Once there, we met Matthew. He was outstanding! He gave us great info on local restaurants and arranged our reservations for us. He also guided us on choosing a zipline outing, which was the highlight of our trip! He was so enthusiastic about his job, it was contagious. We will definitely stay here again! July 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by STAY AWAY FROM OCEAN TOWER The Westin Ocean tower was very disappointing. We checked in and went to our room in the ocean tower which was under construction. The hotel was filthy upon checking in. I have been in SPG properties all over the world, and this was the dirtiest SPG room I had ever stepped in. I politely walk back down to talk to the front desk staff. I am told the hotel is at capacity and there are no room changes available, but they would send the cleaning crew back up. I was then asked for a list of items that I wanted cleaned. ARE YOU SERUIOUS? I want the entire room clean. I mean there was dust everywhere; there were hairs in the bathroom, and trash still in the trashcan. THIS IS NOT ACCETPABLE. I understand you are renovating rooms and don’t want to sink money into these rooms prior to renovation, however the fact that they have been completely let go is just sad. People are coming from all over the world to this hotel, and you are not providing SPG quality rooms. Anyway, we go get a drink at the bar, and then proceed back to the room. It had been slightly cleaned up, but was still dirty. I walked back down and asked to speak to a manager. I explained the situation to the manger and they basically told me there was nothing they can do till tomorrow. So the next day we wake up and walk down to change rooms. We are told there is only one other room available, so we go check it out. It was in the beach tower (I think that’s the name). We go to room, which had been renovated previously, and it was clean, as an SPG property should be. The only issue was it backed up to the elevator so it was noisy, but ill take noise over dirt any day. So the rest of the stay was enjoyable. The pools were great, the beach was great, and the restaurants were decent. Beyond the extremely dirty rooms in the ocean tower the hotel was nice. August 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Definitely not a 3 start elite experience, not even a Starwood experience. As 3 star elite members, we are entitled to an upgrade, where available on check in. We checked in around 9pm and as opposed to even getting a regular room, we were allocated the small room right beside the elevator. People congregated at the elevator all night, throughout the night to go to Haleakula and early morning, all talking, shouting noisy. We got no sleep. The next day I asked to be moved, and they agreed to do so. They advised they would move all our luggage and items from existing room to new room. We played golf, were in the room very little and a day later I realized they had not moved my sun hat. I called and they located it within housekeeping. I asked to have it delivered to the room which they agreed to. The hat was not delivered. Next day we were checking out and I asked at reception to request my hat from housekeeping. Housekeeping no longer had any record of my hat, nor did security or lost property, but they would 'investigate' and call me back that day. I checked again with the hotel at 4pm and the lady at reception was most indignant this was not the hotels fault. They would call me back that day. It is now 11pm and no-one has contacted me. The hotel took full responsibility to move all our items from one room to another which they did not fulfil. Now they have lost some of our property and are still refusing to accept responsibility but worse still are acting like this situation is all our fault and bearing no responsibility at all. Most disappointing. We have been 3 star elite and stayed in properties all over the world - never has the service been so poor. We are owners in this resort in the timeshare property, so would expect the staff to go the extra mile. Alas, they failed to provide basic minimum service. Very disappointing, very poor service, and a very poor attitude to customer service. April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had an on the fence experience. I love the lobby space and interaction in the downstairs area. It is very bright and energized. If the staff improved I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. I expect to rest peacefully at such a quality resort but our AC fan rattled all night the first night and I got very little sleep, The staff response was to apologize and offer to fix it. On the second night the fan rattle kicked in at about 1 am and I slept intermittently. The staff response was to apologize. This tells me they don't understand customer relations well at all. I want my sleep back! I also find that some of your staff and generally service people throughout the island are very condescending to guests. I don't know how you solve this as it is just an attitude that seems to exist despite the fact that these same people depend on tourism and I am a pretty forgiving guy. There was garbage outside our room on the lawn and it stayed there for two days until my wife picked it up. Where are the groundskeepers? There was garbage behind the tables and below our bed and the furniture was worn and had threads hanging. The bottom of the bath door was frayed and splintered and looked awful. Thankfully Jeff, the very kind and well informed and well trained front desk manager had moved us to a better room that didn't overlook a roof on one side, Alas, wet couldn't access it until our third night. And unfortunately he was on days off when I complained about the AC. The pool is great except there are tiles missing on the bottom and along several edges and you have to watch you don't scrape or cut yourself on them. This should't happen with that many people using the facilities. After all this complaining, I would still go back because I love the downstairs atmosphere, the restaurants and mall beside the hotel, the beach, the great snorkeling (except the camera I bought leaked and ruined my shots of the sharks and turtles), most of the staff, (not the overzealous ones who try to sell you on Starwood tours when you want island tour information), the great beach and of course the weather. See you again. dm July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards Air conditioning was inadequate, room was hot. Once the sun hit our windows, we had to keep the blinds completely closed, thus negating the view we paid extra to have. There was construction going on in our tower, and pneumatic tools running all day. To noisy to enjoy the room. At the time I booked my room, had I known I would have booked the other tower. I attempted to upgrade, at my expense, to get out of the the noise, but of course there was nothing available. This hotel does not meet my expectaions of a Westin Hotel. The amenities are very nice, but the rooms are small, and for a family of four, very uncomfortable, we couldnt hardly move in our room. July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by October 2012 It started when we checked in, not enough staff at the front desk to help, our suite was not ready, we were unable to check in till almost 5pm. This lack of Front Desk staff continued thoughout the trip, including when we wanted to check out. Housekeeping - even though we asked for "green" service so the staff only had to clean our room 3 days out of the 8 we were there, I found the service to be unsatisfactory- the room just did not feel clean The food selection is slim, I know being located next to where there are many other eating choices is hard for the hotel, however, the hotel should have tried more heathly selections. The breakfast buffet was good. October 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We were disappointed from the beginning. Our initial room was located on the second floor and there was a drainage system attached to our balcony that had cigarette butts, wrappers, and rotten fruit floating in it. They moved us to the third floor and we had the pleasure of looking down and seeing the junk floating around for 6 nights. Twice during our stay our room was not cleaned. The pool chairs are rock hard! Guests were complaining about it constantly. They are meant to have pads on them, but no pads on any chairs except the few you pay up to $65 extra a day for. The hotel is just too busy! The Westin experience we are accustomed to just didn't happen for us. March 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is this really a Westin? We are loyal SPG Gold members and decided to give this resort a try however we were gravely disappointed. When we checked, as Gold members, we were offered a complimentary upgrade however the room was located in a section of the hotel which was undergoing renovations. They said that the renovations were on the 11th floor and that our room was on the 8th floor and we would not be bothered. The noise from the renovations was horrendous and our child was unable to sleep in the afternoon due to all the noise. We would have requested a new room but we were already unpacked and settled in. When we checked out and complained about it, we were told that the renovations were actually being carried out on the 9th floor directly above us and he could not explain why we were told the 11th floor. I do not know why we were misled about this or how the resort benefited from putting us into this room but it made for a less than restful holiday. There were 2 adults and a 3 year old child and We stayed in a room with two double beds and the rooms are very small. If you are with a small family you will find it very cramped. There were no folding stands to put your luggage onto so our bags were scattered on the floor and desk throughout the room. To make matters worse, the ceiling above the vanity area in our room was leaking and every morning there was a puddle of water and we would get dripped on while making coffee. Some parts of the resort are falling apart. The ceiling in the hallway by the Kids Club was leaking and they had a renovation crew working on it all week and tubs of dirty water and drywall to catch the water. They cut off the water to all units from 12:00-3:00pm twice during the week because of emergency repairs. SELF-PARKING is a nightmare! The self-parking lot does not have enough spaces to accommodate all the guests (almost everyone who comes to Maui rents a car). We rented a Jeep Commander SUV and the parking stalls were too small and larger SUVs would have to occupy 2 stalls thus taking up more space. We had to pay to valet on some days just because there was no parking and there was a line up of cars waiting to self-park. My 3 year old child (who had to ask for a welcome lei and was never offered one at check in) was even asking to go home by the last day.. November 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC! The place was absolutely awesome. Our room was clean and comfortable; the lobby blew us away as we walked in; the pool/ponds area was beautiful; the pools were not too crowded, big, fun, etc.; the beach was awesome. It is pretty expensive but I guess you get what you pay for. The only complaint that I have is that the restaurant on premises (Ono) was too expensive. We could get similar food for less at Whalers Village or Lahaina (and we did). It also made us sure to shop at Safeway at the beginning of our trip so that we could avoid some meals at Ono. But other than that, the place was absolutely incredible. We'd love to go back as soon as we can afford it. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Loved the location and the pool (though pool does need to be a bit warmer) very clean, but the staff didn't tell us about a few things like the calendar of events, the lockers at the pool, happy hour, free shows at the whalers village, Front Street, etc. surprised about the lack of information when we checked in and from conceirge. Rooms are too small, one tower a little dated. We didn't have a closet, just armoire, so where do you put your luggage?? Love the heavenly Bed! Tropica needs more ambiance, doesn't look inviting. I would stay again, but would request larger room. Great bar by the pool, but it's location would be nice if you could see the ocean too. December 8, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Year's Holiday Celebrations Lacking This was our fourth year to spend Christmas in Maui. Each year we come to Maui at least twice a year and spend most of our money at this hotel on food, spa etc. This year's Christmas celebrations were lacking. Even the Holiday Activity brochure was void of celebrations. It did however, have a great deal of copy dedicated to the SPA. Hotel management does not seem to us to have any clue as to why returning guests return during the Holidays. No outdoor Christmas music as in the past-used to have a three piece ensemble each night- even the Pineapple Cider was available in the lobby only until the 25th and then removed at the dot of 5PM. It was usually served until the day we left the island. Come on guys, what can this cost!!! We did arrive one evening at 5:10PM and it had already been removed as it was advertised in the so called lack luster Holiday Brochure as being available until 5PM. The buffet selections in Ono's for breakfast have been reduced and those dishes that remain were sometimes disgusting and not the quality that we had grown accustomed to. We cancelled Christmas Eve dinner at Ono's because of the poor selection but both of us were really looking forward to the sit down dinner at Tropica on Christmas Day. We were very disappointed with the meal and the service. It was an experience that we would encounter if we attended a restaurant here at home on Christmas Day where second string waiters were working and certainly not the service or quality of food that we have been accustomed to at the Westin Maui in the past. Normally, we would choose the Christmas Day Buffet at Ono's but decided not to this year as it was usually crowded but the food and selections just wonderful Come to find out after we left Tropica that it was only half full this year with people and not with the selections as is in the past. Hotel customer service personnel caulked it up to the hotel being one third under renovations. But we did not buy that argument as we heard many customer complaints in general. On Christmas morning there was not even any recorded music played in the common areas let alone Christmas music. I looked around in the common areas with the exception of a few browned Christmas trees, it did not even seem like it was a holiday, It is interesting that we can compare this year with the past and have noticed a severe decline in all activities, food quality etc. There was virtually no holiday activities during the past week for anyone over the age of 10. Unless we wanted to join the kids making ornaments or having smores. What is going on here? Perhaps an edict from corporate to cut back? If so, they don't have a clue. Hotel General manager was no where to be found and the F &B Manager lacked the interpersonal as well as business accumen to realize how essential it is to mingle with guests. We have known the past general manager and the past three F & B managers and always found them to be sociable professionals who went out of their way to meet and greet the guests when possible. This was not the management team practices that we had been accustomed to. We will certainly rethink returning next Christmas. Never thought I would even think this let alone say it. We have always raved about the Westin Maui to our friends and family. The only redeeming factor is the staff-they were wonderful-at Ono's for breafast, the valet service and everyone else in general. They remember us each time we visit, warmly welcome us, call us by name and are the most accomodating hotel personnel that we have ever encountered--and I travel at lot on business and stay in hotels. The restaurant and hotel staff really make us feel like Ohana and we feel the same about them. The reason for our return at least twice a year is because of the m. They are the best but unfortunately they alone cannot carry the hotel through its management and quality flaws. I hope someone will take our comments seriously. They are meant because we want you to be the best again even through the long overdue renovation project. You have a problem -many of them- that need to be resolved if you are going to continue to attract returning guests such as us. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The lani was fabulous! We were lucky to be ocean front fifth floor. So we took full advantage of the clean beautiful air, the rolling surf serenade and perfect outside temperture, by keeping our sliding glass doors open thoughtout our entire visit whenever we were in the room ! Everyone was very helpful, lunches were the best especially while poolside!! June 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status unrecognized We checked in early (9:00 am) & knew we would have to wait for a room. Front desk attendant said we would be upgraded to an oceanfront room. When we came back (2:00 pm) the room was still not ready and we were to be phoned. At 5:00 went back to front desk after never receiving a call. Assigned an ocean view room and told there was not any ocean front rooms or suites. received regular room keys and not platinum keys. Made a trip to exchange keys. Checked on internet and ocean front rooms & suites were available. Platinum keys didn't get us anything special. Never once thanked for being a loyal starwood customer. Oh well.... May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Location This hotel has a beautiful location on the beach front. The lobby area is beautiful with a pond, flamingo's and black swan, plus a relaxing atmosphere. Among the 5 pool areas is a very nice, quiet adult pool area. There is outdoor dining near the pool with great drinks and good food selections. And, there is another outdoor dining area beach front where we enjoyed breakfast. The hotel is right next door to an excellent shopping/dining area called Whaler's Village. Catameran cruises board about 75 yards away down the beach. There are 2 golf courses directly across the street. The only marginal thing about this property is the service level provided to SPG members. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feature fabulous hotel. This hotel is in a fabulous location and caters to various traveler needs. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff Member We stayed in April 2014 and we used the morning buffet at the Relish every morning. It was delicious. Most importantly Id like to point out the exceptional staff member we met, along with the great food. Carlito L. went above and beyond any expectations we have ever had. He recognized us from previous stays at Westin Maui. We would like to point out the quality of staff the Westin Maui provides along with the amazing hotel. We look forward to seeing and visiting with Carlito every time we come. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay at the Westin!!!!! This hotel is sooo enjoyable and relaxing. From the moment you enter, you truly are in paradise here. You are greeted with a lai and the women/men at check-in are so sweet. You go to your clean room and look out the window with incredibly beauty of colorful flowers and palm trees. The pool is so much fun. The kids love the slides. Mom loves the spa. My therapist name is Carrie. I been to her 4 times. She is a healer and so sincere in what she does making sure you are comfortable and enjoying her service to the full. After all the delicious foods at the hotel, you sleep in the "heavenly" bed and it is heavenly. I can never say anything bad about this place and I have been there probably over 15 times August 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Maui A Great Place to Stay We just completed a great 10 day stay at the Westin Maui and would definitely recommend this location for it's great amenities, staff responsiveness and resort experience. Having stayed at other resorts on Maui, the Westin is fully updated, features a great luau experience and has the best pool deck on the island in our opinion. We always felt welcomed and appreciated as guests. The timeshare tour for the Villas is also excellent and one we hope to take advantage of in the near future. Beach and catamaran tours which leave right from the hotel are a highlight of our trip ! April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Repeat Customer We have visited the Westin several times and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff and property are wonderful.We loved the new renovation. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hawaii with family 3 generations visiting Maui. We had previously visited Maui and wanted to take daughters family. All had a wonderful time, just too short. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Final stay in Hawaii Must complement all staff members for their kindness and service provided with a special mention for Chelsea from the Concierge Kawehi from the Tour and Activities the ladies of the housekeeping June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great lobby, ambience, terrific spa Spa services were excellent. The pools were awesome - esp the slides. The concierge lines were often busy - but that is a good thing - the hotel is busy! June 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice.....but We first stayed at the Westin Maui in 1990. We have stayed many times over the past 23 years. Overall we like it or we wouldn't keep coming back. We have noticed a decline in the overall pen ache of the resort over the years. Front desk staffing levels at check in times need some reassessment since many would be waiting for only one person working behind the counter. Resort is showing its age. This hotel probably gets the highest point redemption in SPG program which could result in the lack of financial resources to improve the property. We will return but we hope to find a refreshed property for our next visit. June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic resort This is our second time at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa and it just does not get any better. The entire layout of the grounds is specatacular and the staff does such a great job. Really love this place! June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful spot for honeymoon! My husband and i just got back from our honeymoon to Maui and we had a wonderful experience at the Westin! The pools and beach were amazing! We loved that Whalers village and the black rock beach were only a walk away! The food was a little pricey for what you got at the resort, but we had a car, so were able to drive 10 minutes down the road to some local places to eat. I have to say that Ronzi, one of the service express attendants was amazing! He took some photos for us and made a beautiful rose out of a palm frond for me.... he was a great asset to your establishment and was always welcoming us with a smile! August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average resort in an excellent location Excellent location on Ka'anapaali Beach, next to Whalers Village (shopping, dining) and golf course. The pools and lobby areas are gorgeous. However, the rest of the property is visibly dated and the room I stayed in could really use a facelift. It was clean but the decor and layout is very outdated and dark, although I have no complaints about the balcony overlooking the resort. Personnel are generally friendly. This resort is huge and very crowded and busy, not an ideal place for a relaxing beach vacation but great for families and fun and sun seekers. Avoid: the overpriced breakfast buffet which serves the same bland food every morning. Yet I was there 3 days in a row! December 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by employees We have been returining to the Westin Maui for many years. The location, pool beach, restaurants and everything are wonderful, but your main attraction is the staff. I want to especiaily mention Robert, the beach attendant, who worked his "tail" off making us comfortable. Above that, he was a friendly and pleasant guy whom we actually got to be friends with. I gave him a good tip, but I think he needs a raise! I will look forward to seeing him again on our next visit. Also, we loved Melinda, the hostess at Ono in the morning. What a joy to see her friendy happy face when we checked in for breakfast! We will keep returning to the Westin Maui because of your wonderful staff. July 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't go if you have kids and want a hot tub. We tried to check in around 11 am and were told the room wasn't ready early but we could go down to the pool area. Pool and hot tub are especially important to us. Their pool is one of the coldest. So we decided to go into the hot tub. Well the hot tub is in the adults only area so we couldn't even get near the hot tub because we have kids with us. Usually the kids just sit next to the hot tub, but at this hotel they aren't even aloud in the area. We left the hotel and went to another Starwood hotel in the area which had much nicer pools and a hot tub which the kids can sit next to. We will not be returning. :( September 13, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 29 next>>