The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

  • 2365 Kaanapali Parkway,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawai
  • 96761
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 883 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor hotel This hotel was not close to what I expect from Westin. July 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dated and dirty rooms! Upon arrival, we were told the room we had booked was not available, however that we were being upgraded to an even better room. When we entered our room, we did not have the King bed we had original booked for. Instead we had 2 double beds. The room was also in desperate need or an update/renovation. The carpet was old and lifting off the floor in several places. The room was also very dirty. I was afraid to touch the doors, handles, lights, etc. Everything had fingerprints or hair on it. There was even mold on the ceiling where we showed. Our room was also right next to the elevators which made sleeping very noisy. We stayed from Jan. 7th until Jan. 18th and would not recommend this hotel. Your outdoor facility - pools, etc. were beautiful. We didn't bother complaining as we felt what's the point!. The hotel was full and what would our options have been. The few times we did have to go down to the front desk - there was usually only one person working and the line ups were always long. In 2012 we traveled to the same area and stayed in a hotel that was slightly less expensive and had a better experience. Lesson learned - don't assume you'll have better accommodations if you spend more money. Very disappointed and will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location in Paradise Hotel is located in middle of Kaanapali beach and convenient walk to other restaurants and shopping at nearby Whaler's Village. Hotel is showing some age but still grand and the staff are exceptional. Restaurants were good but pricey like everything in Maui. We upgraded from an "Ocean View" room (which have oblique views of the ocean) to an "Ocean Front" room which faces Kaanapali beach straight on--extra $50 per night was worth it to us with one minor complaint--the Beach Tower overlooks the Tropica restaurant and for some reason the staff felt it necessary to set the tables at Tropica at 5:30 a.m. every day--the crashing and banging of dish carts woke us up at that hour every morning because we left the sliding door open to sleep to the sound of the ocean. The restaurant never had a customer before 7 a.m. so perhaps mgmt can correct this minor irritation (eg don't use the dish carts or set the tables as guests come in). The resort is first class in every way, except parking--the spaces are far too narrow even for compact cars so be prepared to do the limbo getting in and out of your car. We would definitely stay here again because the staff will do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable and the location is great for beach, restaurants and shopping. December 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location along Kaanapali! Sure doesn't take long to get on Hawaiian time here! Rooms were very clean. Buffet breakfast is outstanding, but not the room service menu. The 2 times we got room service the quality of the food was poor. It was like the items were prepared hours in advance, not fresh. The kids LOVED the pool when we were there, choke with waterfalls, caves, watersports. The parrots and flamingos were a real treat for them. The waterslide is FAST and thrilling. The Heavenly Spa lived up to the name, I had repeat visits it was so wonderful. One disappointing feature of the hotel was the lack of hot tubs in the pool area. The only one is in the adult pool area, and it is TINY. This family enjoys hot tubs after the sun goes down! I spotted 3-4 places where they could add one (or two) on the family side of the pool. This was a real bummer for us. The beach fronting the hotel is great for swimming. Luau on site was enjoyable. Concierge and activity/tours desks were extremely helpful and booked activities we were interested in. A real proactive approach, which I appreciated. I think this property could use improvement with SPG recognition/awareness. My profile says higher floor, and the first room we were given was on the 2nd floor, next to the elevator, and DIRTY. We would still come back here, we LOVED our stay and had a relaxing and great vacation! April 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED FOR MONEY SPENT This hotel was very overpriced and not five star quality.Room was dirty and bathroom looked as if a quick wipe was done.Room was too small and room amenity service was slow.We were very disappointed checkin was not until after 6 oclock at night,and we arrived at 1100 am and warned them via phone call still the last family to check in that night.we spent over 7000.00 dollars during our 9 night stay and left feeling poor and not rested.we were suppose to be recooperating from the loss of my father and we had a very long year caring for him we promised ourselves and our kids a nice relaxing 5 star top of the line vacation and were let down. August 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Experience The Westin is an outstanding Resort and we've returned several times. It is the best hotel location we have ever stayed at and we have been all over the world. We did experience a problem with our reservation this year upon arrival which was difficult to resolve. The management and staff were extremely helpful and thoughtful and we ended up with a fantastic experience once again. While it is normal to expect everything to always be right, sometimes its equally or more important to judge a company on what they do if a problem does occur because it is inevitable that something will go wrong somewhere at some time. They did an extraordinary job in recovering. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The right attitude makes all the difference The Westin Maui has gone through allot of changes over the years but it is still one of the best properties on island when dealing with the right people. Darryl at the front desk is great. Alix in CRM was very responsive and helpful. Kafe and Kurrent are always glad to see you at the pool. We have even seen our pool server Matt get promoted to management (well deserved) as he always strives to make sure we enjoy our stay and why I spend more on F&B because you want to eat where you are treated well. The resorts location and amenities are great when not overcrowded. All this being said and I do stay here allot (100+ nights) I will have to admit that consistency is not where I would like it to be. I cringe when I arrive these days wondering who will greet me at the front desk as I know it will set the mood and there doesn’t seem to be an in-between. Room placement/upgrades for Platinum/Golds can be magnificent or a struggle and for those of us who travel this is the one place you depend/need the upgrade. I miss the welcome party with management and wish they would show a little more appreciation for those of us who have patronized this property consistently even through the lower occupancy years not just the 98% full ones. All this being said if you are lucky enough to deal with the right people it is the best place to stay in West Maui if not I can understand the struggles. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has been "rode hat and put away wet"! Upon arrival we were told our room was being cleaned and would be ready at 4. We checked several times with the front desk as the time grew close to 5pm. Same answer every time "it's not ready yet" "we will call you when it's finished. Finally, after getting very frustrated after 5pm my husband went to the front desk to complain and we were told that the room was actually finished at around 3. Seriously! Biggest let down is the rooms are outdated and just plain worn out! Carpet in the hallways leading to the room are filthy and bunched and gathered. Walls look dirty and old. Bathrooms are again outdated. Tiles have cracks and grout missing walls just dirty Carpet in the room dirty, bunched and gathered with threads hanging out Balcony was cracked and bubble with paint lifting. Rails are old and dated Staff at front desk were very basically unhelpful and just the attitude of going through the motions Concierge were terrific Housekeeping were most helpful considering the very daunting job they are given Hostess for Relish is like a robot especially at breakfast. Like they are doing you a favor to take your name to seat you. Waiters and bartenders were great Valet were great Pool and beach staff were great Spa is worn out. Who wants to pay money for that! Blond spin class teacher is soooooo annoying!!!! Which many of us comment on after the class was over. Where was Alesha or an equivalent replacement while she was on vacation. April 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by location is beautiful and staff was friendly We really enjoyed our stay in Maui, the hotel is beautiful and the location is quite lovely. I found the cleanliness of the room to be horrible. There were discarded cigarettes on the patio of what we believed to be our "non-smoking" room. There was hair in the sheets of our bed when we pulled the covers back. The toilet did not appear to be clean and the bathtub was probably the dirtiest bathtub I have ever seen in a hotel (possibly ever). When we checked in, I called the front desk to share our concerns about the cleanliness of our room and was put on hold for so long that we decided to walk down to the lobby to complain in person, twice. To add insult to the matter, the cleaning person took cash that we had left in the room (it was amidst personal belongings, book, laptop, room key etc) and left a note saying "thanks". The money was not for her and I find it hard to believe that there was any mistaking this fact. The front desk and guest services credited us the amount that was taken and were very nice with handling the issue... but they didn't apologize or thank us for letting them know. The resort seemed very "family" oriented, lots of children. Our one complaint about the pool was that the hotel issues "towel cards" that we had to use to get towels at the pool. The staff made us wear brightly colored "westin" bracelets when we received the towels. It felt very "spring break" which was disappointing for a Westin in Maui. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifully remodeled rooms. Bathroom not designed with women in mind. Rooms feel spacious and inviting. The new glass walled lanai replaces the metal bars and gives a feeling of endless space. In the area of "Facilities Met My Expectations" I had to give it only a "good" rating. The room we had did not have a tub, which is not so much an issue, but for a woman, there is no place to shave your legs. The shower, while a bit larger in size, is not set up for doing this, and it would be an act of contortion, as well as a big mess, to try to do it anywhere else. Clearly the otherwise new and beautiful bathrooms had not been designed with women vacationers in mind. I would not want to stay there for more than a night or two. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service is inconsistent This was our third year in a row to stay at the Westin and unfortunately I feel as though the level or service has dropped over the years. It took us over an hour to check in to our room because the room we had pre-paid for (Deluxe Ocean View) was not available. The staff offered us a less expensive room for 3 nights and then we could move to our original room for the remaining 4 nights. This was not a great solution, in my opinion. In the end they offered us a more expensive room but we still had to stay in a room on the 2nd floor with no view for the first night and wasn't able to move into to our new room until after 4pm the next day. There were several other minor inconveniences that we don't typically expect when staying at Westin properties. For example, maid service was spotty. We were always out of coffee, sugar and cream. And if you don't call to let maid service know you're leaving for the day you are sure to return to and uncleaned room at 4pm. Additionally, we ordered a bottle of wine from room service, only to have them deliver to wrong bottle. They informed me they were out of the bottle I ordered and decided to substitute another bottle without asking. Maybe we just caught the staff on a bad week and were unlucky. Or perhaps the level of service has dropped since our first visit 3 years ago. Either way, we still had a nice time. You have to try really hard to have a bad time when you're in Maui. The Westin probably has the best pool and grounds on Ka'anapali Beach and we will most likely give the hotel another try in the future. December 20, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stay at the Westin We stayed at the Westin Maui in August 2012. Our first room was a mountain view on the 11th floor. The view was excellent but too small so we upgraded to the beach tower in an ocean front room on the 8th floor which was bigger & had an amazing view. After the switch we were very happy. It really made our vacation perfect. The staff was excellent! The grounds are beautiful with an amazing pool.( My 10 year old son loved the water slide) The location of the hotel is perfect. It is next door to Whaler's Village. Great shopping & very good restaurants. It is in the middle of Kaanapali beach so you can easily walk in either direction. Some of the hotels don't have a good beach in front of them so be careful when deciding which hotel you are staying at. (Not good for swimming.) We were very happy with the beach at the Westin. You don't need to go to another location to swim like some of the other hotels on the strip. We went to the Luau at the Westin . It was very good & convenient. Pay the extra money to get preferred seating. We did & were very happy. We also ate at the two restaurants. Both were very good. I went to the Westin Spa. Had a manicure & pedicure one day & then went back for a massage. It was one of the best massages I've ever had. Go to your appointment a little bit earlier so you can sit in the relaxation room looking out at the beautiful ocean view! The only reason I didn't give this resort 5 stars was because the rooms are outdated. I was told they were going to start remodeling this fall. Thank you Westin staff for a wonderful vacation! September 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by hotel room, staff, facility Upon check in on our Hawaiian vacation we were informed of hotel construction. Sure was. Our, very old, run down room was located on the 3rd floor directly above a large, smelly dumpster. Such a disappointment. The staff at the hotel told us we should have looked on the website where it mentioned the hotel construction. Like it was our fault. The elevators were shut down periodically and there was water leaking into the elevators from the top down. There was also water leaking through the ceiling in the main entrance. The hall ways on our floor were not air conditioned so you worked up a sweat just getting to the elevators. We had to go back to the front desk four times to exchange room keys that didn't work. Each time there was about a 30 minute wait because they were under staffed. The parking was a joke with parking spaces so tight you had to let your passenger out before you pulled in. Major door dings. For the most part the staff was very unfriendly. Not what you would expect when you are going to a place to have fun. The Westin Maui staff needs new blood or some serious customer service training. The counter people were noticeably unfriendly along with the restaurant employees at Relish. I can not believe this is a Starwood 5 star property. The best employees were at the pool and beach booth where sell the Maui Jim sunglasses. Joshua and rest of them could teach all of the other employees about customer service. Our concierge Kathy was very good as well. This is the first time I have ever sent a negative review to any place I have traveled and I did so for a living for 32 years. October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 50th Birthday The Westin is THE bomb-diggity! They treated my husband and I VERY well (last time too!) for my birthday trip! Got upgraded 4 levels into a very nice room, and the sunset was right smack in front of us every night! It was awesome! and not 30 minutes into room a very nice cake was delivered (they delivered another one on my birthday too...waiting in the room for me)!! We opted out of room service to "go green" and got a $5 coupon daily that was most helpful at the Pool/ Relish. All staff treated us well and we had a very nice time! It's a beautiful location and their pool ROCKS!!! Can't wait to go back! September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff/Excellent Concierge Services This was our first time visiting Maui and staying at the Westin. We absolutely loved our stay and plan to return for another visit! We found the staff to be friendly. Most notable was the concierge services. Our first contact was with Patti by phone. She was energetic and bubbly and made us really look forward to our trip before we even left our home. Once there, we met Matthew. He was outstanding! He gave us great info on local restaurants and arranged our reservations for us. He also guided us on choosing a zipline outing, which was the highlight of our trip! He was so enthusiastic about his job, it was contagious. We will definitely stay here again! July 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by STAY AWAY FROM OCEAN TOWER The Westin Ocean tower was very disappointing. We checked in and went to our room in the ocean tower which was under construction. The hotel was filthy upon checking in. I have been in SPG properties all over the world, and this was the dirtiest SPG room I had ever stepped in. I politely walk back down to talk to the front desk staff. I am told the hotel is at capacity and there are no room changes available, but they would send the cleaning crew back up. I was then asked for a list of items that I wanted cleaned. ARE YOU SERUIOUS? I want the entire room clean. I mean there was dust everywhere; there were hairs in the bathroom, and trash still in the trashcan. THIS IS NOT ACCETPABLE. I understand you are renovating rooms and don’t want to sink money into these rooms prior to renovation, however the fact that they have been completely let go is just sad. People are coming from all over the world to this hotel, and you are not providing SPG quality rooms. Anyway, we go get a drink at the bar, and then proceed back to the room. It had been slightly cleaned up, but was still dirty. I walked back down and asked to speak to a manager. I explained the situation to the manger and they basically told me there was nothing they can do till tomorrow. So the next day we wake up and walk down to change rooms. We are told there is only one other room available, so we go check it out. It was in the beach tower (I think that’s the name). We go to room, which had been renovated previously, and it was clean, as an SPG property should be. The only issue was it backed up to the elevator so it was noisy, but ill take noise over dirt any day. So the rest of the stay was enjoyable. The pools were great, the beach was great, and the restaurants were decent. Beyond the extremely dirty rooms in the ocean tower the hotel was nice. August 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Definitely not a 3 start elite experience, not even a Starwood experience. As 3 star elite members, we are entitled to an upgrade, where available on check in. We checked in around 9pm and as opposed to even getting a regular room, we were allocated the small room right beside the elevator. People congregated at the elevator all night, throughout the night to go to Haleakula and early morning, all talking, shouting noisy. We got no sleep. The next day I asked to be moved, and they agreed to do so. They advised they would move all our luggage and items from existing room to new room. We played golf, were in the room very little and a day later I realized they had not moved my sun hat. I called and they located it within housekeeping. I asked to have it delivered to the room which they agreed to. The hat was not delivered. Next day we were checking out and I asked at reception to request my hat from housekeeping. Housekeeping no longer had any record of my hat, nor did security or lost property, but they would 'investigate' and call me back that day. I checked again with the hotel at 4pm and the lady at reception was most indignant this was not the hotels fault. They would call me back that day. It is now 11pm and no-one has contacted me. The hotel took full responsibility to move all our items from one room to another which they did not fulfil. Now they have lost some of our property and are still refusing to accept responsibility but worse still are acting like this situation is all our fault and bearing no responsibility at all. Most disappointing. We have been 3 star elite and stayed in properties all over the world - never has the service been so poor. We are owners in this resort in the timeshare property, so would expect the staff to go the extra mile. Alas, they failed to provide basic minimum service. Very disappointing, very poor service, and a very poor attitude to customer service. April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by April Vacation This was our first time in Hawaii and felt the service to this hotel was mediocre. When we arrived to our room and started to unpack we discovered several roaches. I called room service and they offered to come spray which I declined because we were ready to go to sleep and did not want fumes in the room while I rested. They offered to change our room and again we discovered the same thing but I was already tired of the service we were getting. Parking was a nightmare and very few parking spots could fit a jeep sized vehicle. If you rent a smart car you should be ok. The facility is beautiful as you walk in and in the pool area. This is probably one of the nicer pools that I've seen. I wanted to lay out on the beach so I asked one of the hotel staff about the lawn chairs and umbrellas and he suggested that I go grab one myself which I did. As I lay down someone comes running and orders that I get up. He didn't ask politely nor ask that payment be made. The person "ordered" that I get up from the chair and go to the hotel activity counter if I wanted one. This was my first full day there so I did not know where I was supposed to go to request items but in my defense I asked a hotel staff prior to heading to the beach. If you choose a room I would not choose the opposite side of the ocean view. While you get a nice view of the mountain when you look up you also get a horrible view of the parking lot. All night you can hear the valet people whistling to one another and people as they arrive to the hotel. I stepped in one of the ocean view rooms while it was being cleaned and it is a spectacular view of both the pool and the ocean. I was also disappointed because I signed up with the concierge to do a sunset sail. I did not request a specific boat nor charter. My specific boat cancelled and they couldn't move me to one of the other boats because they were booked already. I scheduled my activity several months in advance to make sure I was secured. I was disappointed that they did not secure the individuals that booked early. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had an on the fence experience. I love the lobby space and interaction in the downstairs area. It is very bright and energized. If the staff improved I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. I expect to rest peacefully at such a quality resort but our AC fan rattled all night the first night and I got very little sleep, The staff response was to apologize and offer to fix it. On the second night the fan rattle kicked in at about 1 am and I slept intermittently. The staff response was to apologize. This tells me they don't understand customer relations well at all. I want my sleep back! I also find that some of your staff and generally service people throughout the island are very condescending to guests. I don't know how you solve this as it is just an attitude that seems to exist despite the fact that these same people depend on tourism and I am a pretty forgiving guy. There was garbage outside our room on the lawn and it stayed there for two days until my wife picked it up. Where are the groundskeepers? There was garbage behind the tables and below our bed and the furniture was worn and had threads hanging. The bottom of the bath door was frayed and splintered and looked awful. Thankfully Jeff, the very kind and well informed and well trained front desk manager had moved us to a better room that didn't overlook a roof on one side, Alas, wet couldn't access it until our third night. And unfortunately he was on days off when I complained about the AC. The pool is great except there are tiles missing on the bottom and along several edges and you have to watch you don't scrape or cut yourself on them. This should't happen with that many people using the facilities. After all this complaining, I would still go back because I love the downstairs atmosphere, the restaurants and mall beside the hotel, the beach, the great snorkeling (except the camera I bought leaked and ruined my shots of the sharks and turtles), most of the staff, (not the overzealous ones who try to sell you on Starwood tours when you want island tour information), the great beach and of course the weather. See you again. dm July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by First " impression of Maui " It was a wonderful time we celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary at Westin Maui R&Spa. Much mahalos to Ms Lonisia for setting us a comfi room overviewing its resort and almost full ocean view on 7th floor..Housekeeping lady was nice and very accomodating to keep our room clean. Buffet was a bum, local food..and parking..not a problem at all. And the resort itself,,thrilling and next to ocean breeze..WOW! Staff were great ! November 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin standards Air conditioning was inadequate, room was hot. Once the sun hit our windows, we had to keep the blinds completely closed, thus negating the view we paid extra to have. There was construction going on in our tower, and pneumatic tools running all day. To noisy to enjoy the room. At the time I booked my room, had I known I would have booked the other tower. I attempted to upgrade, at my expense, to get out of the the noise, but of course there was nothing available. This hotel does not meet my expectaions of a Westin Hotel. The amenities are very nice, but the rooms are small, and for a family of four, very uncomfortable, we couldnt hardly move in our room. July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by October 2012 It started when we checked in, not enough staff at the front desk to help, our suite was not ready, we were unable to check in till almost 5pm. This lack of Front Desk staff continued thoughout the trip, including when we wanted to check out. Housekeeping - even though we asked for "green" service so the staff only had to clean our room 3 days out of the 8 we were there, I found the service to be unsatisfactory- the room just did not feel clean The food selection is slim, I know being located next to where there are many other eating choices is hard for the hotel, however, the hotel should have tried more heathly selections. The breakfast buffet was good. October 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is this really a Westin? We are loyal SPG Gold members and decided to give this resort a try however we were gravely disappointed. When we checked, as Gold members, we were offered a complimentary upgrade however the room was located in a section of the hotel which was undergoing renovations. They said that the renovations were on the 11th floor and that our room was on the 8th floor and we would not be bothered. The noise from the renovations was horrendous and our child was unable to sleep in the afternoon due to all the noise. We would have requested a new room but we were already unpacked and settled in. When we checked out and complained about it, we were told that the renovations were actually being carried out on the 9th floor directly above us and he could not explain why we were told the 11th floor. I do not know why we were misled about this or how the resort benefited from putting us into this room but it made for a less than restful holiday. There were 2 adults and a 3 year old child and We stayed in a room with two double beds and the rooms are very small. If you are with a small family you will find it very cramped. There were no folding stands to put your luggage onto so our bags were scattered on the floor and desk throughout the room. To make matters worse, the ceiling above the vanity area in our room was leaking and every morning there was a puddle of water and we would get dripped on while making coffee. Some parts of the resort are falling apart. The ceiling in the hallway by the Kids Club was leaking and they had a renovation crew working on it all week and tubs of dirty water and drywall to catch the water. They cut off the water to all units from 12:00-3:00pm twice during the week because of emergency repairs. SELF-PARKING is a nightmare! The self-parking lot does not have enough spaces to accommodate all the guests (almost everyone who comes to Maui rents a car). We rented a Jeep Commander SUV and the parking stalls were too small and larger SUVs would have to occupy 2 stalls thus taking up more space. We had to pay to valet on some days just because there was no parking and there was a line up of cars waiting to self-park. My 3 year old child (who had to ask for a welcome lei and was never offered one at check in) was even asking to go home by the last day.. November 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Stay for my work travels I have stayed at this location three times now and the first time was not the best experience. It has continued to improve each visit, so thank you for taking the feedback! I also LOVE the complimentary room upgrade to ocean veiw. I book through my corporate Amex travel so my options are limited, and since I am only in Maui for two nights for work a nice view makes it a better experience. The room could be slightly cleaner, especially under the best/against the wall behind the bed. I dropped something and saw that it was dirty and found a dead beetle/roach not sure what it was. Overall, however, much better experience! August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC! The place was absolutely awesome. Our room was clean and comfortable; the lobby blew us away as we walked in; the pool/ponds area was beautiful; the pools were not too crowded, big, fun, etc.; the beach was awesome. It is pretty expensive but I guess you get what you pay for. The only complaint that I have is that the restaurant on premises (Ono) was too expensive. We could get similar food for less at Whalers Village or Lahaina (and we did). It also made us sure to shop at Safeway at the beginning of our trip so that we could avoid some meals at Ono. But other than that, the place was absolutely incredible. We'd love to go back as soon as we can afford it. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful beach and facilities Excellent breakfast omelet chef, fresh fruit and beautiful pools. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Loved the location and the pool (though pool does need to be a bit warmer) very clean, but the staff didn't tell us about a few things like the calendar of events, the lockers at the pool, happy hour, free shows at the whalers village, Front Street, etc. surprised about the lack of information when we checked in and from conceirge. Rooms are too small, one tower a little dated. We didn't have a closet, just armoire, so where do you put your luggage?? Love the heavenly Bed! Tropica needs more ambiance, doesn't look inviting. I would stay again, but would request larger room. Great bar by the pool, but it's location would be nice if you could see the ocean too. December 8, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Year's Holiday Celebrations Lacking This was our fourth year to spend Christmas in Maui. Each year we come to Maui at least twice a year and spend most of our money at this hotel on food, spa etc. This year's Christmas celebrations were lacking. Even the Holiday Activity brochure was void of celebrations. It did however, have a great deal of copy dedicated to the SPA. Hotel management does not seem to us to have any clue as to why returning guests return during the Holidays. No outdoor Christmas music as in the past-used to have a three piece ensemble each night- even the Pineapple Cider was available in the lobby only until the 25th and then removed at the dot of 5PM. It was usually served until the day we left the island. Come on guys, what can this cost!!! We did arrive one evening at 5:10PM and it had already been removed as it was advertised in the so called lack luster Holiday Brochure as being available until 5PM. The buffet selections in Ono's for breakfast have been reduced and those dishes that remain were sometimes disgusting and not the quality that we had grown accustomed to. We cancelled Christmas Eve dinner at Ono's because of the poor selection but both of us were really looking forward to the sit down dinner at Tropica on Christmas Day. We were very disappointed with the meal and the service. It was an experience that we would encounter if we attended a restaurant here at home on Christmas Day where second string waiters were working and certainly not the service or quality of food that we have been accustomed to at the Westin Maui in the past. Normally, we would choose the Christmas Day Buffet at Ono's but decided not to this year as it was usually crowded but the food and selections just wonderful Come to find out after we left Tropica that it was only half full this year with people and not with the selections as is in the past. Hotel customer service personnel caulked it up to the hotel being one third under renovations. But we did not buy that argument as we heard many customer complaints in general. On Christmas morning there was not even any recorded music played in the common areas let alone Christmas music. I looked around in the common areas with the exception of a few browned Christmas trees, it did not even seem like it was a holiday, It is interesting that we can compare this year with the past and have noticed a severe decline in all activities, food quality etc. There was virtually no holiday activities during the past week for anyone over the age of 10. Unless we wanted to join the kids making ornaments or having smores. What is going on here? Perhaps an edict from corporate to cut back? If so, they don't have a clue. Hotel General manager was no where to be found and the F &B Manager lacked the interpersonal as well as business accumen to realize how essential it is to mingle with guests. We have known the past general manager and the past three F & B managers and always found them to be sociable professionals who went out of their way to meet and greet the guests when possible. This was not the management team practices that we had been accustomed to. We will certainly rethink returning next Christmas. Never thought I would even think this let alone say it. We have always raved about the Westin Maui to our friends and family. The only redeeming factor is the staff-they were wonderful-at Ono's for breafast, the valet service and everyone else in general. They remember us each time we visit, warmly welcome us, call us by name and are the most accomodating hotel personnel that we have ever encountered--and I travel at lot on business and stay in hotels. The restaurant and hotel staff really make us feel like Ohana and we feel the same about them. The reason for our return at least twice a year is because of the m. They are the best but unfortunately they alone cannot carry the hotel through its management and quality flaws. I hope someone will take our comments seriously. They are meant because we want you to be the best again even through the long overdue renovation project. You have a problem -many of them- that need to be resolved if you are going to continue to attract returning guests such as us. December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hit Or Miss Hotel The hotel is currently under construction and that is where the problems can begin. Besides being greeted by saws and scaffolding, the parking situation is out of control. Self-parking is included in the resort fee, however, due to construction, the number of spaces is greatly reduced and one row is completely reserved for valet. I couldn't find a single space and ended up using valet. The valets reactions was "well, that's what you have to do then." At check-in I explained the parking situation and was told that it's up to the valet to decide if they'll waive the fee. I asked that since self-park was included, could I at least get a discount on the valet. Nope. The check-in process seemed pretty easy, but the person helping me didn't seem happy to be at work. In the middle of check-in she had to step away (reason unknown) and someone else came over to finish getting my keys, towel cards and hotel info. I went up to the room and the keys weren't working. After a few tries I went back downstairs. I takes a a nice person at reception who noticed that the person who wrote the key packet interchanged the numbers. With the correct room number in hand, I headed to the new room. The room is really lowly. I was in the Beach Tower, away from the construction. The view was amazing and the bed, as always, was very comfortable. There were only two issues with the room. 1 - the wifi was not usable in the room and it took dozens of complaints to get any attention. And I had to take to Twitter to get the hotel's front office manager engaged. For the most part, he was able to resolve the problem. The wifi worked great for about 24 hours after he fixed it...but it was hit or miss on my final morning there. 2 - the second problem was that at 11pm I noticed that I couldn't close the drapes in the bedroom. There were stuck. Since the sun would shine right in, I needed those closed. I called the front desk and didn't get an acceptable answer. I asked to speak to a manager and did speak with the duty manager. His first suggestion was "we'll send someone up in the morning." No. That wouldn't work because I didn't want to be up with the sun. An "engineer" came to my room and took about 20 minutes to fix the drapes and get them to a point where the majority of the light would be blocked out. In the process, however, he signed 7 times and rolled his eyes at least twice that I could see. He also stood on one of the chairs and left a boot print. He really seemed unhappy that he had to work. The pool-side restaurant Relish offers great burgers and sandwiches. They're expensive, but you're at a Hawaiian Resort, you have to expect that. The burgers come with the chains signature tator-tots and I really thought the whole meal was good. The service, unfortunately, was poor. No one came over after my initial order to refill a drink, see if I needed any condiments, etc... or to even see if I was enjoying the meal. I had to flag down the server. During my second meal there I had a similar experience - great sandwich but terrible service. The hostess and waitress stood side-by-side chatting away while I sat with an employ glass, the guy next to me was waiting to order and the next table over wanted to pay, but was contemplating walking away. The Tours and Activities desk is a joke. Literally. Toni was the most disorganized agent I've ever encountered. She got all of my tour times wrong and eft me 4 different messages with 4 different days/times which left me baffled. In addition (and this isn't reflective of Toni specifically) I paid $12-20 more by using the tour and activities desk than I would have if I'd booked alone. I went to the luau and I have to say, this was a highlight of the hotel. I know it's very, very hard to server 150 people and they did an amazing job. The food was the correct temperature. It was delicious.. I would highly recommend the luau even though it's a little pricy. You'll have a great time. The senior managers and members of the management team were helpful and wanted to get issues resolved. Unfortunately, the majority of the staff seemed unmotivated and uninterested in what was happening and if you were happy or not. The location, grounds, pools and beach make it a great destination. There are some challenges - hopefully many will get resolved with the completion of renovations. I probably wouldn't suggest staying more than 3-4 nights. December 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by My Vacation Great view. Most relaxing surroundings. WONDERFUL PLACE TO UNWIND.. October 27, 2014
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 31 next>>