The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 702 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Usual Westin comfort I slept well; elevators were fast ... even for a busy conference. Friendly staff. Great location on Michigan Avenue, if one should want to do some shopping. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice This hotel was booked very last minute and I was not sure what to expect. The staff were all very friendly. Hotel was clean and in a terrific location. My only downside is the pillows, they were very lumpy and not comfortable at all. If that is the only negative I would say it's a very good place and I will probably stay again. January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not staffed to handle capacity The staff was friendly, but we arrived at 11:00, knowing we could not check in unitl 3:00, so the family headed out to shop and sight see. Others arriving at 3:00 and later received their rooms beore we did - which was at 7:00 pm after shopping and waiting in the lobby for three hours, with crabby kids! Al the arline employees were given priority to check in before we were - they waited maybe 30 minutes for their rooms. Every day we saw people waiting for tieir rooms - appears the hotel does not have enough cleaning staff. The staff at the desk were all very young and inexperienced, but friendly. January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't expect to check in at check in time... We stayed here on December 28-29th. Check in time was at 3 pm, however no rooms were available. As of April 1, 2013, SPG changed their checkout time to 3 pm. There isn't enough time for housekeeping to turn over the rooms. There were several, 50 or more, angry guests in the lobby also constantly asking and checking in with the front desk about their rooms. Two and a half hours later after I repeatedly inquired about our room was when we were finally assigned a room, however not the room we booked. We had 4 people on our reservation, they gave us a king size bed, next to the elevator, in a room the size of a closet (room 1515) and offered us a rollaway in addition to the king bed. Because we booked our room through American Airlines vacations, they could not guarantee our required room. That is what the front desk manager said and that I would need to contact AA about it. To say the least, the hotel staff I dealt with was less than helpful. I have written letters to the general manager, front desk manager, American Airlines Vacations as well as the CEO. During the busiest travel season there should be limitations on who can check out as late as 3pm, leaving many people with no available rooms at check in. To say that our hotel portion of the trip was disastrous would be a good explanation. December 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Chicago hotel review There was a large group of family staying with you for a wedding. Just about all of us had troubles 1. with reservations prior to the check in and 2 after check in needing to change rooms becuase of loud neighbors or location of hotel room. I personally have a bililng issue that I've been trying to resolve since I made the res. 2 weeks ago and still have not resolved. I called 2 times before my stay to get resolution and was promised a call back from billing that never came. Then while at the hotel I asked 3 times for help, once at check in, once at check out, and 1 time during the stay while I was trying to help a family member to change rooms, and still no call. I plan to dispute the charge and then I expect someone will take care of my problem. My overal rating of average is because of the issues, otherwise this is a beautiful hotel and area and has great potential. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Views Available I am a hotellier and had an opportunity to bring my family with two small children downtown for a trip to Navy Piers Winterwonderland. We had an amanzing time. I had a bit of trouble figuring out where the line for check in was (even as far as upsetting a woman I did not realize was already waiting behind me) but Stephanie saved the day. Once I was greeted by her she was friendly, welcoming, and engaging. The room was perfect. My children could not get over the view it really made the stay. The beds were, as promised, heavenly. I only wish we had more time to spend visiting the outlets...maybe next time. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michigan Ave Westin Chicago 12/28/2013 We arrived at this hotel around 5:00p.m. expecting to be checked in since check in was at 3:00p.m. The lobby was chaos. People in line waitng to see a reservations employee. All of the lobby seating was taken with some people obviously angry. We waited in line about 15 minutes then get to the desk and found out that a room would not be available for at least another hour. As the gentleman next to us stated, "REALLY, A WESTIN?" These were my thoughts also. We went to dinner and were told we would be emailed when a room was available. We returned 2 1/2 hours later and still no email. Upon inquiring at the front desk found that our room was available but no one emailed us. Never was given a real reason why the delay. When this happens, it gives a traveler an uneasy feeling as if they are "homeless". December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weston experience Hotel was clean and staff pleasant and professional. Great location that is central to resturants and shopping. Initial request for feather pillows went unfulfilled. Parking at hotel very expensive $54, with a 28% tax rate added. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location Good... Rooms need updating The location of the hotel on the mile is great. The rooms were blah. There were cracks in the ceiling and you could see the dust in the alarm clock. The hotel rooms are in need of a major remodel to compeat with the other newer hotels near and on the mile. December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at other Westin hotels and the was by far the worst. The room had double beds, which most hotels have have queen size beds. The room was also was also small. The cleaning person, made one bed and not the other, due to 3 shopping bags being on the bed. She. Pull of moved them to make the bed. Our bathroom towels were not picked up, no clean glasses or plastic glasses were left. We called the front desk and informed them of this and the cleaning person came to our room and quote on quote, she said "what's your problem". If this person was kidding she should had said and it could of been reworded. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great night sleep When I travel to Chicago for biz or to take the wife and kids shopping, we stay at the Westin on Mich. Ave. No where else unless they are booked! Great value, beds, pillows (my wife and I bought the pillows they sell online since we sleep so well at this hotel). We recommend this hotel to any one, any time. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Service All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! Great experience! I just want to say thank you to the staff, specifically the front desk on Christmas morning. They were so helpful and in great spirits even while working on Christmas morning! Thank you! December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful customer service and terrific location Excellent customer service! The front desk staff on Christmas day was extremely accommodating. When we needed a tool to assemble a christmas gift, they got one in under five minutes, the coffee breakfast shop wasn't open as we were originally told, and the gentleman made sure we were taken care of for breakfast and offered coffees immediately. We were very impressed all around. Highly recommend this Westin! December 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor service There were a few things that we did not like about this hotel. We had absolutely no hot water for showers. When I called the front desk, they put me on hold for 5 min so I hung up and tried again. Same thing the second time. The third time, it went straight to voicemail. I've never stayed at a hotel where someone didn't answer within a minute. The refrigerator needed to be purchased, which I've never had to pay for at another hotel. The front desk asked me for late check out at 3pm and I said ok, but when we went to the room to get our stuff at 2:30pm, our keys did not work. We had to go back downstairs, wait in line and ask them to reset the keys so we could get in. Their response was "sometimes hat happens when you request it late". Well that was not the case. We requested it upon check-in. Bad experience and will not come back here. December 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location - rooms need some work I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel several times over the last year. Used my suite night upgrades and was upgraded to a corner suite with a terrific view of Michigan Avenue. I guess the hotel is hoping you are looking at the view the entire time vs. the serious work the room needs. The bathroom ceilings have peeling paint and are in need of serious repair. The windows let in the cold air and all of the street noise. Consider replacing them during your next renovation. No refrigerator in the room yet the room description indicated there would be one. Had I been paying the full price this room normally goes for, I would not be happy. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay This was a excellent visit we ate in for lunch and breakfast the food was great and the staff was outstanding. Great food good value especially being in the city. After we got home my son realized he left his ipod behind so disappointed to end such a great weekend. I called the hotel just in case someone found it Antonio Thompson Security took my call went immediatly went upstairs in search of it took my number called me back. The maid had found it I was thrilled so was my son. The ipod was promptly sent to us. Things like this do not happen often today,I would like the two of them to be praised for honesty and pride in the job they do for you Thank you and happy holidays to you and your st December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Place for Christmas in Chicago Location, Location, Location. This Westin is in the middle of the action on Michigan Ave, with easy access to roads heading into the area's neighborhoods. Our room was in an older section of the hotel, where the Heavenly Rest beds and new pillows were not in place. A bummer as the Westin is our hotel for these very amenities. Despite the rock-hard bed, we had a great time and the staff was great. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected More While the location of the Westin on Michigan was excellent, my stay at this Westin was somewhat lacking. As noted by others the walls are most definitely not sound proof, and while I accept that it is an older building, this nuance is something that staff should keep in mind when they congregate to air their personal grievances in the hall. Some of the other reasons for my reserved rating: trash (large chip bag) behind the night stand, room wasn’t cleaned and phone did not work. There were also mix-ups with reserving multiple rooms under one name and then after the mix up the group was given one room, but had to wait another 1+ hour (after normal check in time) and told to come back later because a second room wasn’t ready. I spent way more time at the front desk than I care to or would have deemed necessary. And perhaps I’m just unfamiliar, but when it is freezing cold out, and someone asks for a cab, is the first response supposed to be…”Are you staying at the hotel?” I was, but what if I hadn’t? Normally, I am very pleased with Westin properties, but this stay, hopefully was just an off week for staff. As noted, the location, for business and respite activities, was ideal. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location Shopping trip on The Magnificent Mile. Hotel was great location and met/exceeded our expectations. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location that is close to shopping on Michigan Avenue. This is second time in 2013 I have stayed in this Westin and last time I had a great experience and this time it was good to average. The hotel was very busy and the women at the check in told me something like 500 of the 700 rooms were sold that night. Great for the hotel, not so great for me. The room was small, located right by the elevator on a low floor and the carpet was stained in the room. Normally, I am able to stay in a high floor away from noise. I know the complaints are minor but it makes me think of looking at other hotels next time I am in the area for business or pleasure. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great stay Have stayed at this Westin several times, and am never disappointed. Frequently receive a room upgrade. Very comfortable. Wish they had a concierge's room for Starwood members. But very nice place and will not hesitate to stay there again. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location but less than outstanding service The hotel was nice, the staff was not. The Grill had slow service and unwelcoming staff as well. December 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Why bother staying here as SPG member The only good thing about this hotel is the perfect location for shopping, dining, and experiencing Mich Ave. Do not expect any recognition as a SPG member, absolutely no benefits received, informed about, or even greeted with upon check in during or my stay here. The rooms are dated with very limited amenities in them. December 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by westin shmestin after a long day of traveling we were told this was the only room available.. the room in the back of the elevator that overlooked all the air conditioning ducts on a rooftop landing. and when I said something about it to the front desk, all I heard was "I'm sorry".. nothing else.. no effort to do anything to make an loyal starwood member any happier.., very disappointed.. it was the worst view of my entire life.. no one should stay in that room 413.. ever.. December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chicago visit Overall my stay at this Westin was great great. We had no real issues and the room was clean and comfortable. The location was great as well if you like shopping. December 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noise Beautiful hotel but the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in - all night long noise from inside the hotel - not sure if it was the elevator or what but like I said I've never experienced that before from inside. We attended a wedding there and it was beautiful and the food was excellent. December 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pretty bad Stayed during a busy week and as a result was in a room next to a service elevator. 1 am and 5 am hunger by fellow guests resulted in me waking up to a loud "whoosh" of the elevator doors. Also, the phone handset in the room was broken and when I used the speakerphone to attempt to contact the front desk to get a replacement for the TV remote that was no longer working, the phone just rang and rang and rang. I gave up and ended up getting off the bed to change the TV channel. I expect a lot better for the price I paid. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in a great location Nice clean rooms. Staff nice/friendly. Yvonne at front desk made sure to accomodate my family one one floor as requested. Seemed hard to regulate room temperature, felt either too hot or too cool. I will say, you can hear everything from those people in the room next to you, expecially if there is an adjoining door in your room. Around midnight the people in the next room would come in, make sure they slammed door, talk, and then shower and blow dry their hair for about 30 minutes, it was horrible!! I could hear the people in the opposit room, with out the adjoining door, it wasnt as bad as those with the adjoing door. Noise from hall echoed into room. Not a bad stay, but if you want quiet make sure no one is in the room next to you. This hotel is in a great location!!! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary Service & Accomodations! I am a very frequent traveler and prefer the Starwood program because of its benefits over competitive programs. On this trip, I used points and was entertaining some very important guests for a charity function. When accomodations at another hotel fell through at the last moment, I contacted the Westin on Michigan Avenue and worked with Stephen Kaczmarek and Kristin Kulasik, They provided well above-and-beyond service and set my group up in a tremendous room. The whole experience left a very positive impression on the executives that I was with and cemented my loyalty to Starwood. December 9, 2013
  • 2015-05-21T20:18:29.291-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_702, tr_702
  • loc_en_US, sid_1030, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 25 next>>