The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 499 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor management and untrained reservationist I attempted to arrange a weekend for my wife and a few of her friends to do a little shopping and relaxation. The first time I called I made it very clear we wanted a corner suite with an adjoining room. Simple right, wrong! When I reviewed the email confirmation it seemed to be different and it was. After many phone calls with different personnel my wife and her friends ended up with a suite that was suited for business travel and another room (not adjoining) far away from the suite. Needless to say we are done with the Chicago Westin and perhaps Westin's in general. If you can't get something as simple as a reservation correct it's time to move on. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor management staff We had booked and filled 20 rooms for wedding guests. The bride reserved a suite for Thurs & Friday so she could have ample space to put on wedding dress and have the space to have pictures taken before the wedding on Friday. When the bride arrived she was told the only room available was a standard room. The manager (Darrel) should have been aware that 20 of his rooms were reserved for a wedding and plans should have been made to accomodate the bride. Reservations were made well in advance of the wedding. The bride was given a standard room at check-in on Thurs and would be transferred to a suite on Friday, the day of the wedding. When Friday arrived the bride was told she could not have the suite because another guest was granted a late check-out ! The wedding was at 4:00 and the move to a suite because of the late check out was at 4:00! The manager was rude when the situation was explained and was unapologetic about a late check out being granted to the brides room. Eventually a suite was located and the bride was placed in the situation which required deleting pre wedding choices. This all could have been avoided if the administration of the hotel would have been doing its job of examining the guest list and determining the needs of guests. This type of service is well below the quality expected from a hotel of this stature and cost. July 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at other Westin hotels and the was by far the worst. The room had double beds, which most hotels have have queen size beds. The room was also was also small. The cleaning person, made one bed and not the other, due to 3 shopping bags being on the bed. She. Pull of moved them to make the bed. Our bathroom towels were not picked up, no clean glasses or plastic glasses were left. We called the front desk and informed them of this and the cleaning person came to our room and quote on quote, she said "what's your problem". If this person was kidding she should had said and it could of been reworded. December 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what we'd hoped for... We went to this hotel, primarily for it's locale...we were taking our daughter for a special birthday weekend, to the American Girl store (which is just 2 blocks down the street from the hotel) and then to Shedd Aquarium. Unfortunately, we didn't get to the Aquarium...:( In a nutshell, the room next to us was "rented" to a younger couple that used it for party central. In and out, people in and out, laughing, hollering, smoking in the room and in the hall (my wife is highly allergic to smoke and this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). The smoke crept in, under the ajoining door and was quite strong smelling in our room. The worst of it was the "relations" that the couple were in engaged in. For over an hour, 1am-2:15am or so, we were regaled with the happy couple's "fun". We thought we were granted a reprieve after that...but no...THEN they were hungry and THEN they decided they wanted to make some calls on their respective cell phones...loudly. Calls to the front desk to complain went unanswered (did we catch someone on a break?). At 4am, with no hope of sleep and a strong thunderstorm overhead, we gave up....packed up and checked out. Only then were able to voice our frustration to someone at the hotel. He expressed sympathy and asked us if we wanted to speak to a manager. We said yes and then after a few minutes, with a manager a no-show, we opted to leave. They compted us our parking, which was helpful, but ya, we won't be back. April 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by more service made reservation for connecting rooms. called back to confirm day before arrival and reservation stated that was correct having connecting rooms. arrived around 11am. room were not ready and confirmed again having connecting rooms. then when we arrived back to hotel and checked in, the rooms were not connected. When you have small children you need connecting rooms. This is completely unexceptionable. November 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location - Average Westin As a recently turned platinum member I was very disappointed with this hotel. I feel the hotel relys on its great location to ensure customers keep coming back. I checked in at 4:30pm and it took me about 35 minutes to actually get checked in. There was a huge line of people and 3 front desk staff. The front desk staff seemed unconcerned about any status I had and "upgraded" me to a city view room. This hotel does not offer a lounge. Other than the location I didn't feel there was anything special about this hotel and there certainly wasn't the feeling of luxury. If you get a low rate and want to stay here for the location only, then you will enjoy it but don't expect more except a very long check-in line. December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by platinum rejected I checked-in two days ago and was told that I was getting a great room with a lake view. Great view, but I stay at SPG for Business, not pleasure. When I questioned the front desk about Preferred floors, I was told that all the rooms are the same??? After staying 50 + night a year at SPG, I know better. They have 9 floors for preferred quest and was not offered a move. Then I spoke to the Manager and he told me the rooms are the same, not true, I have a business associate staying on a “Preferred” floor and our rooms are not alike. So I was lied to and that is not acceptable! I also had to call to get downed pillows, which is on my profile. Be very careful booking here if you are a seasoned traveler and a SPG Platinum Member. Many more great properties in Chicago to choose from!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping a shame We had a dirty towel on the floor beneath our bathroom counter. That's a little gross, but didn't think much of it since the rest of the room was clean - that is until our friends were assigned a room that had not even been cleaned prior to their arrival! When they changed rooms, they were again given a dirty room with dirty towels on the floor. The front desk reply? "Oh sorry about that." Worst Westin I have ever seen. Halls are dingy and plain. Where is the stylish Westin I love? Lobby bathroom was pretty dirty - yuck! I expected more from a Westin. Lobby sundries was literally always closed, even in the mid-morning rush. In terms of location, location is great, but there are much nicer hotels for your money on Mag Mile with better housekeeping and a nicer lounge. We won't stay here again. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by whirlwind weekend Traveling from Ohio to Milwaukee to Chicago then back to Ohio is an exhausting proposition...the stay at the Westin was just what we needed to give us a boost...the view was great! March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Room Noise Level Our room was on the 10th floor. We could hear our neighbors conversation, word for word. Any noise in the hallway or room next door was enough to wake you from a sound sleep. March 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Surprsingly Bad I was shocked by how bad this hotel was for being a "high end" property brand. My room was run down with stains or fading on the glass tops. The ice machine on the fourth floor was in a dirty storage room next to trash cans, linen bags and room service trays. The bathroom also had plastic cups wrapped in plastic like you would get in a low end property. (I took pictures if Westin wants to see this lovely hotel.) Typically, I wouldn't write such a review, but I feel I got taken here. I attended a conference here, so I didn't shop, but certainly didn't expect a hotel this bad. Chicago is expensive, but at this price and Westin being a quality brand property, I didn't expect this. I think Westin should refund me part of my stay and if they care, work on fixing some of these things for future guests. On the plus side, the location was great. August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was a Cave We stayed for a birthday weekend using points but, with an upgaded room. The room was lage but lacking furniture (it looked like they got robbed!). The walls were empty and the room was pooly lit. It felt like an absolute cave. Was it clean? Yes. Would I call it nice? No not really. Would I stay again? Prob not. It was really disappointing because its a great location. The good news is that we couldn't stand to be in the room so we were out all day evey day. September 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for a refresh I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The location on North Michigan Avenue is outstanding for shopping. Over time the rooms have become dated and unkempt. This most recent stay was a 5-night stay. My shower had evidence of black mold. The room was very dirty and evidence of items left by past guests was present on the floor and behind the curtains. Room cleaning occurred very late in the day (between 3 and 4pm each day) For the price, I will not be staying here again. My SPG gold status resulted in no positive experience and I was placed on a standard floor despite multiple floors available for SPG guests. March 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor "Service Express" We enjoyed the deluxe package with a view of the magnificent mile. The view was great - the service was terrible. We ordered champagne and it never came. We ordered a key to the mini-fridge. It never arrived. We asked for bell service and waited 30mins only to learn they were never called. I ended up going to the lobby and getting my own luggage cart. We had late check-out and were called by the porter - asking us why we were still in the hotel. When we explained our late check-out status she said she would let it go "this time". If it wasn't for the view and the location we could not stay here again. November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite Chicago Hotels! I have stayed here many times and am never disappointed. Last weekend, we celebrated my sister's bachlorette party in Chicago. I live in the burbs and there was no doubt where this crew from Baltimore needed to stay. It was the perfect location: Next to a ridiculous amount of great shopping and steps away from amazing restaurants down Rush. We each had great views of the lake or up/down Michigan Ave. There were many things that the staff delivered to our rooms from friends and they truly made us fee special and welcome. There was no problem too small. As a platinum guest I can say this is one of my go to favorites...stay here when your in town..you won't be sorry. July 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to return! I typically, stay at a starwood property. This one was perfectiy dituated adjacent to the John Hancock center and the neighboring Water Tower Place mall. We came for my Son's 10th birthday. The kids spent time at both the Lego store and the Amerigan Girl shop. Upon return to the hotel from dinner at the Cheesecake Factory (Next door), Kira the Westin Hotel concierge, set up a surprise dessert table of personalized chocolate birthday card and a tray of fresh baked cookies and milk. It was so thoghtful and so elegant too. Great location. Beautiful accomodations. Great cutomer service and Kid friendly. Cant wait to return! January 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory As someone who used to dearly love and look forward to this hotel...this was beyond gutting. This was my little piece of solace in Chicago, and now...well, lets just say I won't be back. Why, might you ask? Well, the room was clean. The housekeeper for my room was meticulous. That being said, the constantly running toilet, the grotesquely hard beds, and the noise problem were terrible - all of which I've never experienced in a lot of visits before to this property. Didn't appreciate that checkin agent referred to my room as an upgrade, when in fact it was what I had paid for. And 30+ rings to attempt to get a hold of 'Service Express'...multiple times? I would've liked to have spent more money at the property, but i can't spend it on room service if no one answers, and having my keys reset twice? Houston, we have a problem - which is why we checked out a day earlier and decamped to a different hotel. Just terrible. Avoid like the plague. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is like coming home. We have a son who lives in Chicago so we visit the city several times per year. It is always wonderful to return to the Westin Michigan Avenue. Many of the staff members recognize us and everyone is always willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. Of special note was the treatment we received back in 2010 when an East Coast blizzard stranded us in Chicao for three days longer than we planned to stay. We were made to feel welcome, not as if we had inconvenienced the hotel by extending our stay. March 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big disappointment Our room was located directly behind the elevators and we could hear the elevator at all hours of our stay. Our view was depressing: gray buildings on all sides. We had to twist our necks to see a patch of sky. The desk chair in the room was dirty and the hallway smelled of smoke. This abysmal room ruined our otherwise pleasant trip to Chicago. April 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noise problems The hotel was loud from other guests in town for the outdoor hockey game. Main lobby restrooms were not cleaned and maintained. Gift cards for breakfast did not work well. They were out of stock on items and did not offer the same items each day. Overall we would come back, however this stay was disappointing. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit old? Room was a bit cold, hard to get warm although it was 10 degrees out side, window iced up. no tissue in bathroom, light in bathroom burned out, room clean but perhaps not perfect. Check-in very good, looked up and found my SPG #. March 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is very conveniently located. The lobby and registration can get congested and should be analyzed for traffic improvement by the Management. March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pretty bad Stayed during a busy week and as a result was in a room next to a service elevator. 1 am and 5 am hunger by fellow guests resulted in me waking up to a loud "whoosh" of the elevator doors. Also, the phone handset in the room was broken and when I used the speakerphone to attempt to contact the front desk to get a replacement for the TV remote that was no longer working, the phone just rang and rang and rang. I gave up and ended up getting off the bed to change the TV channel. I expect a lot better for the price I paid. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this trip We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member to check us in to our room. We were in our room only minutes when we were called by the front desk to let us know our room needed to be moved so the room could get serviced. Our second room had a loud running toilet. We asked for a new room at the front desk. This time the staff member was not so friendly. We did get a new room, but we were obviously a bother. I miss customer service. There was no apology or anything. We ate breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. I would suggest going elsewhere. Our meals were not good. We are SPG members. There really was nothing at this hotel that made being a member worth the price. We will not be back to this hotel. December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs an update I am an SPG platinum member and find the offerings in Chicago sub par. This has not changed with my recent trip. I booked a room at the Westin and was upgraded to a suite. I do have to say that the staff was very friendly and accommodating but this place needs an upgrade. The common areas look tired, the "heavenly" bed wasn't so much. This location should be a showplace for all of the Starwood properties in the area but is just a bit on the tired side. February 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing I stayed at this hotel five or six years ago, but had a bad experience. I thought I would try it again, but just another disappointing experience. I used my SPG "suite night" upgrades, for which I was placed in a room slightly bigger than a regular room which they call a suite. I always request high floor away from ice machines and elevators, so of course, I was given a room on the 11th floor across from the elevators and the ice machine. The "manager" didn't care and didn't make any sort of effort to rectify the situation. I won't be staying here again any time soon. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with this stay I stayed for 2 nights at the Westin Michigan Ave for a medical conference as an exhibiting vendor. Rest is very important so that I am my very best for my customers or potential customers. I did not sleep well either night. The first night I had an upset stomach from the squash soup at the Daily Grille. The 2nd night was due to very loud, obnoxious, and unruly guests whom security was called for. Undoubtedly security did not take care of the problem because the noise level continued throughout the night. I think the unruly guests were in suite 1000 and I was in room 1003. Just very disappointed that this occurs at such a prestigious hotel, that the rooms are not more sound proof and that security did not resolve or remove the offenders. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel in a great location Nice clean rooms. Staff nice/friendly. Yvonne at front desk made sure to accomodate my family one one floor as requested. Seemed hard to regulate room temperature, felt either too hot or too cool. I will say, you can hear everything from those people in the room next to you, expecially if there is an adjoining door in your room. Around midnight the people in the next room would come in, make sure they slammed door, talk, and then shower and blow dry their hair for about 30 minutes, it was horrible!! I could hear the people in the opposit room, with out the adjoining door, it wasnt as bad as those with the adjoing door. Noise from hall echoed into room. Not a bad stay, but if you want quiet make sure no one is in the room next to you. This hotel is in a great location!!! December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel is beautiful and has an ideal location. I reserved a suite for three nights (Thursday, Friday, Saturday) for my 64 year old Mother. My Mother works very hard to care for her 96 year old Mother, so relaxation and pampering were tantamount for this stay. My Mother arrived Thursday evening. No one cleaned the room Friday. Further, when she returned to the room on Saturday at approximately 2PM, the room had still not been cleaned. No new towels, soap, bedding,disposable cups - nothing. We were very disappointed and alerted the front desk immediately. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor service There were a few things that we did not like about this hotel. We had absolutely no hot water for showers. When I called the front desk, they put me on hold for 5 min so I hung up and tried again. Same thing the second time. The third time, it went straight to voicemail. I've never stayed at a hotel where someone didn't answer within a minute. The refrigerator needed to be purchased, which I've never had to pay for at another hotel. The front desk asked me for late check out at 3pm and I said ok, but when we went to the room to get our stuff at 2:30pm, our keys did not work. We had to go back downstairs, wait in line and ask them to reset the keys so we could get in. Their response was "sometimes hat happens when you request it late". Well that was not the case. We requested it upon check-in. Bad experience and will not come back here. December 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>