The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 654 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 offered complimentary wifi, still charged my card. I booked two double beds, but for unknown reasons, they had one king bed in their system. Took a long while for them to fix the issue upon checkin. Was offered free wifi and ensured it will be taken out from my bill. When checking out, the clerk refused to honor what I was offered. Emailed customer service and after two weeks, no one bothered to reply. Other than this issue, this hotel has poor sound insulation, you can hear your neighbor loud and clear. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accommodating I frequent this hotel both on buisiness and with my family. This particular stay was with my family. As always, our room and food within the hotel were delightful, and staff was helpful. During this stay, however, an employee at the front desk, Jasmine, was extremely accommodating and went above and beyond to assure comfort for my family during our brief stay. We very much enjoy visiting the Westin Michigan Ave. and will continue to do so much to the appreciation of friendly staff and comfortable surroundings. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Group Stay The hotel was fantastic for the group we had coming in town! I'm from Chicago and still opted to stay in the hotel because the rooms were great! Plenty of space and friendly staff! September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst experience I've ever had!! During my stay from 7/28 thru 7/30 I suffered an enormous amount of serious issues with the hotel cleanliness, comfort, moldy food from room service and humiliating treatment by Edith the manger and other manager staff members. I filed a lengthy complaint with Starwood. Yesterday 8/7/14 Stephen Kaczmarek Service Express Manager from the hotel contacted me by phone and told me the only compensation he was wiling to offer me was a $60 room service credit. They would not provide me with any credit for my stay. I requested a phone call from the General Manager of the property several times but he never contacted me during of after my stay. August 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not good for spg platinum Platinum aminity is limited, no lounge, breakfast limited to cheap starbucks that you will eat in your room or on cheap metal table near exit. I want to mention that Yvonne at front desk was very helpful. Elevators are old and shake a lot - not a good feeling. Room service is uneven. In my opinion, not up to what you expect from westin (I travel worldwide, this hotel is below average) September 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disapponted in our stay We chose the Westin Mich. Ave. because of the location and that was the best part of the hotel . Our rooms were directly across from the elevators. We could hear people getting on and off the elevator all night and morning! The tv did not work in one of our rooms and they were unable to fix it the first night and were unable to relocate us so we had no TV the first night of our stay! So much for getting away and relaxing! The rooms are very small and the decor is old and tired looking. The beds however were comfortable. The bathroom is extremely small. The toilet had a disgusting stain in it and the wallpaper was stained. The shower was small and not comfortable. Definitely did not meet the standards of other Westin hotels I have stayed at. March 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bathroom had no fan! The bathroom had no fan! Therefore, one had to shower with the door open, otherwise the bathroom mirror was dripping with humidity. There was, however, a filthy, dirt encrusted, inoperable fan above the shower, which was terribly gross to even look at. We did not receive housekeeping on Sunday, so when we returned to our room @ 6:00 pm, I called & talked to the operator & she said she would contact housekeeping & send someone up. When we returned from dinner @ 9:00 pm, the room had still not been cleaned. I Called again, & finally, someone came up. We were very inconvenienced, as we were getting up very early the next morning to catch a flight back home. Also, trying to sleep was difficult as to the noise in the hall & adjoining room. The bed was comfortable. August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Be careful booking here Parking is $57/day:1600/month! Got a room for my wife and I room was set up for one!one robe,one glass in bathroom,2 towels???Furniture in room again set up for one!I suppose you can use the bed but we don't like to.If you order room sevice do they give you another chair?The minibar ??? one bottle of GreyGoose and one Jack Daniels??? Wifi?? Why do we have to pay so much?you can get FREE wifi at ARBY's but not when I am paying $350 a night??? I guess I expected BETTER! October 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Luxury Starwood Choices in Downtown Chicago! As a platinum Starwood Members, we just completed our third stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue Hotel. As a Starwood Member, you have several hotel choices when staying in downtown Chicago : Westin River North, Sheraton, W City Center, W Lakeshore, Four Points, and Termont. We have stayed in all of these SPG properties except the Termont (which is a newly acquired Starwood property). Overall, the Westin Michigan Avenue is a solid average hotel. It is your second best choice when staying at a Starwood property. Your best choice is the Westin River North. Here's some back-up information on our decision. - Location- This hotel has the best location of any Starwood property in downtown. It is just steps from some of the best shopping in Chicago. Some of the higher rooms even have a lake view. Update Grades- As SPG Platinum Members, we have been upgraded during all of our stays. We were accommodated with wine, fresh fruit, and other amenities. This hotel treats their Starwood members very well. Clean and Well Maintained- Even though this property is older, it is clean and fresh. Rooms are updated and maid service is excellent. Rooms- We were given a suite with an adjoining bedroom during our recent stay. Large flat screen TV's and signature Westin bed were great. Starbuck's coffee and quick one cup coffee makers were handy. Refurbished gym was nice as it provided more options for tread mills, elliptical, and bikes plus free weights Hotel windows were older, leaked air and need replacement. Shower plumbing was noisy and water pressure was poor. We noticed their signature double headed shower heads no longer exist. Customer Service- Concierge was either not available or just not there. General phone service took several minutes to pick up. Bellmen seemed non attentive and not engaging with the guests. Please note it was Thanksgiving week which may have contributed to the less than noteworthy service. In summary, Chicago has some of the best hotels in the world. Unfortunately, if you're a loyal Starwood member, you have no luxury choices. No St Regis or Luxury Collection hotels exist. It time for Starwood to provide their members these options. We would like to suggest the conversion of the Westin Michigan Avenue as the first luxury SPG Hotel in the Downtown Chicago area. This hotel has the location and building to be a wonderful luxury hotel, however, in it's current state, it is just another average hotel. November 26, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Restaurant The one unexpected thing about staying at the hotel is the fact that there's a The Grill restaurant that serves as the 'room service' for the hotel. The Chicken Pot Pie and the homemade Mac & Cheese are to die for. Next time I am in Chicago, and stay at this Westin, that's what I am having for dinner, again! November 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible check-in experience We stayed with the hotel early Oct. Hotel room and facilities were all average Westin. Nothing standed out. Not impressed by the lobby. Flower arrangement was absolutely terrible.Check-in was painful experience. It took us at least 30 minutes. The line got longer and longer but they never added additional staff at front desk. Location is the biggest selling point of the hotel and it is indeed GREAT! It's on the north end of Magnificent Mile. Just next to the legendary Hancock and numerous shopping malls and boutiques. Only two blocks away from MCA. Ask for a room facing the street. You will enjoy the amzing street view from the room. But other than location, everything is just average. January 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service The service, accommodations, and amenities provided by this hotel were more than unsatisfactory, they were unacceptable. The deluxe room was less than standard at best. Wallpaper was peeling from the wall in my hotel room. Lighting was very poor. Food was mediocre and service was terrible. Service during dinners was nonexistent. My table had to wait on itself for water and coffee during dinner. Staff rushed eating by removing plates before you were finished. If you didn't keep one hand on your plate at all times it disappeared, and I am not exaggerating. I would not recommend this hotel for anything. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away!!! What a HUGE disappointment!! There's only one good thing about this Westin Hotel, the location. The hotel was run down, staffhad poor communication skills! I had booked a room and asked for an early check-in (noon). I arrived around 12:30pm and the room was not ready. I asked when will I be able to check-in, the lady at the check-in desk. I can't give you a time but we will call you when your room is ready. Three hours later, no phone call, I return to the hotel to find out that the room they had set aside for me had a late 5pm checkout and the room would not be ready until 6pm-7pm. This is not acceptable. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience Honestly, I chose this hotel due to fact that our family needs/prefers the comfortable bed experience. But, as always, starwood hotels always 'over deliver' in making your experience special. A HUGE thank you to the very sweet young lady who checked my daugher and me in - Carli. It was SO nice of her to have a little snack delivered to us. All staff treated us like family. Kudos again to Starwood hotels for 'doing it right'. December 5, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient location Very convenient location, super friendly and helpful staff (from bellman, to front desk to concierge). Wait for room service on a Sunday night was longer than expected (I was told 30 mins or less, took over an hour +2 phone calls for status). Hotel restaurant has good food but very $$$ - not ideal for family dining. Rooms are spacious and comfy. Showerheads are wonderful (rainfall type) with good water pressure, but the bathroom had some peeling wallpaper and there were cracks on the ceiling in the bedroom. Hotel could probably use some renovation in not too distant future. Elevators were fast. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service from all Hosted a two-day business meeting at the Westin. Couldn't have asked for a more attentive and friendly staff in every aspect -- from Emmanuel who helped rearrange the meeting room at the last minute and did so with a smile; to Kevin who helped with the AV and Brett in the FedEx office, as well as Leah in sales and Leonard -- who always checks us in with a smile. We return to the Westin year after year and are never disappointed. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Location Very comfortable rooms and service from staff was excellent. It was a shame that sleep was disturbed in the middle of the nights there by the loud banging of bedroom doors (difficult not to do). Soft closures are needed! August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improvement of billing process When I received a copy of my prepaid bill it reflected a charge for the Valet that I did not use! It was corrected at the front desk when I checked out. Also, I just noticed that they listed my company as The Magnificent Mile Inc - I was working for them on Sat but should not have been referenced as my company - as I prepaid with our business Credit Card (Woods Event Management, Inc.) August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Magnificent Location, Mediocre Service This property is located on the Mangnificent Mile, the best positioned upscale hotel, close to all the attractions and shopping. You could walk everywhere. There is great vibe about the location. This could be an excellent hotel. However, the property needs updating and improving in many ways. Rooms are dated. Food is average, parking is uber expensive and valet parking is completely slow and rude. Waited for more than 20 minutes to get the car. Service is at best mediocre. I waited for more than an hour for them to find my reservation. As a platinum spg I did not get the treatment that I should. I really had to beg for an upgrade, which should have been automatic. In the restaurant no one knows what's included in the platinum breakfast and the service was lacking. The manager seems to be bored and uninterested in running the place. It seems that is running this premier property as a barber shop. if he knows you, he treats you well, if not you are completely ignored. Indeed, a magnificent location, mediocre service. June 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff does not care I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last several years, but this stay is my last. I have been a gold member, but that was not recognized. I asked several months ago, and again in the last week, for a room on a SPG Preferred Floor, but was told that they do not have any. This is a lie -- it seemed that every other floor in the elevator was marked "Preferred Floor". I did not receive my complimentary Gold welcome gift upon arrival, either, and the concierge, when asked to recommend a nice place for breakfast, suggested the hotel's own coffee bar (with juice from a cooler) or a fast food place around the corner. Not helpful. I remember when the staff at this hotel used to care. Not anymore. Do not stay here. October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent room service I ordered breakfast to my room twice and both times, the quality of service and the quality of the food were excellent. August 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor management staff We had booked and filled 20 rooms for wedding guests. The bride reserved a suite for Thurs & Friday so she could have ample space to put on wedding dress and have the space to have pictures taken before the wedding on Friday. When the bride arrived she was told the only room available was a standard room. The manager (Darrel) should have been aware that 20 of his rooms were reserved for a wedding and plans should have been made to accomodate the bride. Reservations were made well in advance of the wedding. The bride was given a standard room at check-in on Thurs and would be transferred to a suite on Friday, the day of the wedding. When Friday arrived the bride was told she could not have the suite because another guest was granted a late check-out ! The wedding was at 4:00 and the move to a suite because of the late check out was at 4:00! The manager was rude when the situation was explained and was unapologetic about a late check out being granted to the brides room. Eventually a suite was located and the bride was placed in the situation which required deleting pre wedding choices. This all could have been avoided if the administration of the hotel would have been doing its job of examining the guest list and determining the needs of guests. This type of service is well below the quality expected from a hotel of this stature and cost. July 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! Great staff! This hotel is in a great location for all things about downtown Chicago! It was end of March, cold, breezy, and on and off rain, we walked up and down Michigan Ave, went up in the Hancock, had tea at the Peninsula, dinner at Del Frisco's, and explored Eataly! Great way to come from the Suburbs to celebrate a late March birthday! The hotel is a city hotel, refurbed, space is a premium, but the decore is pleasant , it was clean and comfortable. It smelled good. The staff was great, pleasant and efficient. Looking out the high rise windows is a mesmerizing treat to this ground level dweller! Thank you, we will be back! August 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what we'd hoped for... We went to this hotel, primarily for it's locale...we were taking our daughter for a special birthday weekend, to the American Girl store (which is just 2 blocks down the street from the hotel) and then to Shedd Aquarium. Unfortunately, we didn't get to the Aquarium...:( In a nutshell, the room next to us was "rented" to a younger couple that used it for party central. In and out, people in and out, laughing, hollering, smoking in the room and in the hall (my wife is highly allergic to smoke and this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). The smoke crept in, under the ajoining door and was quite strong smelling in our room. The worst of it was the "relations" that the couple were in engaged in. For over an hour, 1am-2:15am or so, we were regaled with the happy couple's "fun". We thought we were granted a reprieve after that...but no...THEN they were hungry and THEN they decided they wanted to make some calls on their respective cell phones...loudly. Calls to the front desk to complain went unanswered (did we catch someone on a break?). At 4am, with no hope of sleep and a strong thunderstorm overhead, we gave up....packed up and checked out. Only then were able to voice our frustration to someone at the hotel. He expressed sympathy and asked us if we wanted to speak to a manager. We said yes and then after a few minutes, with a manager a no-show, we opted to leave. They compted us our parking, which was helpful, but ya, we won't be back. April 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location This was a great location and facility for a large family to gather for a wedding. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by the worst WESTIN I lived. Hi, Kristin To tell you the truth, it's really not a good expirence in The WESTIN of Chicago. This hotel provide almost 0 benefit & service for P-card member. No room upgrade, no welcome fruit, no free breakfast, no happy hour. Almost of time when I press "Express Service" of the phone for service, nobody will answer the phone. I asked for housekeeping at 8:00 Am, and will see the housekeeping in my room after 5:00 PM when I back to room. I asked for delay check-out on 6:00 PM and be refused. What make me feel no good is when I come back to hotel at 3:00 PM, my key card doesn't work yet. and we already confirmed for delay check-out when I checked in. The room is old and no swimming pool in hotel. I can say it is the worst WESTIN I lived. Both hardware & service. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location - rooms need some work I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel several times over the last year. Used my suite night upgrades and was upgraded to a corner suite with a terrific view of Michigan Avenue. I guess the hotel is hoping you are looking at the view the entire time vs. the serious work the room needs. The bathroom ceilings have peeling paint and are in need of serious repair. The windows let in the cold air and all of the street noise. Consider replacing them during your next renovation. No refrigerator in the room yet the room description indicated there would be one. Had I been paying the full price this room normally goes for, I would not be happy. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location - Average Westin As a recently turned platinum member I was very disappointed with this hotel. I feel the hotel relys on its great location to ensure customers keep coming back. I checked in at 4:30pm and it took me about 35 minutes to actually get checked in. There was a huge line of people and 3 front desk staff. The front desk staff seemed unconcerned about any status I had and "upgraded" me to a city view room. This hotel does not offer a lounge. Other than the location I didn't feel there was anything special about this hotel and there certainly wasn't the feeling of luxury. If you get a low rate and want to stay here for the location only, then you will enjoy it but don't expect more except a very long check-in line. December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by platinum rejected I checked-in two days ago and was told that I was getting a great room with a lake view. Great view, but I stay at SPG for Business, not pleasure. When I questioned the front desk about Preferred floors, I was told that all the rooms are the same??? After staying 50 + night a year at SPG, I know better. They have 9 floors for preferred quest and was not offered a move. Then I spoke to the Manager and he told me the rooms are the same, not true, I have a business associate staying on a “Preferred” floor and our rooms are not alike. So I was lied to and that is not acceptable! I also had to call to get downed pillows, which is on my profile. Be very careful booking here if you are a seasoned traveler and a SPG Platinum Member. Many more great properties in Chicago to choose from!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location that is close to shopping on Michigan Avenue. This is second time in 2013 I have stayed in this Westin and last time I had a great experience and this time it was good to average. The hotel was very busy and the women at the check in told me something like 500 of the 700 rooms were sold that night. Great for the hotel, not so great for me. The room was small, located right by the elevator on a low floor and the carpet was stained in the room. Normally, I am able to stay in a high floor away from noise. I know the complaints are minor but it makes me think of looking at other hotels next time I am in the area for business or pleasure. December 15, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>