The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 591 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accomodating My agent had incorrectly booked another hotel. I was very impressed and appreciative of the help I received to change my booking to the Westin at the last minute. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Not impressed. Will not return. June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standard Uncomfortable mattresses in the room, furnishings are outdated. Really not up to Westin standards. Feel like I wasted my reward points. Lack of a lounge for SPG members is also a big weakness - its a big place, I am sure they could make one. Staff was very kind at least. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderul experience Thanks so much for a wonderful experience. Really, I usually don't take the time to complete surveys. But the exceptional service and quality of EVERYthing was phenomenal. From the front desk staff's graciousness at simply providing change for tips, to the Grill server and cooks allowing me to order breakfast item after the 11 am cutoff AND it being amazing, was so appreciate. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfaction I have stayed at your hotel 2 times already and am certainly looking forward to the third. Your staff is very accommodating and courteous, even the trainees. Congratulations! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff and location I arrived early , well before check in time and the gentlman at the front desk offered me a few options I chose to leave my bags and begin exploring chicago . The door man and bell hop took some time with me and gave me great advice on where to get started. While eating lunch I recieved a call that my room was ready , Everyone seemed to be there just to make sure I was getting the best teatment possible and having a great experience. Thank You June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Satisfaction Your staff was so friendly and welcoming, I hope to have another chance to come to Chicago. With me being from a different time zone, your staff was still friendly and welcoming at 3am. They really treated me like family. I hope to come and see you again. Thanks again for a great stay. June 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location - Average Westin As a recently turned platinum member I was very disappointed with this hotel. I feel the hotel relys on its great location to ensure customers keep coming back. I checked in at 4:30pm and it took me about 35 minutes to actually get checked in. There was a huge line of people and 3 front desk staff. The front desk staff seemed unconcerned about any status I had and "upgraded" me to a city view room. This hotel does not offer a lounge. Other than the location I didn't feel there was anything special about this hotel and there certainly wasn't the feeling of luxury. If you get a low rate and want to stay here for the location only, then you will enjoy it but don't expect more except a very long check-in line. December 19, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location that is close to shopping on Michigan Avenue. This is second time in 2013 I have stayed in this Westin and last time I had a great experience and this time it was good to average. The hotel was very busy and the women at the check in told me something like 500 of the 700 rooms were sold that night. Great for the hotel, not so great for me. The room was small, located right by the elevator on a low floor and the carpet was stained in the room. Normally, I am able to stay in a high floor away from noise. I know the complaints are minor but it makes me think of looking at other hotels next time I am in the area for business or pleasure. December 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by platinum rejected I checked-in two days ago and was told that I was getting a great room with a lake view. Great view, but I stay at SPG for Business, not pleasure. When I questioned the front desk about Preferred floors, I was told that all the rooms are the same??? After staying 50 + night a year at SPG, I know better. They have 9 floors for preferred quest and was not offered a move. Then I spoke to the Manager and he told me the rooms are the same, not true, I have a business associate staying on a “Preferred” floor and our rooms are not alike. So I was lied to and that is not acceptable! I also had to call to get downed pillows, which is on my profile. Be very careful booking here if you are a seasoned traveler and a SPG Platinum Member. Many more great properties in Chicago to choose from!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping a shame We had a dirty towel on the floor beneath our bathroom counter. That's a little gross, but didn't think much of it since the rest of the room was clean - that is until our friends were assigned a room that had not even been cleaned prior to their arrival! When they changed rooms, they were again given a dirty room with dirty towels on the floor. The front desk reply? "Oh sorry about that." Worst Westin I have ever seen. Halls are dingy and plain. Where is the stylish Westin I love? Lobby bathroom was pretty dirty - yuck! I expected more from a Westin. Lobby sundries was literally always closed, even in the mid-morning rush. In terms of location, location is great, but there are much nicer hotels for your money on Mag Mile with better housekeeping and a nicer lounge. We won't stay here again. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel! The Westin on Michigan Ave is the perfect place to stay- superior service, comfort and location. Don't miss this gem! Maria P June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The staff was exemplary and dining was very enjoyable. The only problem with my stay was slamming doors late into the night. I realize this is nothing you can control however, disrespectful guest being loud was very disruptive. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was a Cave We stayed for a birthday weekend using points but, with an upgaded room. The room was lage but lacking furniture (it looked like they got robbed!). The walls were empty and the room was pooly lit. It felt like an absolute cave. Was it clean? Yes. Would I call it nice? No not really. Would I stay again? Prob not. It was really disappointing because its a great location. The good news is that we couldn't stand to be in the room so we were out all day evey day. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Surprsingly Bad I was shocked by how bad this hotel was for being a "high end" property brand. My room was run down with stains or fading on the glass tops. The ice machine on the fourth floor was in a dirty storage room next to trash cans, linen bags and room service trays. The bathroom also had plastic cups wrapped in plastic like you would get in a low end property. (I took pictures if Westin wants to see this lovely hotel.) Typically, I wouldn't write such a review, but I feel I got taken here. I attended a conference here, so I didn't shop, but certainly didn't expect a hotel this bad. Chicago is expensive, but at this price and Westin being a quality brand property, I didn't expect this. I think Westin should refund me part of my stay and if they care, work on fixing some of these things for future guests. On the plus side, the location was great. August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for a refresh I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The location on North Michigan Avenue is outstanding for shopping. Over time the rooms have become dated and unkempt. This most recent stay was a 5-night stay. My shower had evidence of black mold. The room was very dirty and evidence of items left by past guests was present on the floor and behind the curtains. Room cleaning occurred very late in the day (between 3 and 4pm each day) For the price, I will not be staying here again. My SPG gold status resulted in no positive experience and I was placed on a standard floor despite multiple floors available for SPG guests. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by more service made reservation for connecting rooms. called back to confirm day before arrival and reservation stated that was correct having connecting rooms. arrived around 11am. room were not ready and confirmed again having connecting rooms. then when we arrived back to hotel and checked in, the rooms were not connected. When you have small children you need connecting rooms. This is completely unexceptionable. November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the westin on michigan ave. the westin Michigan ave. is a comfortable hotel with great food and service. I was very surprised that it lacked and indoor pool and/or hot tub. Also, the door closing mechanisms on the guest rooms are extremely loud and constantly disturbed my sleep. the proximity to shopping was a plus! June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite Chicago Hotels! I have stayed here many times and am never disappointed. Last weekend, we celebrated my sister's bachlorette party in Chicago. I live in the burbs and there was no doubt where this crew from Baltimore needed to stay. It was the perfect location: Next to a ridiculous amount of great shopping and steps away from amazing restaurants down Rush. We each had great views of the lake or up/down Michigan Ave. There were many things that the staff delivered to our rooms from friends and they truly made us fee special and welcome. There was no problem too small. As a platinum guest I can say this is one of my go to favorites...stay here when your in town..you won't be sorry. July 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to return! I typically, stay at a starwood property. This one was perfectiy dituated adjacent to the John Hancock center and the neighboring Water Tower Place mall. We came for my Son's 10th birthday. The kids spent time at both the Lego store and the Amerigan Girl shop. Upon return to the hotel from dinner at the Cheesecake Factory (Next door), Kira the Westin Hotel concierge, set up a surprise dessert table of personalized chocolate birthday card and a tray of fresh baked cookies and milk. It was so thoghtful and so elegant too. Great location. Beautiful accomodations. Great cutomer service and Kid friendly. Cant wait to return! January 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory As someone who used to dearly love and look forward to this hotel...this was beyond gutting. This was my little piece of solace in Chicago, and now...well, lets just say I won't be back. Why, might you ask? Well, the room was clean. The housekeeper for my room was meticulous. That being said, the constantly running toilet, the grotesquely hard beds, and the noise problem were terrible - all of which I've never experienced in a lot of visits before to this property. Didn't appreciate that checkin agent referred to my room as an upgrade, when in fact it was what I had paid for. And 30+ rings to attempt to get a hold of 'Service Express'...multiple times? I would've liked to have spent more money at the property, but i can't spend it on room service if no one answers, and having my keys reset twice? Houston, we have a problem - which is why we checked out a day earlier and decamped to a different hotel. Just terrible. Avoid like the plague. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is like coming home. We have a son who lives in Chicago so we visit the city several times per year. It is always wonderful to return to the Westin Michigan Avenue. Many of the staff members recognize us and everyone is always willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. Of special note was the treatment we received back in 2010 when an East Coast blizzard stranded us in Chicao for three days longer than we planned to stay. We were made to feel welcome, not as if we had inconvenienced the hotel by extending our stay. March 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big disappointment Our room was located directly behind the elevators and we could hear the elevator at all hours of our stay. Our view was depressing: gray buildings on all sides. We had to twist our necks to see a patch of sky. The desk chair in the room was dirty and the hallway smelled of smoke. This abysmal room ruined our otherwise pleasant trip to Chicago. April 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding Block and Breakfast at the Westin We recently stayed at the Westin and couldn't have been happier! We had a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding (including 6 guests rooms for my immediate family) and also hosted a breakfast at the hotel. The rooms were great - comfortable and clean. The breakfast was perfect - food was delicious and the setting beautiful. Though the wedding was off-sight, the hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating, and worked to meet our specific needs. June 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at other Westin hotels and the was by far the worst. The room had double beds, which most hotels have have queen size beds. The room was also was also small. The cleaning person, made one bed and not the other, due to 3 shopping bags being on the bed. She. Pull of moved them to make the bed. Our bathroom towels were not picked up, no clean glasses or plastic glasses were left. We called the front desk and informed them of this and the cleaning person came to our room and quote on quote, she said "what's your problem". If this person was kidding she should had said and it could of been reworded. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great downtown location The staff was exceptional & extremely responsive. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor "Service Express" We enjoyed the deluxe package with a view of the magnificent mile. The view was great - the service was terrible. We ordered champagne and it never came. We ordered a key to the mini-fridge. It never arrived. We asked for bell service and waited 30mins only to learn they were never called. I ended up going to the lobby and getting my own luggage cart. We had late check-out and were called by the porter - asking us why we were still in the hotel. When we explained our late check-out status she said she would let it go "this time". If it wasn't for the view and the location we could not stay here again. November 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff insulted me multiple times, hotel lacks basic features, horrible experience Where do I Start? Booked the hotel months in advance. I am an spg gold member and entitled to their benefits. Day 1, I approach the reception to check in. there is a dedicated counter for spg gold guests but it seems staff is accepting everyone so I have to wait. I talk to the lady who tells me since I am spg gold my room is upgraded (which is the norm with spg gold guests). So I am happy, I go along with my wife to the room and to our disbelief it is as basic room as it can get. What more they have not even give a room in the spg preferred guest floor. Neverthless I go back to the reception and tell them to double check as this is definitely not an upgrade. The staff tells me, that upgrade means that I have a nicer view. The room I have is on 18th floor, all I could see from my room was a terrace and yes a glimpse of lake. I told the staff that this was most definitely not satisfactory and if they could check any other option. The staff (Shannon) is helpful and tells me that I have 2 options either they will upgrade me to a suite on the 12th floor. But for this to happen I need to check out of my room leave the luggage downstairs wait till the evening and then check in. Considering we were staying here for a week. I decided to make the switch to a suite. I check out immediately after checking in and leave outside to just roam around and suddenly I get a call from the same lady at the reception. She informs me that there was a mistake and that I cannot be upgraded and I have to pay $50 a night if I want to. This was pure ransom. I had already checked out, they failed to inform me then and now while I am on the road they are asking for additional costs. I asked them if they could just give me a normal room as I don't want to pay anything more on top of $300 I was already paying. So I go back. I check in for the 2nd time, same issue, dedicated line for spg gold is taking everyone. I ask the guy for a welcome gift which spg gold members are entitled to and he gives me an option between points and continental breakfast for 2 for the duration of stay. I choose the latter. I go into my new room, and it turns out to be smaller. tough has a better view. Too tired to go and complain again we settle in. next morning I go to the only restaurant in the hotel to have my breakfast. Sit down and show them my continental breakfast card ahead of ordering and I am told that I am at a wrong place and this is only applicable at a small take away coffee shop in the lobby. Again I feel insulted, and to save the embarrassment of getting up again, I decide to order an pay. Evening that day, I call the service desk asking for help as I needed to see a doctor, she asks me to go to a hospital. I ask for an in house doctor and she puts me on hold. Forever. Tired I hung up and search on the internet and got and find it out myself. Next morning I go to the coffee shop to collect my breakfast. Apparently this is a complimentary service for the highest tier guests of spg, but at this coffee shop I am made to wait in a line to order at the counter. there are restrictions to what you can order and the cashier was not happy that I was getting away without paying them. They ask us to sign and fill some form. By no means is this a pleasureable experience. It feels I am on a line to get free food. and that's how they make you feel. the "continental" breakfast is a "small" cup of coffee, 1 pastry(from 2 options), a fruit and some cereal but all of it is self service in the lobby of a hotel. and yes if you want to sit, you have the cheapest possible seats which are hardly available at your disposal. anyway, I just took a coffee and left disgusted. Next day, I go down to get the coffee and say a medium size without realizing Im only entitled for a small coffee. the staff after giving me the coffee notices I am using the card and immediately tells me that its not valid to have a medium coffee in front of other guests. She gives me a stare and is frustrated that I ordered something which I was not entitled and makes me feel like a thief who stole a medium size coffee. She holds on to my complimentary card and tells me that she needs it and I should get a new one from the front desk. Today morning I go to the front desk and tell them that I need the same card as the coffee shop girl took it. He tells me that this card is only for platinum guests and I am not entitled to it. by this time I am frustrated and tell him I do not know that and his colleague gave that to me. Again he makes me feel like a theif who stole their card. the guy tells me repeatedly that I am not entitled to it and I was enjoying free breakfast for the past two days. I am shocked, thankfully there is no one around as it is early morning and I don't get to feel embarrassed again. I tell the guy that I got it as a welcome gift entitled for spg guests and he keeps on saying its only for platinum. Without any conclusion the guy just shifts back to his normal work leaving me standstill. I ask him about what I should do, and he tells me in his words "i have no qualms in giving this to you again" there is no hotel in the world that has made me feel so low and so pathetic. and he tells me its only going to be for a day as if he is lending me his ferrari. I walk away and tell him that he can keep it and I don't need it. This is the worst experience I have ever had in my life. I have seem poor quality rooms before, service orders getting messed up, and other issues with hotels. But never before I have seen in my life a staff who is tasked to show the customer that they don't belong here. Maybe I am not American and maybe that is the real issue. I hate you Westin and I am going to make sure my voice spreads. December 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing I stayed at this hotel five or six years ago, but had a bad experience. I thought I would try it again, but just another disappointing experience. I used my SPG "suite night" upgrades, for which I was placed in a room slightly bigger than a regular room which they call a suite. I always request high floor away from ice machines and elevators, so of course, I was given a room on the 11th floor across from the elevators and the ice machine. The "manager" didn't care and didn't make any sort of effort to rectify the situation. I won't be staying here again any time soon. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel is beautiful and has an ideal location. I reserved a suite for three nights (Thursday, Friday, Saturday) for my 64 year old Mother. My Mother works very hard to care for her 96 year old Mother, so relaxation and pampering were tantamount for this stay. My Mother arrived Thursday evening. No one cleaned the room Friday. Further, when she returned to the room on Saturday at approximately 2PM, the room had still not been cleaned. No new towels, soap, bedding,disposable cups - nothing. We were very disappointed and alerted the front desk immediately. October 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>