The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 716 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin North Michigan Ave-Chicago This hotel is need of renovation. For the price level and position the hotel was a disappointment for the first time stay. Room type was not available at check in even though the reservation was guaranteed. Staff did make a change on the room style the next day but disappointing. Also, food quite overpriced is seems. Simple breakfast for two at $60 seems a bit rich. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by chicago trip we have not stayed at this westin for a couple of years. once we arrived, we wondered why it has been so long. it is a great location ust steps to water tower or rush street. a great hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The check-in provcess was very unpleasant. Dariel (I belive his name was) helped me, after waiting for along time. I had better experience with check in process in the past, and a much friendly attitude. He was not able to pronounce my name. June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Features Great location, great facilities June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and amenities, but room was not clean My family and I recently stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue during our vacation in Chicago mid June. While we loved the location of the hotel, its amenities, and accommodations, my check-in experience did not start off on the right foot. Upon arrival at my hotel room, I walked into beds that looked as though they had been slept on (pillows were not in order, bed sheets were not neatly tucked), the recycle can was not emptied. After further inspection, the hand soap in bathroom was not sealed in wrapper, and the hand towel was laying on the bathroom counter as though it had been used and not folded. It was certainly not what I had expected from a top brand hotel, especially being that I work for a hotel myself. It was unacceptable. After notifying a staff member, I received a call shortly from the Housekeeping Manager apologizing for the state of the room. My family and I were immediately assigned to a new room that was in satisfactory condition. I do appreciate the prompt the attention to the matter, but still expected more. Other than that, staff was courteous and professional. Location was great, just steps from John Hancock Building, Water Tower Place, and Magnificent Mile. I took advantage of the New Balance Lending program, and frequented the workout room. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Around Best Stay I've stayed at this Westin 19 times and I've never been disappointed. I feel at home the minute I walk in. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty dissappointing We stay at Westin's for a reason - they are usually very clean and the rooms are nice & up-to-date. We were pretty dissappointed in the Westin Chicago - it could really use a room renovation. The location & staff are great, but the building itself needs improvement. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Michigan Avenue Very clean room and hotel. June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by OMG! No Customer service at all We arrived for a wedding at 2:15 -- was told room not ready until 3:00. Staff asked for a cell # to call for when the room is ready -- no call was ever made (sic). Came back at 4:00 to get ready for the dress rehearsal and again told no room was available. Staff recommended against changing in the downstairs bathroom and originally denied my request for a towel to use!! How hard is it really to get a towel in a hotel -- unbelievable! We used the bathrooms to change the entire family including our 2 young kids (what other choice did we have?). We came back after the rehearsal dinner at 10:00. YEAH! Room is now ready -- awesome. The night manager had absolutely nothing to say about the situation nor did he try to find an amicable resolution. No one apologized to us at all. We are new to the SPG program, are Gold members and have never been treated worse in all our travels. BEWARE and think twice before staying here. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is what a Westin should be The staff and hotel met all of my needs and expectations. As a business traveler you see a lot of hotels and this one will not disappoint. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is amazing The staff goes out of its way to anticipate your needs and to exceed your expectations. June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location, location Leonard was very helpful at check-in. The location is the best in Chicago! June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Review The hotel was very nice and the staff members were quite helpful. However, my room was dusty and there were several balls of hair on the bathroom floor - not my hair color. I would not expect this in a hotel in this chain and for the price per night. Unfortunately, my room was next to the elevator and the walls were somewhat thin, so I could hear the elevator moving. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, nice location in downtown Chicago This is a nice hotel and has a great location. The staff was extremely helpful and professional. The hotel could use a little updating, but still a very nice hotel. I had a wonderful view of lake Michigan! June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended hotel The location was great, the staff was helpful and the room was incredibly comfortable. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations It just seemed that there were improvements needed in many places. Specifically in my room there was a black-type mold in the shower area at the ceiling. There was also dust in the air vents that looked like it had not been cleaned in quite a while. The edges of the room also had that distgusting 1/2 of dust build up from not being cleaned well. The spa was just services and nothing special. Overall, I think there are better places to stay in the same location. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate Chicago has many choice. Great location The rooms are a little tired. Stained carpets. Bathrooms need updates For the money I would stay elsewhere June 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to standards of other Westin hotels I arrived and was put in a room with a double bed even though I had been booked in a king room. As I walked through the lobby to the elevator it smelled like vomit. I thought this was a one off thing, but it smelled that way all 3 days I was there. I asked a worker about it on day 2 and he just shrugged his shoulders. When I got up to my room there was blood or some sort of pinkish fluid smeared on the wall above the bed. When I picked up the phone to call downstairs and report it, the phone was sticky! I walked downstairs and asked to switch rooms, but was told there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full. June 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bathroom the tub had hairs in it. the toilet was the loudest i have ever heard when flushed. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel does not meet the Westin standards It is very obvious as you enter this hotel that it is not of the standard of a Westin hotel. Well below expectations, run-down, not a great atmosphere. Great location though, but will not stay there again under the existing conditions of the hotel. June 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Classic Westin This is the epitome of a classic westin hotel. Location is convenient, near plenty of good food, shopping, the lake front.. can't beat being on north michigan ave. Lobby is bustling and not the best place to relax. Rooms are classic, and good for a quiet and comfortable nights rest. All in all, this hotel is good, not great. I would recommend staying here anytime. June 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Not Much Else. I had a recent stay for 3 days and generally all I ask for is a clean bed and bathroom, I am NOT picky about hotels. However, other than the location, I was really disappointed here. 1. I heard some fidgeting outside of my door at 5:30 in the evening and peeked out to see what was going on, assuming someone just had the wrong room #. To my surprise – the door opened! It was a member of the room service staff coming to deliver a blanket (that we had not requested- wrong room) and rather than knocking he just tried to enter the room. I was in the middle of getting ready for an event and was not dressed. Not only did he have the wrong room, but members of the staff should NEVER enter a room without knocking first! To me, this is completely unacceptable. 2. I called down to see if someone could look at the sink in the bathroom where the hot water nozzle was broken, so the handle would move both directions and it was hard to stop the water. I was assured someone would be right up, but at the end of our 3 day stay no one had ever come. 3. Our room had a cobweb in the corner, peeling wall paper and a stain on the carpet – I would expect more from a WESTIN. I will say the hotel did a fabulous job with the wedding I attended, just wish that would have translated to a better overall experience. June 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location We were very pleased with our location... However, the computer connection did not work in our room, this was never resolved... The desk chair in our room was broken... Our bill at checkout was in error and required time to resolve. June 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing experience. This stay has made me question my SPG brand loyalty altogether. Despite being SPG Platinum, I did not feel as though I was a valued customer at all. I had two rooms booked and I made several call in advance to try to ensure we'd have quiet rooms close to one another. Upon arrival, I found they had booked us on completely different floors and BOTH rooms were directly next to the elevators (one room was not even on a preferred guest level). I approached the manager (Diana?) about the terrible room assignments and she was not friendly, apologetic, or accommodating. She said I could check the next day to see if anything else opened up. The next day I inquired again and their "solution" was to remove us from the preferred guest level all together. They placed us on the same floor (but not particularly near) our other room but they assured us aside from no apples near the elevator, our amenities would be the same. This turned out to be incorrect. On the 23rd floor, the pillows were lumpy foam, the amenities were different (less water, no nice robe, etc.) and we got a dirty room with a tub that only dribbled hot water. It is disgusting to find somebody else's hair in the tub. I was very upset to have to clean the tub before I could bathe. When I notified the front desk about the issues, the front desk guy (Romeo) was super nice but his hands were tied as to how much he could do by the management. Despite not being able to sleep due to the terrible room assignments, being duped into moving off the preferred guest level, having to clean somebody else's private body hair out of the tub and not getting regular platinum benefits, management refused to offer any room rebate at all. They offered me a nominal amount of points (which I never received) and poor Romeo could only offer a complimentary breakfast (which was cold and overcooked). I have to give kudos to Romeo as he alone exemplified what customer service truly is. He was friendly, helpful and kind. Even when he was telling me he couldn’t do anything more than comp breakfast, his sympathetic demeanor and pleasant attitude still made me feel like he cared about me as a customer. The one Platinum benefit they did give was a late check out but even then, only after they initially refused and I had to remind the front desk girl that I was a Platinum member. Though the location is excellent, the facility itself is very tired and needs a major overhaul. The décor in the rooms and hallways is Spartan and not welcoming which ties in with management's attitude. The hotel was full because of the jazz festival and it felt as though management’s attitude was if I didn’t like the room, they could fill it with somebody else. I'm not sure if they think they're in the hospitality or hostility business but I certainly did not feel like a valued customer. June 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by CONCIERGE - VERY SPECIAL We stayed at The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 14-24 May. We had a very good stay at a busy time for the hotel. We needed assistance with restaurant bookings and some of our party, also needed hair appointments and assistance with shopping trips. We e-mailed Rhoda many times prior to our arrival and again spoke to Rhoda a number of times during our stay. Some of eating engagements were either with customers or for special occasions. The restaurants that Rhoda suggested and booked were absolutely fantastic, the restaurant that stood out was Pelago which rates as probably the best Italian restaurant I have dined at. I would like to thank Rhoda for all her invaluable assistance, with all arrangements which was first class and excellent and made our stay even more enjoyable. I have stayed at many Starwood properties over the years and it is an absolute rarity to find someone with so much passion for their responsibilities as Rhoda. I trust the Starwood Group is able to keep the talents of Rhoda within the group. We are tea drinkers and we wish some of the Starwood properties had kettles in the room as a standard, in order to make this happen. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Started off terribly I was part of a group that was to check in on Friday. When we arrived at 2:50pm (check in time is 3pm) after running a marathon relay, and we were told the rooms were not available and would not be until after 4. I did not get a call that my room was ready until almost 5:30pm. Being almost 2.5 hours late for a check in is bad enough....as someone in desperate need of a shower, it was terrible. Then I was promptly given a room directly across from the bank of elevators, and of course my floor had many people getting on and off later in the evening while I was trying to sleep. Too make matters worse, many members in my group were either given bonus starpoints or vouchers from the hotel to make up for the room unavailability. I was provided with neither, though when I asked the next day (Sat), the front desk told me they would be awarded. But, as of now, they have not been. The hotel itself is extremely clean and well kept. The location is absolutely ideal. If not for such an awful first 12 hours in the hotel, this review would have been much different June 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed with My Stay This hotel has gone down hill!! Big time!! I used to love it here. Comfortable rooms. Accommodating staff. And a great location. NOT anymore.... This visit was disappointing. The catering staff and restaurant staff were absolutely terrible!! The way the catering manager spoke to me was inexcusable. The restaurant lost our order and instead of admitting it made us wait while all other patrons received their lunch. The shower water was lukewarm. Hammering and vacuuming began at 6:00 a.m. Complaints fell on deaf ears. I will stay elsewhere next time I am in Chicago. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for the business traveler I travel every week to Chicago and always stay at the Westin North Michigan. Great facility and perfect location. The staff has been great and always makes me feel welcome. The rooms are always impeccably clean. Highly recommended. June 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin I have stayed at I was moved 3 rooms for this stay. Room 1 was not cleaned out properly. Room 2 had a fly buzzing in the room and the 3rd room which I finally stayed at for 2 nights - there was such a stink when I turned on the bathroom tap. Called for New balance fitness wear and said I want to size S top and S pants. About 30 mins later they came with Size M top and a Size L bottom. Very disappointed! June 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Location This hotel is situated in a great location, easy to access shopping, trains, restaurants and close enough to go to Oak Street Beach and relax. The Grill Bar attached to the hotel has excellent food and the service was friendly. June 8, 2013
  • 2015-07-28T16:25:58.671-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-17, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_716, tr_716
  • loc_en_US, sid_1030, prod, sort_default
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 25 next>>