The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 572 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed to say the least I was very upset when I arrived and was told that the rooms were not ready and possibly wouldn't be until a couple of hours. I rarely receive time off of work and this was suppose to be a mini birthday vacation for me. Not to mention that I arrived at 5pm which is two hours after check in, I was given an estimated time of 8pm which is not even a full 24hours worth of stay. The bigger picture here is after complaining and asking for a manager twice, we finally received our rooms but there was a lobby full of people that were still waiting with children a luggage. Also, I can't recall seeing anyone on staff smiling. April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Westin tries The check in personnel acknowledged me as a gold SPG member upon check in and greeted me with a warm smile. However the sincerity lacks what I expected from an SPG hotel. I flew half way across the world for several business meetings and the first thing I needed upon getting to my room was some rest and food. The hotel mixed up my room service order, which was a first for me in an SPG hotel. Given that an apology was issued, but such mistake should not have happened. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in Chicago! I visited this hotel during the summer. It has THE best location in chicago! We were just minutes away from shopping, bars, and restaraunts. When we didn't feel like going out for food, the in room dining provided a delicious alternative. The staff was warm and welcoming and were very quick to help with anything we needed. This is the only Chicago hotel I will stay in from now on. Thanks to all the staff there for a great expirience! March 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful customer service and terrific location Excellent customer service! The front desk staff on Christmas day was extremely accommodating. When we needed a tool to assemble a christmas gift, they got one in under five minutes, the coffee breakfast shop wasn't open as we were originally told, and the gentleman made sure we were taken care of for breakfast and offered coffees immediately. We were very impressed all around. Highly recommend this Westin! December 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The customer service at this hotel was awful We had made arrangements To check in early we even called to reconfirm the check in and when we got there they had no rooms for us my husband is on crutches and we had a wedding to get ready for in less than 30 mins and the employee told us to use the restrooms and come back at 3 to see if a room would open. After 20 mins and a request to speak to the manager we finally got a room that was available but blocked to reserve by anyone but the manager. So the hotel had a room all along and had us wait for nothing not to mention the manager never came out to greet us or apologize for any inconvenience. We will never stay at this hotel again and we will tell others of our bad experience.We selected this hotel due to a wedding that was taking place there so the room should have been blocked out for the wedding. We will share this negative feed back with the bride and groom. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed Having stayed at several nights at different Westin hotels this year, I've come to expect what a Westin stay was like. This stay was quite disappointing. The room was filthy, the shower didn't drain properly, the workout room was completely inadequate in terms of the amount of equipment compared to the demand. I had a problem with my room key being demagnetized more than once in my two night stay. One of those times was when I completed a workout and had to co down to the front desk during a busy check-out time. I was completely sweaty and gross and had to wait in a long line of business people and there was only one person working the desk (at 7:00 on a Wenesday morning!). The clerk was quite rude demanding to see my ID when clearly I had nothing but workout clothes and a dead room key. When I have future business in downtown Chicago, I absolutely will not be staying at the Westin. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great first visit to Chicago Got into the city around 8 AM on a Sunday and was pleasantly surprised to be able to check right in! Shannon at the front desk was wonderful. Made the process go quickly and answered our questions efficiently. Hotel is in a great location, easy walk to lake, Rush Street and shopping. Only thing lacking was paperwork at our door for express checkout and lack of newspaper delivered to our room or even the elevator area on each floor--we had to go to the lobby each day for the paper. Who wants to get dressed that early!! We did have some noise problem with guests with little children, but a knock on the wall did the trick! One morning an over-the-top grandmother made a bit too much of a fuss over her grandchildren right outside our door. What was she thinking!!! Concierge was very helpful with all activities we researched and planned. A great vacation. Will spread the word about The Westin. August 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wish you would have told me As an SPG member the only gripe I have is that we had no idea that we needed to let the hotel know that we were staying until 3pm because we have never had to say whether or not we planned to stay at any other Sheraton. Long story short we were locked out of our room and had about a 30 minute ordeal just to get into the room. So you have been warned. Everything else was great. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired look The hotel has a tired look to it. May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by diss this when i checked in it was down hill from there. they placed 2 adults and 2children ina king bed that i was told at the time of making the reservation they had doubles.worst time and sleep of my life to come down for the parade activitesand be ignore by the staff very rude i felt like iwas a nobody there and they just wanted to filled rooms.never come back! November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and excellent location I've been staying at the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago for the past 5+years. The bar at the Grill on the Alley is a great place to unwind and food is also very good. Great restaurants and shopping is seconds away from the hotel. I have always been pleased with the great hotel service and excellent location and these two are what makes me keep coming back to this hotel. July 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stayed here so many times... And this time it was so-so. I am SPG Gold and got placed in an accessible room (which I do not need nor want instead of SPG floor. I got switched after I called. But no one wants to change rooms. After a long day at work, I arrived after 6 to find my room had never been cleaned. Unacceptable. So I am not feeling as good as I once did about this SPG property. October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service - Great Location! Great location, nice rooms, awesome Heavenly beds and great service all-around. Maid service found my diamond ring under my bed and placed it on my night stand after cleaning my room, very trustworthy - thank you! My room did show some signs of wear, the paint was peeling off the ceiling in my shower. Other than that I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great night sleep When I travel to Chicago for biz or to take the wife and kids shopping, we stay at the Westin on Mich. Ave. No where else unless they are booked! Great value, beds, pillows (my wife and I bought the pillows they sell online since we sleep so well at this hotel). We recommend this hotel to any one, any time. December 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nothing wrong, but nothing great either Our lake view room was comfortable but not overly spacious. A chaise-style chair was very comfortable and the step-in closet was large enough to keep our luggage out of the way. Our view of the lake was largely blocked by a neighboring building; while certainly a pleasant view for a complimentary upgrade, I'd not personally consider it worth a premium price. The lobby is long and narrow and felt crowded even with just a handful of people in it. The hotel was reasonably well-located for sightseeing, shopping, and business. The el/subway is about a ten-minute walk to the red line and as the hotel's name suggests, Michigan Avenue shopping is essentially at the front door. The platinum breakfast amenity is a credit at the coffee kiosk in the lobby, which was in my opinion inadequate. Overall, our stay was OK. Were the Westin the only Starwood choice in town, we'd return but we'll likely try one of the other Starwood properties on our next visit to Chicago. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location cannot be beat in Chicago! Just completed an 8 day stay in the Westin Michigan Ave. for business, and again was impressed by the staff and stellar location. The suite I was upgraded to made for productive meetings and a comfortable stay. I utilized the restaurant and bar and was completely satisfied. As always the staff was attentive and very helpful! November 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weston experience Hotel was clean and staff pleasant and professional. Great location that is central to resturants and shopping. Initial request for feather pillows went unfulfilled. Parking at hotel very expensive $54, with a 28% tax rate added. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my daughters Graduation! Everything was perfect we got a lakeview room. Room was clean and the staff was great!!! The location is perfect for shopping and eating. Lots of choices!!! Room was ready at check in at that was awesome!!! You can't go wrong staying here!!! July 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unpleasant experience. Hotel is very noisy. In the middle of the night a neighbor was being very noisy, when we tried to call the front desk the phone in the room was not functioning. Had to use cell phone to call hotel, over an hour later someone finally came to quiet the neighbors. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing personal service We love to stay at this Westin for it's central location to Rush & Oak shopping - as well as the great Michigan Ave strip. But most of all, we appreciate the wonderful personal attention we receive from the management staff - specifically Nurper. She's incredibly thoughtful and always accommodating. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Edythe considering the transfer from one hotel to another, it was an excellent transition. Thanks to Phillip and Alex. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by traveljune The accomodations were fabulous and the staff made the celebration of my daughters birthday wonderful. After a day of shopping we arrived to our room and found a birthday cake & card for my daughter, she loved it. A special touch that will provide a great memory. We plan on staying here again. June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Wedding Local Though the wedding we attended was not in the Westin on Michigan Ave., it was the perfect hotel. The staff was welcoming, and the location could not be beat. Thanks to the concierge, we were able to walk to the most interesting restaurants and other fascinating destinations. Highly recommend! March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! Great experience! I just want to say thank you to the staff, specifically the front desk on Christmas morning. They were so helpful and in great spirits even while working on Christmas morning! Thank you! December 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel left a great deal to be desired Stayed in room 2244. There was hair in the bathtub. Trash (rubber band and a wrapper) on the floor when I entered. The carpet is coming up. When checking in the process was easy. When leaving I had to wait 35 minutes to leave as two lanes were open at 9a.m. in the morning. Unacceptable. April 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor management and untrained reservationist I attempted to arrange a weekend for my wife and a few of her friends to do a little shopping and relaxation. The first time I called I made it very clear we wanted a corner suite with an adjoining room. Simple right, wrong! When I reviewed the email confirmation it seemed to be different and it was. After many phone calls with different personnel my wife and her friends ended up with a suite that was suited for business travel and another room (not adjoining) far away from the suite. Needless to say we are done with the Chicago Westin and perhaps Westin's in general. If you can't get something as simple as a reservation correct it's time to move on. February 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service, no SPG recognition I had to wait an hour and 20 minutes for check in, then received very poor, rude and unacceptable service, worst I've ever been treated at a Westin. Was then dismissed to a very small and unclean room. I will never return to this Westin and do not recommend it to anyone. November 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Location and a GREAT bed! In terms of location, it is the best hotel in Chicago. It´s close to most of tourist spots, and neighbor to John Hancock Center (the visit to John Hancock Center is mandatory - the view is great, even better than Skydeck, because you have a great view of Michigan Lake). Located at the best Avenue for shopping, you can find from the most expensive to the most popular brands. Not to mention that the room is very cozy and the bed ... of HEAVEN! If I didn´t have to make tourists programs and shop, certainly I would have slept a whole day! ehehehehe! In short: when I return to Chicago, I´ll certainly stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue! February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff and located in the heart of downtown Chicago. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. Also the location is ideal for someone who wants to spend time downtown. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping close by. Highly recommend staying at the Westin Michigan Avenue. January 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Michigan Ave We stayed here in late October 2012. The location was great and the staff was friendly. However, the amount of points we spent, I expected the facilities to be cleaner. The bathrooms are in desperate need of an update. November 5, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>