The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 647 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations I met two friends in Chicago for our annual reunion. Between the SPG concierge and the hotel our request for a comfortable suite with connecting room was met. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. And, the staff was wonderful. Can't wait for next year's reunion. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory As someone who used to dearly love and look forward to this hotel...this was beyond gutting. This was my little piece of solace in Chicago, and now...well, lets just say I won't be back. Why, might you ask? Well, the room was clean. The housekeeper for my room was meticulous. That being said, the constantly running toilet, the grotesquely hard beds, and the noise problem were terrible - all of which I've never experienced in a lot of visits before to this property. Didn't appreciate that checkin agent referred to my room as an upgrade, when in fact it was what I had paid for. And 30+ rings to attempt to get a hold of 'Service Express'...multiple times? I would've liked to have spent more money at the property, but i can't spend it on room service if no one answers, and having my keys reset twice? Houston, we have a problem - which is why we checked out a day earlier and decamped to a different hotel. Just terrible. Avoid like the plague. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is like coming home. We have a son who lives in Chicago so we visit the city several times per year. It is always wonderful to return to the Westin Michigan Avenue. Many of the staff members recognize us and everyone is always willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. Of special note was the treatment we received back in 2010 when an East Coast blizzard stranded us in Chicao for three days longer than we planned to stay. We were made to feel welcome, not as if we had inconvenienced the hotel by extending our stay. March 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service and hotel maintenance Booked weeks in advance requested a one hour early check in and still had to wait one hour after check in time for our room. Every thirty minutes the toilet sounded like a jet taking off from the bathroom all night long. no response from hotel staff. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big disappointment Our room was located directly behind the elevators and we could hear the elevator at all hours of our stay. Our view was depressing: gray buildings on all sides. We had to twist our necks to see a patch of sky. The desk chair in the room was dirty and the hallway smelled of smoke. This abysmal room ruined our otherwise pleasant trip to Chicago. April 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The bellmen leave a lot to be desired With the bellmen/porters (who puts bags in storage) being older gentlemen being older they are slow to do the job and relyed on me to help them. Defeats the purpose of me having him do it. Besides getting them out of the storage area, got no assistance getting the bags outside to taxi. The outside bellman did help. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has the best staff Kristin made sure our stay at the Westin was memorable. She was very professional and courteous. We found the room nice and clean. Service was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Other staff members also went out of their way to make sure guests felt special. We ate at "The Grill" and enjoyed our breakfast. Did not walk away hungry, there was plenty to eat. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by no sleep assigned a room with the freight elevator directly across the hall. the noise from the activity of the elevator made it impossible to sleep during 1st nights stay. had to battle for 4 hours with staff to get them motivated to relocate us for the 2nd nights stay. Frankly, how anyone can think it is OK to put occupants in a room like that is not acceptable. Someone should've offered to refund the 1st nights stay, the lack of sleep.made it hard to get through the next next day and pretty much ruined the trip to Chicago. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed at other Westin hotels and the was by far the worst. The room had double beds, which most hotels have have queen size beds. The room was also was also small. The cleaning person, made one bed and not the other, due to 3 shopping bags being on the bed. She. Pull of moved them to make the bed. Our bathroom towels were not picked up, no clean glasses or plastic glasses were left. We called the front desk and informed them of this and the cleaning person came to our room and quote on quote, she said "what's your problem". If this person was kidding she should had said and it could of been reworded. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good place to stay in downtown Chicago The hotel is well managed with an excellent dining room and terrace to enjoy a good meal. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable; the staff is efficient and friendly. The location is very central and is close to shopping and the beach, within a brief cab ride to essentially anywhere in central Chicago. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location This was my second time in 5 months staying at this hotel. Both times I have had major issues with their billing department. I was always assured at the desk during check out that things were taken care of and they never were. The first time it took me 2 weeks to get the charges off my credit card. I am still working on this last visit. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved staying at this hotel! The beds were truly "heavenly" to sleep in' the linens and towels were the best, our view from the room was gorgeous! The staff was very helpful and courteous and prompt when we had a special request. The location is excellent and close to everything! Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone!!! August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor "Service Express" We enjoyed the deluxe package with a view of the magnificent mile. The view was great - the service was terrible. We ordered champagne and it never came. We ordered a key to the mini-fridge. It never arrived. We asked for bell service and waited 30mins only to learn they were never called. I ended up going to the lobby and getting my own luggage cart. We had late check-out and were called by the porter - asking us why we were still in the hotel. When we explained our late check-out status she said she would let it go "this time". If it wasn't for the view and the location we could not stay here again. November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Billing Upon check-in the agent did not explain the initial amount that would be charged to our credit card includes an additional "security deposit." Our folio statement that we got via email showed a charge greater than we expected. The Westin wanted us to call weekdays between 9a-5p to discuss this, which we are not able to do. I was able to get the on-duty manager to explain our statement to us on Sunday night. It was a bit of a hassle but could have been avoided with a thorough explanation upon check-in. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff insulted me multiple times, hotel lacks basic features, horrible experience Where do I Start? Booked the hotel months in advance. I am an spg gold member and entitled to their benefits. Day 1, I approach the reception to check in. there is a dedicated counter for spg gold guests but it seems staff is accepting everyone so I have to wait. I talk to the lady who tells me since I am spg gold my room is upgraded (which is the norm with spg gold guests). So I am happy, I go along with my wife to the room and to our disbelief it is as basic room as it can get. What more they have not even give a room in the spg preferred guest floor. Neverthless I go back to the reception and tell them to double check as this is definitely not an upgrade. The staff tells me, that upgrade means that I have a nicer view. The room I have is on 18th floor, all I could see from my room was a terrace and yes a glimpse of lake. I told the staff that this was most definitely not satisfactory and if they could check any other option. The staff (Shannon) is helpful and tells me that I have 2 options either they will upgrade me to a suite on the 12th floor. But for this to happen I need to check out of my room leave the luggage downstairs wait till the evening and then check in. Considering we were staying here for a week. I decided to make the switch to a suite. I check out immediately after checking in and leave outside to just roam around and suddenly I get a call from the same lady at the reception. She informs me that there was a mistake and that I cannot be upgraded and I have to pay $50 a night if I want to. This was pure ransom. I had already checked out, they failed to inform me then and now while I am on the road they are asking for additional costs. I asked them if they could just give me a normal room as I don't want to pay anything more on top of $300 I was already paying. So I go back. I check in for the 2nd time, same issue, dedicated line for spg gold is taking everyone. I ask the guy for a welcome gift which spg gold members are entitled to and he gives me an option between points and continental breakfast for 2 for the duration of stay. I choose the latter. I go into my new room, and it turns out to be smaller. tough has a better view. Too tired to go and complain again we settle in. next morning I go to the only restaurant in the hotel to have my breakfast. Sit down and show them my continental breakfast card ahead of ordering and I am told that I am at a wrong place and this is only applicable at a small take away coffee shop in the lobby. Again I feel insulted, and to save the embarrassment of getting up again, I decide to order an pay. Evening that day, I call the service desk asking for help as I needed to see a doctor, she asks me to go to a hospital. I ask for an in house doctor and she puts me on hold. Forever. Tired I hung up and search on the internet and got and find it out myself. Next morning I go to the coffee shop to collect my breakfast. Apparently this is a complimentary service for the highest tier guests of spg, but at this coffee shop I am made to wait in a line to order at the counter. there are restrictions to what you can order and the cashier was not happy that I was getting away without paying them. They ask us to sign and fill some form. By no means is this a pleasureable experience. It feels I am on a line to get free food. and that's how they make you feel. the "continental" breakfast is a "small" cup of coffee, 1 pastry(from 2 options), a fruit and some cereal but all of it is self service in the lobby of a hotel. and yes if you want to sit, you have the cheapest possible seats which are hardly available at your disposal. anyway, I just took a coffee and left disgusted. Next day, I go down to get the coffee and say a medium size without realizing Im only entitled for a small coffee. the staff after giving me the coffee notices I am using the card and immediately tells me that its not valid to have a medium coffee in front of other guests. She gives me a stare and is frustrated that I ordered something which I was not entitled and makes me feel like a thief who stole a medium size coffee. She holds on to my complimentary card and tells me that she needs it and I should get a new one from the front desk. Today morning I go to the front desk and tell them that I need the same card as the coffee shop girl took it. He tells me that this card is only for platinum guests and I am not entitled to it. by this time I am frustrated and tell him I do not know that and his colleague gave that to me. Again he makes me feel like a theif who stole their card. the guy tells me repeatedly that I am not entitled to it and I was enjoying free breakfast for the past two days. I am shocked, thankfully there is no one around as it is early morning and I don't get to feel embarrassed again. I tell the guy that I got it as a welcome gift entitled for spg guests and he keeps on saying its only for platinum. Without any conclusion the guy just shifts back to his normal work leaving me standstill. I ask him about what I should do, and he tells me in his words "i have no qualms in giving this to you again" there is no hotel in the world that has made me feel so low and so pathetic. and he tells me its only going to be for a day as if he is lending me his ferrari. I walk away and tell him that he can keep it and I don't need it. This is the worst experience I have ever had in my life. I have seem poor quality rooms before, service orders getting messed up, and other issues with hotels. But never before I have seen in my life a staff who is tasked to show the customer that they don't belong here. Maybe I am not American and maybe that is the real issue. I hate you Westin and I am going to make sure my voice spreads. December 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding Weekend We were very pleased with the Westin accommodations and staff. The only issue we had was that upon our arrival at 5:45 PM - our room was not ready after a long day of travel. Our room was finally ready around 7 pm after we had left the hotel to get a bite to eat. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocrity One of the first things the woman at check-in said to me when I arrived after 3 pm after a long flight was that the previous person was still in my room. when I reminded her it was after 3 pm, she said would find another room for me but it would not be as nice. I ended up on the 6th floor looking at a building instead of on a higher floor looking at Lake Michigan. the room was directly across from the elevator which made me feel unsafe and uncomfortable since I was a woman staying alone. I was nervous that anyone else in the elevator could see me going into the room alone and try to follow me in. then when I got to the room, there were old French fries on the carpet and it was stuffy. I booked a suite, this was not a suite by any description. It was a larger but average hotel room. the lighting was terrible quality, flouorescent. the bathroom was pedestrian, nice materials but small and like a motel. the toiletries provided are mediocre quality. No cotton was provided, I had to go to the drugstore and buy some. the towels were thin. the linens and pillows on the bed were nice though. The valets had to be asked to help me with my luggage both on arrival and departure. they just stood there and watched me struggle. the checkout was ridiculous. I had a car waiting outside to go to the airport. there was a long line (8:30 am) to check-in and check-out and only one person working. Finally another person came over to help and he decided to chat people up, taking twice the time necessary. The exercise room was poor and had the worst elliptical I have ever used. It is badly equipped, only with aerobic machines, no weights, weight machines, mats, mirrors, balls, bands etc...It is also hard to find because it is not marked well. I always stay in the Four Seasons across Michigan Ave. and only tried the Westin hotel because the conference I was attending was being held there. I would not stay there again if I could avoid it. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Manager I cannot thank the manage that I spoke to enough. She was very kind, patient, and truly accomdating. I appreciate so much what Westin did for me and making a trip to the city the best it could be. Cant wait to return. July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing I stayed at this hotel five or six years ago, but had a bad experience. I thought I would try it again, but just another disappointing experience. I used my SPG "suite night" upgrades, for which I was placed in a room slightly bigger than a regular room which they call a suite. I always request high floor away from ice machines and elevators, so of course, I was given a room on the 11th floor across from the elevators and the ice machine. The "manager" didn't care and didn't make any sort of effort to rectify the situation. I won't be staying here again any time soon. October 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but.... I really like this hotel but in the three times I've stayed there not once has my room been ready and available at check-in time. Fortunately I love to shop and eat because the magnificent mile has TONS of great shopping and there are great restaurants on nearby Rush Street. July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel is beautiful and has an ideal location. I reserved a suite for three nights (Thursday, Friday, Saturday) for my 64 year old Mother. My Mother works very hard to care for her 96 year old Mother, so relaxation and pampering were tantamount for this stay. My Mother arrived Thursday evening. No one cleaned the room Friday. Further, when she returned to the room on Saturday at approximately 2PM, the room had still not been cleaned. No new towels, soap, bedding,disposable cups - nothing. We were very disappointed and alerted the front desk immediately. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Carpet shampoo is dreadful The hotel is actually very nice. However, my experience was impacted by the awful strong carpet shampoo that the hotel uses. It is an intense sweet smell that caused me to have a headache and feel very congested. Several people who were at the same meeting in the hotel voiced the same complaint. Although the location is great, I probably would not return. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with this stay I stayed for 2 nights at the Westin Michigan Ave for a medical conference as an exhibiting vendor. Rest is very important so that I am my very best for my customers or potential customers. I did not sleep well either night. The first night I had an upset stomach from the squash soup at the Daily Grille. The 2nd night was due to very loud, obnoxious, and unruly guests whom security was called for. Undoubtedly security did not take care of the problem because the noise level continued throughout the night. I think the unruly guests were in suite 1000 and I was in room 1003. Just very disappointed that this occurs at such a prestigious hotel, that the rooms are not more sound proof and that security did not resolve or remove the offenders. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Beds are as advertised.... pillows even better! Towels need to take a cue from bedding.... for price of hotel they could have been better. Didn't bring a shower cap... had to wait 45 min for one from housekeeping... and by then...I had to forego shower for washcloth bath. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Windy City Customer Service Gem Awesome location and staff who are second to none at excellent treatment of guests. From the housekeeping staff to the concierge (Rhoda, who is a joy!), everyone in the building strives to make your stay enjoyable. Wine and a personal card in our room congratulated us on our anniversary and return to Chicago. To be fair it wasn't all "sunshine and roses", check in lines can be long and our friends' room was not ready until after 4 which led to a complaint. This was addressed by complimentary breakfasts which were greatly appreciated but subsequently showed up on the room bill in error. All was eventually rectified by an extremely attentive and apologetic front desk attendant. Again, despite any issues, excellent customer service overcame the problems. Beds are very comfortable but room decor could use an update and sprucing up. Location is second to none and the staff are the cornerstone of this gem! July 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this trip We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member to check us in to our room. We were in our room only minutes when we were called by the front desk to let us know our room needed to be moved so the room could get serviced. Our second room had a loud running toilet. We asked for a new room at the front desk. This time the staff member was not so friendly. We did get a new room, but we were obviously a bother. I miss customer service. There was no apology or anything. We ate breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. I would suggest going elsewhere. Our meals were not good. We are SPG members. There really was nothing at this hotel that made being a member worth the price. We will not be back to this hotel. December 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Bed / Bad Service / Bad Valet Parking / Great Location Biggest problem was the parking fee: $59/day Some valet driver attempted international calls to Helmsdale, United Kingdom (left phone behind, my fault, their fault) Smaller problems are numerous. There was hair on the shower curtain. Miracle bed was lumpy; immovable waves in bed looked like a frozen waving water bed. Television channels so bad that we watched Netlix on laptop, using cell phone WiFi hotspot. Unreasonable rate for internet access. No free Wifi, really, today 2013 no free WiFi. The consierge phone number never answered. The front desk was always busy with a long wait, so no way to ask questions. The room looked nice, great view, and the location was great, that's it. Oh, two free bottles of water for Preferred Guests. Don't Park! Use Taxis. April 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I was in Chicago the weekend of July 25-27. The hotel as others have noted had issues meeting the 3pm check in time. The Thursday night before they were booked solid and the Beyonce concert was happening. When we arrived they did not have our room ready with a Michigan Ave view but could offer us the lower deluxe room not on a preferred floor at that time. I did not feel like messing around with waiting for the better room since the occupants from Thursday had not left yet so they could not give me an anticipated time but that it would be well after the 3pm check in time. Beds are fabulous as always but the room as other have noted is dated. Pillows needed to be replaced since they were well worn. the bedding was fine. Bathroom had a large counter which is great and the nice big rain shower heads. We were not in the room much so we were fine in the regular room. We did ask for a fridge so we could have cold drinks in our room in the morning knowing there was not a lounge. The lobby was always crowded when we were there with lots of people coming and going. Since their is no concierge lounge, i wish the coffee place stayed open longer in the afternoon. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lacking in Customer Service Stayed many times here, mostly due to great location. But service is extremely inconsistent. As a Platinum guest, it's wonderful when we get upgraded to bigger suite. But have often had service problems, especially with missed wake-up calls (a cardinal sin!) and dealing with poorly trained guest services. Also, lobby was so amazingly crowded and handled as if in a train station. Not enough personnel to deal with times when hotel is so booked. July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pretty bad Stayed during a busy week and as a result was in a room next to a service elevator. 1 am and 5 am hunger by fellow guests resulted in me waking up to a loud "whoosh" of the elevator doors. Also, the phone handset in the room was broken and when I used the speakerphone to attempt to contact the front desk to get a replacement for the TV remote that was no longer working, the phone just rang and rang and rang. I gave up and ended up getting off the bed to change the TV channel. I expect a lot better for the price I paid. December 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 23 next>>