The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 647 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by nice location, but needs some attention to amenities Poor housekeeping service. something bite me in the beds. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great staff Smooth check in, great staff and rooms with plenty of space. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peter This hotel is an excellent location and the servcie is great February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Auto Parking The overnight parking rate of $65 per night is ridiculous. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location In the heart of downtown, great for people that walk a lot July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Review Carpet needs to be replaced and other items repaired. September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff The staff at this hotel are super friendly and helpful! April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location but the room decor is just average. could use an update. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is in the perfect downtown location The heavenly bed experience enhances our vacation. May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding party overnight Exceptional service and excellent accommodation September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lake Michigan view Love this location for great food and shopping. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent serviles The staff and the hotel wonderfull experience September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is awesome amazing hotel great location and awesome staff January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special Weekend The Hotel and Staff were great. Great location April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, great hotel Hotel has all you want with extra features. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Stayed at the Micigan Ave. Westin December 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing special Nothing special about this hotel. March 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Features Great location, great facilities June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Our stay was comfortable & clean April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is fine and good for tourists I would be back again next time March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Great service and attentiveness January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Michigan Avenue Very clean room and hotel. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin was great! My stay went very well!!! July 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and amenities, but room was not clean My family and I recently stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue during our vacation in Chicago mid June. While we loved the location of the hotel, its amenities, and accommodations, my check-in experience did not start off on the right foot. Upon arrival at my hotel room, I walked into beds that looked as though they had been slept on (pillows were not in order, bed sheets were not neatly tucked), the recycle can was not emptied. After further inspection, the hand soap in bathroom was not sealed in wrapper, and the hand towel was laying on the bathroom counter as though it had been used and not folded. It was certainly not what I had expected from a top brand hotel, especially being that I work for a hotel myself. It was unacceptable. After notifying a staff member, I received a call shortly from the Housekeeping Manager apologizing for the state of the room. My family and I were immediately assigned to a new room that was in satisfactory condition. I do appreciate the prompt the attention to the matter, but still expected more. Other than that, staff was courteous and professional. Location was great, just steps from John Hancock Building, Water Tower Place, and Magnificent Mile. I took advantage of the New Balance Lending program, and frequented the workout room. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weekend experience My wife and I recently completed a weekend stay at the hotel. We were in Chicago to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was simply average. We we checked in we were given a rool that was already occupied. Front desk associate was very apologetic. Second room was fine. Had room service for breakfast both mornings and the food was delivered at right temperature and tasted very good. On Sundayb morning asked housekeeper in the hallway for a bath towel, she responded that I would have to call the front desk as she had no bath towels. Very strange given that she was cleaning rooms. The right customer service respose would have been to secure a towel herself. Waited for a while at checkout as only 1 person was checking guests out at 1pm on Sunday for several minutes while we waited. A second person eventually arrived to assist. Waited for several minutes for our car from valet. Then, driver didn't pull into the valet lane inside the garage but pulled our car by the side of street. In haste to load so we wouldn't block traffic, driver forgot to give us the key before we pulled off and we didn't realize it until we returned to Indiana. When I called back to the hotel they were immediately aware and were making plans to return the key. Consistent with their promise, they shipped the key overnight. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Not Much Else. I had a recent stay for 3 days and generally all I ask for is a clean bed and bathroom, I am NOT picky about hotels. However, other than the location, I was really disappointed here. 1. I heard some fidgeting outside of my door at 5:30 in the evening and peeked out to see what was going on, assuming someone just had the wrong room #. To my surprise – the door opened! It was a member of the room service staff coming to deliver a blanket (that we had not requested- wrong room) and rather than knocking he just tried to enter the room. I was in the middle of getting ready for an event and was not dressed. Not only did he have the wrong room, but members of the staff should NEVER enter a room without knocking first! To me, this is completely unacceptable. 2. I called down to see if someone could look at the sink in the bathroom where the hot water nozzle was broken, so the handle would move both directions and it was hard to stop the water. I was assured someone would be right up, but at the end of our 3 day stay no one had ever come. 3. Our room had a cobweb in the corner, peeling wall paper and a stain on the carpet – I would expect more from a WESTIN. I will say the hotel did a fabulous job with the wedding I attended, just wish that would have translated to a better overall experience. June 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recommend American Girl package at this hotel. Our stay was a disappointment. Nothing was delivered as promised. As part of the package, we expected a personilized letter for our daughters and their doll. We were handed an envelope that did have their names on the outside, but was addressed to our guest and was more of a parent info sheet then a letter written for a little girl. Then we discover our sheets were stained. Then we attempted to use the coupon offered as part of the package at the cafe. The cafe staff was wonderful and very friendly but accidentally charged me the extra 10 that the coupon was supposed to cover. They cafe was eager to reverse the charge and assist me further but were having difficulty with the register. It wasn't until we asked at the front desk that things got ugly. First of all, they didn't even recognize their own coupon and I had to insist that I received it from the front desk upon check in. We asked the hotel manager on duty to just simply drop the extra 10 we were charged off of our hotel stay bill. Initially she refused forcing us to call the 1 800 customer service number to get it resolved. I found the manager to be rude and uncaring. We did get the 10 off after at least 30 minutes of our time and we were billed for the call. Next time I will stay at one of the other hotels that offer the American Girl package. January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you'd expect from a Wesstin As a Platinum, I have high expectations for a Westin. When we arrived, we asked the bellman what the parking rate was for one night. 65 dollars he informed us and recommended a parking garage 2.5 blocks away for 30 dollars. We were off to a good start. Checking in I informed the desk clerk that I was a platinum and if we could be upgraded to a better room. He replied that our room was ready and when we arrived, we realized it was just a standard room. When we checked in we inquired about the complimentary breakfast and the desk attendent informed us that only the continental option was available at the Starbucks inside the property and that the restaurant was not affiliated with the Westin. (I wondered how this hotel could get a 4 star rating without their own restaurant) The next morning we went to the Starbucks for our continental breakfast and the lady at Starbucks informed us that we could only get a piece of fruit, coffee or juice and a pastry. I wanted yogurt and berries and a soda which she stated was not allowed. WOW I thought that they could provide a complimentary breakfast but you couldn't get berries and yogurt. All in all, I think there are much better options in downtown Chicago and for the poor service we received and a 65 dollar daily parking rate, not restaurant on site which is run by Starwood, we are suprised that this hotel can maintain a 4 star rating. July 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heavenly bed devilish details First, let me say I love the Westin. The Heavenly Bed almost always makes it worth the stay. My last stay unfortunately will be my last at this property. Check in was easy and fairly quick and I was even greeted with a special gift upon arrival. However, immediately upon entering the room it was clear that no updates had been done in years as the room looked dark and dingy. Still, the bed was comfortable, so I headed out for a night with my friends. Upon waking up the next day, things got really bad. First, I noticed my bottled water had a chlorinated taste - the same as out of the tap. Someone had opened my water, filled it with tap water, and put it back with the complimentary sign on it. Next I opened the windows and discovered black mold that covered every corner! I went to the shower to get out of the room as fast as I could and noticed more mold and mildew in the bathroom! Then, as I pulled the towel down off the shower bar, a used bar of soap fell down with it! All of the towels were a very dirty off-white and very well worn. So, I grabbed all my stuff to get out of the room as soon as I could. I noted each of these concerns at the front desk and he said "wow, it sounds like you had quite an experience" and then promptly handed me my bill. I was outraged to not even get an apology! Rest assured I will never stay at this property again. It may be in a nice location, but there are much better options out there for this price range! April 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by LACK of security and concern I always stay at the Westin Hotel on Michigan Ave when visiting Chicago. A year ago we even joined the awards program associated with Westin Hotel. I loved its location and never experienced an issue until this past weekend. We decided to visit Chicago for Memorial Day weekend. We rented a Hertz car near our home, drove the five hours and gave our car to the hotel for safe keeping. Our last day, we checked out and went down to pick up our car to leave. But our rental car was GONE!!! The Hertz Rental office/desk inside the hotel somehow got our keys, removed all of our items and decided to rent it out to someone else. If we had waited an hour more before getting our car we would have had no transportation back home since all Hertz offices in the city closed early for the holiday. To make matters worse that day…we were informed by an employee that this is not the first time this has happened. Westin reimbursed us for the parking fees...only after I requested it. The hotel did nothing else except pass the blame to Hertz Rental. Even though we were hotel guests (and not a Hertz guest). We entrusted our vehicle to the hotel and expected the hotel provided the necessary security and/or procedures to protect it. But to find out that his has happened before to other hotel guests was SHOCKING!! This showed us that Westin is not correcting issues concerning their guests. In meantime, we are handling things with Hertz corporate and we will NEVER stay here again!! May 28, 2013
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 next>>