The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 570 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Service! The folks at the Westin's are awesome and more than willing to help out. I was a little disappointed on how long it took to get my car from valet. We waited approx. 20 -25 minutes to get our car. Otherwise the hotel was great. Great location.... June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Not impressed. Will not return. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accomodating My agent had incorrectly booked another hotel. I was very impressed and appreciative of the help I received to change my booking to the Westin at the last minute. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Restaurant The one unexpected thing about staying at the hotel is the fact that there's a The Grill restaurant that serves as the 'room service' for the hotel. The Chicken Pot Pie and the homemade Mac & Cheese are to die for. Next time I am in Chicago, and stay at this Westin, that's what I am having for dinner, again! November 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standard Uncomfortable mattresses in the room, furnishings are outdated. Really not up to Westin standards. Feel like I wasted my reward points. Lack of a lounge for SPG members is also a big weakness - its a big place, I am sure they could make one. Staff was very kind at least. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfaction I have stayed at your hotel 2 times already and am certainly looking forward to the third. Your staff is very accommodating and courteous, even the trainees. Congratulations! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderul experience Thanks so much for a wonderful experience. Really, I usually don't take the time to complete surveys. But the exceptional service and quality of EVERYthing was phenomenal. From the front desk staff's graciousness at simply providing change for tips, to the Grill server and cooks allowing me to order breakfast item after the 11 am cutoff AND it being amazing, was so appreciate. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Satisfaction Your staff was so friendly and welcoming, I hope to have another chance to come to Chicago. With me being from a different time zone, your staff was still friendly and welcoming at 3am. They really treated me like family. I hope to come and see you again. Thanks again for a great stay. June 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible check-in experience We stayed with the hotel early Oct. Hotel room and facilities were all average Westin. Nothing standed out. Not impressed by the lobby. Flower arrangement was absolutely terrible.Check-in was painful experience. It took us at least 30 minutes. The line got longer and longer but they never added additional staff at front desk. Location is the biggest selling point of the hotel and it is indeed GREAT! It's on the north end of Magnificent Mile. Just next to the legendary Hancock and numerous shopping malls and boutiques. Only two blocks away from MCA. Ask for a room facing the street. You will enjoy the amzing street view from the room. But other than location, everything is just average. January 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Staff and location I arrived early , well before check in time and the gentlman at the front desk offered me a few options I chose to leave my bags and begin exploring chicago . The door man and bell hop took some time with me and gave me great advice on where to get started. While eating lunch I recieved a call that my room was ready , Everyone seemed to be there just to make sure I was getting the best teatment possible and having a great experience. Thank You June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel! The Westin on Michigan Ave is the perfect place to stay- superior service, comfort and location. Don't miss this gem! Maria P June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The staff was exemplary and dining was very enjoyable. The only problem with my stay was slamming doors late into the night. I realize this is nothing you can control however, disrespectful guest being loud was very disruptive. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience Honestly, I chose this hotel due to fact that our family needs/prefers the comfortable bed experience. But, as always, starwood hotels always 'over deliver' in making your experience special. A HUGE thank you to the very sweet young lady who checked my daugher and me in - Carli. It was SO nice of her to have a little snack delivered to us. All staff treated us like family. Kudos again to Starwood hotels for 'doing it right'. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by the westin on michigan ave. the westin Michigan ave. is a comfortable hotel with great food and service. I was very surprised that it lacked and indoor pool and/or hot tub. Also, the door closing mechanisms on the guest rooms are extremely loud and constantly disturbed my sleep. the proximity to shopping was a plus! June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient location Very convenient location, super friendly and helpful staff (from bellman, to front desk to concierge). Wait for room service on a Sunday night was longer than expected (I was told 30 mins or less, took over an hour +2 phone calls for status). Hotel restaurant has good food but very $$$ - not ideal for family dining. Rooms are spacious and comfy. Showerheads are wonderful (rainfall type) with good water pressure, but the bathroom had some peeling wallpaper and there were cracks on the ceiling in the bedroom. Hotel could probably use some renovation in not too distant future. Elevators were fast. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding Block and Breakfast at the Westin We recently stayed at the Westin and couldn't have been happier! We had a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding (including 6 guests rooms for my immediate family) and also hosted a breakfast at the hotel. The rooms were great - comfortable and clean. The breakfast was perfect - food was delicious and the setting beautiful. Though the wedding was off-sight, the hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating, and worked to meet our specific needs. June 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff does not care I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last several years, but this stay is my last. I have been a gold member, but that was not recognized. I asked several months ago, and again in the last week, for a room on a SPG Preferred Floor, but was told that they do not have any. This is a lie -- it seemed that every other floor in the elevator was marked "Preferred Floor". I did not receive my complimentary Gold welcome gift upon arrival, either, and the concierge, when asked to recommend a nice place for breakfast, suggested the hotel's own coffee bar (with juice from a cooler) or a fast food place around the corner. Not helpful. I remember when the staff at this hotel used to care. Not anymore. Do not stay here. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great downtown location The staff was exceptional & extremely responsive. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor management staff We had booked and filled 20 rooms for wedding guests. The bride reserved a suite for Thurs & Friday so she could have ample space to put on wedding dress and have the space to have pictures taken before the wedding on Friday. When the bride arrived she was told the only room available was a standard room. The manager (Darrel) should have been aware that 20 of his rooms were reserved for a wedding and plans should have been made to accomodate the bride. Reservations were made well in advance of the wedding. The bride was given a standard room at check-in on Thurs and would be transferred to a suite on Friday, the day of the wedding. When Friday arrived the bride was told she could not have the suite because another guest was granted a late check-out ! The wedding was at 4:00 and the move to a suite because of the late check out was at 4:00! The manager was rude when the situation was explained and was unapologetic about a late check out being granted to the brides room. Eventually a suite was located and the bride was placed in the situation which required deleting pre wedding choices. This all could have been avoided if the administration of the hotel would have been doing its job of examining the guest list and determining the needs of guests. This type of service is well below the quality expected from a hotel of this stature and cost. July 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what we'd hoped for... We went to this hotel, primarily for it's locale...we were taking our daughter for a special birthday weekend, to the American Girl store (which is just 2 blocks down the street from the hotel) and then to Shedd Aquarium. Unfortunately, we didn't get to the Aquarium...:( In a nutshell, the room next to us was "rented" to a younger couple that used it for party central. In and out, people in and out, laughing, hollering, smoking in the room and in the hall (my wife is highly allergic to smoke and this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). The smoke crept in, under the ajoining door and was quite strong smelling in our room. The worst of it was the "relations" that the couple were in engaged in. For over an hour, 1am-2:15am or so, we were regaled with the happy couple's "fun". We thought we were granted a reprieve after that...but no...THEN they were hungry and THEN they decided they wanted to make some calls on their respective cell phones...loudly. Calls to the front desk to complain went unanswered (did we catch someone on a break?). At 4am, with no hope of sleep and a strong thunderstorm overhead, we gave up....packed up and checked out. Only then were able to voice our frustration to someone at the hotel. He expressed sympathy and asked us if we wanted to speak to a manager. We said yes and then after a few minutes, with a manager a no-show, we opted to leave. They compted us our parking, which was helpful, but ya, we won't be back. April 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location - rooms need some work I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel several times over the last year. Used my suite night upgrades and was upgraded to a corner suite with a terrific view of Michigan Avenue. I guess the hotel is hoping you are looking at the view the entire time vs. the serious work the room needs. The bathroom ceilings have peeling paint and are in need of serious repair. The windows let in the cold air and all of the street noise. Consider replacing them during your next renovation. No refrigerator in the room yet the room description indicated there would be one. Had I been paying the full price this room normally goes for, I would not be happy. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location that is close to shopping on Michigan Avenue. This is second time in 2013 I have stayed in this Westin and last time I had a great experience and this time it was good to average. The hotel was very busy and the women at the check in told me something like 500 of the 700 rooms were sold that night. Great for the hotel, not so great for me. The room was small, located right by the elevator on a low floor and the carpet was stained in the room. Normally, I am able to stay in a high floor away from noise. I know the complaints are minor but it makes me think of looking at other hotels next time I am in the area for business or pleasure. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location - Average Westin As a recently turned platinum member I was very disappointed with this hotel. I feel the hotel relys on its great location to ensure customers keep coming back. I checked in at 4:30pm and it took me about 35 minutes to actually get checked in. There was a huge line of people and 3 front desk staff. The front desk staff seemed unconcerned about any status I had and "upgraded" me to a city view room. This hotel does not offer a lounge. Other than the location I didn't feel there was anything special about this hotel and there certainly wasn't the feeling of luxury. If you get a low rate and want to stay here for the location only, then you will enjoy it but don't expect more except a very long check-in line. December 19, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by platinum rejected I checked-in two days ago and was told that I was getting a great room with a lake view. Great view, but I stay at SPG for Business, not pleasure. When I questioned the front desk about Preferred floors, I was told that all the rooms are the same??? After staying 50 + night a year at SPG, I know better. They have 9 floors for preferred quest and was not offered a move. Then I spoke to the Manager and he told me the rooms are the same, not true, I have a business associate staying on a “Preferred” floor and our rooms are not alike. So I was lied to and that is not acceptable! I also had to call to get downed pillows, which is on my profile. Be very careful booking here if you are a seasoned traveler and a SPG Platinum Member. Many more great properties in Chicago to choose from!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping a shame We had a dirty towel on the floor beneath our bathroom counter. That's a little gross, but didn't think much of it since the rest of the room was clean - that is until our friends were assigned a room that had not even been cleaned prior to their arrival! When they changed rooms, they were again given a dirty room with dirty towels on the floor. The front desk reply? "Oh sorry about that." Worst Westin I have ever seen. Halls are dingy and plain. Where is the stylish Westin I love? Lobby bathroom was pretty dirty - yuck! I expected more from a Westin. Lobby sundries was literally always closed, even in the mid-morning rush. In terms of location, location is great, but there are much nicer hotels for your money on Mag Mile with better housekeeping and a nicer lounge. We won't stay here again. April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was a Cave We stayed for a birthday weekend using points but, with an upgaded room. The room was lage but lacking furniture (it looked like they got robbed!). The walls were empty and the room was pooly lit. It felt like an absolute cave. Was it clean? Yes. Would I call it nice? No not really. Would I stay again? Prob not. It was really disappointing because its a great location. The good news is that we couldn't stand to be in the room so we were out all day evey day. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Surprsingly Bad I was shocked by how bad this hotel was for being a "high end" property brand. My room was run down with stains or fading on the glass tops. The ice machine on the fourth floor was in a dirty storage room next to trash cans, linen bags and room service trays. The bathroom also had plastic cups wrapped in plastic like you would get in a low end property. (I took pictures if Westin wants to see this lovely hotel.) Typically, I wouldn't write such a review, but I feel I got taken here. I attended a conference here, so I didn't shop, but certainly didn't expect a hotel this bad. Chicago is expensive, but at this price and Westin being a quality brand property, I didn't expect this. I think Westin should refund me part of my stay and if they care, work on fixing some of these things for future guests. On the plus side, the location was great. August 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by more service made reservation for connecting rooms. called back to confirm day before arrival and reservation stated that was correct having connecting rooms. arrived around 11am. room were not ready and confirmed again having connecting rooms. then when we arrived back to hotel and checked in, the rooms were not connected. When you have small children you need connecting rooms. This is completely unexceptionable. November 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for a refresh I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The location on North Michigan Avenue is outstanding for shopping. Over time the rooms have become dated and unkempt. This most recent stay was a 5-night stay. My shower had evidence of black mold. The room was very dirty and evidence of items left by past guests was present on the floor and behind the curtains. Room cleaning occurred very late in the day (between 3 and 4pm each day) For the price, I will not be staying here again. My SPG gold status resulted in no positive experience and I was placed on a standard floor despite multiple floors available for SPG guests. March 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was happy. All was good except for the receptionist. She was the only older woman who worked at the from dest, and she was not helpful at all. June 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>