The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 659 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lolapalooza weekend stay Location was great. Staff was very kind and courteous at all time. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location. This hotel is located in an area that is easy and safe to walk to restaurants, retail shopping and local attractions. My husband and I stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue for a relative's wedding, held at the hotel. The rehearsal dinner was off-site within two blocks away and took less than five minutes to get there which was to our advantage as we arrived late to the hotel. The check-in process was smooth and fast, and staff was very courteous. Breakfast, the next morning after the wedding, was in a private room of the restaurant at the hotel - found the food and service to be excellent! June 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding Weekend We were very pleased with the Westin accommodations and staff. The only issue we had was that upon our arrival at 5:45 PM - our room was not ready after a long day of travel. Our room was finally ready around 7 pm after we had left the hotel to get a bite to eat. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing We did not arrive until 6pm, yet our room was not ready. It didn't matter that our reservation was part of a room block for a wedding, nor that I am a Starwood Resorts member, OR that we had a rehearsal dinner to attend in an hour. We did not receive notice that the room was ready until after we were at the dinner. When we got to our room later that night, it was not on the members floor and was smaller than a non-member whose room we visited. The hospitality gift from our wedding host was not delivered until we asked for it. We did not have our pillow preferences, nor was there coffee in the room. We used the green hang tag, but did not receive credit for that. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff is hot and cold The concierge Douglas was really rude and snooty and not helpful at all. Conversely there was a very nice asian lady who helped us and was warm and professional. The security was uptight and too rude. I was a guest in the hotel as well as some high profile guests who, I guess warranted treating the other guest like second class citizens. I would never bother another guest and the security over reacted. We had a "Brunch" which was little more than a crappy banquet breakfaast that they ran out of food and I got one small cup of cofee. The worst banquet experience ever. The doorman Keith was awesome and helpful as was Yvonne. July 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed to say the least I was very upset when I arrived and was told that the rooms were not ready and possibly wouldn't be until a couple of hours. I rarely receive time off of work and this was suppose to be a mini birthday vacation for me. Not to mention that I arrived at 5pm which is two hours after check in, I was given an estimated time of 8pm which is not even a full 24hours worth of stay. The bigger picture here is after complaining and asking for a manager twice, we finally received our rooms but there was a lobby full of people that were still waiting with children a luggage. Also, I can't recall seeing anyone on staff smiling. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by friendly and accomodating staff..but hotel has shortcomings the hotel is located in a great spot. the staff from the doormen to the desk and maids are friendly and accommodating. however, after traveling 5 hours and wanting to freshen up and get ready for a 7PM reservation we could not get into our room. Similar stories for the rest of the people staying with our group. We all made it to our destinations but not without stress and for some being late.There must have been a breakdown in communication because we were all part of a wedding group, but were scattered all over the hotel. Our room received clean towels, baskets emptied, but no new glasses. There should be a fan I the bathroom for moisture and odors. The brunch in the Grill was only ok. Again, I can't say enough about your staff, but the accomodations were lacking! Dorothy Arendt July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel needs improvement The front desk at this hotel is under staffed most of the time and when it is staffed sufficiently the staff is not proactive in serving guest. They let guest stand their waiting instead of offering to help them. If they are just standing there instead of offering to help the guest first has to approach them and ask for assistance. Additionally, the Valet service for vehicles is terrable. It is slow and when the vehicle is brought up you give them the receipt, they give you the keys and don't even offer to help with your bags, your are on your own for loading them. This is the worst Westin Hotel I have ever stayed in. August 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to standards of other Westin hotels I arrived and was put in a room with a double bed even though I had been booked in a king room. As I walked through the lobby to the elevator it smelled like vomit. I thought this was a one off thing, but it smelled that way all 3 days I was there. I asked a worker about it on day 2 and he just shrugged his shoulders. When I got up to my room there was blood or some sort of pinkish fluid smeared on the wall above the bed. When I picked up the phone to call downstairs and report it, the phone was sticky! I walked downstairs and asked to switch rooms, but was told there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lacking in Customer Service Stayed many times here, mostly due to great location. But service is extremely inconsistent. As a Platinum guest, it's wonderful when we get upgraded to bigger suite. But have often had service problems, especially with missed wake-up calls (a cardinal sin!) and dealing with poorly trained guest services. Also, lobby was so amazingly crowded and handled as if in a train station. Not enough personnel to deal with times when hotel is so booked. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Carpet shampoo is dreadful The hotel is actually very nice. However, my experience was impacted by the awful strong carpet shampoo that the hotel uses. It is an intense sweet smell that caused me to have a headache and feel very congested. Several people who were at the same meeting in the hotel voiced the same complaint. Although the location is great, I probably would not return. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Windy City Customer Service Gem Awesome location and staff who are second to none at excellent treatment of guests. From the housekeeping staff to the concierge (Rhoda, who is a joy!), everyone in the building strives to make your stay enjoyable. Wine and a personal card in our room congratulated us on our anniversary and return to Chicago. To be fair it wasn't all "sunshine and roses", check in lines can be long and our friends' room was not ready until after 4 which led to a complaint. This was addressed by complimentary breakfasts which were greatly appreciated but subsequently showed up on the room bill in error. All was eventually rectified by an extremely attentive and apologetic front desk attendant. Again, despite any issues, excellent customer service overcame the problems. Beds are very comfortable but room decor could use an update and sprucing up. Location is second to none and the staff are the cornerstone of this gem! July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to be in Chicago Location is right next to Hancock building, Water Tower Place with Macy's and lots of other stores in the "mall", and Bloomingdale's. Great restaurant inside at the Grille, and Rosebud Steak House is a very short walk around the corner. Great views from the East tower- we had a great view from 26th floor of Oak Street beach and the lake! Nice amenities in bathroom. Staff was very helpful and professional. Starbucks in lobby was nice for early morning treats, they open at 6. Flower scent in the lobby was refreshing. 3 elevators in East tower so there really was no elevator wait time-they were very quick to respond, and I think there were 3 for the West side. Will definitely stay here again. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Manager I cannot thank the manage that I spoke to enough. She was very kind, patient, and truly accomdating. I appreciate so much what Westin did for me and making a trip to the city the best it could be. Cant wait to return. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but.... I really like this hotel but in the three times I've stayed there not once has my room been ready and available at check-in time. Fortunately I love to shop and eat because the magnificent mile has TONS of great shopping and there are great restaurants on nearby Rush Street. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocrity One of the first things the woman at check-in said to me when I arrived after 3 pm after a long flight was that the previous person was still in my room. when I reminded her it was after 3 pm, she said would find another room for me but it would not be as nice. I ended up on the 6th floor looking at a building instead of on a higher floor looking at Lake Michigan. the room was directly across from the elevator which made me feel unsafe and uncomfortable since I was a woman staying alone. I was nervous that anyone else in the elevator could see me going into the room alone and try to follow me in. then when I got to the room, there were old French fries on the carpet and it was stuffy. I booked a suite, this was not a suite by any description. It was a larger but average hotel room. the lighting was terrible quality, flouorescent. the bathroom was pedestrian, nice materials but small and like a motel. the toiletries provided are mediocre quality. No cotton was provided, I had to go to the drugstore and buy some. the towels were thin. the linens and pillows on the bed were nice though. The valets had to be asked to help me with my luggage both on arrival and departure. they just stood there and watched me struggle. the checkout was ridiculous. I had a car waiting outside to go to the airport. there was a long line (8:30 am) to check-in and check-out and only one person working. Finally another person came over to help and he decided to chat people up, taking twice the time necessary. The exercise room was poor and had the worst elliptical I have ever used. It is badly equipped, only with aerobic machines, no weights, weight machines, mats, mirrors, balls, bands etc...It is also hard to find because it is not marked well. I always stay in the Four Seasons across Michigan Ave. and only tried the Westin hotel because the conference I was attending was being held there. I would not stay there again if I could avoid it. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by City of Chicago Experience I pick the Michigan Avenue Westin any time I need to stay downtown because there are no surprises. It is truly a 5 Star in my mind and the convenience of location is excellent within walking distance of excellent shopping and Rush Street for dining and drinks. I've never had a bad experience there and even though the prices might be higher than comparable facilities I keep coming back for the convenience and service. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Beds are as advertised.... pillows even better! Towels need to take a cue from bedding.... for price of hotel they could have been better. Didn't bring a shower cap... had to wait 45 min for one from housekeeping... and by then...I had to forego shower for washcloth bath. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice and comfortable stay Traveled here for a half marathon event and was very pleased with the staff and the room. Check-in was quick and simple and everyone was very courteous. The only complaint that I have is that the bath in the room did not drain so while taking a shower the tub half fills with water. Was not expecting this at a Westin hotel. Since I was only staying the one night this time, it was not a big deal. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience My experience as a whole was delightful from the moment I walked in to the lobby. Everyone was friendly and guided to me through the hotel with a smile. I was already checked in and they had my keys ready for me. Considering the fact that it was a very hectic Friday evening, I did not wait at all to recieve my keys. The rooms were very clean. The bed was my favorite part of the entire experience. . Thank you for a wonderful stay. I will definitely be coming back. March 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Views Available I am a hotellier and had an opportunity to bring my family with two small children downtown for a trip to Navy Piers Winterwonderland. We had an amanzing time. I had a bit of trouble figuring out where the line for check in was (even as far as upsetting a woman I did not realize was already waiting behind me) but Stephanie saved the day. Once I was greeted by her she was friendly, welcoming, and engaging. The room was perfect. My children could not get over the view it really made the stay. The beds were, as promised, heavenly. I only wish we had more time to spend visiting the outlets...maybe next time. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I was in Chicago the weekend of July 25-27. The hotel as others have noted had issues meeting the 3pm check in time. The Thursday night before they were booked solid and the Beyonce concert was happening. When we arrived they did not have our room ready with a Michigan Ave view but could offer us the lower deluxe room not on a preferred floor at that time. I did not feel like messing around with waiting for the better room since the occupants from Thursday had not left yet so they could not give me an anticipated time but that it would be well after the 3pm check in time. Beds are fabulous as always but the room as other have noted is dated. Pillows needed to be replaced since they were well worn. the bedding was fine. Bathroom had a large counter which is great and the nice big rain shower heads. We were not in the room much so we were fine in the regular room. We did ask for a fridge so we could have cold drinks in our room in the morning knowing there was not a lounge. The lobby was always crowded when we were there with lots of people coming and going. Since their is no concierge lounge, i wish the coffee place stayed open longer in the afternoon. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Furniture Furniture in the executive suite needs updating--sofa cushions were stained. Cocktail table had multiple areas that were gouged July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Check-in did not go as planned and I was very disappointed. I was traveling with three adults and three young children/infants. At the time of reservation, I made a request to have adjoining rooms. The hotel confirmed in advance via email that my request was accommodated; however, at check-in the individual was perplexed with my request and stated that there was no record. After a long extended day and showing the individual the confirm delay, we received the adjoining rooms (non-SPG floor) and the junior suite (not really) smelled as if a heavy shampoo was used to clean up after a corporate event. October 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude Staff The hotel itself is very nice. The staff, however, is rude. The check-in line was very busy and I just wanted to ask where I could check my bag for storage. I asked a concierge my question and he continued to walk right past me and mumble an answer I was barely able to catch. When I went over to the bellman that he referred me to, the bellman took my bag and gave me my ticket without ever looking or speaking to me. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always scared of horror happening, not at this hotel I live only 3 miles away from this hotel. My husband and I wanted an in-town getaway from the kids. Everything went smooth, from letting us double park to drop off our things, to check in and signing us up for the rewards program. It was flawless! Everyone was professional and nice. The room was spotless, no sign of scary things like bugs of any kind. The pillows are comfy (and I use temperpedic at home so I typically don't think other pillows are good) Bed was comfy too and we had a little slice of a view of Michigan avenue. This place is a winner even for a native Chicagoan who lives nearby! January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not staffed to handle capacity The staff was friendly, but we arrived at 11:00, knowing we could not check in unitl 3:00, so the family headed out to shop and sight see. Others arriving at 3:00 and later received their rooms beore we did - which was at 7:00 pm after shopping and waiting in the lobby for three hours, with crabby kids! Al the arline employees were given priority to check in before we were - they waited maybe 30 minutes for their rooms. Every day we saw people waiting for tieir rooms - appears the hotel does not have enough cleaning staff. The staff at the desk were all very young and inexperienced, but friendly. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service from staff was excellent all service personnell were polite and helpful. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by employees The hotel stay was wonderful. it was our first time at this hotel and we will return. Everyone was kind and helpful with the exception of one very rude African-American woman working the gift shop. My husband went to purchase two sodas and she never took her ear buds out of her ears while checking him out, rudely and curtly replied to his questions, and seemed generally very unhappy in her customer service job. July 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NON-Heavenly bed I'll start by saying the location of this Hotel is perfect for exploring Chicago and we loved it. The restaurant was also surprisingly good and really cool. Unfortunately the Beds and decor reminded me of a motel not a Westin. The bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows lumpy, and the sheeting coarse. We complained at the front desk but were told that "it is what it is". I am SPG Gold and travel a lot for work and fun and have stayed at SPG all over the world. I was not impressed with this hotel and would look elsewhere when returning to Chicago. At a minimum they need to provide a Heavenly bed! August 22, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 23 next>>