The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent avoir au moins 21 ans et présenter une pièce d’identité avec photo pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 644 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cannot Get a Reciept I was told on checkin that I could have my receipt emailed to me. They even asked for my email. Well, two phone called and 8 days later, no receipt. What does it take to get a receipt? April 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by $59 to park my car!! I have always stayed at this hotel when traveling to Chicago, but not sure i will again. This is the most I have ever paid to park my car at a hotel... $59 a night are you kidding me?? August 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by WEstin Michigan AVenue Room had dirty socks under the bed that we found when we dropped an earring and were looking for it. The telephone did not work and needed to be repaired November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel for Both Leisure & Business Travelers This is a favorite hotel in downtown Chicago for me when on business or when on personal travel alike. I feel the rates at this property are consistent with the quality and location of the hotel. I recommend this hotel. Two aspects of this hotel I enjoy: 1) Location: You’re directly on Michigan Avenue with access to top shopping and restaurants. Also, you’re just blocks from the lake which is nice in the summer. There are a few theaters nearby on this end of Michigan Avenue which is also nice if you’re looking for an evening event after dinner. 2) Value: While rooms are a little dated and somewhat small, I feel the rates are fair and thus I would continue to stay and recommend this property. For SPG elite members… I find this hotel to be fairly full because of its awesome location and affordable rates. As a Platinum member, I am normally offered a room with an enhanced view, but I’ve never been upgraded to a suite, for example. If you’re traveling on pleasure and want more space to relax with friends or family, I recommend using your Suite Award Nights rewards to increase your likelihood of an upgrade for your stay. October 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experiences I stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago on two consecutive week-ends, the first with my husband (found a cigarette carton in a non smoking room?) and the second with my sisters and their children. In both instances, check-in was needlessly long (waited in line for over 25 minutes and there were only two parties ahead of me). I checked on our room requests on the first week-end in the hope that we would receive the type of accommodation requested on the second week-end. This didn't occur and the front desk staff member was confused and flustered on both check-ins. It took one hour and 25 minutes to finally resolve our getting enough beds to accommodate our party. I was told that we would get a roll away to provide sufficient beds since we wound up with king beds and not the two queen beds requested. When I requested the roll away, I was told it would cost me $40 extra. I finally slept on the floor using the couch cushions. I know this was a busy week-end on Michigan Avenue, but what a disappointment. We are gold members of the Starwood franchise and are questioning our investment. So much for earning and cashing in Starwood points! November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location The location of this hotel is ideal for your first stay in Chicago - seems a bit out of the way when you're looking at a map, but it's not. October 23, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great people, poor infrastructure The employees were very friendly but the place itself needs some changes. Asked for early check-in but none available (understandable) so rearranged my schedule and arrived at about 5pm to be told there were no rooms available yet because of late checkouts. After some "discussion" we got a room. The room was nice enough although the bathrrom ceiling was in need of repair. One big problem is that there was no vent fan in the bath which meant that the humidity spread throughout the room. The humidity was there prior to any showering on our part. The humidity in the room was high enough to make the sheets on the bed and the chair cushion seem damp. The bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. My only other problem was with parking. The valet parking (no other alternative) was firendly, but calling down early to let them know when you wanted to pick up your car seemed to make no difference. No one answered the phone and the message left seemed to fall on deaf ears. One other thing. Parking overnight was expensive. I could have gotten my car its own room in some hotels for less. All in all, we loved Chicago. The Westin - not so much. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by hotel room critque lamp in room was broken as well as clock radio. air conditioning did not cool the room satisfactorily August 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Great location. Small room. Poorly maintained bathroom. Decent amenities. November 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't expect to check in at check in time... We stayed here on December 28-29th. Check in time was at 3 pm, however no rooms were available. As of April 1, 2013, SPG changed their checkout time to 3 pm. There isn't enough time for housekeeping to turn over the rooms. There were several, 50 or more, angry guests in the lobby also constantly asking and checking in with the front desk about their rooms. Two and a half hours later after I repeatedly inquired about our room was when we were finally assigned a room, however not the room we booked. We had 4 people on our reservation, they gave us a king size bed, next to the elevator, in a room the size of a closet (room 1515) and offered us a rollaway in addition to the king bed. Because we booked our room through American Airlines vacations, they could not guarantee our required room. That is what the front desk manager said and that I would need to contact AA about it. To say the least, the hotel staff I dealt with was less than helpful. I have written letters to the general manager, front desk manager, American Airlines Vacations as well as the CEO. During the busiest travel season there should be limitations on who can check out as late as 3pm, leaving many people with no available rooms at check in. To say that our hotel portion of the trip was disastrous would be a good explanation. December 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunate choice Not what one expects from a Westin stay. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No way 5 star Arriving at the hotel we needed to line up, as the Platinum check- in wasn't staffed. 2 days before I noted that I got an upgrade to a 2 room suite. Upon check in a suite upgrade was confirmed. Arrving at the room, we found a standard deluxe room, maybe a bit larger than normal. I asked again at check in and got the information that this is called a office suite. nowwhere at this Westin is anything mentioned at a office suite. I complained via eMail to Manager and got a call back. They offered me a suite the next day, which I refused as I did not wanna go to the hassle of packing and unpacking. So I was offered free in room breakfast, which was appreciated, if there would have been replacement of the order menu every day. Needless to say that coffee wasn't replaced daily. Well at the end, they credited some extra points to make up for the problems. Other things to know about this hotel: 1. they did not ask which Platinum Amenity you want 2. There is no executive lounge and also no 'compensation' for it like in most Asian hotel (like free breakfast or drink voucher. 3. All TV stations only show US stations. No international TV stations (not even BBC) is available. 4. The property is well maintained, but old, so expect quite some wear and tear. June 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Unhappy with Westin in Chicago Very Unhappy with Westin in Chicago We were visiting colleges in Chicago and I thought that staying at this hotel would give us a great feel of the city and it did. But the beds were very small and the comfort of the matresses were horrible and to top it off the bathrooms do not have any ventilation and the ceiling is full of moisture stains and the toilet was very loose. I would not recommend this hotel at all! I will stay at THIS HOTEL ANYMORE I WILL FIND some other hotel when staying in Chicago again. They did offer extra points because I am a member but it really did not matter I was not happy with the services and the condition of the room. April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Long wait for check-in We arrived to check in around 3:30 pm on a Saturday and found the lobby filled with people. After waiting in line for nearly half an hour we finally approached the counter. After completing the check-in process we were informed that our room was not clean yet and would not be ready for another half hour to an hour. Our "compensation" for this wait was a free luggage check so that we could go elsewhere and wait for their call that the room was ready. An hour passed and no phone call. 2 hours passed. Still no phone call. 3 hours later and we had walked the length of Michigan Ave, eaten dinner and walked back to the hotel. When I reached the front desk I explained in a polite but obviously frustrated manner that we had checked in 3 hours before and had not yet received a phone call that our room was ready. After a long time looking at her computer screen and typing in who knows what, she finally presented us with our room keys. At this point we were thrilled to just finally get into our room although I was still obviously irritated and received not so much as a free breakfast for the 3 hours we had to wait. Once we finally got to our room, we had a wonderful stay. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating and definitely recommend it to others had it not been for our extensive wait and lack of apology for it. February 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor management and untrained reservationist I attempted to arrange a weekend for my wife and a few of her friends to do a little shopping and relaxation. The first time I called I made it very clear we wanted a corner suite with an adjoining room. Simple right, wrong! When I reviewed the email confirmation it seemed to be different and it was. After many phone calls with different personnel my wife and her friends ended up with a suite that was suited for business travel and another room (not adjoining) far away from the suite. Needless to say we are done with the Chicago Westin and perhaps Westin's in general. If you can't get something as simple as a reservation correct it's time to move on. February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Some Improvement I am a big fan of Westin and would definitely recommend them to friends and colleagues. Starwood's online registration site is very easy to use and offers guests an opportunity to send a note to hotel management (on specific requests). Although the hotel can't guarantee that they will honor each and every request, most of the properties do make an attempt. I usually ask for a quiet room without a common, adjoining room door (that connects one hotel room with the one next door). I also usually ask for a no-pet floor. While I like cats and dogs, I am allergic to most animals and am also allergic to flea bites. I was greeted by a very nice person at reception and was told that I was upgraded. When I got to my room, it was very close to the elevator and had a common door with the room next door. During the evening, I was disturbed by guests getting on and off the elevator, and by the hotel guest in the room next door. I also heard loud conversations by the hotel's housekeepers right outside my door. To make things worse, I left with three flea bites. When I called the valet to retrieve my car, there was no answer. When I called a second time, the person accidentally hung up on me. When I called the hotel operator and guest services, there was no answer. When I tried again, it went to a voicemail. The positive aspect of this property is its location. It is close to restaurants, offices and shops along the Magnificent Mile. They also have a nice gym. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food & Beverage Prices too high at THE GRILL and food wasn't that great. July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rooms are very old My company made reservations at this hotel recently for about 50 people. Others told me how nice their rooms were but some agreed with me that the rooms were not very nice at all. I had to take pictures to show them how bad the room was. The paint was peeling off of the ceiling in both the room and and bathroom. The wall paper was also peeling off. The caulk in the shower looked like my 10 year old son did it. There was expensive wall paper in the bathroom that was textured but something disgusting was stuck in the wall paper. The light switches were filled with 10+ years of dirt. The door and door jams looked to be painted about 6 times over. The door to my room had to be slammed to get it to close all the way. There was even paint on the peep hole in the door. The vent in the bathroom had the screws half falling out of it. The water in the refrigerator said compliments of the Westin but I was charged for it. This is also the first hotel where I have seen that you had to pay for WiFi access. In the hotels defense I did not complain to management. It is not my style. I also did not want to pack up all of my things to move to another room. If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem so this is why I am writing this review in hopes that hotel management will read this and use it to improve their hotel. There were a few positives. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. The lobby area was nice and the restaurant had great food and beer. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Location and a GREAT bed! In terms of location, it is the best hotel in Chicago. It´s close to most of tourist spots, and neighbor to John Hancock Center (the visit to John Hancock Center is mandatory - the view is great, even better than Skydeck, because you have a great view of Michigan Lake). Located at the best Avenue for shopping, you can find from the most expensive to the most popular brands. Not to mention that the room is very cozy and the bed ... of HEAVEN! If I didn´t have to make tourists programs and shop, certainly I would have slept a whole day! ehehehehe! In short: when I return to Chicago, I´ll certainly stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue! February 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Westin is our preferred hotel when we travel and typically we are exceedingly satisfied, but this particular Westin is an unfortunate exception. Despite negative experiences in the past, we have never written a bad review, but could not hold back this time. Our situation is too long to explain, and in the end the hotel management very begrudgingly agreed to some restitution, but when the check in clerk realized their mistake, not only did she imply it was our error and their was nothing they could do - but when she brought out the manager on duty - Anna Sears - she not only greeted us with a cold, hard "you are bothering me" stare, but she never once apologized, continued to deny and argue with us, and made us feel like anything but a valued customer. And this was all happening while the registration line was about 10 people long (which is also typical for this hotel). I was ready to give up except that the family waiting in line to check out right behind me had just shared their equally frustrating experiences, and said they would never come back - but I knew the hotel would never hear their story - because like most customers, rather than complain - they just don't return - so I was more determined than ever. And the value of being a Starwood Preferred Guest in this hotel is a joke - in fact I think they treated us worse because of it - after all of our problems, the room they gave us looked directly into the neighboring high rise and we had to keep curtains closed the whole time. I want to reiterate - this hotel is NOT TYPICAL - we normally LOVE Westin. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great We stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful stay everyone was were friendly. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by wow...and not in a good way The only thing appealing about this property is the location. Really not up to Westin standards. The rooms and public areas are tired, worn and dated. The only modern thing in the room was the TV. A few specifics: *nothing works as it should; the phone beside the bed did not work, the air-conditioning did not cool as it should, and it was not a terribly warm day outside, the water pressure in the bathroom was non-existent *the bathroom was not as clean as it could or should be. Let's just say that I easily figured out that the last guest was a brunette *the carpet in my room was literally unraveling around the edges...falling apart *while the TV was modern, it was a waste as the TV service is not working . One can watch only about half the stations; the others are pixelated. When I called "service express" (and let me be clear--a misnomer as I had to hang up and call several times before someone answered) they told me it was because of the rain outside. I scoffed and asked to speak with a manager, who explained that they are having an ongoing issue with LodgeNet, their provider. This is probably true, as another Starwood property, at which I frequently stay, is having the same issue and has been having it for a couple of months. (One wonders when Starwood Management is going to engage to get this fixed...kind of a basic for major hotels to provide working TV service, and clearly multiple of their brands are having the same issue). The manager was very nice, and agreed with me that the hotel is not in the shape it should be, and explained that renovations will begin at the end of the year. The bottom line is that this property is not up to a Westin standard. September 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by staff fell short, hotel is nice The hotel has a great location. The staff was terrible. Our room was not ready until after 5:00pm! Also, the next day our room was never serviced. We returned from being gone all day and our room was never cleaned! The response was, "nobody was gotten to it yet on that floor". Also, the woman at the front desk was not very friendly and seemed very confused. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unimpressive I'm afraid our stay at the Westin Michigan Ave. in Chicago began with a poor customer service experience at check-in. At this point, my husband and I confirmed with the two front-desk employees we dealt with that we are Starwood members. I then requested a lake view room, if available. Raven said this was no problem though she added that there were no lakeview rooms open located any higher than the fifth floor. We told her this was no problem and followed a bellman up to our room. Well, it was indeed on the fifth floor but certainly had *no* lake view. My husband then returned to the front desk to straighten things out only to be told by Raven that she thought I'd requested a Mich. Ave. view room rather than a lakeview room and now she had no such rooms available. Puh-leeze. "Michigan Ave. view" does not sound at all like "lakeview". No compensation was offered to us by front-desk staff for this misunderstanding. We also found the restaurant's food to be overpriced for its quality. Two basic cheeseburgers with an ice tea and one beer ended up costing us almost $50. (We're former New Yorkers so are accustomed to expensive food but this was a bit much.) In addition, we encountered a noise problem in our room two nights in a row. Loud audio from our next door neighbor's TV blared each of these nights until almost one in the morning, preventing my husband from getting to sleep. The soundproofing between the walls of this Westin must be very poor indeed. Finally, I found the selection of toiletries in our bathroom to be inadequate for a hotel of this level. There was no shower gel or even an extra shower cap provided in the bath. Chicago has quite a few hotels in the same price range as this Westin so based on our experiences there, I doubt we'll be returning. September 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We arrived at 4:15pm (check-in is at 3pm) and were told that our room was not ready yet but would be within the hour and they would call us when ready. We checked back in 1 hour and still not ready. We had requested to be on the same floor as 3 other guests and we were told this was the reason for the wait, but that if we wanted to be on another floor, they could get us into a room now. 1 hour later, we went back to see if our room was ready, and they checked us in but on a different floor. They could not explain what happened but we were not happy at all. February 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unacceptable I was directed to print my return flight boarding pass by the front desk at the Fed Ex office center. Then I was charged $3.63 for printing. I'll never stay at a Westin again. There are many other choices in Chicago. I have never heard of a hotel doing this. I complained to the front desk with no acknowledgment. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to be in Chicago Location is right next to Hancock building, Water Tower Place with Macy's and lots of other stores in the "mall", and Bloomingdale's. Great restaurant inside at the Grille, and Rosebud Steak House is a very short walk around the corner. Great views from the East tower- we had a great view from 26th floor of Oak Street beach and the lake! Nice amenities in bathroom. Staff was very helpful and professional. Starbucks in lobby was nice for early morning treats, they open at 6. Flower scent in the lobby was refreshing. 3 elevators in East tower so there really was no elevator wait time-they were very quick to respond, and I think there were 3 for the West side. Will definitely stay here again. May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed to say the least I was very upset when I arrived and was told that the rooms were not ready and possibly wouldn't be until a couple of hours. I rarely receive time off of work and this was suppose to be a mini birthday vacation for me. Not to mention that I arrived at 5pm which is two hours after check in, I was given an estimated time of 8pm which is not even a full 24hours worth of stay. The bigger picture here is after complaining and asking for a manager twice, we finally received our rooms but there was a lobby full of people that were still waiting with children a luggage. Also, I can't recall seeing anyone on staff smiling. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff + Location = Perfection! We checked in with our kids and Phil helped us with our luggage to our room. He was so friendly and knew a lot about the area. The valet was a little slow, but they were very nice. Alex sent us wine and treats for our kids which was very thoughtful! Also he said he upgraded us and our room had a beautiful view and was pretty large. This is definitely where we are staying for the future!!!!!! April 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fine, not great A bit of a line for checkin. The SPG Gold checkin sign not obvious so we missed it. We asked for a late check out & room upgrade but had to wait several hours in the restaurant for the room. Finally at 4:30 we went back to front desk and were told room was not ready so we were given an equivalent room that was ready. The room we received was right near the elevator so a bit of noise, not a big deal. Room service was so-so and very expensive. Both days they were out of the potstickers I wanted to order and the chef's inspiration dish was not available. I was told the chef was not inspired that day. On our last day we came back to our room after lunch about 3pm to freshen up and get our suitcases. We were locked out. Having to go back to the lobby and wait in line just to get back in our room was annoying. The problem was fixed but we didn't really even get an apology. June 24, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 23 next>>