The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 669 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lake Michigan view Love this location for great food and shopping. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Super accomodations in Chicago. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special Weekend The Hotel and Staff were great. Great location April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is awesome amazing hotel great location and awesome staff January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent serviles The staff and the hotel wonderfull experience September 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, great hotel Hotel has all you want with extra features. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacation We love staying at this hotel! January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing special Nothing special about this hotel. March 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Stayed at the Micigan Ave. Westin December 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Features Great location, great facilities June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Our stay was comfortable & clean April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Great service and attentiveness January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is fine and good for tourists I would be back again next time March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Michigan Avenue Very clean room and hotel. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin was great! My stay went very well!!! July 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and amenities, but room was not clean My family and I recently stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue during our vacation in Chicago mid June. While we loved the location of the hotel, its amenities, and accommodations, my check-in experience did not start off on the right foot. Upon arrival at my hotel room, I walked into beds that looked as though they had been slept on (pillows were not in order, bed sheets were not neatly tucked), the recycle can was not emptied. After further inspection, the hand soap in bathroom was not sealed in wrapper, and the hand towel was laying on the bathroom counter as though it had been used and not folded. It was certainly not what I had expected from a top brand hotel, especially being that I work for a hotel myself. It was unacceptable. After notifying a staff member, I received a call shortly from the Housekeeping Manager apologizing for the state of the room. My family and I were immediately assigned to a new room that was in satisfactory condition. I do appreciate the prompt the attention to the matter, but still expected more. Other than that, staff was courteous and professional. Location was great, just steps from John Hancock Building, Water Tower Place, and Magnificent Mile. I took advantage of the New Balance Lending program, and frequented the workout room. June 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Not Much Else. I had a recent stay for 3 days and generally all I ask for is a clean bed and bathroom, I am NOT picky about hotels. However, other than the location, I was really disappointed here. 1. I heard some fidgeting outside of my door at 5:30 in the evening and peeked out to see what was going on, assuming someone just had the wrong room #. To my surprise – the door opened! It was a member of the room service staff coming to deliver a blanket (that we had not requested- wrong room) and rather than knocking he just tried to enter the room. I was in the middle of getting ready for an event and was not dressed. Not only did he have the wrong room, but members of the staff should NEVER enter a room without knocking first! To me, this is completely unacceptable. 2. I called down to see if someone could look at the sink in the bathroom where the hot water nozzle was broken, so the handle would move both directions and it was hard to stop the water. I was assured someone would be right up, but at the end of our 3 day stay no one had ever come. 3. Our room had a cobweb in the corner, peeling wall paper and a stain on the carpet – I would expect more from a WESTIN. I will say the hotel did a fabulous job with the wedding I attended, just wish that would have translated to a better overall experience. June 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weekend experience My wife and I recently completed a weekend stay at the hotel. We were in Chicago to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was simply average. We we checked in we were given a rool that was already occupied. Front desk associate was very apologetic. Second room was fine. Had room service for breakfast both mornings and the food was delivered at right temperature and tasted very good. On Sundayb morning asked housekeeper in the hallway for a bath towel, she responded that I would have to call the front desk as she had no bath towels. Very strange given that she was cleaning rooms. The right customer service respose would have been to secure a towel herself. Waited for a while at checkout as only 1 person was checking guests out at 1pm on Sunday for several minutes while we waited. A second person eventually arrived to assist. Waited for several minutes for our car from valet. Then, driver didn't pull into the valet lane inside the garage but pulled our car by the side of street. In haste to load so we wouldn't block traffic, driver forgot to give us the key before we pulled off and we didn't realize it until we returned to Indiana. When I called back to the hotel they were immediately aware and were making plans to return the key. Consistent with their promise, they shipped the key overnight. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recommend American Girl package at this hotel. Our stay was a disappointment. Nothing was delivered as promised. As part of the package, we expected a personilized letter for our daughters and their doll. We were handed an envelope that did have their names on the outside, but was addressed to our guest and was more of a parent info sheet then a letter written for a little girl. Then we discover our sheets were stained. Then we attempted to use the coupon offered as part of the package at the cafe. The cafe staff was wonderful and very friendly but accidentally charged me the extra 10 that the coupon was supposed to cover. They cafe was eager to reverse the charge and assist me further but were having difficulty with the register. It wasn't until we asked at the front desk that things got ugly. First of all, they didn't even recognize their own coupon and I had to insist that I received it from the front desk upon check in. We asked the hotel manager on duty to just simply drop the extra 10 we were charged off of our hotel stay bill. Initially she refused forcing us to call the 1 800 customer service number to get it resolved. I found the manager to be rude and uncaring. We did get the 10 off after at least 30 minutes of our time and we were billed for the call. Next time I will stay at one of the other hotels that offer the American Girl package. January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you'd expect from a Wesstin As a Platinum, I have high expectations for a Westin. When we arrived, we asked the bellman what the parking rate was for one night. 65 dollars he informed us and recommended a parking garage 2.5 blocks away for 30 dollars. We were off to a good start. Checking in I informed the desk clerk that I was a platinum and if we could be upgraded to a better room. He replied that our room was ready and when we arrived, we realized it was just a standard room. When we checked in we inquired about the complimentary breakfast and the desk attendent informed us that only the continental option was available at the Starbucks inside the property and that the restaurant was not affiliated with the Westin. (I wondered how this hotel could get a 4 star rating without their own restaurant) The next morning we went to the Starbucks for our continental breakfast and the lady at Starbucks informed us that we could only get a piece of fruit, coffee or juice and a pastry. I wanted yogurt and berries and a soda which she stated was not allowed. WOW I thought that they could provide a complimentary breakfast but you couldn't get berries and yogurt. All in all, I think there are much better options in downtown Chicago and for the poor service we received and a 65 dollar daily parking rate, not restaurant on site which is run by Starwood, we are suprised that this hotel can maintain a 4 star rating. July 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heavenly bed devilish details First, let me say I love the Westin. The Heavenly Bed almost always makes it worth the stay. My last stay unfortunately will be my last at this property. Check in was easy and fairly quick and I was even greeted with a special gift upon arrival. However, immediately upon entering the room it was clear that no updates had been done in years as the room looked dark and dingy. Still, the bed was comfortable, so I headed out for a night with my friends. Upon waking up the next day, things got really bad. First, I noticed my bottled water had a chlorinated taste - the same as out of the tap. Someone had opened my water, filled it with tap water, and put it back with the complimentary sign on it. Next I opened the windows and discovered black mold that covered every corner! I went to the shower to get out of the room as fast as I could and noticed more mold and mildew in the bathroom! Then, as I pulled the towel down off the shower bar, a used bar of soap fell down with it! All of the towels were a very dirty off-white and very well worn. So, I grabbed all my stuff to get out of the room as soon as I could. I noted each of these concerns at the front desk and he said "wow, it sounds like you had quite an experience" and then promptly handed me my bill. I was outraged to not even get an apology! Rest assured I will never stay at this property again. It may be in a nice location, but there are much better options out there for this price range! April 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by LACK of security and concern I always stay at the Westin Hotel on Michigan Ave when visiting Chicago. A year ago we even joined the awards program associated with Westin Hotel. I loved its location and never experienced an issue until this past weekend. We decided to visit Chicago for Memorial Day weekend. We rented a Hertz car near our home, drove the five hours and gave our car to the hotel for safe keeping. Our last day, we checked out and went down to pick up our car to leave. But our rental car was GONE!!! The Hertz Rental office/desk inside the hotel somehow got our keys, removed all of our items and decided to rent it out to someone else. If we had waited an hour more before getting our car we would have had no transportation back home since all Hertz offices in the city closed early for the holiday. To make matters worse that day…we were informed by an employee that this is not the first time this has happened. Westin reimbursed us for the parking fees...only after I requested it. The hotel did nothing else except pass the blame to Hertz Rental. Even though we were hotel guests (and not a Hertz guest). We entrusted our vehicle to the hotel and expected the hotel provided the necessary security and/or procedures to protect it. But to find out that his has happened before to other hotel guests was SHOCKING!! This showed us that Westin is not correcting issues concerning their guests. In meantime, we are handling things with Hertz corporate and we will NEVER stay here again!! May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A poor experience I stay at Westin hotels all across the USA and Canada, and unfortunately this is probably the worst experience I've had. I don't normally post these reviews but it was just so uncommon for Westin's that I felt I had to share. The stay started with a lovely girl who checked me in. She told me that I was upgraded due to my gold status which was a welcome surprise. Once I got to my room, I stepped in to the washroom to put my toothbrush down, and there was a huge puddle of water on the ground. I finally discovered that my toilet was leaking all over, so had to use one of my towels to soak it all up. I left a note for the cleaning staff the next day, and it was re-sealed so at least they addressed it. I can tell you that the “heavenly bed” in this room was nothing close to heavenly. Those are legitimately the worst pillows I’ve ever had at a Westin, and the sheets felt like they had been washed about 5000 times. Not to mention the fact that I woke up the last day with mysterious red spots all over my body…but I’m not even going to speculate where those came from. The icing on the cake was that I wasn’t given any shampoo, body wash or bar of soap until the 2nd last day of my stay. I thought maybe I was missing it somewhere, so I never mentioned anything (good thing I brought my own). When it finally showed up, I was appalled, to say the least, that it had been overlooked for 2 separate room services. Overall, just a disappointing experience which is too bad because I’ve always been a loyal Westin user. Hopefully this is just a one-off experience September 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Bit Disappointed I booked this reservation being my first hotel after achieving my Platnium status. Booked two rooms for my family. I guess it was my understanding that you would be guranteed an immediate upgrade from your booked room if available. I called earlier that day and was told there were plenty of rooms available and that people were cancelling. My spg agent called the hotel to try and book to a Michigan avenue view instead of the two lakeview rooms. They said they couldn't change the room because of the cancellation policy but assured there was plenty of rooms to change when I checked in. When we did try to check in, the gentleman stated, well we already have you in a suite. I stated that, yes I knew that, because I booked and paid for that suite, but was requesting the next available suite above that with a michigan avenue view. He stated they couldn't do that, becuase you already were in a suite. And I knew there was rooms available because I called reservations 30 minutes before acting like a new reservation to make sure rooms were available. So I guess my recommendation is for all Platnium members the only time this upgrade is worth while is if you choose to just book a tradition room and then you want a suite over that, if available. I was also told by my spg agent and as it states on the website that you get a choice of a amenities at the time of check-in which was never offered. So was disappointed on this whole process. I will also state that the SPG agents, (Nancy) have been great with everything, and that it was more the hotel itself. I will say the elderly valet/bell gentleman gave a very friendly helpful greeting when we did arrive though. So I will tip my hat off to him, even on such a cold night. November 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service, didn't follow through on many requests I travel a lot for work and often stay at Westins because I know it just makes life a little easier and they generally have great amenities and service. I was pretty disappointed with my stay here. I was on a preferred member floor and although surprised when I was told there was no executive lounge room (usually is?), I was happy because the view was great. However there were just a number of things that added up over my two day stay that let me down and I feel compelled to share as it was nothing like what I believe you strive for in customer service. 1) No do not disturb sign in the room so people kept trying to come 2) There was no in room book with room service and when I called to get one I had to call again 20 mins later and so it took me ages to eat and ended up arriving in the middle of a call which I was trying to avoid. Also I called and asked for it to be retrieved and no one came leaving it in my room for. Day and a half! 3)There were no 10lbs barbells in the weight room only 6 and 15 upwards (not very useful for most women I imagine) 4) The pillows were probably some of the hardest and tallest I've slept on. I could barely get my neck on it and I'm 5-7... Not super short. So I asked for different pillows the next day. They said they would be delivered to my room and upon returning after my last late meeting at 11(having to get up at 4am) they were not there. So i called the service express who said they would be right up. Again, waited over 20 min just dying to get to bed and had to all again. It took nearly 30 mins. 5) service express - a few times never even picked up. Usually took at least 8-10 rings for someone to come to the phone. So there you go... NOT what I expect from a Westin, let alone a preferred guest. July 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor experience We arrived at 3:00 for check-in and was told by the blond female front desk staff member (would state her name but she wasn't wearing a nametag) our room was not ready and she had no way to tell us when it would be but said she would call us when it was. We had to be at an event for 6:00. We waited 45 minutes and then spoke with Daniel at the front desk who credited our parking fee for our inconvenience and then said to check back in 15 minutes to find out when we could get our room. We were told it would be at least another 45 minutes. We expressed our need to have our room and he contacted cleaning staff to have it cleaned immediately. He discounted our room a bit for needing to wait even longer. Daniel was helpful in getting us to our room so we could make it to our event on time. I had little doubt the first woman we worked with even checked the status of our room and seemed fully annoyed to be helping us. I had called the day before to request a rollaway and was informed it would be an additional charge even though my email confirmation clearly states rollaways are no charge. We didn't even get the rollaway delivered to our room and we got back so late to our room one guest just chose to sleep on the small chaise lounge rather than wait for one to be delivered. Upon reviewing the bill the next morning, we were charged for the rollaway we didn't use and charged $130 more than what we should have. I spoke with the front desk staff and he corrected it. Upon coming home I reviewed my bank account and was charged not only the $130 more on my bill but an additional $19 that is not stated anywhere why that extra charge is on there. I will be calling first thing tomorrow to get this taken care of. Overall horrible experience and would not consider returning. Gave "staff met my needs" a 2 only because Daniel was so helpful otherwise it would have been a 1. July 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not this time First, let me say that I've stayed at this hotel at least 4 other times before my most recent trip on 5-26-13. The trip was to catch the Cubs vs White Sox on Memorial Day. After the 5hr drive, we arrived early afternoon, about 1-1:30pm. Upon booking online, I did request early check-in, although i did understand that early check in's are not guaranteed. That was fine as regular check in time is 3pm. However, i did not expect to arrive to such a delayed check in attempt. I did realize it was a holiday weekend so upon being told that our room was not ready and that we'd be called when it was, my wife and i left our luggage and started out downtown for lunch. After a couple hrs and no call, we made our way back to check the status of the room. Still not ready. We left again to shop. A couple more hrs later, no call, still no room. After 2 more hrs, we again returned to front desk, only to be told that they didn't know where housekeeping was and we'd get a call when our room was ready. At this point, we were both exhausted from the drive, the killing of the time, and we both wanted to have showered and relaxed going into the evening. So instead of leaving, we decided to wait it out in the lobby. My wife then noticing that none of the faces of other waiting guests were the same as those when we arrived, leading us to believe that most had been given rooms already. I will say that before when we stayed at this hotel we'd booked the deluxe room or suite. This time we went with the traditional room at the pre-paid rate. In other words, we went cheaper and although the room was already paid for, there was still nothing available upon check in time. Finally, at around 7pm(6hrs later) we were given a room. Feeling like we wasted a day, my wife did mention it to the front desk. The response wasn't very empathetic considering the inconvenience, but we were given room service vouchers as compensation. Overall, the hotel is a nice place to stay, as are the other Westin hotels i've stayed, but this most recent inconvenience sort of left a sour taste in our mouth. May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude Staff Members When I book The Westin North Michigan Ave in Chicago, I thought I was going to experience the high quality of Starwood hotels again. This was not the case. Some of the staff members were rude and did not offer to help solve my request (although it was a very tiny request and I could live without it) but the way it was dealt was very disappointing. Shortly after checking in and going up to my hotel room on a Friday night, I called "Service Express" on the phone to ask for some cotton or cloth slippers. After a long wait for someone to actually pick up my call, I was told that they were out of slippers. Okay, that's fine, I understand. I then asked if I could get slippers the next day and was assured that "Yes, we will get slippers tomorrow". Score. I'm not sure if my standards for The Westin are too high but I honestly thought the lady who answered my call would make a note and ask housekeeping to drop them off the next day when the room was being cleaned. So I left the hotel the next day in the morning and came back after our room had been cleaned. Still no signs of slippers. Later on, on my way out, I stopped by the front desk to ask someone in person hoping they will let me know if I can get slippers or not. The man at the front desk said "No problem! We'll send them right up to your room!". He was enthusiastic and sounded like he knew what he was saying. But no, when I came back that night, still NO SLIPPERS. I called Service Express again and AGAIN after a long wait (seriously, are they understaffed at Service Express?), the woman told me flatly, "No miss we're out of slippers". When I told her what I was told the day before, she said "well they got it wrong, we don't get deliveries on Saturday". Seriously? After one other SErvice express operator AND one front desk staff, NOW they tell me that? Slippers are not some vital object that I need to survive but the hotel staff should know their policies and routines better so they do not misinform their guests and give them false hope. Also on the other hand, I found hair on my pillow case before I even touched the bed and also on the wall of the shower... The concierge staff was also rude when I asked them what was the best way from the hotel to O'hare when it was snowing outside. Overall, I would definitely not recommend this Westin hotel. It is definitely subpar. February 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Poor Experience I was surprised to read on TripAdvisor how poorly this hotel was rated having stayed there frequently a few years ago. Having stayed there now I realize that the TripAdvisor rating is justified. This hotel has deteriorated markedly in service. Not sure where to begin. The SPG Platinum/VIP coordinator reached out to me in advance of my stay to ask what she could do to ensure a great stay. I said only a great room for me and my son. She said she would make it happen. Alas the front desk and this individual had a "breakdown in communication" and we ended up in a not very good room at all. We did not even make it on to an SPG-level floor! So much for the benefits of being a Platinum member... After a night and day of my requesting that they honor their commitment to me and my son they moved us. They did offer recompense but the whole affair put a real dent in our vacation. I also had to deal with some decidedly very rude and unhelpful staff along the way. Being woken up at early the next day - notwithstanding a "Do Not Disturb: sign on the door did not help! Again I got an apology from the hotel - and some points - but, really...what is unclear about DO NOT DISTURB! As an SPG Platinum member I am entitle to a "continental breakfast". What this particular hotel means by that is a piece of fruit or a danish (not both) and a mid-sized coffee (no refills). Just to be clear this is supposed to be the breakfast meal. No surprise that my son and I had to leave this "breakfast" every morning, cross the road, and pay for a second breakfast! Honestly, either offer a breakfast or don't - but what is offered is a joke. At every other SPG property I have ever stayed at, the "breakfast" Platinum amenity has either been a full breakfast or at least an expansive continental breakfast with enough food to sate the appetite for breakfast. They do not honor the SPG promise of a "continental breakfast." Then of course the charges on my bill for newspapers that I did not request (ultimately removed from my bill) and a gesture of points for being unable to check me in in a timely manner! But at least the overnight parking at $65/night is a steal... I shall not be hurrying back to this particular property! Not up to the Starwood or Westin level...not even close. August 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by C- Pro's: The lobby and room looked nice. The food was good. Con's: If you’re going to use a glass top on the executive desk in the room, maybe include a mouse pad so I don't have to use your room service menu to be able to use my optical mouse. I'm in IT and I'm pretty sure 99% + of mice are optical these days. I could receive email, but I couldn’t send email through the hotel wireless network from my GoDaddy account. I ended up just tethering off of my cell phone when I needed to send an email. Very annoying. The drain in the tub drained sooo slow that the tub would fill up with water while I took a shower. Not the end of the world, but kinda annoying. My room was on the 12th floor and across the hall from the freight elevator. I don't know what rolls around in the ceiling every couple of minutes, I'm guessing it's the counter weights from the elevator echoing , but it's fairly loud in the bathroom and can be heard throughout the room in general. It's continuous and happens all day and night. You might want to consider some additional insulation in the ceiling. The event I was attending at the hotel was in the 4th floor Lincoln room. The handle for the hot water for the right sink in the men’s room fell off during one of the breaks. The left sink had zero cold water, it just trickled out, and the left urinal didn't flush. I didn't get the impression that maintenance was a high priority given this and the way my bathtub drain worked. When I checked out I wasn't asked how my stay was at-all. When I asked the front desk person for directions to the airport he simply said he didn't know. No, "Hey let me google that for you and get you a map" or maybe "Let me ask someone else". Just, "I don't know". When I asked the valet how to get to the airport he gave me the wrong directions, but hey he at least tried. One would think this is a fairly common question for a hotel in downtown Chicago. Entering this review into the Starwood hotels website was painful to type. Having a window about 3 inches wide for the text box and constantly jumping back to the top of the window prohibiting me from seeing what I’m typing after I have entered the first 10 lines of text is really annoying. I ended up just composing this in Microsoft Word and pasting it back into the review window. February 12, 2013
<<prev 20 21 22 23 24 next>>