The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Política de idade mínima

O hóspede deve ter no mínimo 21 anos e apresentar um documento com foto para reservar um quarto.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 691 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location for Shopping and Dining We have stayed at this hotel many times when visiting Chicago and have always had a good experience. The best feature is the excellent location, being right on the Magnificent Mile. It is also a very short walk to the many restaurants and night life around Rush Street. The hotel is somewhat dated, but the management has done a good job in keeping things well maintained and addressing the needs of contemporary travelers (Internet, Workout room, etc.). As a heads up for arrival, the check-in always seems to be very busy at this property. Also, I prefer either a lake or Michigan Ave view if available. We were disappointed on our last stay to find out that since we had booked the hotel through American Airlines Vacations, our stay was not eligible to accrue SPG rewards credits. We do enjoy the Grill on the Alley, particularly the bar area. It has a warm and cozy feel to it and is a great place to catch a football game. Overall this hotel provides a great location for those visiting Chicago to shop, dine and enjoy nightlife. December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and service On Michigan avenue in front of Jonh H. Building. Small issue with my TV however Justin tech from the hotel took care. Excellent service.... Also lady that cleans the gym and replace towels is so kind. Sorry forgot her name November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location cannot be beat in Chicago! Just completed an 8 day stay in the Westin Michigan Ave. for business, and again was impressed by the staff and stellar location. The suite I was upgraded to made for productive meetings and a comfortable stay. I utilized the restaurant and bar and was completely satisfied. As always the staff was attentive and very helpful! November 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service, no SPG recognition I had to wait an hour and 20 minutes for check in, then received very poor, rude and unacceptable service, worst I've ever been treated at a Westin. Was then dismissed to a very small and unclean room. I will never return to this Westin and do not recommend it to anyone. November 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nothing wrong, but nothing great either Our lake view room was comfortable but not overly spacious. A chaise-style chair was very comfortable and the step-in closet was large enough to keep our luggage out of the way. Our view of the lake was largely blocked by a neighboring building; while certainly a pleasant view for a complimentary upgrade, I'd not personally consider it worth a premium price. The lobby is long and narrow and felt crowded even with just a handful of people in it. The hotel was reasonably well-located for sightseeing, shopping, and business. The el/subway is about a ten-minute walk to the red line and as the hotel's name suggests, Michigan Avenue shopping is essentially at the front door. The platinum breakfast amenity is a credit at the coffee kiosk in the lobby, which was in my opinion inadequate. Overall, our stay was OK. Were the Westin the only Starwood choice in town, we'd return but we'll likely try one of the other Starwood properties on our next visit to Chicago. November 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Michigan Ave We stayed here in late October 2012. The location was great and the staff was friendly. However, the amount of points we spent, I expected the facilities to be cleaner. The bathrooms are in desperate need of an update. November 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel for Both Leisure & Business Travelers This is a favorite hotel in downtown Chicago for me when on business or when on personal travel alike. I feel the rates at this property are consistent with the quality and location of the hotel. I recommend this hotel. Two aspects of this hotel I enjoy: 1) Location: You’re directly on Michigan Avenue with access to top shopping and restaurants. Also, you’re just blocks from the lake which is nice in the summer. There are a few theaters nearby on this end of Michigan Avenue which is also nice if you’re looking for an evening event after dinner. 2) Value: While rooms are a little dated and somewhat small, I feel the rates are fair and thus I would continue to stay and recommend this property. For SPG elite members… I find this hotel to be fairly full because of its awesome location and affordable rates. As a Platinum member, I am normally offered a room with an enhanced view, but I’ve never been upgraded to a suite, for example. If you’re traveling on pleasure and want more space to relax with friends or family, I recommend using your Suite Award Nights rewards to increase your likelihood of an upgrade for your stay. October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay in Chicago The Westin on Michigan Avenue 909, is the only hotel I stay at when visiting Chicago. It is a friendly, clean and accomodating hotel. I have never had a bad experience as of yet. Anytime someone asks me about staying in Chicago, I would only recommend The Westin on Michigan Ave. October 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Visit with granddaughters My friend and I decided to take our granddaughters to Chicago to visit and have lunch at the American Girl Place. Your hotel was recommended as having an American Girl Package. C.N.- Business Travel Sales Manager, helped me make this a dream come true for the girls, the grandmothers, and even the dolls. C.N. not only coordinated the package for us, but also recommended different things to do. We couldn't have asked for a nicer and more cooperative contact at the hotel. The girls loved their American Girls doll beds, the ice cream sundaes, the discount coupons for meals, and the American Girl in-room movie. My friend and I were very happy with the way the entire staff worked to make the girls' experience the trip of a lifetime, from the concierge who made sure the doll beds were in our room on time, to the lady at room service who made a beautiful tray for the girls' ice cream sundaes. We highly recommend this package for any family visits to Chicago which include visiting the American Girl Place. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unimpressive I'm afraid our stay at the Westin Michigan Ave. in Chicago began with a poor customer service experience at check-in. At this point, my husband and I confirmed with the two front-desk employees we dealt with that we are Starwood members. I then requested a lake view room, if available. Raven said this was no problem though she added that there were no lakeview rooms open located any higher than the fifth floor. We told her this was no problem and followed a bellman up to our room. Well, it was indeed on the fifth floor but certainly had *no* lake view. My husband then returned to the front desk to straighten things out only to be told by Raven that she thought I'd requested a Mich. Ave. view room rather than a lakeview room and now she had no such rooms available. Puh-leeze. "Michigan Ave. view" does not sound at all like "lakeview". No compensation was offered to us by front-desk staff for this misunderstanding. We also found the restaurant's food to be overpriced for its quality. Two basic cheeseburgers with an ice tea and one beer ended up costing us almost $50. (We're former New Yorkers so are accustomed to expensive food but this was a bit much.) In addition, we encountered a noise problem in our room two nights in a row. Loud audio from our next door neighbor's TV blared each of these nights until almost one in the morning, preventing my husband from getting to sleep. The soundproofing between the walls of this Westin must be very poor indeed. Finally, I found the selection of toiletries in our bathroom to be inadequate for a hotel of this level. There was no shower gel or even an extra shower cap provided in the bath. Chicago has quite a few hotels in the same price range as this Westin so based on our experiences there, I doubt we'll be returning. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was a Cave We stayed for a birthday weekend using points but, with an upgaded room. The room was lage but lacking furniture (it looked like they got robbed!). The walls were empty and the room was pooly lit. It felt like an absolute cave. Was it clean? Yes. Would I call it nice? No not really. Would I stay again? Prob not. It was really disappointing because its a great location. The good news is that we couldn't stand to be in the room so we were out all day evey day. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by wow...and not in a good way The only thing appealing about this property is the location. Really not up to Westin standards. The rooms and public areas are tired, worn and dated. The only modern thing in the room was the TV. A few specifics: *nothing works as it should; the phone beside the bed did not work, the air-conditioning did not cool as it should, and it was not a terribly warm day outside, the water pressure in the bathroom was non-existent *the bathroom was not as clean as it could or should be. Let's just say that I easily figured out that the last guest was a brunette *the carpet in my room was literally unraveling around the edges...falling apart *while the TV was modern, it was a waste as the TV service is not working . One can watch only about half the stations; the others are pixelated. When I called "service express" (and let me be clear--a misnomer as I had to hang up and call several times before someone answered) they told me it was because of the rain outside. I scoffed and asked to speak with a manager, who explained that they are having an ongoing issue with LodgeNet, their provider. This is probably true, as another Starwood property, at which I frequently stay, is having the same issue and has been having it for a couple of months. (One wonders when Starwood Management is going to engage to get this fixed...kind of a basic for major hotels to provide working TV service, and clearly multiple of their brands are having the same issue). The manager was very nice, and agreed with me that the hotel is not in the shape it should be, and explained that renovations will begin at the end of the year. The bottom line is that this property is not up to a Westin standard. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rooms are very old My company made reservations at this hotel recently for about 50 people. Others told me how nice their rooms were but some agreed with me that the rooms were not very nice at all. I had to take pictures to show them how bad the room was. The paint was peeling off of the ceiling in both the room and and bathroom. The wall paper was also peeling off. The caulk in the shower looked like my 10 year old son did it. There was expensive wall paper in the bathroom that was textured but something disgusting was stuck in the wall paper. The light switches were filled with 10+ years of dirt. The door and door jams looked to be painted about 6 times over. The door to my room had to be slammed to get it to close all the way. There was even paint on the peep hole in the door. The vent in the bathroom had the screws half falling out of it. The water in the refrigerator said compliments of the Westin but I was charged for it. This is also the first hotel where I have seen that you had to pay for WiFi access. In the hotels defense I did not complain to management. It is not my style. I also did not want to pack up all of my things to move to another room. If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem so this is why I am writing this review in hopes that hotel management will read this and use it to improve their hotel. There were a few positives. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. The lobby area was nice and the restaurant had great food and beer. September 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great people, poor infrastructure The employees were very friendly but the place itself needs some changes. Asked for early check-in but none available (understandable) so rearranged my schedule and arrived at about 5pm to be told there were no rooms available yet because of late checkouts. After some "discussion" we got a room. The room was nice enough although the bathrrom ceiling was in need of repair. One big problem is that there was no vent fan in the bath which meant that the humidity spread throughout the room. The humidity was there prior to any showering on our part. The humidity in the room was high enough to make the sheets on the bed and the chair cushion seem damp. The bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. My only other problem was with parking. The valet parking (no other alternative) was firendly, but calling down early to let them know when you wanted to pick up your car seemed to make no difference. No one answered the phone and the message left seemed to fall on deaf ears. One other thing. Parking overnight was expensive. I could have gotten my car its own room in some hotels for less. All in all, we loved Chicago. The Westin - not so much. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by An OK Hotel We booked this hotel on our recent trip to Chicago. The location of the hotel is fantastic. However, what surprised me most was how dated the hotel was. I used my Suite Night award to upgrade the room to an executive suite and was quite disappointed. The windows of the room pretty much looked into the next building's offices. If I had known that, I would have not use my suite night upgrade. I felt like it was a waste. What bothered me the most was related to some service and staff issue. The hotel seemed to have TOO many staff members standing around who are not front desk-related, while there was always a huge line waiting for front desk services. May be the hotel needs to staff more actual front desk members? When we were getting to the elavator after checking in, one of the staffs clearly saw us coming as he was entering the elevator, but he quickly pressed the door close button and we were shut out of the elevator. On a positive side, the front desk staff was pretty helpful and nice (once you get through the huge lines). The gym was quite decent with free weights, weight machines, cables machines, elipticals. thread mills, and bikes. August 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by $59 to park my car!! I have always stayed at this hotel when traveling to Chicago, but not sure i will again. This is the most I have ever paid to park my car at a hotel... $59 a night are you kidding me?? August 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by platinum rejected I checked-in two days ago and was told that I was getting a great room with a lake view. Great view, but I stay at SPG for Business, not pleasure. When I questioned the front desk about Preferred floors, I was told that all the rooms are the same??? After staying 50 + night a year at SPG, I know better. They have 9 floors for preferred quest and was not offered a move. Then I spoke to the Manager and he told me the rooms are the same, not true, I have a business associate staying on a “Preferred” floor and our rooms are not alike. So I was lied to and that is not acceptable! I also had to call to get downed pillows, which is on my profile. Be very careful booking here if you are a seasoned traveler and a SPG Platinum Member. Many more great properties in Chicago to choose from!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location & Views We stayed here in July 2012. We were upgraded to a front room in the front of the hotel on Michigan Ave. We had a view of Lakeshore Drive on one side & the famous church on the other. We were right across from the round Bloomingdale's window. I was able to go running several days along the Lakefront. Chicago has a great running/riding 'trail' along the Lakefront. the 'trail' is mostly blacktop & 2 lanes. When you get farther north, there is a cinder running path on both sides. This hotel is within walking distance of all the great shopping such as Watertower Place. There is bus stops outside of the hotel for the CTA. If you want a great view of Chicago, the John Hancock Observatory is across the street & the views are fantastic. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The beds were heavenly. I would have given it a 5 star if they update the bathrooms & carpets in the rooms & hallways. I will stay here next time I am in Chicago. July 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor management staff We had booked and filled 20 rooms for wedding guests. The bride reserved a suite for Thurs & Friday so she could have ample space to put on wedding dress and have the space to have pictures taken before the wedding on Friday. When the bride arrived she was told the only room available was a standard room. The manager (Darrel) should have been aware that 20 of his rooms were reserved for a wedding and plans should have been made to accomodate the bride. Reservations were made well in advance of the wedding. The bride was given a standard room at check-in on Thurs and would be transferred to a suite on Friday, the day of the wedding. When Friday arrived the bride was told she could not have the suite because another guest was granted a late check-out ! The wedding was at 4:00 and the move to a suite because of the late check out was at 4:00! The manager was rude when the situation was explained and was unapologetic about a late check out being granted to the brides room. Eventually a suite was located and the bride was placed in the situation which required deleting pre wedding choices. This all could have been avoided if the administration of the hotel would have been doing its job of examining the guest list and determining the needs of guests. This type of service is well below the quality expected from a hotel of this stature and cost. July 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service I have stayed at this hotel twice on my weekend trips to Chicago. The hotel has a great location and my rooms were spacious. Hotel staff were extremely friendly. The manager, Alex, provided great help even after my stay. Highly recommended. July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent features I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last several years. Each time I have stayed at the hotel I have found that the staff goes out of its way to accommodate the needs of its guests, whatever they may be. The staff is always pleasant, courteous and respectful, and the hotel itself is always clean and well-furnished. July 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite Chicago Hotels! I have stayed here many times and am never disappointed. Last weekend, we celebrated my sister's bachlorette party in Chicago. I live in the burbs and there was no doubt where this crew from Baltimore needed to stay. It was the perfect location: Next to a ridiculous amount of great shopping and steps away from amazing restaurants down Rush. We each had great views of the lake or up/down Michigan Ave. There were many things that the staff delivered to our rooms from friends and they truly made us fee special and welcome. There was no problem too small. As a platinum guest I can say this is one of my go to favorites...stay here when your in town..you won't be sorry. July 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and excellent location I've been staying at the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago for the past 5+years. The bar at the Grill on the Alley is a great place to unwind and food is also very good. Great restaurants and shopping is seconds away from the hotel. I have always been pleased with the great hotel service and excellent location and these two are what makes me keep coming back to this hotel. July 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by No way 5 star Arriving at the hotel we needed to line up, as the Platinum check- in wasn't staffed. 2 days before I noted that I got an upgrade to a 2 room suite. Upon check in a suite upgrade was confirmed. Arrving at the room, we found a standard deluxe room, maybe a bit larger than normal. I asked again at check in and got the information that this is called a office suite. nowwhere at this Westin is anything mentioned at a office suite. I complained via eMail to Manager and got a call back. They offered me a suite the next day, which I refused as I did not wanna go to the hassle of packing and unpacking. So I was offered free in room breakfast, which was appreciated, if there would have been replacement of the order menu every day. Needless to say that coffee wasn't replaced daily. Well at the end, they credited some extra points to make up for the problems. Other things to know about this hotel: 1. they did not ask which Platinum Amenity you want 2. There is no executive lounge and also no 'compensation' for it like in most Asian hotel (like free breakfast or drink voucher. 3. All TV stations only show US stations. No international TV stations (not even BBC) is available. 4. The property is well maintained, but old, so expect quite some wear and tear. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great hotel....They really seem to care about there guest and go out of there way to do what it takes to make sure you are happy! You can't beat the location if you are in the city to do some shopping. May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great staff and comfortable beds. When in Chicago for business or pleasure, The Westin, Michigan Ave. is always my hotel of choice. The beds are very comfortable and the staff is always wonderful. The location can't be beat; walking distance to so many wonderful shops, restaurants and beautiful Lake Michigan. May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I have stayed at this hotel frequently over the last two years and have always found the staff helpful and the rooms ready and clean. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location in Chicago! It's a great location in regards to shopping and visiting sites in downtown Chicago and on the Magnificent Mile. May 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistently Great Hotel I travel for a living and have stayed in numerous cities at numerous hotels across various chains. SPG has always been my preference and it is because of hotels like this one. The staff is courteous, attentive, and proactive. They have taken care of the requests I have had (no matter how difficult to execute) and done so without issue. I wish this hotel had a club lounge for snacks and such but given how the staff can provide work arounds, it hasn't really been an issue. I have stayed in Chicago for the last year and between the two Westins in the city, I have had a great experience. Thanks! May 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent Visitor I travel weekly for business and this Westin has the best customer service I have found! That goes for any of the chain hotels. May 11, 2012
  • 2015-04-26T18:44:33.813-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-23, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_691, tr_691
  • loc_en_US, sid_1030, prod, sort_default
<<prev 20 21 22 23 24 next>>