The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 485 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must Stay While In Chicago I have been a Starwwod member for the past three years. The Westin Chicago River North definitely lives up to the reputation and professionalism that Starwood is known for.. Do yourself a big favor..Do not stay anywhere else while in the Chicago area. This hotel is beautiful, clean, smells good and the staff is what makes it. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the housekeeping staff, made my stay extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The location is fabulous and the rooms are very comfortable. Request a water view, if possible. But, if not, no worries. The hotel is great and any room will please you. I will definitely be back. Oh, and by the way, "You're welcome!" March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly nice The hotel's outward appearance is beautiful. The lobby and conference rooms were quite nice, pristine. The bedroom was comfortable. However, the room itself had a few shortcomings, such as a broken hair dryer, broken door stop, loose electrical outlets, and poor lighting. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible staffs who did not help someone who needed help at all The hotel staffs did not meet my expectations at all. Since I hurted my ankle a week before staying I had a cold pack that needed to be freezed. I asked the front desk if they can freeze the cold pack for me, but the staff refused to do so. Instead I was offered a fridge delivered to my room. Since I had a appointment and had to leave the hotel, I asked the staff if they can put in the cold pack into the frige for me. The staff again refused, so I had to go back and wait in my room for the fridge to arrive. Waited 15 minutes and did not arrive. Called housekeeping and was told "is's coming" in a very rude way of saying. Waited another 10 minutes, still not coming. Aleady late at my appointment, I went down again and claimed at the front desk. They told me that they will take care and will put the cold pack inside the fridge while I am out. Came back 2 hours later, and the Cold pack was NOT put inside the fridge. All of this was done during my ankle hurt and having difficulties walking. Hopeless level staffs whom did not help me at all when I needed help to freeze the cold pack. Never again. September 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Very nice hotel, location is great. Club lounge food selection needs to be better especially for breakfast. Want to say that Kwasi in the Club lounge did a great job and is very personable. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing "Heavenly" about it. Let it be known that I have never written a review, though I felt compelled enough to share my dissatisfied experience. Long story short, we had two nights booked, then reduced it to one after just an hour in the hotel. Firstly, the Executive Club was not worth the extra cost. The attendant made us feel as though we were doing something wrong by requiring us to fill out a "guest voucher." In my 25 years of traveling (business & pleasure) I never once had to "explain" who I was for complimentary h'orderves and soft drinks. The staff had an expectation of gratuity when delivering an item (in this case a fan) to our room. I usually tip for everything, but when it feels expected, I don't. The "heavenly" robes felt and looked as though they were ten years old. The deluxe suite was nice, though a river view would have been nicer when we inquired and thus denied. Only to find out later that the hotel was at 25% capacity (direct from an employee)....I'm sure one was available. Lastly, at checkout, the office valet attendant called down to the valet, after placing his personal phone call on hold, told me it would be 10 minutes (even though we were the only ones waiting). When 15 minutes passed , our car came at a relatively fast rate of speed to the front door. I handed the valet $5 (regrettably) and then realized that he didn't even acknowledge me, my wife or our luggage, not one word or door opened for her. We found a great hotel just two blocks away at half the price (with river view), free wine and an incredibly fun atmosphere with amazing staff. We will NEVER stay at or recommend a Westin Hotel again. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay We had a wonderful stay in Chicago. The staff was helpful and courteous - so much that we will be staying at this hotel the next time we come though. They are working on a bridge across from the hotel which is a bit loud during the day, but cant really be helped. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago The staff was very friendly and professional. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Stay Staff was pleasant but stay was average. I'm a hard critic when it comes to hotels, staying in my fair share, and expect staff to go out of their way to make the guests feel extra welcome (especially platinum guests). This hotel did not and therefore the average rating along with an average rating for amenities. With so many Starwood hotels in Chicago i'll try another on my next stay! June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not my favourite Westin stay We paid extra to stay in a deluxe rm on an upper club floor room with access to the lounge to ensure a more comfortable stay. When we were checking in we were hesitant to take a room close to the elevator but were assured that it wouldn't be an issue. We should have stuck with our first thoughts because it was very noisy throughout the night in the hallways and it continued to disrupt our sleep. Also, the room next to us had two wake up calls sometime between 4:30am and 5:30am which I could hear very clearly and then afterwards a gentleman speaking loudly into the phone. Also, when I asked for additional towels to be sent to our room on our second day, since we opted for the green option and not have our sheets changed, they didn't take the used ones which we left over the tub and the fresh ones were put over the bathroom sink. We agreed to the option because it's okay to not change the sheets for a short stay but we do expect towel service. We have stayed at many Westin Hotels throughout Canada and the US and I have to say that this did not measure up. Lastly, the drive back to the airport was with a hotel vehicle and we were lucky to make it there without incidence due to his erratic driving and the vehicle smelled both of vomit and smoke. On a positive note the concierge desk was always available and helpful and gave great dining advice. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complaints During our two day stay we experienced a few things which in my mind are completely unacceptable! The shower water would not get past warm! I thought that due to shaving in the sink prior to showering I had used up the hot water. On Sunday morning without shaving or using the sink the water was once again only warm. I turned on the sink and the water was hot. Somewhere there is a problem between the two. On Saturday evening the power went out in our room while getting ready for a wedding. We were forced to get ready with only the light which was coming through the window. That short explains also why we weren't able to make room to room calls. Upon check out we were offered not a bit of compensation. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and convenient Roomy and comfortable, and within steps of a variety of restaurants at all price levels. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect as always I stay here often and it was perfect as always. From the doorman, to check in to the bar staff...always a great stay. Of course I love the Westin beds! July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by check in needs work Stood in line for an extended period of time, room wasn't ready. Had to wait in another long line to store bags. They called with my room ready, had to wait in line for keys, wait in another line for bags-then had to go in the bag room to find my bag. Got to my room, keys didn't work, cleaning staff wouldn't let me in, had to go BACK downstairs and WAIT in line AGAIN for new keys. Also, no recognition of SPG unless you count the paper jacket that my non-working keys came in. June 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professor comfortable convenient location July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality hotel everything was nice. room was comfortable, with a great view, and the staff were accommodating June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect My husband and I had tickets to the theater so thought we would just spend the night downtown even though we live in the Chicago area. The Westin River North was the perfect place to stay. It is the ideal location. It was walking distance to both our restaurant and the theater. Our stay at the Westin was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Having Gold Status with SPG our room was upgraded and we received complimentary drink vouchers. The room was fantastic, very spacious and very modern. The food at the Ember Grill was great. I will definitely stay at the Westin again. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A fine stay Hotel staff is extremely pleasant, and the hotel is aesthetically pleasant enough, though very dark. rooms are in ok condition, though some maintenance issues- my safe didnt work, door stopper busted. Outlets are hard to come by and the pillows are pretty bad, but all in all not a bad stay. Also, the room service menu leaves something to be desired. not enough old standards, and the "interesting" food is kind of unappetizing. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, housekeeping was okay. I stayed at the Westin for only one night because I had a family wedding downtown that day, but I thought that the experience there was fantastic. I had a great stay and the room was clean, neat, and I had no problems. The only complaint that I had was that on Saturday morning, I was woken up by housekeeping at 8:20am. I understand that I should have had a "do not disturb" sign on the door, but I was not expecting housekeeping to be knocking before 8:30 am... All in all, I had a good stay. The staff was great, very accommodating with the early check in and I was very appreciative. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Executive Club Lounge I travel a lot for work, and constantly stay at the Starwood Hotels. This Westin is definitly one with the nicest staff I have experienced. Everyone is always smiling and paying attention to details. I definitly recommend this hotel. I want to highlight more specifically the staff working in the Executive Lounge. They are incredible and make you feel right at home. Always very welcoming. One in particular, Kwasi, who everyday, takes the time to set up my table as soon as I walk in, without even asking for anything. He pays attention to details, and regularly offers additional items that might not be at my sight. He opens the door for me when I leave to wish me a good day. He pays attention to ever little detail to ensure my stay is as comfortable as it can be. I have to say, those are the details that make a hotel your home away from home, and the reason why a business traveller will keep coming back. Thank you to all the staff at the Westin for making me feel at home. June 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Although this was a very nice hotel, I would never stay here again. After paying a great deal to stay one night at the hotel I was faced with a $14.95 fee for using the wifi. I had accidentally logged into the Internet 5 minutes before checking out of the hotel. When I voiced my objection to the staff at checkout, I was given very little concern. I had the staff write down my name and number to discuss the issue with a manager, and was never contacted back. Honestly, I believe the Internet charge is ridiculous when staying at such a hotel, and to be charged for a whole day 5 minutes before checking out is unreasonable. Had I know the low expectation of the hotel, I would have simply used my phone Internet. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected More for the Price of this Room Bathroom floor was dirty. Food in refrigerator was overpriced. Parking was overpriced. Internet service was poor, and should be complimentary for the price of the room instead of additional cost. I would not stay here again. Excellent location right across from House of Blues, but overpriced for the value. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend! The staff at this Hotel in incredible. Took care of every detail of our stay, were personable and attentive. Hotel is convenient to theatres and shopping and some great restaurants. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel, it even smells great. Attentive staff. Salawe at the front desk is the epitome of dignity and service. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful I came into Chicago for a family wedding. My room was immaculate, comfortable with a great view. I highly recommend this hotel. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hope it's better next time Could not get the room cool enough for sleeping. We're not advised about spg benefits on check in June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dust Bunnies I have stayed on a number of other Westin hotels before and have to say that this location takes 'going green' a bit too far --but that review is for the management eyes only. Otherwise, this place is great as far as location. April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Location The hotel is nicely positioned on the north side fo the Chicago river with a private street entrance that makes you feel like you are pulling into something of a resort (urban setting with out the urban feel). The staff are friendly and remember you. The gym has a friendly attendant and enough equipment for a good workout. There is no pool (negative for kids), but a great place for a couples weekend. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Most hotels are very similar in terms of the furnishings and amenities, but the staff can be a real differentiator. We stayed at the Westin Chicago River North this weekend and I must compliment Katelyn Klym on outstanding customer service. When we checked in she was fully engaged with us and found out that it was our wedding anniversary. To our surprise the next night we get a knock at the door and room service brought us up some wine and cheese - along with a hand written note from Katelyn. She even remembered that it was our 8 year anniversary !! A very nice touch November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed opportunities I have respect for the Westin brand and have higher expectations for the hotel line than most others. I was disappointed to experience SEVERAL problems in my two-night stay. The cable signal on my TV continually came and went which required a maintenance visit; both outlets at the desk were very loose and I had to bend my plug prongs to ensure the cords did not fall out; and the fan I requested had obvious mechanical problems, resulting in a sustained noise level too loud to justify turning it on. In isolation, none of these issues are a large matter. But when all of them are experienced together, I couldn't help but re-evaluate my opinion of the Westin brand. I stayed here for business, as the hotel was hosting a conference i was attending. It is unlikely I will stay at this location again. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met our every request From the early check in with Sarah to the late check out over Memorial Day weekend, the hotel met our every request. The Club room was filled with goodies both at breakfast and Happy Hour. The drinks at the bar were generous and mixed to perfection. The bar staff changed the TV to the sport we desired and there was no pressure to drink more than we desired. The room was comfortable and the WiFi worked. What more could we have asked for? May 27, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 next>>