The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 384 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Erroneously charged me for internet, won't respond All was fine with the hotel - it's a typical Westin. Clean, comfortable. The problem was with customer service. Check in was fine, and the front desk agent asked what I wanted as my SPG Gold benefit. I chose complimentary internet. I checked out and the internet was not on my bill. A few hours later, I received an invoice that added a $14.95 internet fee. I've emailed customer service twice and they won't respond. I've had to dispute with Amex. December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge I just completed a 5 night stay at the hotel. My only comment is that the A/C in our room did not cool the room down sufficiently. The hotel offered for us to move rooms but we settled for a fan. The highlight of our stay at the hotel was the Concierge, Lisa Treacy. She was PHENOMENAL. She recommended day activities as well as instructed us how to get discount tickets to the theater (Once) as well as recommendations for dinner (Bavette's) both of which were over the top. She is a huge asset to the hotel and the reason we could come back. Thanks. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dust Bunnies I have stayed on a number of other Westin hotels before and have to say that this location takes 'going green' a bit too far --but that review is for the management eyes only. Otherwise, this place is great as far as location. April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star From check-in to check-out....1st Class all the way. Great Food & Professional Staff January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well-received Staff was excellent in terms of treating us as Starwood Preferred Guests. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great weekend get away this hotel is in an excellent location. We had an early check in on Saturday and late check out on Sunday, which worked out great. The room was spacious. The gym was phenomenal. I will stay here again the next time I'm in Chicago January 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice View, But the Room is Lacking This was an SPG upgrade. The mini fridge was not for our use just a means to sell stuff. Only one plug for recharging electronics and it had a loose grip. Furniture blocked drawers. No microwave or DVD to use. No extra blanket. We are also amazed that there is a charge for WiFi. Bed was comfy and room was quiet. The staff was wonderful. Slept well. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great features but expensive The rooms were a nice size, clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom amenities were very nice with rainfall shower head. However, the faucet did not work well. In addition, the marble floors are extremely slippery when wet. Every one of us slipped, and my young son fell in the bathroom. We had to be careful. The standard price was adjusted due to a university graduation but the regular room rates were higher than some surrounding hotels. Other than that, the location was great and hotel environment beautifully decorated. July 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Excellent location, poor amenities Hotel has an ideal location. However, no real restaurant. Also had to wait 15 minutes to check out. December 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time on business, well done! Great Service and outstanding facilities! January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert A. We were there Christmas eve and Christmas Morning. The staff could not have been nicer. I know it was hard to work on Christmas Day, but the hostess, waiter, front desk person and of course the front door attendant who always recognizes us and is happy to welcome us back. January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired property needs serious renovation The Marina City location is tough to beat for convenience, but the rooms and furnishings are quite dated. It feels as though it hasn't had a serious renovation since it was first built, which appears to have been the late 1970s. The somewhat-worn furniture is of a more modern vintage, but still is vastly oversized -- who on earth needs four drawers, each 3 feet wide by 2 feet deep by 1 foot tall? Admittedly, slimmer furniture would make the rooms feel even more cavernous than they already are. I'm sure some people may like that, but to me it feels like wasted space -- that's why I suspect a gut reno is in order. This hotel could squeeze in a lot more rooms that, intelligently designed, would still feel perfectly spacious to guests. July 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by ******NEVER TO RETURN********* 1. WHEN WE ARRIVED THE FRONT DESK SAID THE ROOM WOULD BE READY IN A FEW MINUTES---- OUR ROOM WAS NOT READY AT 3:00 or 4:00 or 4:40 SO---- WE WERE PLACED IN A ROOM ON A DIFFERENT FLOOR (floor 7) ...THIS IS NO JOKE----WE HAD PAID FOR THE CLUB FLOOR--- and room we received was the 7th FLOOR ..WE RECEIVED NO---CREDIT FOR THIS POOR SITUATION. HOW DUMB TO CHARGE 1st CLASS PRICE AND THEN GIVE THE CUSTOMER 2nd RATE QUALITY and ROOM! THEY DID OFFER SEVERAL FREE DRINKS TO SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT DRINK!! DUMB??!!!! 2. COLD SHOWERS--complained -- they said it was fixed --- NEXT DAY COLD SHOWERS and on the day we left it was a warm shower.. Is that the record 3 out of 4 day OF cold showers...AGAIN-I QUESTION THE SERVICE AND QUALITY! 3. THE CLUB FLOOR QUALITY OF FOOD AND SERVICE ??? That is something I would never pay for again--THIS IS NOT FIRST CLASS! The food--the service would get a D- rating and if the paper would review the food quality it would be D ! Not worth you time and money to pay for the CLUB FLOOR!!!!!! 4. A DIRTY TOWEL AND HANGER HANGING BEHIND THE BATHROOM DOOR when we arrived! 1st quality--again it is not at this hotel??? I question how the maid cleaned the bathroom and how clean anything was.?? ******* BEWARE! YOU WILL PAY A HIGH PRICE AND RECEIVE SECOND RATE SERVICE.......FOOD...AND ROOM. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great room, convenient location We stayed here before seeing a show at the Chicago Theater. The hotel was a five minute walk to the theater with plenty of great local restaurants nearby. The room itself was up to the usual Westin standards with a high quality bathroom, bed and tv. There was even an ipad in the room that had free wifi, a nice change from having to pay the usual nickle and dime wifi fee that they seem to love. Be sure to use google street view to find the driveway before you head there since it is a very busy street and the entrance is somewhat hidden. September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wish I could have given you a five! Headed downtown to celebrate my husbands birthday. This was my first stay at this Westin. We enjoyed the location, the staff was great, room view not so great, toilet ran the entire stay. We mentioned that it was my husband's birthday, they gave him free internet, what a joke since we NEVER could get on. I would think they would have done something special, we have been SPG gold since 2006. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location As always, very nice Hotel. Your Front Desk staff very accomodating and friendly. A couple of things: I was not sure where to eat, there is not information of what restaurant serves what since you have the Sushi Bar and the Bar area and some of your staff at the Restaurant was not informative or clear. A female Bartender was very nice but your male bartender and server were not very attentive and kind of stiff. I used your Bar area twice during my stay. I was not the only one thinking that because the table next to me made the same comment. After checking in I was changing clothes in my room and a male attendant knocked at my door but did not wait for me to answer and he walked in. He was apologetic, but he just did not wait after I said to hold on. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury in the City The Westin Chicago River North in a word: luxurious. Absolutely beautiful rooms, especially if you are fortunate enough to get one over looking the famed Chicago River - there may not be a better view from a hotel room anywhere in Chicago. The location is ideal - steps to river, wonderful new and exciting Chicago dining, across the street from House of Blues, and a very short walk to Michigan Avenue, State Street, and every conceivable tourist attraction. I've stayed here several times earlier, but the staff keeps impressining and improving. The "Executive Club" on the top floor is terrific and makes your SPG status worthwhile. My only criticism, very mild, is the lobby bar although comfortable, is excessively bright and not at all intimate. August 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by rooms are very dark- good location for business... not shopping. This hotel is ONLY for business travelers... point blank. don't bring any kids here or plan to have a leisurely stay. No pool- The rooms are very dark.. with one small drab window. I would hardly call it sweeping views of the chicago river. I wanted to pay cash. They would not check me in on cash only. So i had to pay with credit card and then pay with cash. So now an extra $240 is sitting in their account while i wait for the refund. I would recommend this hotel for business people.. don't even consider it for family, or pleasure stays. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paloucek stay Sept. 19-20 We came early on Sunday and the room was not ready which we expected and we spent an hour waiting for our brunch guests in the club where we could sip coffee for an hour. We were pleasantly surprised brunch on Sunday is served until noon. ( The website said it closed at 1100. Our room was ready at 1:30 p.m. and were contacted by phone. The room measured up to our standards and we thoroughly enjoyed it the bed was comfortable. As usual we talked to the waitress serving our drinks in the early evening, who has served us on previous stays. August 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Won't Be Disappointed My third 2013 visit to this well-operated and welcoming Chicago hotel could not have been more comfortable nor pleasant. From Front Desk to Bellmen to Housekeeping to Hosts in the Club Lounge, every individual welcomed us and never failed to ask if anything more was needed. The staff understands well that sincere respect and enthusiasm for guests has results. I will always return to this very well- situated -to-The Loop hotel for its continuing efforts to please guests. November 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is our favorite in Chicago. We were very happy with our stay. Two items were disappointing. We could not regulate the temperature in our room. During the middle of the night the room was quite warm, but we didn't want the interruption of an engineer to come to our room to check out the problem. Also, when we were leaving, I looked under the bed to make sure we didn't leave anything behind and found a pair of shorts that a previous guest must have left behind. Obviously, this should have been discovered before our visit! Otherwise, we had an outstanding breakfast that was offered to us as Starwood Gold members and all of the staff (from the front desk to the housekeeping woman, to the servers, and the gentlemen who was managing the cars and taxis outside) were very, very nice and helpful. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service The last 3 times we visited family in Chicago we stayed at the Westin Chicago River North. We found the location to be excellent, just a short walk to Grand Station CTA red line, and close to many fine restaurants. The fitness center was clean and well-equipped, and our rooms were spotless and comfortable, offering a great view of the city. We enjoyed a delicious brunch on several occasions in the restaurant, as well as continental breakfast in the Club Lounge. Most importantly, we found the staff to be extremely personable and accommodating. All of our requests were handled promptly with personal attention from assistant managers. Bryan was exceptionally helpful, as well as Michelle and desk agent Francisco. We look forward to our next stay in the near future. April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location The lack of good lighting in the room, especially in the bathroom. Also, I was given a room on the 4th floor, and the noise level from outside was easily heard all night. It had snowed that night and we heard snow blowers going most tof the night. As a preferred guest you would think a higher floor would be automatic. I should have asked for another room at ck in when they assigned me to the 4th floor, but I checked in at 10:00 pm and out by 8:00 am the following morning. I was not there long enough to use any amenities. February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice to explore the city Greatly enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is in a great location next to the river near all of the tourists sites and awesome nightlife. Check-in was a breeze and the front-desk were courteous and a joy to talk to. The lobby, concierge, and elevator area made this hotel seem more expensive that it actually was. Business or leisure, I will definitely be back! Only complaint was that the mirror near the entrance of my room was really dirty, it looked like someone had walked on it. Other than that I was very happy with it. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service From the moment we came for our girls' weekend the staff treated us with such great service! Francisco Fonseca at the front desk was over-the-top in customer service. The hotel was everything we wanted it to be and now am ready for another weekend in Chicago and definitely will stay here for service and location. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security I had an incident where I thought I'd lost something prior to leaving; your security person did not recognize my angst and instead copped an attitude. During stays in the hotel, staff (of all levels) go into occupied rooms to maintain them when the guest isn't there. When something is left behind and people panic (especially something valuable), I believe that security should be able to enter the room, occupied or not, to check and get back to the customer, not say, well, we can't go in because the room is occupied. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel in the heart of Chicago I had a wonderful experience at your hotel from the minute I got there. Sarah at the front desk was very enthusiastic and helpful. She made me feel special for being an SPG member. Kwassi in the Club lounge was also very attentive, and smiling. Even when I left, I had forgotten my jacket. Bryan was most helpful in locating it, and getting it to me. (it's on it's way!) Love my stay at your hotel. You definitely have a world class staff. I can't wait to return! Thank you so much for making my stay such a pleasure! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yolanda - Front Desk Asset to your property. Very friendly and takes care of business. Keep her there or at least with Starwood. Breakfast buffet, hot stuff was cold, but selection was good. Room was awesome. Water pressure not so much. Fitness center not functioning while we were there. No pool. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has it all except for a pool I have no complaints with the service, Rooms were very nice. Everyone friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends. However, I don't understand the wireless charge of 14.95 a day. My daughter failed to scroll all the way down on her ipod when using it in our room to see that there was a 14.95 a day charge for use in room. It ended up costing us 45.00 before we realized it. I really feel that the wireless if free in lobby should be free in room or at least let me know when I check in . August 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Sports Weekend Hotel The Westin River North was the perfect hotel for a weekend getaway to watch our beloved Sooners play Notre Dame. Upon arrival at the Westin, the staff quickly and graciously helped with our luggage and we proceeded to extremely quick check-in at registration. We had booked two rooms and were upgraded to deluxe rooms in recognition of our Gold Level membership. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Of course the heavenly bed was everything we hoped for after two days of being on the go. Our party met in the lobby for some fantastic cocktails at the Hula lounge prior to departing to a restaurant which was highly recommended by the concierge. The restaurant exceeded our expectations, We stay at numerous SPG properties every year and the Westin River North is definitely one of the best. September 30, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>