The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 523 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Caitlyn - Front Desk Manager - Exeptional Class and a high degree of professionalism. I felt valued as a long-time customer. This is why I am proud to be a member since 1995. I look forward to extending my personal thanks to Caitlyn on my next visit to Chicago. One of Westin's FINEST. THANK YOU CAITLYN!!! June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay All staff were helpful and friendly. Brianna at FD was great. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! Alan was very welcoming upon arrival, showed heartfelt and genuine care that he missed me. Also, the soft good renovations are a world's difference, the hotel looks amazing! The club lounge food was amazing and staff was friendly. Overall I had an amazing stay and my 4 year old niece was in "heaven." April 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay! We had a wonderful stay from the minute we arrived. Selawe went above and beyond to see that we were taken care of in every way. I can't say enough about how terrific he and the rest of the staff were. The suite was beautiful and relaxing. The location is perfect. I will highly recommend your hotel and look forward to visiting again soon. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel, just a long ways from Convention Center The concierge service was top notch! Getting a taxi was no problem, but the "L" is a few walking blocks away. Very safe and secure location! It is just a few blocks from to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theater District, and excellent restaurants a drinking holes. The view of the Chicago River from my room was incredible. March 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected at all The beds were sunken in, the walls looked dirty and the room extremely dated. The location and staff were the only good things about this hotel. Really does not meet the standards of a westin. I was really appalled by the look of my room March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warm oasis in freezing Chicago This Westin was my second night of a 3-night visit to Chicago to attend opera at Chical Lyric, which is the only reason I would come here in the winter. The lobby bar was excellent where my local friend & I shared dinner and drinks. This is my second stay here and was as good as I remembered my first time. If I have a reason to return to Chicago, this hotel is at the top of my list. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Stay The treatment before your stay to the treatment during your stay and after your stay is amazing. The Staff is first class, all about making this your best stay ever. And this was my best stay ever! I slept great every night, there is a reason the bed is called heavenly and that you can order one for home. Also the huge tub, I was so excited, I love tubs that you can soak in and relax. Also the hotel is very quiet, I loved that it felt so tranquil. I will be back, you have made a customer for life. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel The Westin Chicago River North is a great place to stay. Recently renovated with all new guest rooms, beautiful property and in the middle of the best part of Chicago. So much around the hotel to do. The Westin Staff was excellent as well! February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leisure Night From the email prior to my stay from Brianna to coordinate multiple rooms as a Platinum Member to Francisco at the front desk at check in....the staff was 5 star all the way...terrific job and I am a tough grader...my only complaint is the price of parking and the price of drinks in the lobby bar...I recognize this is Downtown Chicago but it is more expensive than many SPG properties in Midtown Manhattan NYC...but the lobby bar was very nice...newly remodeled rooms were great...overall a first class experience...I expect the best from Westin properties and this hotel delivered...will return February 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Construction work? Front desk assigned me to room 409. Avoid this room like the plague. There is construction or something along those lines taking place in an adjacent room (509?). Not only that, but the crew worked until 1:30 in the night and started again before 7 am. And then there is the shower, which was next to impossible to set at a comfortable temperature. It was either scalding hot or ice cold. A lousy stay at an uncaring hotel. Go elsewhere, February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience! Beautiful hotel and great experience! January 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Older Westin in Excellent Location The property is going through a renovation so the suites were not on the market and the club had been relocated to a room in the restaurant. There was no menion of this when I made my resevation. However, the rate reflected this situation and the front desk staff apologized for the inconvenience--though it really wasn't an issue. The location is incredibly central and easy to reach by car, train, or foot. Parking is crazy expensive--some rates include it but cheaper off site options are just south of the river. January 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel, staff lacks responsiveness The location of the hotel is great. The rooms themselves are up to Westin standards. Be aware that they are under renovation. It does state it on the website, but it's not prominent; nor does staff inform you upon checking. Also. DO NOT USE THE CLUB. Not only is the club not on the club floor (it's in the lobby with VERY minimal services), but club level puts you in the epicenter of the construction. Staff makes no attempts to inform you on how the club works - making it completely worthless to use. Nor will they try to resolve the issues upon check-in. In room amenities aren't even present. No turn down service or ice service. It's better to just stay away from the club all together. December 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Large Room but Not Westin Luxury This was my first stay at the Westin River North. The location is ok as it's not near the shopping area but could be an option for those needing to be in the loop area for business. When I checked in I asked if any upgrades were available and without even pressing a key I was told no, there weren't. OK, that's fine. I was told the Westin Club was under renovation so a temporary space was set up in the restaurant off the lobby. I got to my room and the view was great and the room was large but that is where the Westin experience stopped. Everything was clean but the furniture was dated and the bed mattress was sagging in the middle and the chaise sofa near the window was well worn too. The carpet around and under the desk was literally torn in several places and looked awful. The room was not inviting and not comfortable. Beware I was told they are under renovation so maybe it will be restored to something much better. I looked on the website and it said "coming early 2015". Well it's almost Christmas (late Dec 2014) and I feel that I got the worst room in the hotel. I'm so very glad I was only there for ONE night. I was glad to check out! I recommend AVOIDING this hotel until it's confirmed that everything is completely renovated. This hotel was a huge let down and not an acceptable experience. December 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Better Management Decisions This was my 3rd stay at this property while attending a medical conference. Unfortunately on the first night of my stay, I had an issue with our next door guests. Commotion went on all night, loud music, heavy traffic and people threatening to hurt each other. Had to call security twice during the night. The saga ended at 6:30 am when the police removed the guests from the property according to hotel security. 8 hours of travel, 2 hours of sleep before a 14 hour day. To Management: Offering 500 Starwood points ($5) is an insult when in essence the experience at your property pretty much messed up my entire night and day. Proper way to apologize to your guest after an incident such as the above is to comp at least the day that got ruined if not the whole stay. Not to my Starwood standard. December 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Better food options please This is a good hotel, well located. But the late night food options are very limited, limited to just the lobby bar. The food is definitely not the best, and service not the fastest either. If you are here on business during winter, you'll probably find yourself heading out and braving the cold to find alternative dinner options. The room itself is quite alright. I had some issues figuring out the iPad menu (which covers wake-up call to radio to in-room dining etc.) but was very smooth sailing thereafter. November 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and style I went there for a seminar, everything was first class, from the Bell hops to the waiters. Its right downtown a few blocks from the Navy pier and right next to the Chicago river. November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and friendly staff The staff are excellent at the Westin. I would recommend a couple of electric plugs near the bed for phones and more comfortable chairs in the rooms. But the hotel is beautiful and the beds are heavenly! November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Inviting lobby With so much family coming into the city it was great to have a spacious location to gather together. Seating arrangement was inviting and comfortable. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great hotel, great stafrf and convenient location November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Parent This hotel was great. Alittle disappointed in the doormen. Hoped they could get our bus closer. November 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service? Nope. I'm really disappointed with my experience here. I paid $436 for a Thursday night and received service that was worth $10. I booked a room that included access to the executive lounge. When I checked in, I asked the clerk about where I could print. He told me that I could use the paid-Kinkos computers downstairs. I later found out that there was free printing available in the lounge. I also showed him a local pizza shop on my phone (on yelp! ofcourse) and for directions on getting there. Despite being just 0.2 miles away, the very first "turn" he told me to take was in the wrong direction. The lighting system in the room was poorly designed. When I walked in, there were two light switches that turned on the foyer lights. There were no switches to turn on the lights inside the bedroom at all. I had to stumble around to each individual lamp to turn them on. The bathroom smelled really bad. There was a 1-10 dial in the bathroom. I wasn't sure what it did. I turned it and nothing happened. Perhaps it was supposed to do something - but it didn't work for me. They have an iPad touch screen "service" ordering system. While it was interesting, but it took FOREVER for me to get items. I forgot to bring toothpaste and the system said that the next delivery time was 50 minutes later. To no surprise, they did not show up one minute earlier than 50 minutes later. I felt that the wait was way too long for a $400 hotel room. The next morning, I found out that there was complimentary breakfast at the executive lounge (again, the clerk did not tell me). Right after I sat down, the server brought over a bottle of water and a slip asking for my name/room number/ and TIP. Yes, 2 minutes after sitting down I was already being asked for a tip. I only stayed here because it was close to an office that I was visiting. Unless location is key for you, I do not recommend this hotel. October 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice but needs attention to detail Rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable. Disappointed to have my curtain falling down on arrival and someone waking me up for room service when I didn't order any. The lighting in the bathroom is nice for a relaxing shower but horrible for trying to apply make-up and actually seeing yourself. October 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Service and Room were below normal Westin Standards - The room was tired. - The faucet in the bathroom is dechroming - literally peeling off. Not attractive. = The carpet looked dirty - the comforter cover was worn and the material inside of it was very lumpy. - The headboard is worn and the material is flaking off and looks rather disgusting. - Requested Westin workout gear and it took over an hour to receive. - There was no lamp on the desk when we arrived and it took over an hour to get one that even then had only 1 working bulb. October 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not live up to Westin standards I experienced several issues at this hotel that left me quite disappointed. It started when I arrived at 2:30am after a delayed flight. When I arrived the computer system was down, and I was forced to wait 20 minutes in the lobby for the system to come back up. This was especially frustrating considering the fact that I arrived at 2:30am. The following morning, I went to iron my shirt and discovered that the iron was dirty. It left black gunk all over my shirt. I had to call for another iron, which took some time, and I ended up getting a late start to work (not to mention the extra dry cleaning required). As I was leaving the next morning, I asked for an umbrella because it was raining, but the bellman unapologetically told me there were none available. His attitude was actually more frustrating than the lack of umbrellas. Finally, I arrived back at the hotel at 10:30pm after a long day at work and my room wasn't cleaned! This is inexcusable. I have generally had good experiences with SPG hotels, but the Westin Chicago River North let me down big time. It's only my first night of five, so I will update if things improve. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Hotel Chicago surprised us with its beauty, architecture, restaurants, and entertainment. We love Westins because they are consistent and reliable, but this one outdid itself. A spectacular location, it is within reach of most of Chicago's major tourist sites. Clean room, great bed, and a serviceable restaurant, this hotel should be on the list for most visitors to this lovely City. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel staff We had a wonderful experience with the staff at this hotel from those at check-in, to the gentleman who held our bags until our room was ready, to the concierge, the room attendants, the doormen, etc. ...all were wonderful. We would especially like to commend the staff in the Embers restaurant and those in the lobby bar. These people could not do enough for us. We would definitely stay here again! October 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff not knowledgeable The hotel was nice enough, but the staff was not very helpful. I called the hotel to inquire about a mini fridge in the room. I spoke to 2 different people, neither of whom told me that the room had a fully stocked mini bar. The front desk employees had no clue about the shuttle we were trying to catch to the wedding venue. There was no concierge on duty on a Saturday night. The hotel itself was nice. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gym was great! 1. The GYM was a gem! More than enough equipment to choose from! It has a sauna, too!! The refrigerated wet towels and bowl of apples was an added nice touch, as well. 2. We got a bit disappointed upon entering the room that was given to us (Room 315). Upon entering, the carpet had cuts on them and looks like it was ripped off and glued back on. Please have that fixed...it doesn't look nice at all when guests had a long flight and you are welcomed by that sight. I had no time to request for another room as our kids were really tired. 3. There was no microwave! I have 2 kids and we ended up throwing our left-over food as there was no space in the refrigerator (filled with snacks and beverage that you have to pay for) and there's no microwave to heat the food in. 4. We only stayed for 2 nights and bath tub kept clogging, please have that serviced. 5. We had breakfast buffet there (Ember Grille) as a family on Sunday morning, and met up with relatives to have lunch there on the same day -- same buffet food as breakfast! We wish they had replaced it! September 23, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:59:44.110-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_523, tr_523
  • loc_en_US, sid_1031, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>