The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 500 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by pros and cons great location, conceirge was excellent. i called them before arrival. staff called me from home. gave me suggestions. then gave me their cell phone. pretty incredible. rooms were fantastic. And received an upgraded room with a smile. however, their breakfast buffet is embarrassing for the price. think on Saturday it was $18. asked waiter about pancakes/french toast. just told it is not part of buffet, if you want that addtl cost. Sunday buffet goes up to $22 and it really isn't much better. wireless internet connection was poor. amazing to me when I mentioned this during checkout i just got a head nod. no offer to refund the $9.95 per day fee. grown to expect more out of an SPG hotel. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made Our Anniversary Special We appreciate the kind service we received from your hotel in making our anniversary so special, including the room upgrade (to a beautiful room) and the complimentary treat you left us when we arrived back to our room after dinner. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were so comfy. The staff are very professional and polite. And, although it was a little thing, we loved the hot chocolate you served to guests coming in from the December cold. We are planning a spring trip again to the Westin. This is also a great location to good restaurants and Michigan Avenue. Thank you to all the staff! December 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cat. 5 ?????? Over all I like this hotel , but the hotel is listed as a Cat. 5 with Starwood and I just don't see it. The hotel is nice don't get me wrong, but I think it's more of a 4 rather than a 5. The other thing I did not care for is unless you are Platinum they don't seem to really care what you want. I have another stay coming up in July 2012 and I am crossing my fingers it's a bit better than last time. June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this hotel! Wonderful ambiance - decor in lobby and guest rooms were great. LOVE the heavenly bed, and luxurious bath. Location is perfect - within walking distance of most River-North locations. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful – from check-in to check-out. I WILL be staying at this property again. May 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome Stay This property never disappoints. Fantastic upgrade to a riverview on this trip. Club lounge has great snacks and service. Staff go above and beyond. A retreat in the middle of the city! July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I stayed for a conference and the location to dining and the north river area was excellent. I only wish I had extended my stay! I would recommend this hotel in the future! May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood in Chicago!! The hotel and staff are amazing May 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in the heart of Chicago Lisa is an exceptional concierge who is resourceful, listens, and does everything she can to accomodate a guest. And Jonathan as a manager is excellent. Even during a busy convention weekend he's able to focus on a guest's needs and ensure everything is taken care of. The hotel is very well maintained with warm employees. When walking to a room I think it's nice when house keeping actually looks up and says good morning! I just wish there was a pool at this hotel, but other than that it's a superb facility which would satisfy a discerning traveler! June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend in Chicago We choose Westin River North as we were going to a dinner party near by. It is a great location, as shopping and the train are near by. We forgot our coats and it was a little cool so we had to go shopping. The room was very spacious and clean. We were on the 20th floor, club level. We had our own Ipad on the desk and free wifi. Breakfast was just what we needed, cereal, fruit,pastries and bagels or toast. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. If we go to Chicago again, I will be going back to the Westin River North. Great Place. May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unexpected Help I did not know it until I check in, but I was upgraded to the Club Floor after telling the front desk of the travel issues I was having and that I was not going to be arriving for my first night. He went ahead and checked me in so when I arrived in the morning I was able to go straight to my room, which was an upgrade. Thank you for helping a weary traveler. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed This is the worst Westin I have ever stayed in. I am very shocked at the treatment I received while here. I asked to have my Platinum Room upgrade and I was at first told that I did not have a platinum level. I was then told that they had no other upgrades available although I could go online and book one. The service I received was horrible and I would probably not return based on this experience and would inform friends that frequently travel to the area to stay clear. Nobody seemed to listen or care to what I had to say. April 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Stay at Westin Hotel Dear sir, I would like to tell you about my recent stay at the Westin hotel in Chicago on river north. I can just simply describe it as awful!!! After being an SPG member for a year and accumulated over 60 K in points I decided to take a trip to Chicago for a summer vacation. I booked my hotel though the SPG site...it was categorized as a category 5...I wanted to let you know that it's not. My check in was fine even got an early check in but because I had missed my plane my partner checked in on my behalf( I had added his name to the reservation) Upping check supposedly he was upgraded as I was a gold member but if this was an upgrade I am not sure what I would have gotten at category 5 hotel with 12,000 SPG points a night. When I arrived at the hotel, and saw the room I was not impressed. I had asked for a king size bed and I got a double, upon taking a shower I discovered the drain was blocked, a stench of mildew eroded from the room. I went down to the lobby and spoke to the manager, later I found out it was the assistant manager. I explained to him the issue and after much debate he decided to move me room and upgrade me to a club room. The club room was the same size room, the same two beds, except he had given us some food from the club rooms--I didn’t need to be bought with some food--I wanted a room that met my need ( a shower stall without a bathtub). Instead here is what I got: * a running toilet all night * 2 AM drunk people knocking on my door * bathtub clogged with hair room #1 * a fridge you can't even use * a charge for something I didn’t use * double charge for wine I already paid with my credit card *I had to remind them twice during my stay that I had made a green choice--to get my points but also housekeeping showed up twice as well. *the free food we got at the club room -- I got grinds in my coffee - the toaster kept setting the smoke alarm every morning --the only thing about this thing was the servers made it bearable- At the end of the day, I used 48,000 points to book this god awful room and trust me when I say I feel taken advantage of --if that's the service you get when you book with points --I will not be wanting to stay at any westin at all. July 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disgusting bathroom I'm a platinum member. They put me in an adjoining room even though my profile is clear that I never want that. The room the moved me to had a DISGUSTING bathroom. There was hair on the sink and in the tub. Then the shower didn't work (most of the water shot into the tub, not the shower head) and the drain didn't drain, causing me to have to stand in 3 inches of gross water. This is a ridiculously poor example of the Westin brand. The hotel is worn out and needs a comprehensive refurbishment. September 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing The only thing that met my expectations was the comfort of the bed. I was in Chicago for a business conference. I had a very hard time getting the files I needed because your hotel wifi was not secure- I am not allowed to use unprotected internet connections for anything work related. How a supposedly high-quality hotel in 2014 cannot meet this basic requirement of guests is beyond my comprehension. Absolutely unacceptable. Furthermore, the shower ran out of hot water in barely a minute. It was a very uncomfortable experience and not how I would have liked to start each day. Again, simply unacceptable. I would not recommend this hotel for any reason. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and very pleasant hotel Helpful, pleasant staff, Westin quality bed and furnishings, VERY good location! Only two small negatives. (1) curtains were a low cost installation on a single track with no overlap; when drawn they stood 6 inches apart instead of joining. Just as well I always travel with two clothes pegs for this purpose. But this should be better in a Westin. (2) only four elevators in a big property. Substantial waits when busy. Nothing you can do about that after the building is built though. December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place, Horrible Service After I stayed there for one night while taking my wife on a surprise "overnight date" from Columbus ohio. Things started great and the service there was unbelievable. The clerk got us in early and into a great room. The stay was wonderful. Then I got home and got my bill and had charges on it from the "honor bar". My wife and I were only in the room to sleep and didn't even eat in the room let alone eat from the honor bar. On top of this she is pregnant so there was no "bar" action of any type. I called the billing department 3 times over the last week and a half and left voice mails. The recording says they will return it within 24hour. Needless to say, I am still waiting. I have also emailed 3 different people at the hotel to atleast get an explanation. No response. The service after the stay is ruining my experience. September 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not live up to Westin standards I experienced several issues at this hotel that left me quite disappointed. It started when I arrived at 2:30am after a delayed flight. When I arrived the computer system was down, and I was forced to wait 20 minutes in the lobby for the system to come back up. This was especially frustrating considering the fact that I arrived at 2:30am. The following morning, I went to iron my shirt and discovered that the iron was dirty. It left black gunk all over my shirt. I had to call for another iron, which took some time, and I ended up getting a late start to work (not to mention the extra dry cleaning required). As I was leaving the next morning, I asked for an umbrella because it was raining, but the bellman unapologetically told me there were none available. His attitude was actually more frustrating than the lack of umbrellas. Finally, I arrived back at the hotel at 10:30pm after a long day at work and my room wasn't cleaned! This is inexcusable. I have generally had good experiences with SPG hotels, but the Westin Chicago River North let me down big time. It's only my first night of five, so I will update if things improve. October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff and Service The staff at this hotel was extremely nice and very accomodating. When I checked in Selawe and the rest of the staff were all every pleasant and made sure I had everything I needed. I stayed for three nights, the first two nights were great, no problems. On the third night, I got a very noisy neighbor (throwing a very obnoxious party at 3am). The noise was loud enough to be heard throughout the floor. I was fully expecting to suffer through it or move rooms, but the security not only came up to get them to "turn the music down" but was there five minutes later the second they tried to start it back up again. I've never seen a place on top of things as quick as they were. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin River North a Gem! The Westin River North is a terrific hotel in a great location. Several great restaurants and bars in the area within walking distance. Kudos to Brianna at the front desk for accommodating our room request with grace and charm. Only drawback is sound bleeding through door of adjoining room. Fortunately, our neighbours weren't partying all night long. We'll definitely be back! August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for business travel I think this is one of the nicer Westin hotels, esp. for business travel. The rooms and staff are very nice, a cut above other Westin's. Everything always seems very clean and well maintained. The staff is fast and professional. The only wish would be for a better onsite restaurant and/or room service menu for dinner. Other than for breakfast, the onsite cafe is often closed and mediocre when open. November 28, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't be early It's not so often that during your business travels you arrive to your hotel before 3pm, but if you do do not expect a room at this place. I actually arrived at 1130am and was told to come back in an hour, upon my return another 90 people came In early as well and I was told I can not check in until 3pm. The staff was rude and in no way facilitating for a business travelers needs. If you are needing a gift shop for a drink while you wait 4 hours you will need to go to the hotel across the street. They don't have one here. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin has my support Westin has been nothing but amazing. This was my third visit to a Westin and I'm always impressed at the "customer first" attitude and going above and beyond during the entire stay. I was randomly selected to be upgraded to an executive suite which was amazing but wish I could have enjoyed it more, I was only in for one night. But I'll be back October 1st =) Thank you again for everything. June 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Desk staff could use some retraining. Prior to my stay I called the hotel direclty to inquire if complimentary upgrade was available. They review my spg status and said I would be upgraded to club level. When I arrived I was told by the lady it was not a club level room however when I showed the reserevation on my iphone (it had been updated to say "club level") she reluctantly honored the upgrade stating well this wont happen again again because we only do this for Platinum not Gold. Checkin process took over 10 minutes as well., I was simply asking them to honor what was promised. Secondly. during our store I order pizza for delivery when it arrived the front desk called my room and said for the them to allow the driver to my room they would charge my room $5,00 for that service!!! Really??? What a ripoff. You should be ashamed,.The property was nice however I will likely stay somewhere else on my next Chicago trip so I wont be hassled. June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short But Sweet We came to Chicago for the opera at the Lyric. We chose the Westin for location and the Westin reputation. We received an upgrade at check-in and Victoria of the concierge staff was extremely helpful finding us the ideal dinner experience for the evening. It was a short but very enjoyable stay, we will be back! February 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great accommodations We really like the location of this hotel. The staff is the friendliest I've experienced in quite a while. Room was large and extremely comfortable. Hotel is on the river and close to many great restaurants. The only down side was the valet service upon departure. To be fair though, there were numerous others trying to leave at the same time. There is a number on the valet ticket to call in advance of picking up your vehicle. I called and got to the valet station about ten minutes later. My ticket had not been pulled and I had to wait 1/2 hour for my car to arrive. Very disappointing way to end such a nice stay. July 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT STAY We spent 4 nights here and found the hotel to be very quiet. Outside noise from sirens on Saturday night were a problem but that is expected in the City. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Could not have asked for a better stay. This hotel is very convienent to all transportation. May 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel met all our needs. Check in was fast and we were even given an upgrade to a room with a view of the city. Staff was very friendly and we were given great advice on what sights to see and accurate directions. Location of hotel made it easy to walk to restaurants, shops and Riverwalk. June 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A cut above the rest I stay at many Starwood properties and this one always stands out. The location is great, the people are accommodating, the rooms are always perfect. . .Only if my parking in downtown Chicago were cheaper! All in all a great experience...as always. December 27, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff was Great Hotel Stay was not. Hotel Cleanlisness was not good. The staff had to move me to 3 rooms. I did not complain but the 3rd still had hair on the convers. I had a rough time sleeping because of noisy heater and lack of overall feeling comfort. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location in a Great City We didnt spend much time in the hotel as we did lots of sightseeing but when we were there it was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very accomodating. Great location in a great city ! May 24, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>