The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 503 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service The last 3 times we visited family in Chicago we stayed at the Westin Chicago River North. We found the location to be excellent, just a short walk to Grand Station CTA red line, and close to many fine restaurants. The fitness center was clean and well-equipped, and our rooms were spotless and comfortable, offering a great view of the city. We enjoyed a delicious brunch on several occasions in the restaurant, as well as continental breakfast in the Club Lounge. Most importantly, we found the staff to be extremely personable and accommodating. All of our requests were handled promptly with personal attention from assistant managers. Bryan was exceptionally helpful, as well as Michelle and desk agent Francisco. We look forward to our next stay in the near future. April 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service? Nope. I'm really disappointed with my experience here. I paid $436 for a Thursday night and received service that was worth $10. I booked a room that included access to the executive lounge. When I checked in, I asked the clerk about where I could print. He told me that I could use the paid-Kinkos computers downstairs. I later found out that there was free printing available in the lounge. I also showed him a local pizza shop on my phone (on yelp! ofcourse) and for directions on getting there. Despite being just 0.2 miles away, the very first "turn" he told me to take was in the wrong direction. The lighting system in the room was poorly designed. When I walked in, there were two light switches that turned on the foyer lights. There were no switches to turn on the lights inside the bedroom at all. I had to stumble around to each individual lamp to turn them on. The bathroom smelled really bad. There was a 1-10 dial in the bathroom. I wasn't sure what it did. I turned it and nothing happened. Perhaps it was supposed to do something - but it didn't work for me. They have an iPad touch screen "service" ordering system. While it was interesting, but it took FOREVER for me to get items. I forgot to bring toothpaste and the system said that the next delivery time was 50 minutes later. To no surprise, they did not show up one minute earlier than 50 minutes later. I felt that the wait was way too long for a $400 hotel room. The next morning, I found out that there was complimentary breakfast at the executive lounge (again, the clerk did not tell me). Right after I sat down, the server brought over a bottle of water and a slip asking for my name/room number/ and TIP. Yes, 2 minutes after sitting down I was already being asked for a tip. I only stayed here because it was close to an office that I was visiting. Unless location is key for you, I do not recommend this hotel. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Customer Service The Assistant Front Desk Manager at the Westin Chicago River North displayed a level of customer service I have never experienced before from a Starwood employee. His name is Bryan Williams. Mr. Williams was able to accommodate my colleagues and I during a recent work trip to Chicago. Our communication was conducted via email, do to the fact that I work overseas, which did not deter him from providing myself and guests such a memorable weekend in Chicago. My colleagues commended him for his assistance and amazing customer service upon our arrival. Whatever you can do for Mr. Williams, or if you need me to write another review, or call his manager, please let me know. Give my best to Bryan, and I will most definitely continue staying at the River North in Chicago. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location The lack of good lighting in the room, especially in the bathroom. Also, I was given a room on the 4th floor, and the noise level from outside was easily heard all night. It had snowed that night and we heard snow blowers going most tof the night. As a preferred guest you would think a higher floor would be automatic. I should have asked for another room at ck in when they assigned me to the 4th floor, but I checked in at 10:00 pm and out by 8:00 am the following morning. I was not there long enough to use any amenities. February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice to explore the city Greatly enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is in a great location next to the river near all of the tourists sites and awesome nightlife. Check-in was a breeze and the front-desk were courteous and a joy to talk to. The lobby, concierge, and elevator area made this hotel seem more expensive that it actually was. Business or leisure, I will definitely be back! Only complaint was that the mirror near the entrance of my room was really dirty, it looked like someone had walked on it. Other than that I was very happy with it. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security I had an incident where I thought I'd lost something prior to leaving; your security person did not recognize my angst and instead copped an attitude. During stays in the hotel, staff (of all levels) go into occupied rooms to maintain them when the guest isn't there. When something is left behind and people panic (especially something valuable), I believe that security should be able to enter the room, occupied or not, to check and get back to the customer, not say, well, we can't go in because the room is occupied. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel in the heart of Chicago I had a wonderful experience at your hotel from the minute I got there. Sarah at the front desk was very enthusiastic and helpful. She made me feel special for being an SPG member. Kwassi in the Club lounge was also very attentive, and smiling. Even when I left, I had forgotten my jacket. Bryan was most helpful in locating it, and getting it to me. (it's on it's way!) Love my stay at your hotel. You definitely have a world class staff. I can't wait to return! Thank you so much for making my stay such a pleasure! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has it all except for a pool I have no complaints with the service, Rooms were very nice. Everyone friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends. However, I don't understand the wireless charge of 14.95 a day. My daughter failed to scroll all the way down on her ipod when using it in our room to see that there was a 14.95 a day charge for use in room. It ended up costing us 45.00 before we realized it. I really feel that the wireless if free in lobby should be free in room or at least let me know when I check in . August 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gym was great! 1. The GYM was a gem! More than enough equipment to choose from! It has a sauna, too!! The refrigerated wet towels and bowl of apples was an added nice touch, as well. 2. We got a bit disappointed upon entering the room that was given to us (Room 315). Upon entering, the carpet had cuts on them and looks like it was ripped off and glued back on. Please have that fixed...it doesn't look nice at all when guests had a long flight and you are welcomed by that sight. I had no time to request for another room as our kids were really tired. 3. There was no microwave! I have 2 kids and we ended up throwing our left-over food as there was no space in the refrigerator (filled with snacks and beverage that you have to pay for) and there's no microwave to heat the food in. 4. We only stayed for 2 nights and bath tub kept clogging, please have that serviced. 5. We had breakfast buffet there (Ember Grille) as a family on Sunday morning, and met up with relatives to have lunch there on the same day -- same buffet food as breakfast! We wish they had replaced it! September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 1 Night Stay Flew into O'Hare at 3pm and went straight to the hotel to get ready for my first cubs game (I'm from San Francisco but my colleague is from St Louis). One of our business partners got us front row tickets! Forgot my iphone and ipad chargers (they use lightning cables) and asked where the nearest place to buy chargers was and the front desk person said they could charge my phone in the back. So went to check out the room and met up my colleague at the club lounge. Decent snacks and cheap drinks not a bad way to kill time before the game. Swapped my iphone out and had them charge my ipad while i was away at the game and swapped out ipad for iphone after the game. Super friendly front desk and great foresight in thinking that business travelers will forget basic things like chargers. A+ August 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed opportunities I have respect for the Westin brand and have higher expectations for the hotel line than most others. I was disappointed to experience SEVERAL problems in my two-night stay. The cable signal on my TV continually came and went which required a maintenance visit; both outlets at the desk were very loose and I had to bend my plug prongs to ensure the cords did not fall out; and the fan I requested had obvious mechanical problems, resulting in a sustained noise level too loud to justify turning it on. In isolation, none of these issues are a large matter. But when all of them are experienced together, I couldn't help but re-evaluate my opinion of the Westin brand. I stayed here for business, as the hotel was hosting a conference i was attending. It is unlikely I will stay at this location again. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location My bf and I took a mini trip to chicago and stayed here. It was a great location and withing walking distance of everything downtown. (not the museums, ect.) It's right across the road from the house of blues, so that was very convenient! the staff made great recommendations on where to eat and were very friendly. be prepared to pay for parking and tipping every time you get your car out from the valet. but it's chicago, so i guess you should expect that. request a room with a view of the canal! March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and Cozy Our stay here was very nice. The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. The location is a bit tucked away, but still within walking distance to some nice restaurants. I would like to add that there was something peculiar about this place that I did not realize at the time of my stay. This place felt like a secret hideaway in a bustling metropolis. I would love to stay here again, and make this Westin our regular place to stay when visiting Chicago. March 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor valet service On my last stay at this property (7/18/14-7/19/14) the valet attendant brought my car up, then stood and watched as I loaded my luggage in the trunk. He stuck his hand out waiting for his tip, made no offer or gesture to help with our bags. I said something to him about it, and he basically said it wasn't his job. I stay at this property often, and am generally happy with my visits. Please address this with valet, very disappointing. Thank you. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by check in needs work Stood in line for an extended period of time, room wasn't ready. Had to wait in another long line to store bags. They called with my room ready, had to wait in line for keys, wait in another line for bags-then had to go in the bag room to find my bag. Got to my room, keys didn't work, cleaning staff wouldn't let me in, had to go BACK downstairs and WAIT in line AGAIN for new keys. Also, no recognition of SPG unless you count the paper jacket that my non-working keys came in. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Sports Weekend Hotel The Westin River North was the perfect hotel for a weekend getaway to watch our beloved Sooners play Notre Dame. Upon arrival at the Westin, the staff quickly and graciously helped with our luggage and we proceeded to extremely quick check-in at registration. We had booked two rooms and were upgraded to deluxe rooms in recognition of our Gold Level membership. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Of course the heavenly bed was everything we hoped for after two days of being on the go. Our party met in the lobby for some fantastic cocktails at the Hula lounge prior to departing to a restaurant which was highly recommended by the concierge. The restaurant exceeded our expectations, We stay at numerous SPG properties every year and the Westin River North is definitely one of the best. September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is not what I expect from a Westin Didn't meet expectations. This room met minimum standards of the Westin brand. One pillow per person on the bed, not the best Westin heavenly comfort experience, the room was hot, maintenance worked on the air, but no change. I checked out early and went to a different hotel down the street. No, I did not tell why i was checking out early as I gave it a chance and the team was not successful. I stayed in Birmingham the prior week and that was a Westin experience to be recommended. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Service We stay for 3 nights for our anniversary and they gave us a bottle of champagne with a platter full of cheese and fruits. It was a pleasant surprise. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Location This was one of the best, if not the best, hotels I've ever stayed in. I usually stay at the Starwood resorts and can be disappointed in hotels. However, the room and bathroom were very spacious. I enjoyed having an iPad available to research attractions and restaurants in the Chicago area. If anything negative could be said it would be that I would have liked to have a personal fridge and not just the mini bar. Overall, an excellent stay!!! July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Stayed in early December for busimess - hotel is $2 trip from airport on subway. Hotel room beautiful overlooking river; excellent food and bar. Most importantly, staff was excellent. Francisco at front desk was great at check-in with my room selection, the green program, award points and general information. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure stays - it is close to everything downtown and very convienant. Most importantly, you are treated like royalty. February 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff Need Coaching We arrived on a Saturday afternoon for a 2-day stay. I had booked 2 rooms with my SPG Gold Elite points. Lots of confusion on check-in regarding my daughter's reservation for the second room. No recognition of being an SPG member, no mention of room upgrade or complementary Internet. The staff seemed rushed...it was 2 in the afternoon, and I felt like it was an inconvenience for them to sort out our requests. Previous visits were much better from a customer service perspective. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Maintenance The room service was at best marginal. We opted for going "green" on two nights only as we needed clean towels and bathroom items on other days. These never came at all on our last full day. There was no service whatsoever on Friday, April 27. Our room was totally ignored on that day and only slightly serviced on another day. We fully expected no service on those days that we went "green", but not on the other days. Better coordination is needed by the cleaning staff managers. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by March Stay While all other aspects of my stay were excellent there are improvements needed in guest rooms. Lighting is terrible in bathroom, and entry hall. This was a consensus among my group as well. Also, the in-room temperature was very hard to control- too hot even when thermostat turned down to 65 and fan on high. Bellman/Doorman James was WONDERFUL; very helpful and acknowledged me and my co-workers by name each day he saw us in the lobby. Made my day; each day he was working. March 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Broken Phone I spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Westin Chicago River North for a conference. For the most part, the service and accomodations were exemplary. There was one looming problem that was never solved for me and never even truly addressed. There was something wrong with the phone, and would ring by itself every hour or two with no one on the other end. The hotel staff kept telling me that there was nothing they could do, that I must have a colleague calling me. Not at 4am, I assure you. I did not get one night of restful sleep as the phone would ring throughout the night. My only solution was to unplug the phone, which bothered me because I still wanted to be reachable in case of an emergency. It was a shame that this one issue ruined my trip. I would have loved this hotel, but I left with a bad taste in my mouth. August 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by not as expected My room (307) had carpets that were very worn. The room was poorly lit as well. Most disturbingly, the soundproofing was abyssmal. I could not sleep because the snoring in the adjacent room was as if the person was in my room. Further, 2 rooms on the other side were being used as meeting rooms. The "set up" of the rooms started very early and the staff talked loudly in the hallway. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel is really great. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect and Sam (the trainer) is fabulous! He spent over an hour with my mom and I and developed a workout program for both of us, then followed up the day after we left. He also gave me nutrition ideas and said he'd send other workout programs to keep things fresh. Having access to someone like Sam (for free) definitely sets this hotel apart from others. I'd highly recommend the property. July 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for a Chicago get away! All round great hotel! First time visiting Chicago. Great location as it is a central location for the different areas. Would definitely go to this hotel again. Only a couple blocks away from the blue line "L" which takes you to and from O'Hare as well. Only $3 to get to the airport by the metro rather than a $40-$50 can ride. Got stuck in Chicago a couple extra nights as well due to weather and flight cancellations and the hotel was very accommodating. Great experience! January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Won't Be Disappointed My third 2013 visit to this well-operated and welcoming Chicago hotel could not have been more comfortable nor pleasant. From Front Desk to Bellmen to Housekeeping to Hosts in the Club Lounge, every individual welcomed us and never failed to ask if anything more was needed. The staff understands well that sincere respect and enthusiasm for guests has results. I will always return to this very well- situated -to-The Loop hotel for its continuing efforts to please guests. November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very clean and comfortable Everything was very nice and clean as well as comfortable with all the amenities that you need in your room. Staff was pleasant at check in. Overall hotel was very nicely decorated and clean. All the staff we encountered at the door or the concierge station were very helpful and pleasant. Convenient to restaurants and getting out and about. Definitely would stay there again. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement Rooms were not ready for check in...there was obviously a lack of preparedness for large volume. Guests do not expect to wait hours, especially after 3 pm to get into their rooms. Plus the front desk staff did not try to make any suggestions...such as you requested 2 queen beds but we have a king room available. Nor could they answer questions such as could you find me a room at another hotel because I am tired of waiting. Also, the lobby sushi bar staff was unfriendly and we received sub-standard fish...not good when eating sushi. In addition wait staff in the conference area were not knowledgeable about food allergy food alternatives and did not make any effort to find something to else to offer leaving guests with very limited food selection. I travel quite a bit and honestly do not really complain, believe it or not, however this time I felt it was something that I needed to do. August 6, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 next>>