The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing "Heavenly" about it. Let it be known that I have never written a review, though I felt compelled enough to share my dissatisfied experience. Long story short, we had two nights booked, then reduced it to one after just an hour in the hotel. Firstly, the Executive Club was not worth the extra cost. The attendant made us feel as though we were doing something wrong by requiring us to fill out a "guest voucher." In my 25 years of traveling (business & pleasure) I never once had to "explain" who I was for complimentary h'orderves and soft drinks. The staff had an expectation of gratuity when delivering an item (in this case a fan) to our room. I usually tip for everything, but when it feels expected, I don't. The "heavenly" robes felt and looked as though they were ten years old. The deluxe suite was nice, though a river view would have been nicer when we inquired and thus denied. Only to find out later that the hotel was at 25% capacity (direct from an employee)....I'm sure one was available. Lastly, at checkout, the office valet attendant called down to the valet, after placing his personal phone call on hold, told me it would be 10 minutes (even though we were the only ones waiting). When 15 minutes passed , our car came at a relatively fast rate of speed to the front door. I handed the valet $5 (regrettably) and then realized that he didn't even acknowledge me, my wife or our luggage, not one word or door opened for her. We found a great hotel just two blocks away at half the price (with river view), free wine and an incredibly fun atmosphere with amazing staff. We will NEVER stay at or recommend a Westin Hotel again. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect My husband and I had tickets to the theater so thought we would just spend the night downtown even though we live in the Chicago area. The Westin River North was the perfect place to stay. It is the ideal location. It was walking distance to both our restaurant and the theater. Our stay at the Westin was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Having Gold Status with SPG our room was upgraded and we received complimentary drink vouchers. The room was fantastic, very spacious and very modern. The food at the Ember Grill was great. I will definitely stay at the Westin again. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, just not great. Nice location in downtown Chicago. Clearly an older hotel (maybe 70's era) that has been retrofit. In some cases this works well, for example a nice lobby. In others it falls short, e.g. a "heavenly" shower in a tub that couldn't seem to keep up with draining the water. Nice and helpful staff as I've found is the norm at Westin properties. April 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by dark Dark rooms Had to crawl aorund to find electric outlets to charge phones April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by thank you for a wonderful stay....again! Everything was perfect! Front desk staff cannot be more friendly or efficient. This has become my "Chicago home" when visiting the area. Thank you for making me feel so welcome and comfortable! April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Heavenly" bedding! The hotel and the staff were wonderful but the bedding was the star as far as we were concerned. I'm a poor sleeper and I never woke up during the night. The mattress was so comfortable and the pillows were great. We are looking into buying the pillows for your home use. The room was gorgeous and the staff made us feel very welcome. We will definitely stay here again. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, housekeeping was okay. I stayed at the Westin for only one night because I had a family wedding downtown that day, but I thought that the experience there was fantastic. I had a great stay and the room was clean, neat, and I had no problems. The only complaint that I had was that on Saturday morning, I was woken up by housekeeping at 8:20am. I understand that I should have had a "do not disturb" sign on the door, but I was not expecting housekeeping to be knocking before 8:30 am... All in all, I had a good stay. The staff was great, very accommodating with the early check in and I was very appreciative. August 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Although this was a very nice hotel, I would never stay here again. After paying a great deal to stay one night at the hotel I was faced with a $14.95 fee for using the wifi. I had accidentally logged into the Internet 5 minutes before checking out of the hotel. When I voiced my objection to the staff at checkout, I was given very little concern. I had the staff write down my name and number to discuss the issue with a manager, and was never contacted back. Honestly, I believe the Internet charge is ridiculous when staying at such a hotel, and to be charged for a whole day 5 minutes before checking out is unreasonable. Had I know the low expectation of the hotel, I would have simply used my phone Internet. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected More for the Price of this Room Bathroom floor was dirty. Food in refrigerator was overpriced. Parking was overpriced. Internet service was poor, and should be complimentary for the price of the room instead of additional cost. I would not stay here again. Excellent location right across from House of Blues, but overpriced for the value. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay All Westins are not created equal. This hotel from top down to all depts shined.checkin was warm and informative. The concierge Lisa was fantastic,bellman were efficient and friendly,bartenders were great,albeit the drinks were expensive ,but that's Chicago. Even the housekeeper was friendly and efficient . All I can think of is that the GM knows his stuff as I see this is a reflection of his management . So in Chicago this is the place and with a great location . March 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by almost perfect - just a few recommended changes overall, my stay at the westin was great. the beds were heavenly, as advertised, and my room was spacious with a great view and a huge bathroom. there were just a few things that i expected and were surprised not to have: 1) a modern alarm clock with an ipod docking station, i.e. an iHome. almost every modern hotel i stay in these days has one, and was quite surprised the westin didn't. 2) a microwave - i was in town for a few days, and had no way to warm up leftover food i brought back to the hotel on a couple of occasions. 3) very poor lighting in the front entryway and in the bathroom. these are all pretty minimal changes and my overall experience was still great, but for a caliber of hotel such as the westin, it would have been nice to have had these amenities. also, i've called the accounting department twice since checkout to ask about some charges on my bill, and have still not received a call back. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Most hotels are very similar in terms of the furnishings and amenities, but the staff can be a real differentiator. We stayed at the Westin Chicago River North this weekend and I must compliment Katelyn Klym on outstanding customer service. When we checked in she was fully engaged with us and found out that it was our wedding anniversary. To our surprise the next night we get a knock at the door and room service brought us up some wine and cheese - along with a hand written note from Katelyn. She even remembered that it was our 8 year anniversary !! A very nice touch November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff!!! I stayed for the weekend and had a lovely room on the Club Level. It's worth the upgrade fee!! Sarah at the desk was very welcoming. On Saturday, Kwasi (I think) in the Club Lounge was so friendly and professional - he made us feel right at home. Thank you and keep up the great work! April 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dust Bunnies I have stayed on a number of other Westin hotels before and have to say that this location takes 'going green' a bit too far --but that review is for the management eyes only. Otherwise, this place is great as far as location. April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always great we love to stay at this hotel for its comfort and location. My one complaint is that the switch from winter to Spring had not been fully implemented in the building so the room was hot at times with the a/c unable to fix it. Otherwise, great as always. BTW, try the potstickers in the lounge April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thin Walls Hi, While the room was comfortable and clean, the walls are extremely thin. We could hear everything that was being said word for word in the room next to us. Given that the family next to us had 3 small children who were up extremely early, it did not make for the most restful sleep. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is a great location with friendly staff The rooms are comfortable and the location is excellent! Each time I have stayed here, the beds have been fantastic - they lull you to sleep with the quality of the mattress and bed linens. The hotel itself has friendly, helpful staff and great meeting rooms. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by March Stay While all other aspects of my stay were excellent there are improvements needed in guest rooms. Lighting is terrible in bathroom, and entry hall. This was a consensus among my group as well. Also, the in-room temperature was very hard to control- too hot even when thermostat turned down to 65 and fan on high. Bellman/Doorman James was WONDERFUL; very helpful and acknowledged me and my co-workers by name each day he saw us in the lobby. Made my day; each day he was working. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The room was comfortable, and the bathroom is very roomy, with good counter space and light in the shower. A little more light by the mirror wouldn't hurt for getting ready in the mornings, though. Having the TV channel guide under glass on the nightstand is a nice convenience, since the guide is missing in so many hotels. April 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin River North Facility was very nice. We had an issue with our room in that the air conditioning apparently was not working. We would adjust the thermostat and nothing would change. That was frustrating. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff makes the difference Sarah, behind the front desk, was very friendly and also very accommodating . Upon checking, we noticed that our room wasn't vacuumed, after a brief visit to Sarah at the front desk, that problem was quickly rectified to our complete satisfaction! We also dined at the hotels restaurant, Juan was our waiter, and made our nite! What a cheerful personality he possesses . He was wonderful! We would definetly stay there again! March 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed Valet was a horrible experience. 20 minutes in line to drop off my car and the attendants were walking, not even quickly, while 3 guys in suits watched unfazed as if it happened all the time. We had to put extra towels on the floor of the bathroom because it was so cold. I discussed valet at check out. Sarah said the manager would reach out to me.......never heard from them, I guess it isn't that important. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to stay in Chicago Stopped off in Chicago early November for 4 nights as part of trip to USA. Chicago was the first stop on our tour and we could not have been more impressed with the Westin at River North. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the staff greeting us at reception were fantastic. Our room was excellent and well maintained with a great view of the river. The hotel was very centrally located and ideal for our first time visit to Chicago. It won't be the last time we go to Chicago and we will definately be staying at the Westin again. November 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Excellent location, poor amenities Hotel has an ideal location. However, no real restaurant. Also had to wait 15 minutes to check out. December 4, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great features but expensive The rooms were a nice size, clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom amenities were very nice with rainfall shower head. However, the faucet did not work well. In addition, the marble floors are extremely slippery when wet. Every one of us slipped, and my young son fell in the bathroom. We had to be careful. The standard price was adjusted due to a university graduation but the regular room rates were higher than some surrounding hotels. Other than that, the location was great and hotel environment beautifully decorated. July 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired property needs serious renovation The Marina City location is tough to beat for convenience, but the rooms and furnishings are quite dated. It feels as though it hasn't had a serious renovation since it was first built, which appears to have been the late 1970s. The somewhat-worn furniture is of a more modern vintage, but still is vastly oversized -- who on earth needs four drawers, each 3 feet wide by 2 feet deep by 1 foot tall? Admittedly, slimmer furniture would make the rooms feel even more cavernous than they already are. I'm sure some people may like that, but to me it feels like wasted space -- that's why I suspect a gut reno is in order. This hotel could squeeze in a lot more rooms that, intelligently designed, would still feel perfectly spacious to guests. July 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by March Stay in Chicago Although the room was very nice (was upgraded) there was a problem with the shower. There was plenty of hot water in the sink but could not get any in the shower. This was very disappointing. I did not have time to wait for someone to come up and check on the problem as I had a meeting. I believe was am owed something beside extra points. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concierge I just completed a 5 night stay at the hotel. My only comment is that the A/C in our room did not cool the room down sufficiently. The hotel offered for us to move rooms but we settled for a fan. The highlight of our stay at the hotel was the Concierge, Lisa Treacy. She was PHENOMENAL. She recommended day activities as well as instructed us how to get discount tickets to the theater (Once) as well as recommendations for dinner (Bavette's) both of which were over the top. She is a huge asset to the hotel and the reason we could come back. Thanks. October 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by ******NEVER TO RETURN********* 1. WHEN WE ARRIVED THE FRONT DESK SAID THE ROOM WOULD BE READY IN A FEW MINUTES---- OUR ROOM WAS NOT READY AT 3:00 or 4:00 or 4:40 SO---- WE WERE PLACED IN A ROOM ON A DIFFERENT FLOOR (floor 7) ...THIS IS NO JOKE----WE HAD PAID FOR THE CLUB FLOOR--- and room we received was the 7th FLOOR ..WE RECEIVED NO---CREDIT FOR THIS POOR SITUATION. HOW DUMB TO CHARGE 1st CLASS PRICE AND THEN GIVE THE CUSTOMER 2nd RATE QUALITY and ROOM! THEY DID OFFER SEVERAL FREE DRINKS TO SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT DRINK!! DUMB??!!!! 2. COLD SHOWERS--complained -- they said it was fixed --- NEXT DAY COLD SHOWERS and on the day we left it was a warm shower.. Is that the record 3 out of 4 day OF cold showers...AGAIN-I QUESTION THE SERVICE AND QUALITY! 3. THE CLUB FLOOR QUALITY OF FOOD AND SERVICE ??? That is something I would never pay for again--THIS IS NOT FIRST CLASS! The food--the service would get a D- rating and if the paper would review the food quality it would be D ! Not worth you time and money to pay for the CLUB FLOOR!!!!!! 4. A DIRTY TOWEL AND HANGER HANGING BEHIND THE BATHROOM DOOR when we arrived! 1st quality--again it is not at this hotel??? I question how the maid cleaned the bathroom and how clean anything was.?? ******* BEWARE! YOU WILL PAY A HIGH PRICE AND RECEIVE SECOND RATE SERVICE.......FOOD...AND ROOM. October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good features, great location, needs better front desk staff Great hotel but front desk staff, Michelle, needs to recognize members better and provide adequate service along with that member level. April 14, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>