The Westin Southfield Detroit

  • 1500 Town Center
  • Southfield,
  • Michigan
  • 48075
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 147 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needs Mattress The mattress is absolutely worn in the middle and needs to be replaced July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel My stay here was amazing. love the place and will for sure come back to it. Free parking is always a plus. Nice rooms and very clean. Great stay overall. July 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations for Westin I reserved this hotel because of Westin's reputation, and it had an indoor swimming pool. Big mistake. When we arrived we found the pool was only 3 feet deep! Not exactly a "swimming pool", but a kids wading pool. Also, the key cards for the elevators didn't work most of the time & required multiple replacements. It was a problem with many guests & hotel staff did not seem to care about the problem at all. Expensive mistake I won't make again. August 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Stay I normally have a great stay at this hotel. We use the hotel every year for Michigan Grand Council Conclave. Where we have out of town guest come and celebrate with us. This perticular weekend my toilet flooded my room at 4 in the morning. I called the front desk to let them know what has happen and they came and stopped it from flooding. They had to switch my room from a King Size heavenly bed. To a double bedroom. When I went downstairs to see if there was any other rooms available. The staff said that it was sold out. I asked if could be compensated for the inconvenience of having to move my room. The staff began to get rude with me telling me "my room was comp anyway and there's nothing we can do". Of course my room was, because for every so many rooms we sell for our event. We get a free room. The staff was terrible and nasty and treated me like a second class citizen for all the business that we bring to the hotel. We have use this hotel the last 4 years but may have to rethink using it again in the future. I have yet to receive an apology from the rude and inconsiderate staff from the hotel and havent been comp anything for my trouble. But if this is the kind of treatment that we are going to receive from your establishment. Then we will just take our business somewhere else. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our stay here was VERY nice!!! Beth, our customer service rep. went beyond her duties to accommodate my boyfriend and I this past weekend. Everything we needed and asked her to help with - she made it happen!! She is very professional, pleasant and friendly!! The service at the restaurant was also very accommodating and the food was good. Overall, it was a VERY nice stay at a VERY nice hotel. The walls are too thin, but maybe that will change with the upcoming renovation. It was also a convenient location for the reason that took us to Detroit. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality at this location has really declined Maintenance of equipment (i.e.-TV in room, keycards and keycard readers) was unacceptable. TV in room wouldn't display local channels even after attended by engineering dept. and keycards frequently did not open hotel room door or operate the elevators. We were not the only guests experiencing this problem. Did not have enough front desk personnel to handle the check in procedure. Two personnel on duty during a Valentine's Day weekend promotion could not efficiently handle the number of guests. No coffee shop open on a promotional/holiday weekend? Really? I have stayed at this hotel frequently in the past but will re-think before returning. Definitely not up to Starwood or Westin standards. Very disappointed. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is getting to relaxed, not good This was my fiancé and I favorite hotel to stay. We don't live far but quite often (a weekend a month) we would stay to getaway from the every day hustle and bustle. One thing I can always say is the bed is magnificent and front desk staff are very courteous, nice and helpful to the best of their abilities. One stay I cut my foot from left over glass in the room; they made this up to me by me paying half off another room another day, the next time +2, guests in the next room were extremely loud and smoking marijuana. Management got them to quiet down after another call, but the smoking continued, which reeked under the adjourning door to my room. After a hiatus from the Westin, I decided to give them another chance, the first day everything was great, decided to stay the exact next day and remembered the email I received from SPG about a complimentary 3rd night for staying two consecutive nights.. well with more money out my pocket I would've been able to stay, not to mention the toilet broke in the middle of the night. The engineer fixed it, supposedly, until the next time I used it, I noticed it didn't. By this time it was 4am and I didn't bother to call because I was tired of breaking my rest. This Southfield locations needs to get there act together...many people know I stay here often and always ask about my stay...don't want to bad mouth anybody, but I will be staying at the downtown location until this one gets back up to the standards I once knew and was a reason I stayed often! One more thing, I wasn't acknowledged for my spg register so I was suppose to be at the next spg level now, but that hasn't happened. October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I experienced poor service When I arrived at the hotel at 5pm Sunday, I waited 20 min before a desk clerk came out to help the line of people building up at the front desk. My door key didn't work the first time. The bed mattress was ancient, very lumpy and uncomfortable. On my checkout morning, I called the front desk to confirm my checkout time was 12 noon. At 10:30 am, I got a call from a member of the staff who didn't identifier herself, but barked "What time you checkin' out?" And, when I replied at noon, she hung up on me. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Catering Staff I attended the Popp-McNett Wedding on 2-22-14; the reception was held at this hotel. The catering staff was phenomenal. The waiter at our table, Adrian, was friendly and responded promptly to all our requests. The meal was delicious. I felt very cared for. Kathleen is another exceptional catering staff member. Later in the evening she noticed I was hungry and she brought me some snacks. I truly appreciated that act of service and kindness. Also, Bruce the bartender did a great job keeping up with a very demanding crowd. The catering staff was wonderful! February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than average Westin The check-in experience was fine. Staff was friendly. The Receptionist working on Sunday was not the friendliest in her service approach. Hallway seemed tired and dirty and I feel the same when I walked in to the room. Missing fridge in the room. Pool area was not clean either. Granted, possibly due to high usage... Entrance from the parking garage to the hotel also feel dirty and dingy. Dirty glass doors etc. Overall, the service/quality accommodation I received was more of a "Sheraton" standard instead of a "Westin" standard. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by UNBELIEVEABLY AWESOME!!!! We are from a very rural area of western Mi. We were in the Southfield area visiting a local medical establishment for my wife's health. We had made our reservation at the Westin online based on other reviews so we really weren't sure of what to expect. After a long and very dissapointing day of medical disappointments we were ready to relax and unwind. When we arrived at the Westin we couldn't believe our eyes! Everything about our stay was AWESOME!! THE ROOM, THE SERVICE, THE BED, THE FOOD, EVERYTHING!! It doesn't get any better than this! Highly recommended. November 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Going downhill Stay here each time to the detroit area but no more. No recognition of platinum at check in. Extremely hot room was the main concern. Cannot control room temp this weekend and had zero sleep due to that. Uncalled for an a spg property. Only stay if you like your room a stuffy 75-80 degrees. Told staff and they said "sorry" and we'll send up engineer, waiting an hour for a no show. Terrible staffing coordination. Room had tons of dust as well. Not a good Westin anymore! April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Every staff member I encountered, from front desk to housekeeping to room service, was very friendly and went above and beyond. I had a great stay and will visit again in the future! July 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Room A/C was not working. Hot water was not available the day of my departure. Paint peeling from ceilings, mold along ceiling in bathrooms. Panel protecting the Heat and A/C compressor was ripped from the wall and then simply propped over the large hole. For being a 4 start hotel, I have had much nicer and comfortable rooms at other hotel chains. Really disappointed in my stay. I will be seeking alternative hotels next time I'm traveling to Southfield. April 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointing Stay The front desk staff was inadequate to completely absent(!) when I tried to check out. Room keys did not work properly (elevator, room). The bed-side telephone did not work when I received my wake-up call. In general, there was a lack of attention to detail. The physical room was nice but that attribute did not offset the rest of the issues. If this were a cheap bare-bones highway-side motel, the lack of service might have been permissible, but I definitely expected an upscale hotel to have better service than Motel 6 and it did not. November 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Several little things....add up! There were no bed linens for the pull out sofa. Why would these not be in the room already? I had a young child I was trying to put to sleep and it took 2 phone calls to the front desk and 20+ minutes to get sheets - and they didn't bring pillows! Front desk staff at check in wasn't very friendly and the pool was closed for renovation - one of the main reasons I chose this hotel! April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best smelling hotel in America First impressions are everything, when you walk through the doors of this particular hotel you are instantly greeted by the most awesome fragrance. I've stayed in many hotels over the years for both business and leisure trips, but this one smelled the best. Research shows that humans perception of smell is connected to many different emotions and can even recall certain experiences. Every time I smell a fragrance similar to the one that the Westin Southfield uses, it recalls back the great times I had while visiting Detroit and staying at this hotel. The free parking and my spacious room always come to mind. I'm posting my comment 6 months after my visit because this hotel is still on the top of my mind. Not only did it smell good, but the room was nice and clean, very roomy, and I had a great view of the expressway and the surround area. They offer free parking, which is very rare these days. Even the gift shop staff was wonderful. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Detroit area. Southfield is only a short drive to downtown Detroit via M-10, only a few miles from the Detroit Zoo and the Somerset Mall and you don't have to worry about parking unless you want to valet, which is also reasonable. I definitely plan to visit Detroit again soon and look forward to staying at this hotel once again. If you are a consumer who read reviews like me in order to narrow down hotel choices, I hope that you find my review of this hotel helpful in your selection process. Thanks Westin Southfield for being Awesome! Keith September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service disappointed Comng to the North American International Auto Show for years we have sometimes stayed downtown and sometimes here. This hotel offers good value. Our long term experience with this hotel is probably one of the main influences in our family's preference for Starwood brand. The staff in the bar and in the restaurant (both) seemed indifferent this visit. I would really appreciate having the Wall Street Journal available on Saturdays even if I have to pay for it. I was surprised that staff did not try to locate where I could buy one. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable Staff is highly responsive and courteous . July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel The WESTIN chain is one of my favorite hotel chains and the WESTIN Southfield in particular is a personal favorite of mine. The staff is excellent and very professional and continue to exceed my expectations. July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to scratch. If there was another Westin in the area I would use it, but there isn't. This time they forgot to make up and clean my room. Every time I stay at this hotel something isn't right. It needs a make over and a complete change of staff. It lets down the good Westin image and experience that I am used to. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel was very nice, the beds were super comfortable and the rooms were emaculant. The staff seemed minimal so thier responsiveness was extrememly slow, however the front desk staff was very polite and when they did get to you they were very accomodating. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Usually pleased with The Westin overall. Generally, I enjoy The Westin Southfield, but this time I experienced some difficulty with the gnats that were everywhere in the building, and was bitten several times inside the building. July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disapointed I expected a little more from The Westin. My wife and I where definetly excited for our stay. Once we got there they gave us the wrong room, & on top of that placed us next to a "staff only' room where I guess they collect dishes from room service.So most of the time we heard loud dishes banging most of the night/morning not relaxing at all like i thought it would be after a hard week of work. It was like staying the night by a noisy kitchen very sad & very Disapointed. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Excellent location and friendly front desk agent however; there were lots of nats in the restaurant. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Release & Relaxation (R&R) Weekend! The heavenly beds are th best! I had the best quiet time to myself. Great movie selections! June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience besides food This is my second time to stayed here. Last time I made is last thanksgiving. Valet parking is $20. I was upgraded to a Junior suite since I was platinum member. The only thing I don't like is the brakefast, the fruit was very bad, waiter is not friendly. April 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed........... Let me start by stating that I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always had a very enjoyable stay until this last visit. For Thanksgiving I reserved what I thought was a nice suite but upon further inspection this room was everything but nice. The largest offender was the couch that was in the room. It seemed to be covered with some VERY nefarious looking spots (ie; bodily fluids). At that point all I could think about was what may have taken place on this couch and how much I didn't want to sit on it. Then there was the torn wallpaper, dusty lamps and office chair, and human hair on the bathroom counter. Being a repeat guest as well as SPG member, you would think that someone would do something like inspect the room prior to allowing a SPG member to accept it. This room was not worth $50+ dollars! December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features The hotel was very clean and the service was also outstanding. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Southfield Excellent experience, as usual. June 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>