The Westin Southfield Detroit

  • 1500 Town Center
  • Southfield,
  • Michigan
  • 48075
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 163 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel Hotel had good amenities and very very nice, with great linens. Staff was very friendly. We had an issue with temperature in room, manager Julie went above and beyond to resolve issue and move our room. Her customer focus was very evident. I would come back because it is clear staff will make every effort to make stay comfortable. Food was very good and room was super quiet April 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Needs Improving I travel extensively and was excited about checking out the Westin Southfield. Unfortunately poor service diminshed the experience. The service at check-in was very weak, the restaurant was grossly understaffed, and the printer wasnt working in the Business Services room. Nice rooms but service was poor. Not what I'd expect from a Westin property. November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very enjoyable! I spent a week on business at this hotel and everything was more than expected. I would like to give a big thanks to Carolyn in Tango's for her outstanding service and wonderful friendliness. Carolyn served my breakfast every morning and she was a bright start to my day. Thanks Carolyn for your smile and friendly conversation! September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience besides food This is my second time to stayed here. Last time I made is last thanksgiving. Valet parking is $20. I was upgraded to a Junior suite since I was platinum member. The only thing I don't like is the brakefast, the fruit was very bad, waiter is not friendly. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel We stayed here this last weekend and I have to give credit to Jason Room Dept. manager he really went out of his way to be helpful before and after the stay. This hotel is VERY lucky to have someone like him!!!!! The front desk was also very nice and very helpful during the stay. June 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge disappointment I am an SPG owner, and stay in Starwood hotels often. This is the poorest run Westin I have ever stayed in. From the start to the finish it was disappointing. It began with my getting the wrong room and the keys not working. I was given another room (keys didn't work again) and people were still in the room! Another day I came back at night and the room had not been made up. When I asked for it to be cleaned i was told there was no one there. Finally someone came and changed the towels but didn't touch the bed or even take away trash. The elevators are very slow. While the staff were nice, the place clearly was badly run compared to any other Westin , or Sheraton I have stayed in. I would never stay here again. August 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Experience not good! The furniture was dated. We had to pay for a microwave($10). The phone lines didn't work. The microwave we did get was old and hardly worked. The WESTINS that I usually stay in are always up to standard but this WESTIN in Detroit was very disappointing! December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and room This hotel is great and the accommodations well met my expectations. The amenities were excellent. The hotel staff was very accommodating. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Several Very Good Stays I have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times in the last year, and have had very good experiences for the most part. I have read many of the reviews of the property and, although I have experienced a few of the negative items listed, I think the overriding take away is that the property is well worth a visit. The entrance is nice, and the smell of the lobby (green tea and linen) is instantly recognized. I happen to think it is wonderful and I always feel welcomed when I arrive. The front desk has consistently been very kind, and have upgraded me each time as a Platinum. There have been a few occasions when a newer staff member has made a slip up or two, but those are more nuisance than problems. The elevators can be slow and lack availability, but it has not been an issue overall. The rooms show some signs of wear and tear, but they are fairly spacious and the bathrooms appears newly renovated with double headed showers. Is this the nicest Westin I've visited during my membership with SPG? No...I would put it at average, or slightly above, but the value for money is fantastic and the staff has always treated me with kindness. I would recommend it for a nice stay in the Detroit suburbs. February 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Uneven The first night we had a room that was not satisfactory, a kind of fold up Murphy bed. the main problem was that the room was not well insulated and we had loud noise from visitors in rooms on both sides of us. We switched rooms to a King on the 12th floor. It was excellent, quiet and a large and comfortable bed. So we really enjoyed that aspect of our stay. However, in both rooms the housekeeping was uneven, water not replaced,etc. Staff generally was uneven, some people very friendly and helpful; others quite clueless. Food was not very good. We had a really horrible continental breakfast brought by room service, some mushy donuts, etc. and wrong kind of coffee, which then was replaced, by decaf, but charged us a second time for the service. Breakfast in the restaurant was not very good either. Dinner in the restaurant was average. Our waiter was actually charming, in a kind of gruff way. I enjoyed the lap pool. Good for one person. Water really too warm, but got better on the third day. Our room keys did not work half the time. We kept changing them for new ones. My husband thought on the weekend nights the hotel appeared to be turning into a bordello. Not that we cared, just the noise.. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin is always our preferred hotel... But this one fell short of the usual standards. We were at the Southfield Westin on a very busy weekend, we came early - because we needed to have adjoining rooms (we were traveling with children) I paid in excess of $700 for 1 night and two guests had to sleep on pull out couches. The indoor pool in very small. Really the hotel just felt dated, the carpets in the halls looked well worn . And for the guests that did have to sleep on the pull outs - the bedding was completely subpar. I will never be back. This is not a good option to not staying downtown. August 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Why I Will Not Be Returning I called a few days before our stay and ordered a bottle of champagne to be placed in the room BEFORE we arrived. I wanted it to be a surprise for my girlfriend. The person at the check-in was trying to sell me a Valentine's Day special bottle of champagne and strawberries. I declined, she tried to do it again. I didn't want to say "I already ordered it before" because my girlfriend was standing right there and it was supposed to be a surprise. Really? Couldn't you have left a note on my account so the front-desk wouldn't try to sell me on something I already bought AND almost have me ruin the surprise for my girlfriend? And to top it all off, guess what.... that's right! The bottle of champagne WAS NOT already in the room for us when we got there. It didn't arrive until after I paged room service to inquire about it. We ordered room service for breakfast the next morning.Room service forgot to bring silverware. I had to call down again for it so we had to wait about 5 minutes before we could eat. My girlfriend ordered the waffles with fruit and stuff on it, all we got was a blank waffle. I was already upset about calling and waiting for the silverware that I didn't even bother calling down again. I mean, come on, if you guys are going to charge such a high price for room service you should probably take care of these little things. Your hotel was nice, we liked the room, we liked the bed, we liked the view, it was very clean. These minor logistic problems killed my experience. I spent over $300 for the experience and did not get the service that I paid for. I will most likely not be returning and will take my future business to another establishment. February 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid option in the Detroit suburbs The Westin Southfield is a somewhat homier version of a typical convention hotel. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and the Southfield had some extras that we were not expecting, like reasonably priced in-house meal options and free garage parking, all refreshing alternatives to other properties that nickel and dime guests for all these additional amenities. Location is somewhat far away for visitors seeking to explore downtown Detroit (about 45 minutes drive time to Comerica Field for example) and the location of the conference facilities on the second floor, so that conventioneers spilled out into the lobby and elevator area was a little annoying, but all in all a good experience. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not up to par, staff great First, the staff and management was great. property manager really tried to make things work. However, the first room we had was not up to par there was stains and marks on the walls and furniture was worn and frayed. Then the next day we came back to the room to find that room/maid service had left the room open/unlocked/propped open all day. Again managment went out of their way to make things right but was not completely happy with the stay all things considered. September 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Horrible Experience I stayed at the Westin Southfield with a friend of mine this past weekend for an event in Farmington Hills. We chose the Westin because I frequently stay there and standards are usually higher than most hotels in comparison. The issues began when we checked into our room. We walked in and the temperature was an uncomfortable, stuffy 76 degrees. We opened the window and tried to lower it but the room remained very warm despite our efforts. Then we tried the coffee maker and discovered it was broken. We notified staff and they promptly replaced it which was nice of them. The shower drain seemed to be clogged because a pool formed in the tub when we took showers. There were many flaws within the room itself and it obviously hadn't been updated in quite some time because the bathroom door was chipping and various other areas of the room just looked old and dirty. Definitely not what I'm accustomed to when I stay at a Westin hotel. I requested a quieter room at the time of booking since we had to be up early the next morning and needed our rest. We were given a room near the elevators, so of course we could hear the dinging. Plus, our neighboring rooms had some very noisy guests who were loud in the hallways from the hours of 2am-6am, yelling, pounding on doors, and laughing which woke us up several times. I should have requested a different room earlier but didn't have much time between check in and the time we had to arrive at our event. I informed the front desk of these issues and they did discount my stay, but that didn't seem to make up for the severe lack of sleep and overall very uncomfortable experience. This was below my expectations. I have stayed here several times before and never had these issues which is the only reason I still recommend this hotel., Maybe it was just a bad night or maybe things are going downhill. I don't know. I do know I probably won't stay here again if I am ever in the area, which makes me sad because it really is a beautiful hotel. April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 White Tea Heaven! If you like the Westin White Tea experience you are going to LOVE this place. Staff treat me like I stay there a lot, which I don't, but it sure makes me feel good. Highly recommend this place when in the Detroit area. October 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid Business stay, needs some updates I travel regularly for work. Love the location and staff. This stay was up and down - Ups were the staff, the high floor, and ease of getting in and out. Downs were - room smelled like someone broke a bottle of cologne and spilled on the carpet, closet smelled musty so had to prop the door open to keep clothes from absorbing odor, and room was next to the Ice Machine. August 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very economical Got an excellent rate. Location a bit out of the way so have to be on highway all the time. Breakfast buffet generous but cutlery, glasses not always clean - get a new dishwasher! Bar and bar food was better. People very pleasant. Needs an overhaul to restore it to its former glory, but the staff tries their best. August 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just misses A property in need of some TLC as there are long waits for the elevator, some of the slowest internet speeds I have experienced in any hotel even outside the SPG family, and rooms that need some basic upgrades, particularly loose electrical outlets. The staff tries hard but seems overwhelmed in both the front desk and the restaurant which leaves the guest waiting a lot. Not the hotel for you if you want efficiency. August 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average Accomodations The hotel itself appeared very nice and well maintained. The ammenities were nice and the business meeting being held there was was very well organized and accomodating. However, the room itself lacked in meeting these same expectations. Upon arrival I found that the alarm clock and the tv remote control did not work. In the morning, when I went to shower I found that there were no wash clothes supplied in the room. After my meetings on the first day, I stopped at the desk and notified them of issues. A maintenance man showed up within half an hour and after a short period of troubleshooting was able to replace the remote control. However, wash clothes were never delivered to the room. For each of the three nights stayed, I had to shower without. July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful My Husband loved the matress and comforter he would like a matress like it and comforter can you help August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff aims to please. Great SPG Recognition I know they can't do it all of the time but when I've been there they have found some way to make it worth my while to stay there instead of downtown. Last year, at Gold Level, they upgraded me to a suite on the top floor with skylights and a beautiful living area. I was traveling with my daughter and a friend of hers to see the auto show and we had a great time playing cards at the dining room table.Thanks Westin! May 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay I really enjoyed my stay for the most part. The Gentleman that checked me did a superb job. One thing i hated was your elevators. Not sure what was wrong with them but next i come and they are as slow as they were this weekend i will check out early. It was very frustrating. Other than that the room was excellent and the room was very clean. When i went to leave your property i found out my lights were left on and needed jumper cables, so i asked the front desk and was told that you don’t have any and she would ask the other staff members. She literally walked in to your back office for 5-10 seconds and came back with I’m sorry I can’t help you. To me that’s not a big issue that you didn’t have any, my problem is that i can guarantee that your maintenance department would have some. If not go purchase some. So it is highly unlikely that the staff member asked anyone but the front desk employees for jumper cables. So I called triple A and $35 later my car started. I would have rather tipped your staff $20 than pay someone else. August 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Hotel I thought this was a decent hotel, beautiful features on the main floor. Carpeting throughout the hallway on floor 9 was pretty stained, desk in room was very sticky, shower did not drain properly - not used to standing in shin deep water when I take a shower. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super comfortable beds and friendly staff Check in and out process is super fast and easy. Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and they have the best beds around! lots of pillows and very comfortable. August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place to Stay I've stayed at this hotel many times for work and for leisure. There is free parking in an enclosed garage which is nice when the weather is inclement. The front desk staff is very courteous and helpful and the hotel always smells clean and pleasant. I have never had an issue with the room being dirty or uncomfortable. This hotel is also close to many nice restaurants, so that is an added bonus. Overall, no complaints, just a nice place to stay! July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great stay. This is a hotel we often stay at when in the Detroit area. The location is convenient for where we want to be. The hotel staff are always friendly and courteous,; and we're always treated exceptionally well. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our stay here was VERY nice!!! Beth, our customer service rep. went beyond her duties to accommodate my boyfriend and I this past weekend. Everything we needed and asked her to help with - she made it happen!! She is very professional, pleasant and friendly!! The service at the restaurant was also very accommodating and the food was good. Overall, it was a VERY nice stay at a VERY nice hotel. The walls are too thin, but maybe that will change with the upcoming renovation. It was also a convenient location for the reason that took us to Detroit. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used Points Nice hotel but elevators are really really slow when waiting for one. Hard to get around due to construction in area but not hotel's fault. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Standard for Westin Regretably, my overall rating for Westin Southfield did not rate well by what I would hv expected of Westin Standard. Why, eg. Hotel lift cleanliness could have been better. The reception on the ground floor restaurant especially during b'fast is very lacking. A few staff were not attentive at all. Tea bag given and hot water in a mug rather then in a pot at times given the reason they run of teapot when the restaurant wasn't running full house?? Finished plates were left piling on our table - lack of attention. Omelette station was left unattended most of the time and we continuously had to seek for service every b'fast we were there. Concierge and reception we experienced was up to Westin standard thankfully otherwise we would hv checkout much earlier. We decided afterwards to shortened our stay from 7 to 3nights. July 18, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>