The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

  • 1 East Pershing Road
  • Kansas City,
  • Missouri
  • 64108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 722 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pure Disappointment To whom it may concern: My girlfriend and I just returned from a weekend in Kansas City, MO where we along with over Fifty of my family members stayed at the Westin Hotel to celebrate my cousins wedding. The weekend was great other than the entire experience of booking and staying at the Westin. I was excited to hear that my cousin had decided that Westin would be the hotel of choice for herself, her wedding party and guests of wedding. My intentions were to make a Single phone call to reserve one room for two nights the 24th and 25th and then to have a room upon my arrival that was clean, peaceful and a place to relax after the 600 miles of travel to get there. Nothing could be further from the truth. My first phone call was made on May 29th to reserve the room. I asked a few questions that the person I spoke with was unable to answer such as... was a breakfast included, was parking included and was there a hot tub. The person assured me that someone from the Westin Kansas City Crown Center would call me with the answers to those questions. I never got that phone call. After a few weeks (July 16) while talking to my girlfriend she asked if there was a hot tub which is all she was adamant about making sure of. I then took the time to call a second time to ask my same few questions. During this phone call I learned that I did not have a room for two nights but instead I only had it for one night (July 26th). The person I spoke to assured me that the issue had been corrected. At that time I had one room for both the 25th and the 26th of July. I was again told I would get a phone call regarding breakfast, parking, and if there was a hot tub. I never received a call and again my reservations for incorrect. I in total called the number that was provided to me (816-474-440) a total of 7 times. Once on 5/29, twice on 6/16, twice on 6/17, twice on 7/23 and once on 7/24. I received 9 emails during that time that were ALL WRONG!! Some of the emails said I only had a room reserved for 7/25, some of the emails stated I only had a room for 7/26, One of the emails said I had a room both nights but they were at two different rates. The worst one was an email stating that I would check out at noon on 7/26 only to return at 3pm the same day to check into a second room. I was told on the phone that I had waited too long to get the same room both nights. Even though I had started this long process nearly 2 months prior to the dates I needed the room. I traveled over 600 miles not knowing if I would have a room when I got there or not. As it turned out my brother showed up to the hotel a day before I did to check in using the reservations that he too had made months earlier for 2 rooms for him, his wife and their small children. Upon his arrival he was rudely told that he only had one room for 3 nights not 2 rooms for 3 nights. He was also told I had reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights. That HE had not reserved the rooms properly. My brother was able to correct the issue in person for the both of us. Once I arrived on 7/25 I was able to get my room without a problem. However it was only finally then that I was able to get some of my most basic questions answered. No there was not a breakfast included. No parking was not included in the price of the room. I was happy to hear that Yes there was a hot tub. When we walked into room 635 we were instantly disappointed. There was a feminine hygiene product left in our trash can and there were a ton of grass clipping inside the room along the sliding glass door leading outside. After our long drive we did not feel like moving rooms nor did have we have time. We immediately left to visit with other out of town family. That night after a long day we were woken up every noise possible. The wind outside sounded like a tornado, every time the toilet above us flushed and sounded like it was going to land on us and each time a door opened on either side of our room it sounded like someone was walking into our room. The second day we finally had our chance to make it down to the hot tub to relax before my cousins wedding. We were both really looking forward to this. Once we got to the hot tub we learned it was big enough for maybe 6 people if you sat close. We could not help but wonder how could a hotel with several hundred rooms only have a small hot tub. We sat and waited for 30 minutes hoping for a chance to soak in the hot tub, but there was a family that never left. So we gave up and went back to our room. We tried 2 other times to use the hot tub and each time the small little hot tub was full mostly with children splashing around in it like you would expect in a pool. The one thing we both had looked forward to, we never got to do. I made a point to make a list of all the issues and talk to the lady at the front desk about my horrible experience during check out. She was pleasant to talk to and showed concern but she never offered anything more than an "I sorry". I saved all 9 emails confirmations showing that my simple reservation was never correct along with pictures of the grass clippings in the room as a reminder of the entire disappointing experience. I had very high hopes for this past weekend but after all of this I can confidently say I will not be recommending any Westin hotel to friends or family. Ryan M July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The gym had a good amount of elliptical machines, bikes & treadmills and a nice weight room. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Bar Bar is great, but if you are going to serve a high demand item like Starbucks coffee, may need to want another server behind the bar in the morning, and even another coffee machine. On the morning of 19 July I watched as people just got tired of waiting and left. I understand there was a large conference going on, but that cannot be an excuse for the lack of service. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great location When we first arrived our room still had trash in the fridge and no pillow cases. After a quick call to the front desk everything was fixed. The rooms were nice and clean and hotel staff was very friendly. It's close to Union Station and Legoland. Tons of shops and restaurants. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Can Do Better Trying to check in and out was total chaos, too many people and only 1 person working the front desk. Took 20-30 minutes each. Room service, got 2 small tacos, a bowl of rice and a can of diet coke (with no ice) for $34... pretty awful and overpriced. Rooms were nice and beds comfortable. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by You need better TVs Check-in was a breeze and the staff was quick to respond to any request. I did have a problem getting the TV remote to work. I called the desk and later that day while I was out maintenance came in to check the TV and left a note saying that the sensor was blocked by stuff on the dresser. Which had I been there when he came I could have told him that during the time I tried to use the TV there was nothing in the way of the sensor. I continued to have trouble with the TV remote through the duration of my stay but did not want to call the desk again to complain. Dinner at the Milano's restaurant was sub par and I was unable to finish my meal (others in my party of 25 who ordered the same dish were also very disappointed). I was prepared to just walk away with a literal bad taste in my mouth but the restaurant manager was very nice and sent a complimentary bottle of wine to my room which I told him was not necessary. Because of his dedication to customer service I would try the restaurant a second time in the future (as a cook I know we all have bad days in the kitchen once in a while). July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but lack of attention to detail I have stayed here numerous times when attending conferences. Requests for basics sometimes takes more than one call to guest services. If a problem is reported, it is sometimes met with a defensive attitude. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty Rooms Staff was very friendly, so that was nice. We stayed in this hotel due to its proximity to food, entertainment, etc. Room was horrible.Very old AC system that seemed to not work at all, and when it did, dust shot out of it (Due to this, our whole family was sneezing every 5 sec while in the room).Room was also just dirty.We ended up leaving the hotel one night early so that we could go home and sleep in our own beds. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient in city but lacking features It looks like in middle of upgrading, new fixtures but doors and outlets outdated. No outletls next to bed for medical device. Lights in bathroom are buzzing. TV cable service was horrible with channels that did not work , no audio or unavailable Restaurant offering in and around hotel was weak with mostly fast food, not upscale restaurants. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expensive for an average room Our room was just average. Room could use updating. Even with our room discount, it was expensive. The shower was nice, but the sink facet splashed me every time I used it because of the way the water sprays out. Almost everything had an extra charge. Not sure about the pool though because we didn't use it. Adding $16 per day to park is ridiculous! I was not told there would be an extra charge to park. Will probably not stay here again mainly because of the cost. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Better off at an economy hotel When I arrived in my room I was greated with items left behind from previous guest which I found at different times. Everytime I called the front desk about the issues it seemed like I was a burden to them. They finally offered a free breakfast, which I passed on. Go somewhere else for a fraction of the price and get a free breakfast, free interenet and free work out room privleges. April 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not stay at this hotel again I stayed here on a recent business trip. I was expecting a nice hotel given the SPG Brand and Westin name. This hotel is very dated and needs updating. The hotel was apparantley at 100% occupancy and I believe I was given a "garden suite". While this room was more spacious than typical rooms I booked and wanted a standard King. This "suite" was normally reserved with one of two adjoining bedrooms, however since the hotel was full I did not get one of those adjoining rooms. Instead I had to move a decent size couch and pull down a queen murphy bed. I don't consider this as a legitmate bed. I will not stay at this property again and will consider not staying at a SPG or Westin again. July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by westin problems Unfortunately, this visit to your hotel was not up to WESTIN standards. I, along with my team of Silpada representatives have stayed at your hotel for the past 8 years. The last 2 years we have seen significant changes to your hotel rooms, service, and overall stay. This year we reported phones not working upon arrival on Thursday, they still weren't working on Saturday. After calling (from cell phones) because we had no towels and mentioned once again the phone issue, an "engineer" was sent up to fix phones. After moving bed away from wall, and fixing phones, he left and did not return bed the bed to its original location. The noise at the pool went on way past closing time. We did place a call to front desk. Also, seems that you know Silpada Conference brings in thousands of women and many are at your hotel, yet there is 1 person working downstaris at the cafe, causing a ridiculous line in the morning. Meanwhile, 2-4 other employees standing around the buffet watching. Although, we received a one night comp to our room, I would prefer to pay full price for every night and receive the service that I thought set The Westin apart from other hotels. July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noise, Noise, NOise I was looking forward to "unwinding", "relaxing" and "resting" with the Westin Heavenly Bed. Well, this hotel had the bed but the lack of soundproofing in the room was so bad, you simply couldn't enjoy the bed. Between the window noise and hall noise, there was never a possibility of the promised good night sleep. March 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible stay For a hotel as expensive as the Westin our stay was a huge disappointment. We had loud guests keep us from getting any sleep on BOTH of the nights we stayed there. We will never again stay at this hotel...my email complaint went unanswered by the hotel.... May 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the Westin quaility their known for The lobby was nice and typical for a Westin property. We were given a corner room with a nice layout and a great view of the downtown area. The room it self was extremely unacceptable. The walls were 1980's paneling painted baby blue, major stains on the carpet, furniture was very old and very used, hair on the bathroom ceiling, black tape holding the glass on the exterior sliding glass door, rotted holes around the base boards, bathrobe was stained and everything had the look of a cheap motel. Not even close to the Westin standards, I love the Westin and am dissapointaed with their name on this property. January 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms to cold Due to an illness and several attempt to adjusts the thermostate. I just felt the rooms were too cold. Surprising during my visit the out door tempature was moderatley cool as well. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice for the conference Great room that was close to the KC Fed for the conference I attended. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Everything about this hotel is first class, especially the bellmen and the concierge services. Inexplicably though, there is a fee for use of the fitnees facility. I have never encountered that anywhere. True, it is nominal, but by principal it represents a contrast to the otherwise over-the-top amenties. That said, an excellent hotel overall! July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Take a Youth Conference! We were a part of 1,000 students staying at the Westin for the National Free Church Student Ministry Conference. The Westin was a great place. Staff was always respectful, patient, helpful -- even when they knew none or few tips would come out of this group. Just wish our schedule allowed more time at the pool. I'd recommend keeping the pool open to 10:30 when you have groups with a tight schedule like ours. Thanks you! July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel & Location Our room was comfortable, spacious with great views. Heavenly bed is always welcomed at the end of the day. Service was excellent and very welcoming from front desk to Valet's. Only negative comment was that we ordered late night room service (Dessert) and this was very average compared to similar dishes we have had at other Westin's. July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Would prefer to have flavored coffee creamer It is a beautiful hotel with excellent views and proximity to fun things to do in KC. Perfect place to hold a conference and place for the rest of the family to get around and enjoy the sights and sounds! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable stay My wife and I decided to plan a Fourth of July stay and it couldn't have turned out any better. The staff was very helpful in helping get us an early check-in and because the Westin is pet friendly, we able to bring our two dogs (special thanks to Kirby at check-in for making us all feeling welcome). The refurbished lobby area and room was very fresh and modern. We had a fantastic view of the fireworks all around the city from our 16th floor room! Looking forward to our next stay. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unfortunate experience although the hotel is beautiful and in a location close to some shopping and activities in KC, The service was left much to be desired. The person who waited on us at the front desk did not greet us, when there was an issue with the reservation (this was a trip thru my employer)there was no apology and no offer to fix it. It was embarrassing and frustrating. Parking also is limited if you do not valet, which the valet didn't explain or we would have done valet. when I spoke with a manager on the way out the next day, his solution was to offer to pay for our (not included)breakfast (honestly at $200+ a night shouldn't you at least get a danish?) I will not recommend them, it seems the Staff has Checked out! October 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is not up to Westin standards An extremely large group of rowdy teenagers without adequate supervision nor hotel security. It makes zero sense to locate business travelers on the same floor and in the middle of such a predictable situation. This is not acceptable service and I likely will changes hotels in my future and frequent trips to Kansas City. Also, for the second time in the last three visits, there has been a call for air conditioning repair. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and Convenient Heavenly Beds, clean quiet and comfortable rooms, great sleeping environment, mini private balcony, fast elevators, friendly and polite staff, CrownCenter mall access from the hotel, luxurious decors (indoor waterfall), and waterfall shower heads in the bathrooms, nice towels, convenient full length mirrors in room, magnifier mirror in bathroom, celing to floor windows, quiet a/c -heaters, quiet rooms, great views, silent in room refrigerator, a complimentary bottled water and newspapers, onsite HERTZ car rental. Great central location, wi-fi access, great valet and bellhop service. All the amenities I desire for a top notch hotel. June 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, but .... I have knee problems and there are no grab bars for the stool. This was inconvenient, even painful, for me to use. The stool itself was placed low making it even harder to use without grab bars. The seat on the tool was thin and as a result, my (your "inappropriate language" filter doesn't allow me to indicate the part of my body that) occasionally touched the water. Not an ideal situation. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality has fallen tremondously Terrible place to stay with a young family. With the overpriced rooms that haven't been updated since the early 1980s, the lack of housekeeping staff, the faulty bathroom facets, trains and toiletry, broken curtains/internet access points/TV/and Safe I would say outside of the location I would never recommend Westin to anyone with a younger family. Had a terrible experience and will never stay there again. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not as good as past stays As always, Westin staff remains excellent and the cosmetic changes to the hotel (lobby, etc) were done tastefully. However, the coffeemaker in our room did not work & I still feel (and always have) that parking should be included in the price of such an expensive hotel.....since Crown Center shoppers are even allowed a break on parking when they buy something in the shops! All in all, however, it's always a good time at the Westin. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin Crown Center - Showing It's Age My wife and I were looking forward to a great stay at what should have been a premier hotel, what we experienced was no better than an off the track motel. Our room, which was supposed to be an upgrade, was less than stellar; the rug turned our socks black after walking across the room. The nooks and crannies of the room were collection points for dirt and crud. The room had a balcony, but the sliding door had been secured to open no more than two inches and the window ajacent to the door was sealed with black tape. Air-conditioning was inadequate. August 20, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>