The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

  • 1 East Pershing Road
  • Kansas City,
  • Missouri
  • 64108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 756 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable stay I was travelling on business and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable, the staff members were very friendly, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The only hesitation I had at all was that my room was very stuffy and I had trouble sleeping because of it. There was an unusual "heat wave" in KC and I think the air conditioning may have already been turned off for the season. I asked at the front desk to have that checked. There was no note or indication that maintenance had been by, and the room never did get comfortably cool enough to sleep well. October 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room was very good The room was large and laid out well. Everything was clean and comfortable. The only issue was the air conditioning. I like the room cold when I sleep and the air conditioning appeared not be working because of the time of year. I was able to open the sliding glass door about 6 inches (all that you were allowed to do) but the noise was an issue then. November 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by over all is nice but breakfast Front desk staff is very friendly. Our room was very clean and have a great view. Love the idea of the free shuttle to power and light district and pick up. Only the restaurant /bar, prices are high, however, its not a big deal but behind the bar, the are holes in the floor and layers dust on celling. At breakfast buffet, we had to wait 20 minutes for eggs and hash browns which are the main things in the buffet. November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel near shopping Service at bar atrocious. Slow and inattentive. Coffee service in morning--not only not free but VERY slow. Ten minutes go get a cup of coffee!! Room fine; except it apparently means nothing to reserve a King room--got doubles. Staff friendly and helpful. Valet slow but friendly. October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy & Comfy Hotel This hotel was great for hosting our annual business conference. The conference rooms had adequate spacing, lighting, and technical features. The hotel rooms were awesome. I wish that I could sleep in a bed that comfortable at home! My room was well kept and very clean. I enjoyed my stay and will probably visit again for pleasure travel. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff The staff at the hotel provided excellent service. I had a problem with the form of payment and the woman at the counter made sure that the issue was resolved by emailing the travel agency that I had planned with, and ensuring that they took care of their side of the problem. When I checked out, everything had been taken care of. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing atmosphere The hotel provided excellent service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. After spending all day in meetings, the rooms were a welcomed relaxing atmosphere to regroup and start again. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay We attended a military reunion at the Westin Knsas City at the Crown Center. It was actually the second reunion I have attended at your facility. All was handled very well. No complaints, not even any recommendations. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great Visit The Westin met and exceeded expectations. The staff was friendly, responsive and quite helpful. They managed the Conference events well. It was a great stay. The Shuttle service to restaurants was incredible and the driver was terrific. October 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay elsewhere Below is a repost of my tripadvisor review. Was told by management that I would received 2000 starypoints as an apology for my stay. Of course, I have not seen them in my account. Pillows are fiberfill--not so heavenly. Sheets stained. carpet, floors, walls are stained. AC/heat doesn't work even after calling for maintenance. Internet wireless and wired slow and unreliable. they charge for parking, internet, and use of the fitness center. they have a new "green" option they offer which is essentially no maid service at all. What a marketing joke. I understand not washing towells everyday but they intend to offer nothing. no garbage empty, no making bed, no vacuum, no restock of amenities, etc. and they call it the green option. I call it the no service and we still charge you option. Don't go here. Motel 6 has better service and may be cleaner. On the plus side the pool is awesome. Very large and heated. Hot tub that goes with is a little small and gross. A lot of standing water festering whatever bacteria and fungus was on the previous guests' feet. I won't be staying there again and Westin name means nothing to me anymore. I guess my favorite was a 10 cent welcome bottle of water in the room they normally charge $1 for. It was empty drank by the previous guest who then put the often reused starwood welcome gift sign on. I called the front desk whose response was a laugh and "oh well. Do you want another bottle of water?" the fridge must be from when the hotel was built. barely works, discolored, and all marked up. Also gross. October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Overall Excellent service and friendly staff. Dustin at the Front Desk provided the best service during our stay. He was very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and efficient. Some improvement in the friendliness and helpfulness of the Club Lounge staff would make our stay even more enjoyable. Wonderful view of the Union Station at night from our Platinum-upgraded suite. The remodeling of the lobby area is almost done. Look forward to seeing it soon. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Service Surely this is one of the older Westin hotels, but it has been maintained fairly well. The elevators are original, so they can have slower service at busy times (check in/morning), but it wasn't frustratingly long. Parking is a pretty good deal ($16/night) and the club lounge is comfortable and provides a nice spread in the evening and morning. The night I was there, four types of salads were served, as well as the typical cheese/fruit trays. In the AM they had real oatmeal and very good breakfast sandwiches (egg, cheese, bacon) as well as pastries and cereals. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel and the pleasant staff, and will surely stay here on my return to KC. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Question on parking When we checked in we were told when we left the parking garage all we had to do was put our room number and name on the back of the parking stub. When we left the woman at the exit said we would be charged $15.00. What is right? October 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Exceptionally Dirty; Poor Facilities Upkeep This was the dirtiest hotel room I have stayed in in more than 20 years. I would have checked out immediately if reasonable business alternatives had been available. Hard surfaces had not been dusted in several days/weeks and dust had built up to the point one could write with a finger. The sheer drapes has thick mats of disgusting lint and dust buildup (up to about 18 inches in length and about 2 inches wide; photo provided to management) in many of the drapery pleats, similar to the buildup in furnace filters over several months And when the drapes were pulled back, the inside of the windows were also exceptionally dirty, apparently not having been cleaned in months. The bathtub drain was extremely slow (5 min to drain following a shower), and the lever on the spigot to divert water to the shower head was only partially working. Hallway carpets in the area near the room were fraying along seams and needed to be re-stretched to remove potential tripping hazards. On arrival, the bed had been made so poorly that my feet were directly on the rough mattress rather than on a sheet. A couple of the simplest problems were solved during the stay, but most were not. The front desk management provided bland apologies and a half-hearted offer for a free drink. Based on the breadth and depth of these problems, it appears that upper management at this property is failing in its major responsibilities -- such as failing to institute an effective QA program to ensure rooms are appropriate for guests, and failing to provide for periodic deep-cleaning and maintenance to avoid these problems. This Westin should not try to blame any one housekeeper or maintenance person because these problems have developed over several months. You may wish to avoid this property. August 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some work The single Westin "Crown" Center property, is far from a "Crown." The hotel feels old and tired. If you are a "Platinum" member, you get access to OK rooms, no different than a regular customer. If you are "lucky" to be "upgraded" to the "club" floor, the club lounge is 2 converted rooms turned in to a sad lounge with some over cooked stale food, and some really bad staff. It's a sleeper. If you travel a lot and want accommodations make you feel special, go to another one of the boutique hotels in the city. Have been a Starwood owner and patron for years, but gotta say this place is below par for the system. September 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heavy Boards! Booked this hotel with expectations of it being "The Westin" which I have always been amazed by. The Heavenly Beds we started calling Heavy Boards as I am pretty sure sleeping on a rock would have been more comfortable. Fighting the sheets all night since the flat sheet used instead of a fitted sheet wouldn't even cover the mattress. And then the 15thousand layers of extra stuff smothered you and wouldn't stay in place. The pillows were crispy and crackled in our ears all night and the cases didn't even cover the pillow completely. Now we move onto the bathroom where immediately could tell it was in need of an overhaul, but the mold under the edge of the tub in clear view as you sat on the toilet was inexcusable! After looking through every drawer to find a hotel brochure we were surprised to find a refrigerator and microwave! Too bad it was after we threw our leftovers away assuming we didn't have one. Something the greedy bell hop could have informed us about for the huge tip we felt compelled to donate to him. And then the food is last...good taste but seriously? $15 for a simple hamburger or quesadilla? And since it was Mother's Day the morning of our departure...a nice buffet was set up for the slight charge of $35 BUCKS A PERSON! Who does that? Needless to say we will never return to this place! May 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Beware of random charges on your hotel bill The Westin Kansas City allows random people who eat/drink at the Brasserie restaurant to put their tab on your room bill. Don't ask the front desk for help as they are clueless. I recommend you go to the Brasserie yourself and hope a helpful manager can help you sort things out or else good luck with your dispute. It seems that at this Westin the front desk staff training leaves a lot to be desired. There is nothing more annoying than trying to settle a hotel bill during your vacation because of the mistakes of incompetent non resourceful staff. July 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Silpada National Conference Stay As a first-time attendee of the Silpada National Conference, one can only imagine the images of more than 3,000 Jewelry Crazed Women staying in just a handful of hotels over a five day period of time and the chaos that comes with their excitement and energy! With that can also come overwhelming difficulties for any hotel and its staff, yet I was completely and pleasantly surprised at the accommodations, staff, and warm welcome to all of the Silpada Sisterhood and the love of same that return each and every year by each and every member of the Staff that I came in touch with! I will be back next year without question! July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Air Conditioning faulty, room service poor When we arrived, Air temp in room was 84 degrees. A responsive staff changed a filter which helped, but took nearly 9 hours to cool the room. Room service that evening got the order wrong on multiple counts, both food and beverage. The parking situation is very poor, with not enough spaces available without having to walk through a shopping center with bags in hand to check in and out. We left our vehicle in hotel parking to shop and visit crown center after checkout, and we were charged an extra parking fee, even though we were guests of the hotel and had not moved our vehicle since the day before. This was quite frustrating, and the parking attendant was less than helpful. Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ruined Valentines GetAway!! 1. They booked 600 kids with band instruments on Valentines weekend and did not put bellhops on elevators to control kids play. (took over 20 minutes to get off room floor. 2. No wash clothes provided 3. Called front desk for help. They would transfer call and noone would pick up for help with problems 4. Ordered wrong size coffee filters for coffee makers. When notified they did not correct the problem. 5. Towels had holes in them. Do I need to continue. You get the point. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by cleanliness of bathroom I was surprised to see a ring in the toilet bowl. This was probably because the bowl is not brushed and cleaned daily. October 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Better off at an economy hotel When I arrived in my room I was greated with items left behind from previous guest which I found at different times. Everytime I called the front desk about the issues it seemed like I was a burden to them. They finally offered a free breakfast, which I passed on. Go somewhere else for a fraction of the price and get a free breakfast, free interenet and free work out room privleges. April 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noise, Noise, NOise I was looking forward to "unwinding", "relaxing" and "resting" with the Westin Heavenly Bed. Well, this hotel had the bed but the lack of soundproofing in the room was so bad, you simply couldn't enjoy the bed. Between the window noise and hall noise, there was never a possibility of the promised good night sleep. March 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible stay For a hotel as expensive as the Westin our stay was a huge disappointment. We had loud guests keep us from getting any sleep on BOTH of the nights we stayed there. We will never again stay at this hotel...my email complaint went unanswered by the hotel.... May 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the Westin quaility their known for The lobby was nice and typical for a Westin property. We were given a corner room with a nice layout and a great view of the downtown area. The room it self was extremely unacceptable. The walls were 1980's paneling painted baby blue, major stains on the carpet, furniture was very old and very used, hair on the bathroom ceiling, black tape holding the glass on the exterior sliding glass door, rotted holes around the base boards, bathrobe was stained and everything had the look of a cheap motel. Not even close to the Westin standards, I love the Westin and am dissapointaed with their name on this property. January 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor pillows & questionable taxi refer Poor sleep due to poor pillows. Also, we had KC Royals game tickets for Wed PM. We were offered the hotel shuttle but since we needed to go very early that was not an option. The Concierge then suggested a taxi service he knew of for a flat-fee of $50. He called a number and we arranged to be picked up. I did confirm with the driver (Amir) before getting in the fee of $50. I noticed the driver did not run the meter and there was not metered fee, we just paid the $50 plus a tip (family of 4). When game over we just got into a taxi in the line outside the park. Same family of 4, driver ran the meter, and the cost was just under $25-which we paid plus tip. Can't help but wonder if we over-paid for the ride to the ballpark based on Westin Concierge recommendation? Has a side-agreement with Amir? August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by MrsKH I was not satified. For this being the Westin I was expecting better quality. Rooms was not fully clean (hair in the tub), funny odors thoughout the hotel and/rooms, and have several stains in the carpet thoughout the hotel from floor levels to the rooms. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unfortunate experience although the hotel is beautiful and in a location close to some shopping and activities in KC, The service was left much to be desired. The person who waited on us at the front desk did not greet us, when there was an issue with the reservation (this was a trip thru my employer)there was no apology and no offer to fix it. It was embarrassing and frustrating. Parking also is limited if you do not valet, which the valet didn't explain or we would have done valet. when I spoke with a manager on the way out the next day, his solution was to offer to pay for our (not included)breakfast (honestly at $200+ a night shouldn't you at least get a danish?) I will not recommend them, it seems the Staff has Checked out! October 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected...... This is one of the nicest hotels in KC however, there are two items I think should be addressed. I did not mind paying the $209 for a room but I did not expect to pay extra for WiFi. The other issue is paying $16 for self parking. I chose to pay extra for valet for the convenience. One other piece of advice, do not stay on side side of hotel that the train runs. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Broken Promises We have stayed at this Westin hotel numerous times. The hotel is very nice and the rooms that we have stayed in have always been very comfortable. After our stay in October 2013 the manager of the hotel contacted me by e-mail requesting that I fill out the survey which I did and gave the hotel a very high rating. He then contacted me again thanking me for the high rating and good things I had to say about the hotel. At that time he told me to get in touch with him before our next visit so he could upgrade our room or have some "special GM touches" in our room.I notified him when we were planning a return visit in August 2014 and he told me once again that he would make our stay extra special. We stayed for four nights and I had to book a second room for my daughter who stayed two nights. Not once were there any "special GM touches" to our room and we were never offered any kind of upgrade. All and all I spent nearly $2000.00 for our stay and never received any perks. I am not the type of person to expect things like this but when you are told you will get these "touches" you expect to get something. We will not be staying at this Westin again because of this. Great hotel,poor manager. August 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>