The Westin Columbus

  • 310 S. High Street
  • Columbus,
  • Ohio
  • 43215
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 339 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by heating My only negative comment would be the heating system in the room...very loud. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, historic building We were in Columbus to visit family in German Village, so the Westin is in a perfect location between the village and downtown. Because of the downtown location, parking is available only for a fee, but the valet service was always prompt and incredibly courteous. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, though a request to replace missing hotel information for the binder on the desk in our room was never fulfilled. The bartender in Thurber's Bar, which is pretty much also the hotel's dining room now for meals after lunch, was extraordinarily friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The biggest area of improvement needed at this hotel is housekeeping. Our room was never serviced properly, the job often left half done. One day, we left the hotel at 6:30 a.m. and by 4:30 p.m. when we returned, housekeeping had not yet visited the room. Another day, our housekeeper's cart was out of washcloths and no offer was made to find us any. Toiletries and minibar items were never replaced, food service items sat for days without removal. Upon arrival, we had a chair in the room with a broken leg -- it was replaced with one with ripped upholstery. And during our stay, the blind fell off of the window. Small things, one at a time, but over the course of our stay, evidence that the area of housekeeping and maintenance at this hotel needs much improvement. November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concierge Service My family was in Columbus for the Ohio State-Michigan game and ran into an issue that almost kept one of us from going to the game. The Concierge (Brittany) was so incredibly helpful and assisted us with our problem so that we could all go to the game. She went above and beyond and we really appreciated her help. November 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Real Disappointment Not up to what I would expect of a Westin. November 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 Needs improvement I was very disappointed with my recent stay at the Westin in Columbus Ohio. I usually love staying at Westin properties too. Upon arrival the staff's effect was flat at best. The fact I am an SGP was not even mentioned. Once we got to our room we realized we were given a full bed, when I had reserved a queen. I went back to the desk where I was treated as I had been the one who made the mistake. Once we reached our VERY small room, we realize our fridge was locked, and there was no guest book (something that would explain hotel ammenities, etc). We called the front desk for our car approximately 20 mins before we were leaving, we headed downstairs, and had to wait another 20 mins. We were the ONLY people waiting. We were late for our dinner reservations and had to be seated elsewhere. Overall it was a poor performance. I will not be staying at your Columbus location again. They could learn a few things from your Indy and Cincy locations. November 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful character This hotel has so much potential - a beautiful old building with character lacking in modern hotels. Great location as well. But the room needed upgrading and the bathroom was almost a joke - way too small and cramped. The hallways and public areas needed upgrading as well. the lobby was impressive in size and showed the character of the building. It could be a masterpiece with a little attention to detail. November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We will always try to stay here when traveling to Columbus The price is fair, the food is great, the service is the best, and the beds are heaven. November 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overrated! It is true the building is historically beautiful, but the pros stop there. Our room wasn't all that clean. It was $20 to valet park or self park, which they fail to inform you beforehand. The room was tiny with extremely large furniture that was stained. The furniture was way too bulky for the miniature size of the double-bed room. Furthermore, the wireless internet connection was $10. One would think in 2012 a hotel like the Westin would offer free wireless, but no. I would rather pay ten more dollars for the room and get free wireless. I am highly disappointed as even mediocre hotels offer free wifi nowadays. To sum it all up, this hotel is way overrated. They want $30 on top of the room fee for parking and wifi. Your money would be better spent elsewhere. November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Wonderful place to stay. A lot of chartactor October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features A great and wonderful experience. What a charming hotel. Keep up the good work. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful service during race weekend My mom and I recently stayed at the Westin Columbus for the Columbus Marathon weekend, and we could not have been more pleased with the service we received. The restaurant provided a special menu for runners and opened early to provide breakfast for us before the race. The staff was very accommodating and the beds were extremely comfortable (as I've come to expect from Westin!) We had a wonderful time staying in this charming historic hotel and will not hesitate to use you again in the future! Thanks for a fantastic weekend. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel staff is awesome We were in town for the Columbus marathon. Our hotel reservations got mixed up at another hotel. Your front desk staff went out of their way to get us a room for the night before marathon so my husband could get a good nights sleep. Room was beautiful. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, cozy and great staff. Staff was very accommodating! Was quick to attend to my needs even if they were small. Staff didn't hesitate to allow for a late check out. October 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time for a makeover Classic, elegant lobby. This is a historic property, but that doesn't mean the rooms and hallways don't need a major update. This is not a typical up to date Westin. It needs needs a major refresh. The rooms were old and small and look like they hadn't been updated in 10 years. The carpet in the hallways was old and worn and dirty. October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally On Brand! An excellent stay. Everything was perfect October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff redeemed initial issues with great customer service First, I'll address the hotel. It is very quaint and not what one would typically expect from a Westin. We had no real complaints as it was very nice. Our hotel room was small (think Manhattan hotel room small), but we expected that looking at the building layout. Space issues aside the quality of the facility was well above average. It wasn't perfect, but it was very nice. The hotel also has great proximity to downtown Columbus, the Statehouse, Scioto Mile, etc. Our only complaint (which could have been much bigger if left unaddressed) was about the check-in. My wife and I were part of a wedding group staying at the hotel. There happened to be another wedding party and presumably folks for OSU-Nebraska staying there, too. When we arrived at 3:30pm, there were no king bedrooms available -- some were already taken and some were still being cleaned, even after check-in had begun. This proved to be problematic, because my wife and I still needed to get dressed for a 5pm wedding that were drove 500 miles for. Ultimately, we were forced to take a much smaller room. This was very frustrating, because realistically all of the rooms should have been ready for such a busy Saturday. But the staff (Colleen in particular) handled the situation in a manner that helped soothe a lot of nerves. I hope that in the future they'll be more prepared for such crazy Fall Saturdays, but in terms of quality of facility and service, I would definitely recommend this hotel. October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great venue for Wedding! The location, room, catering was the best! October 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Disappointing Fall I have stayed in this hotel frequently, always looking forward to my arrival. But steadily, the hotel has fallen short in several categories. The rooms are inconsistent and growing worn, but the service has become the most troubling aspect. -- particularly the bar. October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Columbus SHINES Wonderful Starwood property in an historic building, excellent staff with doormen and reception -- all of whom couldn't be nicer, especially to our traveling with a small dog. There is even a bowl of water and biscuits with doggie paw prints in front of the entrance. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I almost did not stay here, but I did and am happy I did I had seen some reviews that lead me to wonder if this was an OK property, but another *wood property said the Westin Columbus was recently renovated, and a great historic property. Our room was large (yes large), and recently redone. The bathroom was small (it is an historic property), but completely new finishes. Staff was great, standard Westin amenities, and the bar downstairs was a good spot for dinner. I recommend this property. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Elegance We booked two rooms while on the road to Columbus. Without a call or a request the staff put us in beautiful corner adjoining rooms. The room was so large that it was almost too large for the remote to work. Absolutely a great night's stay. Westin is worth the money. September 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is amazing The staff recognizes me and takes care of all the details to make a very pleasant stay every time I return to Columbus Ohio. September 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Little things add up Nice Hotel in a great location, but small food and service issues added up over the stay. -Filet at the bar was cold by the time it was served ( I chalked it up to bar food.) - Was not offered coffee at the banquet lunch, but when we finally were able to get some, it too was cold. - Our conference was at the hotel and ended at 5:00PM. I returned to my room to find that housekeepjng had just arrived. I requested clean towels and sent them on their way. September 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by this hotel not for me This hotel is old the rooms are small and the other facilities are not up to the word hotel September 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No business, Just a fun stay... Staying at "The Westin" means you expect a little better. Better service, better facility, better bed, better food, better everything. That is why you pay more to stay here. I mean, you can find a room in Columbus for less than half the cost, but you get half the service too. So, when we were traveling through and decided to pick a hotel to stay, we chose The Westin. We were not disappointed. The bed was plush and so comfortable. Dare I say "Heavenly"? The Jr Executive suite we stayed in was large and clean. The hotel ambiance was as you would expect, quiet and peaceful. Furnished tastefully and very comfortable to be in. The view from our window faced High St and we enjoyed people watching with our little girl. All in all, we were satisfied. There were a couple areas they could improve though. The first is the computers in the "business center". This is a small room with two computers. Two prehistoric computers. If you need to be connected for work or socially, this is not good. Bring a laptop! I was so frustrated I finally just walked away. The other area of improvement is the breakfast. Not the food itself (although the eggs left something to be desired) but the fact that you do pay more the twice the price to stay at The Westin and they can't give you a breakfast with your room? C'mon...cheap motels offer a free breakfast. That was not a deal breaker, but disappointing. And, sadly, there is no pool or hot tub. You would think that they could at least put a couple hot tubs in for the weary traveler to relax in. Don't usually jump in a pool, but the hot tub would have been a nice way to end the long day. Ending on a good note: They are pet friendly! We always bring our little dog along and she usually stays in the car. We have to go check on her quite a few times. Not this time! She was welcome in our room with us! She was so happy and we were too!! No extra charge and they were so accommodating! That was a nice surprise! September 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Most disappointing Westin I've ever visited I called SPG and booked the room. I specifically asked about parking and was told that self parking was no charge. I get there and it was $20/night. I get to my room and it's like a broom closet. I can't barely open the ironing board. The mini-fridge was locked, and staff failed to come open. I asked housekeeping for a few extra towels and it was as if I asked her to pull out her own teeth. I even had issues with the manager of housekeeping REFUSING to let me in my own room when the keycard failed to work. She got on the walkie-talkie and called downstairs while I had to wait with heavy bags and briefcases. I offered to let her see my id, and she refused, "because of security reasons" but my ID was security enough. Why have a rule or policy that causes inconvenience to your guest? If you can accommodate their request with less fuss you should do that over all things! You have a walkie-talkie, ask them for a last name for the room, and then check my ID, and let me in! Problem solved. But no, they took so long, I had to trek it downstairs and retrieve my own keycard. I am writing this lengthy review for others to know it was a bad experience from start to finish. I didn't read the reviews of this place and now I regret it. I couldn't wait to leave... I notice the only good reviews are from local people in Columbus that attended a wedding. Anyone else who isn't from the area gave this place awful reviews... I travel to Columbus often and I will not stay here again. September 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not your typical Westin the hotel is beautiful historic building, problems is that my room was small, chair had tears in it, bed looked slept in and hotel did not recognize my SPG status. It is OK at best, if you dont mind small space and I mean small it is ok. September 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service Would definitely stay here again. The only small thing is that the room said it would have an iPhone Stereo and it didn't. Would have loved to charge my phone and listen to music. August 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just didn't like the small rooms / room layout Great location if you want to be downtown - giant beautiful lobby. Unfortunately with the age of the hotel don't expect much spread out room. Rooms small and not laid out for business travelers. no power to plug in to on the desk you have to dig it up under the desk. No place to plug in iron and not much room for ironing board. Bathroom small but adequate. Quiet hotel which is nice. Local to some nice downtown restaurants. Nice big bar area and separate breakfast area attached to the hotel. Bar staff was very friendly. Front desk very helpful. If you want to have fun I prefer the Grandview heights area or Polaris pkwy area. August 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff friendly Hevenly showers are awesome, but bathrooms are small. Fitness is really nice. August 15, 2012
  • 2015-07-04T13:54:17.157-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_339, tr_339
  • loc_en_US, sid_1045, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>