The Westin Columbus

  • 310 S. High Street
  • Columbus,
  • Ohio
  • 43215
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

The minimum age for check-in is 21 with a valid government issued photo ID.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 333 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping My wife and I have been staying at Westin hotels over the last 10 years, beginning when our daughter was at Davidson Colllege in NC. We began staying at the Westin Charlotte. Then it was spectacular, and we began staying in them wherever available. However, we have seen them steadily decline in "finish". No longer is the Westin Bed a strong enough draw to overcome the beginnings of "shabby" that seem to be creeping in. It is hard to pick a single item. The hallmark of excellence is attention to detail in everything. A very small detail, but telling: The soap dish in the shower in Columbus was screwed into the wall with steel screws which have rusted, clearly noticeable against the chrome soap dish. Picking such a small item would appear to be toying with myopic minutia. I could go on with 8 or ten items like this that would make the case. We have travelled all over the world, always seeking the finest in accommodations. Things like glassware on the floor outside our door for two days is not what projects excellence. Look around. Other hotels have moved ahead of you and will now have our custom. July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by small room The location of the hotel was convenient for me placing me within walking distance of my business meeting. I was most disappointed with the room size. It was so small that there was no desk, so I had to set my laptop on the night stand to do work. Also, there was a wedding going on in the hotel and the music could be heard from my room. While the staff was helpful and courteous, I found a number of things to be sub par during my stay: 1. The shower drain was completely clogged 2. The TV remote was missing 3. The TV was not initially working The hotel and room were clean. I felt that $20 for overnight parking was high. July 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Great hotel -- lousy room This is a great hotel; I chose it because of the history, restoration, etc. The lobby and public areas were very fine. I appreciated the complimentary use of the small, but adequate business centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. However, I was disappointed with the room -- very small, with a tiny window overlooking a brick wall. As a longtime Platinum preferred member, I consistently (until this one) get an upgrade for my room (view room, junior swuite, suite, etc. No comment or explanation was made when I checked in. The floor plan on my door showed this was the smallest room on the floor. A big disappointment. July 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel I have stayed at this hotel in the past, had a bad experience, but decided to try again. This was not much better. Last time I had to leave due to mold. This time the rooms have been renovated, but remain miniscule with very lumpy, uncomfortable beds, which are not conducive to sleep. I give up; I won't stay here again July 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Facitily - Excellent Service The Hotel property (building) was clean and neat and initially impressive. However, the rooms, while clean, were somewhat "tired" and could use some refurbishment. The front desk service was absolutely tops in the industry. Information, special needs, suggestions were all excellent. July 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a nice hotel We stayed at the hotel because our Apt were out of power... I'm a SPG member and used some points to redeem a free night. At first we were assigned a room that was very small and dark. I went down to the lobby and ask for a better room. And we were found a larger room, fortunately. It would have been better if we were assigned a nice room at first though. Overall the hotel met my expectation, and the food at the bar was very good, too. And the best thing for us was this Westin allowed pets. July 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Slightly Dated Hotel The hotel was fine, and almost everything I'd expect from a Westin. The only thing that was a bit disappointing: It's obvious this was a much older, possibly historic, hotel that Westin bought and refurbished. That may appeal to some, but to me it still had a very dated feel except for the few modern touches Westin obviously put in when they bought the place. June 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Columbus They stay was fine overall. I expected a bit more from the Westin brand to be honest from my experience traveling abroad. The sleepers were missing and the AC was a bit noisy. June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Wedding Site Awesome ballroom, very awesome wedding staff made for a memorable weekend. The hotel itself is older, and some of the rooms can be sort of small, but we believe the place has character, and a little bit of history. Good food and good service in the cafe also. June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property near German Village Stayed 2 nights on business. I'm an SPG member (and a former Starwood associate) so I picked the Westin over other hotels that were more conveniently located for my meetings. The hotel is in a quieter area of downtown (right across from a new courthouse) and close to the German Village, which is great for restaurants, bars, going out, general charm. I was there during the week and it was lively enough. I hear that area is pretty dead on weekends, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The lobby has a nice WOW factor, but was surprised to find no trace of the signature scent when I arrived. Front desk said the diffusers must need replacing. During check-in they mentioned that they had my SPG number noted but, aside from that, if I got any special treatment as an SPG member it was not apparent. Room was not an SPG room, but it was very comfy with a king bed, and roomy enough (I know some have commented about rooms being small, but this one was fine). Great bed, bath and decor. Plenty of drawer and closet space. Could probably use a little more room on vanity to put stuff but since this was a quick business trip it was fine. If I were staying longer or bringing more toiletries, I probably would've wanted more room next to sink. Everyone I dealt with was very accommodating. The valets, the front desk, room service��all very friendly and helpful.Room service got my order wrong the first morning but quickly corrected it. My one gripe is that there were no outlets on or near the nightstands, which made it hard to charge iPhone and keep it nearby. There were several outlets attached to the long desk next to the nightstand, but they were at the far end of the desk. Plus, all but the furthest one were loose, so the power cord would not stay plugged in. I love when hotels either provide plugs at the bottom of the nightstand lamp, or provide an iHome or similar dock for iPhone. That aside, I would stay there again. June 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk staff needs basic concierge training Great warmth, friendly reception. But when checking if local pizzaria was open they called and found out it was open till 230 am. Unfortunately when I walked there the dining room was closed, only the takeaway open. So had to wait 15 min in the cold, then walked back 10 min so pizza was no longer steaming hot. Lesson: ALL staff, not just those on concierge desk, should be taught to automatically ask to make a reservation. This will both get the guests to the front of the line, and more important, avoid my cold pizza experience. Otherwise great stay. June 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor customer service Thw hotel is ideally located, room was tiny. The refridgerator was really small and filled... I like to use fridge for other food. Staff was good, but management was not. On the overnight breakfast order form where it indicates what time you would like breakfast they had times listed from 6am - 10am-ish. I put an order in for 6:15 on Sunday as I needed to leave by 7am. At 6:30 I called asking where my order was... I got "we Di t serve hot breakfast until after 7am bc we don't have a chef here until then". The hotel not only don't call me to tell me this, nor were they going to, but tere was no apology an I had to ask to have it removed from my bill. Then when I needed to leave, they forgot to bring my car up which I called up. I had to ask management again as to what was happening, and I got a blank look and no apology. Not exactly what I expected out of a Westin. May 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs help Had to really work to get upgrade. Interior rooms very dark. Hotel a bit of a walk to short north area. Staff was helpful altho desk doubles as concierage. March 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sad Example of a Westin Upon arrival at the Westin we pulled into the valet parking area of which there was no one available to valet park the vehicle. After parking the vehicle ourselves and lugging all of our luggage a block to the main entrance of the hotel, there were two huge lines of people thinking that this was the line to check in we sat in the chairs by the front door waiting for the lines to go down; more people were getting into line and i noticed one of them was holding a plate I asked the door man if those were guests waiting to check in and he replied NO it was a lunch buffet line. Of all places to put a lunch buffet line it was placed in front of the check in counter??? We got to our room and granted i thought it would be a lot larger than it actually was it was still a nice little room. The nice thing was that it had a window that could be opened up for fresh air the bad thing was that it took me 10 minutes to try and close the window which had not been done the wind was howling louder than the tv with the air blowing through it and the blind shade was a battle to both raise and lower. There were some repairs that needed to be done tot he room and the "touch ups" that were made to the walls were a real embarrassment for the hotel and for me as an employee of the chain. The overnight menu has extremely limited choices so we ventured out to eat late night. In the morning I made coffee and used the little creamers that were supplied in the room only to my dismay to find that I had just dropped two pieces of cottage cheese curdled non dairy creamer into my coffee as the creamers that were left dfor the coffee were obviously not replaces for a while and had solidifying, I called room service and got a pot of coffee and creamer and only 1 cup for a room with two people. The bill had to be adjusted for the correct pricing and allin all it was NOT a great stay. the ONLY thing that even made our stay a LITTLE ENJOYABLE was the front desk agent Nancy she was superior and tried to make everything better. KUDOS NANCY!! March 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old World Charm...beautiful I've stayed at the Westin Columbus more than a dozen times (also known as the Great Southern). It is a beautiful, old hotel that is well maintained and retains much of it's beauty and charm from a time long since past. Like many of the more traditional hotels, it boasts a beautiful lobby with high ceilings and gold leaf paint along the crown moldings. The check in desk is wood - I suspect restored from the original hotel. The rooms are spacious - although some do not have views and the hotel is very affordable. This is my "hotel of choice" when traveling to Columbus. PS. Kudos to the staff on a consistent "JOB WELL DONE: March 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY Disappointing in-room comfort and amenities. In comparison to other Starwood properties, this hotel most certainly lacks the in-room comfort and commitment to detail that are standard across the brand. Firstly, as a Gold member or otherwise, the room size was extremely small and the shower stall (not bath) was so narrow that it was impossible for a 6ft person to shower without wither touching the walls or smashing your cranium into the showerhead. Secondly, the overpriced snacks inside the room were considerably expired- Lays Potato Chips (21 days past due), Rolled Gold Pretzels (56 days past due), and Smartfood popcorn (56 days past due). February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOT a "heavenly experience". I stayed in room 681. The room was very small and cramped feeling. The front desk staff weren't very friendly. I asked to add a night to my stay. The gentleman added a night, but didn't bother to tell me the rate would increase by doing so. In the room, the furnace was VERY loud and sounded broken. The towels and robe felt like sandpaper. We ordered dinner from the hotel restaurant--a medium steak and a cheeseburger + fries with two sodas. We only received one drink, and the steak was just as done as the burger. I called the front desk, and the young lady assured me a new steak and another beverage would be brought up. However, the second was no better than the first, and still no drink. At check out, my bill reflected an inflated rate for both nights, which a gentleman [unhappily] adjusted the first night's rate. As a former Starwood employee, I was, at best, unimpressed by the hotel, and will not be back. February 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room was unacceptable! Unfortunately, I got one of the rooms I had read about in prior reviews! What a major disappointment! While this is a grand hotel, they clearly don't warn you about what kind of room they are going to give you. I travel for business and I have never gotten a room without a desk. I was forced to work on my bed the entire night. When room service came I had to put the tray on my bed and pull a chair to the bed to eat. For $145 a night, I would expect a desk! I will not return! January 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Old World Hotel This hotel reminds of the beautiful hotels in Europe. Nicely restored, grand lobby. Rooms vary from very small to quite large. Front desk always very accomodating with upgrade for gold status. We stay here whenever in town. January 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Front Desk Associate We just wanted to thank the Front Desk associate who checked my wife and I in. She was wonderful. So personable, friendly and attentive to details, which means such a great deal after being on the road. We loved the room she chose for us.She is a great asset to your hotel - please give her a raise and pass on our gratitude for a great Starwood stay (especially fitting on the stay in which I achieved Platinum for another year)! January 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well located in Columbus There's not much going on in Columbus, but i was there because of the bodybuilding convention (Arnold Classic). The Hotel is well located. Rooms are not small but are a bit old-fashioned. Breakfast and service were great, even though the hotel was full. December 28, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming Hotel - Disappointed with Room Service I visit Columbus two to three times per year and make it a point to stay at the Westin. It's a charming hotel that is centrally located. I was disappointed, though, on my most recent visit with the room service. I arrived at the hotel at 12 Midnight after a long trip from the west coast. I wasn't expecting much, but I thought the "all night dining" menu was a bit constrained. To make matters worse, my order (soup and salad) seemed to take a long time to get to my room and when it arrived the soup was tepid. Outside of the in room dining experience on this particular trip, though, I have always enjoyed my stay at the Westin. December 12, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by There are some really tiny rooms Be careful when making a reservation - choose the right room. Some of the rooms in this hotel are only 160sq ft. This is an old building and some of the smaller rooms have weird layouts. For example, the bathroom in one was so cramped it is difficult to actually sit on the toilet. Another room I've had there was barely a foot and a half of space between the bed and the TV counter/dresser - I had to turn sideways to walk around the bed, and I am on the small side of average. They should just knock down the walls in these smaller rooms and turn them into suites. Overall it is a decent hotel, in 9 months of staying there, I only got the small rooms a handful of times. Luckily because of status, I was able to get an upgraded room. November 14, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room not what I was expecting Room was rather small, layout of rooms on hotel floor a little maze like with signs sending you on the long loop to find your room number. No lounge chair that other Westins have had me come to expect. Tight space bed and desk with small bathroom. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great classic hotel in downtown Columbus This property is located in a classic building in downtown Columbus. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious. Being a historic property, the rooms are not uniform, but that added to the character and experience. The rooms were renovated and updated, and I liked the hotel very much. The breakfast buffet was not great. Some of the good was cold and not replenished. We ordered off the menu after the first day, and that food was good. I would definitely staff at this property again if I was in Columbus. October 29, 2011
  • 2015-03-31T17:59:30.946-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_333, tr_333
  • loc_en_US, sid_1045, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12