The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

  • Two Grasslawn Avenue
  • Hilton Head Island,
  • South Carolina
  • 29928
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 388 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Relaxing hotel We always love staying at Westins as their beds are great, this one met all of our expectations, close to the ocean and large pool area. This was a relaxing stay. Their garden view does have something to be desired, all greenery no flowers, it was the middle of July though. July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointment to say the least. Having stayed at numerous Weston's over the years, this resort was disappointing. Considering their resent multi-million dollar renovation the resort was old and dingy. Paint was peeling from our balcony. We only had 1 restaurant to eat at as the other ones were closed due to low occupancy. The bright spot was the young man that checked us in. He went above and beyond to please us. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall good but not great experience Rooms are excellent, though small with comfortable beds and pillows. Bath size is adequate but well designed and the shower heads are the best ever. At peak times, the hotel just doesn't staff adequately. The line to the desk was usually 3-5 deep often with only 1 or 2 clerks. The wait for a bellman during checkout was about 45 minutes and required continual redialing to get an answer to calls. It is not the quality of the staff, since everyone was well trained attentive, polite, and worked hard to service; however, that isn't sufficient when demand is higher than staffing. On Saturday, our room was not cleaned until after 5 PM. TV's are analog and not HD. What's up with that Westin? You should receive more from a resort hotel than lines at the desk or waiting for your room to be cleaned. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival We stayed at the Westin at Hilton Head Island for the Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival. They were the host hotel. They did a wonderful job accommodating guest during the festival. I would stay there again next year! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Hilton Head This is a great place to stay! Perfect location on the island. You can walk right out onto the beach or walk the paths through well landscaped areas. Good golf courses are just a minute away. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Vacation Great stay. Great staff. Great rooms. Not a single complaint. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit overpriced The place is beautiful and the staff was very friendly but simply things like charging for wifi seem a bit odd. could get the same clean and friendly service at other places for half the price with more amenities. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort is absolutely AMAZING My daughter's and I stayed at this property this month for 3 nights, and I can honestly say that I have never encountered staff that were not only professional but truly enjoyed their working environment; from the bellman to the front desk Supervisor, Jason Bees and everyone in between, every staff member we encountered treated us like royalty. Jason Bees bent over backwards to ensure we had the best room available and wrote a very sweet personal note letting me know he appreciated us being there. There was a Country Music show on TV and the teenagers were watching their show in the room, I went to the bar and asked if it was possible to put it on the TV there, and the bartender (I wish I could remember her name) said; OF COURSE! I cannot say enough nice things about this property - I will definitely be back...MANY TIMES! August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect vacation spot! Our experience at the Westin exceeded our expectations. It was the perfect get away; a relaxing weekend for the adults and tons of kids activities. We chose to pay additional for an ocean view room and upon checking in; we were quite disappointed with the view of a rooftop (no pool view and barely an ocean view). After speaking with the manager on duty (Katie) , she more than took care of our dissatisfaction; offering us breakfast each morning and switching our room when one became available. Katie and the staff at The Westin were amazing and it was wonderful to stay at a place that has good quality customer service! June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by August 2014 We had a fantastic stay as a family with 2 teenagers. Staff was super friendly, hotel and grounds were clean, food and drinks were good. The only downside we had was that our "ocean view" room looked out on a roof top. There was no view at all. Not even of the pool. I missed having my morning coffee out on the patio. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We were impressed with everything This hotel was in a beautiful location with great views of the ocean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was really cozy and clean. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Westin Resort Standards! We loved our previous stays at several other Westin Hotels and Resorts. Sadly, this experience did not meet our expectations. The airconditioning in our room did not work properly despite several attempts from maintenance. We had FIVE days/nights that were either too cold (59 degrees) or too hot ( cold air never generated.) We had a safe in our room that was not functioning and had to wait on security to fix it which confined us to our room for several hours. Upon bringing these issues to management, we were given two complimentary dinners at the Cafe. Again, what a disappointment. Terrible service and the meals left alot to be desired. We did not even use our second voucher, opting to eat off the premises each evening. Although the staff were friendly and pleasant, they did not address the problems in a timely or satisfactory manner. Where was the upper management? It did not seem like a well run establishment, definately nothing like our previous stays with Starwood Hotels! We were disappointed to say the least. On a last note, there is no shop (for gifts or other necessities) open at this time. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Priceless This is a must see, must do Hotel!!! You have to experience it for yourself. Mere words cannot describe the comfort, beauty and atmosphere of this one of kind hotel!!! December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total Renovation is Awesome! We have stayed at this location many times. What a pleasant surprise when we saw the total renovation of the property. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Animal control I do not care for animals being allowed in all the rooms, I have severe allergy problems to animal dander, this should be considered for your future guest. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great for families This hotel is well maintained with a friendly staff. The hotel is also located in a beautiful area on Hilton Head Island. The hotel has three great pools and is located right on the beach. There are restaurants located around the pools. We enjoyed Splash which is their poolside grill. However, we wished they would have had a quick service station in the pool area. We didn't like having to be seated and wait for service everyday for breakfast or lunch. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we visit HHI the next time. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous resort with lots to do The resort is beautiful and right on the beach! Plenty of places to go within a few miles. Will be back many times! June 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great choice for Hilton Head Vacation Overall the renovations completed recently were very nice. The room is comfortable. Beach is quite nice but will be a bit more crowded than some areas of Hilton Head due to the size of this property and the neighboring property. We've been vacationing at Hilton Head for the past 12 years consecutive and always have stayed in condos. This was our first time to the a Westin. This property should easily generate a 4 rating. The only reason it does not is poor quality of housekeeping. The room was cleaned but not clean enough. We arrived on Saturday to check in at 7:30p and the room was still not ready. The last day of our stay we received no towels or service even though we were out of the room from 8a-3p. Bottom line, poor attention to detail on housekeeping. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Renovations finally complete I've stayed at the HHI Westin for over 30 nights over the past 8 years so I feel most qualified to rate this hotel. The renovations completed this spring finally brings the HHI Westin back up to the Westin standards. The rooms are very modern, comfortable and clean and what you are used to at other Westin hotels. The two pools have received facelifts. The pool deck has been re-surfaced and now there is plenty of seating surrounding the pools. Oceans restaurant has a new menu and have undergone renovations. The staff are turned over and much improved from the from previous years. The Spa continues to be excellent. The giftshop is much more welcoming. The location is amazing and the beach is very clean and family friendly. The SPG Platinum ammenities are outstanding which include: free valet parking, daily breakfast buffet for 2 (a very good value), upgraded rooms. They are finally providing late check outs for Plats which was never granted previously to me. Overall, I'm happy that the Westin is again the premier spot to visit on HHI. I have a feeling that the secret will get out again and crowds will return to the Westin. I hope that the hotel management can keep these high standards for years to come. July 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean This hotel was very clean. I was bummed there was no store yet because I left home without face wash or lotion, assuming that a beach island would have plenty of areas for me to grab some. It seems like this hotel is by the golf courses, and has its own private beach entrance, but it is a very secluded beach area. It was not what I was hoping for on my honeymoon. We had to go down to a much farther area to find more people hanging out at the beach. I also told them it was our honeymoon and they did nothing even though my friends have always told me SPG will either give food vouchers, strawberries, or a better room. I was happy to be on the SPG floor, however. I liked the bathroom and the shower. Our window view was a bunch of trees, so it seemed a little anti climatic. All the rooms are noisy and you can hear someone from another room closing and opening their bathroom door, talking, anything. Luckily I don't think the hotel was very busy during our stay. Loved the luggage closet. We were able to check out but come back for our luggage when our taxi service came to pick us up. There were lots of pools and no one was really in them. That's a plus, since hotel photos of pools show a desolate pool area but the reality is a sardine can. May 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Check In Was not treated as a SPG member September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing After an extensive renovation, still needs work. Exceptions: staff everywhere was well trained and friendly. Overall, rooms and public spaces were relatively nice. BIG downside was dining....venues were tired and really no where to have dinner that didn't have a bad hotel vibe. At 8:45 on a holiday weekend, not one inviting venue for a cocktail. Further, how can a $300/night hotel not have HDTV? The audio was way behind the video....not good. Beach was nice but had to rent chairs for $30/day. No Westin chairs. On the upside, renovated bathrooms and rooms were nice. Great pool chairs. We are local but probably won't return.... May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one draw back The hotel was great and the front desk staff was amazingly helpful. I had a very "crazy" time with the reservations. I made them way ahead and every time I called back to check, there was always an issue. The day before I was to arrive the person on the phone finally asked me to call the Hotel's front desk to check everything because her system seemed to bring everything up incorrectly. It was pretty frustrating for me so I am very thankful for the workers at the Hotel's front desk. I think it's more of a problem with your computer system and how it "reads" when the worker pulls everything up to take a look. I think the workers were doing their very best. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and facilities. As we arrived we were met by Mike the bellman who went out of his way too help us out. Mike got our bags and showed us to the front desk where we were checked in by Chloe. Chloe got us checked in to a room better than we had hoped for, and was an absolute delight to deal with during our entire stay. Once we were checked in, Chloe called our room to make sure that we were completely satisfied with our room. We were! We went to a conference for dinner at the resort and the food there was more than acceptable. When we returned to our room, we found a hand written note from Chloe thanking us for staying with them at the Westin and telling us to feel free to call her if we needed anything. Chloe was this good the whole time. The rooms are some of the nicest in which we have ever stayed. Bed was comfortable everything worked well and the shower with a large tub was a really nice touch. The grounds were clean and well maintained. We spent some time in the heated pool and hot tub. Both were perfect. As indicated on the website, we were allowed to check out at 3:00, but this was a space available thing and had to be requested. The only drawback of the property is something that is beyond the control of management. Be prepared to do a lot of walking. The distance from our room to the restaurant area seemed like about 3/4 of a mile walking through the hotel. We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Head Westin immensely and would definitely recommend it for anyone. March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Oh Westin Hilton Head...What Happened to You?? Just returned from an 8 night stay at the Westin Hilton Head. This was our second visit to this hotel. Last visit was in August of 2013 for 6 nights. Our FIRST visit in August 2013 was amazing. Carolina Cafe had amazing food (shrimp and grits to die for!), impeccable service all around (including housekeeping!), clean pool and loungers. Oh what a difference a year makes. We were so very disappointed in our visit...Aug. 15-23, 2014. First the beds. If you like hard mattresses with ZERO support, this Westin is the place to stay. Perhaps it was just OUR room?? If so, definitely request room 3014 for your hard, uncomfortable mattresses. I woke up with a severe backache by night 3. It didn't go away until my 2nd night at HOME in my own bed. Housekeeping didn't vacuum our room until the 5th day into our stay. We had a 10 year old with us who was into crackers, arts and crafts, paper folding and all kinds of other messes. You can imagine what the floor looked like. We specifically had to request the room to be vacuumed. What a concept! The pool area. During the first few days into our visit the pool itself had sparkling water with a slight smell of chlorine...this is what you want in a public pool. Towards the latter part of our visit, the pool became a cloudy scary mess smelling of the sewer. I called the front desk to request that the water be tested. We never did hear about the outcome outside of getting a message on our room voicemail indicating that the problem "had been resolved". Yet the next day the pool was still cloudy and smelled. Huh?? My 10 year old refused to go into the pool after that. Sucks for us as there went the grown up relaxation time lounging by the pool while she swam. That reminds me...the lounge chairs. About half are covered in nasty mold. Oh wait...that's IF you are lucky enough to have snagged one in the first place. The folks here seem to throw towels on the loungers to reserve them by O DARK THIRTY. Who gets up early JUST to reserve a lounge chair??? Oh wait...that would be us...we learned that that was the ONLY way to snag a coveted lounger by the pool. Grab lots of towels by the way so that you can cover up all the mold. By Thursday, the hotel (and POOL) was getting noticeably crowded. We learned after circling the parking garage for 30 minutes trying to find a parking space (by the way, the spots OUTSIDE were all taken too) that there was some kind of doctor conference. So, no parking spots, even dirtier pool, and NO lounge chairs. Just my idea of a vacation by the beach!!! We tried the Carolina cafe on our 2nd night...the menu has gone downhill. Food was not as tasty as before and quite overpriced for what you get. Trying to work off all the delicious food we grabbed elsewhere on the island, we decided to use the stairway every time we went to/from our 3rd floor room. Beware!! They have these weird red metal tags that stick out from the handrail that can snag your legs if you're not careful. How do we know it can snag your leg? Our rambunctious 10 year old accidentally tested it out. My husband contacted the front desk to let them know of this hazard. OH, and he also told them that there was a coke can that had been in the stairway for several days. That coke can was in the stairway for the ENTIRE week of our stay. Do ANY of the Westin employees that THOSE stairs? Or do they just not care? I forgot to mention our soap dish. Apparently cleaning your own soap dish in your room is part of the requirement for staying here. Ours did not get cleaned at all. A nice sloggy, soapy mess after a few days. We loved this hotel in 2013. We relaxed, laughed, rejuvenated, and came back eager to return. This time, not so much. So very disappointing. Definitely not worth it for the cost...and we spent quite a bit for 8 days. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff I frequently stay at Starwood properties but received some of the best service I've had at this one. Upon checking in Charlotte told us that it was our 50th stay at a Starwood. It was my first wedding anniversary and she had a bottle of wine delivered to our room. The next day on our actual anniversary a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were left as a gift. We also met two great bartenders (one at Splash and the other at View 32 from N. Ireland) and a wonderful poolside waitress. We plan to be back and are recommending the resort to our friends and family. Thank you for making our trip a success and our anniversary memorable. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by An average experience below expectations The positives: the service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and very polite. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The gym was also very nice. The beaches are beautiful and the gardens areas were very well maintained. The not so positive: the food at the Carolina restaurant needs a lot of improvement. The food was very pricey but the quality needs a lot of improvement. Overall, the hotel needs to be re-painted and the elevators need to be renovated. The hotel charges a resort fee, which the staff noted that it was charged to cover for the gym facilities, local calls, and the pool. I find this to be outrageous given that other Starwood hotels also include these facilities but do not charge a resort fee and provide better amenities in the swimming area. The chairs and the umbrella by the beach were not included in the resort fee and they were extra. Everything seemed to be extra at this hotel. Management should really think about charging a room rate that includes everything without this outrageous resort fee. August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing This was our families third stay to this property and it has just gotten worse every year. I see that it says they put $30 million into renovations, but I'm not sure that money was spent with the guest in mind. Positives -Good location -Clean -Decent rooms Negatives -Pool chairs - I realize these are all new from the renovations, but they were all stained and dirty. Either pay someone to clean them, or buy better cushions that don't show stains so easily -Elevator service is horrible -Spa - The therapist was good, but my wife commented that the facilities were cramped, not properly lit, of two showers only one door actually opened, and that the staff openly ignored the no cell phone policy in the spa -Valet service - unbelievably bad. You know exactly how many people are checking in and out each day, and the weather forecast, how hard is it to staff a valet properly? We waited 20 mins or more every day over 5 days -Bell Service - very slow -Restaurant - very inconsistent service from one waitstaff to the next -Staff in general - very slow moving, no motivation to get things done in an efficient manner I see all the positive reviews from others and feel like I am missing something. But over the course of our 3 visits, this hotel has just gotten progressively worst, and all the renovation seemed to do was put lipstick on a pig, with the goal of attracting more meetings which will just further erode service for the non-attending other guests. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Ian and Justin at Splash were great. they were very attentive and accommodating . Hat off to these two guys!! Thanks for the great vacation, John August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second Stay This is the second time my family had stay at this property and we really enjoyed the new renovations and we enjoyed the rooms but we had a horrible experience at the restaurant. We had arrived at 6pm but our food wasn't served until 7pm. When we asked the waiter why it was taking so long he simply laughed it off and the bread was not served until our meal was served. Two of us ordered salads yet were served without dressing and the rest of us had our food that was well over cooked. I would have to say that if the restaurants could also receive a new renovation along with some additional training for the staff it could have been a better experience. June 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>