The Westin Galleria Houston

  • 5060 West Alabama
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conference accomodations I was very excited to have my conference at the Westin Galeria in Houston as Westin is my hotel of choice. I have mixed reviews of this Westin. The bed was super comfortable as expected. The city noise did seep into the room quite heavily. The elevators were a nightmare with only 1 or 2 working at any point in time with a conference of over 1000 people in attendance. The staff was polite and responsive. The bathroom and some of the fixture of the room were starting to show their age and need of updates. Overall a good experience October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Turn Pleasure trip The hotel, as always welcomes me with a lot of respect and courtesy. We had room service Saturday night and the salmon was delicious. My husband is picky with his salmon but he loved this one. Sunday morning I think they were a little busy and lost my room service order. I called them 50 minutes after I had placed my order and I was told it was on its way cause they couldn't find it. I told the girl what I had ordered and it arrived 10-15 minutes later, not completed but they were kind enough to remove the bill from my charges because they took this long for the order to arrive in my room. Overall, the services were excellent and I will always recommend this hotel, no matter what little circumstances arrive. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Message system needs to be more prompt Great location, valet parking, standard rooms. But a package was delivered at 1930 hrs, and I had to go down at 0130 hrs to check in person, and even then there was nothing on the system. Turns out the envelope was chucked in the drawer. As a result I had to stay up till 0300 hrs reviewing the documents before an 0800 hrs meeting. Unacceptable. And the lady who retrieved the document said sorry, but it's not my fault. This would be a standard reply in a marital argument perhaps, but is unacceptable as there is no corporate responsibility. On the plus side, Ronnie was very helpful on several occasions. Overall great stay, but packages need to be treated with more urgency. June 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location in Galleria Have stayed here in the past and usually am satisfied. Toilet had urine and tissue in it and had not been cleaned. I spoke to front desk and they sent staff up to clean immediately. :) Made me question how clean the remainder of the room was.?!? Management slide a free breakfast card under my door (good for one day only) which I found as I was headed out for the airport- lots of good that did! Like the location and typically don't have issues here- but number one on my list for booking a hotel is cleanliness! Pool leaves a lot to be desired but rooms are generally nice. Not sure if I will stay here again. August 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good location Pros: Good location in the mall so easy to walk around for shopping, room seemed recently refurbished, everything was clean and beds comfortable. Cons: NOT a family friendly hotel. Our son brought his playstation with him, we were told the tvs are set up so playstations will not work and you have to rent games. Room service very overpriced, 24% gratuity added to the order seems extreme. Door was broken on the refrigerator cabinet, would have expected this to have been noticed by housekeeping. Staff barely looked at us on check-in, did not tell us where the hotel restaurant or any of the amenities were. December 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Started out wrong, but the management made it right When we arrived the front staff at the check in desk was rude and uncooperative. I immediately brought it to the attention of the night manager Duncan who corrected the problem and checked us in. the management dealt with the problem employee and I am satisfied with the outcome. Service here for our family has always been exemplary. Sometimes there are little bumps in the road. I am sure with the proper re-training in customer service this will not occur again. Special thank you to Manager(s) Duncan and David for correcting the problem and making our stay that which it always is..... awesome. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay Westin Galleria is a very comfortable hotel and very convenient to shopping the Galleria and the the many other nearby shops and restaurants. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Got a good night's sleep, which I usually don't in a hotel. The front desk staff was very nice. There is, however, one big problem: security. The hotel lobby opens directly onto the mall. Anyone can walk in and get on the elevators to the rooms. Those doors should be accessible only with a hotel security card. Also, the sheets on one of the beds in the room appeared to be stained. Yuck. December 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm a SPG guest? I specifically selected the Westin when I was there for Microsoft's TechEd because I'm a Starwood Preferred Guest. When I checked in, I asked if I could get a room upgrade as a member. I was put in room 1955. This room is the only room on the floor that shares a wall with the elevators. Additionally, this is on the end of the hotel that has a major construction job going on and on the same side as the construction job. Any room that isn't attached to the elevator would have been better, and certainly any room on the south side facing west would have been considered an "upgrade". I felt like the staff should have been aware of these factors and I was stuck listening to elevators and jack hammers for a 5 days. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by well a little dissapointed rented room for my best friend bach party girls getaway... when we first arrived i was told they didn't have any rooms clean that i had reserved ( needed 2 queen beds) so they transfer me to the other hotel across the galleria. we had to walk across with our luggage because bell hop couldnt take it over,then valet didn't even get our bags out the car. kinda tacky to me. when we finally enter our room we was giving one bottle of water for a total of 4 guest in a room. we had to call for addtional towels twice. thie ice machine on our floor was out of service and they had a fan blowing down the hallway. for the price a night you expect alot more. over all it was okay, but not worth the money or all the talk!! March 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Requested a quiet room and placed in a group of extremely noisy teenagers. When making reservations I requested a quiet room. We were placed in a group of extremely noisy and disruptive teenagers. They were yelling, playing loud music, and running up and down the halls. Our night stand attached to the wall even shooked. We called hotel desk requesting security and requested the chaperones be notified. I even asked the teenagers in the hall to keep it quiet. Unfortunately the loud noises and music continued for several more hours. We had a long drive to Houston that day and were going to have a long drive back home after a stop at Texas A&M to visit our daughter. We told the staff the next morning and they comped our parking. This in no way makes up the difference for a sleepless night! April 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed With the title and reputation of Westin, and the location within a high end mall, I had high expectations and was willing to pay the high nightly rate for myself and an additional room for a guest. However, the lack of bar within the hotel did not allow for socializing with friends after the "mall" bar closed. The amenities were average at best, and the courtesy bar in the rooms were empty. When we inquired with the night staff on alternatives to the mall bar/restaurant we were simply told we could drive somewhere. Service and services for the price was very disappointing. October 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience Our first night in the hotel, we were placed in a handicapped room, and therefore had no bathtub or counter space in the bathroom. We were moved to another room after requesting it from a third staff member. In both rooms, the lighting was poor. In the second room, our second night, the light in the bathroom flickered the entire time, resulting us having to shower in the dark. Also, our vehicle was knicked in the valet parking by towncar. It was just overall a really poor experience. I have always enjoyed Westin hotels in the past, but I will not stay at this hotel again. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always consistent Its always great to return to a hotel and be recognized! Consistency is the name of the game. October 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Miserable Experience Overall, hotel needs a makeover. Upon arrival, four bellman watched me exit my cab, did not offer me help with my bags or welcome me. Upon check-in, my room was unavailable. "Green option" misleading because where it means "don't change sheets and towels" in most hotels, at Westin Galleria, it means "no housekeeping" shows up. When I requested housekeeping to make my bed and toss trash, they did not show-up. When I called the second time, they changed my sheets - why? Only requested my bed made. No trash removed either. Sink in room 950 leaked under the counter. This was fixed promptly. Hotel is drab, dirty, colorless. Staff is not communicative, unprofessional. I will never stay there again and would not recommend it. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but definite improvement opportunities My roommates and I were attending a conference with a moderate number of attendees (~870) that was using the hotel. We had to call for housekeeping services on one day (our room was skipped completely) and had to request extra towels the second day despite the fact that 4 people in the room was clearly noted in the hotel's records. Conferences are challenging, but the hotel should have been able to easily respond to the increased demand. Despite this bobble, the room was clean, comfortable and in good repair. Daily Grill food was very good and available when needed. June 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff uncaring When I asked for asprin and heart burn medicine I thought the front desk woman was rude and unwilling to show me where I could find it in the gift shop. Also when I checked out I noticed a Discrepancy in my nightly rate. We were told to get the negotiate rate of $179/night, however I was charged $205/night and the same front desk person did not show any concern in helping, but just said "You have to have proof for me to approve". I am sure TransCanada employees stay at this hotel a lot and I am not sure you can afford me telling them that I was not treated well. October 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel fell short I was really excited to stay at a Westin hotel because Westin typically has a reputation of exceptional hotels. This one fell way short. We had to ask everyday of our stay to have our room cleaned, it was as late as 430 or 5pm and our room was not cleaned. The rooms were very old and not what I would call up to the Westin standards. The pool was a huge disappointment. The registration desk was ok, not your typical friendly and helpful staff. On the upside, the concierge staff was exceptional. Don't know her name, but she was the black lady and she offered great recommendations for sightseeing and places for dinner. I was staying as part of a conference and I have indicated to the conference staff my disappointment in the hotel. May 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Had some issues but they have comfortable beds, and clean rooms, I had a comfortable stay but several of us had issues with room reservations. My room was not available when i arrived and when I got checked in the next day my internet connection was down and there was not a keypad or lock mechanisim on my safe. After 3 requests to have these issues corrected they were not. They did get me wifi access and credit me for the cost but the safe never got fixed because i could not be in the room. Their cleaning staff enters the room when I am not there so I am not sure why i had to be there for the staff to fix the safe. February 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had problems with the room reservations Had to book two different times due to having to travel 6 hours for conference--no rooms available at the conference rate--I was told when I checked in that I would not have to change rooms--When cleaning lady came she had to call because she had the room empty--I called again to make sure I still had the room and was told yes--Later after going out I could not get in the room and had to go to desk to have the keys dialed into the room--very frustrating--parking garage is somewhat difficult---very difficult to find the correct streets to turn on May 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I was excited to stay at this hotel for a relaxing weekend getaway. I was extremely disappointed. From check in to check out, the front desk clerk was rude and made sure that we knew by her continuous sighs and body language that she would rather be anywhere else but helping us. The room was just ok. Nothing like what I saw online. The view was of a rooftop. The bathroom was the biggest disappointment. It was fitly. There was hair stuck to the side of the shower. There were water marks on the mirror and hanging pictures. The tub looked like it hadn't been wiped down in months. Very unsettling when I have to sit my baby down in there. I travel to Houston a lot and will probably try another hotel. I certainly didn't expect this from a Westin. March 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by this place is not what it used to be We had stayed here in September 2006 and my experience then was fantastic! We stayed here a couple days September 2013 and I was very disappointed in the customer service and room experience. Attitudes were different this time around! We were not treated with fairness and common respect. ...the bus man, dropped what he was doing with us to tend to "Miss Money bags". Nobody ever offer us assistance upstairs with our many baggages we had, not even so much as a rolling cart. My friend has a certain strict food diet she follows and she asked for a microwave and they wouldn't accommodate her. Then the refrigerators we had in our rooms were not able to keep her food cool. The air conditioner hardly kept our rooms cool enough throughout the night. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay if visiting the Galleria We were taking our granddaughter and a friend for an overnight stay in the Galleria area to celebrate her 13th birthday. The Westin Galleria was a great facility for that purpose. The staff was very pleasant. The room was a good size, clean, and the beds were comfortable. The room temperature control was okay but didn't seem consistent during the night. The bathroom was clean but small and I felt was understated for a 4 star hotel. Our stay at this facility was very adequate for our intended purpose. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel with excellent location We travel to Houston a lot and like to stay near the Galleria, and this hotel delivers a great room with a great location. The hotel is located on the ground floor of the Galleria so it is very convenient for access to the Galleria. In spite of being close to the Galleria, you cannot hear the noise the Galleria which is nice. The hotel lobby is located on the main entrance to the Galleria, but there is also a bottom level entrance as well (which also houses the entrance to the gym - the gym is nice but the location is odd considering its an open walkway to the Galleria mall). There is free self-parking in the garage (and space was always available - even on the Thanksgiving holiday) The rooms are wide and comfortable and the 4 of us easily fit in the room. Overall a great stay and we look forward to going back September 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2nd disappointing trip to a Westin Hotel. 1. Was booked into a roon next to the elevator shaft without being advised... as the staff was well aware of the issue when com[laint was filed. 2. Staff did move to another room on the same floor (OK)... but next to ice machine and housekeeping service room. 3. Stopped at desk after breakfast to pay bill and return to room to shower, pack and prepare for departure @ 10:00 am. Attempted to get on internet to check travel weather, e-mail etc. and service was unavailable. Called the front desk and was advised I wasn't in the system anymore. Clerk did advise would re-open access. Went to get on line an was only given option to pay for service that had been included in room rate. 4. Location was great for shopping.. however this was a business trip. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was disappointed Check in was very pleasant--registration desk folks were friendly and helpful. However, I walked in on the housekeeper who was making my bed after the first night. She had all of my bedding on the floor and was walking on it. Even though she knew I was there, she proceeded to take that same bedding and put it back on the bed. I was shocked. Even pillows!! I was so paranoid, I got a blanket from my car and pulled all the linens off the bed and slept on my blanket for the next 2 nights. Also, the side of the tub was filthy--as if it had not been cleaned in a long time. While at breakfast, I asked a waiter for a glass of ice and he was very rude. He did bring the ice but clearly was not happy that I had requested it. I would not use this hotel again. August 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Recognition is quite low There are many preferred floors in the hotel - and guests that arents members/or have high statuses get placed on these hotels before guests with Platinum/Ambassador status check - in. So when we all check-in, we get placed on floors 10, 14, etc... Also get placed in double beds - with pillows that are awful or uncomfortable. Only a few staff members show quality Westin customer service. I have stayed over 75 nights at various SPG properties, and if you stay at one property over months, employees get to know their guests personally. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Granddaughter B-Day Celebration My granddaughter wanted to celebrate her birthday and this hotel was her first choice. First the rate was excellent, just like everything else. We requested to have our rooms cleaned only on certain days and we got SPG credit. Our room service meals were great, starting from breakfast and ending with dinner. I loved the angelhair pasta without shrimp (tried both ways). My husband tried the salmon pan-seared, loved it. Then the last night he tried the trout almondine, loved it more. He can't wait to got back just for those dishes. July 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy New Year's Eve! I realize I stayed during New Years Eve. However, the people who surrounded our room were screaming, cursing, fighting, verbal confrontations from midnight to 4:00 am. We called the front desk twice. They sent people to ask them to be quiet. However, as soon as they left the other guests continued their behavior. I stay at hotels approximately 12 times a year. I have never experienced anything like this. When i told the lady downstairs in the morning all she said was, "thats a shame". Rom was not cheap and that is all she said! January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was the main reason for my 3 star There were a lot of people working, however they were not attentative at all. The staff could use some training. I'm not sure if it was a nye thing or if it's always like this, but my one night there was bad enough and unacceptable. I made two calls to the service desk. First call it rang 20 times and went unanswered. 2 hours later I made a call asking if a first aid kit was available. I was told it was and it would be sent up to my room. I asked again to confirm, or offered to take myself to CVS. Long story shrot, I never got the first aid kit. At 10am someone walked into my room and abruptly left. I went into the hall to see if it was room service, and saw a guy with a clip board going in and out of every room. Come on, seriously? No knock. Just rudeness. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not recommend Upon arrival there was a desk for SPG Gold/Platinum but nobody behind the counter to check you in, so we waited on the regular line. Upon Check-In, the young lady behind the counter didn't acknowldge my SPG status nor did she have any idea that I had status once I asked her about it. Work up early for a flight in the morning and the shower handle broke when I tried to turn it on. Tried to call down to the front desk and my room phone was broken too! Was forced to take a freezing cold shower. Overall not a pleasant experience. April 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>