The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

  • 5011 Westheimer at Post Oak
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 359 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel very good for most part The hotel is a very nice place to stay. Right in the Galleria; rooms are spacious and has a working area. The only problem is it is located in the mall and sometimes you cannot park nearby. I had to check in and then go back and circle until i found a place nearby to transport my luggage. Also the air conditioner in the room was making strange noises as it kicked in and ended. November 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators This is my third or fourth stay and every time there has been an issue with the elevators. Even with the new system, they elevators were out half of one day. Also the checkout is mysterious. ou can;t find any notice of checking out on the TV. I know it must be there, but it was hidden. If you paid with a credit card, do you have to check out, or can you just leave. Process could be much clearer. Outside of that, it is a nice hotel with a friendly staff. November 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upset at this hotel We've stayed at this hotel and the sister hotel also at the Galleria many times. Always a pleasure, until this trip! Elevators inop on the last day and valet service a joke. I can understand a malfunction in the elevators, but the valet service needs immediate attention. They let cars park on one side on the entry way access lane, backing up those who are trying to get to the hotel when bags are being unloaded and waiting till wheelchair patrons unload, etc. It took almost 30 minutes to return my car to the valet one evening. On another afternoon, we called down to get the car brought around and ended up waiting 45 minutes to get the car. We were late for a dinner appointment and we were embarrassed in front of our dinner companions when late. Someone who has some sense should be in charge there. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Green Initiative! Though i was placed right by the elevator - I did not hear a sound. I also want to salute SPG for their Green initiative - I don't need new towels or made bed each day - so I was happy to participate 'and' get rewarded! Thanks SPG!!! October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 12 year anniversary Tried to check into hotel at 4p. Room not cleaned yet. I got room for 12 year anniversary and purchased romance package with champagne and strawberries. Room wasn't ready so romance package was not either which could have been placed in room upon arrival if they had room ready which again they didn't. Decided to come back to hotel after a concert, left luggage with hotel and they said they would take it to our room when room was ready. Got back to hotel later in evening. No romance package or luggage in room. Walked into cold empty room. What I thought would be a well planned surprise for my wife was ruined by carelessness of evening staff. Very disappointed with hotel. October 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice It was a pleasure to stay at The Westin Oaks Houston October 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointments Mini bar empty at arrival and never restocked, safe in closet not in working order (no lock on it), no attention as Starwood Preferred guest, lots of issues with lobby elevator upon arrival when trying to get up to room, correct room rate not noted in reservation and required an extra trip to the front desk (have to say, though, that the attendant at front desk was extremely helpful with rectifying rate but I would have preferred not have had to spend the time to do this), although I requested the "green" option in advance and hung the sign on the door no voucher card was slipped under the door overnight October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, Quick Stay I stayed just one night at the Westin Post Oak and will likely return there soon. I had previously stayed at the Westin on the other side of Galleria Mall, so I was well-familiar with the location. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as the Westin staff always is, and though the stay was quick, it was restful. October 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank You I stayed at the Westin on overnight business travel. The room was comfortable and up to Starwood standards. I especially enjoyed having a balcony, which is unusual in U.S. hotels now. I had no opportunity to dine, exercise, or otherwise use the hotel facilities, so consider my review with that in mind. October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as great as I had expected. I got two rooms through a hotel website. I was pleased with the overall hotel, but it was not quite what I had expected. The room was beautiful, but the mini-fridge was empty. I was starving and thirsty when we got there, but I guess I saved some money since there was nothing in either room. My rooms were right next to a utility room for the maids. We had to hear them rummaging through the closet the entire night. I think they spent more time in that room than they did cleaning. The people down the hall ordered room service. Their tray of leftovers sat in the hall for at least 5 hours. We had a mix up with the valet parking. They spelled my name wrong. I kind of got the feeling that since I purchased the rooms at a discounted rate we were treated in a discounted manor. October 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Construction Noise and Elevators Appreciate road construction (Hotel Driveway/Valet) is necessary but it would have been nice to know upon checkin that it would occur throughout the night hours given I was staying a full week. Room was clean, very comfortable and hotel personnel extremely helpful. Would suggest the new elevator system is confusing and it's not just a "getting used to period" as I have stayed with you several times since implementation. Thank you, Michael October 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value Room rate and quality is a great deal for downtown Houston. Also free parking, good deal October 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the most part, great hotel This was the second time staying here in 2 months. The hotel has been remodeled and is awesome, especially the elevators! The valet and parking attendants are excellent ! They are very welcoming , professional, and friendly beyond what a guest would expect. One attendant offered to take and dispose of the trash in the car! Awesome! But... The bartenders need more training with customer service! No personality and rude! Bad experience.. Advised the front desk manager of the incident. He apologized and offered a food credit but was unable to use it as we left the next morning! I will definitely return to the hotel but will be hesitant to visit the bar! October 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Musty Smell My hotel room had a musty smell. I asked for air freshener which I used much too often. I should have complained more, but was extremely busy with work-related items. October 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by White Oak Kitchen We had brunch at the White Oak Kitchen and the food was great, but the service was horrible. It took 20mins for our table to get coffee. we didn't exit until 2hrs later. This caused us to be behind in our activies for the rest of the day. October 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst SPG experience ever! Hotel parking lot was closed due to construction. Once I found valet, I unloaded my own luggage bc he was busy chatting w other staff and when he finally did speak to me he was rude. Was not offered my Gold member amenity upon check in. Bar refused to allow me to order dinner from restaurant menu-only SPG in the country to do this. Mahi ordered was inedible-ordered burger from room service. 2.5 x 1.5 gold earring on floor in my room-do they vacuum?! Toilet ran non-stop. Second night-walking to Tiffany's attached to hotel and had the extreme displeasure of watching the valet very vocally hawk a loogy on the sidewalk I was walking on. Confronted him and told him that was disgusting behavior and not so much as an apology. Tried bar for dinner second night bc I was assured I could order from dinner menu-waited 20 minutes to order and had to interrupt the chit chat of the 3 servers in an empty bar to do so. Asked for a comment card to complain and was told they had none-right. Told the staff I w call corporate and they said "go ahead". I have never had a worse experience at a Starwood property and I stay in various ones across the country almost weekly for work. The hotel manager apologized via email and comped the burger and Mahi meals and one night of valet. However, I do not loyally stay at SPG properties for a free meal or an apology after terrible service. I am loyal to this hotel brand because their typical level of service is a comfort while I am traveling frequently for my job. Everyone at this particular property needs retraining. If you are traveling to Housten, pick another Starwood property until this one raises their standards to come in line w what is expected from Starwood. October 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Time to restore the infrastructure Due to the load noise of construction work around the hotel (parking lot and nearby shopping center), including during the night, starting at 2 am (!), one of my worst stays in the Westin ever. Changed rooms several times without much difference as the state of the windows (do not close properly) is simply bad (strip missing etc). October 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The bed was very comfortable I slept very well and loved the bed. Downfall::: I booked my reservation for two nights only to find out that I had been entered for one night. I had to check out which posed a serious inconvenience therefore I will not return to this hotel in the future. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Returning next summer This hotel was great for our conference needs and will probably exceed our expectations for next summer's conference. Thanks to all of the staff! September 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Many Other Hotel Options to Justify Staying Here I stayed at the Westin this past weekend (9/14-16/2012) and boy what an experience it was. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel; let me tell you why: There isn't a separate parking lot for hotel guest. Hotel guest are forced to battle with shoppers for parking spaces. When we first arrived at the hotel (Friday) I couldn't figure out the designated parking lot for hotel guest, so I drove through the valet line, to ask them where the $14 self-service lot was. I was directed to the underground mall parking lot. What I don't understand is why there is a posting that self-service parking is $14 when self-service is the same as mall parking, and mall parking is free. The underground parking is connected to the hotel; however, you have to go down about 8 steps inside the building to get to the elevator. Heaven help you if you have a heavy suitcase. On Saturday it took me 30 minutes to get a parking space. Once I got to the hotel, I asked the person at the front desk about the parking situation, because it's hard to accept such poor design/ planning would be acceptable. And she said if people don't find parking in the blue parking lot, they just park on the other side of the mall and carry their luggage (really!). The first rooms we were checked into had a few problems: 1. In the first room I was give, the toilet wouldn't stop flushing and continuously made a loud noise, and the telephone handset didn't work. I called the operator to let them know, and after continuously being called Ms. Robinson (that's not my name), I was told someone would come up to fix it. A nice gentleman came up to fix the toilet, and before he left I wanted to confirm that when the toilet was flushed, the issue wouldn't return, and he goes "Ummm, let me see what happens when I flush it." Then I asked if he would be checking the phone. He said that's a different department, broadband, and since I called it in, someone else would be coming up. After waiting 30 minutes, I called the operator again to tell them we were still waiting for someone to check out the phone issues. 15 minutes after I called, the operator called back to confirm that all issues had been addressed. I told her no, all issues have not been resolves, as we were still waiting for the phone person. She said ok, well "he told me to clear it, so he must be on his way up. He should be there shortly." After another 30 minutes of waiting for the phone guy, I went down to the lobby and requested that we be moved to another room (As I'm making this request, the guests next to me is informing the staff that they were given a room that was already occupied, thus walking in on other guests). 2. I was then moved to room 1606, an upgrade from my previous room, I'm told. Ha! The upgrade is that the bathroom has more empty space because it's wheelchair accessible. Speaking of bathroom, the bathtub was dirty, the panel in the ceiling was lifted, and there was a huge water stain near the base of the toilet. Seems like they upgraded the lobby, and neglected the rooms. 3. Saturday morning while lying in bed stretching, my leg rubbed against something that felt like a domino. I popped out of bed and lifted all the sheets, and found a bar soap. The soap looked unused, but why is there a bar soap in the sheets? Why didn't the housekeeping staff that made the bed notice this? There are many hotels in the area. To stay here, at the Westin Oaks, is to settle for less. Based on this experience, I've concluded that this hotel is held to a lower standard than other Westins. The positive is the proximity to the Galleria, other shopping centers, and so many restaurant options. Also, they have the standard Westin bed that feels like clouds. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay at the Westin Oaks! Always a great stay at the Westin Oaks in Houston. The staff takes great care to make my time with them productive and relaxing. Thanks and see you again soon! September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Convenient location This hotel has all of the good Westin qualities, great staff, clean, comfortable room, ease of checking in/out. Like other city Westins, there is limited food availablity in house - room service, bar, and attached all-purpose restaurant. But since it is located next to the Houston Galleria and all the possibilities there, I understand why there is not an upscale restaurant in house. As mentioned, great location for a shopping stay in Houston. September 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spacious Rooms Room was Clean and nicely appointed. September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overpriced Different prices for other guest who were at the same conference. September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great overall Staff was very nice, room was nice, the night time noise was pretty bad even with the tv on. Also, tub was obviously clogged...stood in 2 in of water to shower. September 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad air conditioner did not work right, ice machine on the floor did not work, cable was bad. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1415 I have stayed at this hotel before this time the bed was not comfortable the tub shower fixture was plastic that is not what I am use to seeing in the westin that was tacky!! September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by sheets I loved your clean crisp, nice smelling, smooth sheets. August 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel left a lot to be desired! The whole stay was not good. The first room I was given had no running water. The second room I was given had water, but no cold water. Then the lights in the bathroom went out. I will say the maintenance guy was very quick to come and replace the light. The walls are super thin! I could hear the maintenance guys in the next room at 11 PM plunging the toilet! When I checked out I was not asked how my stay was. Overall it was a very disappointing experience and I will not be staying there again. August 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location This property has a great location. The new improvements look great and after 10 or more years you finally have the escalators working! August 26, 2012
  • 2015-07-27T16:35:46.853-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_359, tr_359
  • loc_en_US, sid_1054, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>