The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

  • 5011 Westheimer at Post Oak
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 335 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs a massive overhaul Steer clear of this hotel. It needs a massive overhaul. I put towels over the top of my pillows because they were not suitable to sleep on with just a pillowcase. Carpet, etc. all needs to be changed. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL The location and the shopping was perfect...but the hotel was the best. My kids could not hardly get me out of the bed because it was so devine. I give it a 5 STAR RATING. February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff needs to be more attentive Much confusion about my reservation stay, kept locking me out of my room and overcharged for valet parking. Took over four phone calls and three desk visits to correct. July 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clean my room On Saturday, we were out of the room from 11: 00 a. m. to 3:00 p. m. and the room was never clean. This is totally unacceptable September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just okay Gret if you are planning to shop, but no platinum upgrade, bar was closed at 10 PM. March 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Room Poor Service This was my daughters Birthday weekend and she wanted to shop at the galleria. So I rented 2 rooms at the Westin Galleria which is a great location. But once we arrived one room was not ready.. There was no time frame when it would be. Check in was at 3pm and the room was not ready until 5pm!, and that was after 4 calls to the front desk. This delayed my daughters B-day plans. We only got a 30 dollar meal credit for the room, which they never gave us. I was advised I would hear back from the manager and I did not get one phone call from the manager. Then when we finally got the other room and we had to leave for dinner it took valet an hour to get our car! Which I had to pay 27.00 for that. Received the final bill at check out and I was charged twice for valet and did not get the meal credit so still had to call back to the hotel to get that fixed!! I would have to say this was the worse experience ever!! The rooms looked nice and the location is great but the service is not what I expected. They did not even document that I was suppose to get the little 30.00 credit for the food so the next person did not know what was going on. I spent more time with the hotel service than with my daughter. This was only for 1 night! September 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My friend and I stayed overnight at Westin Oaks during a women's conference which thousands of women were visiting the Houston area. I prepaid my room for 2 double beds and upon check-in, I was told they had over sold the rooms and only had a king plus a roll away available. I was offered only a $30 discount. The room was clean; however, the noise level was unacceptable. At checkout the next morning, the hotel was understaffed and there were only 2 people working the valet station for a vast amount of women needing their vehicles to return to the conference. It was unacceptable and I requested a refund for valet services which was promptly given. February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a nice stay! I don't know the circumstances surrounding those who have had bad experiences with this hotel, but my stay is always lovely. I come to Houston about once a month and always stay at this hotel due to its location. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is outstanding. My room is always ready upon my arrival and is very clean. Keep up the great work! October 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the most part, great hotel This was the second time staying here in 2 months. The hotel has been remodeled and is awesome, especially the elevators! The valet and parking attendants are excellent ! They are very welcoming , professional, and friendly beyond what a guest would expect. One attendant offered to take and dispose of the trash in the car! Awesome! But... The bartenders need more training with customer service! No personality and rude! Bad experience.. Advised the front desk manager of the incident. He apologized and offered a food credit but was unable to use it as we left the next morning! I will definitely return to the hotel but will be hesitant to visit the bar! October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You I would like thank the whole staff but primarly Mrs Patricia Voss and her assistant Eva Maria ALvarez, for making this exceptional trip, even much better. as their attention to detail, was extraordinary, also the whole staff at front desk who were extraordinarliy nice, room service , very good indeed. will reall go back soon to spend another week end at the galleria. September 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleanliness/Comfort I was very disappointed with the Westin hotel this time around. I have stayed here numerous times on both business/pleasure and the staff has always attended to our needs. First, I requested my room be cleaned twice at 1pm and 3 and no one came to clean the room. I personally spoke to the front desk clerk (Mia/Maia) who wasn't very friendly. I called again at 8pm and asked for clean towels at least since my room wasn't cleaned and finally one lady came by. Second, we couldn't sleep due to a loud noise coming from some (machinery) on Saturday night. I expressed my concerns to a Lady up front who I thought was your am shift manager but she didn't have an answer for me. December 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 12 year anniversary Tried to check into hotel at 4p. Room not cleaned yet. I got room for 12 year anniversary and purchased romance package with champagne and strawberries. Room wasn't ready so romance package was not either which could have been placed in room upon arrival if they had room ready which again they didn't. Decided to come back to hotel after a concert, left luggage with hotel and they said they would take it to our room when room was ready. Got back to hotel later in evening. No romance package or luggage in room. Walked into cold empty room. What I thought would be a well planned surprise for my wife was ruined by carelessness of evening staff. Very disappointed with hotel. October 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just OK My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many, many times over the years. We used to get Starwoods upgrades to extremely nice rooms as gold members. We are still gold members and haven't had a upgrade in years. I don't like the fact of having to pay for a nicer room, but at least I know what I'm getting. The rooms are extremely hot, despite what the air is set on. I only mention this as it seems to be a trend. My husband ordered champagne and strawberries to be in the room at 7 PM, but they did not arrive until after 8. I will stay at this hotel again, the location is wonderful. Just no longer what I'm used to. July 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Freezing Cold Room - Comedy of errors I stayed at the Westin Galleria during an unseasonably cold week in October. I could not get the air conditioning to turn off or the heat to turn on and a front desk person told me there was nothing they could do because they depend on the Mall next door to control whether the hotel is in the heat or AC mode. During my stay the power went out and no emergency lights came on. I managed to reach the front desk on my cell phone and was told they could not make an announcement to the hotel guests because the generator and fire alarm system did not work. I emailed the hotel afterwards and never received a response. There are many great Starwoods in Dallas, this run down hotel with a deteriorating lobby and aging hallways is not one of them. December 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by High Expectations I've heard so much about the Westin. How luxurious the rooms are and so on. My expectations were high. Perhaps too high. The staff were nice and helpful, and the room was larger than normal and nice. That's the problem. The room was only nice. I was so disappointed in the bathroom. It was just normal: small with a regular tub/shower and in need of some cleaning around the baseboards (like most hotel rooms). Also, our neighbors had a dog that barked a lot. The best thing about the hotel was the location, with entrances to the mall. That alone warrants my recommendation. Otherwise, it's just a nice place to stay. December 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is a disaster The security access from the parking garage to the guest rooms needs to be implemented - it is NOT safe. The parking options for guests are not adequate. You have to invest at least 20 minutes to drive around the parking garage to "self park", and the valet service is poorly managed. The guys are nice enough, but they take too long - not staffed adequately. The gym is a pit. The room service dining was bad each time I ordered, and was priced out of control. Oh, and they lost my dry cleaning. I travel 4 nights a week, each week, and this hotel was by far the most disasterous experience I've ever encountered. August 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Falling short of competition in Galleria I stay in the Galleria area every week. Three things that I expect to have at the rate I pay that I get at other competing hotels that I don't get when I stay here are 1. A concierge lounge for platinum guests or at least a coffee station in the lobby. 2. Internet service that works. It is rarely able to even load a google page. Peak times make it difficult to get to any page. 3. A functioning fitness center. The workout facility is much too small for the size of hotel. Machines are usually taken and some are broken (errors in treadmills that don't recognize user on belt and touch screens that don't work). November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointments Mini bar empty at arrival and never restocked, safe in closet not in working order (no lock on it), no attention as Starwood Preferred guest, lots of issues with lobby elevator upon arrival when trying to get up to room, correct room rate not noted in reservation and required an extra trip to the front desk (have to say, though, that the attendant at front desk was extremely helpful with rectifying rate but I would have preferred not have had to spend the time to do this), although I requested the "green" option in advance and hung the sign on the door no voucher card was slipped under the door overnight October 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Badly Managed incompetent Staff Our first room the toilet did not flush the safe was broken as well as the TV. We had a 3 night stay and a different rate and reservation for each night for a reason unknown to us, therefore each day our key was deactivated and we had to get a new one every day. We ordered breakfast for 8 AM and it came at 6 AM ! We wanted to get a drink at the bar and it was closed at 10 PM on a Fri. night ! No mini bar, no shower cap or any amenities. We were there because it was where a Meeting was being held. We complained repeatedly and all they did was write off 2 breakfasts. Our whole stay should be written off! September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel had excellent service I loved everything about this hotel. The beds and pillows were heavenly and all the staff were so helpful and very friendly. They also had great advice from everything from restaurants to clubs in the area. Everyone was very friendly. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by After Thanksgiving relaxation We arrived on Black Friday and was not sure how our stay was going to be, but was pleased it turned out very well. We did the valet and it was worth every penny. The guys were very prompt and courteous. The kids loved the hotel since it was connected to the Galleria mall and when you walk into the mall it was right above the ice skating rink. From our corner balcony 2 queen room on the 20th floor, we could see that there was a walking/running track around the glass dome over the mall. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable. It was a perfect family relaxation after a busy Thanksgivings. November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by strategic location next to Galleria Very convenient and quiet September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fitness center Although the rest of the hotel is very nice, the equipment in the fitness center is in need of improvement. There are 3 elliptical machines, however one of them was in use, so I discovered that the other two did not work at all. I then moved over to the treadmills- I did find one that worked, however the digital screen to adjust your workout info, tv channel/volume, etc did not work very well. And then towards the end of my workout, the speed on the treadmill would just randomly start decreasing. This is my first stay at the Oaks, usually I stay at the Galleria, and I've used the fitness center over there. It seems like the Oaks is where all the old machines go after they are removed from the Galleria. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs work The hallway to the room looked like a freeway, with the walls banged up from years of cleaning cart abuse. The room was outdated, and there was no information about the hotel amenities in the room except for room service. The pool was closed, there was no gym onsite (you had to go across the mall to the other side) and parking was very over-priced for the situation. Also, and perhaps most importantly, the scented leaf-shaped soap is terrible for me personally. I know some people like this, but I use scentless sensitive skin soap at home, so I have no options when staying at a Westin. There were 2 bars of this soap--I suggest that you provide one bar that is unscented bathing soap rather than decorative soap. February 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by slow check in the hotel is ok, what you would expect for the price. Parking is a nightmare. The free parking is a garage that is almost always full. There is pay parking for $13 a day and expensive valet parking. Our check in was the worst I remember. The hotel was fully booked with a dance competition and other events. When I checked in there were all of 2 desk clerks working out of a possible 6 positions. And even with everyone having a reservation the process was slow. I asked where ice was on my floor (4) and was told that it was near the elevators... actually no ice on that floor March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Food needs work badly Pregnant coworker got a raw burger - and I do mean raw. Inedible. I ordered warm freshly baked cookies which were literally refrigerator cold. Room service breakfast included undercooked sausage. Another coworker complained her steel cut oatmeal was so undercooked it was still crunchy. I ordered the steel cut oatmeal the next day, mine was fine, but they forgot to include the supposed "dried fruit" that it included. Also confusing is the restaurant has no bread. My choices were sliced whitebread or a bagel.... with my $30 entree? That one is just baffling. Something is up with the tap water here too. I was traveling with two others, both of whom thought something tasted off. On the plus side, their salmon was nice. April 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Houston Westin Oakes I have stayed in Westins throughout the world and this was the worst Westin I have stayed in. The staff need a customer service class. December 15, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Did Not Meet My Needs On February 6, I spoke to a representative and requested early check-in for my stay, and was told that the hotel could accommodate my request and there will be rooms available. Once I arrive to the hotel this morning, the representative, who was not friendly nor was she smiling told me that I would not be able to have early check-in and there were no rooms available. She was not friendly in her approach. This was an inconvenience for me, as I specifically arrived early from out of town, because I was told that my early check-in request would be honored. February 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Ever Amongst all the Westins that I have stayed, this is the worst Westin ever and does not live up to the Westin name. My room was not properly cleaned. Check-in and Check-out was a mess as the reception keep getting my reservations wrong. Now that I have finally returned home, I checked my credit card statement and to my dismay, my credit card has been charged by Westin wrongly! My stay has been extremely disappointing. I sincerely hope that the management will take steps to improve the level of service provided to the guests. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Gift Stay was a birthday gift for my 13 year old daughter. She loved the quick access to the Galleria Mall and the Cheesecake Factory. The view from our room out to Westheimer was lovely at night. The only problem was getting to the right garage. I called the front desk on my way there and was told to use the Brown Garage. Well, that did not put us as close to the hotel as I would have liked. The Blue Garage would have been better. August 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>