The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

  • 5011 Westheimer at Post Oak
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 337 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rates and ratings Stayed at the Westin for a three day training session which I booked for five days. Location is excellent, connected to the Galleria Mall. The biggest problem I had is we supposedly had a reduce rate. I booked my room on the internet web site for the regular rate then tried to get the reduced rate which Westin would not honour. I tried on the phone and the front desk which they would not honour their reduced rate. DON'T PREPAY AT THE WESTIN. August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Our room was in good condition on arrival and provided all the necessary amenities to make the stay there enjoyable. We are finding that most hotel beds are now too soft for us and wonder if others have mentioned this also. The upholstered chair was quite comfortable and great for reading and relaxing, all it needs is a matching foot rest of some kind to prop feet on. The shower head was great and worked well but the toilet was a bit wobbly. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I feel there needs to be more staff to check guests in and out of the hotel. For the price the hotel charges I didn't feel it was worth it, but I know it's because of the location. I got charged for valet on my room and paid for valet. I called to hotel to discuss the overcharge and no one returned my phone call. I'm not really happy about the customer service. Yes this is a large hotel but customer service should be at the top of your list. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2 nights in July In general the room was fine, and the comfort/cleanliness/guest services were great. My complaint is I was told to provide my email address for receipt only and that it would not be used for anything else. Now, I get this email from Westin and it is my work email address that I try very hard to avoid getting such emails for. Also, I did not like the elevator deal where you push the floor you want before you get in, and then once you get it July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Construction Noise and Elevators Appreciate road construction (Hotel Driveway/Valet) is necessary but it would have been nice to know upon checkin that it would occur throughout the night hours given I was staying a full week. Room was clean, very comfortable and hotel personnel extremely helpful. Would suggest the new elevator system is confusing and it's not just a "getting used to period" as I have stayed with you several times since implementation. Thank you, Michael October 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value and comfort I have stayed at this property twice in the past and, with obvious remodeling and upgrades done recently, I found my stay to be very comfortable and as much of a great value as I have experienced with any other Westin stay. The hotel location at the Houston Galleria Mall provides numerous and diverse options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. My room was large, clean, and was quiet inspite of it being located near the elevators. December 5, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Room Upgrade and a Cold Shower = Disappointment A benefit of achieving Platinum status is typically a room upgrade, if only to the SPG floor. There was no upgrade, no club floor or club at this hotel, and no hot water for my 5 am shower. There were no electric plugs near the bed for my CPAP machine, unless you count the wall of plugs that all were dead. With all the options available in Houston, this will not be at the top of my list of paces to stay. Very disappointing experience. March 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dated, worn down facilities We upgraded to an executive suite and the rooms were very dated, old, with broken light fixtures and a bathtub that did not drain. After we switched rooms, the next room was still dated with somewhat "dingy" bathroom. It was very disappointing based on stays in other Westin hotels, which have always been modern, very clean and excellent interiors. I will say, however, that all staff and employees were very gracious and hospitable. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Because of holida shopping season, traffic was horrendous from Post Oak to this place. The room itself was spacious, comfortable, appreciated the free water, fridge was not cold enough. The best thing about Westin Oaks is the location to Galleria - so convenient. The front desk was really nice. We asked for a quiet room so we were moved away from elevators and ice machine. But even at 8th floor the traffic can still be heard . December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservation I reserved a deluxe room with a view, high floor, arrivinfg at 3:00. I got there at 4:00 and they had no rooms of the type I had reserved. They didn't have one ready so I could wait or take a different room. They only thing available was a low floor room. After and 10 minutes of looking he found a double queen 8th floor accesible room. There was no offer of a price reduction, no cold bottle of water, nothing, just tough beans! June 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel staff very professional I had a bad experience with excessive noise on the hotel floor during the night for 2 nights in a row. There were very irate guests in the room next to mine and they were not concerned with others that may be asleep. Both nights I was awakened at 2am to yelling and screaming that went on for a couple of hours. The 2nd night, the hotel had the guests removed. Because my phone did not work, I was unable to call and complain. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Traffic All I heard was traffic all night when trying to sleep and I was located on the 12th floor. Since I was the there with a sick family member that was having treatment in the area I could not move to another room of change hotels. I made that clear when I was making the reservation with spg. SPG was extremely helpful and helping me find a a hotel that was near the treatment center which I believe which is most important. February 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nothing to recommend here I specifically requested a room that was located away from the elevators, to not have to deal with the noise factor. I am convinced that because this was a company event, that there was block of rooms reserved for meeting attendees, and no flexibility was indicated on the part of the front desk. Being a SPG member counts for nothing. Also, the exercise room is a joke, way too small, cramped and not up other Westin's. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience The room was very nice, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the offer of $5.00 gift card for "green" incentive was a great touch. Staff was awesome and willing to help - always did so with respect and a smile. The whole experience including check-in and check-out was pleasurable. Only suggestion is a ramp to the parking garage: hard to carry suitcases up or down the stairs and they are not handicap accessable. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Becoming a bit dated The Westin Oaks is showing some age. The lobby is tiny. They offered us not to change the linens and then did not bring any coffee for the next morning. Room service had a 24% service charge for breakfast and then we were expected to tip the deliverer. The toilet stopped up due to no fault of ours. The engineer came quickly, but then no one came to clean up the mess. We had to catch a housekeeper in the hallway. February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, with high-end features This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel for a conference that I didn't yearn to be home. The hotel was comfortable and not sterile feeling. I was very relaxed, and as a result, I enjoyed the conference and I didn't mind the 3 days away from home. I enjoyed being able to walk the Galleria after a day of sitting through meetings. I have come home rested and energized by my conference event and experience. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience All of my problems with my experience have to do with the room itself. The toilet leaked all over the floor The hot water took forever and fluctuated temp The shower head was chest level The cordless phone did not work Temp in room was cold or bone dry There was constant noise in the walls from pipes and vents throughout the night - wasn't able to sleep and that is the primary requirement for a hotel room. January 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by room Upon arrival to my room, it appeared to not have been cleaned properly. There were used glasses in the room. The bathroom tub/shower was not cleaned. There were several "hairs" in the tub. I had to rinse it prior to use. The trash cans in the room had not been emptied. Lastly, to shower was a sport as the water went from frigid to scalding hot. I was told maintenance would come by but they never did. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mixing Business and Pleasure My wife accompanied me on a recent trip to Houston so that I could participate in a conference sponsored by my college fraternity. We were also invited to attend a "black tie" dinner hosted by the same group that Saturday. The Westin Oaks was perfect for this because it was located near the conference and provided my wife plenty of entertainment and shopping while I was away. We had a wonderful time. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. We loved the shower in the bathroom and the got a great night's sleep in the kingsize bed. Every staff member we met was courteous and professional. On Sunday morning, before we checked out, we enjoyed a continental breakfast and coffee at the Starbuck's right outside the hotel in the Galleria Mall. As we watched the ice skaters we realized just what a wonderful trip we had. We plan to stay at the Westin Oaks again the next time we visit Houston. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location at the Galleria First time at this location - the elevators are very cool! Loved the fact that this hotel is attached to the Galleria mall - making dining options plentiful. Room was spacious and clean. Stay was uneventful. The only thing to note is that while they inquire whether you want to participate in make-a-green choice at check-in, they did not award the points after check-out until I followed up post-stay. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh Hotel-good place for corporate travelers Great location, easy free parking (valet optional for a fee) and hotel was updated and fresh on the inside. Nice soothing decor. Hotel is usually busy and get the sense that lots of corporate travelers use this hotel (harder for plats to get upgraded to suite). Overall, was impressed with this hotel. Exterior looked a little dated but the interiors are very nice. For corporate travelers, great hotel July 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by staff not qualified very bad receptionist, neighbor was with music very loud. called reception 12 am, 1 am, 2 am and didnt control the person with the music. at 6 am started again with the music. this happened august 20,2014 my room was 1712. August 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs fixing My family and I usually stays at Westin hotel on our vacation. But I was disappointed with the room. The shower head is too short and the faucet is not working right. Refrigerator is not getting cold, safe is not working either. And the rool the bed was very uncomfortable. And the noise from midnight till 4 am was crazy. Although the staff were very nice. Best thing is it's connected to the mall. March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Two days stay Excellent location for the Hotel, the Restaurant is a great choice, for the amount paid compare to going outside looking for better prices, no need!. I had breakfast , it was excellent the choice of baked potatos with the eggs (made anyway you like) their offer is original and very welcome. Lunch is also very good. I only miss the free wired internet which is offered for free in many hotels. August 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not get the room reserved, nor both breakfasts passes I reserved an Executive King and was told none were available upon arrival at 4pm. I was given the option to wait (with no estimated time, just unknown) or take another room with 2 Queens. Due to the fact I was scheduled for a corporate dinner at 5pm, I could not afford to wait and relunctantly took the 2 Queens. My reservation also included breakfast for 2 but I only received a coupon 1. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Comfortable Bed I was very impressed with the room cleanliness. The Queen bed was extremely comfortable, which allowed me a restful night. The shower had two nice shower heads. The only discomfort was the shower had very low water pressure and the water temperature fluctuated from hot to cold during my early morning shower. At least I was able to continually adjust the temperature throughout my shower. February 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Hotel in the USA Great location but hotel is old. Carpets, sinks, toilets, show all kinds of wear and tear. Good luck on getting a final copy of your bill as well. Westin went to the absurd policy of not placing a copy of your bill under the door and if you want one, you have to take your time to go by the front desk. They will almost never email you a copy because they can't train their people correctly. June 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by HOTEL STILL LOOKS OLD.COMPLAINT WITH THE MANAGER. I stayed February 2 to 5. First day the shower broke appart,hot watter was running and i could´nt close it..so my wiffeand I could not get in to the shower that day..I complaint wit the manager and she did not care about that problem..she was going to compensate us for the inconvinience and she did not do anything. .also bed linning where yellow and dirty. We do not reccomend that hotel February 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel Our room was indeed roomy. I liked that there were two suit case stands. I concerned though why a hotel of this stature would not have Wi-Fi? It is close to the NRG stadium. The staff was friendly. Also, since we went with the ECO service, it was nice that the staff came by in the morning offering us the coffee supply replacements. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators are horrible New fangled elevators where you press your floor before you get in the elevator are terrible. Had to wait for a long time regardless of the time of day or night and regardless how busy they were. The phone in the room didn't work. One of the lamps didn't work. Asked the front desk in person for more towels (couldn't call b/c phone not working) and the towels were never delivered. March 24, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>