The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria

  • 5011 Westheimer at Post Oak
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77056
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 343 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Drinks Prices Enjoyed my stay. Staff was excellent. I'm from Austin,TX. I visit our local Westin often. I was astounded at Houston Westin food and drink prices. $12 for a glass of Kendall Jackson Chardonnay. So much more, but l leave it there. Reassess. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My stay The overall experience was very nice. All the hotel staff was very professional and helpful. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by They called me by name I liked the fact that the employees always addressed me by name. It felt personal. When I requested an extra bar of soap the house keeping worker hesitated be for giving me one. I had to ask several times before she complied. June 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It took forever to get Car from velvet parking I called front deck 15 min before heading out and still waited for more than 20 min to get my car from velvet parking. I asked the velvet parking staff 3 times to get my car sooner. The answer was "we're busy in the morning, sir". Understood but it should take half hour to get a car. Not even counting $27 parking fee I paid everyday. June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meh (Maybe Merge the Two Galleria Westin Hotels?) I am split on whether I would recommend the hotel because the price is reasonable and if you're only going to sleep there, it might be worth it. Pros: Staff: the front desk, phone and housekeeping staff were very polite. Location: in the middle of the Galleria, one of Houston's better areas. Room Service: food was pretty good. Cons: Facilities: the hotel feels dated and slightly institutional (e.g., the bathrooms could be in a hospital). The gym is in a windowless room in the basement - in stark contrast to most of the Westins in which I've stayed where it's on an upper floor, is large and has a view. Staff: - although friendly, the service was "off", e.g., no menu in room (took two phone calls and 25 minutes to get one) and my bill was incorrect (so I had to call and correct it). - I asked for the Green option but housekeeping still came to the room. - Several times when I came to the front desk, minimal staff were visible because they were chatting in the back. Room Service: service time was good, but (similar to facilities), the presentation was off, e.g., cart too big for items, tears in table cloth - lack of attention to detail. Consider only having one Westin in that area - maybe the attention to detail, facilities, etc. would be better if efforts were on a single hotel. June 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A bit disappointed The hotel sells itself being centrally located in a great part of town but the rooms are a bit old, especially the wash rooms. In addition the business center was very disappointing. As a platinum member, I should not have to pay $15 to print a couple of B&W pages. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservation I reserved a deluxe room with a view, high floor, arrivinfg at 3:00. I got there at 4:00 and they had no rooms of the type I had reserved. They didn't have one ready so I could wait or take a different room. They only thing available was a low floor room. After and 10 minutes of looking he found a double queen 8th floor accesible room. There was no offer of a price reduction, no cold bottle of water, nothing, just tough beans! June 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facilities need some improvements 1. The internet bandwidth we very unsatisfactory. I use SKYPE a lot during travel and the calls will drop off all the time. Had to use my MIFI device. 2. Room fridge didn't cool at all even at the highest setting 3. Bathroom in the gym was stinky; made workout intolerable June 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Hotel in the USA Great location but hotel is old. Carpets, sinks, toilets, show all kinds of wear and tear. Good luck on getting a final copy of your bill as well. Westin went to the absurd policy of not placing a copy of your bill under the door and if you want one, you have to take your time to go by the front desk. They will almost never email you a copy because they can't train their people correctly. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit tired Hotel is a bit tired looking. Staff is great but only so much you can do for this dated facility. New beds and furniture but for some reason not as warm a feeling to the room as newer Westins. Bar just wasn't very fun or inviting. Restaurant was way overpriced for breakfast. Noisy at night June 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I expected. I've stayed at the Westin in before and the details which normally set this brand apart are purposely left out at this property. I was disappointed to say the least. The Westin Oaks does have a concierge floor nor does it have the arrival reception for guests. When i booked the room the reservations agent actually told me these were available for me at this location. My room was not cleaned properly. The tub was dirty and the toilet seat was the worst quality I've ever seen in a hotel. Even the molding around the toilet plumbing was horribly done. The bathroom was in overall poor condition. Shower ceiling tiles are in need of proper repair. The worst thing is, I stayed in an Executive Suite!!!! I can only imagine the condition of the regular guest rooms! I'm am also in the hospitality industry. I'm an executive for a large casino resort hotel in Louisiana with over 500 rooms so I know what it takes to run a business. I expected more from the Westin brand. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by suggest you think twice about staying here This hotel requires a significant amount of attention in order to get it up to the typical Westin standards. The hotel is a in a great location. We had a total of 5 male adults in our party and I had booked 2 rooms with the intention of hoping to get an upgrade to a suite using the combination of my Platinum status and my Suite nite award certificates. While the suite was not available given they only have a few that was not an issue. The issue I had was that I wanted a roll away bed for the thrid adult in one of the other rooms. They could not accomodate us saying it was fire haszard although the room was probably about 500 square feet. Then when they said we could move to another which had a King bed and a pull out sofa, and they would bring us a rollaway bed, one was conveniently not available (they were all out). When we opened the pull out sofa there were crumbs all over the sheets. So then we had to call for a set of sheets and pillows and blankets because there were none in the room. The room had a fridge but the cord did not reach the outlet, so we moved it, but the fridge was not working. The shower head was basically falling out of the wall. there are many other hotels in the area so i recommend looking elseware until they can get their act together. June 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Quite Sold... ...on my experience. When checking in, I had to inquire about a room upgrade. Normally one is immediately offered to me, if available. The young lady was helpful with hotel information and kindly put me in a corner room for more space. Free self parking is a nightmare, you have to fight for a parking space with the several hundreds of Galleria shoppers...unless you want to shell out $30 each day for valet. I was put on an SPG floor next to a rowdy bunch of teens who (I'm guessing) were there for a prom that was being hosted on site. Why would a hotel do that? One would think that PREFERRED guests would be placed on floors with like minded preferred guests (business travelers, guests who frequent hotels and are mature enough to understand hotel etiquette) so as to limit disturbances. Room was nice, clean, and smelled fresh...but bathtub drain was clogged and slow. While I did not call to have it fixed (I was exhausted and wanted uninterrupted sleep) I was miffed by the fact that I even had to deal with this situation. Why wasn't this reported by the previous housekeeper-surely it was noticed when the room was last serviced?? My free breakfast left something to be desired. It came with coffee, juice, a small pastry, and yogurt (for a value of $22). I was not allowed to swap out for an equally or lesser priced item on the menu which would have been far tastier and more filling than yogurt and a muffin. Not sure where the logic in that is. I ended up just buying the other menu items, which were delicious. I would have commented on these things at checkout, but was not even asked how my stay was. Just a lukewarm "okay, all set...have a nice day". As a platinum member currently working on another year at the platinum level for 2014, I have seen and expected better. The service was not bad...but the experience altogether was lacking. I don't think that many things are taken into consideration-like getting your luggage to/from the underground car park up/down stairs, just to get into an elevator to go up a floor to checkin or putting 18 year olds on SPG floors. June 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great view from patio! changed rooms, but was not told there would be a price increase charged to our card-should have let us know that info and asked if we wanted to change! May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Suite not sweet! We rented a consular suite for a getaway night. Although there was ample room, there wasn't even a minibar. We requested one from the front desk and it never arrived. The front desk girl had a very bad attitude when we complained. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel & meeting experience! All services provided were on time and as scheduled. The entire staff was a pleasure to work with throughout our stay! We will definately book another meeting here in the future! May 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service! Unfortunately, this was not one of my better visits. Shortly after checking into my room, I noticed my phone was not working. I was going to have the valet get my vehicle. I also tried the phone in the hallway and that too did not work. I reported this issue to the front desk lady and she apologized and said a technician would come to the room and fix the issue. This never happened! In fact, I reported two other times with no follow-up! Unacceptable for a brand hotel like the Westin. As for the valet service, the workers need to be more aware of how dirty their shoes are during the day. The valet driver marked up my interior with dirt and when I asked him about it, he stated it was not him even though he shoes had the same dirt on them. Overall service, UNACCEPTABLE! May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Service Needs Improvement From the time I checked in at 3pm I noticed the refrigerator in the hotel room not working properly. At that moment, I requested another refrigerator for the room. I was celebrating my wife's birthday and just needed somewhere to place her cake and other items to stay cool for the night. It wasn't until 6pm and 2 additional calls later when we were exiting the room to enjoy our night in the city that the request had been resolved. Also, during each of those calls, which I made from my cell phone, I notified the hotel that the phone in my room wasn't working either. This was never resolved throughout the night or the next day before I checked out. When I had questions regarding my checkout or anything else, I continued to have to call the lobby from my cell phone to request anything. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Guest My stay was very satisfactory from the beginning to my departure. The front desk staff was very helpful, the housekeeping staff was very courteous and the food and services were excellent. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel, centrally located, very convenient and great service. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need an exterminator First morning at breakfast we had to ask 4 times to get glass of water. Second morning had to kill a large roach in the bathroom. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by the hotel is expensive! The stay was great but for a one night stay it was $300 and I m sure I didn't get my money worth. I could have stayed at other hotels for half that price and had breakfast for free. It was my first time to stay there and I font think I'll stay again for that price. May 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is outdated This hotel is in a great location, but it is tired and in need of updating. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good stay My room was not ready at 245pm. 3 of the 4 treadmills were not hooked up to the televisions. The concierge was on his second day on the job and knew nothing. April 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I feel there needs to be more staff to check guests in and out of the hotel. For the price the hotel charges I didn't feel it was worth it, but I know it's because of the location. I got charged for valet on my room and paid for valet. I called to hotel to discuss the overcharge and no one returned my phone call. I'm not really happy about the customer service. Yes this is a large hotel but customer service should be at the top of your list. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Air conditioner I forgot one thing. The air conditioner was so loud that we had to turn up the TV 5 notches. April 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gross I should have read the reviews first.... The Westin Oaks is not the place to stay in Houston. We chose it for the location and because the hotel allows dogs. Here are all the negatives. 1. We reserved king executive suite. The only comfortable place to sit was on the bed. The sofa felt like a cheap dirty sofa. 2. We had no hot water for 2 days. It was luke-warm at best. 3. Hand-held shower head spewed water all over the bathroom. Which was dimly lite. 4. Wallpaper in the bathroom had been ripped in places. 5. Grout in bathroom was stained. 6. The only place for the dog to go to the bathroom was a tiny patch of grass. 7. There were no pooped bags, dog bowl etc. 8. The pool area was concrete and pool. The landscaping had been taken over by weeds. 9. The restaurant was over priced and we had to beg someone to wait on us. This was the first weekend my husband and I have had alone in 9 years. We wanted to stay in a comfortable, clean hotel. This was NOT a comfortable or clean hotel. Save your money and stay somewhere else. April 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has great beds Car keys were locked in car by valet. Westin Oaks Kitchen on Sunday we were seated but waited 10 minutes and no one came to table while we observed others being taken care of. Before leaving we spoke to the manager and went to another restaurant.What a disaapointment for a hotel restaurant. Poor service but the bed was wonderful in the hotel. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is well located, yet aged. We had 2 rooms, but it took 40 minutes to get hot water both in the evening and in the morning. We were late to our meeting. Refuse to get up 40 minutes early just to get hot water for a shower. Cannot do this again. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kids and Drunks Everything went well my first two nights but my last night at about 11:00 PM I had to call the desk to have them run about 30 kids away from the pool area they were cutting up and getting on top of the skylights for the mall, then at 3:30AM some drunks started yelling down the hall and THAT! ended any idea of getting some sleep before my flight. April 8, 2013
  • 2015-04-17T19:24:26.800-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_343, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_1054, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>