The Westin Nagoya Castle

  • 3-19 Hinokuchi-cho, Nishi-ku
  • Nagoya,
  • Aichi
  • 451-8551
  • Japan
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 6 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Guests over the age of 6 will be charged as an adult. Children 6 and under sleep free in existing bedding.

Rated 2.5 out of 5 by 15 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much better than the score suggests I did not expect much given the reviews, and I was positively surprised. I guess the hotel used the feedback to improve by the time I was visiting. The rooms were ok. My bathroom was spacious enough and felt fresh. I liked the design and the complimentary water and tea / coffee in the room. The hotel does not have a lounge, but I could take a buffet breakfast as my welcome amenity. I was also offered complimentary soft drinks at the Library Café. Overall, it was a good stay over. September 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin ever This hotel is probably qualified as the worst Westin Hotel. Westin/Starwood should be shamed to have this hotel carry their brand. I was given an upgrade in executive floor. The room was so small that I was embarrassed. Room was the smallest I ever stayed. Bathroom is like a motel bathroom. Room key was a metal key. I have traveled around hte world. this is definately the most out dated starwood hotel. Lounge was not open at around 650pm. I booked two days at the hotel I decided to cancel the second day right away. The restaurant was way over priced. Horrible experience. will not recommende to others. April 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the Worst hotels I've stayed in If I could have given zero stars I would have. I travel very often and especially in Japan. I've never had to travel to Nagoya but on this recent trip I had to stay for a single night. I can honestly say this hotel is a disgrace to the Westin brand. I have no idea why it's operating as is without MAJOR renovation and upgrades. Right of the bad, no upgrade, not even a "better" room or an SPG floor. In fact I stayed in a very beaten down, worn out and small nasty room with a DISGUSTING washroom that was on par with a public washroom. Superficially clean, but stains in the tub, cracked mirror, and a worn toilet seat. Also, the room was not even card entry, but a actual key entry room. It really felt like a motel room at BEST. The resturant prices were ridicously over-priced and the Lounge access was limited to served single drinks at a time and a plate of very cheap and minimal apetizers which the server was not willing to switch for me and even didn't take the items I didn't want off my plate when I ordered it. The room experience was so disappointing for me that I really just wanted to only sleep and get out as fast as I can. Very very terrible experience and I would not recommend it to ANYONE who has stayed at other Westin hotels. This is really going to disappoint you. This hotel is similar to Category 2 standards. December 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is not a Westin I'm a big fan of Westin and I usually stay there every time I travel. Love the attention to detail and the overall quality of the structures. Well, in this case this is definitely not what you expect from a Westin. The rooms are very small (even for Japan) and the furniture looks like the one of a cheap hotel. Every time in other SPG hotels I find a note from the General Manager, a plate of fruits and plenty of water. And of course full SPG status recognition. Here nothing of the above and only 2 small bottles of water. Moreover the club lounge is closed for renovation and I have to pay for my breakfast, that normally I get for free. And the quality and variety of the food is very unsatisfactory. When I point this out to the staff they replied that in any case in their club lounge they don't normally serve food! I think that SPG should review the affiliation of this hotel to the Westin brand. Overall not satisfactory experience. August 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible front desk and management experience I attempted to check-in at 12:15 pm. I was the only guest at the front desk and there were 4 front desk clerks just standing there. (so i was not attempting to check in during a busy check out time) The woman at the SPG desk was extremely cold and rude. I walked up and said "Good afternoon I am sorry I am a little early" and she replied "check-in is not until 2pm" She didn't even attempt to see if my room or any room was ready. I didn't expect to get into my room but I appreciate it when the hotel lets me check in so I can log in to the internet and work on my lap top. In the last few months I have checked into 5 other spg hotels before noon -sometimes as early as 7am. I was always given a very warm welcome and they never made me feel like I was inconveniencing them. Each hotel also offered me a complimentary breakfast being platinum since I arrived during their breakfast time (although I shouldn't technically get the free breakfast until the next day) I never EXPECT to get my room but I always appreciated it when every SPG hotel I have checked in early at made a special effort to get me set up - a card key to access the fitness club/spa, computer access, executive lounge access to work while I wait for the room etc. I then asked if I could get access to the fitness club while I waited until 2pm. It took her a few seconds to think about this crazy request. She gave me a card to use the fitness club. At 1:58 pm I went back to the front desk and stood a few feet away waiting until 2pm. Again I was the only guest and there were 2 front desk guys this time just standing there. At 2pm I approached the desk and said I would like to check in. The front desk man looked at his watch and then said OK I could check in. He did not say one word to me and just handed me my little pack with the key card and breakfast coupon etc. I had no idea if I was upgraded, was not given any details of executive lounge etc. I was disgusted by this rude welcome once again and asked for the duty manager. I told the duty manager how rude the two front desk staff were (Mr. M and Miss S) I also gave him a list of the last 5 spg hotels I checked in at much earlier and how accommodating they were. (2 of them were in japan -Sapporo and Osaka - so he couldn't use the "this is japan" excuse) Anyway after wasting 10 minutes of my time telling him how rude his staff were he replied with "Welcome" . That was the only thing he said! I burst out laughing and went to my room. The exec lounge was very nice - simple but quiet. The dinner in the restaurant - buffet - was the worst hotel buffet I have ever had in Japan. I can't write in detail about it because I don't want to think about it anymore. On a good note the fitness staff were great - so friendly with great English. Very helpful and so cheerful. The front desk manager should learn how to train his staff to be as friendly as the fitness club staff. The hotel management do not care about the guest experience. They made no effort to accommodate me and the duty manager didn't care at all about my complaint. Look at the reviews for this hotel. Not one English review was commented on by the management . All the other SPG hotels in japan make comments to the English reviews except this hotel. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience Since Joining SPG in 2005 I and my friends have booked two standard non-smoking rooms. We checked in late at around 7 pm. I asked if I could get an upgrade as I am SPG platinum member. I was told that rooms were fully booked including all suites. We were then assigned to standard rooms on 10 floor. Rooms were full of strong smoking smell. Staff who escorted us to the room said that these rooms are non-smoking and smell normal. Bathroom was very small similar to that you could find in a cheap motel. I then complained and requested to change the rooms. Surprisingly, we were assigned to Deluxe rooms on 8 and 9 floor. Rooms were smoke-free with big bathroom and separate shower. The point that I want to highlight here is about the dishonesty of hotel management. I was told at the time I checked in that hotel was full and upgrade was not available. However, after I complained and 10 minutes later, there were higher category rooms available!!!! I went down and asked to speak with General Manager, who surprisingly cannot speak English. I told him and his translator about what happened and asked him why I was not assigned to Deluxe room at the beginning. The answer was the front office staff did not know that there were other rooms available !!! In additions, I was informed that those two rooms were just cancelled !!! I will launch an official complain to SPG for a full investigation of this case. How come the front office did not know how many rooms were available? What a coincidence that 2 rooms were cancelled within 10 minutes after I checked in ??? We also had drinks and snack at the restaurant on the ground floor. The restaurant opens till 11 pm. When we arrived, it was 10:30 pm. The restaurant was empty. There was one lady standing at restaurant reception who prepared the table for us. She was unfriendly and sighed many times when we were trying to order our drinks and foods. It was not typical Japanese service you would expect. It was a nightmare experience that I have to cancel the second stay I planned earlier to come back 2 days later and decided to stay in non-Starwood hotel in town. This is in fact the first time I stay in non-Starwood hotel in the city where there is also Starwood property, as the Westin Nagoya is the only Starwood property in the city. May 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel but with minor complain Overall stay experience was good, but there are some minor problem we were facing during the stay. first, there are no complimentary drinking water or any coffee, Tea in the room, spoke to the front desk and was told, "need to pay"... kinda surprise as this is the first Westin that do no provide complimentary Drinking Water in the Room, for SPG Member. SEcondly, the location was not a right choice for Young couple, convenient store, bar/cafe, are not possible to find in near walking distance at late night. but, enjoying the Sun Rise View from our Room Windows, awesome! the bed is comfortable, included the extra bed we requested! July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed, i should have read the other reviews before booking! I concur with all the other negative reviews of this hotel, for all the same reasons. Most importantly, the management does not care about ensuring guest satisfaction. You almost get the feeling that they enjoy upsetting SPG members, and are doing it out of spite towards Starwood. When I booked the hotel, the website indicated there was a lounge, apparently this changed right after I booked, and the lounge is not really a lounge, and does no longer serve breakfast, or any real evening snacks or drinks. However, they should have notified guests who already had booked rooms with expected lounge access. When I checked in and as always asked about lounge, I was told no more lounge, and I did not get complimentary breakfast. I explained this is not what o expected, and front desk staff did not care. I asked for, and spoke to manager, again explained when I booked it was clear to me there was a lounge, and I felt deceived. He just couldn't care, and blamed Starwood and said they had told hotel lounge is too small and they can no longer use it as lounge. I explained how deceived I felt, but no care, even for a SPG Platinum he simple couldn't care, or offer a complimentary breakfast to ensure my satisfaction. Off I go to the Gym, I was shocked....th Gym is squeezed into a small basement room, with no air conditioning, temperature was 30 degrees Celsius, about 88 Fahrenheit, muggy, and smelly. Equipment is from the 80's, worn out with the seat covers cracked. They even have an old wooden treadmill!! Anyway, managed to get a work out in, and now I was hungry. But....it was after 9 PM, and no restaurants serve food after 9! Last order was 9PM. So, I look a room service menu, but only 4-5 boring dishes, so i asked about a restaurant walking distance from hotel...there is NONE!! Closest are 15 minutes by taxi, unless you want McDonalds. I asked, isn't it possible to get the kitchen to make a any of the other dishes (not the "late evening" dishes on room service menu which are plain and boring, answer was NO!). By the way, after Mid Night...there is NO room service what so ever...so do not arrive late or get hungry after midnight! By the way, the room was ok, but when I checked in I think she told me I got an upgrade, corner suite...LOL...it may be a little bit bigger than the usual quite small rooms in Japan, but it definitely wasn't anything near a suite!. The room while ok, is old, and I don't think is the heavenly bed! Its a shame it is the only Starwood property in Nagoya, but I for sure will not come back to this hotel. April 30, 2014
2 next>>