The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst brand promise in the Westin brand No recognition to Platinum members on arrival Room was very hot, mising shampoo, laundry bag Exercise room very hot. Felt like a sauna Restaurant service poor Rooms are old and poorly kept. Sink was clogged. Overall, the worst Westin I ever stayed . Poor brand experience. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay in Halifax The Westin Nova Scotian is a wonderful place to stay in Halifax. The seaport, Harbour Views, and Boardwalk are right there, with the market as added attraction. Staff are superb, room clean and cozy, sleeping and bath excellent. It's our favourite place to stay when we come to the city. October 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restful Room was comfortable and relaxing December 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty, run down and over rated Room and carpet were dusty and dirty. Arrived after midnight and did not take it up with the counter staff, Corners of room had duty in them . Behind corner of bed was FULL of dust dirt and others hair (was looking for a plug in). I understand that they want to keep the old world feel in the rooms as it is an older hotel ... But the trim and walls looked like they were salvaged from the Titanic that sunk years ago. Beat up and not painted well. I will NOT rush back. Many better hotels in Halifax for same money ! February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Halifax Once again one of the best westin I have stayed in. Staff go out of their way to assist you and make your stay great. Breakfast are incredible. December 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by THE TINY ROOMS We booked the hotel for our first trip together. With the price we paid for two days, we were very disappointed in our room. Phoned the front desk and they put us up on the eleventh floor. Getting off the elevator there was a sign that said FOR PREFERRED GUESTS, well we thought this was going to be a nice size room. It wasn"t. Very disappointed again, still the same room but with a bigger window. Pillows looked slept on. 600.00 dollars for 2 nites, and they charged 6.00 dollars for a bottle of water. Not impressed May 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude and unprofessional staff The westin Nova Scotian perpetually make mistakes with my account. I am never credited the points or stays. The front desk staff is rude and unfriendly. In fact, it looks like it gives them pleasure to treat guest badly. Every time I stay there, I have to go through very frustrating situations to get my stays and point with SPG customer service, which in itself is a disaster. I would call it customer . Every stay is a disappointment and I recommend you stay somewhere else. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home Away From Home The Westin NS provides a very welcoming, comfortable accommodation. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable and return guests are recognized upon arrival. The Westin has an excellent fitness centre; restaurant; conference facilities; private meeting rooms and the legendary Roy's Lounge. November 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I thought I give this hotel a second shot but to u dismay, it let me down agiain. - upon my arrival the front desk clerk had attiude, when I mentioned I had an issue on my last stay and that's why I hadn't been back she didn't even acknowledge it or offer an apology, just kept speaking to her colleagues as if I was't even there. - arrived in my room, to find hair on the floor and dirty towels... soon after there was a knock on my door and a lady came in and said I need to check your fridge, she took some of the previous guests items out and left garbage in it. I mentioned the hair and dirty towels and she said with a stern voice thats not my job, call the front desk... I chose not to. - the check-out clerk was very friendly and even help with my bags to the car. Over-all I will never stay here again and ensure that I advise my staff never to book this hotel. July 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs inprovement Rooms need remodeling. This is not a new hotel but that is part of the character. However, it needs to be remodeled. The last renovations were done in a shoddy manner. The wallpaper was peeling and there was caulking everywhere in a messy manner. It looked like a child installed it. June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was exceptional for our convention We stayed in the hotel for 10 days in April 2012 for a convention we were organizing and found the staff to be exceptional in helping us with all aspects we required. Banquet dept., shipping, housekeeping, front desk, bellmen, etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Hotel Convention services were amazing. Great staff and facilities. Hoop to go back there again someday. Restaurant staff were friendly but quite slow when you only have an hour to get back to the seminar. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has everything Outstanding location, super trained staff, great guest comfort and amenities, recentlty renovated dining room with tremendous food and service, best meeting space. From valet to room attendants all is top notch. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service, quality and location Still the best hotel in Halifax. Super service, strategic location and Westin quality. The city is growing into this hotel with new office towers, markets, convention facilities and waterfront access. February 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service Throughout the whole stay, I was treated exceptionally. Staffs are extremely helpful from front desk to valet. June 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good To start, I was very disappointed in the size of the room - it did not meet typical Westin standards. Also disappointed there was no platinum or awards night upgrade available. On the upside, we overlooked the harbour/Georges Island, etc. and that was endlessly entertaining. Saw my first Canada Day fireworks from the comfort of my room. Not happy with hotel staff person who wandered the dining room on our last night and castigated me for using a smart phone. Not his business. Access to rear parking lot was excellent - no switching elevator banks. Access to pool extremely difficult if you have mobility issues. Really enjoyed the dining room. July 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very uneven experience We stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian the weekend of Feb. 15-17, 2013 and I have to say that while under normal circumstances I would assume the hotel would be quite exemplary, unfortunately it failed to deliver for us. The overriding issue for us was that the ventilation system was not working, such that our room was consistently 80+ degrees, despite attempting to set the thermostat at 60. We mentioned this to the front desk both on Friday, then again on Saturday, and both times we were told and engineer would be sent to check things out... it never happened. Saturday overnight it got so bad we slept with three windows open and no sheets on the bed, but it was still sweltering. When I mentioned my disappointment upon checking out on Sunday, I was told, "Oh, you should have mentioned this to us - we could have sent up an engineer!"... I confirmed that I had, both days, at which point the front desk staff blushed and said, "Oh!" and then just kind of apologized. Furthermore, we were given a room on the second floor, which unbeknownst to us was apparently designated as the "dog floor". So on top of the unbearable heat/humidity level in the room, at various points Friday evening and into the night a dog could be heard barking either in the hall or in the room next door... Again, hardly optimal. Beyond all that - and I agree it seems an unusual amalgamation of events - the hotel was great. Exceptional friendly staff, superb location near the Seaport Market, nice facilities (gym, pool), and a great restaurant (Elements on Hollis) ranked among the best in Halifax. February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor inefficient service I travel frequently for conferences and have stayed in many hotels, not typically Westin. I experienced a number of problems with this hotel - I had asked for a cot to be placed in the room but the hotel staff wasn't aware of this when I checked in. The room had to be changed to a larger one to accommodate a cot. OK fine. But no cot was sent up and I had to call again to ask for the cot. Room service - I had to call 3 times to get an item sent up. I've never experienced this at any other hotel. Checking out - the hotel can't leave a copy of the invoice under your door for review prior to check out because the "doors are made soundproof and we wouldn't be able to slip it under the door". I was checking out at 5 AM and didn't have enough time to review the invoice. The person at the desk was not very courteous. Invoice - I was actually charged for the cot - even though the reason for the cot was that no two double bed rooms were available. I've never been charged by a hotel for a cot. I called the hotel to inquire and the person stated she would take it off the bill and email me the revised invoice. I didn't receive the invoice and called again two days later. I was told it was sent to an email address that wasn't mine. So overall, an atrocious level of service with recurrent errors, inefficiencies. On the plus side, the food was good and the room was quiet. But this hotel doesn't strive to make the stay relaxed or pleasant at all, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only other Westin I have stayed at was the one in Beijing and that was also a horrible experience. I would not book any Westin hotel in the future. October 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location walking distance to boardwalk activities. Spacious rooms. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Had an issue with the air conditioning, but staff was quick to rectify. The only recommendation I would make would be to remove the glass in the bathroom doors. Even though they are frosted, the silhouettes coming out of the shower, etc. leave nothing to the imagination. With the beds facing the door, it's a little uncomfortable when travelling with friends or with your children.We ended up hanging the bathrobe over the door in an attempt to have some privacy. Other than that, our hotel experience was a good one. August 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misguide desk manger I accidentally left my photo ID and my wallet when I left and your front desk manager is ready to through me and my family of 4 out onto the street, because the booking person forgot his photo ID. I offered my wife's ID and her credit card. I don't know if it is hotel policy, which means it is wrong, or misguided manager, which means lack of training. Either way, you are saying you guest is guilty without prove. After arguing for a while, the desk manager, I am quoting here, "against his better judgement" changed the reservation to my wife and let us into the hotel. I think he selected one of the worst room in the hotel for us. The room was noise. The update overlay old trimming that still visible. The electrical switch of old was sadly visible. Lack for free wifi was a major disappointment. VERY DISAPPOINTED. I will not return. August 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First visit to Halifax I was recommended by my good friend to stay at Westin Nova Scotian. Since I've never been to Halifax or Nova Scotia in general, I decided to make my reservation at Westin. I requested a room with a view and did get a gorgeous view. Everything was going well except my last night stay. Was woken up by couple of people running,slamming door and yelling in the hallway. All these happened past midnight. Overall, I did enjoy visiting Halifax and will definitely stay at Westin Nova Scotian in the future. Pros: walking distance to the boardwalk and seaport. All amenities within reach Cons: staff seem not very knowledgable about restaurant suggestion. I.e. restaurant that has live music...etc. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Your staff was excellent, I ran into a bit of a crisis upon check in when I realized I had accidentally left my drivers licence on the plane and had no photo ID, your front desk were professional and understanding with my situation. They took me at my word and checked me in on "good faith", I had my passport faxed soon afterwards, and was able to provide some proof within the hour. Your front desk associate not only trusted me, but given the obvious stress I was in, was very kind to give me a complimentary drink to help "ease the pain". Thanks to your staff, what would have been a very stressful evening, was turned around to a wonderful experience. I will definitely recommend your hotel!!! October 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed. I was disappointed with this hotel. We had two double beds and they were too short. My husband had to sleep sideways, and he's 5' 11". The windows are not upgraded and steam between the panes of glass, so while the view was present, the windows were not clear enough to see through. It's an older refurbished hotel and it presents that way. The bathroom has a contemporary vanity, but attention needs to be taken in cleaning between it and the bathtub. The amenities were nice, towels soft and plentiful, Starbucks in room coffee was nice. The price of bottled water in the room is FAR to high. $5.95 (plus tax) is simply not warranted. I would not recommend this hotel because it fell below my expectations. May 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience I was expecting to enjoy my stay at the Westin but I was very disappointed. Maybe that is because we stayed on a voucher rather than as an "out of pocket" expense. Either way it was not a good experience. The room was quite small and cramped for a king size and there was barely any hot water. We didn't open the window and opted to use the AC, however a number of house flys came into the room through the bathroom fan (which didn't operate). If you plan to use a hair dryer I don't recommend this hotel as it will just continually blow the breaker. Like I said, we used a voucher, which they honoured, however they didn't give us back the remaining balance - about 30 dollars. They said we should have used it for hotel services such as room service....kind of too late when you are checking out. As someone who works in business you cannot simply keep your customer's change (unless they allow it), whether they pay by credit, cash, or voucher - it's actually pretty rude. We would not recommend this hotel at all. July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't believe that this is a Westin It's a shame to see the poor condition of this hotel. It's not the fault of the staff, they try very hard but the standard of the hotel is VERY poor. By far this is the lowest level location for the Westin brand in canada. My room had a portable air conditioner when I walked in and it was an upgraded room for Spg platinum...... Need I say more. November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely but I always enjoy my stay at the Westin. I was quite disappointed with a couple of items this time out though. The bathroom was not clean and my heat did not work. Even after I asked maintenance to come and fix I still could not get the heat above 68. Warm enough when you are sleeping but when you are entertaining women wearing party dresses a higher temp would have been better. On the other side, I had room service which was delivered in good time considering the numbers being served that night and the people who took the order and the lovely girl who delivered were all very pleasant. December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Undermining The Westin Brand (1) My room had a funky smell, probably from the carpet. I kept windows open but the smell would not dissipate. I (2) The noise level is high. I had a nice corner room and yet I could hear gusts in the adjacent room. Not very restful. (3) Breakfast – awful. The Elements restaurant is depressing and the food is horrible. I was shocked to discover that skim milk, which I poured in to my coffee, has gone bad. It's really unpleasant to see curled milk in your morning coffee. (4) The staff is helpful but there is no way that they can make it up for the lack of proper management. June 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A disappointment Perhaps we expected too much with the Westin name. We did not expect the walls in our room to have some kind of soft-drink splatter on them. We did not expect to have no access to the fridge. We did not expect the unfriendly - even icy - service at breakfast on our first day. We did, however, find the reception staff to be very friendly, highly professional and helpful. Our second day breakfast server was also similarly friendly, professional and helpful (Jose). A notable positive feature of the hotel is that it is within walking distance of many main attractions; e.g., Pier 21, the wharfs, art gallerys, Garrison Brewery, downtown (shopping/restaurants), the Citadel and the Public Gardens. Buskerfest was fun! August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Summertime Location Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. You could not beat the location for ambiance and a chance to enjoy the Halifax waterfront during the summertime. We did run into a few snags with service (the cot we ordered was not in the room and we asked for it two more times; then they failed to remove it when we were done) but the front desk staff listened to our complaints and rectified the situation beyond our expectations. Beds were way too soft but that is a personal preference and the chance you take with hotel travel. All in all, we would stay here again. September 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable Room was not ready upon arrival. Room was a too hot! Thermostat was set at 85F and never cooled off. Could not sleep all night and checked out early to get out of the heat. Room window was damaged, fogged up and moisture between thermo panes blocking the view December 9, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>