The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 225 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel, just a bad night I stay at this property atleast 6 times per year and find it wonderfull.. except this past visit. Late arrival proved to afford me a small room at end of a long hall with limited light, no newspaper in moirning, long wait for room service with the front desk guy delivering, no mentioon of valet service, or recognitian of SPG platinum. perhaps an unfortunate night. i will hold this property as my choice for future visits. February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty, run down and over rated Room and carpet were dusty and dirty. Arrived after midnight and did not take it up with the counter staff, Corners of room had duty in them . Behind corner of bed was FULL of dust dirt and others hair (was looking for a plug in). I understand that they want to keep the old world feel in the rooms as it is an older hotel ... But the trim and walls looked like they were salvaged from the Titanic that sunk years ago. Beat up and not painted well. I will NOT rush back. Many better hotels in Halifax for same money ! February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by THE TINY ROOMS We booked the hotel for our first trip together. With the price we paid for two days, we were very disappointed in our room. Phoned the front desk and they put us up on the eleventh floor. Getting off the elevator there was a sign that said FOR PREFERRED GUESTS, well we thought this was going to be a nice size room. It wasn"t. Very disappointed again, still the same room but with a bigger window. Pillows looked slept on. 600.00 dollars for 2 nites, and they charged 6.00 dollars for a bottle of water. Not impressed May 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you go through the halls Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you walk through the halls and know its a old hotel, which was fine. We got to our rooms it was nice but the carpet had a large green/yellow stain on it or something, looking like someone or dog was sick. It had a smell in the room as well. I was excited they had a pool and hot tub. I went down the pool is all 4 ft deep and small and a very small but deep hot tub. It had alot of chemicals in it, had it get shower when I got back skin was burning. The water in both the pool and hot tub was green like and the pool did not look that clean had frizzy things in it by drain holes. Overall I would try another hotel, even though I thought it was amazing going in but did not think so when I left... February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The ceiling fell down It was a very wet and wild night. The rain apparently backed up under the roof and poured through the ceiling in my room 1115 Westin Nova Scotian. It was messy and wet. No one seemed interested until I spoke with the manager who was concerned and reversed charges on my breakfast and valet parking. But I wtill paid for a room with a ceiling that fell down, Not pleasant! February 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude and unprofessional staff The westin Nova Scotian perpetually make mistakes with my account. I am never credited the points or stays. The front desk staff is rude and unfriendly. In fact, it looks like it gives them pleasure to treat guest badly. Every time I stay there, I have to go through very frustrating situations to get my stays and point with SPG customer service, which in itself is a disaster. I would call it customer . Every stay is a disappointment and I recommend you stay somewhere else. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Service Fantastic service! Honestly felt like the service you would see in a movie or something! Everyone there was so friendly and helpful...Had a great weekend no thanks to the service at the Westin! February 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I thought I give this hotel a second shot but to u dismay, it let me down agiain. - upon my arrival the front desk clerk had attiude, when I mentioned I had an issue on my last stay and that's why I hadn't been back she didn't even acknowledge it or offer an apology, just kept speaking to her colleagues as if I was't even there. - arrived in my room, to find hair on the floor and dirty towels... soon after there was a knock on my door and a lady came in and said I need to check your fridge, she took some of the previous guests items out and left garbage in it. I mentioned the hair and dirty towels and she said with a stern voice thats not my job, call the front desk... I chose not to. - the check-out clerk was very friendly and even help with my bags to the car. Over-all I will never stay here again and ensure that I advise my staff never to book this hotel. July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in convenient location. We've stayed at this Westin location many times over my lifetime, and found it to be a very convenient spot. The staff are courteous. Interesting places within walking distance of the hotel. Would recommend. February 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs inprovement Rooms need remodeling. This is not a new hotel but that is part of the character. However, it needs to be remodeled. The last renovations were done in a shoddy manner. The wallpaper was peeling and there was caulking everywhere in a messy manner. It looked like a child installed it. June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was exceptional for our convention We stayed in the hotel for 10 days in April 2012 for a convention we were organizing and found the staff to be exceptional in helping us with all aspects we required. Banquet dept., shipping, housekeeping, front desk, bellmen, etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Hotel Convention services were amazing. Great staff and facilities. Hoop to go back there again someday. Restaurant staff were friendly but quite slow when you only have an hour to get back to the seminar. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has everything Outstanding location, super trained staff, great guest comfort and amenities, recentlty renovated dining room with tremendous food and service, best meeting space. From valet to room attendants all is top notch. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service, quality and location Still the best hotel in Halifax. Super service, strategic location and Westin quality. The city is growing into this hotel with new office towers, markets, convention facilities and waterfront access. February 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service Throughout the whole stay, I was treated exceptionally. Staffs are extremely helpful from front desk to valet. June 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good To start, I was very disappointed in the size of the room - it did not meet typical Westin standards. Also disappointed there was no platinum or awards night upgrade available. On the upside, we overlooked the harbour/Georges Island, etc. and that was endlessly entertaining. Saw my first Canada Day fireworks from the comfort of my room. Not happy with hotel staff person who wandered the dining room on our last night and castigated me for using a smart phone. Not his business. Access to rear parking lot was excellent - no switching elevator banks. Access to pool extremely difficult if you have mobility issues. Really enjoyed the dining room. July 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very uneven experience We stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian the weekend of Feb. 15-17, 2013 and I have to say that while under normal circumstances I would assume the hotel would be quite exemplary, unfortunately it failed to deliver for us. The overriding issue for us was that the ventilation system was not working, such that our room was consistently 80+ degrees, despite attempting to set the thermostat at 60. We mentioned this to the front desk both on Friday, then again on Saturday, and both times we were told and engineer would be sent to check things out... it never happened. Saturday overnight it got so bad we slept with three windows open and no sheets on the bed, but it was still sweltering. When I mentioned my disappointment upon checking out on Sunday, I was told, "Oh, you should have mentioned this to us - we could have sent up an engineer!"... I confirmed that I had, both days, at which point the front desk staff blushed and said, "Oh!" and then just kind of apologized. Furthermore, we were given a room on the second floor, which unbeknownst to us was apparently designated as the "dog floor". So on top of the unbearable heat/humidity level in the room, at various points Friday evening and into the night a dog could be heard barking either in the hall or in the room next door... Again, hardly optimal. Beyond all that - and I agree it seems an unusual amalgamation of events - the hotel was great. Exceptional friendly staff, superb location near the Seaport Market, nice facilities (gym, pool), and a great restaurant (Elements on Hollis) ranked among the best in Halifax. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Out stay Our stay at the hotel was very relaxing. The beds were super comfortable and cozy. I love this hotel! I love the smell of the soap in the washroom, the shower is delightful. I can't rave enough :) February 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location walking distance to boardwalk activities. Spacious rooms. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Had an issue with the air conditioning, but staff was quick to rectify. The only recommendation I would make would be to remove the glass in the bathroom doors. Even though they are frosted, the silhouettes coming out of the shower, etc. leave nothing to the imagination. With the beds facing the door, it's a little uncomfortable when travelling with friends or with your children.We ended up hanging the bathrobe over the door in an attempt to have some privacy. Other than that, our hotel experience was a good one. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Your staff was excellent, I ran into a bit of a crisis upon check in when I realized I had accidentally left my drivers licence on the plane and had no photo ID, your front desk were professional and understanding with my situation. They took me at my word and checked me in on "good faith", I had my passport faxed soon afterwards, and was able to provide some proof within the hour. Your front desk associate not only trusted me, but given the obvious stress I was in, was very kind to give me a complimentary drink to help "ease the pain". Thanks to your staff, what would have been a very stressful evening, was turned around to a wonderful experience. I will definitely recommend your hotel!!! October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First visit to Halifax I was recommended by my good friend to stay at Westin Nova Scotian. Since I've never been to Halifax or Nova Scotia in general, I decided to make my reservation at Westin. I requested a room with a view and did get a gorgeous view. Everything was going well except my last night stay. Was woken up by couple of people running,slamming door and yelling in the hallway. All these happened past midnight. Overall, I did enjoy visiting Halifax and will definitely stay at Westin Nova Scotian in the future. Pros: walking distance to the boardwalk and seaport. All amenities within reach Cons: staff seem not very knowledgable about restaurant suggestion. I.e. restaurant that has live music...etc. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Greeting I have stayed at the Westin many times and have always received a friendly greeting every member of staff always acknowledge me always ask if there is anything they can do to help desk staff are very quick to process my bill thank you for your professional services January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely but I always enjoy my stay at the Westin. I was quite disappointed with a couple of items this time out though. The bathroom was not clean and my heat did not work. Even after I asked maintenance to come and fix I still could not get the heat above 68. Warm enough when you are sleeping but when you are entertaining women wearing party dresses a higher temp would have been better. On the other side, I had room service which was delivered in good time considering the numbers being served that night and the people who took the order and the lovely girl who delivered were all very pleasant. December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A disappointment Perhaps we expected too much with the Westin name. We did not expect the walls in our room to have some kind of soft-drink splatter on them. We did not expect to have no access to the fridge. We did not expect the unfriendly - even icy - service at breakfast on our first day. We did, however, find the reception staff to be very friendly, highly professional and helpful. Our second day breakfast server was also similarly friendly, professional and helpful (Jose). A notable positive feature of the hotel is that it is within walking distance of many main attractions; e.g., Pier 21, the wharfs, art gallerys, Garrison Brewery, downtown (shopping/restaurants), the Citadel and the Public Gardens. Buskerfest was fun! August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Summertime Location Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. You could not beat the location for ambiance and a chance to enjoy the Halifax waterfront during the summertime. We did run into a few snags with service (the cot we ordered was not in the room and we asked for it two more times; then they failed to remove it when we were done) but the front desk staff listened to our complaints and rectified the situation beyond our expectations. Beds were way too soft but that is a personal preference and the chance you take with hotel travel. All in all, we would stay here again. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin NS has it all. Super front and back end staff, clean comfortable rooms, excellent dining in room and out, just right coffee shop, newspapers, Roy and Roy's Lounge, upgraded fitness, and set in the city's best location. For business or pleasure, what else could you ask for. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stay until the day I left I really liked this hotel and found the staff to be more that helpful ~ so why the poor rating for staff? it is based on the housekeeping department, not the staff on the floor, but lack of return of a phone call. I checked out of the hotel on a Tues morning and upon checking Tues evening in my next hotel i discovered i had forgotten my laptop charger and power cord. I immediately called the hotel and explained the problem and was put through to housekeeping. I carefully spelled my name and left my phone number twice and have yet to hear back from anyone. I was hoping for an opportunity to arrange for a courier which I would have gladly paid for as I was still going to be travelling for over one week, so you really let me down. September 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The room I stayed in (506) was in much need of improvement. Issues included: - screws for blinds coming out of the walls, - 2 lamps did not work - heat wouldn't turn on - magnetic door didn't always work Overall, the staff was great with the exception of a man I suspect was either a front desk supervisor or an assistant manager. He was a tall, heavier-set, older white man with glasses and the way he snapped at and talked down to the other staff (who were very friendly and great) was terrible. I would not recommend this hotel. October 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed It was tough to do business in this room. I had scheduled extra time to get work done in my room, so the distractions were problematic..For example, there was way too much furniture for this size room, so it was cramped. Because it had low lighting, it was dark . For example, the chair stuck by the closet had no light to read by. In addition, when using the closet, the light would go out when I would step in to retrieve my clothes, leaving me in the dark. These were all details I would have expected someone to notice. Not what I expected from a Westin. September 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location, staff is great This hotel met all our needs and we had a harbourview room which was exactly what we wanted. Having stayed in many hotels over the years, I will have to say that this hotel is an older one and could use a facelift. It did not affect our stay, but it may for other people. The staff at the front desk went beyond to help us at every request...they were amazing. We will return for another stay, perhaps in the summer. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable. December 4, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>