The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 300 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by First visit to Halifax I was recommended by my good friend to stay at Westin Nova Scotian. Since I've never been to Halifax or Nova Scotia in general, I decided to make my reservation at Westin. I requested a room with a view and did get a gorgeous view. Everything was going well except my last night stay. Was woken up by couple of people running,slamming door and yelling in the hallway. All these happened past midnight. Overall, I did enjoy visiting Halifax and will definitely stay at Westin Nova Scotian in the future. Pros: walking distance to the boardwalk and seaport. All amenities within reach Cons: staff seem not very knowledgable about restaurant suggestion. I.e. restaurant that has live music...etc. July 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Hotel is not up to the Westin Standards Check in: Arrived at 3:30 pm; the room assigned for me was not ready; Michael asked me to wait for 20 - 30 min as there was no other room available; Checked in 10 min later with another F/D agent who assigned another room for us to avoid further waiting; Room: Checked in in room 612 - very dusty and dated; the bedding was missing the feather blankets; there was only duvet and a sheet underneath; bathroom vent was very dirty; window was opened and couldn't close all the way. Parking accessibility: had to park the car on the parking lot at the back of the hotel prior to check in; bellman explained that a key is not needed to park the car, which was incorrect. No one has explained either that a key is needed to leave the parking lot at check out. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All expectations met! Everything I would expect from the Westin. Comfortable, clean and well maintained rooms. Staff friendly and very helpful. Room and bathroom a bit cramped though. Large walk in closet really not necessary unless you are planning an extended stay. August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed. I was disappointed with this hotel. We had two double beds and they were too short. My husband had to sleep sideways, and he's 5' 11". The windows are not upgraded and steam between the panes of glass, so while the view was present, the windows were not clear enough to see through. It's an older refurbished hotel and it presents that way. The bathroom has a contemporary vanity, but attention needs to be taken in cleaning between it and the bathtub. The amenities were nice, towels soft and plentiful, Starbucks in room coffee was nice. The price of bottled water in the room is FAR to high. $5.95 (plus tax) is simply not warranted. I would not recommend this hotel because it fell below my expectations. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Your staff was excellent, I ran into a bit of a crisis upon check in when I realized I had accidentally left my drivers licence on the plane and had no photo ID, your front desk were professional and understanding with my situation. They took me at my word and checked me in on "good faith", I had my passport faxed soon afterwards, and was able to provide some proof within the hour. Your front desk associate not only trusted me, but given the obvious stress I was in, was very kind to give me a complimentary drink to help "ease the pain". Thanks to your staff, what would have been a very stressful evening, was turned around to a wonderful experience. I will definitely recommend your hotel!!! October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under invested in hotel! I was very surprised by the limited level of investment that has been put into the hotel in recent years. It was obvious from the age of many of the fixtures, fittings and general upkeep of the hotel that not much has been done to keep the hotel modern, and generally up to a standard that I would expect from a Westin. I have stayed in many Westin hotels around the world and I can say with certainty that the Westin Nova Scotian was the most 'tired' of them all by some margin. Of particular note was the air conditioning system in the room which was very archaic and required written instructions on the wall to work it. Also of note were the elevators which were clearly very old. Overall we were disappointed and would not stay there again. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel lobby, pool and general room accommodations were nice, and met expectations. The bathroom was extremely small, with limited counter space and difficulty opening and closing the bathroom door, because of the positioning of the toilet. For a room with 2 queens (we had family of 4), the bathroom layout did not consider the number of potential occupants and user friendliness. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some work The rooms need a little TLC. The room and hallways felt damp all weekend. Food is on the pricey side but that goes without saying when you stay in a hotel. The bar closed early which was a downer especially when you are in town for a wedding weekend. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Service was excellent with hotel close to museums and various restaurants. Boardwalk from hotel to casino provided a great walk along the harbor. Easy drive from hotel to other Nova Scotia tourist locations. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Old Building limits experience The hotel was a very old building. The size of the rooms was the biggest downfall. I had a nice view of the Harbor, but only had one tiny window that tilted back so couldn't enjoy the smells and fresh air. The bathroom was very small. It was hard to step into the room and close the door, you kind of had to back yourself in a corner by the toilet. The beds were very comfortable, I got a great night's rest and the television was satisfactory. There was a nice work desk with set up for laptop so that was good. The resteraunt/bar downstairs was very nice. Ate there one night and had an excellent meal, the waitstaff was very accomodating and friendly. The location was great, but bathroom size and old tub/shower could use updating. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location & service We recently spent 2 fabulous nights at this elegant hotel. Bed was divine, view was great, and staff was very professional & courteous. Highly recommend this hotel, located just minutes from the harbour-front boardwalk and shops. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service We recently spent three nights at the Westin Nova Scotian and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Upon checking in, my SPG status was immediately recognized and my room upgraded, as well as no charge for parking. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and professional. It was a delight to arrive at the Westin and collapse on my heavenly bed! The location was well located for all activities in which we were interested. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't believe that this is a Westin It's a shame to see the poor condition of this hotel. It's not the fault of the staff, they try very hard but the standard of the hotel is VERY poor. By far this is the lowest level location for the Westin brand in canada. My room had a portable air conditioner when I walked in and it was an upgraded room for Spg platinum...... Need I say more. November 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely but I always enjoy my stay at the Westin. I was quite disappointed with a couple of items this time out though. The bathroom was not clean and my heat did not work. Even after I asked maintenance to come and fix I still could not get the heat above 68. Warm enough when you are sleeping but when you are entertaining women wearing party dresses a higher temp would have been better. On the other side, I had room service which was delivered in good time considering the numbers being served that night and the people who took the order and the lovely girl who delivered were all very pleasant. December 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I visit Halifax several times a year and this is my hotel of choice. The location is great with the Saturday farmers market a short walk and the harbour boardwalk close by. The car park facilities (self park) is very convenient and easy to access. The rooms are very comfortable with great views of the harbour. The bathrooms are a bit on the small size but it is an older hotel. Daily newspapers are not delivered to the room by default. You have to remember to ask at check-in for this. Staff are always great. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location to explore this great city In the heart of downtown Halifax the Westin is within walking distance to all local attractions and the waterfront. Check out the harbour marketplace and Citadel Hill along with walking along the waterfront. August 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A disappointment Perhaps we expected too much with the Westin name. We did not expect the walls in our room to have some kind of soft-drink splatter on them. We did not expect to have no access to the fridge. We did not expect the unfriendly - even icy - service at breakfast on our first day. We did, however, find the reception staff to be very friendly, highly professional and helpful. Our second day breakfast server was also similarly friendly, professional and helpful (Jose). A notable positive feature of the hotel is that it is within walking distance of many main attractions; e.g., Pier 21, the wharfs, art gallerys, Garrison Brewery, downtown (shopping/restaurants), the Citadel and the Public Gardens. Buskerfest was fun! August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Summertime Location Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Westin Nova Scotian. You could not beat the location for ambiance and a chance to enjoy the Halifax waterfront during the summertime. We did run into a few snags with service (the cot we ordered was not in the room and we asked for it two more times; then they failed to remove it when we were done) but the front desk staff listened to our complaints and rectified the situation beyond our expectations. Beds were way too soft but that is a personal preference and the chance you take with hotel travel. All in all, we would stay here again. September 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable Room was not ready upon arrival. Room was a too hot! Thermostat was set at 85F and never cooled off. Could not sleep all night and checked out early to get out of the heat. Room window was damaged, fogged up and moisture between thermo panes blocking the view December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin NS has it all. Super front and back end staff, clean comfortable rooms, excellent dining in room and out, just right coffee shop, newspapers, Roy and Roy's Lounge, upgraded fitness, and set in the city's best location. For business or pleasure, what else could you ask for. March 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problem quickly solved There was an mouldy odor coming from the bathroom and a complaint was registered with the manager on call. Almost immediately, cleaning staff were there fixing the problem. The manager went above and beyond taking one room night off the bill and providing strawberries/chocolate. First class. August 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Understaffed It seems that the hotel was constantly running behind. Everything from the valet to the waitresses and housekeeping took forever. And the experience in the restaurant attached to the hotel was one of the worst I've ever had. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great choice We have stayed there the last three years and have always been happy .Great location near the harbor ,farmers market ,restaurants etc.. Nice breakfast buffet at their restaurant and the comedy club Yuk Yuks is right in the hotel .Only complaint is the rooms tend to be a little bit noisy . We could hear the children crying through the vents from the room next door . July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stay until the day I left I really liked this hotel and found the staff to be more that helpful ~ so why the poor rating for staff? it is based on the housekeeping department, not the staff on the floor, but lack of return of a phone call. I checked out of the hotel on a Tues morning and upon checking Tues evening in my next hotel i discovered i had forgotten my laptop charger and power cord. I immediately called the hotel and explained the problem and was put through to housekeeping. I carefully spelled my name and left my phone number twice and have yet to hear back from anyone. I was hoping for an opportunity to arrange for a courier which I would have gladly paid for as I was still going to be travelling for over one week, so you really let me down. September 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Staff members were very congenial and helpful. Dining room meal was excellent as was the wait service. The only negative was the size of the room - quite small and a cramped feeling. It was clean and well kept but hardly room for two adults to move around comfortably. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed It was tough to do business in this room. I had scheduled extra time to get work done in my room, so the distractions were problematic..For example, there was way too much furniture for this size room, so it was cramped. Because it had low lighting, it was dark . For example, the chair stuck by the closet had no light to read by. In addition, when using the closet, the light would go out when I would step in to retrieve my clothes, leaving me in the dark. These were all details I would have expected someone to notice. Not what I expected from a Westin. September 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you go through the halls Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you walk through the halls and know its a old hotel, which was fine. We got to our rooms it was nice but the carpet had a large green/yellow stain on it or something, looking like someone or dog was sick. It had a smell in the room as well. I was excited they had a pool and hot tub. I went down the pool is all 4 ft deep and small and a very small but deep hot tub. It had alot of chemicals in it, had it get shower when I got back skin was burning. The water in both the pool and hot tub was green like and the pool did not look that clean had frizzy things in it by drain holes. Overall I would try another hotel, even though I thought it was amazing going in but did not think so when I left... February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service The hotel staff could not have been better! They were friendly, helpful and fun. Michael, Bryan, Jeff and Jonathan took the time to talk with us and were truly interested and helpful, we felt like family. The hotel location is PERFECT with a grocery store, liquor store and pharmacy next door and the waterfront out the back of the hotel. What a wonderful town filled with wonderful people! July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great experience with Sales and Banquests team the banquet staff was extremely attentive to my group and certainly contributed to the success of my program August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hey it's an old building! Let's face it, it is not the Westin in popular big cities that has current day modern appeal, so reading the reviews those other guests need to recognize and live with that. BUT there are things that can be worked on. It was a quiet night, Monday, and I had to valet my own car, not that I cared but not a good start. Once I finished the check in process I had no idea where the elevator was. Simple things that should be standard hotel protocol. It's old so the HVAC , pool, elevators all work differently but that adds to glorious 1950's charm! March 17, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>