The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin NS has it all. Super front and back end staff, clean comfortable rooms, excellent dining in room and out, just right coffee shop, newspapers, Roy and Roy's Lounge, upgraded fitness, and set in the city's best location. For business or pleasure, what else could you ask for. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Old Building limits experience The hotel was a very old building. The size of the rooms was the biggest downfall. I had a nice view of the Harbor, but only had one tiny window that tilted back so couldn't enjoy the smells and fresh air. The bathroom was very small. It was hard to step into the room and close the door, you kind of had to back yourself in a corner by the toilet. The beds were very comfortable, I got a great night's rest and the television was satisfactory. There was a nice work desk with set up for laptop so that was good. The resteraunt/bar downstairs was very nice. Ate there one night and had an excellent meal, the waitstaff was very accomodating and friendly. The location was great, but bathroom size and old tub/shower could use updating. June 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under invested in hotel! I was very surprised by the limited level of investment that has been put into the hotel in recent years. It was obvious from the age of many of the fixtures, fittings and general upkeep of the hotel that not much has been done to keep the hotel modern, and generally up to a standard that I would expect from a Westin. I have stayed in many Westin hotels around the world and I can say with certainty that the Westin Nova Scotian was the most 'tired' of them all by some margin. Of particular note was the air conditioning system in the room which was very archaic and required written instructions on the wall to work it. Also of note were the elevators which were clearly very old. Overall we were disappointed and would not stay there again. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful stay until the day I left I really liked this hotel and found the staff to be more that helpful ~ so why the poor rating for staff? it is based on the housekeeping department, not the staff on the floor, but lack of return of a phone call. I checked out of the hotel on a Tues morning and upon checking Tues evening in my next hotel i discovered i had forgotten my laptop charger and power cord. I immediately called the hotel and explained the problem and was put through to housekeeping. I carefully spelled my name and left my phone number twice and have yet to hear back from anyone. I was hoping for an opportunity to arrange for a courier which I would have gladly paid for as I was still going to be travelling for over one week, so you really let me down. September 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Hotel is not up to the Westin Standards Check in: Arrived at 3:30 pm; the room assigned for me was not ready; Michael asked me to wait for 20 - 30 min as there was no other room available; Checked in 10 min later with another F/D agent who assigned another room for us to avoid further waiting; Room: Checked in in room 612 - very dusty and dated; the bedding was missing the feather blankets; there was only duvet and a sheet underneath; bathroom vent was very dirty; window was opened and couldn't close all the way. Parking accessibility: had to park the car on the parking lot at the back of the hotel prior to check in; bellman explained that a key is not needed to park the car, which was incorrect. No one has explained either that a key is needed to leave the parking lot at check out. July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed It was tough to do business in this room. I had scheduled extra time to get work done in my room, so the distractions were problematic..For example, there was way too much furniture for this size room, so it was cramped. Because it had low lighting, it was dark . For example, the chair stuck by the closet had no light to read by. In addition, when using the closet, the light would go out when I would step in to retrieve my clothes, leaving me in the dark. These were all details I would have expected someone to notice. Not what I expected from a Westin. September 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you go through the halls Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you walk through the halls and know its a old hotel, which was fine. We got to our rooms it was nice but the carpet had a large green/yellow stain on it or something, looking like someone or dog was sick. It had a smell in the room as well. I was excited they had a pool and hot tub. I went down the pool is all 4 ft deep and small and a very small but deep hot tub. It had alot of chemicals in it, had it get shower when I got back skin was burning. The water in both the pool and hot tub was green like and the pool did not look that clean had frizzy things in it by drain holes. Overall I would try another hotel, even though I thought it was amazing going in but did not think so when I left... February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hey it's an old building! Let's face it, it is not the Westin in popular big cities that has current day modern appeal, so reading the reviews those other guests need to recognize and live with that. BUT there are things that can be worked on. It was a quiet night, Monday, and I had to valet my own car, not that I cared but not a good start. Once I finished the check in process I had no idea where the elevator was. Simple things that should be standard hotel protocol. It's old so the HVAC , pool, elevators all work differently but that adds to glorious 1950's charm! March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I asked for a room with a view - Westin delivered a king-sized bed on the 9th floor with a great view of the water. Clean room, comfortable bed, ample room for working and sitting, small but adequate flat screen tv and a functional bathroom. The fitness centre is a good size with new equipment - a very good set up for the average exerciser and adjacent to a pool and hot tub. You won't find a friendlier hotel staff, from the front door, to the desk, to the cleaning staff. Colleagues have dined at the Westin and said that the food was good. The hotel is in a wonderful location - close to Pier 21 and many, many good restaurants and pubs, and only 10-15 minutes walk from St. Mary's University. I will always stay at the Westin when I visit Halifax. May 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Thid Hotel is the WORST for Westin Pathetic! Lousy depressing room. My sheets were pilling, scratchy and completely uncomfortable. The cleaning lady should of noticed when they were applied on to the bed. Very gross and uncomfortable. The hotel needs complete update. 2 star in my opinion. I hope you do some renovations soon. October 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room comfort and Noise...... During our stay we were in room 231, the thermostat did not control the heat in the room and it got so hot you had to shut the fan off completely and open the window as much as possible! There was a party or wedding or something going on downstairs that we were not notified of when we checked in that went on late in the night and not to mention the screaming people in the halls walking the halls till 3 am! this was our 3rd stay at The Westin and we only had 1 good night there out of the 3, not sure if I will go back there or not, March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I visit Halifax several times a year and this is my hotel of choice. The location is great with the Saturday farmers market a short walk and the harbour boardwalk close by. The car park facilities (self park) is very convenient and easy to access. The rooms are very comfortable with great views of the harbour. The bathrooms are a bit on the small size but it is an older hotel. Daily newspapers are not delivered to the room by default. You have to remember to ask at check-in for this. Staff are always great. July 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The room I stayed in (506) was in much need of improvement. Issues included: - screws for blinds coming out of the walls, - 2 lamps did not work - heat wouldn't turn on - magnetic door didn't always work Overall, the staff was great with the exception of a man I suspect was either a front desk supervisor or an assistant manager. He was a tall, heavier-set, older white man with glasses and the way he snapped at and talked down to the other staff (who were very friendly and great) was terrible. I would not recommend this hotel. October 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great staff Problem with my TV was resovled timely. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Make The Difference Let's face it, a hotel room is a hotel room anywhere..at the Westin Nova Scotian it is the staff that make the difference. From being greeted by the guy opening the door, a member of senior staff in the lobby to say welcome, friendly, efficient service at check-in with good humour you know this hotel is something special. It was an exceptionally busy weekend with Basketball teams and March Breakers and the Liberals, yet each and every guest is made to feel special and welcome by staff. I appreciate the exceptional service!! March 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not like any Westin I've been in lately... While the usual Westin amenities were as expected (Heavenly Bed and Bath) the physical plant of the Westin Halifax was disappointing. From rusty bathroom door, tippy vinyl bathtub insert and really substandard view advertised as "harbor view," stained carpeting, chipped lobby woodwork and poorly furnished hallways, this Westin seemed far below what I have come to expect as brand standard. On the positive side, the staff was lovely and the bar personnel very accommodating. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lap of Luxury We were very pleased with our stay at the Westin Nove Scotian. We found the hotel personnel to be very friendly and helpful. Two employees went out of their way to be of assistance, and really helped make our stay in Halifax a nice one. My fourteen-year-old - who was not enthusiastic about the long train ride from Toronto to Halifax - told me I had gotten at least one thing right - the Westin Nova Scotian. The beds were heavenly with comfy pillow-top matresses. The prices in the restaurant were a bit too high for our pocketbook, and the food did not seem special enough to support them. However, on the whole our stay was a very positive one. The Westin Nove Scotian's location - attached to the Halifax train station - could not have been more convenient. This hotel was well worth the splurge it took for us to stay there. August 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay Wasn't happy with my bang for my buck thought I was getting a nice room and it was but for what I payed the bathroom you had to walk in and back out it was so small besides that payed 18 dollars for parking and didn't even get a spot in the lot had to park on a end didn't feel my vehicle was even safe there thought maybe in that case might be some compinsation but the staff member really that that was ok so over all probably wouldn't stay there again where this person didn't feel the need to help out with this at all. December 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservations I recommend that guests DO NOT opt for non refundable, prepaid bookings. Unlike major competitors, this is not the best rate. When I called the hotel to change another open reservation, I expressed my unhappiness at the significant drop in rates compared to what I had paid for my second reservation. I did not expect a price reduction, but the offer of perks (breakfast, meal voucher, upgrade, points etc.) to assuage my feelings of been taken, scammed or whatever were not forthcoming. Simply, " we have many promotions, that is what you chose and have a nice day. " Too bad, so sad. Indeed I will have a nice day; it was my bad and I am sure both my forthcoming stays will be pleasant. However, on that note I do want to share me prepaid experience at the Westin with others. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Nova Scotian feedback As always our stay was great. The only glitch was the tv. We had to call 'downstairs' to have someone come up and reset the tv - it wouldn't turn off & the remote wouldn't work. After I saw how to reset it (unplug & replug) I had to do it myself 2 more times - a bit annoying. But, when I let the desk know on check-out he gave us 2 days free parking - very nice. Although, I believe the parking should be free anyway, especially with the parking lot in such lousy condition (holes, uneven surfaces). Besides that, great. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel's location is perfect As usual the Westin was my choice due to location and association to my SPG rewards program. The Hotel is located downtown but not right in the centre where it can get pretty noisy at night when the parties and Bars empty for the night. It is located close to Dalhousie which is important to me along with the farmers market for strolling and buying food samplers for my visit. The Staff is always great as well. The only complaint I have is the amount of dust that seems to build up in the rooms from one day to another. May 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks for the memories We stayed one night then came back three days later to stay another 3 nights. The staff were very accommodating, knowledgeable and courteous. Everything we asked for was dealt with immediately, even to police a rather noisy impromptu gathering on the floor above (things happen on Saturdays all over the world). September 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff Incompetent Check in started out with staff double billing my Visa so that it wouldn't clear. From there we found every question we asked front desk they didn't know the answer to (i.e. Sunday and holiday shops open, if there were fireworks, no maps available, etc etc) and didn't try to find out. We weren't given a parking card so had to either take a ticket each time or ask for assistance to get out of lots. Basically, front desk staff need a tourism course or at least be familiar with their surroundings. Very unhelpful. May 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and Gold Recognition Parking is expensive in Halifax downtown so as a gold member, complementary parking was a big bonus. Otherwise, $18 parking per day is pretty expensive. I stayed twice within a week, the first time no suite upgrades were available during my 2 nights. The hotel is old but you have to understand this is one of the oldest hotels in Canada and has been renovated to keep up with other newer hotels popping up. The standard room is a bit old like others are posting but it's clean. I rather have clean over newer and dirty. During my 2nd stay I was upgraded to a junior suite for 1 night and this was definitely much nicer and roomier, which is a large understatement. If I come back to Halifax I'll definitely stay at this hotel again. The service and staff are one of the friendliest. September 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Conference Hotel The conference facilities were good. Nice rooms with good meeting spaces. The hotel itself is in need of upgrading. Elevators were particularly slow. Rooms very small accompanied by small bathrooms. The hot tub was "off limits" during our stay. Staff were nice and knowledgeable, but at the prices charged you would expect more. A number of my colleagues had issues with the hot water which was remedied later in their stay. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check the bill on check out !!! While my stay including check in was satisfactory - I caution everyone to check their bill carefully on check out. For no valid reason and the clerk was not able to explain - my bill was taxed at 39% rather than the legally required rate of 15% along with the City's Hotel Levy. The staff did not catch this error - I caught it upon being given the receipt. It took staff - including the Front Desk Manager - several minutes to correct the error -- and I am still waiting for an explantion as to WHY it occurred. July 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a New Air Conditioning System The location is great but I stayed there last week and the winter has been mild. The room was extremely hot and there was no way to cool it down. They use an ancient HVAC system that only provides heat in the winter months and the windows do not open so there is no chance of getting comfortable. After a poor night's sleep I checked into a newer hotel where you can adjust the room temp up or down. These limitations should be disclosed when making the reservation. Then ensure there are fans in each room. February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience My experience at this hotel was great. Very friendly and helpful staff in every department - door greeting, reception, restaurants. I would have loved to stay longer, and look forward to returning. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great experience My husband and I stayed at the Westin for several days in late August/early September when moving our daughter to Halifax to attend university. We were able to store our rented trailer in the parking lot during our stay, which was invaluable. It was a short walk to the Salter lot where the world junior beach volleyball championship was being held, which we enjoyed immensely. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to take advantage of the services and sites offered on the Halifax waterfront September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room 233 - July 12-14, 2013 Good afternoon, I was not disappointed with the overall experience of the Westin Hotel and I would stay there again. The room, specifically 233, smelled musty, albeit clean. Everytime I entered the room, I said, 'the room still smells'. I mentioned this to the front desk manager who was very sorry for this experience and credited starwood points back to my account. Because we only stayed two nights, I didn't think it necessary to move rooms. My concern was handled very promptly by the manager. July 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>