The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by THE TINY ROOMS We booked the hotel for our first trip together. With the price we paid for two days, we were very disappointed in our room. Phoned the front desk and they put us up on the eleventh floor. Getting off the elevator there was a sign that said FOR PREFERRED GUESTS, well we thought this was going to be a nice size room. It wasn"t. Very disappointed again, still the same room but with a bigger window. Pillows looked slept on. 600.00 dollars for 2 nites, and they charged 6.00 dollars for a bottle of water. Not impressed May 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude and unprofessional staff The westin Nova Scotian perpetually make mistakes with my account. I am never credited the points or stays. The front desk staff is rude and unfriendly. In fact, it looks like it gives them pleasure to treat guest badly. Every time I stay there, I have to go through very frustrating situations to get my stays and point with SPG customer service, which in itself is a disaster. I would call it customer . Every stay is a disappointment and I recommend you stay somewhere else. January 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed. I was disappointed with this hotel. We had two double beds and they were too short. My husband had to sleep sideways, and he's 5' 11". The windows are not upgraded and steam between the panes of glass, so while the view was present, the windows were not clear enough to see through. It's an older refurbished hotel and it presents that way. The bathroom has a contemporary vanity, but attention needs to be taken in cleaning between it and the bathtub. The amenities were nice, towels soft and plentiful, Starbucks in room coffee was nice. The price of bottled water in the room is FAR to high. $5.95 (plus tax) is simply not warranted. I would not recommend this hotel because it fell below my expectations. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overal impressions Great hotel with great people. It is a bit away from the shops and restaurants. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I thought I give this hotel a second shot but to u dismay, it let me down agiain. - upon my arrival the front desk clerk had attiude, when I mentioned I had an issue on my last stay and that's why I hadn't been back she didn't even acknowledge it or offer an apology, just kept speaking to her colleagues as if I was't even there. - arrived in my room, to find hair on the floor and dirty towels... soon after there was a knock on my door and a lady came in and said I need to check your fridge, she took some of the previous guests items out and left garbage in it. I mentioned the hair and dirty towels and she said with a stern voice thats not my job, call the front desk... I chose not to. - the check-out clerk was very friendly and even help with my bags to the car. Over-all I will never stay here again and ensure that I advise my staff never to book this hotel. July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by rooms The rooms are spacious, well laid out. beds exceptionally comfortable. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freindly The Hotel staff were freindly and helpful and our needs were met May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs inprovement Rooms need remodeling. This is not a new hotel but that is part of the character. However, it needs to be remodeled. The last renovations were done in a shoddy manner. The wallpaper was peeling and there was caulking everywhere in a messy manner. It looked like a child installed it. June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was exceptional for our convention We stayed in the hotel for 10 days in April 2012 for a convention we were organizing and found the staff to be exceptional in helping us with all aspects we required. Banquet dept., shipping, housekeeping, front desk, bellmen, etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel. May 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conveniently located Convenient for downtown excursions and dining. Comfortable bed. Should not have had the double shot of expresso before going to bed! May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Hotel Convention services were amazing. Great staff and facilities. Hoop to go back there again someday. Restaurant staff were friendly but quite slow when you only have an hour to get back to the seminar. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great people found the staff went beyond my expedations, absolute pros in their field will recommend this hotel to anyone May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WE COME HERE OFTEN We requested a room overlooking the harbour as it was my husband's 74th birthday present. Kayla (sp) was extra helpfull in getting us a upgrade. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has everything Outstanding location, super trained staff, great guest comfort and amenities, recentlty renovated dining room with tremendous food and service, best meeting space. From valet to room attendants all is top notch. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service, quality and location Still the best hotel in Halifax. Super service, strategic location and Westin quality. The city is growing into this hotel with new office towers, markets, convention facilities and waterfront access. February 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service Throughout the whole stay, I was treated exceptionally. Staffs are extremely helpful from front desk to valet. June 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good To start, I was very disappointed in the size of the room - it did not meet typical Westin standards. Also disappointed there was no platinum or awards night upgrade available. On the upside, we overlooked the harbour/Georges Island, etc. and that was endlessly entertaining. Saw my first Canada Day fireworks from the comfort of my room. Not happy with hotel staff person who wandered the dining room on our last night and castigated me for using a smart phone. Not his business. Access to rear parking lot was excellent - no switching elevator banks. Access to pool extremely difficult if you have mobility issues. Really enjoyed the dining room. July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Stay I found my stay very good, and the quality of service( most important to me) to be excellent. One quibble: the sink (room 324) was too big for the room, however this was not a huge problem. Thank you. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent value This hotel delivers exactly what it is promised. Clean, professionally run, attentive staff. Great location, hugging the waterfront and across from the Seaport Market, easy walking distance to downtown and other attractions. May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very uneven experience We stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian the weekend of Feb. 15-17, 2013 and I have to say that while under normal circumstances I would assume the hotel would be quite exemplary, unfortunately it failed to deliver for us. The overriding issue for us was that the ventilation system was not working, such that our room was consistently 80+ degrees, despite attempting to set the thermostat at 60. We mentioned this to the front desk both on Friday, then again on Saturday, and both times we were told and engineer would be sent to check things out... it never happened. Saturday overnight it got so bad we slept with three windows open and no sheets on the bed, but it was still sweltering. When I mentioned my disappointment upon checking out on Sunday, I was told, "Oh, you should have mentioned this to us - we could have sent up an engineer!"... I confirmed that I had, both days, at which point the front desk staff blushed and said, "Oh!" and then just kind of apologized. Furthermore, we were given a room on the second floor, which unbeknownst to us was apparently designated as the "dog floor". So on top of the unbearable heat/humidity level in the room, at various points Friday evening and into the night a dog could be heard barking either in the hall or in the room next door... Again, hardly optimal. Beyond all that - and I agree it seems an unusual amalgamation of events - the hotel was great. Exceptional friendly staff, superb location near the Seaport Market, nice facilities (gym, pool), and a great restaurant (Elements on Hollis) ranked among the best in Halifax. February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor inefficient service I travel frequently for conferences and have stayed in many hotels, not typically Westin. I experienced a number of problems with this hotel - I had asked for a cot to be placed in the room but the hotel staff wasn't aware of this when I checked in. The room had to be changed to a larger one to accommodate a cot. OK fine. But no cot was sent up and I had to call again to ask for the cot. Room service - I had to call 3 times to get an item sent up. I've never experienced this at any other hotel. Checking out - the hotel can't leave a copy of the invoice under your door for review prior to check out because the "doors are made soundproof and we wouldn't be able to slip it under the door". I was checking out at 5 AM and didn't have enough time to review the invoice. The person at the desk was not very courteous. Invoice - I was actually charged for the cot - even though the reason for the cot was that no two double bed rooms were available. I've never been charged by a hotel for a cot. I called the hotel to inquire and the person stated she would take it off the bill and email me the revised invoice. I didn't receive the invoice and called again two days later. I was told it was sent to an email address that wasn't mine. So overall, an atrocious level of service with recurrent errors, inefficiencies. On the plus side, the food was good and the room was quiet. But this hotel doesn't strive to make the stay relaxed or pleasant at all, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only other Westin I have stayed at was the one in Beijing and that was also a horrible experience. I would not book any Westin hotel in the future. October 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine a little dated It was fine, the staff were great, the hotel is a little dated. The furniture in my room was scratched and worn May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to enjoy Halifax when you enjoy your hotel great layout, exceptionally clean throughout, rooms offer wonderful view of the harbour. Good location to waterfront restaurants, although the hotel has a fabulous one itself. Will stay here again on my next visit. May 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location walking distance to boardwalk activities. Spacious rooms. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Had an issue with the air conditioning, but staff was quick to rectify. The only recommendation I would make would be to remove the glass in the bathroom doors. Even though they are frosted, the silhouettes coming out of the shower, etc. leave nothing to the imagination. With the beds facing the door, it's a little uncomfortable when travelling with friends or with your children.We ended up hanging the bathrobe over the door in an attempt to have some privacy. Other than that, our hotel experience was a good one. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Love this hotel had a great stay once again. Rick May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room comfort and Noise...... During our stay we were in room 231, the thermostat did not control the heat in the room and it got so hot you had to shut the fan off completely and open the window as much as possible! There was a party or wedding or something going on downstairs that we were not notified of when we checked in that went on late in the night and not to mention the screaming people in the halls walking the halls till 3 am! this was our 3rd stay at The Westin and we only had 1 good night there out of the 3, not sure if I will go back there or not, March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First visit to Halifax I was recommended by my good friend to stay at Westin Nova Scotian. Since I've never been to Halifax or Nova Scotia in general, I decided to make my reservation at Westin. I requested a room with a view and did get a gorgeous view. Everything was going well except my last night stay. Was woken up by couple of people running,slamming door and yelling in the hallway. All these happened past midnight. Overall, I did enjoy visiting Halifax and will definitely stay at Westin Nova Scotian in the future. Pros: walking distance to the boardwalk and seaport. All amenities within reach Cons: staff seem not very knowledgable about restaurant suggestion. I.e. restaurant that has live music...etc. July 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr L.W.Smith I found the Weston Halifax to meet all standards that I expected May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hey it's an old building! Let's face it, it is not the Westin in popular big cities that has current day modern appeal, so reading the reviews those other guests need to recognize and live with that. BUT there are things that can be worked on. It was a quiet night, Monday, and I had to valet my own car, not that I cared but not a good start. Once I finished the check in process I had no idea where the elevator was. Simple things that should be standard hotel protocol. It's old so the HVAC , pool, elevators all work differently but that adds to glorious 1950's charm! March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Your staff was excellent, I ran into a bit of a crisis upon check in when I realized I had accidentally left my drivers licence on the plane and had no photo ID, your front desk were professional and understanding with my situation. They took me at my word and checked me in on "good faith", I had my passport faxed soon afterwards, and was able to provide some proof within the hour. Your front desk associate not only trusted me, but given the obvious stress I was in, was very kind to give me a complimentary drink to help "ease the pain". Thanks to your staff, what would have been a very stressful evening, was turned around to a wonderful experience. I will definitely recommend your hotel!!! October 6, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>