The Westin Nova Scotian

  • 1181 Hollis Street
  • Halifax,
  • Nova Scotia
  • B3H 2P6
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free in parents room with existing bedding.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyone I have significant chemical/scent sensitivities and Sarah, Executive Director of Housekeeping and Alan, Manager of Front Desk communicated with me to ensure they understood my needs, carried out those preparations and blocked off a room to ensure I could enter my room upon arrival. They met me in person to inquire if all was satisfactory and stayed in contact throughout my stay. I have never had my health issue taken so seriously and acted upon with such care and attention from senior and floor staff. I cannot say enough or offer a more heartfelt thank you to all at the Westin Nova Scotian. I had lost faith that I could continue to travel to much valued professional conferences related to other hotels' lack of follow through on promised attention to my health needs - the staff at the Westin Nova Scotian have restored my faith that I can always attend any conference at this hotel. Dorothy, British Columbia June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overal impressions Great hotel with great people. It is a bit away from the shops and restaurants. May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freindly The Hotel staff were freindly and helpful and our needs were met May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by rooms The rooms are spacious, well laid out. beds exceptionally comfortable. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conveniently located Convenient for downtown excursions and dining. Comfortable bed. Should not have had the double shot of expresso before going to bed! May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great people found the staff went beyond my expedations, absolute pros in their field will recommend this hotel to anyone May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WE COME HERE OFTEN We requested a room overlooking the harbour as it was my husband's 74th birthday present. Kayla (sp) was extra helpfull in getting us a upgrade. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Stay I found my stay very good, and the quality of service( most important to me) to be excellent. One quibble: the sink (room 324) was too big for the room, however this was not a huge problem. Thank you. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent value This hotel delivers exactly what it is promised. Clean, professionally run, attentive staff. Great location, hugging the waterfront and across from the Seaport Market, easy walking distance to downtown and other attractions. May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine a little dated It was fine, the staff were great, the hotel is a little dated. The furniture in my room was scratched and worn May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to enjoy Halifax when you enjoy your hotel great layout, exceptionally clean throughout, rooms offer wonderful view of the harbour. Good location to waterfront restaurants, although the hotel has a fabulous one itself. Will stay here again on my next visit. May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Love this hotel had a great stay once again. Rick May 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed. I was disappointed with this hotel. We had two double beds and they were too short. My husband had to sleep sideways, and he's 5' 11". The windows are not upgraded and steam between the panes of glass, so while the view was present, the windows were not clear enough to see through. It's an older refurbished hotel and it presents that way. The bathroom has a contemporary vanity, but attention needs to be taken in cleaning between it and the bathtub. The amenities were nice, towels soft and plentiful, Starbucks in room coffee was nice. The price of bottled water in the room is FAR to high. $5.95 (plus tax) is simply not warranted. I would not recommend this hotel because it fell below my expectations. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr L.W.Smith I found the Weston Halifax to meet all standards that I expected May 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room comfort and Noise...... During our stay we were in room 231, the thermostat did not control the heat in the room and it got so hot you had to shut the fan off completely and open the window as much as possible! There was a party or wedding or something going on downstairs that we were not notified of when we checked in that went on late in the night and not to mention the screaming people in the halls walking the halls till 3 am! this was our 3rd stay at The Westin and we only had 1 good night there out of the 3, not sure if I will go back there or not, March 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hey it's an old building! Let's face it, it is not the Westin in popular big cities that has current day modern appeal, so reading the reviews those other guests need to recognize and live with that. BUT there are things that can be worked on. It was a quiet night, Monday, and I had to valet my own car, not that I cared but not a good start. Once I finished the check in process I had no idea where the elevator was. Simple things that should be standard hotel protocol. It's old so the HVAC , pool, elevators all work differently but that adds to glorious 1950's charm! March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and Convenience The rooms are very comfortable, great view on the harbour side and lots of fabulous restaurants in walking distance...Cafe Chianti, super delicious and awesome service. I love the distance to the farmers market as well! The cable reception in the room seemed a bit off and fuzzy while watching tv. March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin Service Fantastic service! Honestly felt like the service you would see in a movie or something! Everyone there was so friendly and helpful...Had a great weekend no thanks to the service at the Westin! February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel, just a bad night I stay at this property atleast 6 times per year and find it wonderfull.. except this past visit. Late arrival proved to afford me a small room at end of a long hall with limited light, no newspaper in moirning, long wait for room service with the front desk guy delivering, no mentioon of valet service, or recognitian of SPG platinum. perhaps an unfortunate night. i will hold this property as my choice for future visits. February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The ceiling fell down It was a very wet and wild night. The rain apparently backed up under the roof and poured through the ceiling in my room 1115 Westin Nova Scotian. It was messy and wet. No one seemed interested until I spoke with the manager who was concerned and reversed charges on my breakfast and valet parking. But I wtill paid for a room with a ceiling that fell down, Not pleasant! February 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in convenient location. We've stayed at this Westin location many times over my lifetime, and found it to be a very convenient spot. The staff are courteous. Interesting places within walking distance of the hotel. Would recommend. February 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you go through the halls Hotels looks amazing when you walk in but then you walk through the halls and know its a old hotel, which was fine. We got to our rooms it was nice but the carpet had a large green/yellow stain on it or something, looking like someone or dog was sick. It had a smell in the room as well. I was excited they had a pool and hot tub. I went down the pool is all 4 ft deep and small and a very small but deep hot tub. It had alot of chemicals in it, had it get shower when I got back skin was burning. The water in both the pool and hot tub was green like and the pool did not look that clean had frizzy things in it by drain holes. Overall I would try another hotel, even though I thought it was amazing going in but did not think so when I left... February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Out stay Our stay at the hotel was very relaxing. The beds were super comfortable and cozy. I love this hotel! I love the smell of the soap in the washroom, the shower is delightful. I can't rave enough :) February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Greeting I have stayed at the Westin many times and have always received a friendly greeting every member of staff always acknowledge me always ask if there is anything they can do to help desk staff are very quick to process my bill thank you for your professional services January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect 10 as always, a perfect 10 at this hotel. they really know how to treat frequent travellers. Really nice to see as well a hotel restaurant that is worth trying. great healthy food December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Best Hotel in Halifax - excellent staff - The Westin Nova Scotia has great character; an excellent location on the waterfront; very good conference facilities / meeting rooms; excellent food service - above all else good people that make The Westin a "home-away-from-home". December 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable Room was not ready upon arrival. Room was a too hot! Thermostat was set at 85F and never cooled off. Could not sleep all night and checked out early to get out of the heat. Room window was damaged, fogged up and moisture between thermo panes blocking the view December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location, staff is great This hotel met all our needs and we had a harbourview room which was exactly what we wanted. Having stayed in many hotels over the years, I will have to say that this hotel is an older one and could use a facelift. It did not affect our stay, but it may for other people. The staff at the front desk went beyond to help us at every request...they were amazing. We will return for another stay, perhaps in the summer. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable. December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Halifax, incredible staff The staff are incredible , professional, polite and informative. The location of the hotel is near the waterfront. The food in the bar and restaurant facilities is fantastic. You know that the Westin Halifax is going to be an outstanding experience when you first arrive and the door men open your car door. Can't wait to return. Thank you for the great stay. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just like Home I always feel like a wlecomed friend when I enter the Westin Nova Scotia. Staff are very quick to respond by name and do whatever they can do to mke your stay an enjoyable experience. November 19, 2013
  • 2015-03-31T17:50:48.170-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_307, tr_307
  • loc_en_US, sid_1081, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>